The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: December 09 Parents # 4

Essential Baby > Parents' Groups > Join a parents' group here > 2009
Pages: 1, 2, 3

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=755344

~Mo+Moosh~
Gold!

Anyone got the new Strider Plus and second seat? Contemplating getting one.
Kitty-N
Silver! Hi all!
suziej
Ally - another one in awe of your ability to get a sewing project not only started but completed atm!! Looks good - still have no idea what it really is, though, but I can be slow like that! huge weight gain there - excellent!! I know NOTHING about strollers, but good luck.

Rebecca - the LC said to me to jam the baby right on (well, maybe not in those words lol), pop her off if she gets into a bad possy, give her both sides twice and then top up with EBM - and to express an hour after the feed to increase supply AND have the EBM on hand. I also made some of the cookies linked in the list - don't know if they helped supply or not but man, they added to some of my own bulk - too yummy! Her sleep (when she pulls it) is much deeper and longer with the bigger feeds, but she still has hours dedicated to cluster feeding... How is Caitlin at burping? It is still very much hit and miss here, but the ones that come out after I pick her up if she is unsettled really point to what may be unsettling her! Another thing I got told to do was express the milk (by massaging the breast) while she was feeding to ensure she was getting a good full feed - it seemed to make a difference in the sleeps (when she pulled such animals!) Patent that blow-up b/f pillow idea - it has legs. Go Caitlin on the all night sleeping!!!

Sev - I got one hand done, so one side is less dangerous than the other!

Vanessa - I think all of us have our lurking moments and really, it shouldn't be expected we have to answer the minutae of every post - if we don't have the excuse now with newborns then we have the bar too high (must take note of that myself). My sister wrote a couple of posts about Dana and Toni and Dave have set up information pages (they worked together in newspapers - you can't hold back journos telling stories) - I can give people links if they want, but I just reread a few and am in tears all over again. Dana was 6 weeks old, and every day I have with Josette my lack of ability to imagine their pain grows. I do hope you can pull a few naps over the next few days to catch up on the line between survival and crazy! Photobucket have a "Share this album" panel in the top left of their page - then there is a url and then options - I am not sure if you can put a slideshow on this messageboard, but individual pictures you can use the generated code that starts with "IMG"... - oh, or as Rebecca says!!

Emma (MR) - kudos for the post while feeding - impossible here at the moment, as all hands needed on deck for the whole jamming technique! Sounds like a good session - I had quite a bit of therapy in my 20s for anxiety and depression and cannot say too much that having good techniques to deal are the best tools! Good luck on the ultrasound.

Natasha - okay, so its some sort of feeding apron?

Amylou - what gorgeous shots - lol you can tell I am in b/f mode, because her open mouth smile made me think "she would get a good latch"!! Okay, I am crazy, but I am blaming a newborn.

Amysha - good luck with finding out what is going to work best with you and Emily and breastfeeding. The poo thing is definitely a furphy - we get 1-2 a day, but apparently you can go up to 10 days with nothing while breastfeeding - the best measure is the amount of wee they do (and what colour/smell emanates). Don't you love being a mother, investigating every nook and cranny of your child's life!!!

Tabytha - going for a walk with baby every day is a fantastic idea - luckily both last time and this time I can go for a walk that doesn't involve any retail opportunities!! I had one of the most bizarre parent's room experiences the other day - new and not stinky (TG) but about the size of a large wardrobe and with 7 people and 3 babies in there by the end, so not up to the job!!! I have sent you a friend request also on Facebook. Gorgeous little men you have there.

Trudie - lol we joke about "Business Night" all the time here, thankfully am able to limit my catching up on media moments to when I am feeding (having all technology die on me helps me in my quest).

Wendy - ha ha one of the bonuses of being at an all girls boarding school (in the olden days when 12 girl dorms were the norm for grade 8) that I have very little shame and can be of the militant breastfeeding league - mind you, dd1 was a very easy feeder - this one requires a bit more intensity and so don't do quite as much in public as I was able with the first. Smart move on the nappies and formula! Gorgeous cards for your thankyous!! Very well done.

Emma (CB) - hooray on the 5 hour sleep!! I think the express thing would be if a feed had been, because the LC told me to express an hour after a feed, and morning ones I get 150ml (manual) for both breasts (by the evening and after a few hours cluster feeding the express session is down to about 80ml for both) - with a 5 hour break I would think 100ml would not only be okay, it would be something to celebrate - bag it and freeze it and you have got yourself a feed's worth of freedom in the future!!

Katiebelle - using cloth here, so those gro-suits are so unsuitable! Josette is very much like dd1 (or rather, her father is very much like dd1's father) in regard to not liking feet enclosed. I found some fenugreek at the local health store, but they only had milk thistle - there is a lot of debate whether that is the same as Blessed Thistel or not... Thank you for the offer of collection and sending me some - you are a beautiful woman - if I get no joy this week I may well PM you. What an absolutely amazing shot of your girls - aren't big sisters wonderful?

Erica - we also have hip issues - we have another ultrasound on the 29th and follow up with the paed on the 2nd - thank goodness we are out of double nappies. Are you in double nappies until the follow up? Sounds like you got a good technician/baby combo - we screamed through the whole u/s procedure. A lot of the feedback I got when first worried about it is if they have to go into a brace it is not the end of the world, and one girl's cousin is playing soccer for her state in U16s after such a start, so any fix does work. Another one here clueless about Mother's Groups - we didn't have such a thing for dd1 either...

Sunday - finally with the photos!! What a beautiful boy!!

Kate - I hope you had a lovely time with your friend in the Mountains! Well done on the weight gains.

biene-maja - fantastic that your friend rang to help you out - there are angels who walk amongst us! Good luck on the lactation consultant! She looks so beautiful in the picture, but I can understand worries - we get given them at every turn. I noticed that the fenugreek capsules I have been given are generally for mucous congestion - I wonder if they would do the double whammy of breastmilk increase AND fix her nose? hugs.

larms1 - what was your username during the DIG? Were you in the 1-15 or the 16-31? If you want to give me your details, I can add you to the list. Archie is gorgeous - looks like a wise little man! I too hate the getting baby in and out of car seat with my little car - but I think I would have the same problems with a capsule.

Jill - what a gorgeous shot - both of them looking beautiful!

AFUs - our night sleeps are stretching - up to 4 hours at a time last night!! Went to the lactation consultant yesterday (who was double booked, which surprises me not at all) and Josette is now up to 4.545kg - which means she was over 100g up on Monday, so not so worried. As her starting weight was 4.050kg, this means she has only put on just under a half kilo in 3.5 weeks, but the paed put my mind at rest on Tuesday, saying just because a baby starts in the 90% range doesn't mean she has to stay there!

Sorting ourselves out this weekend as we are going to my sister's for a few days (200km to the west) - not sure what "essentials" I will be able to pack, as my Mitsubishi Lancer doesn't give much change in space after a pram is loaded...

List next.

ETA - oh, and look at that, bronze!! (it took a few cluster feeds, nappy changes, sleeping baby, express session, additional posts and new thread to finish my post!!!)
suziej
The December 2009 Parents Group List
December 09 Parents #1
Biene-Maja posted Dr Karp’s 5 S’s
Sophie posted link for the recipe in the breastfeeding section for BF cookies
... and a link for recipezaar's recipe for BF cookies

December 09 Parents #2
Sev posted Colic Cure (aka vacuum cleaner sounds)
Erica posted information on Vasospasm
Biene-Maja posted instructions for swaddling with a miracle blanket

December 09 Parents #3
Natasha posted information on the Sleepywrap
Ali did likewise for the Mobywrap

December 09 Parents #4

*iwanttobakesomebuns*
AKA: Lauren
Harry George (9/12/09)
(1-15 December)

~ Fifi ~
Lily Rose (30/11/09)
DS5 and DS3
(1-15 December)

45TR1D
AKA: Astrid
Adam (16/12/09)
DS2
(1-15 December)

Alibaba~81
AKA: Ali
Lucy Madeleine (17/12/09)
(1-15 December)

Amanda_JB
AKA: Amanda
Mitchell Riley (17/12/09)
2 DS
(16-30 December)

Amylou222
AKA: Amy
Georgia Susan (28/12/09)
(16-30 December)

Amysha
Emily Louise (17/12/09)
1 DD
(16-30 December)

Ange
Simone (29/12/09)
1 DD, 1 DS
(16-30 December)

Audrey_baby
AKA: Audrey
Abigail Sabina (30/12/09)
(16-30 December)

ausktl
AKA: Kate
Oliver Graeme Pereira (15/12/09)
(1-15 December)

Biene-Maja (Maren)
Alexis Therese (27/11/09)
DD2 Lucia
(1-15 December)

Bubsies
AKA: Gina
Merinda (24/12/09)
DS3 Hayden
(16-30 December)

CanberraCath
AKA: Cath
Jared William (24/12/09)
DD2
(16-30 December)

checkingboxes
AKA: Emma
Sebastian Jude (9/12/09)
(1-15 December)

Eckstar
AKA: Erica
Brendan (18/12/09)
(16-30 December)

eeyoreangel
AKA: Jill
Charlotte Anne (16/11/09)
DS2.5
(1-15 December)

