The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: September 08 Parents #147

Pages: 1, 2, 3
ellangel
Ok, I will keep a close eye on her. Thanks for advice Cath...really appreciate it and hoping it is just teeth. Looked in her mouth and pretty sure it is teeth. They gotta come sooner or later and she only has the 4 rabbit teeth!! Poor little poppet.

Just went to check on her and she woke up and pushed my nose and said, "beep!! Night night " What a little rascal!! wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif

Gotta a big day tomorrow if she sleeps well and appears ok. Will be leaving the house at 8.30am to go down to Ballina to visit my aunt and uncle. Gotta leave so damn early due to daylight savings! So if I dont have time to pop in, then do not worry about me!! LOL

Night
~Elliesmum~
Kayla got another rash like the first one too Cath, I think its just going away now. I have to wonder if it IS the heat or something she's allergic to. Guess I won't know unless it happens again in winter. I just let it be this time as it didn't get quite as bad as last time, and she was happy enough. No temps here though.

did some tiedying with the kids today so much fun (not kayla of course LOL) Kayla does have two new tiedye singlet tops and an old tshirt I grabbed out of her drawer. Can't wait to see how they look tomorrow.

The kids spent the rest of the afternoon in the pool, kayla loves it, was too warm for me, I'd have filled it with cool water but such a waste lol. I don't know how you guys do it in warmer areas!

awww too cute Sharon! enjoy the trip south, ballina is lovely and yep better leave early as its not early once you cross the border hehe. Sounds like it could be teeth. Kayla is still getting teeth and she's got a mouthful lol

Such a sweet age isn't it, Kayla is talking a lot now and knows exactly what we're on about all the time (don't know why I'm surprised, but its cute when she pipes up and adds her own version).

Is anyone disciplining, or finding the need for boundaries yet? I have to confess that she's probably getting away with everything (although I think she's pretty well behaved?) but probably should start paying attention, just tend to think of her as the baby still original.gif Am sure I probably had the other two on their toes at her age. I've definitely mellowed original.gif

beaglebaby
Have a safe trip Ellangel. Miss Holli is just too cute. Beep!

Littlemumma, DH is doing well, came on our playdate and came shopping today, I think he's sick of sitting around. Sees the surgeon again on Monday so at least he'll know what he's allowed to do.

Elliesmum, Lucas is into everything, and understands NO, but just doesn't think it applies to him. He'll walk over to the fridge, start opening it, and start saying No, No, No. My usual form of dealing with it if it gets too annoying or dangerous is just to remove him, which sometimes results in a full on throw yourself on the floor and scream tantrum. Very cute - as long as he grows out of it quickly!

Had a lovely afternoon nap, but woke up feeling really sluggish and had to go out and play with the kids to get myself going. Lucas also had 2 huge sleeps today, both times he was woken by big brother and sister fighting though aannoyed.gif

I've decided I need a good dose of calm in my life, and read a review of the book Buddhism for Mothers, so I've just requested it from my local library, it's due back in a week or so so fingers crossed it's worth the wait.
cassi8
morning original.gif All is feeling well in the world today, DH is happy and not feeling too sore, N is being good and offering 'cuggles' and I get to stay home today and rest, even time for a proper post while N is eating his brekky...

Beagle - Glad DH is doing ok, I'd be going bonkers a well. N was doing the no thing although he was saying 'uh uh uh' as he was touching or doing something wrong. I think its a way of them learning boundaries. N doesn't do it as much anymore and also does touch what he was making the 'uh uh' about.

While on boundaries, elliesmum, I have put some in for N although nothing to harsh. He doesn't play in kitchen cupboards simply because I don't have enough for him to have a safe one, entertainment until including appliances are out of bounds. We ask him not to touch and have started counting to 3 then move him away and distract him with something else. Out and about, must hold hands when near cars or busy places, if he refuses he gets carried or popped in a trolley, most of the time he obliges and won't go far from us anyway at them moment.

Sharon - Have a great day in Ballina! I hope poor little Holli is ok, it sounds very strange. I'd have thought teeth with the nappy rash but fever as well, i dunno.. Such a cheeky little girl. There were storms but nothing too severe from that I have heard, too hot for hail! wink.gif

nice bargain hunting girls! I picked up a pj top the other day and a few other bits and pieces. I was tempted to get a few more shirts for N that were scanning for $2ish but DH would kill me if I buy any more for him wink.gif

Key - huh.gif what an awful thing for your mum to say! hhugs.gif I hope DH is being nice to you and all has been made up. original.gif

On shoes again, sorry to bring it back up. Do littlies need to be fitted?? N has a pair of the soft gel soled sandals from target that someone mentioned and has been wearing them more and more as he is walking outside and I am putting him in shoes for CC now as well. I'm all new the shoe thing. I understand though they they need proper support for growing feet. I have a pair of soft soled joggers that I intended he would wear until he outgrew them but it would seem he needs better ones now. I am still concerned but the hard soles on some kids shoes, what should I look for?

Must go and finish breakfast.
trinyweeny
Morning girls

I have been ph34r.gif but its just been too damn hot to post. We went out for dinner last night and got home around 9:30pm Jacqui is still asleep. So we have all had a sleep in. YAY. eexcite.gif I've got a headache though but must push through it. Too much housework to catch up on today now its cooler.

