The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: September 08 Parents #146

Pages: 1, 2, 3
trinyweeny
Ahh bugger just lost my post. Need to go and Jacqui up she has been asleep for nearly 4 hours.

Cassi - I hope you have been resting because you need to be well for the end of the week.

Littlemumma - What disgusting behaviour. Why do people think it is ok to treat other people and their property that way. I would never want to see them again either.

Ali - I loved the guessing with Jacqui. I am hoping to convince DH not to find out with the yet to be conceived #2 (YTBC#2). Don't like my chances although maybe YTBC#2 won't cooperate on the scan day. Yes i am sad to be considering all this already.

Key - I love used clothes. Jacqui has received several bags of them. I have bought a few off Ebay as well. MIL is good at getting them from the OP shop. It means Jacqui can get some nicer outfits which ordinarily we couldn't really afford nor can I justify. As if looking back on the photos the child is honestly going to say OMG that was so last season.

Blondie - I hate having to go and vote in the local council elections. In fact DH and I didn't vote in the last ones as they were just after Jacqui was born and we hadn't changed addresses etc. Of course you can't do an absentee vote either so that meant we had to travel to Sydney not happening. Didn't even realise there was a council election until only a couple of weeks before so couldn't lodge a postal vote. Half the time I think people don't even realise the council elections are on because they are so poorly advertised.

Bel Rowley
Having met Key I can assure you all she has a great figure!

Triny - I was adamant we wouldn't find out Claudia's sex but with YTBC#2 I wouldn't mind. I'm undecided. I think what you said about council elections is spot on. I have left a message for one of my local councillors to call me back, if I don't hear from her will try someone else tomorrow.

Bellygood - sounds like things are getting better with your mum, good to hear.

Cassi - glad to hear you're turning into a Sharon wink.gif. No hope of it happening with me.

I went to post my Tupperware stuff and it cost $7.60 for the box and postage so I've only made $11.40 but better than nothing.
alimumof3
triny hello i was wondering where you were today. original.gif I hate losing the posts, always happens to me.
yes my mum is the same as your MIL, gets lots of lovely stuff from op shops, sometimes still with tags on them. I have a lovely PP dress here in a 12-18mth size that I will show my neighbour and see if she likes it. not bad for $2.50

bellyg forgot to say, morph scan took 1hour.
Bel Rowley
Ali if your neighbour doesn't want the dress could you show me a photo? I may be interested.
alimumof3
ok blondie i will. i think its too frilly for my neighbour.

girls read this:
http://www.rogerknapp.com/inspire/loveforever.htm

you'll be bawling like i am right now. beautiful tho
trinyweeny
cry1.gif

Thanks Ali.
alimumof3
pulls on the heartstrings doesnt it triny! i just went to BD and ordered the book. $6.
laraq75

I have a quiet day today with just DS and I but it has still been busy. I did lots of chores this morning and then we went to the shops and did some more running around.

Sharon - you would be proud of me this morning. I was up cleaning and cooking dinner and doing all the ironing before lunch time. It felt good getting it all out of the way.

Triny - i found out for DS but not for DD. I really wanted to find out for #2 but for YTBC#3 we won't be finding out.

Ali - I am sure your wobbly tummy isn't that bad. But maybe if you really hate it you could go for a tummy tuck. My friend had twins and then had a single baby 15 months later by c/s and she hates her belly. I think she inquired into having a tummy tuck.

Key - that is sad about your friend who doesn't want the clothes. I just don't like taking the clothes becuase I feel that more needy people might need them. It isn't because I want my kids in the newest clothes.

laraq75
Ali - that poem was lovely.
tweedy08
Cant be long since Tilly is back to being the tornado!!

clothes - I am always looking for a bargain with clothes! Tilly jsut never has enough & we dont know anyone that has kidlets that bit older than her for hand me downs. Most of her stuff is brand new hence why she doesnt have much! When there is also 2 teenage girls & a 10yo to buy for doesnt leave much left for the mum, dad & baby.....lol. I actually picked up a pair of jeans, a AIO suit, dress, skrut & top for like $9 inc postage last night!! Cant wait! She is in a size one atm but I have been getting 2's when I can.