Firstontheway
AKA: Chrystal
Quinlan Sean Kimber (9/12/2009)
(1-15 December)

Great8
AKA: Vanessa
Nicholas Joseph (30/11/09)
DD12, DS11, DD10, DD3, DD2
(16-30 December)

Hoping4bubsin09
AKA: Wendy
Lachlan Thomas (18/12/09)
DD11
(1-15 December)

house~of~blue
AKA: Peta
Jessica Maree (5/12/09)
3 DS
(16-30 December)

Jax
Mia (2/12/09)
3 DD
(1-15 December)

JoIsMe
Seren Elizabeth (7/12/09)
(16-30 November)

Jules247
AKA: Julie
Joshua Jack (23/12/09)
(16-30 December)

katchababi
AKA: Katrina
Joshua Michael (23/12/09)
DS2
(16-30 December)

Katiebelle
Alyssa Paige (14/12/09)
DD2
(16-30 December)

Kendall
AKA: Kendall
Tyler James (4/12/09)
1 DS
(16-30 December)

Kitty-N
AKA: Trudie
Annika Celeste & Juliet Emilia (16/11/09)
(1-15 December)

Learner
AKA: Kirsten
Elliot Owen (20/12/09)
(1-15 December)

larms1
Archie Campbell

Lissiloo
AKA: Liss
Jackson (9/12/09)
2 DD
(16-30 December)

M2max
AKA: Tabytha
Charlie (30/12/09)
DS3 Max
(16-30 December)

madreader
Ryan William (3/12/09)
(1-15 December)

mich*mum2three*
AKA: Mich
Jasper Louis (19/11/09)
DS4, DD3, DS 15m
(1-15 December)

missM
AKA: Meredith
Seth Thomas (21/12/09)
DD10
(1-15 December)
Mum2JC
AKA: Ally
Hamish (2/12/09)
DS3
(1-15 December)

mum2kieranandcharlotte
AKA: Julia
Isabelle Anita (15/12/09)
DS7, DD 18m
(16-30 December)

mummybec
AKA: Bec
Erin Ruby (20/12/09)
DS3
(16-30 December)

mummyof*3*
AKA: Mel
Jade Imogen (4/1/10)
4 DD
(16-30 December)

mumofhayden
AKA: Rebecca
Caitlyn Michelle (12/12/09)
DS2
(1-15 December)

natasha77
AKA: Natasha
Finn (23/12/09)
DS
(16-30 December)

Nessiegirl
AKA: Vanessa (Ness)
Summer Jane (11/12/09)
(16-30 December)

Piñata
AKA: Tess
Asha Piper (22/12/09)
4 DD
(16-30 December)

Sevb
AKA: Seval
Aliya Gunes (9/12/09)
(1-15 December)

Soma79
AKA: Paula
Connor (13/12/09)

Sundayj
Banjo (16/12/09)
DD14, DS11, DS8
(16-30 December)

suziej
AKA: Sophie
Josette Ruth (21/12/09)
DD10
(1-15 December)

Weenybaby
AKA: Katie
Benjamin Liam (10/12/09)
(16-30 December)
larms1
Hi

I thought I'd post this, some of you may have already seen it but someone emailed it too me. It's really long but worth it!
35 Things Noone Ever Told You About Having a Baby
You breeze through pregnancy, sail through labour (alright so it’s more like a raft with holes in it) - but then there is the aftermath… Why oh why are there so many things no one ever told you?
1. It's actually a LOT... harder than working 40 hours a week! Lady who lunches with pretty baby you will not be!
2. You go through this limbo period when your maternity clothes are too big and you just cannot squeeze in anything else either, and you haven't got time/energy to do anything about it.
3. No matter how long you've waited, how much you want a baby and how much equipment you have, you're NEVER prepared for your first baby!
4. Even though they sleep for 18 hours a day there still doesn’t seem to be time for anything. Every 10 minutes ends up being precious, where does the day go?
5. Having a baby really puts things into perspective - silly things you used to worry about are unimportant, as long as your baby is well that’s all that matters.
6. Your nipples have more than one hole, and that they can spray milk in lots of directions at once, routinely into the baby’s eyes!
7. You will never believe anything anyone tells you BEFORE the birth but will wish you had listened AFTER the baby arrives!
8. From now on you can just about fit in 5-minute showers! Blow-drying? Forget it!
9. If you going to get stretch marks, (and most of us do!) don’t waste hundreds of dollara on products to prevent them! By the way, when do they actually fade?
10. When you think the last few weeks of disturbed sleep in pregnancy are bad, you’ll be regarding them as bliss by the time your baby arrives.
11. You are never going to be so over the top with contraception after the baby is born (if you could use 2 condoms at once believe me you would) the coil, the injection, the pill? Which one? I’ll take them all please! (Just to make sure!!)
12. The first drink you have to celebrate your baby’s arrival will probably be your last for a while; it takes too long to recover…
13. At times your precious bundle will have you at the end of your tether (especially when they want to play at 2am) but when they start to smile back at you, you melt and forget that they’ve kept you up for 8 hours solid!!
14. That even though you never used to have a clue about babies, you are still the only one that knows the best thing for your baby.
15. That the only way you can read your magazine is if you read it to your child like its a story! Ask my daughter anything about celebrities, she’ll tell you the latest gossip.
16. That in labour you’ll be surrounded by what seems like the entire hospital staff! Any dignity left? Not anymore!
17. That your boobs can quadruple in size overnight when your milk comes in! Engorgement will never permit you look at a soy cabbage leaf in the same way again.
18. When you’ve had your baby and you’re still wearing the apron of pregnancy and aren’t back to a size 0, people ask when it’s due…
19. That people wont come round and visit you anymore, they go straight to your baby!
20. You cry for weeks after the baby is born especially at pictures of your baby. Let it happen, you can’t do ANYTHING to stop it.
21. You’re showered with advice (mostly bad and from complete strangers) never believe the grandmother who had her children on solids from 2 weeks!
22. At some point after the baby is born you’ll think you’ve gone insane from lack of sleep...apparently everyone gets it at some point but they never tell anyone!
23. Everyone asks if they ‘sleep through the night’ as if it’s a reflection on your parenting skills….of course when mother in law is asking – she says her little bundles slept 13 hour nights from birth and NEVER cried. (Don’t hold it against these people - babies do strange things to their memories)
24. You’ll have sleep wars. If your partner has had an extra 20 minutes sleep then god help him!
25. You need a degree in engineering to work out how to assemble the pram, fit the car seat correctly, build the cot, button up a sleep suit in the dark...
26. Before you have a baby you think the only thing they do is eat, sleep and poo... this is a lie!
27. They'll scream for a feed then take a sip. They then clamp their lips shut so that you have to feed them again in 30 minutes instead of the 3 – 4 hours like the books say.
28. You can spend an hour trying to get them to sleep for them to wake 20 minutes later.
29. They can go days without a poo, only to explode when you’re out shopping. Unfortunately this requires an entire change of clothes when all you have in your changing bag is a nappy and some wipes.
30. Breastfeeding can take an awful lot of commitment and can damn well hurt at first!
31. People talk about ‘sleeping like a baby’ but no one tells you that most babies don't seem to be able to fall asleep by themselves and you need to teach them how to do it! (and that you might lose sleep worrying about the fact they can’t!)
32. You nearly never get out of the house before lunchtime with a newborn baby, unless that is that you get up at 4am!
33. Hot meals...what are they? With a baby, you either learn to like cold food or quickly adapt to get your partner to cut up your meal like you are a child so you can eat with just a fork or your fingers! Very elegant!
34. ‘Placenta-brain’ never goes away, you just stop being able to remember your pre-placenta-brain days...and that it gets worse with each child!
35. No one tells you how great falling in love with your baby is!!

Suziej, I was in the Dec 16-30 DIG (I think I said before I was in 1-15, just shows how placenta brained I am!) & my details are

larms1
AKA: Lisa
Archie Campbell (8/12/09)

Thanks for adding me!
Bubsies

I can't remember who it was but someone posted a couple of days ago and it could have been me about miss Merinda!

The feeding is going great and she has put on another 260grams this week so has put on 705grams now total since she was 3 days old which is great considering she is totally BF so am very pleased with myself!! She is now just over 8lb or nearly 3.7kg at 3 weeks old original.gif

Problem is....she is very difficult to burp and I have a very fast flow/strong let down which she struggles with at times and as a result gets wind. She is too impatient for more boob and squirms and screams too much when she comes off to bring wind up so it gets lower down. So by the time she is ready to be put back to bed she has a pain in the belly and farts like a trooper while screaming and squirming...hasn't been a problem every day just some days and especially last evening feed and after the breakfast feed which are the 2 times in the day I need all the time I can get to get out of the house and do stuff wacko.gif Have been avoiding some foods and drinks to see if it helps but am yet to find a solution other than trying to make her bring wind up more frequently through the feed which worked like a dream last night but because she was more hungry this morning she wasn't complying! She actually woke, fed, was changed and self settled last night within the hour which is great for her so she is obviously much easier without the wind! Will be working on sorting that this week I can see....

Must go peg some washing but will be back later to catch up.....

