The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: February 08 Parents # 70

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=750777

mygorgeousboy
GOLD !!!!!
tortagianduia
ddance.gif

SILVER!!!
ginnyk
Bronze !!

Seems like ages since we had a new thread original.gif

Amanda - sorry about this month, hope you are ok, and here's hoping that next month is the special one...

We are off to NZ tomorrow for 2 weeks, woo hoo. Just a mountain of work to finish before we leave.

Claire - I guess we will just miss you, I'll wave as we pass each other in the air lol. And I checked out your blog after everyones comments - just beautiful! I'm dying to buy a sewing machine! Must remember that I failed sewing in high school....

Hi to everyone, and I'd better get back to work.

It sux not having a computer at home at the moment...

see you in 2 weeks

xo

Liz27

Once again, I have to apologise for not posting more often, the day just seems to fly by and I find myself going constantly from one little boy to the other.

Megan, can you please add my DS to the birthday list? Lachlan was born on 4 Feb 2008. Not sure what other info you need or want?

Amanda, I am so sorry that this was not your month. I am still keeping everything crossed for you.

Beds, Lachie is still in the cot at the moment. We have bought him a bed, but just have to put it together and get him moved into there. I am hoping to have it done before his birthday, as we are going to Sydney the day after his birthday and in the apartment he will be sleeping on a trundle bed, as Alex will be in the cot, so want him to have a bit of practice before then.

TT'ing, we haven't started here yet, as I was thinking that Lachie was no where near ready. However, the last few days he has been saying "wee wee" and then touching the front of his nappy, so I am guessing that he is starting to realise when he is doing a wee. Hasn't done it with poo yet though. Am not going to start doing anything yet, as I don't want to be TT'ing while we are in Sydney, as I have no ideas where toilets are and I don't want to be carting a potty around, but if he continues with it, will make a start when we come back.

Birthday party, not sure whether we are going to do anything this year. As I said before we are flying out to Sydney for a wedding the day after his birthday and have another wedding to go to the weekend before here in Adelaide, so may just do a small family lunch. But we are taking him to Taronga Zoo while we are in Sydney, so that will be a nice day out for his birthday.

I can't remember what else I read in the last thread now and I have to go and get ready to go to Mum's group. Hope everyone has a great day.
tortagianduia
Well, AF hasn't turned up yet. I became hopeful again and retested with a FR this afternoon rolleyes.gif - another BFN.gif. I guess I will retest tomorrow if still no AF... If it isn't going to be my month, I wish AF would just turn up so I can get on with the next cycle.

Ginny, hope you have a great time in NZ!

Liz, Taronga Zoo sounds like a great idea! Good luck with moving Lachie into his big bed - hopefully he'll love it!
tortagianduia
It's my eldest boy's birthday today - 15yo biggrin.gif !!! How old does that make me sound laughing2.gif?! We have my mum and grandmother coming over for morning tea, so I had better go and tidy the place up a bit shortly...

So... AF was due yesterday, and still hasn't showed. I have had 13 day luteal phases for the past 3 cycles (since I started ovulating again). Even the cycle where I got definite BFPs - AF still arrived right on time. No idea what is going on. My temperature is still above the coverline, but has been lower the past 2 days. I retested this morning using FMU and an IC and a FR - both BFN.gif. So just waiting...

Have a great day, everyone!
~Simply*Blue~
Happy Birthday to Jordan original.gif Hope you and he have a great day

Good luck also, just thinking aloud here but do you think it's possible you actually o'd on day 40 if not 41?

We are hoping to get our car back today, waiting for dh to call. He went and checked up on it last week and the guy said it would be ready this week, and well it's the last day so I hope so!
RedsGirl
Hi ladies

Happy birthday to Jordan !!

Amanda - sorry it doesn't seem to be your month - it looked so hopeful. I don't know how you do it, given I conceive in a very controlled environment where others tell me where to be and when, I don't think I could hande it doing it myself.

