The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: September 08 Parents #147

Pages: 1, 2, 3

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=757839

alimumof3
GOLD

THATS 2 in a row!

I had typed for the last thread but got locked out so here I go trying to cut and paste.
trying to upload a photo but photobucket isn't letting me hover over the photo to get the img code. wonder why?

will try this:

this is me last night....(kidding. its me at around 38wks with Oliver. He was born 12 days later)

great belly pics. Keep 'em coming!

got mothers group today. hot one here, 40deg

Triny: they're still drying outside, haven't smelt them yet. the other half are soaking in the tub! did that this morning.
cassi8
Silver! original.gif

BBS to post.
ellangel
Bronze powder!!
trinyweeny
(.)(.) Boobies
ellangel

This was taken a week before I had Holli. Sorry, cant stay and do personals. Gotta get moving. Will be in all day tomorrow though.

Ali - so 'I' taught you how to do photobucket?? But we were not in the same DIG? I really cant remember.
Your tummy pic of O is great! I love how you are NOT looking at the camera! happy.gif

Triny - your name should be called "teenyweeny" ! tiny tummy! Yours too Blondie!
alimumof3
yep sharon you taught me in this group how to upload photos. I'd never done it before.

best fly too..
cassi8
oh I am loving the bump shots. I'll have to try and post mine when i get home, I look huge in comparison to some of your pics! I got Dh to take an in early labour shot but I'm not wearing my best clothes laughing2.gif

Have a great day Sharon, sound like its going to be lots of fun! original.gif

I finally got the IUD out this morning thankfully. It was starting to annoy me with its poking around in there!
DHs surgery tomorrow and the car blows a radiator pipe this morning rolleyes.gif typical! DH wouldn't have know if someone hadn't gone up to tell him that the coolant was all over the garage floor at work. Don't know what we are going to do if it can't be fixed, although I am sure we will find a way to get it fixed, just a pain.

Better get back to work, lots to do and person who should be helping isn't.. glare.gif
Sccary

My tum. I put in 15kg (but felt 'hug' I started at 68kg) (12kg with DD1)
It think we all carry so differently. I am relatively short 165cm so I think you look bigger with that weight.
BLONDIE & TRINY you were very compact! I would get pg in a flash if I carried like that laughing2.gif

Nothing on today.
Need to go to phone shop and do a few shopping things but can't really be bothered.

BIRTHDAY DD1
Decide to only have family on her birthday (monday night) for pizza and cake (so limited cooking for me)
Then sat night have only 7 of our oldest friends (including her god partents) for a BBQ so that is much better original.gif less people! Just culled down to essentials

ok BBL
beaglebaby
I'm loving all these belly shots, I didn't take any, in fact I don't think there are many photos at all of me pregnant. sad.gif

Sarina, yours looks all baby, very neat. New birthday plans sound good. See you Friday:)

Cassi, hate people at work who leave you everything. The hose shouldn't be too hard to replace - unless you have some sort of unusual car! Good luck for DH's surgery, hope it is simple and he recovers quickly.

Ellangel, have fun today.

Ali, you are certainly not huge, and 3.5kg is not a big gain at all. My ob didn't do any weighing - I loved that!

World war 3 is going on in my lounge room, better go and referee it - they're teaching Lucas to scream and I hate screaming kids!!
Bel Rowley
I think we all made beautiful pregnant women! Hoping I'll have more bump shots to show off in a few months hands.gif .

We had a MG catch up at a friend's today, such a beautiful day here. This friend has a backyard like Sarina's - so much fun stuff for the littlies to do! No trampoline but she does have a jumping castle, cubby house, swings, slides, sandpit, scooter and trike. Far more than my poor deprived child will ever have wink.gif. I'm going to head to Target this arvo and see if there's anything I want from the sale.
cassi8
beagle laughing2.gif on the screming, little rascals! I hate screaming squealing kids as well! Just received an update that DH has it fixed, just have to get more coolant and it will be all sorted! original.gif In all honesty, I don't mind doing the work, at least it gets done and quicker than if I had 'help' and the day will go faster. I just wish he would do something work related.. I hate unmotivated people, especially when there is so much to be done.

