themelster
25/01/2010, 01:28 PM
He'll go 2 days a week Bec.
Mands - exciting!!!!! When does yours go on the market?
Sharna- I'm glad to hear your pregnancy is going well. You aren't going to find out the sex are you? Do you have any hunches? Thanks for the compliment on the photo's of Tom. They were the few he was engaged in - there's plenty where he wasn't!!! Far too many other new things to look at!
bec8112
25/01/2010, 01:30 PM
Oh Mands that is so exciting! Another step closer to the big build!
DP pulled out the shelves in our wadrobe today to build new ones as they were in the middle and the sliding doors limited the way to access them IYKWIM, stupid design!
He also should have finished our dining room table that he has been making , it is a small round solid timber but it is so heavy!
bec8112
25/01/2010, 01:31 PM
Sharna - my guess is another girl for you
Everyone will have to have a guess for my bub! Will be interesting to see what everyone thinks!
themelster
25/01/2010, 01:32 PM
I'm going to bet boy Bec!!
Small Potatoes
25/01/2010, 02:25 PM
Sharna I have girl vibes, but don't really know.
bec not sure as I have boy vibes but had a girl dream, so I am going girl too.
Printing out house plans
also
I just posted this
my post If anyone has any suggestions it would be greatly appreciated.
themelster
25/01/2010, 02:33 PM
Geez mands, I have no idea. Mine went pretty quickly (24 hours) and never showed it's face again!! Do your boobs feel fuller at all?
bec8112
25/01/2010, 02:38 PM
Mands - also no idea as my milk went away pretty fast, 1 day or so with no lumps or pain or anything. It is very strange indeed, maybe call your GP and ask them?????
Small Potatoes
25/01/2010, 02:48 PM
this didn't happen with W but I was PG 3 months after stopping BFing with him. I am a little freaked actually. They tingle a little but don't feel full
themelster
25/01/2010, 04:40 PM
Oh Bec, I forgot to say that I haven't really tried Tom on spicy food. He's had some of my thai fried rice and basic stuff like that but no curry. Mmmmm curry, I haven't had one of those for ages!!!!
Fabulous
25/01/2010, 09:56 PM
Mands- In the past I have still had a little bit of milk 6 months after stopping so maybe that's all it is.
DylMah
25/01/2010, 10:08 PM
Hope everyone had a good weekend.
Mands - I'm so sorry about your friend. With the milk thing, a friend of mine could still get a few drops of milk out 12 months after giving up breastfeeding. Maybe it something similar, and hormones or something have caused just enough milk production for it to leak out? I have no idea really though.
Having computer issues at the moment. Since we got back from Perth, the computer has been running really slowly, like the whole computer is on dial-up speed, not just the net. And pages keep freezing. So I've not been on much the last few days as it's been getting worse. I've done a disc clean up and defrag, but no joy. I rang a computer service place that does house calls today who were meant to ring me back, but haven't yet. I'm ready to toss the stupid thing out the window.
Anyway, I've had about all I can manage of this stupid machine tonight, so will leave it there. Hope everyone has a great Australia day.
Fabulous
26/01/2010, 09:20 AM
Mands- sorry to hear about your friends passing

It's so sad that people end up leaving us before they should be. I still think about my EB buddy who lost her DD Olivia every single day. I keep reading her blog even though it's heartbreaking. Nothing sadder than the blog of a bereaved parent.
Mel- that's great that Tom has a place. We pay $65 and that includes food but not nappies. I always found it funny how childcare centres charge the same for a 1 year old as they do a 3 year old when in reality it costs the centre more than double due to smaller staff ratios for the under 2's. Jack's favourite 'word' is dat.
Georgia- our computer does the same thing every year or so. What we do is totally wipe the hard drive and then reinstall every thing and it works beautifully every time. Computers often get clogged up over time and they then stop thinking as well and need to be reset. We do the same thing when our DVD recorder starts to play up.
Bec- is your DP a carpenter or cabinet maker? Now that would be sooo handy.
Us - Jack keeps climbing up the big payground equipment at playgroup so I have to watch him like a hawk. It sems crazy when he can't even walk, or maybe I should say he doesn't want to walk. We are off to an Australia day breakfast at our local swimming pool this morning.
themelster
26/01/2010, 09:27 AM
Ros, I read a little bit if the post about Olivia, but I couldn't continue - it was to heartbreaking.
I hear you on the childcare fees. Our reduces as they get older, but only by a few dollars.
I hope you have a lovely time at the BBQ.
