25/01/2010, 08:26 AM
cassi8
25/01/2010, 08:33 AM
GOLD!!
melaniejasmin
25/01/2010, 08:36 AM
silver!!Morning!
I'll have to go back and review the last thread..
Ali - your clean up sounds good. we need more storage like that. though it does sound like you have alot of toys!
Cath - good work with getting Matilda to sleep last night. I also think your DD's should both be more respectful and do more around the house. boot camp for all...!
Beagle - very strange behaviour by your MIL

I think it must be some sort of coping mechanism (she doesnt want ot admit her son has cancer)
Sharon - yuck about ear infection!

glad you got it diagnosed early
OK, I'm off to work for a couple of hours then I'm going to start my 'holiday' early! DH has lots of things due at the end of the month (a couple of articles and a grant application) so he is going to be working all day tomorrow, except for a 'lovely' trip to the ILs.... *sigh*
~Elliesmum~
25/01/2010, 08:42 AM
bronze
jotsmum
25/01/2010, 08:52 AM
(.)(.)
At work today but it is so quiet most people have taken the day off.
We are still unpacking and it is driving me nuts well actually a lot of things are driving me nuts to this might turn into a bit of a vent.
The IL are staying with us. THey got back on Thursday. They are meant to be watching Jasmine so I can unpack things and get ready for my trip to the UK next week. Not really happening! Instead they keep asking what they can do to help unpack. I don't want them to unpack I want them to watch Jasmine! You would have thought that they would want to spend lots of time with her as they live so far away. THey babysat for us on Saturday when we went to the Tennis which was good but MIL says when we got home that Jasmine is too much for her. So now I don't feel comfortable leaving them unsupervised to look after her which means we are getting no unpacking done and DH is getting snappy at me for not letting them get on with it. Fine until MIL drops Jasmine again!!!!!!!!!
I know moving is meant ot be one of the most stressful things a person can do but doing it with your ILs around has got to rank it up there with Bomb disposal!
MIL is telling me how to do things, everything from breast feeding Jasmine (apparently I should have stopped a year ago!) to where I should put my sofas. The annoying thing is that DH agrees with her so I have been feeling awkward and defensive and tense when feeding her (as DH thinks the nursing chair for Js room is not a priority so I am feeding her in the lving room) and I know when I go home tonight DH will have moved all the furniture around to how they think it 'should be' without taking into acount Jasmines movement! They want to put the sofa in direct line with the door which will shorten the area she can push her buggy thing and frustrate her even more! I know I need to suck it up till they have gone and then move it all back but it is hard as DH is at work most of the time so I am on my own with them!
I'm afraid I can't remember much of the last thread but I do remember you were chatting about shoes - J is still in pre walkers or socks. The chiro said to wait till she has been walking for 3 months beofre getting hard soles. We will be getting her some hard sole boots to wear in the UK so she can go outside.
Tantrums - When Jasmine throws an all out tanty now I just say "Jasmine that doesn't work with Mummy" and then distract her or just ignore her depending what set her off in the first place. If it is a tired tanty she gets a cuddle with it. She also gets boundaries when we are out it is "hold my hand or go in the buggy/get picked up etc) not working well yet but we are being consistent.
gtg nosey neighbour is back at her desk.
bbl
alimumof3
25/01/2010, 09:43 AM
jotsmum right first things first. Next time your MIL says you should have stopped BF a year ago, say WHY??? ask her to give you the reason. what a load of BS. and as for the furniture, just quickly say "well its my house and I know what works for Jasmine". that will shut them up.
Gosh, i find when IL's stay with us is stressful enough, let alone moving too. You deserve some kind of medal.
KM, beagle, cassi sorry I didnt mean to make you all grossed out! I was just worried about the S word! oopsy daisy.
meljas yeah we do have a lot of toys, a lot are second hand but we do have lots.
cassi the ikea storage thing is on its side so its longways, therefore can't put craft stuff in top bucket cos O can reach the top. I think i'll just keep in kitchen somewhere out of reach. He's still at the stage of eating crayons atm anyway.
KMyou gave me an idea. Might keep wrapping paper etc in the cupboard above teh fridge. currently old newspaper is there (for kitty litter) but might move that to gargage.
beagle very strange about MIL. as the others said, perhaps a coping mechanism.??
cath good work on getting Matilda to sleep. perhaps don't make a bottle at 3am ? otherwise she might keep waking at that time for it. or give water? just an idea.