GTG I can hear the dvds being ripped apart.....AGAIN!
alimumof3
hey cloth girls who gave me advice re strip wash well i bought the canisten but i can still smell wee-ey nappies so think i'll do the strip wash.
Now, i have a front loader but mum has a top loader. I can use hers but her machine specifically says "low suds detergent only" and she is only allowed to use front loader powder. do you think i can still use it? and what are the directions again?
and what is the actual reason why you can't use a front loader??
jotsmum
Ali - I do a strip wash in my front loader. I don't use dishwasher liquid though. I just put all my nappies through on a 50 wash and do and extra rinse with he canestan. It works for me, I do one every time dh comes home and says he can smell clean nappies laughing2.gif

Laundry question - I have a hills hoist :excited: and wondering if you let washing stay on it over night or bring it in and put it back out in the morning.

I'm looking forward to meeting Blondie tomorrow.
jotsmum
Ali - I do a strip wash in my front loader. I don't use dishwasher liquid though. I just put all my nappies through on a 50 wash and do and extra rinse with he canestan. It works for me, I do one every time dh comes home and says he can smell clean nappies laughing2.gif

Laundry question - I have a hills hoist :excited: and wondering if you let washing stay on it over night or bring it in and put it back out in the morning.

I'm looking forward to meeting Blondie tomorrow.
tweedy08
I leave my washing out jotsmum wink.gif Bugger bringing it in just to hang it out again......lol.
jotsmum
Ali - forgot to say I don't use any detergent in my strip wash
laraq75
Jotsmum - I leave my washing out overnight in good weather. During winter when we get very cold nights i bring it in and finish drying it inside over the heater. But in this warm weather i definitely leave it out.
littlemumma
How embarrassing but what is a strip wash????????
trinyweeny
Littlemumma - Not embarrassing its a MCN question. Its where you wash the nappies in a way to strip the build up of washing powder from the fibres

Ali - I think your mum's top loader using low sud washing powder it "might" not be suitable. The problem with using the front loader is that you are adding dish washing liquid which causes major suds and that causes major issues with the machine. I think could damage it. When I have stripped wash, I chuck the nappies in the laundry tub with some dish washing liquid and hot water. Let them soak for awhile and then mix them up before giving them a few rinses in the tub. I then transfer them to the front loader, run a spin, do a rinse before doing a full hot wash (60C) (no added powder)

Jotsmum - If the washing is still damp I tend to bring it in and run through the dryer. I have horrible luck with rain and my washing. I swear the rain just targets my dry washing.

seepi
HI guys

back from work and totally exhausted today. I have been reading tho.

Littlemumma - I am totally shocked by your mothers group. How bizarre. Even the lady that left early - if she realised what chaos it was, she should have leapt in and started helping you with cups of tea, and tidying up or whatever. what a disaster.

blondi - We dont' have local council elections in the ACT thank goodness. I thought aircraft noise might be a good issue? It is in the news a bit here.

One benefit of buying stuff on Ebay is that you end up with lots of post boxes and bubble wrap etc. I can never get around to selling stuff these days anyway though.re

key - i really love ebay parcels too. some of it is not that good, but as long as i haven't paid much I dont' care. And some things are lovely.

How wierd about the people who only want current PP gear - who would actually know? I actually like some of the quite old stuff from about 5 years ago anyway = I think it was better quality then. i do think their girls stuff is a lot cuter than their boys clothes.

It is funny what people like. A quite arty friend from inner city melb ended up in a mother's group with a lot of Greek girls who all had an 'adidas' obsession. she was amazed to find out how much they spent on this adidas stuff for their babies.

meljas - a 2nd mother's group would be awesome, but the health nurses won't be in it. My mother's group was great, but everyone went back to work after 6 months to a year, and that was that. I still see one of them - we are good friends, but I would have loved a new group for Jasper. You really need to know some other people with little babies, so you can visit and just hang around, in that exhausted state! ABA meetings can be good for that, if there is a group in your area.

ali - a friend of mine had a tummy tuck on medicare after twins.
Qualifying for it was about muscle separation, not loose skin tho.
and you must be sure no more kids are in your future.

I think they were probably right at my scan that this baby is a girl as I am getting I did with Adele. I haven't had many other preg signs with either DD or DS. And sadly my skin is fantastic while pregnant, and shocking the rest of the time - so I am loving it at the moment.

Jotsmum - congrats on the move - it is so exhausting moving house.
I only bring in black or navy type clothes off the line, as they fade so much. the rest can take it's chances until it actually dries - some of mine stays out for quite a few days... I put it away as I bring it in, so I'd rather leave it outside than have a couch covered in clean washing, for someone to mess up.