Dylmah - I hate it when DH goes over our download for the month and we end up on dial up speed. I can imagine how frustrated you would be not knowing the cause!
I'm back on the "only child" bandwagon at the moment. Going through another foul sleeping stage right now. Tom is getting his bottom molar (his top one is still only through on one side) and he's also back to food refusal. Fun times!
Hope everyone has a great Australia day!
bec8112
26/01/2010, 07:51 PM
Hi all, sorry been enjoying the day off and not on the computer. We went to the beach this morning for an hour or so and Ethan was not so sure on the sand but DP took him for a swim and he was happy!
Came home and Ethan slept from 11-1 and DP and I lazed in the pool for an hour ( so sunburnt now ) and then we all sat on the grass in the yard and enjoyed the shade! Listened to the Hottest 100 all day so was a great day overall.
Mel - sorry that you are having a hard time with T and his sleeping again.
Ros - DP is a joiner ( similar to cabinetmaker ) he makes timber doors and windows as his job, he is in the process of making us a new front door with frosted glass panels so will be happy when that is done aswell!
Georgia - hope you get the computer fixed soon, I know how annoying it is!
I made a huge batch of spagetti bolognaise sauce in my new slow cooker and it looks so good, hope it tastes good as we have about 5 meals worth of it in the freezer! I am going to start making 1 big batch of something everyweek so that maybe we will have a stock pile of frozen meals for when I am heavily pregnant or have given birth. Anyone have any good recipes?
Thats all from me at the moment, I have to have a shower and put some aloe vera stuff on my hot hot hot skin
Fabulous
26/01/2010, 08:29 PM
Bec- I like making lasagne in the slow cooker. I love love my slow cooker. Today I made satay beef in it. DH won't eat any vegies,rice or pasta that has been frozen so unfortunately I can't freeze stuff.
Mel- maybe a bigger age gap might suit you if you decide to go again. My friend had all 4 of her kids 13 months apart by choice because she said that she was getting too old to have a bigger gap. I have no idea how she did it.
Jack has had a high temp all day. It has been 5 days since he had his MMR injection and it says in the leaflet that 1 in 6 get a high temp 5-12 days after. He is a kid that just sleeps all day when he is ill so I'm lucky in that way because some kids are the opposite.
DylMah
26/01/2010, 10:29 PM
Hiya,
I did another defrag last night, and the computer was slow earlier in the night, but seems to be okay now, so will post while things are good.
Ros - I wouldn't have the faintest clue about wiping my hard drive and starting over. I'd probably kill it. Sounds like Jack is keeping you on your toes. I am so glad that Mahalia is not a climber (Dylan was). How was your morning at the pool?
Mel - Poor Tom! Molars are nasty. Mahalia has her top two coming through at the moment, as well as one nest to her top middle teeth. She got her bottom molars in Perth, but we are still waiting on the two teeth next to the bottom middle. And then eye teeth. Luckily Mahalia is a good teether. Dylan was shocking. He'd get manky poo, horrible nappy rash (that he only got when teething) that would bleed and would wake heaps. I hope Tom's molars don't take too much longer to come through fully.
Bec - Hope the sunburn isn't too sore. Must have been nice lazying out by the pool though. We had the slow cooker out today too, lamb shanks. Mmmm...
DH got home from sea today, but goes back out on Thursday. The kids were so happy to see him! The kids and I had a play date with my two besties today and their kids. We realised that tomorrow night is the first time in ages that we will all have our DHs home at the same time in order to stay home while we go out (one friend's husband is in the army, and the other is a shift worker). So we're going out to a nice seafood restaurant for dinner and cocktails. I am so excited as I haven't had a girls night out in ages!
In other good news, I think I have pretty much convinced DH to have another child. I told him that I think the kids need an extra sibling if we are going to keep moving around with the navy in case they struggle to make new friends each time we move. Especially for Dylan as he is quite shy with new people and takes along time to warm up to someone enough to play with them (although he will play near them by himself). I also said I feel like the baby we miscarried before falling pregnant with Mahalia, is waiting to come back to us. I do believe these things, but we haven't really talked about why I want a third child before, it's always been the basics, that I want one and he doesn't. I also told him I'd forgo my boob job for another baby. We then started talking when (he asked if I wanted to start trying now, theoretically I want to wait another year, but I also have a deep yearning for another child now), where we'd have it (as I've always said I'd want to go back to Mahalia's OB in Sydney). I still need to get a definite yes from him, and we still have lots to discuss, but I am feeling very positive about it.
