The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: June 08 Parents # 57

Summerlover

Bec glad to hear you are relieved about that decision - what ever works for the mum and bub I say.

Just popped in helping with vegie ideas and while it happens its easier to remember. I just make a vegetable and chicken risotto - yum yum. Yas ate it and its different to pasta for a change!

Urs - forgot to mention I'm sure WW had a cannelloni reciped but I just make it from my head and I don't add egg to the ricotta & spinach centre because its lovely and soft without the egg - the egg makes it set and Yas likes the creamier centre taste rather than the set hard centre.

Also went fruit & veg shopping today and Yas grabbed a huge carrot - you should have seen her munching on it while we were shopping - so when they want it. A lady said to me she used to worry about her children not eating vegies at Yas's age and wished she had stopped worrying as it all comes good in the end!!!

Ok off to phone a friend in Holland!!

mumtomakandissy
Helen: I am relived although after speaking to my mum and DH's mum tonight I know I won't be getting any help. DH's mum sounded happy that they could go on their holiday when planned ( which means DH would have to work- but at least he is around the house IYKWIM) and my mum went on about how much she is needed at work. If worse comes to worse, DH's dad might just have to hire a farmhand for the couple of weeks they are away.

Speaking of vegies- I have a little bugger who will no longer touch anything with vegies in it! Arghhh! I made chicken and sweet pot risotto tonight use to be her favourite but nope, wouldn't touch it!

Urs: Am sorry to hear of your friend. I hope you are all holding up okay this week and like Urs said, makes you hold those around you closer.

Good luck for tomorrow with your new job.

When I was working last year I got up at 6.30 and had to leave by 7.45 at the latest. I had lunches etc made the night before and packed the bags etc. Mak got up just before I left so I just had to make sure she was dressed and hair done for school. DH gave her brekky and dropped her off as I was too early but I had to make sure Issy was ready as I dropped her on my way. I am afraid for the two days, not much else got done around the house but then I caught up pretty easily the next day.

J: Your hair looks great. I had a hair appointment today but my family day carer had a funeral so Issy was with me and thought it was too much to drag her to the doctors AND hairdressers so have one next week. Not sure what I will get done yet. My face is so puffy so that is putting me off a bit from a few styles I like!

Hayles: I am sure Harrison will be fine at day care. It's hard to leave them but it's not the worse thing in the world you could put your child through! I hope the teething has settled. We still need to organise a catch up.

Us: Well Isobel is cuter than ever, really talking now especially on the phone. She is starting to put sentences together- " me go now", " one more time". But the sleeping ! Arghhh

shell~
Urs - you need to stand under a fairy who sprinkles happiness. hhugs.gif Hope things start looking good for you soon. How did your shopping go?

Bec - Great news your Dr is willing to consider other options if the baby is a big one. What's the poll looking like. ppinkstork.gif or bbluestork.gif ?

Hel - Mwwwaaaahhh!! I have long wanted to make ricotta and spinach cannelloni but didn't want to waste the ingredients if it didn't work without egg (DS is ana). wub.gif Guess what my kids are trying on the weekend.

waves.gif hi everyone else!
Summerlover

Shell - my pleasure biggrin.gif

Bec - have you thought it may not be the vegetables??? (sometimes I think we just assume its the vegies IFYWIM) - she may just be off savoury stuff atm. The other day Yas wouldn't eat anything but cakes & biscuits & grapes!!!! ohmy.gif - she was a nightmare and kept finding all these things rolleyes.gif - I think they are just mini us's - just have days where they don't feel like something!!!!

ok off to bed

Urs - good luck, I'm sure you don't need it.

Hel x
Summerlover

As promisted - recipe for Brocolli Balls and they are lovely!!