Me - well I am pretty tired from work. We are too busy in my team, which is a pity, as it is a great job in every other way. But I am sick of working thru lunch etc. (might help if I got in on time tho.)

anyway, I have been reading birthing books. Has anyone read Spiritual Midwifery by Ina May Gaskin - So Wierd, and So not what I was expecting. It is full of birth stories by 70s hippies, complete with pics of them in all their hairy glory. And she recommends couple basically getting it on in between contractions, to relax the mother! The language is so hippy 60s that i can't be sure what they mean half the time either.

anyway - it is fascinating, but not much use to me. I already have the message that relaxing is good, tensing up is bad.

I think I am searching for something that doesn't exist - a book with the 'answers' to giving birth. I think I might have to go back to denial for a while. I am a little nervous abut having this baby in the driveway tho, or at home by myself. Jasper 's birth was very very quick (under an hour), so if this one is quicker I will be in trouble.

Anyway - time for bed - take care all.

alimumof3
thanks jotsmum & triny. will have a go tomorrow.

seepi have you thought of any names for bubs?
that book sounds 'interesting'. love the bit about having sex between contractions. not.

jotsmum i leave clothes on the line over night if i have to. (there are some out there now). i only hung them out this arvo so wont be dry. i will bring in tom, prob mid of day.
In winter i try to bring them in and either put in dryer if sheets and towels, or on the clothes horses for clothes. which in winter we seem to have a lot inside. hmm now that we've converted the lounge room to play room, where on earth will i put the clothes horses this winter????

bed time here.
bellygood
Ali I too have the dreaded double belly. Worse still, my belly starts directly under my breasts, like a little fat Mayan fertility statue. Not pretty here in Oz, but I'd be a hit in Peru (or wherever Mayans live)!

Seepi oh yes I have that book, right beside my lava lamp and well-thumbed copy of Joy of Sex. I'm reading it right now in my kaftan and figuring out how DH can grow a nice bushy beard before baby comes. Not! No hairy 70s lady garden photos in this house! Spiritual Midwifery... ooh I feel some chanting coming on...
beaglebaby
Bellies, I'd love to tell you all that it gets better - but no, after 3 it has only gotten worse. If medicare would cover it I'd be in the queue for that tummy tuck, and a bit of liposuction while I'm knocked out!!

Clothes, I love a bargain, ebay (had a few bad experiences though), op shops (some are getting a bit pricey), weekend markets and hand me downs. DS1 and DD don't get hand me downs, but Lucas received a whole garbage bag full yesterday - sizes 3-6, he won't be short of playclothes, but I'll still have to buy maybe 1 or 2 decent outfits a season. I went into Gumboots for the first time today too, it's a recent addition over here, some gorgeous clothes and great sale prices. I bought DD the cutest simple wrap dress for $20, but be warned, sizing is small, I bought a size 7-8 thinking she has enough clothes and she could get away with wearing it already at 4!

Pumpkin Patch, who-ever it was who mentioned the older stuff was better quality, I agree! DD got a dress for christmas and it is really badly made and the sizing is bizarre. I've got to say though, that wherever you go you can find something cute for a girl, boys clothes tend to be rather boring.

Seepi, that book sounds "interesting"! I think I've mentioned it before, but I did the course and then used the CDs etc from HERE, luckily Shari is a friend of mine so I didn't pay the full price but the book and CD's aren't that expensive. I was just looking on the site and notice she now has a parents relaxation CD, I think I'd better get myself a copy (hope it comes with some spare time to listen to it!!) ETA: I just emailed her to order the parents one!

Ali, even though I have a standard top loader I do what Triny does, do the strip wash in Dw liquid by hand, then rinse, then put through a cycle. Luckily I haven't needed to do one for a while, while DD was still using bamboo training pants at night though hers would really get whiffy.

Littlemumma, I'm horrified by your MG, and so glad you've been able to cut them off like that. I hope it isn't awkward having one of them at school this year.

Mothers Groups, mine hung in there for a few years, but I stayed on the fringes a bit. I had a bit of a falling out with one of them when she was being an ugly kids sport parent last year and I have to say I don't really miss them! I have other friends that are from and informal group where we all met at antenatal aquarobics then decided to stay in touch once the babies were born, then all had seconds around the same time, and another 2 ladies I met at swimming lessons when our firsts were 6 months, they've all become great friends. And now Key and Sarina as Lucas's mothers group. Honestly, if you're out doing activities you are bound to meet one or two like minded people, and that is a much better way to form a lasting friendship than being thrown together by the MCHN.