Anyway, going to go back to the tennis. Happy Australia day!
Small Potatoes
27/01/2010, 05:09 AM
Georgia Yay, maybe we can be baby buddies again. DH and I had a chat about it last night too and what he would and wouldn't be willing to do to help my sway for a girl and he will cut back on alcohol and take supplements etc. But I still haven't got my yes either. Argh - why do they give us false hope!!!
Ros How frustrating that DH won't eat those frozen things. You will have to send some slow cooker recipes our way (though my slow cooker is now in storage).
Bec Sounds like a great day. A week today until you see bubba again.
Mel I hope Tom's teeth come through quickly and you can get some decent sleep before going back to work.
AFM my milk bits have gone, but I ovulated so maybe it had something to do with that.
meeskamouska
27/01/2010, 06:19 AM
Hi Girls.
I've been MIA...sorry.
Mel - Your holiday looked lovely. Tasmania is a secret dream of mine. I'd really love to live there in fact...even though I've never been...lol. When r u back to work???
Mands - I haven't really read back only the last few pages...has your milk finished????? CR weaned herself about 2months back.
Bec - I'm glad things are gonig good with the bubba....exciting. Do you know what it is yet? Will u find out?
Ceres - No good with the high temps. CR has always been a sensitive one with needles. Its possibly that. We had high temps for an entire week once..all dayeveryday. It was horrid. Hope he's ok today for you.
Dylmah - Errr on the slow computer...there's nothing worse.
Hi Ros & Sharna!!
Us - Things are pretty cruisy around here. No major dramas just always busy it feels. DH is on a new roster so he works 12 away & 9 home ATM. Seems to b working though by the end of break I'm happy for him to head back. He's so used to someone doing everything for him when he is away he seems to expect it at home. its like having a teenager in the house.
themelster
27/01/2010, 06:38 PM
Just a quickie from me as I have a whingey toddler around my ankles trying to pull plugs out and cause general mayhem..
Nice to see you posting here Nat, Tom's sleeping is still average at best but I just haven't had time to post over at digmumma's. I hope you guys are all well. Do you have the meet up happening soon? Is it still down the Goldie?
Dylmah - thats pretty funny you forgoing your boob job for a baby. DH would NEVER allow me to have a boob job. Not at all because he wouldn't like me to have a great rack, he just couldn't justify me spending that amount of money!

I really hope you get a chance to bring your little angel baby back. I believe in that kind of stuff too. As for teeth, Tom is usually pretty good so I'm not convinced it is his teeth. In fact I'm pretty sure it is because I am still rocking him to sleep. The alternative just seems too hard though.
0k. Palmed child off to daddy. Where was I....
Ros - I don't know how she did it either. Here I am banging on about one! If I have another - we definately won't start trying until Tom is almost 2. It's still a big if though. Tom had a fever on day 7 after his MMR. It hung around for a day or two and then went away (from memory). Unfortunately Tom is one of those "opposite" kids. He doesn't sleep much when sick.
Bec - sounds like you guys had such a lovely day. Tom is a bit weird with sand too until he gets used to it. I need to go and dust my slow cooker off I think. I just found the mince ended up with a funny texture (kind of floury) when I did spag bog in it. Not sure why. I ended up buying one of those big cast iron stove top casserole dishes and I do most of my meals (the slow cooked ones) in that. I hope the sunburn doesn't bother you too much - try and find some fresh aloe vera to put on it. Or I've heard dabbing a cotton bud in cold milk and running it over the sunburn really helps too.
We had Tom's day one orientation at child care today. It went well. I stayed in the room with him for about an hour and he just pottered around. He is the youngest by at least 6 months so it will be interesting to see how that goes. Tomorrow is day two. A longer day, where I leave him there and go and sit in the parents room for a few hours. I'm a bit nervous.
Chat tomorrow!
bec8112
27/01/2010, 07:35 PM
Hi all! Sorry been MIA today, had a really busy day at work and no time to jump on the net.
Mel - We had the spag bol for dinner tonight and meat tasted good and not floury. My sunburn is pretty much gone, woo hoo! Only one night of hot skin which was good. I bet that Tom will do fine at daycare tomorrow and you will be fine aswell.
Georgia - yeah on the baby issue! So exciting for you guys.
Mands - yeah on the baby issue advancements with DH, it sounds like he is warming to the idea and it would be so great if you guys got the little girl!
Nat - great to hear from you. I am going for a scan on the 3rd Feb so will find out what we are having then.