No plans today other than needing to clean up. We're having the neighbours around for a bbq tomorrow.
bellygood
25/01/2010, 10:44 AM
Hi Girls
Well the cyclone fizzled out but we still have had days of rain and last night an incredible thunder storm with ALOT of rain.
Ivy has somehow caught a cold so we really are housebound today.... it's wet out, and I don't want her getting chilly. She's down for her morning nap right now, dreading what to do with her this arvo. Maybe the library?
Jots guests are fine... for about two days... then the house starts to get too small for all those different opinions. Good luck surviving the ILs.
BBL for personals, might need a nap myself as storm woke the whole town (except for Ivy luckily) at 4am, and I'd had a late one anyway so am feeling a bit sleep deprived!
trinyweeny
25/01/2010, 10:46 AM
Morning ladies
We are back from swimming. I still have a headache so think I will go lie down whilst Jacqui is having a nap.
Jotsmum - You deserve a medal no something more than that. Yes moving house with the ILs would be worse than bomb disposal I reckon. How stressful and what difference does it make to their lives if you are still b/f Jasmine.
Ellangel - How's Holli going?
Beagle - Very strange behaviour from your MIL.
Cath - I would be sending the whole family to domestic boot camp. Hopefully you can sort out Tilly's sleeps. Not having a day sleep would be horrible.
Ali - Sounds like a very productive weekend. And yes thanks for that image when eating breakfast.
Anyway better go and put the nappies out (how did yours go Ali) and get the swimming stuff in the machine.
tweedy08
25/01/2010, 11:24 AM
Day sleep - Well today she went down at 11.30 & is still there!! WooHoo. Went down with no hassle either
ellangel
25/01/2010, 12:32 PM
Cath - great work! what did you do differently to get her to sleep??
Triny - Holli may as well be called a baby koala bear as she wont let go of me! Aaaarrrrggghhhh...she is still quite sick however a bit more lively than yesterday. Cant get the temps to stay down. As soon as that 4 hours is up, she is burning up again. How long do I leave it with temps?? How long can she keep being hot like that??
She ate nothing Saturday and just some vanilla yoghurt yesterday. A bit of bread today so far. Having lots of water, weak lemon cordial, apple juice, and of course, loves her milk. SIGH.
Triny - is the headache O time again?
Jotsmum - you would 'think' the inlaws wouldve been accepting to the BF by now!
Better go spend time with DD1.
trinyweeny
25/01/2010, 12:48 PM
Ellangel - Yep its O time again. The headache isn't too bad just constant. I would go and see the GP on Wednesday if her temps are still up tomorrow. By the sounds of it she is at least having loads of fluids.
Cath - Yay on Tilly's sleep today. Hopefully tonight will be better.
alimumof3
25/01/2010, 01:33 PM
trinyi meant to say earlier that the nappies are great since the strip wash. smell nice and clean, and I think the absorbancy is a little bit better again. it wasnt that hard to do by hand, for some reason I thought it would take FOREVER but it didnt.
sharon poor Holli. I agree with T, i'd go back wed. just to make sure she is getting better.
cath well done on tilly's sleep.
bellygood i get the feeling you don't like to stay home?
I must say I only like one or two max days at home.
and i agree with the 2 days for visitors.
We have IL's coming around time of baby's birth. We have said one week max in our house...otherwise I'll lose my temper again. Too hard.
ellangel
25/01/2010, 02:04 PM
Yes, I might go make an appointment for Wed right now for her. Thanks ladies. I can always cancel it if I dont need it.
Just had a lovely swim with Ella. Tried on her uniform one more time, prepared dinner, brought washing in ...dont know whether to wake H or not. Might wake her at 2.30pm if she is still snoozing.
Ali - could the IL's come after bub is past 6 weeks old?? It is just so stressful with a newborn in the house! My IL's stayed for around 5 days when H was around 5 weeks old. Just enough time to readjust a bit for everyone. My own parents stayed for a week when H was a week old. Now THAT was heaven!
alimumof3
25/01/2010, 02:12 PM
prob is DH only has a month off work , so I wouldnt want them here if he wasnt here.
what time did Holli go down? how long would her sleep be if she slept til 2.30?
ellangel
25/01/2010, 02:18 PM
Oh I would be thinking the opposite but I am remembering what troubles you had with FIL last visit. I would be thinking a month with Dh help, then more family help after that....too many adults in the house would be too much for me. And if IL's stayed with Dh at work, it would make DH come home early from work - to see his MUMMY!!! LOL
I was driving locally at the end of 2 weeks after my c/s simply because I had to...Dh took and picked DD1 up from kindy when he possibly could but I remember showing up at playgroup by week 3 and some mums thinking 'what are you doing here?' LOL
Will you be putting DD into childcare this year at all??
