The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: June 08 Parents # 57

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=750778

whatsonemore
ddance.gif GOLD ddance.gif
bellemk
Hi lovelies

Still can't figure out my password for EB> Work logs me in automatically. Anyone know how I can view them? If not I will just change it.

Hops everyone is well.

Summerlover

Hi ladies

Just a quickie - all well in Cairns and I will talk to you soon

Luv Helen
TrickyRicky

Well we are home from the van, I so wanted to stay longer but DH had had enough. I'm all brown, lots of sunbaking on the beach and just generally being outside everyday. Had a big night Sat night lots of drinking and pole dancing huh.gif one of my friends had her video camera out, god it was funny watching it back. Today I have slowly been unpacking and have done about 5loads of washing, I had to bring all the sheets and towels back from the van.

Belle - Go to the Quicklinks and go through the procedure for forgot password they should email you a new one, from memory.

Helen - I hope you find a rental soon, hows the apartment you are in?

J - You are funny roll2.gif man on top with your legs open wink.gif

Hayls - Good on you for booking your trip, I'm off to Melbourne In August for a girls wkend to see Mary Poppins but my 30th is in May and I am thinking of an 80's theme dress up party.

Jobs - still nothing back from the jobs sad.gif

Ok off to sort these two boys out.

Bye for now!!!
mumtomakandissy
J: You have cracked me up. Missionary is man on top, and as for the legs I think like Urs said as long as they are open don't think it matters if they are lying flat or somewhere in the air! lol. I'm not sure about the best time to do it but I remember with Issy even though we didn't plan her, when trying to work out when she was conceived we worked out we would have done it probably every 2nd day around when I ovulate normally.

Well I had a lovely day today in Echuca with my two sisters helping my youngest sister find a wedding dress. She found a gorgeous one. Although now I have two way overtired girls who are both sooking in their beds! Sigh.

Okay better go, trying to get them to have an early night because they are both so tired.

BBL.....
♥Kellie♥

I was wondering if I could join the group.

I am new to EB but have a 4yo daughter and 18 month old Son (Declan born 6/6/08) and would love to chat with other Mums with kids the same age original.gif
whatsonemore
Your welcome to join ♥Kellie♥ we love fresh meat roll2.gif Is your son bags of trouble like mine ?

I'm Emily i've got 4 kids 3dd and 1ds 11,8,4,18mths
sun_kissed
Happy Aussie Day Ladies xoxo

Urs and Bec: blush.gif on the missionary roll2.gif roll2.gif

Kellie: You are more than welcome especially because our son's share the same B'day 6.6.08 biggrin.gif

AussieDay: Had a good day went to a friends JJJ hottest 100 party, the boys played cricket and footy I had a couple of wines. Now gearing up to meet my new class tomorrow xoxo

bellemk

Guess who remembered their password!

J - You are a very funny girl. Hope to hear some baby news shortly but have fun in the meantime wink.gif

Helen - Hope you are enjoying Cairns

Urs - Missed you babe. Glad to hear you enjoyed your time away and are very jealous to hear about your tan

Shell, Hayles, Em, Bec & Everyone else - Hi

Kellie - WELCOME!

Us - Liana is just too cute! Caught her eating yoghurt the other day with a wooden spoon - very funny. Other than that she is running around like mad, getting into everything and generally the centre of attention.

Me - I am on a massive health kick and have lost 4 kgs so far but still have heaps to lose. Change of lifestyle, diet and plenty of exercise so I will get there.

Melbourme meet up - Is this still on the cards

Belle xxx
~Goggles~
Hey everyone,

Kellie - Hey and welcome! There are quite a few of us around but we take it in turns of having posting spurts Tounge1.gif My name is Simone and i have 2 girls - Lila was born on 13.6.08 and Ella is 3.5yrs.

J - gosh you make me laugh. Good luck next month - have a search for gender swaying and you should get some ideas. Boy swimmers are faster but girl swimmers have the stamina, i think laughing2.gif Good luck returning to work tomorrow and i hope you have a classroom of little angels wub.gif

Bec - i love wedding dress shopping! I am bridesmaid for my bestfriend in October and i have loved dress shopping with her. It has made me want to renew my vows so i can get a new dress roll2.gif Hope those hormones settle down for you too, they are a pain in the butt!

Urs - those employers are buttheads if they can't understand how great you will be! Hope one of them comes to their senses soon. Glad you had a good time at the van - are you still thinking of selling it?

Helen - glad all is good in Cairns. Good luck finding a house. How is the jobhunting going? Is Yasmin still walking well?

Hi to everyone else - Belle, Shell, Kathy, Hayles and anyone else blush.gif

Us - not much happening here. DH has had a four day weekend so it has been great having him home. We have just been hanging out and we cleaned out the study today which has been needed for a long time. The girls are great. Lila is just at the best age. She is chatting away like crazy and putting words together. She is a true mummy's girl and is so excited when she sees me. I wish i had $1 for everytime she said "mumma" in a day - she follows me around saying it ALL day! She says 'daughter' now too which is very funny, and she is telling us when she has done a poo. We are going to try and put her in her big bed tomorrow night as she has put a big hole in the side of her portacot (which she has slept in for ages) and i don't want her to get a limb or her head stuck in it. Wish us luck as i really don't think she will stay in it, especially with her big sister in the same room to chat to laughing2.gif
Uni starts back in 5 weeks so i am counting down - so bored at the moment. Hoping that i get my study guides early next month so i can get a good head start. We are hoping that DH gets a deployment to Dubai he has applied for which is from April-August so i need to be incredibly organised if he gets that.

Anyway enough rambling from me. We are going to watch a movie which caps off a lovely few days of having DH home biggrin.gif
♥Kellie♥
Thanks for the warm welcome everyone biggrin.gif

Simone - Good luck for tomorrow night - hopefully she huprises you by staying in bed original.gif My DH had a 4 day weekend as well which we spent doing much needed repairs/cleaning around the house.