Blondie - sounds like you have alovely day planned! We have had some nice weather in the last few days as well, not looking forward to the 37+ days tomorrow and Saturday. Its going to be quite warm today as well but being in the city I don't notice! wink.gif

Sarina - glad the birthday plans have been sorted, sounds like its going to be nice and easy!
Sccary
GROBAGS: If anyone needs new ones they are on SALE for only a couple more days - Very cheap up to $20 off
$59 for 6-18mths
$67 for 18-36 mths
tthumbs.gif
From http://www.bambinipronto.com.au
tweedy08
Tilly would go rank if I put her in one of those....I cant even keep sheets on her......lol. So hard in winter to keep her warm!

BBS to catch up on what I have missed the last few days! Dealing with a sick bubba followed by a teething bubba doesnt leave much time for anything else. I jsut want a break sad.gif
melaniejasmin
Hey,

Belly shots are great! I will try to dig one up. I think that my photobucket site has expired so will have to join again. I put on 25kg with Alexander! ohmy.gif started at 60kg, went to 85kg (actually it could have been more, but I stopped weighing at 37 weeks because I was huge...) It came off after though. this pregnancy I've put on about 1kg, so maybe I will stay within the normal weight gain limits!
Ali - 3.5kg is hardly any for 19 weeks!

I'm supposed to be doing some work, but cant get the bl**dy scanner to do anything except scan little pictures in a document. I really hate this new MAC computer (for work). I wish we had just got new PCs. anyone have a MAC and knows how to use image catcher? sad.gif I'm going to go for a swim soon and just go home as I cant get anything done.

cassi - good news about the car! how annoying it would have been to be without a car and DH to be couch bound.

Blondie - wow! a jumping castle in the backyard! Alexander has nothing at all.... I moved some of his wooden blocks outside to play with cool.gif he is mostly interested in playing with pegs anyway.... I am now feeling guilty and will take him to the slide at the park this afternoon when he gets home from childcare!

I also have the saggy tummy when I bend over. mine is also a little wrinkly ph34r.gif It looks OK standing up, but over I go and there is more than a handful there! I think that I may have it taken off in the future... at the moment, some of it is also fat I think closedeyes.gif I currently weigh 59kg, and I have fat globs on tummy hips and bottom.... and I go to the gym! its a hopeless case.

OK, enough self pity, I'm off to expose myself at the pool original.gif

KM - how did the rally go the other day?
littlemumma
Afternoon

I have had a sh..t morning. Took the boys food shopping and Max had a major melt down, he cried and thrashed about from the first isle onwards and I mean full crocodile tears, it was a nightmare, I thought I was going to cry. I was getting those "I feel sorry for you" looks off all the other mum's and weird looks off other people. There was pretty much nothing I could do though as if I got him out of the trolly he just rang off, gave him something to eat, happy for 5 minutes and then would start up again. Have been having such a bad week with him cause of these bloody molars, he is so miserable cry1.gif

Washing powder was on special and I bought 3 of them and now I'm home I realise it says 'front loader'...I just have a top loader one, does it matter, powder is powder isn't it, its OMO one??? I am not going back to the shops, please someone tell me it is fine???

Getting my hair done this arvo and can't wait, looks really bad.

All these belly shots are great, you all look so beautiful.

Ali - of course I have a belly, you should see it, quite big actually but I can usually manage to hide it with clothes. Even Kai asked me in the shops today why my belly was big....ummmmmmmmmmmmm I put on 16kg with both pregnancies.

Sarina - that sounds good for DDs birthday, good plan.

beagle - Kai has been doing that screaming thing with Max also, I don't like it one bit.

Sharon - have fun at seaworld.

Anyway not much else to say really, in a very cranky mood so won't hang around.

cassi8
Thanks Sarina biggrin.gif any suggestions on which TOG to get?? I'm thinking 1 because I can dress him warm, last year was wondersuits underneath. He hasn't worn a sleeping bag since last winter so will be interesting to see how he goes.
beaglebaby
bbighug.gif Littlemumma, I know those days too well.