Suitable from 9 months
Suitable to freeze

110g brocolli florets (or a combination of any veges)
4 slices white bread
30g cheddar cheese, grated
30g mozzarella, grated
3 tbs parmesan, grated
3 tbs dried breadcrumbs
1 1/2 tbs plain flour
1 egg, beaten
3-4tbs sunflower oil

1. Steam the brocolli for 7-8 minutes. Cool. Remove crusts from bread and process into cumbs. Transfer to a bowl. Process brocolli, cheddar and mozzarella to a smooth paste.
2. Add fresh breadcrumbs to mixture and mix well. Use 1-2tsp beaten egg to bind mixture.
3. Mix parmesan and dried breadcrumbs on a large plate. Place flour on antoher plate and the egg in a bowl. Roll brocolli mixture into teaspoon sized balls, then dust with flour, dip into egg and roll in breadcrumbs. Refrigerate for at least 1 hour until firm.
4. Heat oil in pan and cook over a high heat for about 30seconds each side until brown. Drain on paper towel and cool.

MrsHayley
Good Morning Girls wink.gif

Well, we have had a horrid few days. My poor little man is sick sad.gif On Saturday afternoon, he started to get this horrible rash all over his body. Lots of little red dots (I think it looks like measles). Anyway, Sunday morning, I took him to the Dr; who said it was a viral rash - but gee it's distressing to look at. It doesn't seem to be bothering him too much, but it's just horrible to look at. Add in to that, that his teeth are still playing up and now he seems to be getting a cold sad.gif He only slept for about 2hrs all day yesterday, and then last night, he woke up every 2hrs sad.gif And of course - all of this happens, when I have a shocker of a headache. So I am praying for a good day today hands.gif

Urs
- First of all, am so sorry for the loss of your friend hhugs.gif There seems to be a lot of deaths that I am hearing about, ATM - IYKWIM. But on a nicer side - good luck today. I hope it all goes smoothly, and that you look gorgeous in your new clothes tongue.gif

Bec
- Good to hear about your Dr. I was so rapt that I had a c/s with Harrison. It was so much easier and the recovery time was heaps quicker than I had with Amelia (obviously...) Definitely need to organise a catch-up. Let me know some dates that are good for you. How is Mak going at school?

Shell
- hhugs.gif How are things in your house?

Helen - When do you head back up to your new home? I bet Yas is missing her Dad wub.gif

Us - As I said above, hard times with Harrison, but aside from that - he is just sooo cute wub.gif He will be 6mths old tomorrow oomg.gif I just can't believe how quickly that time has gone. Amelia is going great guns. Talking heaps and heaps. Also putting sentences together. It's amazing how grown up she is getting. Still sleeping really well in her bed. She is outside at the moment, playing with her dolls and drawing - I am sure that I am going to get out there and she will have drawn all over her play equipment laughing2.gif But she is having fun. My great-grandmother died on Sunday afternoon - she was 95 - so we are heading up to Bendigo on Saturday for her funeral. My Dad is really sad, which I am struggling to see cry1.gif

Anyway, better go and change Amelia's stinky nappy sick.gif

TrickyRicky

sorry no personals, I'm checking in from my new job, I got here at 8.30 and my boss is not in she has been called away for an emergency so I am sitting ere taking phone calls and looking around, place is old, hot, no aircon. I think might kill me!!! LOL Ohwell they can pay me to sit here I dont care.
mumtomakandissy
Sounds like a great job Urs- to sit and get paid. That's what I need.

Hayles: I am glad about the C/S but I bet you at 36 weeks bub will be normal size and I will go over again, that's probably when my baby's get bigger.

Mak is fine. I have just had another meeting at school today and it was very positive. Mak has a great teacher this year and she said to me that the kid in question is obvioulsy, to all the staff, jealous of Mak as Mak is the smartest kid in the class AND the nicest. Made my heart melt to hear that even though as a mum you think that of your child anyway. She also said the said child is a " programmed" bully. So they are well aware.

Helen: Yep, though that. She has a sweet tooth like her mum! rolleyes.gif

Okay better run, Issy has just gone to bed so I am going to try and organise our play room whilst she is asleep. I am putting in a reading corner with some bean bags and cushions. Mak and Issy both love books and as a teacher, you can imagine how many we have so I need to sort it. Who knows I may even lie downa dhave a read ( and have trouble getting up again!)