Belle - I would love to know what you are doing to lose the weight. I could really lose a few kilos or more rolleyes.gif

Sun_kissed - How awesome that our little boys share the same Birthday!! I am on a few forums and have only ever met one othe Mum who also had a little boy born on the same day too! Good Luck for tomorrow original.gif

Emily - Actually Declan is quite placid. It's my 4yo Daughter who is the trouble maker. Hopefully her starting Pre-School next week will change that original.gif

Us - Well Declan just get's cuter by the second. He talks more and more every day and he always amazes me with the things he says (he is like a parrot sometimes).

He has also started telling me when he has done a poo but any attempt to get him to go in the potty has failed so we are just leaving it for now!!

Anyway enough from me - I am just so excited to be here and to be able to share our experiences together cool.gif
whatsonemore
Melbourne meet up~ Am ready when ever you guys are just name the place and i'm there!

Belle~ Good on you for getting on a health kick i've been trying for months to get healthy but just don't seem to have the commitment i am now try Hypnosis CD wish me luck.

Us~ As i had mentioned on FB DH found a snake skin in he's tool box which stands about 1m of the ground so slightly freaked about that cause the girls were going in there to get the hay to feed the horse.

Em

TrickyRicky

Welcome Kellie, we have had a few drop off over the last year so its good to have some new blood:) I have two boys Ricky 4.5 26/06/2005 and Casey 19mths 19/6/2008

The boys and I have been sick with the runs, coughing and running noses, not good especially when Casey starts daycare next week. I just want to curl up in bed.

Simone - We have the van on the market but I dont think it will sell quickly as there are 18 other vans up for sale. Casey also says mum a million times, plus everything else he is a parrot just copys everything. he calls the pool water its too cute.

j - I hope you got some nice kids in your class.

ok I have to cut it short, feeling terrible sick.gif .

Oh but I just got a call from my cousins MIL and she has recommended Icall her girlfriend who is looking for an admin clerk so I will give her a call shortly.
sun_kissed
Hey girls,

First day back went brilliantly biggrin.gif I have a lovely bunch this year so I am looking forward to it original.gif

Thanks for the tips on girl making. I have heard you shouln't orgasm but where is the fun in that! roll2.gif

Eli: Is running non stop. Anyone elses seem to find pure joy in just running?? Its soo funny laughing2.gif

He is a parrot too. He points to everything he knows the word for and says Bye Bye to everything in the house when we leave and waves laughing2.gif
And he is obsessed with he moon. Constantly pointing out th moon, saying "moon", "Bye Bye Moon", "Moon sky".

Oh and he has decided he doesn't like veges rant.gif refuses to eat anything with veges in it all of sudden, not happy about that.

URs: Hope you and the boys get better soon. Good luck ringing your friend for the job, I hope something comes up. Maybe if the van doesn't sell quickly you will fit in another holiday grin.gif

Emily: I would be moving house if I found a snake skin that size! Way to scary for me!

Kellie: Eli is the same. Says "pooo weee" and points to his nappy but refuses to sit on the potty. Still to early I think.

Simone: Awww Lila in her big girl bed wub.gif Good luck. Take a photo of the little princess in her bed original.gif Good luck with uni preparations.

Belle: Welcome back. How cute is Liana eating with the spoon that made me laugh.

Hi to everyone else laugh.gif .
And to Shell who has been missing for a while hhugs.gif . Thinking of you if you are still reading us xoxoxo
mumtomakandissy
Hi Ladies

Quick one as soo tired!
Kellie: Welcome this is a really great group! Which state are you in? My name is Rebecca and I am in Vic. I have two DD's, one almost 7 and Isobel who is 19 months. We are also expecting baby number three in May.

J: Glad our first day back was good. Yes, Isobel running around like a mad woman! I have to tell her to walk inside because she gets so excited. The other things she is doing is trying to stand on the spot and jump. SOoooooo very cute! And can also relate to the parrot issue.

Toilet training: Isobel is very interested and has actually sat on the toilet a couple of times but I think a bit early too. At least she is showing some interest though!

Big beds: Not even going to bother for a while. With the way Issy sleeps, and the few times we have tried she is just up and out all night. I won't need the cot when this bub arrives straight away so no hurry.

Em: Plenty of snakes and snake skins around here. The joys of living on a farm! I am extra vigilent in summer especially and the girls are usually not allowed outside without one of us. You just never know! And they are browns and tigers around here so dangerous. Being on a river makes it worse because they need the water too.

Ok hi everyone else. Better run Issy is a terror this morning!

BBL.....

Summerlover

Just a quick call in from Cairns. I fly back home on sunday so will do a proper post next week and update you all.

All good up here but still no home to rent sad.gif - hopeless but we have some temp accomodation to go to and we have to as our house has been rented from the 19th of Feb.

Yasmin is still walking around and more than ever but still on her tippy toes - she is so funny. Has a lot of falls still but she getting very good and would rather walk if she can on her toes than on her knees unless she is in unfamiliar territory.

We are so central to everything at our apartment in Cairns - The apartment is beautiful but not kiddy proof at all so I am ready to leave there. I just want a place to call home but we have certain wants so best to wait for the right home.

Okay best be off - I'll talk to you all next week.

Helen
TrickyRicky
Hey Girls,

Helen - I see you posting I hope all is good, have you found a house yet?

Bec - Are you returning to school this year??

J - No wonder I have 2 boys LOL..... Casey is being very fussy with eating, all he wants is chips, chocolate or the cream from the middle of the bikkies huh.gif oh and he will have packet pasta. No wonder he is so tiny.

Job - Well I had a phone interview yesterday and it went really well, its an admin co-ordinator job for a timber and fencing company, I will be assisting the manager with all office duties, quotes, invoicing, rosters, co-oridinator contractors work etc, basically 3 days a week but 1 week out of the month I need to work fulltime as the managers mother is gravely ill. I made sure I stated the minimum amount of pay I would accept and she said she can work with that. She sounds very nice so I have emailed her resume so I am hoping to get an interview. I tell you..... about bloody time!!!!

We went to the dr's this morning and we all have a Viral (sp) infection, Casey also has a fungal infection crossed with ecsma on his toes. I breast feed and did not smoke and he still has it. Anyway lots of rest, dimetapp and fluids.