Holli went down at 11am, 3.5 hours. She had 4 hours yesterday, so obviously needs it.
alimumof3
25/01/2010, 02:26 PM
if she needs it maybe just leave her.
we're letting O sleep longer in the arvo's the last few days too.
Nah, trust me, I wouldnt feel like its any extra help, it woudl be more stress.
ellangel
25/01/2010, 02:30 PM
Tell them Ali! Say well this time cause I have 2 older ones, for this to work and not be stressful having you stay, I will need MIL to help cook and clean and FIL to help entertain kids. That is what I told mine otherwise they get there and are in the way and dont know what to do.
Keep meaning to say, those on FB, have a look on my page. A short video of Holli my SIL posted! It is cute and she is doing her shoulder wobble teddy bear dance.!!!
alimumof3
25/01/2010, 02:33 PM
they do help cooking etc and playing with kids. Its just the whole 'extra people' in the house that makes me uncomy. I'm such a family person, but MY immediate family. lol.
wouldnt matter if it were my sister and boyf staying here (well ok not as bad) but its just like people in your space all the time.
ellangel
25/01/2010, 03:07 PM
O that is good they DO help. Hope it doesnt stress you too much. I was so glad when DH told family and friends NO MORE bunking at our house, as there is no room at the inn!
alimumof3
25/01/2010, 03:30 PM
thing is there isn't really any room at our place. I mean we've got the babys room but a mattress will have to be put on the floor. and four adults and two kids, plus a baby in one living room is too much. yes we have the play room (old lounge room) too but more often than not we're all together out here.
yeah they do help and cook and stuff but its still not the same when you've got people in your space. Espec when they do things differently to you etc. which of course everyone does, but at least I'm used to how my DH does things!
triny you've sent your headache to me. i need it to go, got so much tidying to do tonight.
cassi8
25/01/2010, 03:46 PM
you guys having a nice convo?
Sharon - I would be giving her another day for the ABs to kick in, you will notice they fever takes longer and longer to come back after panadol. Wed would be good to get her seen again if she still has a fever. I've been there all too often!
Not much happening here today. kinda bored and want to go out but can't because DH still isn't feeling well after the surgery. Might go and get dinner on.
bellygood
25/01/2010, 05:22 PM
Ali you're right: I'm not one for staying home all day! Just find it nicer to get out and about here and there. Today actually worked out better than I thought: Ivy's cold is starting to improve and I was able to take her out to the library as planned. Then the clouds parted, sun shone for about 15m so I took her for a walk down to this tiny creek nearby that is now a bit of a raging river...
InLaws: it's a vexed question. You want to welcome them but in practical terms it's a bit of a nightmare. I'm exactly like Ali... I really start to feel stressed if there's too many people in the house/in my space, and I would also worry about sleeping arrangements for everyone. DH's dad is planning a visit later in the year, luckily bub will be at least a few months old by then, and we might end up putting them in a hotel or something (we did last time and it was fun as we could visit them, and they could visit us! AND they had a pool! Cost a bomb but it was money well spent).
I had McDonalds for lunch... I'm not proud, it was pretty average (the Angus Grand or something). I got to reading the label (might have been tastier eating that than the burger...). That thing had 700+ calories in it! And they call it 'sourdough', well more like just that usual bland McDonald's bread but formed into a different shape with some flour sprinkled on top. Lies, all lies! Why oh why was I lured in... I think it really was the convenience today, I was on the road, hungry, and there were the golden arches... I should stick to bacon and eggs as a treat, really it's so much more satisfying for me and doesn't cost that much more (maybe $1 more?).
I have rented season 1 of 30 Rock, so I have to watch 21 episodes in one week! I'm ahead of target though, thanks to being housebound today. Anyone seen it/got an opinion on it? I like it, think Alec Baldwin is really great in it, as is the girl from Ali McBeal (Jane something?).
ellangel
25/01/2010, 07:22 PM
OH I had Macca's when pregnant Belly g!! Now and then is fine. Do not worry. I ate everything.
I dont think anyone would cope well, mentally if they stayed at home for more than a few days with kids. Hope the rain stops soon there, so you can continue with your walking.
Holli must be feeling a little better. Had some mash for dinner and ate small pieces of kiwi. So that is good.
We were looking at family pics when we went to bed and came to a pic of BIL and SIL. BIL had no shirt on and Holli pointed to him and stated "boy" then pointed to SIL and covered her own face. SIL's name is Heidi!! So Holli was 'hiding' SO CUTE!!