Shoes - haven't had to go there yet. Jacqui is going to be a nightmare though extremely long narrow feet. Unfortunately she gets that from me.

Ellangel - Have fun today. Hope fully Holli is feeling better today. She is just so cute. wub.gif

Beagle - Good to hear DH is doing ok. Good bargain shopping.

Elliesmum - We have some boundaries. Not allowed to play with some stuff etc. I try the NO if that doesn't work remove and distract. Usually ends in a tantrum but hey that's life.

Cassi - Hope you managed to keep cool yesterday. Good that DH's op went well.

Ah I hear a little miss. Better go and get her. We could be going out to lunch or dinner tonight. SIGH I wish the PIL's could get their act together.
bellygood
Hi Girls!

Sorry I've been away for oh 24 hours, been on cyclone watch! The rain hasn't let up for days, today we've got gusty wind starting up, and the cyclone crosses the coast a few hours north of here at around 4pm. We are quite a distance away and inland but still expect strong winds and heavy rain.

I had a great day yesty, morning to myself (pedicure) only to my beautiful feet wrecked by having to walk Ivy around in the slushy yard barefoot. Now there's all red dirt in my heel cracks! I only have a few but I hate them - anyone got miracle cures? I also went to a nice baby shower, hard to believe they were ever such tiny little babies! This was a shower after the baby was born (think she was born on New Years Day), so teeny tiny! Last night we had a home-style counter meal, such a treat to have pork chops as DH is allergic to pork so we never have it at home. Confession: I eat most of the fat as well ph34r.gif

Shoes
Ivy doesn't have any and doesn't wear any. I have a few second hand pairs somewhere from a friend but in fact will give them to Vinnies, I've read that 2nd hand shoes aren't recommended. I grew up barefoot (thus the heel cracks...) so am not fussed about when she starts wearing shoes. Child health nurse told me to spend the money for good shoes though as cheap sandals etc are not great for growing feet, so will prolly get her fitted.

Cassi I missed something, what was DH in hospy for? Glad he's at home anyway.

Ellangel how's Holli today? She looks so grown up in your signature pic, I think it's because she has a proper little hairdo (not weird baby fuzz like Ivy...)

KM you go, doula woman! I think having a doula or 'birth advocate' to speak for you when you are grunting away would be great.

Lara would you recommend Invictus? I've heard it's good, tried to con my mate with a South African DH to go but she's not too interested and reckons he wouldn't go near it since he was there at the time and has quite possibly got a different view of events... I don't envy SAs... to 'get ahead' they would basically have to emigrate, but they love SA (does look like a beautiful country). I saw the movie 'Disgrace' on DVD the other day, also interesting. I think that author, John Coetzee, has since emigrated to Australia. They call it PUFP (Pack Up For Perth).

Sarina what a shame about all the complexity around your parent's financial affairs... hard enough to separate even when things are clear-cut.

Beagle I had that book and only just sent it to Vinnies! It's a good read but as I'm not a Buddhist it was hard to get too much out of it from a practical point of view. She has two books out I think, both in that 'series' eg Buddhism for Mothers and the other one is called Buddhism for Mothers with Lingering Questions. I read a 'mothery' book last week but it was crap. I thought it was non-fiction but it was in fact fictionalised, based on a kind of 'slumber party' for mothers and in each chapter they discuss a certain topic eg work or self worth. I found it to be cr*p really, can't remember the name even. Now I'm reading 'Affluenza' but that seems redundant since the Global Financial Crisis.

Question Ivy is now wanting to walk everywhere but we still need to hold both her hands to support her (not great for the back muscles!). I've noticed that she walks on the inside of her foot eg at end of day, the outside edge of her foot is clean and the inside edge dirty. Her feet also seem to turn out alot, like the opposite of pigeon toed. Is all that ok? She's only just started walking in the last week or so, could it just be her little muscles still need to build?
cassi8
Triny - we coped with the heat, got to 42 degs but we spent the day at ILs with BIL and SIL in the air con, it wasn't fair of me to keep DH and N home in the heat.

BG - 8 months ago DH smashed his patella and required emergency surgery to fix it up. He went back in on Friday to have the wire that held his patella together, removed so he is wire free now and seems to be in less pain than with the wire still in. I'm looking forward to re-dressing it for him this afternoon so I can see what it looks like. biggrin.gif
ellangel
I am here...we havent gone anywhere. We shall do the Ballina trip another weekend soon.

Terrible night. Holli awake and thrashing about at 12, 1.30, 3am, 4am, you get the picture. Slept in till 7am. So she should! LOL. Still burning up and wont move off Dh or my lap. Have called Medcall and a dr is coming out some time this morning. Might even be ears as she has had a runny nose for 3 weeks and we have been doing lots of swimming. Nappy rash a little better.

Shoes, was told to get them fitted after they have been walking for 6 weeks as that is when the chubbiness on the top of their feet can settle down. In 4's here.

Fuzz like hair! LOL Bellyg. Holli has more hair than my 3.5 year old niece!