Ok off to sort Ricky out and maybe try and have a rest.
MrsHayley
....wierd double post......
MrsHayley
Hi Girls wink.gif

Kellie - Welcome biggrin.gif As the other girls have said, everyone in here is fantastic! I am Hayley and also in Vic. I have Amelia, who is 19mths (23.6.08) and Harrison, who is (almost) 6mths (10.8.09)

Urs - YAY! on the phone interview. Here's hoping they follow through and give you a face-to-face interview. Sounds like a good job too. Will the boys both go in to daycare on the days that you would work? Good Luck with selling the van, I hope it goes quickly for you. Are you feeling any better today?

Helen - Good to hear that you found someone to rent your house original.gif Hopefully you will find something soon hands.gif Are you driving back home, or flying?

Bec - How are you feeling?

J - So pleased to hear that you love your class this year wub.gif Just think.....that will be our kiddies in a few years oomg2.gif I have no tips on gender picking - we got lucky! I'm pretty sure there is a BG on here for Gender Swaying TTC huh.gif Is Eli still loving his new daycare? How is your Dad going?

Em - sick.gif that's all I can say about the snake!

Simone - How nice, having your DH home for a 4 day weekend. And how exciting, possibly going to Dubai! That would be fantastic eexcite.gif Amelia says Mum/Mummy a lot too. She stands next to me and taps me on the leg, saying "Mummy, Mummy" laughing2.gif Cute, but annoying blush.gif

Belle - WOO HOO to remembering your password. Congratulations on the weight loss cclap.gif I really need to get my a*se into gear too. I am back at my pre-pg weight (from Harrison), but I look so much bigger now, than I did then. I am so bloated sad.gif

Vic Meet Up - I am still up for one. But I can only really do a Sunday, or maybe a Wednesday. I think Bec had suggested a hotel in Bendigo, a while ago. That seems to be the most central place for all of us.

Big Beds - Amelia is still going great guns in hers. It's fantastic wub.gif Her room just looks so beautiful.

Toilet Training
- I'm disappointed to say, that Amelia is showing very little interest in the toilet sad.gif I was really hoping that she would train early, like she did everything else, so that I could start spending less money on nappies! It's bloody expensive having two young kids in nappies sad.gif

Us
- All going pretty well here. Amelia has her first "official" day of daycare tomorrow. She has been having so much fun at the orientations, and she cracks it when I tell her we are going home. So I think she will be just fine tomorrow. She will go in at 10am and leave at about 2.30pm. Plus I feel good, knowing that she will be there with Armahni wub.gif I think Rahni is going to get so excited when she sees Millie come in laughing2.gif Harrison is going pretty good too. Still having a lot of trouble with the teething though sad.gif You barely even knew that Amelia was ever teething - it was only that you would look in her mouth, and "whoops - there's another tooth!" Harrison does not handle it well at all, though. There is so much dribble, red cheeks, nappy rash, chomping and vomiting!! I feel so sad for him. Hopefully he will get them as quickly as Amelia did hands.gif On the countdown to the marriage counsellor (isn't that sad?), am just really looking forward to getting into it, and hopefully sorting things out. I think it's going to take a while, but at least get started.

Anyway, am going to have a lie down, while the kids are asleep yyawn.gif

Will BBL waves.gif

mumtomakandissy
Hayles: I am feeling pretty good just very tired from Isobel's sleeping! I wouldn't worry about the toilet training, its very early. Mak was toilet trained at spot on 2 and I remember even that being early. Mak also teethed well, Issy on the other hand, complete opposite!

Urs: No not returning this year. I was going go back for 8 weeks but didn't have the childcare to fit the days plus it means the teacher who is currently in my maternity position would lose her job just for 8 weeks then have to reapply when they had to advertise it again. Alot of mucking about. TBH I am too tired anyway! It means things will be a bit tight but we have a great budget that allows us to pay everything, save and still have about $800 left a month after all that which isn't too bad I think. DH only earns a low wage on the farm but we don't have any car loans, credit cards etc at the moment which is good.

I breastfeed Issy too but she and MAk both have bad exczma. So not sure if bf actually prevents it. Can't wait til the 8th, I am having allergy testing done so can pin point what triggers it for them!

Food: Isobel just wants " goch, goch " ( chocolate). She actually refused to eat her dinner the other night and kept saying it. Of course we didn't give her any and she threw the biggest tantrum! I have a freezer full of zucchini slice, quiche, all the things she use to eat and she won't touch them now! I think it's normal for them to go through this stage. We are just continuing to offer her healthy options and not unhealthy. She eventually eats a bit when she gets hungry. That's all you can do I think!

Having the laziest day today. Am so tired and just had a 2 hour sleep whilst Issy was asleep. Whilst asleep, DH was in for lunch so he and Mak were playing monopoly and a huge tree fell in our yard, massive. It actually is across the road ( think dirt country road) and was so big it landed across the lawn. I am going to have to get a tree guy ( arborist-?)to come in now and loop the ones that are dangerous because it could have been awful if the girls were outside playing!

bellemk

Kellie - I am Belinda but prefer Belle and have a DS - almost 8, DD 6, DD 4 and DD 1 and 1/2.

Bec - Liana just wants to eat the sour cream and chives rice cakes! She goes through shopping bags to get them and runs and hides. She is ADDICTED!!!! I can understand the chocolate addiction

Hayles - thanks. Still heaps more to lose but I am going to do it

Urs - I am so proud of you and they would be lucky to have you. Fingers crossed

J - Glad you feel that way about your Grade 1 kids. Tay starts Grade 1 on Monday and Ethan will be in Grade 3. They are growing up too fast

Vic Meet Up - I can only do Sundays but other than that can't wait

Liana has a black eye. she fell off the trampoline while the netting was being zipped up. She is ok but I feel terrible. It looks so bad

Today was my first day of holidays so took Ethan & Tay bowling and to a friends. Now ready for a quiet night at home

Hi to everyone else

Bellexxx

sun_kissed
Bec: I know I have a freezer full of cooked veges that he now refuses to eat!!!! He has eaten them twice a day for 20months and now he doesn't.