I am baking a White Choc and Macadamia slice at the moment and it smells so yummy! So bad for the waistline but so irresistible!
meeskamouska
27/01/2010, 09:13 PM
Mel - Yay on day 1 going good. Hopefully the next stay will be successful too. I've heard once they start they do good for a few days then regress but come good. So expect a possible hurdle. He may be one of those bubs though that just loves it straight up. I'd laugh if he slept for 3 hours at lunchtime for them...NOT!!!!!
Bec - How exciting with the scan. Girl possibly would be nice????????????or r u hoping for another boy???
Got a brilliant voucher for spotlight today. 30% off bolts ends when you buy whats left. Incl sale fabric. DH is going to kill me if I buy anymore fabric but what he doesn't know....right???????
Bella was playing up something shocking tonight. Think she may of been tired after going back to school. Hope she wakes up ok in the morning. Not sure how i feel about 2 days running of moodiness....lol.
Heading to bed. Night girls.
Small Potatoes
28/01/2010, 05:19 AM
Nat I hear you Olly was feral last night too.
Bec That sounds yummmy
Mel Yay on Tom going well. It must be a relief to get him into the CC you wanted an not have to worry about getting a nanny for the odd day here and there
AFM Olly was just revolting last night. I felt like throwing him out the window. He wouldn't eat his dinner and then just went down hill from there. He cried every time I even sat down with him and then DH got the sh*ts and yelled at him so I felt like throwing DH out the window too.
Fabulous
28/01/2010, 06:07 AM
I spent all day yesterday filling out 7 passport forms and driving around to get different people to fill out the guarantor sections blah blah So hard when you multiply everything by 7 and now I'm so stressed out worrying that they will reject them. I have heard how strict they are. Our old ones expired over 2 years ago.
Jack is onto his third day of having a high temperature. It really sux.
Bec- that slice sounds good. I can't homebake because I end up eating close to the lot myself.
Charbell- that spotlight voucher sounds good. I only started learning to sew in April this year and I developed a fabric addiction straight away. I spent about $500 ordering quilters fabric fron the US.
Mel- glad the daycare seems good. It must be a huge change going back into full-time work.
Georgia- great news that another bub looks to be on the cards.
Mands-Argh kids! For the last few momths I have been getting up 3-4 times each night to attend to my youngest 2. It's just crazy.
themelster
28/01/2010, 09:17 AM
Well, I've just dropped ton off at childcare for day 2 of orientation. I am in the parents room. It feels weird. I feel like I am deserting him. I said goodbye but I'm not sure he understood. I think he'll just realize I'm not there all of a sudden. I'm worried about them putting him to sleep and about him eating. He refused his brekky at home this morning. I hope he is ok.
Mands - I hope O is feeling better this morning. And that you are too. I snap at poor mark all the time when T is being a pain. I know it isn't right but in the heat of the moment I can't help it.
Ros - is this for your trip to the states? When do you go again? I know it is a PITA but at least it's all for a great reason!!!! How is jacks temp this morning?
Bec - that slice sounds positively evil. If it was dark choc and macadamia I wouldn't be able to resist - but I'm not really into white choc. I'm glad your spag bog worked out. I've dusted off my slow cooker and am going to have a dabble with an Italian chicken casserole tomorrow night. Thanks for the inspiration!
Fabulous
28/01/2010, 10:00 AM
Mel- I'm sure Tom will be fine. I would like to put Jack in daycare but he has bad separation anxiety and is scared of strangers so I don't think daycare would go down to well for him. We might consider family daycare. We are hoping to go on our trip in 1 month

although that will depend on how long our passports take. We haven't booked our tickets yet but I'm watching them closely. There are some good ones with V Australian leaving Perth at 11.45am and when we get to Sydney we only have 2 hours so will have to go straight to the international airport. I hope they don't sell out. The timing of the flights is pretty crucial since we have a 1 & 3 year old. Older 3 will be fine. I'm trying not to think too much about the possibility of Jack playing up on the flight because I don't want to stress myself out.
themelster
28/01/2010, 10:14 AM
The director just came and gave me an update. He's fine. Just wandering around playing with toys. Doesn't even miss me!! He said he seemed like a pretty cruisy kid. Wait till they try and put him to sleep!
Ros - very exciting about your upcoming trip! I hope Jack will be a good boy. It's a long flight! Hopefully there will be lots of sleeping. You might get some nice hostesses who will help out alot.
themelster
28/01/2010, 12:36 PM
He did 40 mins. Should be a fun afternoon!