Yes, the youngest definitely gets away with more I think. "just give it to her!" But yes, of course there are boundaries. Mostly for her own safety, but otherwise she would be sitting on the top of the dining room table!

Better go...I am needed.
~Elliesmum~
oh bugger Sharon sad.gif I hope the doctor is helpful! bummer about your trip but if you can do it another time yep I would too! hope she has some great naps today and you can too.

I stayed up late last night 2am rolleyes.gif (because I'm stupid!) then went to bed and of course 2.30am Ellie comes tearing in crying because its a blackout and the baby monitor woke her up (beeps if it can't find its other end) she hates the dark so I'm laying in my bed with her for ages flicking my mobile phone buttons to keep the light on lol. Eventually I went and found candles but I have a fear of candles burning and falling asleep lol. About 3.30 the lights came back, then dh came home about 4.30 and had to carry her back to bed lol.

bellygood- yikes cyclone watch, I'm always glad that I'm not that far north as they seem to happen quite a lot up that way! hope it all blows over without hassles

shoes- hmmm well K doesn't usually wear any, my other kids never did either, I thought it was better for their feet to not wear them? we do have a pair of crocs blush.gif for if the ground is too hot etc though. I'm not a fan of spending heaps on littlies shoes to be honest (we just get the basics lol)- but if she needs them I will for sure.
**KM**
littlemumma The course goes for 10 weeks. There is another advanced course after that but I am still working out what I want to do with it as I am unsure if 'douling' is what I want to do.

Sharon Oh poor Holli and what a rough night sad.gif Hope the doctor can help and that she comes good soon. I'm sure her body will fight it hard and fight it off, she's a tough little one!

Boundaries Yeah not too many here, she's pretty good and I think I have mellowed as well with the 3rd like you elliesmum. It was funny though as I went out shopping with DD1 and Milly a few weeks ago and we didn't take the pram or the Ergo as DD1 had to try on some things and we were only going to be quick .... but what a nightmare!!! She kept trying to run out of the shop and wouldn't stay with me .... don't usually experience that as she's always in the Ergo when we are shopping - it was a good reminder not to shop without the Ergo, pram or a trolley EVER again. No wonder parents are stressed shopping when their little ones are just walking next to them wacko.gif (I do remember DD1 being similar as well, although DS would always stay with us).

Shoes Yep will get Milly fitted for her first pair when we get her winter ones. It's so hard to know how shoes fit when they are little and can't tell you, very different to when they are older and can say how they feel etc.

We have been looking after 2 of our friends kids whilst they had a night away for their anniversary (1st night away kid-free in 15 years, can you imagine that ohmy.gif ). They will be back at lunch time today, it's gone smooth as they are older (12 yr old boy and 10 yr old girl). Not much else happening here! Happy to be getting a week off work as I only work Tues and Fri so getting Australia Day as a PH is a big perk biggrin.gif

ellangel
Well the dr just left. Was here within the hour. Pretty impressive.

I am sure glad I didnt leave it another 24 hours for the gp tomorrow. Turns out she has a throat infection and also a middle ear infection. Dh off to get the AB's now so I can give her some before bed. Have to keep the panadol up every 4 hours.
cassi8
aww, poor Holli. I hope she feels better with the ABs.

I'm a bit bored, Dh not feeling well and N is sleeping so i don't quite know what to do with myself..
ellangel
paint your nails! read a book! rest, watch a dvd, put a face mask on, do nothing!! LOL
tweedy08
ellangel - So glad you got the doctor out! I am sure Holli will be feeling better in no time ones the anti bs kick in!

cass - I would sit back & enjoy the quiet! Maybe even some time on WoW uninterrupted....lol. have a HOT cuppa or something icey cold to drink original.gif

boundaries - oh god this is something I was going to actually ask about. Tilly is STILL ripping the dvds apart even though she gets told no & taken away from it every time. This has been going on for well over 4 months & I am over it now! She gets into everything she isnt allowed to. I dont remember it ever being this bad with the other 3 kidlets. She is jsut terrible & most days I am praying for bedtime to come quicker. Some days she is awake from 6am & wont go down until well after 9 at night. No day sleep! Yesterday was like that and honestly by the time dh walked in from work at 7pm I was like you deal with her...I have had enough!! I just dont know what to do to make her understand nor to get her to sleep just that once of a day again sad.gif

shoes - I think I only ever got the clarks shoes fitted up for Steph when she was a bub. Just cant afford to spend that much on a pair of shoes that will last a couple of months. Its only jsut recently that we have decided that its worth spending the money on colerados for the girls for school since they will last. When you have 4 to buy for expenses have to be cut somewhere. Would love to be able to get her some decent shoes though. Might have to keep an eye out for specials. I do have a fusion card & they have some great bargain every now & again.

Was going to write more but once again Matilda is into things she isnt allowed to be /sigh. I am over this really I am.
cassi8
might go sort the washing out then eat something. Cath WoW is a good idea.. biggrin.gif made 40 last night.
tweedy08
Woohoo...way to go Cass original.gif I am 69 now...hubby is 72 or something although this is like his 6th toon that will be 80.....hahaha

Tilly has just had lunch. Had a big arguement with my eldest DD about her work. Still have a load of washing to hang out then 50 loads to fold & put away then I have to go through all Tillys clothes & pack up that which doesnt fit anymore. I have been putting that off since her wardrobe will be very bare once I do but I better as it gets a bit hard some days when I go in there & have to go through everything jsut to find her a shirt & shorts or something!