MJ, sorry, no help with a MAC, enjoy your swim. You must be very slim, hard to believe you've got any saggy bits at all! ENjoy your swim.

Cath, Lucas takes off his bag some nights - generally they accept them as clothes though and it keeps them covered. Hope Miss T has some sleeps for you and lets you relax a bit.

Sarina, luckily I've got a 18-36 month one in the wardrobe that I picked up from someone nearby through the trading room.

Blondie, sounds like a fun morning. We have a backyard full of fun things but I'm fairly strict on sun protection with my kids and as I wouldn't let them out in their PJ's, insisting instead on clothes, hats and sunscreen, they've stayed in their PJ's inside annoying me and trashing the place.

Lucas is down for a nap, hope it's a long one as he won't get an afternoon one, we're going out to a friends place at 2.

I just had a package arrive containing 2 bars of a new Cadbury chocolate and a DVD of the first episode of the new season of House and the premiere of Good Wife. I'm meant to have a party to try out the chocolate and preview the shows with friends for Vibe Village, wonder if the chocolate will last the day - DH has already spotted it!

laraq75
belly photos - they are so gorgeous. I have a few but they all have my big head in them. I have one with a bare belly and Audrey cludding it. She looks so happy but had no idea what was going to happen the next day.

Sharon - your belly was so compact

ali - sorry that we didn't show you how to do photobucket in our DIG.

Cass - we have a 0.5 tog and then put the doona over him if he gets cold. Once this winter comes around we will probably just leave him in that one and keep putting on warmer clothes and the doona.

Littlemum - you poor thing. What a awful shopping trip.

Sarina - it sounds like you have made the right decision for DD1's birthday. Fingers crossed it is a little less stressful.

Angus is sick. I am pretty sure he has tonsilitis again. His temp has been going up and down since this morning and he is very grumpy and off his food. I have a dr's appointment this evening. So hopefully they can tell me what is wrong with him.
trinyweeny
Littlemumma - bbighug.gif What a sh1tful day. The main difference between front loader and top loader washing powder is that front loader doesn't foam up as much as top loader so I can't see an issue with it at all.

Lara - I hope Angus feels better soon.
alimumof3
I am turning into such a hard ar$3 b*&ch!! just had a call from one of those survey places from o/s and I said "sorry I dont have time, can you take our number off your listing please". i would never have said stuff like that! Go me!! lol

littlemumma oh you poor thing. days like that suck big time. I hope tomorrow is a better day.
Lol at what Kai said aboiut your belly! Out of hte mouths of babes hey?!! What did you tell him?

Meljas yes but I was ten kilos o/w when I got preg with this bub anyway so i feel humungous even though its only 3.5kg 'extra' gain if that makes sense.
I put on 30kg with DD (but a lot at the end was fluid from pre eclampsia) and I think 22ish with Oliver..and I still had 5kg between the two that I hadn't lost..gosh sounds bad when its written down. Oh well i hope after this baby it will come off. seeings this is the last its not likely I'll be UTD when the baby is 12mths again.
enjoy your swim.

lara lol don't be silly! I probably hadn't asked for any help as would have thought photobucket was too hard for me!
I cropped my face out of the photo in PB - you could do that if you didn't want your face on www?
Hope Angus improves. poor thing. Do you think he'll be needing them out?

triny my enjo calcium remover arrived today! woo woo. Can't wait to clean the shower tonight with it. Sad.
Have brought the first load of nappies in as they're dry now. they smell ok. the test will be once i've assembled them and left them for a bit. thats hwen i found i noticed the smell more. not sure why.
the other batch is in the machine now.

sarina your bump looks fantastic!! I am also a shorty at 165cm. I think it would be nice to be pg and tall, it would expand itself a bit more I think. or at least give the illusion of it!