Shell- just saw your post. My lips are sealed! Most people keep telling me THEY think its another girl but I am not giving anything away! Evil aren't I? lol.
MrsHayley
Bec - Great to hear about Mak wub.gif And my money is on a babyboy.gif
sun_kissed
Just a quick one:

HAPPY BIRTHDAY BELLE!

Hel: Thanks for the recipe
Urs: I agree sounds like a great job!
Bec: REading corner at home sounds awesome!
Hayls: Poor Harrison I hope he is better soon.

Us: Eli is a little sick has a bit of a cough but his asthma medication seems to have it under control. I'm tired the little ones are tiring me at work, all very adorable though. original.gif
And I am still not pregnant!!!! I don't think it has happened this month either (just finished O).
shell~
Bec - dev (6).gif You are an evil woman wink.gif What the hell is a 'programmed' bully?

Urs - How did the rest of the day go? Nothing better than getting paid for doing nothing wink.gif

Belle - I didn't know it was your Birthday. You kept that one quiet! Happy Birthday princess!!!

J - hope Eli is feeling better soon. How is school?

Hales - Sorry to hear about your Great Gran. Hope Harry's rash goes away quickly.
shell~
Where is everyone?! Hope you're all ok and just watching Lost. waves.gif
MrsHayley
OMG....so so proud of my little MikkiMoo last night wub.gif She did such a good job, will be interested to see how she goes next week having to do Ballroom laughing2.gif

Shell - Thank you hhugs.gif It was her time, and she had a great life. She was 95, and up until 3 years ago, she was still living on her own and cooking herself hot meals for her dinners and lunches biggrin.gif

J - Hope Eli is feeling a little better. Will keep my fingers crossed for you, even though you don't think it has happened happy.gif How long did it take you with Eli?

Urs - How has the job been going? I can't believe that your boss didn't show up on your first day huh.gif That's a bit weird.

Us
- We are all OK, but very exhausted. Harrison is still unwell, but thankfully the rash is starting to clear up. But he has been sleeping so badly the last 2 nights sad.gif He keeps waking up every 2 hours yyawn.gif So that's been hard. Otherwise, everything is pretty good. DH and I have been a lot better - which is helping wink.gif Otherwise, there is not much else going on.....

waves.gif Am off to get some stuff done, while Amelia is outside playing and Harrison is asleep
sun_kissed
Eli has a virus which has given him a pimply rash on his face sad.gif We are going to a wedding tomorrow and he is not a happy camper! ohmy.gif

Dad has taken a turn and is in an intense amount of pain. We are going to try radium next. He will hopefully be rushed through the public system fingers crossed. He is now on meds higher than morpeim (SP?) Had a teary this afternoon because I cant speak to him because he is sleeping all the time.

Hayls I hope harry is better soon hands.gif . We fell pg first go with Eli so this waiting thing is a bit of a shock to the system.
MrsHayley
J - Sorry to hear about your Dad hhugs.gif I hope the pain meds help him out a bit. TTC is such a pain in the a*se! It would be so nice if, when you decide that you want a baby, that BAM! you are pg laughing2.gif Harry's rash sounds exactly like Eli's - except that it was ALL over his body. It came out on Saturday and is starting to clear up now sad.gif

Urs
- Going by some of your FB stuff, I am thinking that Good Luck vibes are in order for today bbighug.gif will be thinking of you

Us - A slightly better night last night. Amelia slept through until 4am and Harrison started off badly, but then finally slept from 12.30am - 5am. So feel a little better after that bigger block of sleep. Amelia goes into daycare today, and my Dad is going to look after Harrison for a few hours this morning. So I am heading into town to get my nails done and put some new winter clothes on layby for the kids - Big W have a massive sale - so am going to spend up big laughing2.gif Then tomorrow we are heading up to Bendigo, for my Great-Grandmother's funeral sad.gif

OK, waves.gif to everyone, and I hope you all have a nice Friday wink.gif
mumtomakandissy
Hi Ladies