So much to do & jsut not enough hours in the day nor a LO who will stay out of what she isnt allowed into!
**KM**
Cath Do you older kids do work regularly? My DD1 is hanging out washing right now, it's something she does pretty much daily or every 2nd day. Maybe you need some fights before the habit is formed (if they are not used to it?). My DS complained a lot to start with but now is much better that the habits are formed.

Sharon Glad the Dr came so quick and it's a firm diagnosis, hope she comes good soon!

ellangel
might go sort the washing out then eat something. Cath WoW is a good idea.. made 40 last night.
Good for you Cassi! (says me who just cleaned out the tupperware drawer as H asleep and Dh has taken E to the carwash!)

Yes, KM. Jobs they do each day is good, cause then they 'know' what needs doing without so much reminding or showing. (like DH's!) biggrin.gif I was ironing small easy clothing at the age of 12 and helped heaps around the house! Our friends who have DD's aged 9 and 11 do LOTS around the house to help. They cleaned the entire house for their parents the other day! LOL. Yes, we were talking about cleaning together...how bizarre! biggrin.gif

Poor Holli keeps waking up crying, so I am not going to far from her today. sad.gif We have been lucky though. She hasnt really been sick since last May, which I think is darn good!
tweedy08
KM - My eldest daughter has a part time job at the IGA here. She works a few days well arvos a week. Anyways she ahs this mentality happening that since she is working she shouldnt have to do anything else. She is getting her own money now so she thinks thats enough for her! There bedroom is atrocious & I could jsut cry when I look in there & see all the clean clothes I folded & put on the end of there bed chucked everywhere sad.gif When I told hubby about it he said that I should put them away so that I know its done! Yeah I could do that but come on....at 13 (well 14 on Tuesday) and 15 that they could at least put there clothes away. Ash is getting better with her habits & has been washing up every night (when she is here....lol) so thats a bit of a break through although I think that is jsut so she can stay at her friends place as she knows if she hasnt done anything then she cant go anywhere!

Must run.....Tilly is sitting quietly eating her sandwich for lunch so I might jsut be able to get the loungeroom looking decent!
ellangel
Cath - sounds tough. You have me NOT looking forward to the teenage years now! I would be refusing to do my daughters washing if clean clothes were being strewn all over the room. That is just inconsiderate and ungrateful.
How long has Tilly NOT been having a day sleep??
**KM**
Cath For your daughter who has the job, does she pay board? If she thinks she doesn't have to help and can keep her money then she must pay for everything she gets really eg. board and pay her own way. Although I would still give her a regular job like tidying away after dinner, dishes etc. I was paying board as soon as I got austudy at 16 yrs old, I also had to pay for lots of my own things. It's good you have some regular jobs being done by the younger ones, it's such a help. I don't fuss too much about the messy room but the rule here is that if they want friends sleeping over it has to be clean, so it gets a regular clean when they have friends over wink.gif The washing is annoying though, I can't help with that one as DD1 does it too, so many times I go through the washing and find folded things in the wash rant.gif Droves DH and I batty, but we just throw it back into her room again .... it's a slow learning process I guess!

Sharon That is good that Holli hasn't been sick since last May, we are similar here too with Milly, haven't had a bad run since she was sick with the flu at 11 months, other than that she's been healthy most the time! But then again DD1 and DS were similar, hardly ever been to the Dr or have gotten sick.

tweedy08
ellangel - Tilly has been refusing her day sleeps for a bout 2 weeks or so now. Its driving me nuts! She has a day sleep at CC though for her normal hour half - 2 hours but she just wont sleep here at home. She isnt even really sleeping through the night as of late & is up at around 3am for a bottle. Makes for a long day!

KM - No she doesnt pay board at all. She actually doesnt hand over any money. She will go buy a 2lt choc milk then not even let her sis or bro have any, same with any choc or lollies she buys. I told her that if she wants to be like that then she can put them away & not store them in the family fridge! She is slowly coming around! As for pay she gets anywhere from $60 up a week. I have told her she needs to start saving since come april I lose her full payment off FTB & it drops to $50 I think it is a fortnight so come then alot of specialtys she gets will no longer happen & she will have to do it herself! I honestly think these kids think money grows on trees sometimes!
ellangel
I started paying board when I got a full time job.

Cath - perservere with the day sleeps. At this age, they really do need one.

Holli is awake after 4 hours sleep.
tweedy08
vent inc!

I am so angry right now at my DD Ash! She stayed at a friends place last night & was suppose to get a lift home today. (she is 40 mins away) anyways she just msgd me to ask if grandma was going into Wagga today! I immediatly knew that she wasnt able to get home. So I called her & asked her what was going on & that I knew she wasnt bale to get home now. Anyways she asked her friend how she was getting home & her friend asked her mum to which I heard the reply of & I quote "thats your problem not mine!" WTH!!