Claire - yes!!! I have seen that pan. I am hiring it and making the cake myself (though I'd do the white choc mudcake as a rainbow cake) and then getting a family friend to ice it for me. Just planning the other dishes to make as well - found a few nice ones on taste.com.au

Little Tom is just gorgeous by the way (as is Evie, always)

Rebecca
- bet it will be good to have your car back! Hope it is today, ready for the weekend.

Liz - I will add Lachie, no worries.

I'd love to add in all the siblings too, I'll have a go but may be some wrong or miss some, so be nice!!

Ginny - you won't see this but we will be in NZ when you are, I am hoping it won't be TOO hot as Auckland can get humid and I am suffering a bit. But then I want it to be warm as we are going to the Coromandel for a few days as well, and love to gt some beach time in.

Sary - that sounds awful and I'd be shaking too. I hope you take this the right way, but on the flip side with all these news stories around at the moment, it is reassuring that there are people who actually care and woudl do something - esp when some of these parents claim they forgot their child was in the car (ie they weren't watching the time or the car like you were). I read that a car even on a 25 degree day can hit 55 degrees within 10-15 mins, so while he certainly could have been a bit more non-aggro about it, I am sure his mind/heart was in the right place.

AFM - yes, I have an underactive thyroid.. had a repeat blood test this week and back to the doctors on Monday to look at meds. Had a nasty nasty gastro early this week so am putting off my HYCOSY until next month as I had a bad reaction to the last one. Oh and back to the dentist next week too as one of my teeth is turning black ohmy.gif

Thinking of getting Mimie a stand up easel thing for her birthday, what is everyone else doing?

ANd need to update my blog, its been AAAAAAGES!!

Will BBL with updated list.

tortagianduia
I'm back with news... AF has arrived ddown.gif. I'm glad to not still be waiting, but bit sad it wasn't my month after all. I liked the idea of a September due date. I am hoping I will ovulate earlier this cycle, then maybe I'll be in with a better chance for a BFP.
mygorgeousboy
Amanda, I'm sorry that AF showed up. I was secretly hoping that all of the tests you did were just duds. On a positive you'll get to use those pretty pads. original.gif Oh and HAPPY BIRTHDAY JORDAN...... biggrin.gif

Megan, We are getting H an easel for his birthday too. He loves painting, so i'm sure it will be a hit.

Rebecca, Enjoy the car. Oh and gorgeous new sig original.gif

Had my bloodtests this morning and going for scan next week,. Has ms for the last couple of days and after not having it AT ALL with H i now understand just how yuck it is. sad.gif Anyway should search through the fridge and see what i can whip together for dinner. Dh is working so it just me and the litte guy original.gif

Hope you all have a lovely weekend xx
~Simply*Blue~
I am so sorry Amanda sad.gif
babybump2
Sorry Amanda sad.gif I was hoping the tests were wrong too! Happy Happy Birthday to Jordan.

Megan - yes didn't take your words the wrong way. This man did think he was doing the right thing (by my kids). I am over it now... I think. It was just the way he went about it was TERRIBLE! And yes cars certainly do get hot. And it was just after incredibly hot hot hot days... like 40 degrees.... so that was probably in his head too. Although this day was really mild. Good ol Melbourne weather from one extreme to another. But I am always on the radar for my kids... to the point of paranoia at times. So I really did take offense as I still believe with all my heart that I hadn't done anything wrong. Anyway anyway - move on I am telling myself again!

Eeek on the gastro! You poor thing! That is such a rotten bug! An easel for Mimie sounds cuuutee!

Holly - sorry to hear that ms is kicking in sad.gif And yes I showed SOOOOOO much earlier with number 2!

Just back from The Princess and The Frog with 2 little 4 year old princesses! original.gif Macy and her best mate dressed up as princesses. I was taking my friends daughter who has just had her 3rd baby. Was great to have a bit of girly time!