p.s. she saw her sig on here this arvo and put her fingers in her mouth, copying the picture!! How clever, I thought.
alimumof3
25/01/2010, 07:28 PM
Oh how cute is Holli!! very clever indeed.
mmm maccas....
cassi yes we did have a nice convo - noone else was popping in to say hi!
bellyg - yep thats what i mean, even if there are too many people in my house for too long its stressful. Even if its just a day thing but people hang around and you just feel like saying "can you please leave?!"
trinyweeny
25/01/2010, 07:45 PM
Sorry guys headed out to Spotlight with my mum to get some wool so she can make Jacqui some jumpers for winter.
DH and a friend are trying to "fix" our printer. There are parts all over the floor. Jacqui is not wanting to go to sleep and having a party in the cot. Kicking the wall and all.
Ellangel - Awww very clever Holli. Good to hear she is starting to perk up.
BG - I usually have one or two days at home but anymore than that I go crazy.
Inlaws - thankfully (or not sometimes) they live about 20mins away. So no need for them to stay. I don't think I could cope with MIL staying here. We just do things too differently. When Jacqui was born she hung some washing out for me. I had to go and rehang it because I couldn't stand looking at it.
ellangel
25/01/2010, 08:08 PM
We had a nice chat this afternoon, didnt we Ali??
Triny - I keep meaning to ask you, 'how does your Dh making a toasted sandwich, wake J up?'

