Bel Rowley
22/01/2010, 10:06 AM

Not even a faint glimmer of a line. Oh well I'm not surprised. Will be hoping it's just too early, but as I've said previously I don't really have my hopes up for this month anyway.
alimumof3
22/01/2010, 10:08 AM
oh sorry blondie. but yeah could be too early, as espec not FMU. so dont lose hope yet, you never know!
key4
22/01/2010, 10:12 AM
Oh Blondie hope it is just too early.
Bel Rowley
22/01/2010, 10:15 AM
At least now I don't have to feel guilty about a few drinks on the weekend

**KM**
22/01/2010, 10:19 AM
Blondie Not sure what Ina May says, but Orgasmic Birth only shows lots of kissing, nothing else. DH has NO chance of getting his bits near my vagina whilst I am in labour - believe me

Yeah not sure on the media stuff as there was a slow news week when we were outside Julia Gillards office and when we had 3000 people in canberra and they still were not interested! I think there is more to it

But I could just be being a weird conspiracy theorist
Lara No not TTCING here, plans on hold since we STILL don't know what DH is doing this year with work/study etc!!!
Key Hope your DH and you kiss and make up soon

I do the whole 'I don't want to be next to you in bed when I am angry' thing too!!
key4
22/01/2010, 10:34 AM
Blondie - enjoy the few drinks.
Km - I just soemtimes need time to cool down! And I was not able to sleep so did not think that would help. I am sure I will be fine with him when he gets home today! And I don't have the energy to hold a grudge!
Yesterday was just a bad day all round. My mum had me try on the bridesmaid dress and then told me it looked terrible and she was not letting in the photos wearing that. She thought I was too big for it but it was hanging down all over the place so not sure what she was looking at. So after 7 years almost free from anorexia the nasty thoughts are back, but can't go there as with 2 kids I don't have time for hospital stays and I need to set a good example for Niamh as she is not going to learn those bad habits from me.
So I also broke my alcohol ban and we are back at day one! But on the bright side today can only be better right?
Bel Rowley
22/01/2010, 10:38 AM
Oh Key,

, please don't let your mum get to you. You have a gorgeous figure, I don't know what she is thinking.
laraq75
22/01/2010, 11:01 AM
Blondie - sorry the test was a BFN. Hopefully it is just too early to test. I hope you enjoy your drink on the weekend.
Key4 - I am so sorry that your mum spoke to you like that. That is really horrible. Some parents just don't think about what they are saying and what it affects it has on the person they are saying it to.
melaniejasmin
22/01/2010, 11:13 AM
Key -

If YOU could see that it was loose, then dont let your mother get to you! (easier said than done). Having a few drinks isnt that bad either. just start again tomorrow on the no drinking!
I would be peeved at my DH too if he did that! though I would have yelled at him
Blondie - I think it maybe too early anyway (not that I am really down with the whole CD or DoC or what ever it is. I just go on period date..) test again on tuesday - that way you can drink on the weekend! woho!
KM - yes, the media is very pro AMA I find. It is also hard for the Doctor's Reform Society to get any air time as well (let alone anything to do with nursing/midwifery!) we live in the dark ages here in relation to health 'reform' (I say 'reform' because other western countries get along very well with giving other health professionals more rights/control etc).
Stem cells - I am all for donating and not at all for saving them! I think it is a waste of money to save them for 'one day' when it may not even be able to be used anyway. it's a make believe, money making false security system I think. donating them is a much better way to go. (though my hospital didnt do it). I also waited a while before cutting the cord with A. I think it's good for the new babies to get as much cord blood into them as possible (of course, this is only possible if your not going to donate!