mothers group was a bit full on today. We had a lady from one of those book places come and do the presentation. It was hard to control all the kids inside on a stinking hot day. My kids were pushing my buttons. but they are both tucked up in bed now. thank goodness.
trinyweeny
LOL Ali, I was excited about cleaning the oven today with the marble paste. Haven't finished it though as J woke up. Thanks DH and your yelling on the phone. Oh well can't complain too much she did have 2 hrs.
alimumof3
trinydoes the marble paste clean the window of the oven? mine is a nice yellow look at the moment ph34r.gif
DH's uncle hasn't brought up the marble paste yet but prob will in a couple of wks.
trinyweeny
Ali - its abit hard to tell with this oven as we are in a rental and the oven isn't the best. Mum's oven always looks good however she does clean it fairly often with her enjo at least once a month.
bellygood

Just had my first midwives appointment at local hospital (where I'll have baby, touch wood). Very nice and relaxed, very different to the larger hospital where Ivy was born! For one I didn't feel like disinfecting my hands after touching the waiting room furniture as in larger hospital this was a room full of ferals! All fine with eg my blood pressure, weight (0% gain, not a gram, thanks to my hill walking), baby's heart beat. 20w morph scan is booked for mid Feb sometime. At last I feel a little bit pregnant! All a bit theoretical up until now.

Littlemumma sorry to hear about the meltdown... they choose their moments, don't they

Ali I find it hard when MG gets hijacked by eg nutrimetics presentations etc as its hard to keep Ivy still for a 20m presentation, much as some of the topics are interesting to me

Lara hope Angus is better soon

Beagle the Good Wife is meant to be great - interested to see what you think

Don't think I have a belly shot to share but each time I skim a post and see 'belly' I think you are talking to me!
Bel Rowley
Some great finds at Target today tthumbs.gif. Got some sandals, a jumpsuit/PJs, pair of bathers and velour pants with top set (all for Claudia of course) for $39.50 total! She's still wearing her 00 zip up bathers with short arms & legs from last summer at the moment, I figure she could do with a regular little one piece for her swimming lessons which will all be indoors, so sun protection not such a problem. Got everything in size 1 so should fit for a while. Unfortunately Claudia was feral, non-stop tantrums, which made it hard to concentrate. I realised after I'd gone through the checkout I was going to look for a potty for her, went back, was undecided, went out after getting all my stuff checked at the door, went to Big W and only found the same thing as Target more expensive. Couldn't be bothered going back into Target for a 3rd time so will have to wait.

Littlemum - sorry about your sh*tty day, it is hard when they just crack it in the shops but you've gotta do what you've gotta do.

Beagle - what a nice little package! I think The Good Wife looks good.

Lara - poor Angus! Good luck at the doc.

Ali - yep sometimes those presentations are not what you need. I was glad our MG this morning was a relaxing play outside.

Bellygood - great news about the hospital appointment, it is nice when you reach that part of the pregnancy when things really start happening.
ellangel
Am home again. Had a great time at seaworld but was very very muggy!!

Cath, Cassi and others - there are sleeping bags with legs in them in like the fleecy jumper material but think they only start at size 2, or I could be wrong? I will be putting that over top of Holli's all in ones for winter. Got it from Target last winter on sale for $12, but it may be too long. I have a size 3 one from Ella also.

Littlem - I NEVER do the groceries with my 2! They are quite good, but I cant concentrate. I dont even do a big shop with just Holli. She just isnt comfy in the trolley for more than 20mins and squirms and just throws the snacks on the floor that I pass to her. Maybe she might be more comfy in a capsule??
The powder will be fine!

I had to put her back to bed for 45mins as she was woken after an hour this morning. Not asleep yet though.

Ali - sounds like those pg hormones are coming out and that is why you are a hard b**ch! I was the same.

Belly Belly Belly Belly Belly - made you look Bellygood!!! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

laraq75
Well back from the dr with Angus and I guessed right he has tonsilitis. I really hates tonsils they make kids so sick if they have problems with them.

Ali - I asked today about what they do with tonsils and he said i need to wait until he is at least two. Apparently they normally improved after this. My friends DD had it 22 times from birth until she was three and no longer has tonsils.

BG - lovely to hear that things are moving along with your pregnancy. For some reason i thought you were further along. Closer to 20 weeks.