Chocolate, I can now say that Key has led me astray. I don't really like coconut, but the Whitakers coconut chocolate is divine. DH has rescued me from overindulgence though, he obviously liked it as when I went back for seconds there were none!!! You'll have to wait a day or two for a review of the Hazelnut, and then put up with me whingeing about my weight!!!

OK, probably enough rambling from me. Had a busy day, took everyone shopping and finally bought DH his christmas present - new sunglasses (the ones he had were hideous), I couldn't buy them for him without him there to try some on. He bought $200 Oakleys, his first expensive sunnies since the kids were born but they were always something he indulged on before. Picked up the school supplies packs and got the last of DD's uniform. Also took the whole family to DS1s cricket training, DH had cabin fever and had to get out! Lucas was very cute running out and stealing bats, balls and moving their markers etc!

Not sure what's happening tomorrow, was meant to meet friends for lunch but they've cancelled. Still haven't heard from MIL either!!!
Bel Rowley
It's meet up with Jotsmum day, yay! Jots - where I grew up in the Mallee we would often hang washing out in the late afternoon/evening and it would sometimes be dry by morning, very dry up there though. Here I tend to bring my washing in at night because most of the year there's too much condensation overnight.

Seepi - ffear.gif to the sex between contractions, don't know about everyone else but that was the last thing I felt like! Wouldn't have relaxed me at all. If only there was a magic answer to giving birth, I think everyone is so different you have to find what works for you. Have you read Birth Skills? I found that really useful, particularly the coffee plunger analogy, that was what got me through labour.

Bellygood - I'm ROFLMAO at the thought of you and your DH in kaftans all bushy and trippy, perhaps a couple of doulas floating around the room waving joss sticks. The Mayans were in Central America, Peru had the Incas.

Beagle - funny you mentioned the PP sizing. My grandma gave Claudia a gorgeous PP outfit for Christmas in 6-12 months which should fit her perfectly, but it is huge, she's not even close to fitting it. No way the sizing is correct. Good on you getting DH some Oakleys, I used to love them but I don't indulge these days either.
~Elliesmum~
I love PP outfits, but rarely get them new lol. I'm too cheap even for the online sales- partly because Kayla doesn't need clothes really- we probably have too many from dd and others giving us stuff. I love hand me downs biggrin.gif When Ellie was born my stepmum and her sisters owned a kids clothing shop so we got all the "good" brands as pressies all the time lol. Most of which are great still. We didn't get PP shop here until a few years ago but I picked up the odd thing second hand and on holidays.

mothers groups- well i had one with ben but we didn't really click that well, I think a couple of the other ladies are still friends but it just wasn't my scene. I think my ECHN asked if I wanted to go down that route again (because so long between bubs and its really for new mums) but not all would offer. I agree that I have found better friends elsewhere, though not necessarily with bubs same age until Kayla.

LOL at the spiritual midwifery book, good luck with that one wink.gif Have you read about orgasmic birthing? does it have that in there too? wink.gif I found that quite intriguing!

Bellygood, I think we have the same belly lol

Littlemumma- your mums group sounds absolutely shocking, and definitely not friends you'd want to keep doing that to you with a 3 week old.

ali I have a low suds/low water machine also. A F&P Aquasmart toploader. I do stripwashes in mine... it hardly uses any water even on max setting which can actually be annoying lol. I take economy off and add fabric softener option (adds more water- but I don't add fabric softener of course). I do a rinse cycle, then I run it through a couple of full cycles until I can be sure all the dish liquid is gone.

gotta go kayla is fighting the keyboard trying to slam it shut lol
Sccary
Morning all.

ADVISE PLEASE? VELVET"S ARM
Yesterday woke up with 3 huge marks on her arm and fore arm was so swollen.
Now 24hrs later marks are still there and very red - see photos below.
The night this happened she woke 3-4 times (didn't turn light on so didn't know, just resettled her and waking this many times is unusual.
What is it? An ellergic reaction to Mozzies? A spider bite.
Should I take her to the doctor? she seems happy enough though!