Hope you are all doing well with your bubbas xxx

Mercurial
Bubsies - I don't have a very fast let down but the most commonly offered advice I've seen is to try expressing for a minute or so first until the initial let down is past and then offer to baby. Would be frustrating long term I would think but if it helps you may only have to do it until she's grown a bit and can handle the fast flow. Good work on the weight gain.

Suziej - Caitlin is a brilliant burper. Sit her up (couple of times each feed), a couple of pats on the back and she belches like a teenage boy. She occasionally burps again if she's been in the bouncer and you pick her up but not always. I've been swapped sides back and forth when she's really sleeper but haven't had a really lazy feed for over 24 hours now. Her feed at 5am this morning was 30 mins (fast for her) and she self settled straight to sleep (I wrapped her and put her straight down as need the bathroom urgently and she was asleep when I checked on her again so I thought there you go, you can self settle at night!). I believe milk thistle and blessed thistle are different. I'm getting much better with attachment but my positioning is still all wrong so I'm really uncomfortable in public - I need my chair and pillow everything just so. I think my MCHN appt this week will be less about actual attachment and teaching me to use the cradle position rather than transition! The MCHN also said that big babies often start a bit slower in the wait gain because they've already got a good layer of padding.

eckstar - good luck without your DH!

amylou & eeyore - gorgeous pics ladies!

katiebelle - I hope you get in to see avatar and it all goes well! Caitlin generally seems to sleep 4 hours during the day and it's occurred to me that I could squeeze a movie in during that time.

AFUS - well as I said earlier Caitlin slept 9 hours last night - very reassuring that she's getting enough milk for her to do that. Offered her formula last night instead of a feed from me and she refused it at all. I've offered formula a few times after feeds to check she's had enough and she's never drunk much, I thought she was full each time but maybe it's just she hates the formula! Will get DH to give her an EBM bottle later on today as I want her to still take a bottle so that at some point I can leave the house without her!

DS is trying my patience at present. He asks questions constantly and is misbehaving heaps. The questions are repititive (think 30+ times) and he doens't listen to any answers you give, just keeps asking and asking. DH commented this morning after a tantrum at the shops that if he normally behaves like that then he's not surprised I get frustrated taking him shopping - glad he's seen some of the behaviour because I think he thought it wasn't quite that bad. Tantrums about everything. AARGGGH.
Kitty-N

No personals today - just wanted to say hello, and let you know how we are going.

The girls are doing much better now - we have had 2 really good nights where they have slept through (well, 7 hours on Thurs night and 6 hours last night, which i consider sleeping through!!) Finally, they are sleeping at sort of the same times! its amazing. They are both really awake during the day now, with a few decent naps, and whilst they still whinge and cry a little bit whilst awake, its nowhere near as bad as it had been in previous weeks.

Im not sure if Ive mentioned this yet, but we had smiles from both girls now in the past week. Annika was first, but Juliet followed up a few days later. Its magic when they are smiling for reasons other than wind... So cute. I havent been quick enough to catch it on the camera, but hopefully as they get bigger and smile more frequently, I will have some pics to post.

Both are lifting thier heads up during tummy time and seem to be getting stronger and stronger with thier leg movements (Juliet travells a lot in her sleep - eeek!). I was a bit concerned about that, and so I got a rather large 6 sided playpen in anticipation of when they get bigger and start moving around. Even though its not needed yet, Ive got them in it today and they are sleeping happily. Cant wait till they start playing with stuff!!

Sorry - I sound like one of those mothers who thinks thier baby is sooooooo advanced (and in reality my bubs are a couple of weeks older than most of yours, so they probably are doing a few things that others wont be yet) so please dont think Im like that - I just love that they are starting to be real little humans!

We have been very social - getting out and about lots this week (in fact, I think Im a bit knackered from it so will probably try and have a quiet week at home next week). Tonight we have my dad's b'day dinner so that should be nice. Hoping they sleep most of the time, but if they dont, I guess it doesnt matter.

The girls have thier 2 mth needles on Tuesday (WAAAHHHhh!!!) Im taking my mum because I cant stand the thought of both of them freaking out and me not having enough hands to comfort both.

Anyway, hope you are all well - will try and do personals next time, but Ive just got such a bad memory. Catch ya later!!
m2max
Just need to say I am officially over being vomited on. I smell, he smells, the house smells and I need more cloths. I am scared the name Chucker is going to stick.

So glad Max did not do this. I would not have been able to reuse his clothes. I think I will be wearing daggy clothes for a while.

Otherwise all good. DH took DS1 for a train ride this morning so I had a morning of sleep and rest. They are out this afternoon too so on a 'go-slow' day. House is a mess but will deal with that later.

Capsules - We hired a capsule and I am glad. Excellent for those 'quick' trips into the shops etc. Means I can put bubs down briefly if need be. DS1 was only able to fit into it until 4 months so imagine will be the same for Charlie. We will then use convertible rear facing for as long as possible.

Feeding - sounds like many bubs are doing well with weight gain. Well done girls and bubs. Looking forward to weigh in next Wed with MCHN comes. It seems that more comes out than goes in. As a result I am almost feeding him to sleep. Grrr! Don't want to get into that habit. Charlie just seems to keep demanding. He was chewing so hard on my neck earlier that I thought DH was going to start asking questions - not that anyone would go near me right now.

Bubsies - oh thanks for the reminder. I have washing to hang too and then yet another load. How could I forget. I don't stress too much about burping as it doesn't seem to make a difference. Charlie will 'chuck' whenever regardless if he is burped or not.

Larms1 - thanks for the laugh with the list

Got to go. The chucker needs help to get to sleep!

Tab

Dec 16 -31 group - has anyone heard from Chloe? Hope she is ok.
eckstar
Just a quick one

M2max- Chloe has been out and about on Facebook so to speak but I havent seen her on EB at all since the DIG closed.
Sundayj
Sorry not a big personals post (will try again soon).
Natasha: Sleepywrap looks lovely, do you have one. Is it like origami, yoga and a game of twister mixed together to get it on, bub in and bub out again? I seem to avoid these things because they look complicated, but just love the idea of them. Babies look so cozy in them. What're your thoughts on them if you have one?

We are off to a market to buy fruit and vegies and look at the bric-a-brac. May as well take advantage of family time whilst we have it. Dh is back to work in a week and I'm not liking the idea of that. I think I want him around all year - and the kids. Lets all take a year off!
Babymoon's are magic.
Hope you are all well; happy Sunday.
Sundayj
madreader
Please Ryan just go to sleep. Please? sad.gif
Mercurial
madreader - I hope he goes to sleep soon! Nothing more frustrating than a tired baby who refuses to sleep. We know they'd be happy if they'd just get some sleep.

sundayj- hehe I look at those wraps and think the same thing. Do I need to be an octopus with 8 arms to make it all work?

m2max - I hear you. Caitlin isn't too bad (though she's got me quite a few times today) but DS threw up constantly. It was absolutely ridiculous. He was a happy chucker and it never bothered him but the smell of curdled milk is horrid.

kitty-n - glad to hear the girls are starting to tie their sleeps in at the same time. And that things are getting easier all around. It's hard to imagine in the first few weeks but things do get easier. Hope the immunisations go well and the girls aren't too unsettled. Smiles are beautiful aren't they. Caitlin has started smiling this week and it's so lovely to see. She's got a very cheeky smile. DH got home from work on Friday and she was in the bouncer so he went over to say hello and was so excited when she smiled at him.

AFUS- Caitlin was very unsettled while feeding last night. 8pm feed lasted for 1.5 hours with the last half hour her screaming and fussing and pulling off. Don't think I had much milk left and she was annoyed about it. She had a huge full belly but obviously wanted some more, for comfort I think. In the end I just held the boob in and she sucked enough that she calmed herself. She didn't go down until about 10 but slept through til 6am this morning so 8 hours again - woo hoo! Offered her formula and she refused it, just mouthing at the teat. But she polished off 60ml of EBM no problems whatsoever. So it's the formula she fussing on not the bottle. So I want to get quite a few feeds of EBM frozen so that it's always on hand if needed.

Appt with the MCHN tomorrow and really looking forward to seeing her weight gain. She looks chubbier to me so I'm hoping it's a good gain.

DH has dropped DS at his mums house and is going to watch the boys play golf. Still can't play yet himself but he's itching to get out. So it's just Caitlin and I and she's been asleep for 40 mins now and I'm hoping she'll sleep for another 2 hours at least.

capsule - we used a converitble carseat with DS but we hired a capsule this time and it's been great. Very easy for dropping DS at daycare. Not to mention she slept in it for the first 3 weeks huh.gif
suziej
Emma - I hope he did sleep - I am chanting the opposite, but Josette has decided one very broken night of sleep and a hot day = her just snacking and sleeping all morning. I have expressed 3 times!

*sj*
Hello Everyone original.gif

I'm from the 16th-31st DIG and have been MIA for a few weeks. I had my DS2 on the 16th and I also have another DS who is 4 in a few weeks. I can't beleive DS1 is already a month old. It has gone so fast and I think the first 4 weeks was a blur laughing2.gif

My DH went back to work this week and I have managed to get out of the house every day which has been good but now I'm buggered.

BFing has been a lot easier for me this time then what it was for me with DS1. I don't think I realised how hard I had it with him until DS2 came a long. DS2 has been a champion feeder from 10 minutes old and we have been very lucky and had no issues so far.