Blondie - I know what you mean about going in and out of the shops when you have an upset toddler. It is hard work and sometimes you just can't be bothered.

tweedy08
lara -my DS had his tonsils out at 18 months. He had tonsillitis countless time from birth that his tonsils just became naturally enlarge or something. they were worried that another bout of tonsillitis would block his airway sso out they come. Problem now is since the tonsils are gone when he gets a cold instead of just getting a sore throat it goes straight to his chest.....who knew that tonsils protected the body like that....lol

BBS grizzly baby AGAIN tonight.......I do hope someone is looking down on me & decides that I do need a break /sigh
alimumof3
lara oh poor Angus. sad.gif My friends almost 3 yr old had his out in nov. he was getting it all the time. I on the other hand, was 23 when I had mine out. yuck.

sharon glad you had a good time. No, I don't do a shop with the two kids either, well on my own. the four of us will. DH will take the two but he has more patience than me. I will do a quick shop for a few things which takes about ten or 15mins but thats my limit!

triny just did our shower with the calcuim stuff! looks good. will have to make sure I keep on top of it now.

Oh and we sold our car today. yay! only went on net tues morning, so that was pretty quick. They will pick up and pay tomorrow.
cassi8
ok my belly pic.. hehe made you look BG Tounge1.gif

Excuse the daggy clothes and messy hair, I was in labour and it was 5am.

Ok must go get ready for tomorrow. hands.gif all goes well. Will pop in when we get home! Happy Friday to all! original.gif
littlemumma
Evening

Well I 'think' I have calmed down....

Girls thanks for the hugs....good about the powder (thank god)!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Blondi - good bargains, I"m going on Sunday so hopefully I get some too. I def understand how hard it is when they do their wobblies, it does make it hard doesn't it.

Ali - well done on selling the car so quickly original.gif Well I was standing in the deli waiting for my turn and Kai was cuddling me (I think he could see how stressed I was) and then he took his head from my tummy and said his bit about my tummy...I told him that was because mummy eats too many naughty foods!

Sharon - sounds like a good day out, it does get hot walking around those theme parks cause they are so open.

lara - poor Angus, tonsilitis is so awful for the babies, hope he gets over it quickly.

BG - the new hospital sounds much better, glad you are happy with it and are 'feeling' pregnant. Oh and I had a good laugh at your post about your MG, too funny.

cassi - you look great. Hope DH's surgery goes well.

I'm pretty tired, might hit the hay.
alimumof3
cassi love the pic! look how its sort of pointed, I guess cos he was so low down?
Does it bring back memories?
Good luck to your DH (and you) tomorrow.

littlemumma glad you think you have calmed down. Hope you get a nice relaxing sleep.
bellygood
Cassi that's an amazing pic, baby is definitely in eject position!

Raining here because of that cyclone activity off the coast. Has rained on and off all night which is usually a really nice sound for sleeping, but for some reason it kept waking me up! Could be that, or could be the fact that I've been sneaking in a coffee each day again. Have to stop really, I love it but am too sensitive to it. Now's the time to stop as I have been cold turkey for months (trimester one) and only just back into it for the last week or so.

Quiet day today, bit panicked about what to do with Ivy if it rains all day. Looks like the library and maybe the heated pool for us! It's really p*ssing down, all of the rivers will be up soon, just steady, constant, heavy rain not storms.

Whittakers choc was it Key who introduced me to this sweet evil? It is SOOOO good! And it only comes in a huge big block in my supermarket, l have demolished about 2/3 of it over 3 days. Have tossed the last bit into the bin in shame as have worked hard to keep preggy weight stable. I wish I was the kind of the person who could nibble on say one or two squares per day (as opposed to one or two rows every two hours...).

Target one of the things the hospital gave me was some promotional bag full of junk mainly, a few samples here and there (eg some Sudocreme but mainly leaflets on eg stem cell services (eg all commercial stuff). Among it there was a 'spend $50 at Target, get another $10 off' leaflet, so might be worth using that while the sales are on. Not for baby though, Blondie! For me!

Stem cell research did anyone do this? All a bit sci fi for me... but certainly an interesting thing to consider.

Bel Rowley
Morning!

Ellangel - I'm as usual jealous of your Seaworld adventure. I loved that place, but it was about 15 years ago I went.

Lara - sad.gif hugs to you and Angus. Hopefully not something he will have to experience too often.