)
I am grumpy today... we are off to a Sydney Festival performance tonight, but it goes untill 1030 and I'm worried that if it is boring I'll be asleep at half time!
Once again I am eating MnMs and doing no work... *sigh*.
bellygood
22/01/2010, 11:36 AM
I had delayed cutting of cord in my birth plan but we (my 'birth team') and I took our eye off the ball for one minute and *snip*... b*stards! Didn't seem a big deal at the time, with all the elation and relief of birth, but this time I'll be priming my birth buddies to be on the lookout for it. KM how long do you leave it? Til it stops pulsing, I think? I had a natural delivery of placenta which took about 30 min. Happened a lot quicker when I figured out to kneel (eg get some gravity going) rather than lounge around. Oh man that thing is weird.
Still rainy here *sigh* difficult to entertain baby in this weather. Been to Big W to pick up a baby shower gift, short play at mcdonalds (until a family with a really poxy looking kid showed up and I wasn't brave enough to ask if he was contagious so left instead - had pox maybe chicken pox all over plus a few bandaged limbs). My rubella vaccine from 18m ago has 'failed' - apparently I don't 'sero convert' - so any pox is too much pox for me! Also been to library so at least Ivy has had a few little plays here and there. She's in bed now.
Key I have the hump with DH as well, for no particular reason though. I know it will pass. I just feel like stabbing him (with something blunt of course). Who knows why? Don't let your mind be infected by these throwaway comments from your mum, you must build up your force field!! I believe some Whittakers may do the trick...
ETA Blondie sorry to hear about the BFN... like you say, time to raise a glass or two while at Inverloch!
**KM**
22/01/2010, 11:42 AM
Blondie Bummer on the BFP, but at least it's another month of Claudia being older (that's how I see not TTCing at the moment as a positive even though I want to!!).
BG I think we left it until the placenta was out, but that's only because we had to change spots and then set up on the lounge so by the time we'd done all that some time had lapsed. But yes until the cord stops pulsating is enough. It's annoying when midwives/Dr's do things without consent just because they do it out of habit ... hope everyone's on the ball next time!
littlemumma
22/01/2010, 12:01 PM
Afternoon

Slow day here, enough to always do but I'd rather be flat stick as the day goes quicker.
DH is taking Kai to the drs today, think he may have a UTI...although I have no idea as I have never had one before.....but he is peeing all the time, like 10 times a day (not like him at all)....he has no temp or anything though which I thought he would....anyway, whatever is going on I want to try and get it sorted by the time he starts school....which is NEXT FRIDAY...ahhhhhhhhhhh, one week today, I'm SO excited for him.
Key - sorry to hear your mum is making negative comments, its not nice and there is no point, please don't listen to her, I'm sure you look beautiful. Hope you and DH are back on track tonight.
Blondi - bummer on the BFN. Enjoy your weekend away, have a few 'too many' beverages!!! Ummmm what to cook, good luck with that, I am certainly no help with that kind of thing.
KM - gee it must be frustrating no knowing what is going on with DH's work plans.
BG - I think it sounds like you've had a rather busy day considering it is raining there.
mel - hope the festival is good, hopefully you don't fall asleep....who looks after Alexander when you go out?
Just eating leftovers for lunch ''apricot chicken'', was quite delicious even if I do say so myself!!
ellangel
22/01/2010, 12:39 PM
I am here, but on my way to lie down! I am freaking exhausted!!
KM - is that YOU in your sig in the birthing pool?? I just thought...
Littlem - Oh poor Kai not being well. I hope they can find what is wrong with him. Ella starts next Wednesday so last day at kindy today! I cannot wait! Holli - here comes swimming, music and chilling out with mum!! It is going to be soooo easy! I am going to get super organised with dinners too, and have a menu so I can prepare it prior to school pick up.
Blondie - sorry for your no BFP news!! You will go hard and fast next month!! LOL
Key - your naughty DH!! Was there some sport on telly?? Or what is his excuse for being slack?? I am the queen of the silent treatment. Trust me - the longer you leave it, the harder it is. LOL
**KM**
22/01/2010, 01:26 PM
Sharon I really didn't need that visual of
Blondie going 'hard and fast'