His weight gain has been good. I had him weighed at 3 weeks old and he gained 1kg since birth ohmy.gif I don't know what the normal weight gain is but that sounded like a lot. I won't have him weighed again until his 6 weeks and has his immunisations.

I have found the transition from 1 to 2 kids fairly easy but I can't wait for DS1 to go back to pre school next week. Hopefully then ill have some more time for myself and also some more time to do some much needed house work that's been getting ignored!

Looking forward to getting to know everyone from the 1st-15th DIG and a big hello to everyone who has made it over from our original DIG biggrin.gif
mummy2Ali*Lachie
kitty can you tell me where you got the baby biotics from? I have tried to buy some from the health food shop and the chemist neither have them. I would be happy to send you the money and my address to get some if you could get them. Lachie has had really bad colic for the last few days and cries in his sleep pulling his knees up to his chest it's horrible.
Frau Farbissina
just a few quick random things I've been thinking of the last few days based on various posts I've read:

swaddling - not sure if anyone has mentioned this already or not, but I fold over about 10cm on the top of the swaddle - this creates a little pocket and traps hands that try to wriggle out

goopy eye - Adam as one too. Lucas did also, and it took about 12 mths to finally clear up :-(

capsules - it's proven to be really handy for us - we have hired one of those grey ones from Kidsafe. Def worth it! makes getting in and out of the car pretty easy a lot of the time.

toddlers driving you crazy - got one here today. Over exuberance, sleeping baby and tired mum don't mix -sometimes I'm over reacting though. When he's in a deep sleep, Adam can sleep through the highest pitched squeal lol (and I mean Lucas', not mine)

snacking - I honestly feel like I get about a half an hour break from the end of one feed to the start of another, alllllllll daaaaaaay loooooong. Can't wait for them to spread out abit more

take care all
sezzym
hi everyone
have been ph34r.gif ...and thanks to sophie, worked out where the current thread is - you're all to busy posting, i was still in the thread before!

about me:

Sezzym
AKA: Sarah
James Lachlan (27 December 09)
(16-31 December)

my little boy turned 3 wks yesterday....he is now sleeping on my lap after a big feed (and chuck). Great relief after a bad 36 hours with him.

usually read with note paper to do personals; but wasn't able to this time sorry, so from (foggy) memory:

thanks for the list sophie!

capsule - we have hired babylove snap and go that fits with our BL focus pram and it's great!

mothers group....went to the local clinic organised "early bird" (1st 8 wks) one last wk and they are meeting at a cafe today (mon) so i will try to get there...wld like to meet some local mum if i can

yep sleepywrap is US version of hug-a-bub. we have hug a bub and whilst confusing when you first look at it, it's not as hard as it looks (a mirror helps). james will sleep in it after a minute or 2 and prefers it to cradle generally (he's not great at sleeping on his own). It's good for keeping your hands free to do stuff; hot on a hot day though

better try and get him into bed

BBL (might be a day or so!)
Quinston

Just thought I'd pop in to say hi. Our babymoon is over .... DH went backto work today .... cry1.gif Can't believe our little man is 6 weeks old on Wednesday! Not that I'd ever wish us back to him being freshly born (we've come too far and learnt too much) but it is sad how quickly that has gone ......

I'm sure I'll perk up tomorrow. Will probably be too busy to think about it for the next few weeks anyway!

Take care all ...
*jax*
Hi Everyone.

I keep reading and then get sidetracked when I go to post...

Mia is growing up too fast, they seem to lose that newborn look so quickly sad.gif She is sleeping like a trooper at night and catnaps on and off during the day. Fuzzy hair is coming through, it looks so cute. Her eyes have stayed blue which is a surprise as DH and I plus her sisters don't have blue eyes - DH keeps joking about the milkman making a visit biggrin.gif

She has less problems with wind now once I changed her bottles to the Avent brand, they are a bit $$ but well worth it, I also got the bottle warmer. Thought I would mention this for any mums FF and having problems with windy bubbies.

Weather is cold and rainy here today, I have the heater on!! Makes a nice change from the hot days. Spent the weekend in the vegie garden - long overdue! Plants are really thriving, I have heaps of toms and i picked 12 cucumbers in one go. Is anyone else having success with vegies this year??

Anyway, hi to everyone. Hope you are having a great day.

P.S. firstontheway bbighug.gif
Mercurial
jax - heaters on???? Gosh it's 36 here and miserably hot. Wouldn't mind a cool change right now actually. Glad the different bottles are helping. I used Avent with DS and he never had problems with wind.

firstontheway - amazing how much difference a few weeks makes isn't it when you look back what's happened in such a short period of time. nothing prepares you for those first few weeks.

sezzym - waves.gif I think the hug a bubs would be way too hot for me.

45TRID - I generally get about and hour and 10 mins between feeds, it's not very long is it? Seems like you've just finished one and then you're getting the boobs back out. I can't wait until the feeds spread out and get a bit shorter. Though which her already dropping the nighttime feed I've got to squeeze as many in as possible in daylight hours. Another one also over reacting with exuberant toddlers. DS just doesn't stop and it drives me crazy. Can't expect him not to throw tantrums when I'm bordering on throwing them myself sometimes at his behaviour.

sj - waves.gif glad breastfeeding is working out easier for you this time. Another one who is finding it 1000 times better this time round (I gave up at 6 weeks last time).

suziej - Caitlin did that early last week. Not having full feeds and then wanting more shortly afterwards - just really drowsy. MCHN suggesetd it was probably a growth spurt as it resolved by itself after 48 hours.

AFUS - DS is at daycare so there is quiet in the house which I'm absolutely loving as a change from normal. Went to see the MCHN today and Caitlin has put on another 300g so is FINALLY above birth weight. She weighs 4.52kg now. I'm so happy. MCHN is happy with my feeding and said comfortable positions will come in time. Now that attchment isn't so much of an issue she suggested just trying different holds once she was on and feeding well. So will try that over the next week or so as I've finding feeding out and about incredibly uncomfortable. Again it'll prob be easier when feeds drop from 45-50 mins to 20mins.

Getting more and more big cheeky smiles which is lovely. I'm hoping she's finaly asleep now as I've had to resettle her three times already. DS we swapped from settling him to him settling himself at 8 weeks. She'll self-settle at night but not so much during the day, need to hold her until she's asleep and then put her down (luckily usually only takes 5 mins but still).

It's hot.

Sundayj
Hi MOH: Who is 'Charlie 23' original.gif and how did you do your lovely sig?
Sundayj
Mercurial
SundayJ - charlie23 is the EB member who did the sig. If you search for her you can send her a PM with a photo of your little one and she'll do you a sig.

She did a great job didn't she.
Kitty-N
Hi Gals,

Wendy - re baby biotics, my sister cant remember the name of the chemist Im sorry. I think its kept in a fridge where they keep the inner health plus. The brand is bio ceuticals, so maybe that helps? Because its gotta be kept cold, I cant really send it to you, but I would if I could! Sorry, Im not much help am I!

MOH - so glad you are sticking with it, you've done well and it sounds like Caitlin is putting on nice weight there. I hope she continues on like that - its horrible when it takes so long to get back to thier birth weight (I feel your pain!!)

Jax - gotta agree on the Avent bottles, they are pretty darn good for wind problems. I am not sure whether its just that my girls are getting older and thier stomachs are maturing and coping better, but I do think a combination of Avent bottles (the BPA free ones of course!!) and baby biotics have really helped. Much less wind and crying now. OMG to the heater though... Ive got aircon on! Total opposite here in Bris, like MOH said.

Firstontheway - sux when they go back doesnt it. My DH went back at 4 weeks, and I was sooooo scared of being alone with both by myself. But we are doing fine now! Hope you have an ok time.

Hi Sarah, nice to meet you!!

A5TRID - Juliet had a goopy eye for weeks, she only just now seems to be better. Its annoying hey! Glad we are not alone. And Capsules - my saviour! Cant imagine getting two bubs out of car seats at this stage whilst sleeping.

sj - getting out of the house is really important I think. Even with two, I just make myself do it. But I am lucky that they are starting to sleep through now and are pretty good in general, so I guess that helps a lot. But I truly believe if you are stuck at home alone when DH goes back to work, I would personally go insane. But yeah, it does take it out of you hey! I went out everyday last week except monday, and by Saturday, I was feeling pretty tired!

Hello everyone else! Nothing new to report except my girls continue to smile more and more - Juliet is still pretty few and far between, but Annika is looking like a little manga cartoon character when she smiles! Its very cute. Will try to catch it on camera if Im quick enough. Anyhoo, wish me luck for tomorrow with thier needles, hoping it wont be too traumatic sad.gif
lovebeingmum74

I think you are all doing really well posting like you have so far.

I already recognise some names from 16th-31st Dec DIG which is lovely.

My details are:

lovebeingmum
Catherine
Sydney
DD: Anastasia 8th Dec 2009
DS: Alexander 26th Oct 2006

Sophie - would love to be added to the list.

We range from feeding every 4 hrs to every 1.5hrs taking an hour to feed etc.

3yr old gave up daysleeps a long time ago -- can't wait for preschool to start for first time in couple of weeks! But as tired as we are, very thrilled to have bub no.2 and a girl too.