And Beau and DH had a bit of boy time too - which was cute. Happy Friday everyone waves.gif

tortagianduia
Just uploaded a couple of pics to the blog... original.gif
tortagianduia
Morning girls! This afternoon will be my first day back at work after 4 weeks off cry1.gif. It'd be nice if they phone to say they don't need me, but the ward has re-opened, so I don't think there is much chance of that. Coen's birthday falls on a Sunday this year, so I must remember to find out from my manager today if I can have that day off. Otherwise we'll have a little party for him on the Saturday.

I ordered a couple of pressies for him from Bambini Pronto late last week... a wooden puzzle, wooden maracas, this 'clogging track' and a 'turn 'n' sort' shape sorter. I also ordered a name puzzle from Mooo - I think you got one for Hudson last year, didn't you, Holly? I have been meaning to get one for quite some time.

Rebecca, are you still waiting to get your car back? Must be so frustrating without it!

Megan, sorry to hear you have been so sick - I hope you are starting to feel better now. It is good that your underactive thyroid was picked up now.

Holly, sorry to hear ms has officially struck. I hope it eases off soon for you. What day is your scan? How exciting!!!

Sary, did the girls enjoy the movie? How cute them both getting dressed up for it!

I hope everyone has a great week!
~Simply*Blue~
Amanda yeah still waiting, hopefully this afternoon if not he said tomorrow at the latest. It is really getting annoying now.

Hope work goes quickly for you.
claireabell

quiet here lately. quickie from me as DS is just about due for a sleep...

We went and saw a paed yesterday for DS. he has been unwell with a cough and stridor since about 7 weeks old (now 4.5 months). After ruling out a whole bunch of stuff over the last couple of months (croup, bronchiolitis, pneumonia) he's now been diagnosed with laryngomalacia. The cough & stridor will hang around until he is 6-12 months old! bloody hell! still, it's a relief to know what's going on and that's it's not too serious.

other than that, all good here. will BBL when i have more time to post.
~Simply*Blue~
Claire Cooper has Laryngomalacia as well.

eta that I think Talon had it when he was younger too but went undiagnosed. He had bad reflux up til about 12 months and a bad stridor during this time too. It did seem to disappear after he turned 1 but does still gag on his food a bit. He's getting better at that though.
claireabell
Thanks Rebecca

Does Cooper have reflux too? DS does and I'm wondering if they're related... Does he have a bad cough too? DS's seems to get better, then worse etc. I'd never heard of it before DS was diagnosed
~Simply*Blue~
No Cooper doesn't have reflux although I was told that at around 6 months it may develop as it gets worse around this time. He hasn't got a really bad cough but he does seem to cough while he's lying on his back, I assume that's from when his windpipe 'flops'. He also only seems to have his stridor when he's lying on his back as well.

Talon used to have a cough though, used to drive me nuts, but now I realise that's probably what it was from.

mygorgeousboy
Off to do a quick google, i have no idea what you girls are talking about. blush.gif

Claire, glad you finally got a diagnosis though.

Hope everyone else is well. Just kicking along nicely here. DS has been just devine lately, Told me this morning "Mummy Boootiful" wub.gif i could of kissed 100000000000 times.

moo~tickle
hey all
not much doing here. cameron has his first daycare cold and madison is cutting new teeth - those huge 2nd set of nasty molars. just normal times at my place lol. she does have terrible red raw nappy rash though. took her to dr who prescribed hydrozole but she cries every change, telling me its sore, no cream. anyone got any ideas? she is miserable about it

kids going well at daycare - cameron is the fave with his big eyes and huge smile. this morning when i walked in about 6 kids came over and were all patting him original.gif

im ok, total weight loss at 24kg at the moment. im in clothes i was wearing pre madison which makes me feel good but still a long way to go.

is everyone getting excited for the 2nd birthdays? i cant believe my little bub is now a big girl - where has the time gone?

sorry about the me post. have a lovely day
~Simply*Blue~
Brooke try sprinkling cornflour over her nappy rash instead of cream. And as much nappy free time as you can get.