Yes that is me in the birth pool, you thought what? I love your new sig
littlemumma Just another thought, Keenan started peeing heaps around 4 yrs of age. His kinder teacher was the one who first highlighted it to us, anyway we got him checked and it was nothing. He actually continued to do it for a few years and we put it down to him being over excited or anxious in the end. He still does it now when we are watching a movie, goes to the toilet 5 times, drives us crazy, but it's nothing medical. Hope you work it out!
ellangel
22/01/2010, 01:36 PM
:Hahahah KM! Sorry Blondie. I really didnt mean to joke.
I meant I thought that was you but could not be sure as your hair was very light there.
Littlem - Ella was similar from 3-4 years from what KM described. Would wee up to 20 times a day and always did some in her undies and it was driving me nuts! Turns out is was just excitement also...she is fine now.
Bel Rowley
22/01/2010, 01:41 PM
Ellangel - I didn't recognise KM because of the hair too!
Melanie - good points about saving stem cells. I seem to recall Claudia's was cut pretty much straight away. It was all such a blur I can't even remember delivering the placenta. Hope you have fun tonight and stay awake!
Bellygood - seems to me you've been pretty busy considering the rain! Claudia and I went for a walk to the park this morning, her in her trike, she had great fun but tried to launch herself out of the swing and ended up dangling upside down like a trapeze artist!!! Thank goodness for the chain holding her in.
Littlemumma - hopefully nothing to worry about with Kai. Is he really excited about school?
KM and Ellangel - I haven't completely given up hope for this month yet, still keeping my fingers crossed that we won't need another month of constant BDing, I'm too lazy!
ETA - Claudia has been asleep for 3 1/2 hours!!!
alimumof3
22/01/2010, 01:56 PM
blondie no i havent counted this month out for you either yet. not until af shows..
as you'll remember (well maybe!) I had a bfn on the sat but a bfp on the monday.
KM i didn't realise it was you either! and i too was thrown by the light hair!
sharon i dont understand how school works in qld. Isn't ella only 4? or is she 5 now? shchool doesnt start til 5 here, but a year (or so) of kindy before hand, 4 days a week, half day.
ellangel
22/01/2010, 02:00 PM
Blondie - this month is definitely NOT out for you! LOL about being too lazy. Hehehe.
Ali - QLD is slowly trying to change to be the same! I said sloooowlyyyy....We dont have kindy here, so you dont have to send them anywhere till prep which is from June 09- June 10 IF they are 5 in that time. So Ella is 4 but will be 5 early April. She will be one of the youngest!
alimumof3
22/01/2010, 02:12 PM
oh yeah thats right.
my friend worked up there for a bit and told me that they were trying to implement kindy.
apparenlty SA has the best system when it comes to early childhood..

not trying to be an SA advocate, just what my kindy teacher friend said.
but i guess thats why you sent her to childcare cos they have some kind of "kindy" programs don't they?
laraq75
22/01/2010, 02:34 PM
ali - I agree SA seem to have the best system. In the ACT you go to school if you turn 5 before 30 April. We also have preschool which is the same age. So unfortunately for DD she will have to wait to go to preschool until next year and will be one of the oldest at school. She will actually be turning 6 the year she starts school. So totally opposite to the QLD system.
littlemumma
22/01/2010, 02:40 PM
Reporting in for duty
Kai report - Dr examined his penis and did a urine sample...he tested that in his office and it came up clear....he is sending it off to pathology just to 'make sure"'. The Dr however doesn't think there is a problem, he seems to think it may be a 'stage'' or similar. After talking to my Mum though and seeing what you girls have said I am actually thinking that maybe it is an ""anxcious'' sign about starting school as up until a week ago he was trying his uniform on every day and all of a sudden this has stopped. When we talk about school now sometimes he is excited and then other times he says he wants to stay home with Mum and Max.....I think he is still excited but I guess the nerves are creeping in....I wonder if this is what its all about, weeing all the time...ummmmmmmmmmmmmm
KM - I was wondering whether that was you also but thought not, the hair threw me as well.
Sharon - yep I have enrolled Max in swimming and would like to do music also, will need to have a look at that, so excited for him. I really do LOVE that sig of Holli.
Schools - in NSW we have Kindergarten, they can start at 4 years but have to be 5yrs by June (although most people hold their kids back if they are May onwards, some don't even send them if they are Feb, depends on the child I suppose)....Kai is Sept so he is 5 and a bit...they go 5 days a week, 9am - 3pm, roughly.
Perth - what is the school system there, notice you girls were saying they only go for 2 days or something to begin with?
Blondi - way to go Claudia!
Bel Rowley
22/01/2010, 02:51 PM
Question about shoes - what size are all the little ones wearing? All summer Claudia has lived in either the Havaianas my sister brought her back from Brazil, or a size 4 pair of slip on shoes I got her from Gymboree. Yesterday at Target I got a pair of sandals for $4.71 (bargain!) in size 4 as her Havvies are getting way too small. These sandals are huge on her and I'm now wondering if she'll get any wear out of them! I really wasn't impressed with the shoe range from Target, I'd really like to get her just some comfy runners for winter but they didn't have anything in toddler sizes, it was either the Dunlop pre-walkers or for much bigger kids.
alimumof3
22/01/2010, 02:57 PM
blondie oliver is in a 4 -5. i think the sizes are all mismash too. confusing.
littlemumma awww poor Kai. it makes me sad to think of when DD will be going to school and if she says that she wants to be at home with me. I will miss her so much. Obviously they have to go eventually but its still sad.
I think anxiety might be it. Espec with the other signs of not trying on uniform again etc.
**KM**
22/01/2010, 03:02 PM
Blondie Milly is still in a size 4 too, we're still using her two pairs of baby paws that seem to do us fine. Maybe go to one of the speciality shops eg. Betts and Betts for kids, something like these would be cute:
Brooki.
littlemumma Glad it's nothing medical. The constant peeing is annoying though, it used to drive me mad, used to it now though
ellangel
22/01/2010, 03:05 PM
We have also stopped talking about 'school' so much here Littlem. Ella doesnt even seem keen to try her uniform on anymore!! LOL. I told her to go show daddy and she ripped it off the other day!
Glad Kai is ok. How long has this been going on for?? Ella was like that for about 6 months!
Ali - of course you will be sad when A goes to big school! But you will still have a kid at each leg, so maybe you will be smiling!!! LOL
littlemumma
22/01/2010, 03:18 PM
Ali - when Kai started pre-school when he was 3...I waved him off happily and when I got in the car I literally sobbed my heart out so hard I could barely breath.....gee I hope I don't do that next week.
Sharon - they are funny little things aren't they. Does Ella know any girls going to her school? Just the last few weeks I have noticed this weeing behaviour.
KM - yes it is annoying isn't it. Yesterday he went right before we left for woolies, when we got to woolies he said he needed to go again, so I took him and then when we came out of woolies he asked to go again...to which I said no, he can wait until we get home, which he did.
blondi - Max is size 4, just...shoes are hard business.
beaglebaby
22/01/2010, 03:28 PM
School: The WA system is that they start Kindy, which at the moment is 2 days a week (or 4 half days - up to the school) but rising to 2 1/2 over the next few years, if they turn 4 before the end of June. DS1 is a June baby so the youngest in his class, DD and Lucas will be some of the oldest. The do Pre-primary the next year full time, then year 1. DD starts school Thursday week as they are staggering the starts so they only have half classes for kindy the first week.
KM, Isn't Pesce an Ob? AMA employ a media liason in each state and are very politically active, it's a tough fight. From what little I've read it's quite clear he's misrepresenting the data and the strength of evidence, I used to be a drug co. rep and if I'd walked in there with that type of data to support a drug he'd have thrown me out I'm sure!!!
Shoes, Blondie, Target usually get in some really cute leather mary janes with soft rubber soles for winter. DD had some and loved them, in fact I'd love some for me