Think its time for a quiz to give each other ideas about taming these toddlers:

My Toddler eats during the day:
Weebix with milk for breakfast.
cheese stick and fruit for morning tea.
Sandwich and yoghurt or diced fruit for lunch with a cup of milk.
biscuit/muesli bar or fruit bar for afternoon tea.
Dinner what we are having or veges and noodles, veges and spaghetti or fish fingers.

Favourite snacks:
Banana, wiggles biscuits, saltanas.
He also loves to drink those mini pops. 50% juice 50% water.

Food tricks I discovered:
Using half my veges and 1/2 tin spaghetti.
1/2 my veges and 1/2 packet of noodles (no sachet just plain noodles). They seem to work.
Tried the sandwich trick spreading veges on a sandwich but he wouldn't have a bar of it.
Also tried giving him a vege sausage rather than a meat one but he wouldn't eat that either.

My toddler sleeps:
1 sleep 12- 2.
Goes to bed at 6.30- 7pm wakes about 6- 6.30.
Still has a dummy for sleeping only.

Toilet training: No but he says "poo wee". However would prefer to run away than have his nappy changed or sit on a potty.

Loves to play: In his pop up tent, with phones, on his swing set, with balls, thomas the tank engine, reading books, obsessed with hoses and ropes loves pulling them around and helping vacuum.

Drives me mad when.... He opens the fridge and steals the grapes. Opens the pantry and steels anything he can get. Constantly runs away from me giggling!!!!
TrickyRicky
cereal, nutri grain, coco pops, or weetbix with milk all depends on his mood and what ricky is having.
Yoghurt or Sao with vegemite or muesli bar for morning tea. also depends on his mood
Casey doesnt really eat lunch, I always offer a sandwich along with fruit, cheese stick etc but he normally chooses not too, so he goes for a sleep then I give him a big afternoon tea. He loves tin spaghetti and would eat it everyday if I gave it to him but his poo's are not nice the next day.

Snakatas with Hommus dip, biscuits, fruit, yoghurt or custard etc afternoon tea.
Dinner what we are having but once again very fussy right now.

Favourite snacks:
Grapes, chips, chocolate, apples, pears, bananas, loves the cream in the middle of the biscuits, Fruit Stix by Uncle Tobys, he loves them!!.

Casey sleeps:
12.30-3.30
Goes to bed at 8pm wakes between 7.30-8.30am .
Still has a dummy or nummy as he calls it, bed time only..

Toilet Training: Casey also says Wee when he is doing it all over the floor.

Thats all from me right now as I am finishing off dinner, frankfurts, chips & fish fingers, real easy tonight.
mumtomakandissy
Great idea J!

What my toddler eats:

Usually a HIGE breakfast- weetbix, or porridge, cup of milk and a piece of toast with vegemite. She also occasionally will have a banana as well ( or I cut it up and add it to the weetbix).
Morning Tea and Afternoon Tea- usually yogurt or custard or a fruit " platter" with sultanas, hommus, dry bikkies, cheese or cut up fruit. Rice crackers, homemade muffins.
Lunch: Usually a sandwich with vegemite, cheese, toasted cheese or grated salad.
Dinner: Usually what we are having, however if we are having something too spicy or hot I make her some lasagne or tuna bake or something along those lines.

Other snacks: This kid will eat anything but limiting sugary and processed foods mainly due to her exczma.

Food tricks: I grate vegies ( carrot, zucchini etc) and add them to hamburgers, lasagne, spaghetti bol and she doesn't even know she is eating them!

Sleeps:

For between 1-2 hours day
At night, goes to bed at 7 but like tonight, is still chatting away an hour later! huh.gif Still wakes at LEAST 3 or 4 times a night for no reason other than to ask DH or I to " rub back". huh.gif and then wakes anywhere between 5-7. Not a great sleeper as you can tell!

Toilet training: Is very very interested and I really should start to make more of an effort. She has sat on the toilet a few times and loves to watch either Mak or myself on the toilet which if I remember, is how Mak started too!

Loves to play: in the garden,helping me water pot plants and plant things, on her slide, in the trampoline, in her pop up tent or in Mak's, ride her " bike" ( I push it along with the handle), read books, colour, draw ( including on walls and the floor huh.gif ), play with her " babies", help me cook ( very good at rolling up rum balls and biscuits!, also obsessed with the hose, loves swimming and isn't afraid now to put her head under. Also loves the shower, our dogs, helping me at the supermarket, talking on the phone. Just generally loves to giggle and play.

Drives me mad.. lately because she thinks its fun to run and hide and ignore me when I try to find her. Also her sleeping drives me mad, lucky she is so cute!

Okay that's all from me today. Off tomorrow to take Mak out for a bit of me and her time as she goes to back to school Monday and I am going to miss having her around each day! sad.gif We are off to the movies, then meeting my mum for lunch then a trip to her favourite lolly store to stock up for our " movie marathon" tomorrow night.
MrsHayley
WOO HOO - So You Think You Can Dance.....make sure you all watch the Melbourne auditions, to see my darling cousin - Mikhaela eexcite.gif

Breakfast - Nutrigrain or Toast
Morning Tea/Afternoon Tea - Grapes, savoy biscuits, cheese, strawberries
Lunch - Sandwich, frankfurts, fish fingers, nuggets
Dinner - Whatever we are having
Favourite snacks - Grapes and Strawberries. And she loves, loves, loves Icy-Poles

Haven't really got any. Thankfully we are lucky, and Amelia is a great eater

My toddler sleeps:
*Her day sleeps depend on what time she wakes up. If she wakes up before 7am, she will usually have 2 day sleeps (about an hour and a half each), around 8.30am and then again about 2pm. If she wakes after 7am, she will go down at about 11.30am and sleep through until 1.30pm (ish)
*Goes to bed between 7.30-8.30pm, and wakes anywhere between 5.30am and 7am

Toilet training:
BOO! She's not interested at all sad.gif

Loves to play:

Is very into playing "Mummy" with her cabbage dolls, ATM. She always seems to be cradling one in her arms. She puts them over her shoulder, and pats their back and says "Ssshhh" and tries to give them a drink and things like that biggrin.gif She also LOVES talking on the phone, and helping me vacuum.