YESTERDAY CRAP DAY
I had a drink bottle leak in her hand bag and now my Iphone is dead! rant.gif Hate to think the $ and time to get it fixed (if it can be fixed) totally won't even turn on.
Then came home kids fighting getting out of car in 40deg heat. THrew all my bags on kitchen bencha nd my hand bag must have turned on the hot plate knob. When I came back from the car with second trip there was smoke everywhere. Handbad handle/strap was on the hotplate burning oomg.gif fire out but totally urnt crispy handle - wrecked!!! It was a $600 DKNY bag DH had bought me 2 years ago cry1.gif

MUM UPDATE
Well still waiting for lawyers report but mum has made up her mind 100% she is not going back!
Problem now is where to find somewhere for her to live - cheaply for 2 years for divorce and settlement to go through.
How to raise the $ to fund the divorce 150-200K (est)
So KEY/BEAGLE know anyone wanting $ work or has a room/granny flat or such to rent - let me know wink.gif

ALI: MAybe babyboy.gif bits how eexcite.gif I always wanted a boy!

BLONDIE: Good luck with your uni work, I am sure you will do wonderfully, stop stressing
Good luck witht he swim too on the weekend, wow very impressive to compete.

BEAGLE: Tummy tucks are covered by medicare as long as not longer than I think 2 years post baby. Go tot eh WA forum ther is a thread about 8 weeks ago about surgeons for boobs/lipo/tummy. You can get a referal from your GP
I would consider it but it is a huge scare one side of tummy to other side - yuck!
My DH got sunnies too for Xmas. He unfortunately chose $590 designer pair glare.gif laugh.gif oh well his money really since i'm not working.

PPATCH Outfis: I HATE THEM! They never fit well. Cost way too much $ and Ithink the quality lately is a joke!. They were so much better 4-5 years ago.
I am all for hand me downs. My BF daughter (my god daughter) is one year older and I get all her clothes for DD1 then give them back and her DD2 gets them (so 3 wears) THey are mostly designer stuff too as she has rich IL's so tthumbs.gif for me.
Velvet is mosty innew things as DD1 clothes are still the wrong size and season Ggggrrr.

SIZES:
Velvet I weighed 10.9kg and 84cm tall. Makes Angus seem small LARA blush.gif

Nothing else new. BBL after
Off to ENDODONTIST again today to have tooth redressed , but it is sort of sore in gum line s thinking infection hasn't gone. rant.gif which will mean surgery now cry1.gif and huge $
cassi8
Morning

Sarina - First things first, looks like Velvet has had a reaction to a mozzie bite. N gets them but not rash like that, just a large red spot. You could see if the Chemist has any solutions before you head to the Dr. ohmy.gif on the Iphone. Leave it for a few days and see if letting it dry out works, you will be surprised with what appliances can survive! As for the handbag, it just wasn't your day, even though it cost a lot of money it can be replaced. original.gif Your poor mum, I hope she is able to find her feet quick enough and that your dad realises that she isn't going back.

What is it with DHs and sunnies for xmas.. I got Dh a pair as well but he got the $30 ones for the servo laughing2.gif he loses and breaks them way to much to be buying expensive ones!

PP - Don't mind some of it but as some of you have pointed out, the boys stuff isn't really that nice. I might buy the odd bit here and there and have a sticky beak if walking by but I don't go out of my way.

Seepi - that book sounds interesting... huh.gif

Ali - double belly here too, looks like my undies are too tight sometimes.. no my undies don't come up that far! laughing2.gif I hate it but DH keeps telling me its a badge of honour. original.gif

I'm at work today. Feeling better, I don't have such a foggy head. I am hoping DH doesn't get it or it will postpone his surgery. That IUD I had replaced... its on its way out as well rolleyes.gif looks like I am one of the few that has a uterus like to expel them. Not going to bother getting another but not sure on what else to do, there aren't many non-hormonal options..

anywho, back to work! original.gif
Bel Rowley
Sarina you poor dear hhugs.gif. What an absolute shocker of a day, you've had too many of them lately! Velvet's bites look like they would be itchy but if she's not bothered I wouldn't take her to the doc yet. Maybe calamine or something? As Cassi said chemist would probably have ideas. What a bugger about the iPhone and your lovely handbag, I'd be devastated. Pretty much how I'm feeling about the two pairs of earrings I lost sad.gif.

Elliesmum - I think you're right about mothers groups, they're good for some and not necessary for others, it's great you've been able to make friends elsewhere. Mine has been a godsend for me and I have some really close friends out of it. I know my mum made her close 'mummy' friends through ABA (Nursing Mothers as it was then), I went to quite a few ABA meetings and met some nice people but didn't really click with anyone.

Cassi - glad to hear you're feeling better, no good about the IUD. I've always been scared of those things. DH and I have just been using condoms b/w Claudia's birth and TTC, my OB gave me script for the mini-pill but I never bothered getting it, didn't seem worth it for the short time I was fertile before TTC again.