Lucas would be a 4 - except he's got chubby little feet that don't fit into his size 4 sandals, so he's had to make do with DS1s hand me downs as they were more adjustable.
Blondie, hope it was just too early. Enjoy the weekend away and don't stress about cooking a feast, sometimes simple is better.
Can't remember what else I was going to say.
We've just been out and met Sarina and the girls for a great morning at Jungle Gym, a play centre with lots of big mats, trampolines, ropes and pits of foam. The kids were all exhausted and my 2 are now in bed, although Lucas is threatening to wake up again already - NOOOO!
ellangel
22/01/2010, 03:34 PM
Some size 4's fit Holli, others too big, some too small. Frustrating hey??
I just weighed her BTW, and she was 10.5kg! I was surprise my little shortie was that much! Have to do her height now.
Littlem - I actually started a little reward system if Ella even had dry knickers for part of the day. I was getting desparate!
Gotta go
alimumof3
22/01/2010, 03:35 PM
mine have both been in bed for 2hrs, still in tehre. I'm getting bored!!! i really shoudl do something constructive rather than eat lunch and park my butt on the lounge with teh computer when they sleep. should have scrapping stuff out. ah well.
**KM**
22/01/2010, 03:42 PM
Beagle Yes he is an OB (still practising and 'delivering' 6 babies a week as he states in this article:
meet-mr-3am-the-nations-dynamic-top-doctor, he quotes his 7 times higher death in this article as well). Good to hear comments like yours and Mel's about the power the AMA have with the media, makes me feel less like I am a looney with a 'theory'
melaniejasmin
22/01/2010, 04:27 PM
LittleM - I almost started crying at the thought of Alexander starting preschool! I will be the same with crying I think!
Shoes - Alexander is in size 7