Hope everyone is having a good day,

Catherine x
natasha77

Just a quickie as Henry is being a nightmare with his dinner and poor DH sounds pretty exasperated!

All good here, my biggest problem is feeling sad about not having the same time to simply sit and enjoy Finn as I had my Henry, being my first. So all the first time Mummas - sit and stare and coo and smooch your baby as its really so hard to find a moment next time around!!

Finn is feeding 3-4 hourly at night and having some awful evenings and some good ones - sometimes he latches on well and takes less wind and the difference it makes is huge.

Sorry - need to do dessert. BBL

Nxx
Quinston
Helloo!

Well ..... I survived day one on my own biggrin.gif . My little man slept most of the day, probably due to this insane heat! So I got time to do my thank you cards which I was mightily pleased about.

I caught a lovely pic of him smiling the other day ... not sure if this will work, but here goes!

Swaddling - we've just been using jersey wraps that we got from bigW. He seems to settle in them much better than muslin. 3 for $11!!

Spewing - oh my do we have a power spewer. Got spew all over us both 4 times in 24 hours. lots of baths and showers as a result rolleyes.gif might talk to GP about it on Wednesday. It's not projectile so I dont think it's serious .... just messy.

sleeping - feeding about 3 hourly during day and 4 hourly at night so I can't cvomplain ... although in the mornings he seems permanently attached to my boobs!

Right .... gtg get dinner.

newmum2max

Hoping I can join in here. Max (my first) was born on the 2nd of December. I'm loving being a Mum for the first time. Been going well so far, but having a few feeding dramas. He screams and fusses at most feeds, but seems to love EBM from a bottle.

My details are:

newmum2max
Tamsyn
Brisbane
DS: Max 2nd Dec 2009

Off to bed now, I'm absolutely exhausted closedeyes.gif
larms1
Hi Everyone,

It's such a relief to read that others are having the same problems as me. This is my 2nd week by myself and I have to say I'm struggling. This morning we had tears from both Archie & myself, he was hysterical, I assumed it was hunger however after struggling to feed him he was still unsettled. It wasn't until I changed his nappy that I discovered it was a poo explosion that was the problem. God I've got so much to learn.

I too am feeding every 2-4hrs, it just feels neverending. Does anyone else have the problem of their baby preferring one breast to another? And does anyone have any tips about how to get a baby to open their mouth wider to latch? I know Archie can open his mouth wide, I've seen it when he screams, he just isn't as keen when he's feeding! I think he must be going through a growth spurt as well, last night he emptied both breasts & then polished off 90mls formula, I couldn't believe it!

I'm using the Tommy Tippee bottles & he's not fussed on them, I have the car today for the first time (YAY, out & about ddance.gif) so I'll buy an Avent bottle & give it a go.

Archie has decided that after his 2/3am feed is a great time to play, so at 4.30 we are still up and the next feed is just around the corner.

I take my hat off to all you Mums who have toddlers and a little one, you guys are amazing.

Is anyone going away for the (sort-of) long weekend? We're off to the in-laws for an extended long weekend, I'm kinda dreading it as I feel like we're finally getting into a routine and I'm terrified it's all going to go to pot. Any tips on how to keep it on track?

Sorry I don't have much advice to offer in return for all the questions I'm asking.

Anyway I'm off to have my 30sec shower in preparation for a big day out, off to the local shopping centre. Yipppeee.
*jax*
larms1 - I have done that before re poo explosion. Wondered why Mia was fussing and then remembered to check her nappy biggrin.gif You sort of forget because it doesn't have a strong smell, wait until they start solids - then you can smell them from one end of the house to the other ffear.gif

Anyway I'm off to have my 30sec shower in preparation for a big day out, off to the local shopping centre. Yipppeee.

Well at least you are being water wise, lol. Have fun out and about today!

Hi newmum2max - our bubs share a birthday.

Hi lovebeingmum74

firstontheway - very cute. DD2 was a chucky baby, I smelt like vomit for the first year.

moh - are you getting any relief from the hot weather today? We have another mild day today thank goodness. I still have the heater on as it's a chilly morning again.

natasha - I agree, i would sit for hours and hold DD1. Now I'm rushing around doing this and that for everyone, although Mia isn't missing out on lots of attention as her older sisters are filling that gap. Early and late night feeding is my quality time with Mia, everything in the middle is a blur...

kitty - the girls sound wonderful! I have 18 month old twin nephews and they are lots of fun to be around. People say double the trouble but I always think twice as nice!

AFU - Booking in for Mia's needles in a fortnight, they are due next week but we are away on a holiday to the beach, yay. Cutting it a bit fine with three older girls due to start school on the following Monday when we get back but have been madly organising uniforms, books etc the last week. Plus, I figured it wouldn't be the first day of school without some sort of chaos roll2.gif

Enjoy your day ladies, bye.

madreader

I think Ryan has a cold sad.gif
It doesnt help that Canberra had a complete temperature change and he wasnt wearing enough, but when he woke Monday 4am he had a snuffly, gaggy cough, which he still has this morning. I bought a vaporazer yesterday which was on all night in his room, with some menthol in it, I am feeding him whenever he wakes and letting him take his time (1 hour), and trying to keep him warm without going completely over the top.
Its just awful when he is awake and you can hear the gunk at the back of his throat, he keep trying to cough it up and spit it up but its in the middle. Strangely his nostrils are clear so he is feeding relatively ok, and once asleep is sleeping ok, its just when hes awake he is miserable.

Any tips/suggestions appreciated.

Sorry for the me post, dont know how much time i have!
*jax*
Hi madreader. Poor Ryan, colds are no fun. Sit with a pillow on your lap and lay Ryan either on his tum or his side on a slight downwards incline (only slightly, not enough to have the blood rushing to his little head, lol) and tap/rub his back, if he doesn't like it then stop and prop him up on your shoulder. If he's sleeping and feeding well I wouldn't be too worried, it just sounds horrible, i know. Either way he will spit out whatever it is orally or it will come out the other end in his poo if he ends up clearing it by swallowing.

If you feel it is getting worse then maybe check it out with your GP or Health Nurse.

Maybe someone else has some suggestions.
~Mo+Moosh~
Morning ladies,

We have had a busy few days here. Jack turned 3 yesterday so we had a party for him on the weekend that ended up basically lasting all of Sunday. Then yesterday we went to Canberra to have some photos taken by a girl who I met in my EB parents group with Jack. Link to the pics: Photos I am really happy with how the few I have seen so far have turned out.

Hamish is only waking twice over night at around 2 and 5 but he is so hard to settle both times! Jack was always a dream and just fed and went back to sleep!

Madreader - I agree we have been having crazy weather. Saturday we had massive storms, Sunday was perfect and then yesterday and this morning have been so chilly! It's supposed to warm up now for the rest of the week.

Newmum2max - My DS Hamish was also born on the 2nd, must have been a great day for babies!

firstontheway - Hamish is a power spewer as well. I was at lunch with my parents at Huskisson during our holidays and Hamish vomited while feeding and it actually drenched through to my undies and hit my shoes! Not nice to have to clean up and harder still when you have no spare clothes (for myself not Hamish lol). Look at that smile! So cute.

Larms1 - While you are away try as much of your routine as possible without inhibiting your holiday. I usually find the night time routine is the easiest to maintain and you'll be surprised how easily bubs will slide back into your routine once you are home again.

Lovebeingmum - I have a three year old who doesn't sleep during the day either. That was hard when I first brought Hamish home.

Have a fun day!

Ally
sevb
Hello everyone!

I have been MIA for a bit been busy with a princess ibelieve going through another growth spurt... i think

has been wanting feeds every 2-2.5hours an not sleeping between hopefully only for a few days and will go back to normal as soon as possible...

will attempt some prsonals before little princess wakes up...

Mum2JC: Gorgeous photos!!! might do pics with Gunes in a couple of weeks, my sister is a photographer she did some at a few weeks old but will do nicer ones soon more plump hehehe also my husbands customer is a photographer and wants some for his portfolio so more pics yay looking forward to it original.gif Happy BIrthday to Jack!!!

Emma (MR): Poor Ryan i hope he gets better soon!!! sad.gif

newmum2max: welcome to the group original.gif

firstontheway: absolutely adorable catch in the pic!!