Drives me mad when:

She climbs up onto the entertainment unit, and 'monkey grips' her way along the Plasma - when I am not looking ohmy.gif I have no idea how to stop her doing it - so any ideas would be great!

OK, will come back tomorrow waves.gif

"Go Mikki, Go Mikki, Go Mikki" - SYTYCD 2010
bellemk

My toddler eats during the day:
Breakfast - cereal (rice bubbles or weatbix) with either a banana or toast
Morning tea - yoghurt and fruit
Lunch - sandwich or pasta
Afternoon Tea - fruit, crackers and cheese
Dinner - whatever we are having. Loves steak and potatoes (just like her daddy)
Favourite snack - Absolutely addicted to sour cream and chives rice cakes. I swear she could eat about 10 a day.

Food tricks
She is a great eater so I haven't needed to use any

Sleep Time
Liana generally wakes about 7am and is in bed at 8. She usually has a late morning sleep for about 1 1/2 and will sometimes have another in the afternoon. Has a dummy for bed only

Toilet training
She will tell us as soon as she does a poo and has just started telling us before she does one. Hasn't really said much about wee. I think I will wait until closer to her birthday to start though

Loves to play
Phones, handbags and babies. She is a real little girl. Trampoline was another big hit but after her black eye we might give that one a miss for a while

Drives me mad
When she breaks into the pantry to steal her rice cakes. That is the only thing she ever takes and will do it at every opportunity. Literaly by the time I come home after picking her up from creche and walk down the hallway she is already in the pantry eating them. Also hiding the remote. Drives us NUTS!

Ok better go and get the kids bags ready for school tommorrow
Belle xxx
shell~
Hi everyone! waves.gif

Kellie - Welcome original.gif I'm Shell from Qld. I have a son Joshua, who is 4 years and a daughter Susannah, who is 19mths (think's she's 5!)

Urs - Very exciting news about your phone interview. hands.gif it goes well. Haven't been back through the last thread. Did you decide to sell the van?

Helen - how is the move to Cairns going? Big hugs to you lovely lady.

Belle - rotfpmsl. Sus is addicted to sour cream and chives rice cakes too. She's just as bad with the sundried tomato ones too.

Weebix with milk, Porridge or toast and beans.
Fruit platter and yoghurt, cheese or ricecakes for morning tea.
Sandwich and yoghurt, leftovers or a pick plate - (pieces of cheese, avocado, cherry tomatos, lettuce, meat/fish and buttered bread), with a cup of milk.
Fruit, rice cakes, arrowroot & milk, cheese stick.
Dinner what we are having. If it's rejected beans and a microwave potato, with a glass of milk. I also keep a stash of left over dinners that she has liked in the freezer so I can pull it out in an emergency.

Favourite foods: Rice cakes, grapes, saltanas, avocado..and cake...she loves her cake.

Grated carrots and zucchini go into everything we have with mince (rissoles, meatloaf, spag bol, potato pie, meatballs)
Putting honey and butter on carrots (doesn't always work)
Hiding vegies in stews eg. lamb stew with 'very' finely cut vegies and big chunks of potato. Gets her every time wink.gif
Will eat heaps of vegies in a potato pie. Cover the top of her mince and vegies with mashed potato and make it into a smiley face. Two peas for his eyes, a piece of corn or carrot for his nose and a big tomato sauce smile.

My toddler sleeps:
1 sleep 12- 2 or no sleep as of late cry1.gif
Goes to bed at 7:30 - 8:30pm (doesn't actually go to sleep until 10pm some nights mad.gif. Wakes between 6.30 and 7:00am every day.
Still has a dummy for sleeping only, but will do 'what ever it takes' to get mums dummy stash at all other times.

Toilet training:
No. Though she shows great interest. Will sit on the potty for a whole of about 5 seconds before she smiles, jumps up, looks in the pot and says 'poos' (even though there is 'nothing' there). She still thinks she's done something anyway and runs to the sink to wash her hands. wub.gif

Loves to play: books!!! she can't get enough of them. Also loves her pram and dolls. Inseparable from her 'puppy'. Loves balls and is completely obsessed with her brothers blow up 'Lightning McQueen' video game and diecast cars. She loves to dance and sing and tries to copy the actions.

Us - As some of you know I've been going through a lot at home the last couple of months (which is why I've been distant). There has been a lot of serious illnesses in the family. We came close to losing my dad just before Christmas and both kids have been seriously ill and in and out of hospital since New Year. Sus was back in hospital again on Friday night. I seem to be going to work these days just to pay the loooong list of specialists we see (or are waiting to see). I have increased my work commitments this year which has added to the stress I'm already feeling. DH and I have been working on our relationship but it's hard to see light when there is so much being thrown at us from every direction. On the up side (because there always HAS to be one), I've been able to kick my feet up in the hospital and have someone make the beds, prepare all our meals and take good care of the kids. Sweet!! Oh...and I'm getting ADSL+2 connected this week ddance.gif No more dial up for me ddance.gif laughing2.gif

waves.gif Best be off. It's very late and I still have stuff to do before work tomorrow. Sorry I didn't get time to say HI to everyone personally. Hopefully next time.

hheart.gif Shell xx
TrickyRicky

Shell - Thats no good babe, whats going on with the kids? please share wink.gif cclap.gif to getting ADSL I know you have been waiting along time for that.

Hayls - I watched last nights episode and I am hooked already, what night will your cousin be on??

US - Well today was Casey's first day at childcare, he was ok but did have a little whinge when I left, I'll give them a call soon to see if they managed to get him to sleep, Ricky is also there but he is fine. So I have Mondays to myself, went to the gym, TAFE, now home for some FB then onto the housecleaning, the floors are a mess, things need dusting and the boys rooms need a general tidy up, I hate cleaning sad.gif , I think if I go back to work I might invest in a cleaner one day a week.