I bought them last week when his little toes were hanging over the top of the 6's. I bought mine at Kmart. they have a good range of Grosby shoes (which I think is a good brand as they have arch support - Alexander has high arches). I havent tried any covered shoes yet, just sandals.
Going out - Alexander stays at my parents who live in the next suburb. mainly we pick him up after and take him home bt tonight he is sleeping over because it's easier for us. he does it quite often and sleeps really easily there (I work there during the day so he spends lots of time sleeping in his bed there!). we will pick him up in the morning at about 9am and head to the beach! it's going to be hot tomrrow and I'd like to get to the water before it's too hot.
OK best start to get ready we are also having dinner out (no one get jealous, its going to be the little chinese 'happy chef' restaurant up the road - all day DH has been talking about eating fried rice

!)
cassi8
22/01/2010, 05:24 PM
Beagle -

Ob/Gyn and has his office in Syd
Home and exhausted, now just to do dinner for everyone. I can't wait to get N into bed tonight, he has been hard work today!
cassi8
22/01/2010, 06:57 PM
OK back for a post, you guys were chatty today.
Shoes size 5 here with still a bit of room in them.
DH is doing ok, he is resting on the lounge now after a night of little sleep and a long day waiting. He was booked at the hossy at 8:30 and we were at there at 8am so a bit early. Something must have happened, they told us at the beginning when they were prepping him the it would be about 9:30 or 10am in theater, he didn't go in until about 12ish he thinks. I had to leave at 10 because N was going feral. I went shopping for a bit then went back at 12:30 when they said he should be nearly done, nope still in theater and came out at just before 2 so didn't get home until 6.
N on the other hand was pushing buttons all day, could have had something to do with me having other things to think about.. constant whinging, tired and wouldn't sleep, wouldn't eat what I offered, just generally being difficult. I cracked at him when he didn't want his dinner and threw some baked beans on the floor.

I felt awful and I did apologise to him and gave him a cuddle.
The heat isn't helping things much either... I'm not looking forward to tomorrow, DH has the idea that he'd like to go to his parents place for the day, not my idea of a relaxing day though. At home I don't have to watch him like a hawk but 43degs isn't going to leave me much choice
I hope everyone has a great weekend!
Clazza
22/01/2010, 08:29 PM
Evening everyone,
I doubt I'll have time to catch up on all the things as I want to get to bed soon (both my boys were up at 5:05 this morning!) but just a few things:
Cassi - glad your DH is ok, sorry N has been pushing buttons. They always seem to pick the times when you are most stressed/tired etc!
Blondie - sorry about your BFP but I am not without hope for you either.
Littlemum - Glad the weeing isn't anything medical. I would say definitely nerves. Jack is not the least bit anxious about starting school and when I cried whilst putting his school socks and shoes on him the other day to make sure the VERY expensive Clarks shoes fit him perfectly, he said "Don't worry Mum, I know you'll miss me but you will get to see me in the mornings, afternoons and on the weekends"! It's not so much that I'm going to miss him that upsets me, it's more what it represents (i.e. the end of one chapter in his life). I will be a complete mess when he starts and have made DH take the morning off work to help me through it! He has a 'best start assessment' next Friday for half an hour and then officially starts the following Tuesday, but I know it's different in Cath schools (Jack's going to the local public one).
Sarina - you seem to be having a really rough time of it - I really hope it gets better soon for you, poor thing.
Shoes - size 2-3!!! I took Maddie into Shoes & Socks a few weeks ago to get her first real pair of sandals (she has tiny Havaianas my brother got her when she was born which she loves wearing but I like to get Clarks or similar for the first 'proper' shoes) and they didn't have a pair small enough and the lady said she would have to stay in prewalkers and pray for a growth spurt! I ended up going to the local exxie shoe shop and got some Iltalian made ones (pink and silver so she has some bling) for 50% off, but still $62.50. She loves them though - very into accessorizing is my girl.