Just got some good news, Deputy Mayor of my local council has agreed to an interview. I knew she had a young daughter and wrote her an email mentioning I had a 16 month old and that I'd met her briefly when I worked on an ABA stall at our local festival last year, little things like that I reckon can win people over, she wrote back that she'd be happy to speak to me and to bring my daughter for a playdate! So I'm stoked, I think this story idea was a good one.
ellangel
HI!! Having a home day today and have to name DD's school things and dye my grey roots! LOL

Cassi - glad you are feeling a little better. Talk to Ob about other methods although, arent you TTC soon or you are not sure? Might be ok using condoms short term so you dont have to get your body adjusting to something else, if its short term.

Littlem - Dont worry, I didnt know what the rinsing and cycles with MCN's meant either.

Blondie and Jots - have a great time today!

Sarina - your crap day beats mine by a mile! I managed to lose visa card, watch, and garage remote all in one day!! LOL. Found remote and card is frozen.
Looks like mozzie bites to me. I dab tea tree oil or lavender oil on bites here. Works fantastic and so good for other things in the house.
cassi8
Sharon - Not sure on TTC yet, I don't feel ready for another just yet so I will have to wait and see where it takes us. I wasn't going to worry about going back to the Ob, just let it come out and use other methods in the interim. Enjoy your home day and labelling everything!

tthumbs.gif ont he interview Blondie. I hope you have a great time meeting with you new neighbour today wink.gif

ok time for lunch biggrin.gif
laraq75
Sarina - I agree with Cassi about an allergic reaction to mozzie bites. Both my kids get the same thing. Angus is very small. He doesn't even make the charts.

Seepi - I thought you were happy with your birth last time. I didn't seem like you had anytime to even have a nice calm birth anyway. I hope you get it this time.

Cassi - you will find the right time for you when you want to TTC. At least you know that you are not ready for another. Not like me, who is undecided about number 3.

Littlemum - i had no idea about the mcn talk either.

We have been at Questacon all morning. Had lots of fun with some good friends of ours.

bellygood
Blurgh bad night for me! Ivy woke mysteriously at 3.30am, I tried until about 4am to settle her, ended up moving with her into the double bed (DH out of town), she was awake for a good while then we both finally conked out around 5am for another patchy 3.5 hours sleep. I never sleep well in the bed with her, though last night was not as bad as I thought. Wonder what's going on? For the last three days she's woken 5.30am, 5.30am, 3.30am. The 5.30am mornings she was relatively easy to resettle. Whatever it is, I hope it's gone soon *yawn*. WHat happened to my lovely 8am wake=ups?
beaglebaby
OK, new rule, no babies are to wake up before 7am!! Now, just to make them obey!!! I thought I was feeling blerk from my 5.50am wake up call - glad I didn't get a 3.30am one Bellygood.

Lara, I love questacon, another place to visit when we come over (which we still haven't planned). I was pretty much undecided about no.3, so we decided to let nature decide. I keep saying it's lucky I didn't start having babies early or I might have ended up with a busload!!

Cassi, glad you're feeling better, obviously IUDs just don't agree with you, pretty amazing for your body to be able to reject it like that.

Ellangel, I've got the labelling to do too, I quite enjoy it - so long as the children don't try to help! I ordered new labels from Brightstarkids late on the 12th and they were here 2 days later and really good. We have them as a fundraiser for school so the school gets 25% of the money I spent too.

Blondiebear, great news on the interview and play with the deputy mayor, some of the people in local government are lovely. Our local election is postal ballot and works really well. I can't believe those earrings haven't turned up, perhaps you should pop into the spiritual section of the forum and ask someone to "see" where they are. wink.gif Have fun with Jotsmum.

Sarina, poor little Velvet, I can't believe those bites aren't really itchy or even sore. Has she had mozzie bites before? hugs, your day sounds dreadful, let me know if you want to catch up - in fact, are you free Friday? Daniel has a playdate so Kate and Lucas could do Jungle Gym. Is there any way your handbag can be salvaged?

Elliesmum, watch little ones and laptops, DD smashed the screen on ours when it was brand new by putting a block on the keyboard and then slamming the lid. Was NOT popular!

So far all I seem to have done today is washing and shouting at kids. They seem to have reached the destructive part of the holidays. Might need to take them out somewhere for a while to burn off some energy - first slightly cooler day in a while.