Ok off to get myself started. Bye
mumtomakandissy
Urs: Isobel is at family day care today and Mak is back at school so I also have Mondays to myself. They are going to be my shopping and nesting days. I did the grocery shop this morning and have just cleaned the kitchen and bathrooms. Now about to have some lunch then its the floors.
I have a long list of " nesting" jobs I am keeping for Mondays. Issy was so excited to be back with her little friends this morning. A bit sad really!

Shell: Hope you are okay hun. Thinking of you.

Okay BBL...
MrsHayley
Melbourne auditions, of So You Think You Can Dance, are on Wednesday night!!! WOOT WOOT!!!

"Go Mikhaela, Go Mikhaela, Go Mikhaela" - SYTYCD 2010

BBL waves.gif
sun_kissed
Shell: Welcome back honey bunch! I missed you! Sorry about your family and their illnesses hhugs.gif Sucks when stuff is thrown at you from all directions xoxxo

Hayls: I will watch out for your cuz. Ummm as for the plasma ??? What a cheeky little monkey laughing2.gif

Urs and BEc: I am jealous of your alone time on Mondays! I only have 1 child and don't get alone time ddoh.gif

Belle: Poor Liana and her trampoline stack, hope she feels better soon. How annoying is the pantry thing. I ended up putting a baby lock on the door.

Us: Our dog is sick cry1.gif She has arthritis and heart disease (both from old age). She just cost us $500 at the vet and is now costing us $150 per month in medication. We can't afford it but I spent all day friday crying, I just can't put her down. She has a check up in a month so we will see how she goes then hands.gif hands.gif
TrickyRicky
Afternoon Ladies,

J - Dont worry I never had it with Ricky either but the plan is that I would really like to be working, I am so looking forward to next Monday though. No good about your dog sad.gif

Hayls - Thanks I'll be looking out for her. How big is Harrison getting, he looks so much like you.

US - Well Casey had a wonderful 1st day at childcare, he didnt cry when I left, he painted, rode the bikes, climbed and was chatting to all his carers, they love him there so I know he will enjoy himself. Pick up time was crazy thought, trying to get them both out of there! We are having a huge Ebay sale this week, DH is selling a lot of car parts, nintendo donkey kong, stuff like that and so far we have sold $300.

Ok well for some reason casey is not wanting to sleep and has done another poo!!! aarrgh!! Oh and loving that all our shows are back!

Talk soon
Urs
Summerlover

Hello girls

I'm back and run off my feet and overwhelmed at what I have to do here before I leave in a couple of weeks.

Some quick personals as I have neglected you guys for a while now.

J - oh so sad cry1.gif about your doggy - I so hope you can manage the pain and I hear you on the costs. 1 of our dogs has dry eye and the medication for that eye is $75 per month - its painful.

Urs - any luck on the jobs and the last phone interview. I'm sure something will come up for you soon.

Shell - you have had such bad luck with health issues in your family that I hope you get years of good health in return. Its not fair and glad to hear you were putting your feet up and chilling a bit in hospital. Yay to broadband.

Belle- so glad to hear things have improved on the home front. I so need to get my act together and get fit and healthy again, my body so needs toned up.

Beck - Yas is keen on the toilet too and I'm thinking a bit too young but I constantly just keep telling her what we are doing when she runs to look. One day I even sat her on it as she was inquisitive so I'm hoping just one day she hops on there and does her business if I keep reiterating what goes on in there. She has started telling us when she has done a poo and once she told us before she had done it - so good signs there.

Hayles - hows life with 2 bubs and work going? Hope your cousin does well on SYTYCD!!

Simone - hows things.

Kellie - welcome, I'm Helen and have 1 little girl Yasmin. We currently live on the Sunshine Coast, QLD but moving to Cairns - hubby is already there.

Here is where Yas is up to but have to laugh as they are all very similar hey???

Not an awful lot in the mornings - she has gone off b/fast so I give her fruit and then she will eat things as the morning progresses
Favourite foods: Rice cakes, grapes, sultanas and of course anything sweet

Grated carrots and zucchini and cheese muffins
Giving her bits of carrots as I'm cooking - she munches on them raw
Copped tomato with cheese and crackers - she loves tomatoes
a bowl of peas on there own - still loves peas

My toddler sleeps:
1 sleep 12- 2.30 or 3
Goes to bed at 7pm and wakes at 7isham
Still has a dummy for sleeping only, but got very attached to it all day while we were away and it helped with the long drives.

Toilet training:
As I said above to Beck - definately showing interest.

Loves to play: with everything, toys or not. She loves her 2 life size babies - I even caught her feeding one her cruskit the other day wub.gif and she holds them and pats them on the back - so cute. Now I need to get her a pram. She also love connect 4 - putting the round discs in the holes and a friend gave her an etch & scetch and she loves scribbling on that.

Talk soon
Helen

TrickyRicky
GUESS WHAT????? IT GOT A JOB. eexcite.gif
Summerlover

Whooohooooo Urs - what doing?? when do you start??

Helen
mumtomakandissy
Hi Ladies

Urs: Well done, you must be relieved- where are you working?

Helen: Glad you are well. Hope you get everything done that you need to in the next few weeks- are you staying in your house on the Sunshine Coast or have you rented it out?

J: Alone time is very weird and TBH I went and picked Issy up early Monday because I just missed her! I have made all my antenatal appointments, blood tests, glucose tests etc on Mondays so I won't be sitting at home! Issy gets very bored waiting at the doctors so good chance to get them done without her!

Sorry to hear about your dog too. We have two dogs, a foxie and a golden retriever. At the moment we are trying to find a good home for our foxie as he is just too growly and nippy at the girls. Little dog syndrome as DH calls it! Ted, the retriever is wonderful with the girls but not Max so he has to go I am afraid. The only people that are interested have kids so far but I don't want to give him to someone with kids as he won't be suitable.

Shell: How are you?

Simone: I just read your status re: the clothing.Best shopping days when that happens!

Hi everyone else.