And congratulations on 24kg, a great accomplishment, well done original.gif
RedsGirl
Brooke - please tell me your secret....

I've started my oroxine today, so hopefully in a week or so I will stop feeling so tired and maybe some of my weight will begin to shift.

When Mimie's had a bad nappy rash attack we use Desitin, slather it on and it clears up within 24 hours. Nappy free time is good too and keep anything perfumed away - maybe just use a cloth and water to clean her bum rather than wipes.

Claire - sorry to hear about wee Tom... the upside at least you have something concrete and that is should go away.

I am excited about Mimie's birthday - its birthday season for us at the moment, mine was on the 2nd, Mum's was on 18th, Red's today and fianlly Mimie's on the 7th. Oh an apprently its my parent's ruby wedding anniversary on the 24th. How they lasted that long is beyond me! The only thing worrying me is we are off to NZ next Wednesday and get back on the 3rd and I am wondering if I've left myself enough time to get organised for her party! We are thinking of splurging and getting an Elmo jumping castle. Mimie LOVES them and with only a few kiddies they'd actually all get a decent turn and without the kamikazes we've seen at other parties.

OK, lots to do so over and out from me!
mygorgeousboy
Morning Girls,

Brooke, i second the Desitin cream. I find it works really well. Awesome job on the weight loss. tthumbs.gif

Megan, Wow lots of birthdays this time of year for you guys. And i bet Mimie would LOVE the jumping castle. tongue.gif

Not much happening here with us. 8 weeks today and going for a scan tomorrow. Obvioulsy we didn't have H in this town so I'm a little confused about Ob's etc. There is only 1 ob in this town and nearly everyone who has mentioned him says "do not go to him"...So my other option is travelling to Canberra which is about 1hr away. Hmmm i don't know. I might give the hospital a ring and maybe get some options. Anyway hope you are all having a nice day. Its a hot one here.
mygorgeousboy

Very quiet in here....

So just had to tell you all i had my scan today and saw a little heartbeat 150 bpm wub.gif Baby is measuring exactly 8wks 1 day (which i already knew) and my due date is spot on. I really forgot just how little they are at this stage. Only 16mm. So tiny. Makes me kinda feel guilty for already looking pregnant. blush.gif Anyway just had to share because DH and I still haven't told anyone else. Hope you all have a fab weekend. xx
~Simply*Blue~
Aaaw so little congratulations Holly!
babybump2
Oh Yay! Yay! Yay! Holly that is super exciting! happy.gif

Ohhhhh I miss that excitement. Cluck cluck cluck!!

For some exciting news of my own.... (no not pregnant! hee hee!)

My Mum and Dad are coming to stay for Beau's birthday!!!! ddance.gif I am sooooooo excited! It feels soooo long since I saw them last.

Hope everyone is having a wonderful weekend. I took the kids to the zoo yesterday. It was awesome. The new enclosure for the seals is open. It is wonderful... seals are so beautiful and such graceful swimmers. Such a great place for kids our kids age as they can just roam about - without fear of cars etc... And today I took the kiddies to see Alvin and the chipmunks... not so fun for me but the kids loved it. Well Beau did right up till he fell asleep!

byeee

tortagianduia
Hi girls! How is the party planning going?!

I am not at all organised for Coen's, and at this stage am rostered to work on his birthday, though I have applied for leave on that day. I'm back at work tomorrow, so I'll have to check if my manager has approved it or not.