Best go, it sounds like someone has helped Lucas out of bed - and DH isn't meant to be lifting.

ellangel
Both my girls have been waking at 6.30am for the past few weeks which has been lovely!!
BellyG - wonder what was up with Ivy? Did you give her a drink?? I cannot sleep properly with a baby/child in my bed either.

Is there an alarm clock under Holli's bed?? LOL. She just woke
laraq75
Sharon - love the new sig.

Sarina - i forgot to say before when DD and DS get bites like that we give them Zyrtec for kids and it helps them go down.

Beagle - I think I would be the same as you as well. I think I would end up with a busload too. If only I was younger. I love brightstarkids. I got lots of labels for Audrey from there and they were really good with their customer service. When you come over we can meet at Questacon. My kids love that place.

BG - I hope Ivy's sleep improves for you soon.
tweedy08
Anyone a trading room guru & knows about gymboree clothes? Just want some advice! Ducking out atm but send me a pm & ill get back to you original.gif
beaglebaby
I think Sarina is our resident Gymboree guru Cath. Hopefully she'll be back after her dental work, poor thing.

Lara, great idea, just have to plan the trip now!

Ellangel, I'm another who can't sleep with kids in my bed. I had nightmares when DS1 was a baby that I couldn't find him in the bed - but he'd never slept in my bed?!?

Decided to take the kids to McD's for lunch when Lucas wakes and use up some vouchers for free burgers the kids got at swimming lessons - so of course Lucas hasn't woken up.

DH just opened the mail and found a $300 speeding ticket, then realised it was for my car, then started to ask what I was doing in...... then noticed the photo of the car - not my car, a sedan, rego was 1DEY... mine is 1CEY... he's spent 30min on hold trying to get through to tell them wacko.gif
ellangel
what a mistake to make Beagle!! Hope you get it sorted and let 'off the hook' Just kidding! That happened to DH when he went to renew his licence. Would not let him renew it as he failed to show for court on their records! It was in Cairns and he had never even been there! He was fuming...was just another guy with the same common name.

Sarina - oh your mouth problems sound very painful!!! I have a tooth down the bottom at front that is almost laying down. Have to have surgery to get it removed but keep putting it off.

Better go...bub needs me
alimumof3
i am here but O is stirring.

just back from OB appoint, all looks good from the scan.
weight going up, grrrrr.

bb tonight hopefully.
Bel Rowley
Jotsmum and Jasmine just left, we had a lovely play. They are both lovely as expected, and came baring yummy pastries which will always win me over wink.gif. The girls had some fun on the slide outside and driving the Cozy Coupe around inside.

Lara - Questacon sounds like great fun.

Bellygood - bugger about the bad night, hopefully teething and will be back to normal soon.

Ellangel - what a cutiepie that Holli is, great sig!

Beagle - LOL about the spiritual section, perhaps not a bad idea Tounge1.gif. Yowzers about the speeding fine, hope DH gets it sorted.

Ali - good news about the scan.

Cath - not a TR or Gymboree guru before but have bought one batch of Gymboree clothes and their stuff is gorgeous. I was going to place another one with my Gymbucks this week but after thinking about it I don't know if I really need another $50 worth of clothes for winter as Claudia does have a couple of pairs of jeans, a couple of tracksuits, a couple of pinafores and a few tops for winter already.
melaniejasmin
HI everyone,

having a lazt day today, that includes having to type cool.gif

I plan on having lots of s*x while in labor.... not. what a GREAT idea. I bet the woman loves it.... rolleyes.gif
I thought Birth Skills was a great book as well.

BellyG - ALexander had a few nights like that a while ago. he went back to normal, but no new teeth shrug.gif

Beagle - I hope you get the fine fixed with an apology! not likely though glare.gif

Blondie - good work with the interview line up!

I'm going back to watch the tennis on the couch original.gif and ignore the large pile of half eaten crackers that A. has left on the floor....
ellangel
hahahah about the sex in labour meljas! JUST what is on our mind...NOT.

Ali - STOP weighing yourself! Does OB weigh at each visit?? Mine never did. That is not a nice reminder.

thanks for the lovely comments on my new sig! I get lots of comments on what a cute little face she has! And how little she looks and how fast she runs for almost 17months.
trinyweeny
Ellangel - Love the new sig. Very cute indeed. wub.gif

Ali - Good news on the scan. I agree with Ellangel get off those scales.