Us: Bit of a blergh day here today. Mak is once again having trouble with the same little bully at school this week. She has a different teacher this year so I am going to make a time to see her in the morning and tackle it head on. And Issy is sleeping awfully this week so very tired! I am also debating going to playgroup here tomorrow. They have it every Thursday but I have never been because noone seem sto talk to me whilst in their little click but thought perhaps if that happens I can just watch Issy playing anyway. Will see how tonight goes and how tired I am!

Issy sat on the toilet again today but still didn't do anything. I think she is telling me as she is doing it in her nappy and by the time we get to the bathroom she has finished!

Anyway off for an early night.

TrickyRicky

Well finally its happening some good news!!!!! The lady called me back yesterday after I had emailed her following her up and she offered me the job. I couldnt believe it as I only had a phone interview with her. So I start Mon, days are Mon-Wed, 8.30-1.30pm. She is flexible and is happy to work with me around the boys as I will need to maybe change my days based her mum being ill. So basically I'll be an Admin Co-ordinator but if all works out I will be job sharing her position as office manager all rounder, its only her and I in the office. I will be taking quotes, preparing invoicings, rosters for contractors, co-ordinator the work in the factory for the contractors to pick up, answering phones etc. I will be casual for the first 4wks then we will sit down and negotiate wages etc I have already told her what my minimum is to make it worth my while and she is happy to start me on that and then will discuss. Not much accounts stuff but thats ok its good money and right now thats what I need, I need to get my foot in the door it may lead to something.

So now I have to search my wardrobe for casual work attire but I donated alot of my work stuff because when I worked for CBA I had a uniform so basically all my work wear was a bit dated, might be a good excuse to go out and buy a new pair of slacks and some tops. I reckon I could get away with spending $100 at Target easy original.gif It will do my confidence good.

Ok well its pouring here right now so we wont be going anywhere today looks like a lazy day in with the boys and catch up on ironing etc

Sorry for no personals, I will come back later waves.gif
sun_kissed
Congratulations Urs!!!! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif Thats great news xo

Me: Just cleaning the house today and having a day at home.
Guess what.....

I am getting all my hair chopped off tomorrow cclap.gif Sick of having such thick long heavy hair. Thought I needed a change. hands.gif hope it looks okay original.gif
MrsHayley
Hi girls wink.gif

I've had the craziest morning sad.gif Both my babies are having trouble with their teeth. I am fairly certain that Amelia's 2yo molars are on their way, and Harrison is still trying to cut tooth #3 and #4 sad.gif They have been tag teaming screaming cry1.gif

Urs - Massive congratulations on the new job cclap.gif What a difference it will make, having that extra cash. Well done. How are the boys going?

J - How is your Dad going? How short are you getting your hair cut? Make sure you put some pics up on FB

Bec - Poor Mak sad.gif This girls parents have a lot to answer for! Did you speak to her teacher about it? I really hope you can sort it out.

Helen
- How's the house hunt going? Does DH already have some work up there?

Us - All OK. DH and I started seeing the marriage counsellor yesterday, and has given us a couple of "easy" things to start working on. I have an appt with her next week, and then DH has one the following week. Then we go together, again on the 4th week. Just keep praying very hard every night, that we can make it through sad.gif Watched Dance last night, and was very proud of Mikhaela (except for her speaking parts - LOL - thought she came across a little stuck up), but I thought she danced well. I can't believe that I am going to be watching her on this show every week - so wierd huh.gif

Anyway...better get moving waves.gif
Summerlover

I remembered a couple of good meals for vegies as one Yasmin had tonight and cleared her plate!! - I make a batch of canelloni stuffed with ricotta cheese and spinach and just throw one of those premade homebrand tomato sauces over the top and grated cheese - great all round meal and she clears her plate every time tthumbs.gif - also have a recipe for brocoli balls and they are billiant and I should try and did it out of the packing because they would be good for her to munch on in the car travelling up again.

Hayles - saw Michaela last night and hadn't really thought much about your post but remembered you saying something about someone and couldn't remember her name but when I saw her I knew it was who you were talking about - are you guys related I think you said cousin as there are similarities. No house found yet and DH has sent a good number of applications in and also has an interview with the airport next week - something is bound to happen.
Poor kiddy winkies.

J - go girl, can't wait to see the photos.

Urs - well done.

Bec - I'm in our house on the Sunshine Coast but it has been rented for the 19th of Feb so I'm just finishing off and then heading back up to temp accomodation until we can find something more permanent.

TrickyRicky
Hayls - God I love dance this year, I reckon it gets better every year, I also sit there a cry but thats what I love about it! Mikhaela is great and I agree with Helen you do look alike. I dont have any fav's yet I love them all. How did the counselling go? DH and I have actually been getting along lately and I dont feel as much hatred towards him. The money is already making a difference, I have rearranged our budget and we will be able to have a little of our own spending money now.

Helen - Is the cannelonni one a WW receipe?? because I have made that and its yummo, I think I'll make it this week and give it a try. So when do you head back up to Cairns? and when do you start your WW shifts?

J - Oh you are going to look hot with short hair biggrin.gif make sure you post a pic. Hows your dad going??

US - Well I think I know why Casey has been so clingy, whingy and every thing else, I noticed today that he has three teeth coming through, 2 cut and one just about through. He is not sleeping much during the day either, this is since Monday (school) so I hope this is not an ongoing thing. I have also been trying some new food tricks with him thanks you to all after reading your posts.

So I went through my wardrobe today and I have nothing and I mean nothing, so tomorrow I'm heading to the shops, stuff it I only need a few casual tops and a pair of pants.

Question? To the ones that work, how long does it take you to get yourself and the kids ready in the morning and what time do you get them up and leave the house??

Ok signing out for the night
Urs
MrsHayley
Hi Girls biggrin.gif

Dance - eexcite.gif Yep, Mikhaela is my cousin. She is 9 years younger than me, and was one of my bridesmaids. She's always been like a "baby" sister to me. I also taught her dancing for a couple of years. I am really proud of her - she has auditioned each year, so we were all really excited when she made it this time wub.gif

Urs
- Have fun shopping biggrin.gif Poor Casey, Harrison has 2 teeth that keep popping up and down, and they are driving me (and him) crazy cry1.gif

Helen - Good to hear that there is some stuff on the job front for your DH. I don't remember, but have you got WW stuff up there? How has Yas been going with the travelling? And not being with her Dad, at the moment?