Besides which, I feel a little conflicted having a party unsure.gif. I would have liked to have done something for Jordan's 15th birthday. He just wanted a family party at home. So I started planning to do a lunch for last Saturday, the day after his birthday. I invited DH's parents, they were happy to come. My brother had to work, so he and SIL wouldn't be coming. I figured if my mother and grandmother came though, that would make 8 of us, which is how many my outdoor table seats, so all good there. I asked my mum, and she had nothing on, but didn't want to come because she was flying to Melbourne on Monday... Apparently this precluded her from spending a couple of hours here on Saturday huh.gif , which still would have left her with all day Sunday to faff around with packing her suitcase. She wanted to come for morning tea on Friday, as she had a pedicure / eyelash tint appointment for the afternoon, so by making it morning tea, she could get seeing Jordan for his birthday 'out of the way early'. Nice. So I had to tell Jordan the lunch on Saturday here would not be happening, not because people didn't want to celebrate his birthday, but because people had other things on, so we'd have a series of smaller celebrations instead. So we instead met the ILs for lunch last Saturday at a restaurant closer to their farm, as it didn't seem fair for them to drive out here when no one else was coming anyway. I really don't know why I am even surprised that Mum couldn't be bothered to come over here for a few hours on Saturday to have lunch (and she only lives 20 mins from us, whereas for DH's parents it is a 2 hour drive each way) - this is the woman who decided to book a holiday in NZ for 3 weeks, leaving right before my due date when I was pregnant with Coen.

So I want to have a little party for Coen - just family probably, but I am now worried that it makes it looks as though Coen is more important / special than Jordan sad.gif. And really, it's all my mum's fault, because she couldn't be bothered coming over here last Saturday for a few hours glare.gif. My SIL has said she will be over here for Coen's birthday (she's only seen him once - she works in WA), so all the more reason to do something for his birthday.

Rebecca, hopefully you have had your car for a few days now? Must be so frustrating - the job having taken longer than you initially expected.

Claire, I am glad you have a diagnosis now for Tom, and thank goodness it is something that will resolve itself.

Brooke, wow on the 24kg cclap.gif - that is a-m-a-z-i-n-g tthumbs.gif!!! How is Madison's nappy rash going? Coen has 2 little angry spots from when he pooed about 5 times in the one day about a week ago... I have been putting either Desitin cream or Curash powder on, but still there. I am thinking antifungal treatment might be the go for him. I hope it heals up soon for her. Awful when it is really painful like that. If you are using commercial baby wipes, then using a washer with warm water to clean her bottom, and then a clean dry washer to pat it dry might help a bit before you put whatever cream you are using on. I always think the commercial ones must sting when they have a rash, plus they leave a film of detergent and leave their bottoms damp - all of which is not ideal for sore bottoms.

Megan, an Elmo jumping castle sounds like so much fun for the littlies!!!

Holly, yay on seeing your little bubba's hb wub.gif!!! I am so happy for you original.gif! About the obs, is there a local public hospital you can book into as a public patient? Did you have any complications last pregnancy / delivery with Hudson? If it was a low risk, straightforward pregnancy, I'd go public, especially if people are warning you against the local obs. And having to go to Canberra to deliver sounds a bit much - I'd rather go somewhere close to home. I went private with DS1. Then I qualified as a midwife, and after seeing / caring for both the public and private patients, I came to the conclusion that for a normal pregnancy, women are probably better off with public midwifery-led care than going privately, which is what I opted to do when pg with Coen, even though I have private health insurance. I did shared care with my GP and it was great. High risk patients need obs care, and that is what they are trained for, so if you are concerned it might be a high risk pregnancy, then either sus out the obs in Canberra, or else book into the local public anyway, where they will put you under the care of an obs if you are high-risk.

Sary, that is so lovely that your parents will be coming over for Beau's birthday!!! I know how much you miss them living away from them. The zoo sounds like it would have been a fun outing.

Have a great weekend everyone. I have to work tomorrow cry1.gif. I have not missed it and it is getting me down a bit having to leave Coen to go in after 4 lovely weeks at home.
moo~tickle
Hi ladies
Thanks for concern about Madisons bum. It actually came really good after I posted last. Went to the Dr and got Hydrozole and then was putting a combo of bepathen and curash powder over the top! Poor chicken.