Talking about weight I had Miss Jacqui weighed today she is 8.7kg & 79cm tall. Although she has lost 400grams since Christmas, but I'm not concerned.

Otherwise a quiet one for us today.
alimumof3
sharon/triny unfortunately i am weighed each visit. sigh. i've put on 3.5kg. I spose that isn't *too* bad for 19wks is it? Pity I was a fatty boombah to begin with.

triny Have just put my (well half of them as thats all that would fit) nappies in the laundry tub with detergent for a soak. Now in your instructions you said "leave a while" how long is awhile? hour? two? overnight? its almost 6pm now so baring in mind a full wash takes 2 hrs. i like to go to bed at 1030. will I have enough time to do everything for htis lot? or would it be best to soak overnight do you think guru Triny?

blondie i just typed your u/n as claudia! lol. glad you and Jotsmum had a good time.

bellygood I asked OB about my fat rollerdoor stomach. She said its just something that happens and not due to c/s. I said will it ever go? and she said exercise/weight loss will help but I'll always have a little hangover. LOVELY!! she then said I could have a tummy tuck,but said she'd avoid that. sharon and littlemumma do you have a tummy at all? I mean I know you're both skinny but any tummies?
trinyweeny
Ali - A while = when I get back to it. laughing2.gif Usually about an hour. I would think you should have time before you go to bed. I usually put a nappy load on just before bed so they are ready to hang out in the morning. You should get that far at least.
bellygood
Ali I'm not too worried about the mummy apron... will see how I go after baby is born. I never had a really flat stomach so don't know what I'm missing...
ellangel
A 'pouch' you mean Ali?? roll2.gif Of course I have a bit of a belly! Gosh, dont use me as an example!! LOL

Above the cut...but then I have only had 1 cut and my undies cover it so you cant really see it. But yes, it is there, but I plan to get rid of with situps
alimumof3
triny ok will leave them til 7 then i'll do the other stuff to them. I dont llike leaving nappies in o/night incase they smell. but i guess if i do then i can rinse again in morning.
I had thought for the times i had forgotten and left them o/n that that was cuasing the smell but it wasnt.

bellyg my tummy is never flat, infact i hold my fat on my lower tummy, but it woudl be nice to not be such a flabby thing.

sharon so even YOU have one! when you say pouch, is it kind of like sticky outy? take a photo and email me! lol
Sccary
I'm back
CATH: Just pm'ed yo re: gymboree ?'s

TUMMIES: I struggle with mine. No fold over as natural birth, but a small pouch or rounding of the tummy. Pilates has helped it but not flattened it totally. I used to have washboard tum but not after baby no.2
ALI: It is the flabby skin that if you bend over forwards you can grab a handful of, but when you stand up it is a small round mound under tight cloths
If I loose the extra 5 kgs it might help glare.gif But so unmotivated. Ate a cup cake today and don't care!!!!! Life is so hard with mum/dad/IL's/teeth I think I deserve a repreeve for a while from weight loss antics shrug.gif

ENDODONTIST. Ok did another clean and antibiotic stuff up in the root. He said no puss (sorry TMI) and all dry this time so thinks it is healing tthumbs.gif so another appoint in 6 weeks for x-ray and another antibiotic change and hopefully after that can be refilled and back to normal. THen crown later on as nerve is bead and will start to discolour. Big bucks this one tooth wacko.gif

BEAGLE: Jungle Gym Friday sounds great we are free. It opens 9:30-11:30am so I will meet you there tthumbs.gif

Ok best get dinner then off to Pilates
ellangel
take a photo and email me! lol
in your dreams!!! LOL.
Even my sister has one and she has had 2 natural births. Are Littlem and I the only others that have had c/s??
alimumof3
hahahah sharon I thought it was a long shot! lol.
I'm not sure who else has had c/s. well Beagle has for DD but not sure if anyone else has.

sarina unfortunately I don't have to bend forward to grab a handful, (and yes even at 19wks prg). Its so big. ew. BUT I know some of it is just xtra fat from being overweight before getting pregnant. It is more a fold, or rollerdoor as I say. (as in DH has to lift the rollerdoor to get to the gargage!) LOL that was gross. Sorry girls!! and no, its not THAT bad, but you get the idea.
I forgot to say earlier that I'm sorry about your awful day yesterday. When will you get a break???!! Not fair. Stuff the diet right now.

zumba anyone seen those ads for that new exercise thing called zumba? there are classes that are held and they also sell dvd's. Looks fun. Think I'll do it after bub. My friend is starting classes.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.