School starting age - Jack was 5 last June so will be one of the oldest in his class, although more and more people are holding their kids back (I've a friend whose son turned 5 last April and he is only going this year but then I've a friend whose daughter is 3 days older than Jack and she started last year).
Can't remember too much else. Hmmm...oh I love the belly shots - very beautiful.
Better get into that shower...gonna be a hot one here tomorrow so it might just be spent here in the AC although a swim at the beach would be nice too...
**KM**
22/01/2010, 09:16 PM
Cassi Was Pesce your OB for Nathan or a GYN you've had in the past? I know you think he's a sweety, I understand, my old OB is a sweety and also thinks home birth is dangerous and doesn't support it, I phoned him before Christmas to see if he supports it as I was doing research for my submission for the senate. He was respectful of my decision to choose home birth but he believes birth is safer in hospital, although I doubt he's done much research in it as he just spun me RANZCOG's line of "we don't support home birth". Sounds like you had a rough day, hope the weekend is full of rest and relaxation!
OK I'd better get to bed, just remembered I start Doula training tomorrow, it goes for 10 weeks, should be fun!
seepi
22/01/2010, 09:52 PM
Just on quickly - i should be in bed. i have been exhausted lately, and getting up very late for work.
Jasper is in a 5 or 6 shoe I think. He has a gorgeous pair of sandals DP bought him from the expensive baby shop around here (Chillada), and he loves them sooooo much. He even says 'shoooos, shoooos' and goes and gets them for us to put on. He also has a pair of elasticised leather pre-walkers (like Robeez, but a cheap rip-off). They are wearing out faster than Robeez, but fit well. And a friend gave him a pair of real crocs, but he gets those off himself which is a bit annoying.
Target is erratic for shoes. DD got a gorgeous pair of red leather boots for winter there. but other times all they have is clunky white sandals with heavy soles and rhinestones all over. Cotton on kids has fake crocs for 9.00. DJs currently has clarks etc on sale, but they are still 50.00 etc.
Clazza - I can't believe Maddy is in a size 2 or 3 - my kids were probably born with feet that big. (When DD was born, the midwife commented straight away on her big feet.) We had the opposite problem. She walked late, and we had trouble getting pre-walkers in a bigger size.
Blondi - for your dinner I would do gourmet sausages, and a really fancy salad (rocket, feta and mango or something.) and if DH does the sausages you can just make the salad!
On the spiritual midwifery birth stuff = I don't think they were actually doing the deed in between contractions! but with the hippy trippy 70s language it is pretty hard to tell what they mean. there is a lot of talk of 'giving each other some' and 'rubbing each other out for a bit' and other phrases I don't understand. KM - I have bought Ina May's other book so I will read that when it eventually gets here from the UK. But I think in reality nothign much is going to help me get thru the pushing stages without pain. I think I am looking for a miracle cure in these books, and it just doesn't exist.
tweedy08
23/01/2010, 05:51 AM
Real quck one since I got Tilly to go back to bed so ima head back there for a little more sleep

Shoe size - Tilly is in a size 5 now. She has a chubby foot though so buying shoes is hard for her as her toe area is very wide! She only has 2 pairs of shoes. Some sandals that she has only really jsut started wearing & some of those soft soled ones that are fully closed in. She loves her shoes as she has worked out that with shoe son the ground outside isnt hot
cassi8
23/01/2010, 06:13 AM
KM - Dr Pecse was my ob for Ns birth and gyn since MHO I thought Dr Pesce was great during my pg and birth. He personally wasn't able to be there but he was there the whole day I was in labour and checked me the week before when I had a scare. I'd gladly go back and see him again.
I am sure if i decided I wanted a homebirth he would advise me on the risks like he should and as I expect as he is a dr and its his job to provide professional advice to patients that he would be liable for under his care but I think he would respect the decision I had made after recieving that advice. Although I wouldn't be seeing and Ob for a homebirth either.
Similarly if a Lawyer was to give you advice, they are also legally obliged in their profession to do, regardless of their personal opinion, and it being your decision to follow the advice or not. My personal expreiences though are different though from his position as AMA president.
As for other comments he has made, I think he needs to say what he does because he is representative of a large organisation of Drs and he is speaking on their behalf, and representing an agreed position of the AMA (much like the leader of a political party.)
ok sorry for the huge post but its been said now. Thats all I want to say on the topic in here, it seems there are other boards around for discussing this topic.
littlemumma
23/01/2010, 06:29 AM
Morning
Quick one as we have friends coming for bbq today and I have heaps to do....its going to be 40 dg today, not a great day for it but ah well, will get the aircon cranking.
clazza - I bought Max a cute pair of clarks a few weeks ago (size 4)....hopefully Maddie gets there soon. Bless Jack, he sounds very grown-up and matter of fact. Kai only goes half day Friday and then Monday its all systems go. My DH has also taken the day off and then following two weeks also just to help out with the transition, pick ups etc as with me working some days we want to make sure all goes as smoothly as possible.
cassi - glad the op went well. I would imagine no toddler would have been happy waiting around at the hosp and being out most the day so don't worry, its just the age he is at. I say go to inlaws and let them fuss over DH and you can put your feet up (hopefully).
Have a good Sat everyone.
laraq75
23/01/2010, 06:52 AM
shoes - Angus doesn't have any because he isn't walking yet and I haven't bothered with pre-walkers. But his foot is tiny like the rest of him. I have tried a few pairs of shoes on him that my friend gave me from her boys and hates them. He cries everytime i put them on. Same with socks. Not sure what i am going to do when he actually starts walking.
I went out to the movies last night to see Invictus. It is an amazing story. I am very tired this morning and have a 3 year old party to go to with DD.
Cass - glad to hear that op went well and i understand how you feel when N pushes your buttons because they all do it.
Sccary
23/01/2010, 11:24 AM
Morning all
I had a lovely 'play date' with BEAGLE yesterday. After I took the kids to shops to get lolly bags for DD birthday then tru Maccas and to my dads house.
Managed to finally find the documents on all the 'trusts' WHat a mess. HE has his money all tied up it will take a team of lawyers to get thu and also on paper worh nearly zip.