Us - All going well. Amelia is at daycare today, and my sister rang before to check on both the girls, and the carer giggled and said how cute Armahni and Amelia are together. Apparently they have just been cuddling all day, and drawing together wub.gif Not sure if I told you all, but Harrison is going in for half a day, on Friday's, now too cry1.gif He starts in 2 weeks. I have had to take on another shift at work, so he will go in at 12pm and get picked up at 4pm. I feel great for Amelia, because she is older, and I know she has so much fun playing - but I feel so guilty and like I am abandoning Harrison, by putting him in cry1.gif

Anyway....better go and get some stuff done, while Harry is asleep.

waves.gif BBL
TrickyRicky
Hayles - Try not to feel guilty as parents we have to make the hard decisions, we have to work to survive and give our children the best if possible so if that means sacrifices well then they are made. He will have a ball, Casey has 2 little bubbas in his class and they are dotted on by the staff so I'm sure he will be original.gif

Went shopping this morning, I found 2 tops that I bought but I think I might pop out on sunday on my own and have a look without the kids, it was a bit of a nightmare as the boys were getting tired.

Ok well I think Casey is asleep so I'll go and do some housework.

Urs biggrin.gif
TrickyRicky

We have just had some devastating news, one of my DH's best mates was found dead in his house this morning sad.gif . His car had been at the pub and no one had seen him for 2days so his ex partner went to look for him and she found him about an hour ago. Once again tragedy strikes, he has 2 children 6 & 4 we are god parents to the eldest. I am in absolute shock right now that I dont know what to feel, I just hope he has not meet with foul play and that it was just his time to go. He has been having a few issues with custody over the past 2wks so maybe it was stress. I dont know.....anyway I just needed to come in for a chat and let whats in my head out.
Summerlover

Oh Urs bbighug.gif thats terrible news - its happening a lot lately everywhere. You poor thing - you must be devastated.
I keep forgetting to share - friends of ours in Adelaide (were kind of like a mum & dad to us) lost their grandson who was only 18 last week - he hung himself in his house ddown.gif - just such a tragedy - he was son of a well known Adelaide band called The Borderers (don't know if anyone knows of them as they play all around Australia).

Hayles - I have 3 WW shifts to go to there. 2 on a Thursday and 1 Sat morning so I can get another 2 day a week job to fit in with it. Yas is booked into daycare on a Thursday and we will take it from there. Goodluck to your cousin!! Yas knows here dad is at the end of the phone - I put her onto my nan today to say hello and she said dadda????? - she just assumes its her daddy.

Oh Urs my heart goes out to you - look after yourself

Helen xx
sun_kissed

Urs hhugs.gif What horrible news. I don't know what to say other than cherish the ones you love. xoxox
On a different note we get up at 6.30 and leave the house at 7.45.

Hel: Hope your okay too honey hhugs.gif such sad news going around at the moment

Simone: Love the new do grin.gif

Shell: I can see you posting down there xo How nice are you xoxox thinking of me xoxoxo wub.gif I got your pm. I will get back to you tongue.gif Hope you and your family are well.

Hayls: Harrison will be fine with his big sis. He knows his mummy loves him. But I totally understand that doesnt ease the absolute heartache leaving them. I am thinking of you too hhugs.gif

Dad is okay starts hormone therapy soon.

Better go Eli is crying for mummy and DH is not to helpful this afternoon. We have had a massive day 4WD up the beach.
shell~
Urs - hhugs.gif Sorry to hear you've had more sad news. I hope things turn around for you all soon. Thinking of you. :shout: great news on the job! I'm really excited for you.

Question? To the ones that work, how long does it take you to get yourself and the kids ready in the morning and what time do you get them up and leave the house??
Depends if you get help or not. DH leaves too early to help. He unpacks the dishwasher and makes sure the water cooler is full. If you had help, I'm sure you could each do things and it wouldn't take so long. Takes me 1 - 1/2 hrs.

Hel - sorry to hear the news about your friends grandson too. Such sad news everywhere. Hope your DH has some luck with the house and job soon. Thinking of you.
Hales - will have to keep an eye out for your cousin. Hope the kids teeth settle down soon.
Bec - how are you feeling sweetie? Did you enjoy the day to yourself?
Kathy - Everything OK? Haven't seen or heard from you in ages. Do you still live up the road?? How are you feeling?
J - can't wait to see your hair! are you happy with it? Did you do it?!!! How is your dad?
LB - thinking of you. waves.gif
Em - How's everything at your place? Are you all well?

Hope I haven't forgotten anyone! Got ADSL on today original.gif broke, but happy.
TrickyRicky
Hey girls,

Thanks for all your msges its much appreciated, its just devastating, he was such a wonderful guy and has left us too soon. Looks like a heart attack but we will find out when the results of the autospy come through. We only got in contact with his mum this morning she lives in Wagga we had the police go to her house.

Not sure if you guys heard but there was an accident early hours this morning involving some young kids on the Great Western HWY at St Marys they hit a pole and a died, well that was actually out the front of his house, absolutley terrible just around the corner from my house.

Ok well I'm off just coming into vent a little, I should be ironing but just cant fathom any kind of duties today.

I start my new job Tuesday.
mumtomakandissy
Hi Ladies

Just a quick me post. I will bb later when I have a spare 5 min to read the last posts and do personals. Just been to my doc, who as I have mentioned before is very pro- natural labour and against inducement etc. Anyway I mentioned to her that I am worried about how big this baby is going to be ( I am massive now) and she agreed, said she will give me a sizing scan at 36 weeks. If it comes back that yes it is big, she offered to give me a c-section. As much as I would like a normal labour I can't tell you how relieved I am after how hard it was to have Isobel! This is the same doc who delivered her and she actually said today she was almost going to whisk me off after my 2 1/2 hours pushing but then Issy was born!

Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.