Small Potatoes
28/01/2010, 12:41 PM
Mel Olly only ever sleeps 40mins at kindy. Initially he was okay with taht, but now he gets grumpy in the afternoon (for me)
bec8112
28/01/2010, 01:39 PM
Mel - thats great that Tom had fun but not so good on the 40mins sleep, when that is all Ethan has he is really grumpy by about 5pm and we have to put him to bed early. Do they have cots or mattresses for Toms age?
Ros - I am so jealous of your trip to the US, I need a big holiday but do not think we will have one for awhile!
No more time as I have to get some cleaning done while Ethan is asleep!
themelster
28/01/2010, 02:04 PM
Bec - they have mattresses in the floor. I am looking on the brightside that at least he settled for them.
To those with kids in daycare - do they socialize much with the other kids? I asked the daycare lady if he showed much interest and she said he mainly played and explored on his own. I wonder when he should start to show interest in the other kids? They were all pretty interested in him.
Small Potatoes
28/01/2010, 02:08 PM
Mel The kids obviously weren't old enough. Remember he was all over Will like the proverbial. Olly really doesn't like it when the other kids are up. He is much happier when they are down for a nap and he is awake on his own.
Fabulous
28/01/2010, 02:58 PM
Mel- it's perfectly normal to play and explore on your own at 15 months. That's just the developmental stage that they are at and playing with other kids comes later.
Fabulous
28/01/2010, 03:06 PM
Mel- are you going to get anything at the SS stocking on Sunday?
themelster
28/01/2010, 03:36 PM
True mands and ros. You're both right. I'm just super sensitive about his development at the moment.
Ros - I'm going to have a go! I only have one but I really like the fit. You?
bec8112
28/01/2010, 06:01 PM
Quick one, Ethan got the cranky bug this arvo! Super whingey from about 4.30pm! DP did not get home until 5.30pm so was a nightmare trying to cook dinner ( not sure how you ladies do it when your partners are away at work ).
Mel - Ethan usually plays on his own aswell.
themelster
28/01/2010, 06:05 PM
I often cook dinner with Tom wrapped around my legs. Not fun!!
Fabulous
28/01/2010, 08:55 PM
I was in tears this afternoon.

The cow at the post office wouldn't accept any of my photos. I let it slip that they weren't printed at a post office and she then said that she will only accept photos that are taken at the post office no exceptions. My ones meet all of the requirements and I have checked them thoroughly with the info from the passport office. Now DH has to take tomorrow off work and we are going to travel 60km's to another post office.
bec8112
28/01/2010, 09:04 PM
Ros - that is terrible, I hope that it gets the ok at the next post office tomorrow.
I think Ethan was just tired this arvo as he went to bed at 6.20pm which is really early. He has also been sleeping in until about 7.30-8.00am in the mornings so maybe he is going through a sleeping alot phase????
Mands - what pram did you use when Olly was born? Phil and Teds? I am researching and I am so confused by them all! I am going to have to sell my Strider 4 as it cannot have a toddler seat
Fabulous
28/01/2010, 09:18 PM
Bec- thats great that Ethan is getting lots of sleep. Enjoy. Jack pretty much slept all day until he reached 6 months. I was a bit concerned at first but then I realised that some bubs need lots of sleep.
I have the phil and teds sport for my 2 and I love it. We bought it when Jack was a newborn.
bec8112
28/01/2010, 09:33 PM
Ros - can you have the toddler on the top or bottom? Can you lay the newborn flat when toddler on bottom? can you fold the pram with the toddler seat attached or does it have to be removed???? Sorry for all the questions! I am going to keep an eye on ebay and see what I can find used as don't really have the money to spend on a new one
Fabulous
28/01/2010, 10:00 PM
Toddler has to always go on top because if the heaviest person isn't towards the front then it may tip. With the more expensive models you can fold with toddler seat still in place. With the sport model you have to remove the toddler seat first. However if ithe pram is in newborn mode I'm pretty you don't have to remove the toddler seat.
When you set the pram up for a new baby plus a toddler, the toddler seat sits at the front and the main pram seat is unzipped and lays flat for the newborn. Once the new bub can sit up a little then you change the mode. The main seat is zipped up (which makes it upright) and the toddler sits in this. The toddler seat is removed and positioned onto the back of the pram and the little bub sits in there. Sorry it's quite hard to explain. The phil and teds site has some good piccies which describe it better.