I have to get dh once he comes home now after a 12 hour shift to drive 40 mins each way to go pick her up all cause the friends mum didnt wake them up in time for her to get her lift home this morning! They slept until 2pm & she called it a sleep in (DD did). I copped a lip full from DD who I am sure was trying to show off in front of her friend and I do know she would NEVER talk like that with her father around!

She is almost 14yo,. She is going through the phase of trying to tell me what she is doing instead of asking and her excuse for doing that now is that she always gets told no! Load of crap but anyhow.

She is apparently now getting a ride home with her friends mum who can all of a sudden drive her.

I am so angry right now! Angry at the fact the DD missed her ride this morning but prolly more so angry at the fact of what her friends mum said & that her friends mum couldnt even make sure they didnt make sure they were up & awake considering it was the mums sister there shouldnt have been an issue with her getting home this morning at all!!

GRRRRRRRR bbs Tilly still hasnt had a sleep today & is so grizzly now but cant let her go down yet as she wont sleep tonight sad.gif
littlemumma
Afternoon

Where is Ali?

Sharon - oh, I am so glad you got the Dr out for Holli, the poor little precious. Please give her a cuddle for me and I hope she gets better very quickly.

Cath - oh boy, all I can say is 'I am not ready for teenagers'. Who was your DD suppose to get a lift home with originally? Maybe the mother had just 'had enough', maybe they weren't behaving well and that is why she was a bit cranky. Do you still put Tilly in the cot everyday to try for a sleep? What time are you trying to put her down? I would NOT be coping if Max was up from 6am - 9pm with no sleep.

KM - I am impressed that your DD hangs out the washing, good lessons I think.

beagle - I would imagine DH is getting a bit restless, hopefully he gets a good report and can do more things.

Went to the shops, got a few things for Max and some pressies....Max unfort had a catnap in the pram so 40 minutes is all he has had today....was going to try and put him down again but its too late and I would rather just put him down earlier tonight.

BG - humm I know I was going to comment on something you wrote and now I can't remember, will come back for that.

gotta go, think I might take the dog for a walk....and boys too.

tweedy08
littlem - she was suppose to get a ride with the friends aunt who lives jsut down the road from us. She picked her up yesterday & I was told that she would bring her home today. Since the girls apparently slept in Ash missed her ride home! Well thats what I am told anyway. She is on her way home now with the friends mum who said she was going to drop her off anyways....nice of them to tell Ash or even let me know before the big arguement on the phone and there was no need for the comment of your problem not mine. I understand that she may have been angry but there was no need for her comment. She has just dropped her off & didnt even come & say a word....jsut dropped her off & drove off.

As for Tilly I do put her down but she jsut screams blue murder in her cot. I might have to go back to the basics I learnt at sleep school I think since as she was sick I got a bit lax on her sleeping so perhaps that is it. She use to go down from around 11ish for an hour or 2 then back down at 6pm & no later than 6.30.....now though she ahs pushed that out to 9pm.....sometimes later. If she does go down earlier she is awake again by 9pm then I cant get her back to sleep until almost midnight.

Between Tilly not sleeping & teenagers I need a break sad.gif I cant handle this much longer....something has gotta give soon.
cassi8
Cath - Bring the DD's for cassie boot camp.. Tounge1.gif kidding. They seriously need to learn they they are kids and you are the parent and need to respect you for that, no respect and no help then no privileges including sleepovers, movies and concerts ect. It was her responsibility to be up and ready for the lift and not be sleeping at 2pm. You can tell my parents were strict with me hey.. I wasn't allowed out until after I had my license. I'd be inclined to be saying no more until she can show you she is more responsible and explain why it seems you say no all the time. Maybe her requests are unreasonable or bad timing ect. And I would be asking for $10 board from your other DD, only a token amount and put it in a savings account or something if you want but more the principle of the matter than anything. It will teach her to budget. DH, needs to lead by example, you can't run a household on your own so he needs to pull some weight as well. I understand he works 12hr shifts but he has more days off than 'normal' hours as well. Ok my rant over! Tounge1.gif tell me to be quiet if you like, I won't mind. original.gif You can come stay with us for a few days, as long as you don't mind the couch! Leave them to their own devices and see how they do without you. Tounge1.gif

I forgot to add, you are doing an awesome job! hhugs.gif
ellangel
Gooooo Cassi!! Wow! My parents were strict with me too. You are right in everything you say.
After they leave YOUR bootcamp, send them here for some more reinforcing!! LOL

Ali is probably off having a life on her weekend Littlem! LOL I cant quite remember what she said she had on now.

Cath - you had such a good day sleep routine going! Why dont you buy an In The Night Garden DVD and put it on for 30 mins and then start the bedtime routine again??