Another TIRED day here today. Going to go for an hours walk tonight when it cools a bit to see if that gives me a bit more energy.
We have some teenage kids of a family here picking oranges for us at the moment ( they have dropped out of school, asked if we had any work). Anyway the family are a bit dodge. POne of their younger boys is in Mak's class and today at healthy snack time pulled out an orange and proudly told Mak :" I have one of your oranges to eat today" which is fine, as DH expects all pickers to take some, no prob. But then he went on to say " we have a couple of big bags at home now" which means that his older brother is obviously picking for himself each time he works which will add up over time. So not impressed. DH is so relaxed he isn't worried but the family have a rep for riping off others in the community ( one of the daughters had a job at the local shop- got put off for the til being short) so I am determined I am going to say something to the mother when I see her. Not sure what though- any ideas?

Okay be back later for personals. I have done nothing but sit on my bug backside today as I am so exhausted!

TrickyRicky
sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif

What a sad day today cry1.gif oh it was just so devastating, seeing little Noah age 6 crying for his dad whilst he was being lowered, it tore my heart into shreds we all just stood there crying.....

That was the hardest part the church service was lovely, DH helped carry the coffin with Marks brothers to the grave site as in Rose's mind my DH is as close as a brother, DH just fought back tears the whole way.

So much more happened ie Drama but I just dont have enought time to go into it, I will thought give you a little snippet, Mark & Rose had been separated for 6mths and found a new GF named April who is my SIL friend, we are all good friends so basically April was not allowed to the funeral. anyway lots lots more...

Work - Work was well.... did nothing really except answer the phone, they are pretty messy and so need someone to help organise them, I think if I do continue I will definitley try and implement some changes. My role will be assistant office manager rolleyes.gif The office manager had been called away as her mother is gravely ill, I dont think she expected it but she was confident that I would be fine, the owner Dave said it was like I had been there a month, so I suppose that was positive, I just used my initiative.

Helen - I hope you are doin ok, I just noticed your post on FB.

J - bbighug.gif such Big hugs to you and your family, I hope your dad comes out of this ok xxx

Bec - I still cant believe you have not told US, I mean c'mon we are like your bestest bestest cyber friends LOL I seriously thought you would have cracked by now. You are doing so well. Farout bec, I would just maybe say what you just said that maybe a few but not a whole bag.

Hayls - How did you go shopping? I noticed the Big W sale, Casey needs shoes because of his fungal infection I had throw out alot of them and now he only has 1 pair. Good luck tomorrow, they are never easy sad.gif

Belle - Happy Belated Bday!!!! It was your 30th wasnt it???

Ok I'm signing off for the night, some of lees mates are coming over because there was drama at the wake.

Luv YOu all
Urs xxx
Summerlover

I fine - just wanted to pop in and let you all know that. I'm just a little overwhelmed with everything that is needing to be done and saying goodbyes to people etc etc.

Container arrives Wednesday morning. I have a list of things that need completeing for that time and there just seems still so much to do. Yas and I and the dogs leave Thursday morning - doing the trip in 2 days (9hrs each day) - have found a place half way that will let me have the dogs inside the cabin for the night. We will push along and get there even if we have to stop a number of times to do it as I really couldn't stomach dragging the trip out over 3 days. Yas is great in the car and with dvd's it will help get us there and the dogs will no doubt do what they do best when they settle and thats sleep!!!!

Well just waiting for Yas to wake and we are heading to the dump and then to get a couple more kids dvs's from target for the trip.

Will touch base before I leave

Urs & J - bbighug.gif to both of you

Helen

sun_kissed
Urs hugs to you xo bbighug.gif

Hayles bbighug.gif about your great grandma.

Hel Good luck with the big move!

Bec: I agree I would say what you said before but I would also try to keep an eye on them.

Us: Great wedding. Eli was so well behaved but he is feeling a little worse today. Had a temp.

HAPPY VALENTINES DAY llove.gif
mumtomakandissy
Hi Ladies

Just a quick post- its my " me " day today and I have spent it at the hairdressers this morning so now rushing to get some housework done before I go to collect my babies!

Shell: Programmed bullying is where a child has learnt the bullying, possibly from home so its normal behaviour to them that has been programmed in since they were young. If you met this young girls mother you would understand how it all fits.