Ali - well done on the car sale, fantastic.

Cassi - your belly was awesome! I always wanted a real sticky out bump like that and never got it. Hence why most of my bump shots I'm lifting my top, if I didn't it looked quite pathetic. Good luck to DH today.

Littlemum - glad you're feeling better, sometimes it helps to get everything off your chest I reckon.

Bellygood - I thought briefly about the stem cell thing but it seemed like yet another expense on top of so many we decided against it. There was a lot of junk with those show bags but between the hospital one and one from my OB I got a few useful things, and believe it or not have never had to buy my own Sudocreme, I'm still going on one of the two little freebie tubs!

Quiet day for us today seeing Mothers Group was yesterday. I'll have to start packing for Inverloch at some point, we leave tomorrow morning. I'm bummed about the weather forecast, I think it's going to be quite cool down there until Tuesday, which is of course when we have to drive home. DH and I have volunteered to cook a meal for everyone on Sunday night (will be us, MIL & PIL, BIL and his GF) and I have no idea what to do. DH's parents are real gourmets, I can't just whip up a lazy pasta like I would do for my family, whenever they cook for us it's a massive feast.
tweedy08
bg - Stem Cell research! I did a big thing on this when I did my TPC certificate about 5years ago. Its so interesting!! When Hayden was born (1999) I had to fill in a heap of paper work to allow his cord blood to be used for this. I have since learnt that some of it was actually kept on ice so to speak for if Hayden ever needed it for any reason or something. I think for stem cell research its free or something but if you want the blood stored for in case your baby needs it for whatever reason then it does cost money now I think. Donating cord blood (if the hospy does it) is a wonderful idea since the blood is so pure & full of everything good! Hmmm I havent really answered your question have I.....lol. Its too early for technical stuff bg.....lol.

belly pics - loving all the belly pics. just think this time 2 years ago we were all just getting to know eachother as we had got our bfps original.gif

Target - I am thinking of heading over there today. I did have planned to get tickets for DD for Taylor Swift for her birthday but the silly lady who was suppose to get them left it until yesterday to get them & she was shocked they were all gone /sigh. Now I have to work out something else to get her. I am thinking clothes so will check out the sales & see how that goes. Hopefully there is still some bargains there.

I went to bed last night with a really bad pain in my back just near my shoulder blade. I think there is a muscle or something out of place.......anyways was hopeing it would be gone this morning but nope....still there. Gosh it hurts to move my left arm sad.gif No idea how to fix it either. Hot bath yesty arvo didnt work sad.gif Shopping will be interesting today with it!
Bel Rowley
How annoying about the Taylor Swift tix Cath!

So girls, don't know if I'm just bored, I'm CD28 today, I have a FR left from last time and I'm really tempted to do it... is it a waste of time to test this early?
laraq75
Blondie - are you really regular normally? I am not regular. It varies, so i don't test but if you are pretty regular it can't hurt to test.

Cath - very annoying about the Taylor swift tix. I actually quite like some of her music. cool.gif
tweedy08
blondie - yeah im not to happy about the tix especially since DD knew about it. She was so upset yesty arvo as she had been so looking forward to going.....poor little thing! As for testing....not sure on whether its too early but hey if it was me I would jsut test.....lol. you can always get another FR. If its BFP dont be down about it though as it either hasnt happened or may have been jsut too early.......now go....poas Tounge1.gif I want to know....lol
Bel Rowley
It's hard to know Lara, between being on the pill, pregnancy and miscarriage I haven't had enough cycles in a row at any point to know if I'm regular! Maybe I'll test tomorrow morning if no AF. I just don't think I can wait until we get home on Tuesday, and I don't want to test at Inverloch with the in-laws around.
alimumof3
blondie you know what I would say! but i have no patience. I agree with Lara though, if you're regular then maybe it wouldnt hurt... original.gif
what were your cycles before getting pg?
**KM**
Mel The rally went well except for the lack of media coverage again glare.gif Starting to think we need to birth at a rally or maybe go topless to get some media there (or someone get arrested tongue.gif ). The ABC were there but it didn't make it onto any of the news! Apparently the AMA was locked down (no one in and no one out) and someone said there was media inside rolleyes.gif I was asked to speak the night before so that was fun! Here are the photos and a write up of it (we are in the 2nd photo and the sign that my DH made!): http://midwivesvictoria.blogspot.com/