SuzieJ: well done one hand is better than none hehehe

ok best i could do now little princess has woken and is grunting! bbl mummies

xoxox

Mercurial
sevb - One of the tips in the breastfeeding section is to expect to be feeding constantly for the first six weeks and to not be at all alarmed if it's all you do. It certainly feels like that is the case. I'm going to ask my neighbour to try and do a few shots and she's a semi-prof photographer. They just got back from overseas so I'm giving her a week to settle back in first!

mum2jc - nice photos. An unsettled baby is the wee hours of the morning is such a trial. Caitlin has been wonderful in that respect but DS was a shocker. DH was constantly getting up when he heard me crying because I just couldn't get him to settle again after a feed. Sounds like the birthday party was fun! DS is 3 in February and I was looking at the cake books this morning and tyring to figure out where I'll find the time.

madreader - no good about the cold, poor little boy. sounds like you're doing all the right things. I love the vapourisers, we found ours fantastic when DS was sick. Lots of love and cuddles is one of the best medicines, when they're sick I found most sleeps were in my arms.

jax - bit cooler today thankfully. enjoy your trip to the beach. I don't mind missing the dramas of first day back at school but would be nice if DS was going to school!

larms - no good with the poo explosion. In relation to opening their mouths wide sometimes you just have to wait. They will get used to the fact that you won't even try to feed until they open their mouth wide. Some kids never open really wide though. Caitlin is pretty good most the time but if she's a bit tired then she's a struggle to get to open her mouth. We've got a bbq on with friends on Australia Day but that is it. DS is going to attempt to play golf. Routines can be hard when you're away, but newborns often don't have a full routine so in some respects it's a bit easier. Do what you can - feeding is the most important one to stick to so give people warning you'll need to feed in 30 mins so that just as you sit down to feed someone doesn't say let's go out or do this. Sleep, just try when you can. Helpful if they'll sleep in the car. Hopefully you'll have some extra willing hands to help with settling.

newmum2max - waves.gif

firstontheway - gorgeous pic! Caitlin's biggest smiles are after feeding (no big surprise there I guess) so I'll have to have the camera ready to catch one.

natasha77 - I've felt disappointed about that as well. No time to just sit and cuddle and coo at the baby. Also feel bad for DS because he isn't getting as much one on one attention either - feel like neither of them are getting the best.

lovingbeingamum- waves.gif

AFUS - Caitlin slept through again last night so that's 4 nights in a row. I'm hoping that trend is here to stay. She went down last night at 9.30 and up at 6.15 so pretty reasonable. I'll be trying to get her down earlier over the next few weeks. DS was going down at 7pm by about 10-12 weeks and I'm hoping to get Caitlin doing that as well becuase it means DH and I have some time together as adults. I don't even mind an earlier wake up if I can get her down earlier. But I'm incredibly lucky to have a baby sleeping through at 5 weeks so can't complain!

Got out to do groceries this morning and it went quite smoothly. Caitlin slept in the sling the whole time and DS stayed in the trolley (wonders will never cease) so I wasn't chasing him constantly. Both kids have just gone down for a sleep so I'm planning on finishing unpacking the groceries and trying to get a snooze in myself. DH is taking clients to the cricket tonight so I'm on my own. He's coming home first to quickly bath DS first so at least that's one thing that will be done. Bit nervous but probably the worst outcome will be that I don't eat dinner until after 9.
newmum2max
Finally had time to get on here. We've been having a bit of a shocker today. Max woke every two hours last night, but would only feed for about 4 minutes before refusing to feed any longer and falling fast asleep. By the time morning came around I was really cranky, luckily for me DH took him for a while and let me get some sleep. He's been unsettled most of the day too, he must have something going on. Not sure what though. He's sound asleep now and has been for over an hour, I'm making the most of it and getting some 'me time' in!

larms - lol re the poo explosion, I had that happen yesterday. Max did an exploding poo, but after I changed his nappy I noticed more poo on his leg. I thought I must have missed it when I was cleaning him up, but nope he'd done another massive poo. Two in twenty minutes, lucky me!

jax - 2nd of December sure is a great day! Can't believe you have the heater on again, we're having a heat wave in Brisbane. I am trying to hang out in the (airconditioned) bedroom as much as possible.

madreader - poor baby. I don't have any advice sorry, but I hope he starts to feel better soon. I am dreadin the first time that Max gets sick.

Mum2JC - gorgeous photos, the 2nd was definitely a great day for babies! Max wakes up at two and five as well (except for last night), at first he would settle really well after the 2am feed, but at the moment we struggle to get him to go back to sleep, the only way we can get him down is by holding him and rocking him for about 15 minutes. Hopefully he starts sleeping through at some point.

sevb - I hope that your little one settles back into a routine for you soon. The regular feeding isn't so bad, but when they won't sleep in between feeds the day can start to feel really long!

Mumofhayden - good luck tonight, I hope you manage to get a nap in.
suziej
Hi ladies waves.gif !! Lordy, it gets busy in here (and in the real world rolleyes.gif )

Welcome SJ - those first few weeks are both a blur and slow motion, I think!! How is your bigger boy going with the changes? 1kg at 3 weeks is very good doing - he is obviously in a fantastic paddock.

Hi there Sarah (sezzym) - glad to see you got here! I am contemplating a bub-a-hug type sling, as the side sling I have isn't cutting it for right now with Josette.

Hey Catherine (lovebeingmum74) - our 50th person on board!!!! Had to giggle at the image of another 73 lovebeingmums around! (well, that and you are 43 weeks pregnant in your ticker) - You are on the list.

Tamsyn (newmum2max)!!! (tapping myself on the side of the nose) - I know you in blogland, where you know me by my more in-jeanie-ous name! Glad to see you got here.

Lisa (larms) - how funny - some points really accurate there! I have updated your information on the list. The midwife got me to hold the baby with the opposite arm along her body controlling the back of her head and controlling the nipple with the other hand. A small amount of milk got expressed (to have milk and milk smell RIGHT THERE) and then the nipple pointed upwards slightly in front of her mouth but not allowed in until the mouth opened wide (touching the bottom lip will sometimes get the mouth to open wider) - and when all that happens (and all stars align) shove the mouth fully on!! Of course, if there is slippage, unclasp the nipple/mouth latch and do it all over again. Well worth the effort, however. I am at my sister's at the moment and routine is out the window - but you survive (so long as you don't have any "helpful" sideline commentary).

Gina (bubsies) - Merinda is a little younger than Josette, but there is no way I can "make" her burp either - however, we have sort of worked out a few things that will cause her to burp - unfortunately I have no magic rules, I am as surprised at J when it happens!! Good luck. Whenever I bring it up with any of the medical profession, they all say it will go the other end if it can't get out the top - which is such a handy phrase for them, I am sure - it says they have NFI either.

Rebecca (moh) - excellent news on Caitlin's feeding - really sounds like you have turned the corner there. Your poor DS (and poor you) - it must be so hard for toddlers to go from being centre of the universe to not being COTU, and when it coincides with being a fairly confrontational age it would drive a mother nuts, methinks. It is hard enough for a 10 year old to deal with not being COTU, and dealing with a 2.5yo without a baby is challenging. The only comment I can make is every day is a new day - you just gotta find wins wherever you can for all of you.

Trudie (kittyN) - the girls are smiling!! That brought a smile to my face, and no doubt makes any bad moments truly liveable. Amazing they are 2 months old already.

Tabytha (m2m) - oh no to "Chucker" doing a modern art installations!!

SundayJ - wouldn't it be lovely if we could all afford to have the hands-on-husbands year round!

Emma (madreader) - did he? Oh, and sorry to hear your little one has a cold. sad.gif Weather changes can really catch you out. Lots of cuddles is my only suggestion.

Astrid - good tip about the swaddling - tried it last night and was successful with a muslin (was too hot for flannel).

Chrystal (firstOTW) - what a gorgeous picture of your little man! It does take some explaining what you have done all day, when all day is laundry and breastfeeding!

Jax - that blue eye gene can sneak through if you both have some recessive in there somehwere. We are waiting to see what J has - very dark grey from the outset, which could go either way.

Natasha - Oh I remember toddler dinner-time - not something I am looking forward to 2nd time around. My recommendation is plenty of space between children!

Ally (M2JC) - Happy Birthday Jack! Gorgeous shots! That is a rule for young players, isn't it, the spare clothes for yourself!! I learned when I had a power explosion with dd1 from the other end one time.

Seval - finding time to do anything during sleeps that don't always "stick" is a problem, hey?

And us?

Well, we are currently at my sister's, which is 200km away from "home" - Josette was a real sqwarker when we got here, and put her cousin (5 days difference) to shame in the noise department!

She was weighed and measured before we left - 4.65kg (so up 600g in 4 weeks) and 60cm, so I shouldn't have worried so much about not feeding her enough for growth!

I also asked the midwives about lumps, as I had some very painful ones in the aftermath of a very shocking Saturday night "waiting for pooh-oh" and was avoiding one nipple she was trying to do some damage to - she did clear it naturally on Sunday afternoon (and the next lot yesterday morning). The midwife suggested different holds if there was any buildup.

Today she has been pretty unsettled, but to be expected given the new environment. List follows...