I know I am evil but I love surprises! This ones not for me though, just for everyone else.

Helen: Good luck this week. You are a brave trooper driving 9 hours a day! Glad Yas travels well. Mine would be driving me batty. Agree on the DVD player though. I never had one for Mak, but its the only thing htat kees us sane in the car with Isobel on long trips!

Urs: Hope the job is going well and you are feeling okay after your sad week last week.

Hayles:Glad things between you and your DH are going better. Any days suits me for a catch up- perhaps a day in March?

J: Eli sounds like he would have stolen the show at the wedding- how very cute!

Hi everyone else.

Us: Same old here. I am getting bigger by the day ( tummy that is) and starting to feel really uncomfortable. I am also INCREDIBLY hormonal which I didn't really experience with the last two. On Saturday DH had a lovely day planned and I just couldn't stop crying for no reason at all. In the end I too the girls to Mum and Dads and let DH have some peace at home. He is a saint to put up with my pregnancy moods. I am not even sure what they are about as I am so in love with DH, we get along great, I love our girls, life couldn't get better really but little things just make me turn into a cry baby! Needless to say that both DH and I will be glad to met this little person ( beyond belief) but so relived that these days will be over!

Anyway better run. Got to mop the floors and sweep up outside.

sun_kissed
Just a quick one my lap top is not working properly.

Bec: I'm jealous of your pregnant belly I want one! and I want to know what your having biggrin.gif

Eli did steal the show social little butterfly he is LOL

Busy with work be back on my lovely days off xo

shell~
ph34r.gif
sun_kissed
bbighug.gif hhugs.gif For Shell xoxo
mumtomakandissy
Evening Ladies

I am still awake even though I should be in bed! Isobel fell off our bed tonight and I am so paranoid she hurt herself that I am sitting here in our room watching her sleep! She fell off the end and landed on top of her head and then rolled but I saw it and just wasn't quick enough to grab her. Luckily there was a pile of clothes on the floor at the end so she didn't land hard but boy I got the biggest shock as she winded herself and was just silent for about 30 seconds when I grabbed her then let out an almighty cry! She looked like she landed funny on her neck too. Although she was running around again a minute later and asking for ice cream! She was fine for the rest of the night so I am pretty sure she is fine.

DH thinks we should buy a footy helmet for her as she is always climbing and falling or banging into something lately. Anyone else finding this? Honestly she should have been a boy. It's such a shock after Mak who was such a gentle little toddler.

Anyway it has prompted us to think about what we need to change around here to make it more kid proof. So DH is going to spend some time with me tomorrow ( his parents are away this week so he's the boss and can take some time off lol) going through each room just to make sure there is nothing that Issy can get into. With Mak I never had to do anything. She just knew what she was allowed to and what she wasn't allowed to touch! So far this week Isobel has opened the cutlery draw and just about pulled a knife out ( now has a permanent lock on it), somehow gotten into Mak's room ( has a gate on the door) and put a love heart eraser in her mouth ( which I promptly fished out), climbed up the slide and gone down head first only to land on the ground below, tried to get past the child proof lock on one of the kitchen cupboards only to have her fingers jammed and decided that it is fun to climb on the ottaman and jump onto the couch over the arm, landing on the floor most times! Honestly, I feel like i have to follow her around all day long.

J: You wouldn't want this baby belly, it is massive! Not even my maternity clothes that I was wearing towards the end of my pregnancy with Isobel fit over this belly now! The reality has hit home that I will be one exhausted women in a few months time.

We have a wedding in mid March and I have absolutely zilch to wear so need to get onto that!

Okay will be back tomorrow for more personals. Issy is laughing in her sleep- must be having sweet dreams! Her and Mak are curled up in our bed tonight so DH has taken himself off to the spare room to get some sleep after being kicked too many times! Seriously we have to stop letting the girls do this ( somehow managing to end up in our bed) but DH and I were just talking tonight that its nice they want to be close to us- one day they will be embaressed by us!

Shell: Hope you are okay. A big hug from me aswell.

Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.