Blondie Wow testing already, where does time go? Good luck! I'm at work today and am bored too, so test away tongue.gif

BG When you compare the benefits of your baby getting the cord blood with delayed cord clamping and the low chances they will ever need the blood in the future, I'd rather my babies get the cord blood at birth. I found this article helpful in looking at the statistics etc: Cord Blood - Belly Belly

OK off to read the last thread as I am so behind and need to catch up on any news!!

**KM**
Seepi The reason behind 'getting it on in labour' is so the cervix opens up easily and widely. When you think about the difference between having sex and having a pap smear, you are more open and things 'fit' easily when you are 'turned on'. So that is the philosophy behind Ina May's advice on couples doing lots of kissing etc in labour. I haven't read "Spiritual Midwifery", only her "Guide to Childbirth" book (which is great), but the same information is giving in the documentary "Orgasmic Birth". I didn't know about it with Milly, but will definitely be trying it with the next one (will let you know how I go and if it makes a differnce laugh.gif )

laraq75
but will definitely be trying it with the next one

KM - are you actually TTC or just letting nature take its course?
alimumof3
oooh blondie i see you typing!! i am hanging out for test result!!
Bel Rowley
KM lots of kissing is one thing, but I still don't know if I could get myself in the mood for lurrrrve in the midst of contractions! Not sure if DH could either wink.gif. Well done on the rally, I'm learning a lot about the media in my current uni course (News & Politics) and guessing most of the big media organisations are a bit "over" the homebirth thing at the moment, not saying they should be, but they do tend to move on to the next issue. Also with Wills in town :eyeroll:, Haiti, the tennis, the teenagers crashing on the weekend and the subsequent drunk driver getting caught outside the funeral... there's been a lot going on in the news this week, and probably poor timing for your rally, I'm sure if it had been a slow news week they would've been all over it.

OK I might do the test after lunch, I'm so curious! Will probably buy another 3 pack anyway, so no harm in using the one I have right?
alimumof3
do you have to wait til after lunch blondie? do you need to wee now? lol. I wont be home til later you see.
thats right, no harm in testing. original.gif I mean if it comes up pos you'll prob want to get more to re-check again in a few days so you'll need more anyway. wink.gif
key4
Sorry Belly for introducing to the evil whittakers original.gif I wish the coffee would work for me I am walking around like a zombie constantly at the moment. Here is hoping for some energy soon. I wanted to donate Niamhs stem cells but they do not allow it in Perth and I was not paying $5000 to store them for her.

I prefer no one near me when I am in labour so I think the previously mentioned method of bringing it along would not work for me!

Blondie - How exciting testing again I hope you get a BFP original.gif

Well that is about the extent of what I remember, I had a bit of a blue with DH last night so I think I am not talking to him! He forgot his keys so I had to race home from the kids photos to let him in, I left the kids with him to bring mum home so he could give them dinner. He did not he was on the phone when I came home about 15 mins later and both kids were sitting on the Kitchen floor screaming. I put the kids to bed and he was still on the phone until past 9pm. We had a few other things to discuss which he didn't want to talk about so he goes silent that really annoys me, so I could not even stand knowing he was beside me in bed so I slept on the couch.

I best be off and start the day.
Bel Rowley
OK I did the test, I'm sure it will be a BFN but what the hell.

Key - sorry about your bad night with DH sad.gif. I would've been really p*ssed too. Just a little bit of help from them is all we ask!
alimumof3
oooh key sounds like not a very night last night. Hope DH comes to his senses and apologises today!

stem cells we were going to store them for DD, then realised we really couldn't afford 5K. I remember where I worked it was just starting that people were storing their own. Which was why I was interested as we'd had a big talk about it at our hospital.
but then didn't do it.

blondie ooh i am patiently waiting for the 5mins or however long you're meant to wait to pass. fingers crossed for you.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.