Holli had a quick dip (NO going under) in the pool to cool her down. Ella had an hour and is now just starting to swim on her own! Up to 5 metres!! DH and I are so proud. Worst mistake I made, stopping those swimming lessons when H was born.
**KM**
Cath Wow $60 and up a week, I'd be making her pay for nearly everything with that money eg. personals, clothes etc ... that's a lot of money for 15 (is that how old she is?). A bit of advice, when your FTB drops and she continues to work I would be making her contribute, it's unfair you miss out when she is sponging and spending her money in a frivolous way. Even a little contribution (say $15 a week?) is enough for her to start to understand she needs to start to contribute. Oh and if my DD had a job, kept the money and still expected us to buy her everything then she would still be expected to be doing her fair share of the housework even if she does do a few shifts a week huh.gif

Sharon Yes my board started when I got austudy, it was back when austudy was generous to low income families (which my family were) so I was paying $50 a fortnight as I was getting around $160 f/n. I also paid for family treats and shouted my mum A LOT to lunch, friday night snacks etc, it really gave me a good start to being generous and giving with money.

littlemumma Yes I am pretty lucky with DD1, she's very good with helping and has done some amazing things like having the whole kitchen clean when we've gone out to get take away without being asking and just to surprise us ... not sure if it's just her though as her DS isn't as easily as keen to help, but he is expected to anyway wink.gif Even Milly has started 'helping' as when I put washing in the washing machine she picks up things and puts them into the machine too, it's so cute! She also tidies up her toys already, lies down for nappy changes when I ask and gets a bowl out of the cupboard when I say it's time for breakfast. So nice to see that 'helping' trait already starting dev (6).gif

**KM**
laughing2.gif Just saw Cassi and Sharon's post, seems like their a few boot camp alternatives for you Cath. I wonder whether it's more challenging with your DH away a lot, is he home more now with the new job? I think I am only able to keep my two in line as DH backs me in everything I do, so they know it is expected of them by both DH and myself.

tweedy08
KM - yeah DH is home every night now since he is acting as supervisor atm. He does also back me in whatever happens with the kidlets and the mere mention of telling dad gets the kids shaking almost....lol. I think dad is the authority where as I am just mum who rants & raves alot! Eldest DD isnt too bad overall with her money....she spent $100 on new clothes at the target sales & has been buyig her own razors & deoderant as well as purchasing her drinks at work etc. On the other hand though yes she may work a couple of time a week but that does not mean she can shun her duties here. I think a big talk is in order with the whole family! I will caht with hubby about possibly getting DD to be handing over some money each week. I remember when I got Austudy back when I was her age I was only getting about $150 a fortnight & had to give mum $60 per week of that ohmy.gif I didnt mind though since we were doing it pretty tough back then & I knew mum needed the money more than I at that time. I suppose even depositing it into another account to be called upon should we need it once we lose her off full payment off FTB...could be handy.

bootcamp - oh if only we could do that....lol

Well I am struggling for ideas for Tilly for dinner tonight. We are having Tuna Mornay with salad......Tilly cant have it since its got dairy in it as well as fish & the pead said no fish until after her 18mth appointment...same goes for nuts as well. Some nights its easy but others I struggle to find her something as I like to give her variety.

ellangel
see!! There is ALI!!! Coming in to brag about her great weekend socialising!! wwhistle.gif glare.gif
cassi8
and she is gone again laughing2.gif

BBS, dinner cooking..
alimumof3
AHHHHH I FEEL LOVED!!!! wub.gif
thanks LM for asking about me. original.gif

Believe it or not I've been logged in most of the weekend and reading throughout that time but just haven't got around to posting yet! sorry, very unlike me I know!

Today we went to Ikea to get some storage (expedit thingo) for the 'play room' just to make it tidier. We originally original.gif thought we'd just get storage for the stuff that needs a home from the study (ie my scrapping stuff, photo albums etc) but I did say I wanted a bit more order to the play room, and the shelving things were on sale. happy.gif So we got x2 of the 8 hole shelving things, and the baskets to go in them. We will finish assembling tonight. Then this arvo I went to visit a friend.

YEsterday we had my dad here in the morning for a play with the kids and I cut his hair (got ten bucks for it too!!) then we did the food shopping, DH then went to bunnings, I ate some chocolate, then the kids were up again and we did some stuff in the garage - ie putting up more shelving for yes you guessed it, more storage. Have decided I'll prob move my scrapping stuff to the garage in a tub, that way its all in the same place and the kids can't get to it! And last night we watched "The Time Travellers Wife" (was meant to watch last weekend) oh my lordy did i cry1.gif or what! At one stage my chest was heaving and I was sobbing. DH was rolleyes.gif at me. Lovely movie though.

Now, to the personals, well what I can remember. Its been busy in here today for a sunday!

sharon glad you got H's mystery illness sorted. Poor thing. Ear inf are the worst.

cath I third boot camp for those girls of yours!! I too was doing housework at that age, well before that really. I used to love nothing better than to do some housework when mum least expected it to surprise her. SOme times if her bed wasn't made i'd make it and put a surprise on her pillow, like some lollies or something.
that was around 9, 10, 11yrs. I probably got messy as teenagers do but I always helped out. We had to.
Oh and when I got austudy (my parents were low income too) it didn't all go to me. It went to mum to pay for my school stuff etc then she would give me what was left. I certainly learnt that it wasn't just free money for junk unlike some of my friends who got the whole lot, yet their parents continued to struggle.
Then when I got a job I paid board. I also agree with KM that your eldest DD should be giving you some money. Even $10 of that $60 plus she is earning.
Good idea about talking with DH tonight about it.
HOw come Tilly can't have fish? Due to the allergy?
OH and yes try what you learnt from sleep school for Tilly, 17mths is too young to not be sleeping during the day. I'd go bonkers.

cassi glad DH is recovering well. original.gif

shoes I haven't had O fitted yet either. Will do that for winter shoes. He doesnt wear any around the house or if we just play outside (unless hot ground) but I do have some from Target her wears if walking out.