so painful, must be a cahman(sp?) account somewhere.
KM: Careful on those Brooki shoes, they are more 'prewalker' and I find too soft and flexibe for actual walkng toddlers.
LITTLEM / ELLANGLE : School antic same here. DD1 is 4 on 5th feb and will be going to kindy 2 full days. SHe is excited but the more we talk about it she says she wants to stay home with Velvet and I
I was told not to 'hype' scholl up as they get anxiety and expect this huge event.
BLONDIE: sorry on negative test, hope it is positive soon.
CLAZZA: I agree on the proper shoes. I only buy clarkes, puma, or nike for first shoes. I have been given target and they are too flopsy not enough support
Ok nothing much else to report. Have to have a shower and go buy my nefew a birthday present.
**KM**
23/01/2010, 12:22 PM
Sarina Milly is actually still in soft leather shoes (babypaws) so no other pre-walkers here. Even though she's been walking for 3 months now I don't see any need for shoes until probably around March when I will get her fitted for some good winter shoes (probably clarks etc at a shoe shop)
Cassi I think your comparison of Pesce as head of the AMA to being a politician is probably very appropriate

Enough said
Lara My friend's (BBlessed) little boy cried when she put him in shoes and socks and then she got some baby paws that were sandals (just soft leather shoes) and it was enough to get him used to having something on his feet but they are light so he liked them. He went from wanting nothing on his feet to bringing the sandals to her to put on. Might be worth a try.
Seepi Strange with the actually getting it on in the Ina May book, no thanks
Well I went to my 1st week of my "Child Birth Attendant" course this morning. It was all on the history of child birth and child birth today, I knew a little bit of it (like when midwives were burnt at the stake as they were thought to be witches), but there was lots more that I learnt which was amazing. The bottom line is that women have been fighting men for control of child birth since very early in history and we are still fighting the same fight today.
beaglebaby
23/01/2010, 12:32 PM
It is so much easier when your second starts school, not that your heart doesn't melt at the sight of them in their uniform, but because they've been going to school for drop offs and pick ups and know the whole routine, know their way around, know the teachers, and you just know that they'll be OK. Although DS1 had only ever been to the school once when he started, and he didn't know a single child at the school, and he was fine, me on the other hand
Sarina, it must be hard for you to be going through your Dads things and trying to make sense of it, hugs. Hope the girls slept well for you in the afternoon, Kate had about 4 hours!
Shoes, yep, have some cute Clarks for Lucas for winter, hope they actually fit, I have so many new pairs of shoes and sandals that I bought in advance for my children and when the time came they were the wrong shape
Cassi, hope you and N are getting a break today after such a long day yesterday. I vote for dropping DH at IL's and going out!
Key, hope all is settled down at your place. Have you had your iron retested? Could that be why you are so worn out? Don't let your Mum make you feel bad, your are seriously gorgeous and slim and look fit. If the dress isn't a good fit is there any chance you can take it to a dressmaker for alterations, they'll be alot more professional in their advice!
We were going to check out the big Myer sale today, but DH got talking on the phone, then it was time for Lucas to have a nap. Maybe once he wakes up.
Sccary
23/01/2010, 05:28 PM
BEAGLE: Nothing great in the Myer sale DD1 and I just got back from the city. Ended up back in Target with some great bargains for nefews birthday, shorts all marked down to $9.41 from $22 and some tag reading books
KEY: sorry forgot to mention this morning,

You are NOT too fat, you have a great figure (wish I looked as good and slim as you) She must be on drugs

you would only be a size 8-10 right?