I am not being sarcastic...just genuinely interested.
All the 4/5 year olds school starters mums!! - lets all have a cry in here together tomorrow night, so ON the day, we have no more tears left to cry!!
alimumof3
25/01/2010, 08:30 PM
sharon i'll cry with you just cos i'm a sook.
triny - what a classic! I can't stop laughing thinking about that.

how did she hang them? lol its so funny isn't it. Little things that people do differently can drive you insane.
Lets bash those that do things differently. so triny you started it with the washing: my turn. hmmmmm let me think.
* IL's not putting the roller door down. WTF is the point of having one (this is a garage with internal access to the house) when the other door is not locked? why not just let the kids run out to the road or let robbers come in. Yep no worries. no probs with that.

Even when we were in qld at their place they'd then leave the internal door open too for 'air'. meanwhile DD would then go out the front.
* not washing dishes in hot enough water. sorry but 40deg to me is bath temp, not dish washing. The rinnai thing goes to 50deg, why not use it? (FIL issue)
* not hanging the hand towel back up on the hook. Do you think the hook is there for decoration?????????????
ellangel
25/01/2010, 08:43 PM
why not just let the kids run out to the road or let robbers come in.
bahahahaha ba hahahah~~~ Oh Ali!!! You crack me up!! Let me go clean up the kitchen and think of things that BUG me.
When BIL comes over to visit, he leaves the internal door to garage open just about 10cm as he is used to leaving it open for dogs, when he lived in Tamworth. I constantly tell him, "hello??? Mozzies!! Flies!! Kids in the house! Are you in or out?? "
Triny - ehheheh...you are funny too. I would 'think' about rehanging but wouldnt actually do it, for fear of being caught out or them noticing later, that I changed it.
Cath or Lara - can one of you invite me into the Septemberries group on facebook?? Please?? pretty pretty??
trinyweeny
25/01/2010, 08:58 PM
Ellangel - I HAD to rehang it. None of the shirts were straight the pants were hung wrong. It has taken me years to retrain DH. I waited till she had left and I knew she wouldn't be back.
On the toasted sandwich, I don't know I think the smell possibly. But it happens everytime he makes one. Just one of those things. Maybe one day Jacqui can tell me?
Another thing that bugs me is overcooking the vegies. Do they really need to be mush?
alimumof3
25/01/2010, 09:00 PM
sharon i don't think anything happens in the septemberries group on FB. i haven't checked it for probably a year!
its funny isn't how people do things differently. They must be idiots.
One thing the IL's also do is 'flick' tv stations all the time. When they stay here I sit on the remote
alimumof3
25/01/2010, 09:04 PM
I HAD to rehang it. None of the shirts were straight the pants were hung wrong. It has taken me years to retrain DH. I waited till she had left and I knew she wouldn't be back.
lol, i can picture you sneaking around, looking out the window, making sure she has really gone, then dashing outside and rehanging. snickering as you go.
cassi8
25/01/2010, 09:05 PM
I would have been in for a chat but I had my hands full!
Holli is such a clever little cookie. Sounds like she is feeling better and her medicine is starting to work which is great to hear.
Triny - N knows when I have made or am making brekky, will wake before I get it made no matter what time I get up! Good luck to DH with the printer, would be cheaper and quicker to buy a new one..

Speaking of going nuts being home *puts hand up* I was hoping to go to the local Aust Day celebrations and show N that hot air balloons but DH still isn't feeling well, light-headed mainly making him feel pretty crappy. At least he can eat properly now. I will have to go out with N tomorrow even if DH isn't up to it, we will both go nuts.
ILs, rarely visit here, don't know why... don't really care either.. they know they are welcome to visit.
I can't think of anything annoying at the moment but there are things that happen... Overcooked vegies

mum used to do that all the time along with the lumpy mash.. not much of a cook my mum..
alimumof3
25/01/2010, 09:11 PM
ILs, rarely visit here, don't know why... don't really care either.. they know they are welcome to visit.

alimumof3
25/01/2010, 09:13 PM
on a completely different topic, Oliver is cutting a molar! just when I said yesterday (or was it today) that he cut the tooth next to the front bottom.
So i think one teeny tip is about to erupt with this molar. Hope it doenst cause too much distress. At least I know its coming so i am like a boy scout, all prepared..
cassi8
25/01/2010, 09:16 PM
ali, if I didn't know you were pg I would think you had been into the wine!