Oliver cut his 8th tooth the other day. NO problems with this one, although its down the bottom next to middle teeth, so not a molar or anything.
He is sleeping heaps at the moment, think he might be having a growth spurt.
SLeeping in til about 8am, then an hour in the morning, and 2hrs (maybe 2.5 like today) in the arvo, and then bed at 7pm. I am NOT complaining!!
alimumof3
ok, so now I'm back I'm a thread killer!!
cassi8
laughing2.gif ali - sorry I was playing games wink.gif I needed some time out after chasing up after everyone today. Sounds like you have had a wonderful weekend!

I tell you what, I am so glad I got so much cleaning done last weekend, the pressure is off this weekend when I most need time to myself..

Night everyone! original.gif
~Elliesmum~
all caught up you chatty lot

cath- I'd definitely be insisting on household duties and board, its hard but soon they'll be out in the real world and its those that don't help at home that are the hardest to live with as they move in with new flatmates and expect the same. So even if you look at it from that angle, they need to learn to pull their weight. And if you lose FTB for her because she reaches age or whatever, then you need to up the board to cover it original.gif Even if you bank that board money in a seperate account then give it to her when she leaves home (although would be better for you to use it lol)

I was a spoilt brat but I still made dinner, dishes, cleaned a bit, did my own washing/ironing etc. I soooo don't want teenagers, can we skip that stage? I was a shocker lol

sharon- glad to hear holli got some medicine, I hope she's on the mend very quickly

ok I'm off to play wii fit before it gets any later LOL
alimumof3
toy room is much tidier now. although no where near as tidy as key's but an improvement at least.
The kids will flip out when they see all the boxes filled with different things! At the moment each box has a 'theme'. will see how long that lasts! lol. Still need to go through the few toy boxes in the garage and bring them into the play room. now that there is so much room. I know i should do the rotate thing that we do (well actually we should do it but find that we forget) but it will free up room in the garage for other stuff. And there really is plenty of room in the shelving thing. Infact there are still 4 spaces that we need to buy boxes for (if we need to - atm there are stuffed toys in that spot) and there are two empty boxes in the unit now. so lots of room.

I just love ticking things off the 'to do' list. such a nice feeling of accomplishment.
its just a shame that once you do the big things off the list, there is still all the other crapola like ironing, dishes, etc.
I will feel a bit better once the study is free of junk and will be ready for the baby. Even though I've got plenty of time it will still make me feel a bit better. That will be a job that will take a while though, no real rush but we'll just chip away at it.

question: where do people keep things like wrapping paper, gift bags etc? that currently lives in the study, and i have so many gift bags that I then use for other people that it needs a home. I guess the garage in a box?
Also; those with older kids, where do you keep the craft things? I was going to put the pencils, crayons etc in the ikea thing in the play room but wonder if it really should be something that Oliver can get to any time.. I think i prefer it to be somewhere that it can only be reached by me, therefore supervised. I've already busted him drawing on the walls with non washable pencils. DD doesn't usually colour with him around, its normally something we do when he's asleep. So maybe I just answered my own ques. lol.

See what happens when I'm away for a day or so at posting? i dribble dogs poo. Feel free to skim over this. Although if you've just read that sentence then no doubt you read the whole thing!! Should have put a disclaimer at the top! roll2.gif
~Elliesmum~
ewww Ali, images of dribbly dogs poo are going through my head now and I've forgotten what else you wrote Tounge1.gif
seepi
Families are funny how they are all so different aren't they. I am not looking forward to teenage years at all.

Anyway - my parents were not strict at all in many ways, but I had to do my fair share around the house. Sad to say I never did anything un-asked, but i had to cook dinner once a week, unload the dishwasher and hang out washing. As well as helping to put dinner out etc and other random jobs as required. My room was always very messy, but i never would have put clean clothes in the wash! Actually one of DP's bad habits is to 'clean up' the house by chucking everything he can find in the wash. sure it looks cleaner, but sometimes it is just a cardi Dd wore for 2 minutes, and a few towels that have had one use but got left in the wrong spot etc. It just creates work in the long run.

shoes - Dd has a riduculous amount of them, as I buy them on special at PP and DJs. It is a false economy, as she ends up with too many in the next size up. I hate to pay full price though. Jasper I was trying to get away with no shoes thru summer, but we had a cold snap and had to buy him some leather slip-ons. then DP got him some sandals too. He does need them actually - our back paving gets scorching on hot days. And today we went to the botanical gardens and there was kangaroo and duck poo all over the place. People do say they need to be properly fitted with Clarks etc - but those shoes are around 80.00 a pair - or more. So we have't really gone with those (except when I got some on special).