So what on earth is she on about

Life is to short and you have Ninah to think about to tell her to sod off !
Sorry also about DH I had to laugh though as the night before I felt exactly the same way. DH hadn't actually done anything though

I just wanted to kill him (in the nicest way possible) Everything that came out of his mouth annoyed me

It happens. Your DH was being a sh*t though !
Ok nothing else where is everyone???
beaglebaby
23/01/2010, 06:29 PM
Garden City was obviously better Sarina. I bought 2 maternity bras, I've been trying to keep wearing the old ones as I don't know when Lucas will wean, but I needed a new one and got 2 Triumph ones for under $40. DH bought business shirts and pants. I spent $75 on DD and DS1 and got a dress and a shorts suit for DD, PJs, shorts, pants and Esprit T for DS1 - pretty happy with that. Of course DD wanted EVERYTHING! There was nothing impressive for little boys so Lucas missed out, some cute girls clothes but I didn't check the sizes. Was tempted by some Clarkes shoes for $35, but decided to wait until he needs them.
Kids were a bit full on, DH isn't used to shopping with them so got cranky

Might have a lie down while Lucas has a nap, I've got a nasty headache.
ellangel
23/01/2010, 07:49 PM
Pretty sh*tty day here.
Had 3 swims...was just so hot.
Had friends over for arvo tea/drinks and a swim also.
Something is wrong with Holli. Gave nurofen at 7am, panadol at 1pm and nurofen at 7pm. She is burning up and not a happy camper.
Fell asleep on the lounge next to DH while him and Ella were laughing LOUDLY at that funny Wipeout show!! That is NOT my Holli at all.
So now I am all worried about her and once again its the weekend so cant take her to see a dr til Monday. Hoping just teeth. Pulling at ears, barely eaten (but drank milk and other fluids, rash on front bottom)
Meljas - am sure you were getting teary about A starting school in 3 years time as you are pg and all emotional!!
Beagle - thats us...Will know not a soul at this school.
Better go. Left over chinese for dinner...yum!!
Key - I have seen your profile pics!! YOU ARE HOT AND A SKINNY MINNIE!!
tweedy08
23/01/2010, 07:53 PM
ellangel - That sounds exactly like Tilly was! Ring tthat medical hotline number as they are great in there & will advise whether you should go to emergency or not. Does the rash blanch? Meaning when you press on it it goes white then reappears? If it is a blanching rash then that is good!! If when pushed on the mark doesnt go white then it could be something more serious. Another way to check is get a glass & put it on the rash then presh down. You will see whether it goes white or not.
Hope she gets well soon. If you are worried though do not hesitate to get her to the ER!
littlemumma
23/01/2010, 08:09 PM
Evening
Beagle/Sarina - good job on the bargains from Myer and Target...we are going out there tomorow, I have about 10 birthday pressies to buy

Sounds like the playdate was fun.
Beagle - how is DH going, is he still behaving and taking it easy?
Sharon - ohhh poor Holli....agree, really awful when they get sick over the weekend. I hope its teeth but who knows, poor sausage. Hope she sleeps well tonight.
KM - course will be interesting, how long does it go for?
We had a great day (full on) but good. We had two couples and their kids over for lunch but it was go go go getting everything done in time with Max at my feet all morning. I had too many wines as usual, when will I learn????????????? It was 40dg here today so kids couldn't go outside which was a shame but they were all really good inside anyway, running a muck but it was all good. Max thankfully slept for 3 hours (don't know how with all the noise) so we were actually able to enjoy lunch and have a conversation.....very rare these days!
Think I'll have an early night.
ellangel
23/01/2010, 08:13 PM
But rash just on her bottom so far Cath. When did Tilly get the all over rash?? I just went in there to put AC and sleeping bag on and expected her to be asleep still...she was wide awake and thrashing about, but still quiet. Clearly something is bothering her. Thanks ladies
LOL littlem at too many wines. One advantage of having it at your house
Dh was watching the radar in Sydney to see if there were any storms
tweedy08
23/01/2010, 08:25 PM
Once the temp broke the rash came out on her chest, neck & face! I hope she is ok. Perhaps try putting some zinc & castor oil cream on her bottom to help soothe it? Otherwise she could even have an upset tummy from somthing she ate so some brauers colic relief or stomach clam might help as well?