The December 2009 Parents Group List
December 09 Parents #1
Biene-Maja posted Dr Karp’s 5 S’s
Sophie posted link for the recipe in the breastfeeding section for BF cookies
... and a link for recipezaar's recipe for BF cookies

December 09 Parents #2
Sev posted Colic Cure (aka vacuum cleaner sounds)
Erica posted information on Vasospasm
Biene-Maja posted instructions for swaddling with a miracle blanket

December 09 Parents #3
Natasha posted information on the Sleepywrap
Ali did likewise for the Mobywrap

December 09 Parents #4

*iwanttobakesomebuns*
AKA: Lauren
Harry George (9/12/09)
(1-15 December)

*sj*
Boy (16/12/09)
(16-30 December)

~ Fifi ~
Lily Rose (30/11/09)
DS5 and DS3
(1-15 December)

45TR1D
AKA: Astrid
Adam (16/12/09)
DS2
(1-15 December)

Alibaba~81
AKA: Ali
Lucy Madeleine (17/12/09)
(1-15 December)

Amanda_JB
AKA: Amanda
Mitchell Riley (17/12/09)
2 DS
(16-30 December)

Amylou222
AKA: Amy
Georgia Susan (28/12/09)
(16-30 December)

Amysha
Emily Louise (17/12/09)
1 DD
(16-30 December)

Ange
Simone (29/12/09)
1 DD, 1 DS
(16-30 December)

Audrey_baby
AKA: Audrey
Abigail Sabina (30/12/09)
(16-30 December)

ausktl
AKA: Kate
Oliver Graeme Pereira (15/12/09)
(1-15 December)

Biene-Maja (Maren)
Alexis Therese (27/11/09)
DD2 Lucia
(1-15 December)

Bubsies
AKA: Gina
Merinda (24/12/09)
DS3 Hayden
(16-30 December)

CanberraCath
AKA: Cath
Jared William (24/12/09)
DD2
(16-30 December)

checkingboxes
Sebastian Jude (9/12/09)
(1-15 December)

Eckstar
AKA: Erica
Brendan (18/12/09)
(16-30 December)

eeyoreangel
AKA: Jill
Charlotte Anne (16/11/09)
DS2.5
(1-15 December)

Firstontheway
AKA: Chrystal
Quinlan Sean Kimber (9/12/2009)
(1-15 December)

great8
AKA: Vanessa
Nicholas Joseph (30/11/09)
DD12, DS11, DD10, DD3, DD2
(16-30 December)

Hoping4bubsin09
AKA: Wendy
Lachlan Thomas (18/12/09)
DD11
(1-15 December)

house~of~blue
AKA: Peta
Jessica Maree (5/12/09)
3 DS
(16-30 December)

Jax
Mia (2/12/09)
3 DD
(1-15 December)

JoIsMe
Seren Elizabeth (7/12/09)
(16-30 November)

Jules247
AKA: Julie
Joshua Jack (23/12/09)
(16-30 December)

katchababi
AKA: Katrina
Joshua Michael (23/12/09)
DS2
(16-30 December)

Katiebelle
Alyssa Paige (14/12/09)
DD2
(16-30 December)

Kendall
AKA: Kendall
Tyler James (4/12/09)
1 DS
(16-30 December)

Kitty-N
AKA: Trudie
Annika Celeste & Juliet Emilia (16/11/09)
(1-15 December)

larms1
AKA: Lisa
Archie Campbell
(16-30 December)

Learner
AKA: Kirsten
Elliot Owen (20/12/09)
(1-15 December)

Lissiloo
AKA: Liss
Jackson (9/12/09)
2 DD
(16-30 December)

lovebeingmum74
AKA: Catherine
Anastasia (8/12/09)
DS3
(16-30 December)

M2max
AKA: Tabytha
Charlie (30/12/09)
DS3 Max
(16-30 December)

madreader
Ryan William (3/12/09)
(1-15 December)

mich*mum2three*
AKA: Mich
Jasper Louis (19/11/09)
DS4, DD3, DS 15m
(1-15 December)

missM
AKA: Meredith
Seth Thomas (21/12/09)
DD10
(1-15 December)
Mum2JC
AKA: Ally
Hamish (2/12/09)
DS3
(1-15 December)

mum2kieranandcharlotte
AKA: Julia
Isabelle Anita (15/12/09)
DS7, DD 18m
(16-30 December)

mummybec
AKA: Bec
Erin Ruby (20/12/09)
DS3
(16-30 December)

mummyof*3*
AKA: Mel
Jade Imogen (4/1/10)
4 DD
(16-30 December)

mumofhayden
AKA: Rebecca
Caitlyn Michelle (12/12/09)
DS2
(1-15 December)

natasha77
AKA: Natasha
Finn (23/12/09)
DS
(16-30 December)

Nessiegirl
AKA: Vanessa (Ness)
Summer Jane (11/12/09)
(16-30 December)

newmum2max
AKA: Tamsyn
Max (2/12/09)

Piñata
AKA: Tess
Asha Piper (22/12/09)
4 DD
(16-30 December)

Sevb
AKA: Seval
Aliya Gunes (9/12/09)
(1-15 December)

sezzym
AKA: Sarah
Sydney
James Lachlan (27/12/09)
(16-30 December)

Soma79
AKA: Paula
Connor (13/12/09)

Sundayj
Banjo (16/12/09)
DD14, DS11, DS8
(16-30 December)

suziej
AKA: Sophie
Josette Ruth (21/12/09)
DD10
(1-15 December)

Weenybaby
AKA: Katie
Benjamin Liam (10/12/09)
(16-30 December)
Kitty-N
Suziej - AWESOME list, as always! You never cease to amaze me with your brilliant record keeping!!

Vaccinations today - wasnt too bad but Anni has a slight temp now and is not herself. Hard to tell with Juliet, since she is the one who usually sooks a lot, so no change there! When I took the cotton wool off Anni before, I swear she sounded like I was murdering her! hate to think what the neighbours thought... I havent been game to take Juliets off after that - might leave that for daddy when he gets home lol.

As for the sleeping through, after a week and half of having a good 5-7 hours sleep, Juliet decided last night to wake every 3 hours. Hoping its just a growth spurt...

Better go - cranky babies!
natasha77

Wow its been busy in here!

sorry for not being in for a few days. I've been finding the juggle of two more than I had expected and was feeling down in the dumps and beating myself up over not enjoying Finn enough.

Ridiculously, my DH had a day at work today (he's off work till the beginning of March) and the day was easier and better!! So weird as he is GREAT and does so much, he basically looks after Henry and I do Finn.... so it makes absolutely no sense and he is a bit offended... but I told another friend this and she whole heartedly agreed with me, for some reason its just easier to do it solo. Perhaps its just a state of mind thing. I just got on with the day and didn't have the chance to sigh and pass Finn to someone to pee LOL and I was more able to manage the day. I guess getting one less person out the door helps. Weird, but nice to know that it's more than do-able by myself. I was starting to wonder!!

I even went out for a walk to the park for Henry today and every other day getting out has taken so long its almost not worth it.

Some random woman called out to me to 'take it easy you've just had a baby!' when she walked past me while I was pushing both boys in the Mountain Buggy double. I'm sorry - who are you to comment!!? She obviously thought I was out exercising and being a mad woman obsessed with her weight, which made me so mad. I was wearing jeans and ballet flats - not exactly out for a run!! I had just put Henry into the pram after he had walked a loooong way with me and was pushing the boys up a reasonable hill and I was puffing with the effort. Grrr, it really got to me that she dare lecture me as she breezed past (downhill LOL) not knowing me from a bar of soap!! I haven't done one moment of exercise since having Finn and have been waiting for the 4 week mark (tomorrow) and even then, I am too tired to think about it!! So mind you own darned business random lady!!

Sorry for the rant, it really bugged me. I felt like turning around and telling her all of the above! LOL

Finn is feeding now at 9/9.30 then 1am and 3 am and I'm up for an hour both times. How I wish I could move his longer stretch because Henry wakes between 6.30 and 7 most mornings, so its just not long enough after that morning feed and the last 2 days Finn has wanted to feed again at 5.30ish! It is torture.

He's not feeding too well in the day, snacks all morning and has a good 'afternoon tea' feed and a good and ongoing dinner... but I try everything in the day to get him going and get so little response. I know it'll all sort itself out and it will change... but 4 hours sleep a night is not cutting it.

I know some girls have it worse, so sorry to complain... i'm not good with so little sleep!

Sorry for the big me me me post. I will get back in and do personals!! I have to confess to not having the time right now to read too far back. Tomorrow will be better.

Hope everyone is good out there. We have Finn's 4 week check tomorrow so I'll update on his size. He is now in 00 Bonds suits... though he's also in cloth nappies now his thighs are less scrawny and they add a fair bit of bulk, but gee he seems like a big boy!!

Tash xx
Audrey_baby
Sorry long time between posts but I have a very good reason. Also, only short personals cause I have a lot to say and not much time to type it Tounge1.gif

larms1 - had the exact same problem with Abigail myself, this week though she's getting better, just put it down to persistence in teaching her to open up, but still, it is pretty much a skill tester!

bottles - Currently using the Tommee Tippee ones, not really seeing wind as being much of an issue. I haven't noticed Avent advertising BPA free bottles, anyone got a link?

AFM, well I'm only just a few days out of hospital, again.... why you ask? well lets get started.

I had perviously posted I was going to a infant feeding support program, it runs from 9-3pm so the nurses can observe you over several feeds. During the first feed, nurse notices a 'discolouration' on Abigail's arm. Never noticed it before myself, and well, it looked like a bruise. Nurse says she has to report all bruises, I said sure, sounds like due process. Her superior comes in, nice lady, says she's called the Child Advocacy doctors at the Royal Children's Hospital and they want us to go in straight away. Starting to get a little concerned now, but ok sure, it's a public hospital won't cost us anything and she gets top medical attention.

So hubby and I leave the program and head into the hospital, Abby gets weighed, blood samples taken, x-rayed and generally poked and prodded. They said they're admitting her for a few days due to low weight gain and the suspected bruise. OK starting to stress out now.