Oops - computer is going wierd = best post this. Sharon I hope Holli gets better quickly for you. She has about as much hair as my 3.5 year old too!
alimumof3
roll2.gif sorry ellies! I just didn't want to write the S h i t word cos of the new swearing thing i was reading.

seepi how are you feeling? Are you showing much?
**KM**
Ali Wow so much info in one page of posts ohmy.gif I found it hard to get past doggy dribbles or whatever it was too laughing2.gif Oh and we keeo our craft/bags etc just everywhere, no organisation here with that kind of thing, except all my wrapping paper and cards are in a box in the same place (on top of the fridge!).

Seepi So annoying about that thread in WDYT, strange people expecting you to buy a 7 seater car when you have no. 3 wacko.gif We knew we *might* have a 4th when we planned Milly but there was no way we were going to buy a 7 seater car back then ... very weird.

beaglebaby
Hmmm yes, not a great image Ali!

Storage, we have what the plans call an "activity room". It is piled high with toys, baby things, craft things etc etc - some big Ikea wardrobes and the large cubes and a queen sized bed!! Still however my office is full of "stuff" and the kids are using the entrance hall as a play/craft area. We got a little storage thing for them to put pencils, textas etc in, but right now there are textas and torn up paper everywhere. I've also had to ban scissors and crayons recently as they were being for evil ohmy.gif

Was I ever a teenager? Don't seem to be able to remember that far back, must be catching alzheimers from MIL! We had plenty of jobs to do, and couldn't have part time jobs as we lived too far out of town and we had horses and competed most weekends.

In laws finally phoned today, not to check up on how DH was doing, to ask to take the kids to see Fantastic Mr Fox. I'd already looked it up so DH was ready - it's PG and certainly not aimed at 4 and 6yo's, so we suggested the Chipmunks instead. Kids enjoyed it, DD missed another afternoon sleep though so was very grumpy. MIL asked me 3 times if DD starts kindy this year and if so what days. I was courageous enough to tell her that she won't have DD every monday this year, it is her only free day so I'd like her to be able to see friends etc. She probably wont remember the conversation though. I'm certain they don't understand what is wrong with DH, she was pointing out a woman in Fremantle and telling me in hushed tones that she is just recovered from cancer and how the chemo knocked her around. All she asked DH was whether he was back at work yet, and when he mentioned seeing the oncologist she said she has a doctors appt this week too for a check up shrug.gif

Anyway, Lucas, DH and I wandered around the shops in Fremantle, picked up a few more bargains in the Myer and Target sales and just enjoyed an hour or so without the kids. We grabbed pizza on the way home for dinner, and the kids all went to bed exhausted. I've just been sewing, haven't done any since before christmas but need to make a few things, and chatted on the phone to my friend, who is looking after the older kids while I take DH to his appt tomorrow.

Enough rambling, time for a shower and bed!
cassi8
Ali - sick.gif I needed that image at brekky! laughing2.gif sounds like you have had a productive weekend. Can you put the craft stuff in a box on the top of the shelves out of Olivers reach, soo still with the toys but not where little fingers can get it? I keep N's crayons in a tube out of reach and pull them out every few days

beagle - huh.gif thats weird, not asking about how DH was going. Do you think she has forgotten or doesn't want to recognise it, like a coping mechanism? We went to ILs on Sat with the hot weather and ILs were meant to be coming home from holidays. They didn't get home until late and asked if we were going back over at anytime this weekend rolleyes.gif uh no, we though you would be home by 4pm when we left...

ok off to check out some cattys and find out how much these shoes are going to cost me...

tweedy08
Morning girls!

Well last night proved a tough one with Tilly. Gave her a big feed for dinner (in case it was hunger causing her not to sleep properly) and also gave her some colic relief for her tummy as she had got into the puff pastry on Saturday. Anyways......she walked into the bedroom at around 7 & wanted to go to bed. So made her a bottle, gave her bear she went straiight in her cot....not a peep.....well that was until 8.30 when she woke crying. I told everyone they were not to get her as she ahs to learn that it is sleep time again! So back to sleep school basics! Went in at 2 mins after she wouldnt settle....laid her back down, gave her bottle & bear & walked out.....of course as soon as I left the room she was screaming so up to 4 mins before I visited again! Went in at 4 mins.....she was upset so I gave her a bit of a cuddle to settle her down, again gave her bear & bottle & walked out.....screaming started up within seconds again so up to 6 mins! Back in at 6 mins but this time I picked her up & sat with her giving her cuddles for about 2-3 mins & all the while talking to her quietly about how she needed to go to sleep.......put her back in her cot to which she didnt want to be there & started crying again......I walked out & set the timer for 8 mins! By the 2nd minute all was quiet & she was sound asleep!

She slept soundly until around 3am where she woke but wasnt crying or anything. I got up made her a bottle to which she took, had a sip then cuddled bear rolled ovr & went back to sleep until 8am!!

She has gone so far backwards in her sleep but hopeing to change that now! Will be doing the same thing for her lunchtime sleep as well. So will since she got up at 8 will prolly start trying to get her down around 11.30ish I think. I dont want to leave it too late as then it will cut into her night sleep too.

BBS must go check what she is into.....she is quiet and a baby that is too quiet usually means they are into something they shouldnt be....lol
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.