The molars didn't bother N too much, the eye teeth were worse for him, I think he is still having issues with them. Hopefully they are nice easy ones for him.
trinyweeny
25/01/2010, 09:18 PM
Cassi - Unfortunately the printer has come good. I am sending it break vibes because we do need a new one. I love the hot air balloons. On Australia Day 2008 one landed just across the road from my place.
cassi8
25/01/2010, 09:22 PM
Its awesome seeing them all taking off, about 15 to 20 of them and the glow of the early morning sun.. I have some pics here somewhere.. I might take N myself if I am awake early enough..
alimumof3
25/01/2010, 09:24 PM
lol cassi! i am just in a silly mood. eating choc too. perhaps too much sugar??
I do get a bit silly espec when triny posts funny things. she cracks me up.
wow at that hot air balloon! I take it, it didn't mean to land there?
trinyweeny
25/01/2010, 09:27 PM
Um nope woke me up too! Couldn't work out what the strange noise was. It was the hot air going into the balloon. DH was away that weekend as well.
I'm so glad I crack you up Ali.
cassi8
25/01/2010, 09:29 PM
I think they land where they can, its not like they can steer them! I can imagine it would give you a shock though triny and grr to them waking you.
ETA I think I am going to take DH to bed now, so he will rest. He isn't going without me.. night ladies!
trinyweeny
25/01/2010, 09:34 PM
Night Cassi
Waiting for our friend to leave so I can take DH to bed as well.
cassi8
25/01/2010, 09:36 PM
thats not what I was thinking Triny.. but good luck to you!
ellangel
25/01/2010, 09:38 PM
You girls are crack ups!!
Ali - septemberrries. I just want to have a look for myself!! LOL.
Not like there is not enough entertainment in here anyway, to keep me busy.
FIL annoys the crap outa me...he is so god damn anal about everything!! Its like - make a decision already!! He has to over analyze everything.
Really gets on my goat how at EVERY meal time, he has to lay the table and get everything out of the fridge and cupboard to put on the table. Takes an hour to pack it all away!!
Then when I try and help, he just restacks the dishwasher HIS way right in front of me! If its my dishwasher and someone helps by stacking it different, I just let it slide.
I bug myself too. Was covering DD's books (who invented contact anyway??) and some annoying bubbles are really bugging me!! So DH caught me recovering OVER them with wrapping paper and then MORE clear contact!! LOL.
enjoy going to bed 'early' Triny and Cassi
trinyweeny
25/01/2010, 09:38 PM
LOL Cassi I didn't think your DH would be up for that.
Ellangel - You can use a pin to put a hole in the bubble and then push the air out
ellangel
25/01/2010, 09:46 PM
DO NOT tell me that now Triny!! I had forgotten that. Please tell me again next year!!
alimumof3
25/01/2010, 10:03 PM
but with the pin prick hole eventually you'd just want to scratch and scratch at it and pick and pick. wouldnt you? or would that just be me??
Do you use a ruler to smooth it out as you cover?
Sharon, ah FIL's. who invented them? lol
Have a good night triny
.gif)
Hope your friend hurrys up and leaves.
Oh and cassi i thought you meant that too, but yes, DH prob not up for that just yet.
urgh, its the last thing i feel like right now. My hormones have made that inclination plummet. Sorry DH.
well it is bed time here so best hang out the nappies, change DD"s nappy and check on my baby boy. Nighty night.
beaglebaby
25/01/2010, 10:11 PM
You girls crack me up
I've still got book covering ahead of me Ellangel, not sure which need covering though as some of the teachers like to cover them in class, or one really anal teacher told everyone how/what colour she wanted each one done!
Things inlaws do to annoy me. Hmmm, got all night?
One is that they turn up, take food scraps down to the chooks, pat the dogs then come to the house and let themselves in the back - uh hello, anyone ever heard of knocking? Another reason we want an automated remote gate
FIL has pet names for the kids that really grate on me too, but I put up with it as I can't stand the way MIL tells him off for things like that.
Triny, maybe you need to start dimming the lights...... a bit like closing time in the pub!
Ali, you've just saved my nappies, I'd forgotten I washed a load this afternoon, better go hang them out.
ellangel
25/01/2010, 10:13 PM
night! Ali. Do you change DS's nappy also? Does DD wet in a huggies?? Cant say I have ever changed in the night, my kids that is.
Was just going through my earrings and pairing them up. I have a bit of an earring fetish at the moment. Did you end up finding your jewellery Blondie? Hope so!
Wallace Bishop have buy 1 pair get the 2nd free till end of the month. I only got one pair and had my $25 bday voucher to use. So for a $145 pair, I paid $66!!
night from me also
beaglebaby
25/01/2010, 10:21 PM
Forgot to mention, KM, the Perth rally today got quite a bit of media coverage, at least channels 10 and 7 covered it.
cassi8
26/01/2010, 06:47 AM

Sharon at your book covering. Foolproof way of contacting books..
1. cut to correct size
2. fold the sheet in half while the backing is still attached and crease the centre
3. lay the contact on a flat surface and remove the backing paper
4. line the spine of the book up with the crease and adhere
5. slowly lay the book in a rolling motion in one direction with a fair amount of pressure, repeat for other side.
6. cut corners and fold over the front and back covers.

Uh no, DH def not up for anything but laying on the lounge. He is still feeling lightheaded this morning. I am going to get him to call the hospital to make sure its ok, they were supposed to call yesterday anyway but didn't!
As for me, I need to go out today but I have no idea what to do. Thought I might go to Parra park for those that know it but I'll be going with toddler alone.. not sure.
Just had one of the balloons land down the road, we went and had a look and N thought it was great.