Get up to the ward and whole groups of doctors come in to see us (and lots of nurses). They get their head paedatrician doctor who says to my husband (and not to me btw) that they've called the Police. Now at this point, I totally lost it. omg they think we hurt our child. Now I understood from the start why they do these things cause well some ppl actually do abuse children. Being tired, having attachment problems, her not gaining weight, hormones and now this bruise - yeah I was a mess. I said to hubby call your parents in asap (they're both lawyers) cause I'm not in a very stable state right now.

So two detectives eventually arrive, hubby gets interviewed, although he tried to delay it until parents arrived but they were just a little late, and after I finished feeding I get interviewed. Two male cops, just asked me to describe everything that had happened since leaving the hospital where she was born. Said I don't know how she could have gotten a bruise, we have been with family all weekend, could have been the car seat maybe.

Doctors said they're keeping her in till she gains weight and to observe the bruise. 'bruise' never changes colour so they re-evaluate their initial prognosis to a hemangioma (like a wierd birth mark). Social worker comes to see us, said cops were here again, I broke down, again thinking they were going to take my daughter off me. Man just typing this brings tears again. Anyway turns out cops stuffed up and weren't meant to come back (two females this time). Child protection officer came too, said she had to make a house visit to our house. Got informed by social worker that our name will be on a child protection case file now which well was going to happen but still, emotional me couldn't take it.

Ended up staying there for 6 days, didn't get a bed just a recliner. Every day hoped Abby gained enough weight for us to go home, eventually last Saturday they gave us the all clear to go home. Requested that they write on the discharge summary what the mark on her arm was so we don't have this happen again. Had to see them yesterday and got another appointment next month. So kinda glad it's not a bruise but bloody hell, wasn't a pleasant experience and I hate to think of what would have happened had it actually been a bruise. Had some positives from it all, got to see more lactation nurses and now can feed pretty good off left boob. But now bubs and I have thrush (which they didn't diagnose till yesteday) so was in a LOT of pain until we got medication and tomorrow off to the feeding program again - hopefully will without drama this time.

Sorry for the length - but wanted to relay this experience. Much love to you all and your babies original.gif
Amysha
oh my god audry-baby ........ ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif
big hugs to you. That sounds so stressful, does that really happen for every blemish a child might have? That is frightening. I would be a mess too. As if being a new mummy isn't hard enough to have to go through all that sad.gif I hope it's all uphill from here.

Kitty-N
OMG Audrey Baby - you poor thing!! What an ordeal. I hope you are ok after that - I would be so upset. The thing is, sure, they have an obligation to look into stuff like that, but there are so many poor bubs out there who are being abused/neglected that fly under the radar, and yet here you are, trying to sort out Abby's feeding, and somehow you get hauled into that scenario. I am glad its sorted now, but you should not have had to go through all that sad.gif
*jax*
Audrey_baby - oomg2.gif oomg2.gif oomg2.gif Are you OK? I'm in shock just reading that. I can understand the reason why doctors report things (and that's a good thing) but shouldn't they get the prognosis right before taking action. I'm sorry you, DH and bubby had to go through this.
I have the Avent BPA free bottles - (I think I got them through Chemist Warehouse online)

madreader - how is Ryan feeling?
mummy2Ali*Lachie
OMG audrey baby I am so sorry you went through that I understand the reasoning behind it but it must have been terrible. Big hugs!!!

Hello to all ....wow 50 of us!!!

well other than that no perssies from me....went to see the paed today and they have put Lachlan on Nan ha1 formula and zantac said he has relfux and the formula should help with wind...he/they also told me to use avent bpa free bottles. The bpa free version are a goldie kind of colour so I am off to get some tomorrow...my sis kindly bought two normal avent bottles so I at least have two for tonight!!! So we shall see if it makes him a happier bub...but he's actually a very happy little boy now when he is happy just very grumpy too!! Best go boobs still filling up and giving me grief...forth bout of mastitis in eight weeks!!!! Any hints and tips for drying up would be great!!!
nessiegirl
Audrey Baby - big hugs - what an ordeal...

hhugs.gif

I was almost crying reading what happened myself.. I could not imagine anything worse....

AFUS - visitors have finally left (left last night) after staying with us since the start of December. Tommorrow I will be getting the house back into order - and then enjoying some quite time with Miss Summer on the couch.

Will be able to catch up on all the stories and post more ...

biggrin.gif
Mercurial
audrey-baby - I am so sorry to hear you went through all this. It is in one way reassuring that these things get looked into but so horrendous for a new mother to go through. But as if a new mum (and dad too) don't have enough to go through with hormonal changes, lack of sleep, feeding issues and then to have to go through that. Caitlin dropped down to 500g below birth weight and has only this week (5 weeks) got to above birth weight again so some babies do take a while to get going well, especially if you're having problems with feeding (as I was too). To think that only a mark on the arm separated your story from my story and it caused so much drama for you. I hope the feeding continues to settle (the last week and a half has seen an improvement for me) and the weight starts to go on quickly as it's reassuring to see the scales go up.

hoping - hope the zantac does the trick and settles the reflux down. As for drying your milk up - you need to express as little as possible, though after 4 bouts of mastitis I can understand you're a little hesitant to let the milk build up much. I believe there are tablets you can get to dry your milk up, may be worth speaking to your GP about to try and avoid more mastitis.

AFUS - Caitlin is finally down after a 2 hour feed. Only stopped for about 15 mins in all that time. I started feeding her at 7.20 so though great she'll be fast asleep by 8.30 - pfft it was 9.40 when I put her down!
Frau Farbissina
Audrey baby - what an awful experience you guys have had to go through! hhugs.gif Glad though that at least you got the feeding well and truely sorted - too bad about the thrush though. Hope it clears up soon!

Well, last night I got the best sleep that I've had in many months! Adam slept from 10:00pm- 5:30am, had a feed and then off to sleep again until 9:30. Lucas didn't wake up until about 9am (really unusual as he's normally up from somwhere between 5:50am and 6:30am). So we got a sleep in - heaven!!

Today I got an invite to a friend's hens party in a few weeks, which will be wine tasting tour. Sounds like fun, and thus I finally found the motivation to go buy a breast pump. I ended up getting the electric Medela and I bought some BPA free Tommee Tippee bottles that are supposed to be shaped for breastfeedig bubs. I tried it out when I got home, and expressed about 90mls, then fed it to Adam. He just accepted the bottle almost straight away and polished off the milk pretty quickly. So, it's a good start, and I'm pleased because this means a little bit of me time much earlier than when I was bf'ing Lucas. I'm pretty sure it was a year or so before I got out on my own for more than a hour with him.

So a couple of questions for those pumping:
* When do you find is the best time to pump?
* How do you store it? If freezing, in what quantities? In what container?
* How do you defrost it?
* Would you add the milk from one pumping session to the milk from a different time, or do you keep each lot separate?

Emma (Madreader) - hope Ryan is better soon. I found that whe Lucas got colds in the first 6 mths, they seemed to clear up really quickly. The vaporiser is great. I think we'll have to buy a second one, as I anticipate the huge potential of Lucas and Adam having colds at the same time...

hoping4bubsin09 - ouch to the mastitis again! you'll be so happy when your milk finally dries up. I was just thinking: oats and linseed can help milk production - are you eating them? (porridge, linseeds in bread?) If you are, maybe cut them out and see if that helps reduce milk?

natasha77 - i also find it easier a lot of the time doing things solo - I get to do things at my pace and Lucas is generally calmer. When DH is home Lucas is more rambunctious.

well that's it from me, it's after 11, and I should go to bed, no guarantee's that we'll get another good night of sleep (although fingers crossed....)

take care all!
sezzym
Audrey_baby - OMG you poor thing, what terrible experience. i really think that even though they were looking out for your baby's welfare, there are ways of going about it, and the way they did leaves a lot to be desired! glad you are sorting out the feeding

45TR1D - i have the medala swing, so far have only pumped after a feed, so don't get too much each time, maybe 20/30 mls...so i've collected a few times in a day(only done it one or 2 days). got 80mls on monday...mum warmed it up to give it to him yesterday and he wasn't keen to take it unfortunately, so i had to feed him anyway :-( i wasn't sure whether you cld refrigerate for later use after heating??

so far i have only kept it in the fridge....have freezer bags, but haven't tried them yet....tempted to keep persevering....me time wld be awesome....i'm struggling with being on tap around the clock.
suziej
Sezzy - fresh pumped milk lasts 24 hours in the fridge, 3 months in the freezer - my sister recommended using regular freezer bags for this (she had to pump for a hospitalised baby) - this may be why his nose turned up at the EBM?

Astrid - as above, freezer bags (not sure of the political correctness, but you can write on them when used). I pump (have an Avent Isis manual pump) generally about an hour after a feed - if there have been a few hours I can get upwards of 100ml otherwise 60-80ml.

Audrey - I can understand the need for a certain level of heavy-handedness in cases where warranted, but goodness, where is the proof a crime has been committed (let alone the presumption of innocence) in such a scenario? Did you get an apology? I would want them to wipe you from any database given there was nothing to suggest your little one was harmed, let alone by you. Would that affect any blue card situations in the future? You poor thing - lots of hugs, and proof again that the guilty slip more with ease through such bureaucracy than the accused.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.