Amanda - I feel for you being conflicted about the parties for the boys. I hope you can sort something out that doesnt hurt DS1 feelings but 15! Wow! You must have been a baby when you had him original.gif

Holly - great news about the HB. I used to love that moment when i was pg with Maddie and then with Cam, my ob had updated his equipment and he had a little ultrasound machine so I got to see him every appointment. Ahhhh Im in love with babies, having babies everything!!!! I think secretly I want another one - even though I always thought 2 would be it. Dh is dead against it though. Not sure how you can reach a compromise about something like that.

Well its my last real day of mat leave today. Back to work on wednesday and feeling slightly stressed/panicked about it. Hard to tell DH what Im feeling as he seems to think im overreacting a bit. I know the kids are well looked after but I wonder how Ill cope with 2 little ones and working and still being able to be a good wife and then at the end of the day, still be Brooke too, iykwim? Sorry for that ramble.

I hope everyone has a lovely day
mygorgeousboy
Morning girls,

Brooke, i totally understand how you must feel about going back to work. I think the most important thing is to make time for yourself so when dealing with everything else your refreshed. How many days will you be working?

Amanda, I hope you can sort something out so Jordan doesn't feel left out. Maybe let Jordan have a friend over that day and knowing teenages they will spend all day on the Wii. Thats great your SIL will be there. Thanks for your advice on the Ob/hospital situation. I did have a easy straight forward pregnancy with H but ended up having a Emergency C-section due to being induced (10 days late) and not dialating. So i am really hoping for a Vbac and thats is my main reason to go to an Ob..Hmmm anyway i have an app with my GP today so i really want to know my options. Apparentley the local Ob has no bedside manner but puts the baby first so i'm tempted just to make my own judgemtn and if i don't like him then find someone else.

Sary. Yay on your mum and dad coming over for Beau's birthday. Are you having a party?

We are having a little party for H on the Wedneday which is his actual birthday and are celebrationg with the FDC kids. I figure they would be the only kids coming to his party anyway for to save some hassle we are going to have a party day. I will decorate the whole playroom and have party food and games and of course a cake and then put them all to bed.. hehe. Dh is working that night so it will be good that he can celebrate with us. Still not sure on what cake yet. I'm thinking a car or train cake.

Oh and thanks for all of the congrats guys.

ANyway i'm off. Looking forward to another day off tomorrow, I'm soooooo tired lately and feel so yuck.....Bye xx
tortagianduia
I was supposed to be working this afternoon, but on Sunday I was offered the day off for today which I readily agreed to! I probably should have been thinking of the money, being a public holiday, but I am much happier staying home with my boys wub.gif. I just hope work doesn't call and say they need me after all...

CD12 today - I most like have at least 11 days until ovulation based on when I have ovulated the past 4 cycles. What is an emerging pattern is on CD10 for the last 3 cycles (i.e. the cycles where I have been taking CWG from CD1), my temp has dipped and then gone up over the next few days, and FF then ends up marking CD10 as the day of O. Then my temps become erratic again and it removes ovulation detection (except for the cycle starting Sept 14 where I had to override ovulation detection because FF was still convinced I had o'd on CD10). I just noticed this morning the same again this cycle - lower temp on CD10, followed by increasing temps, so chances are that tomorrow FF will again mark CD10 as the day of ovulation. Now I know I have not ovulated then, but the fact that it has happened now on 4 cycles - all the cycles where I have been taking CWG from CD1 (I ovulated the cycle before the past 3 cycles, but did not have that pattern and had only started taking CWG from CD15) suggests that some sort of regularity is happening in my cycles. I had thought so with the 2nd and 3rd cycles showing ovulation, where I ovulated on CD25 & CD23 - which for me seemed unusually regular - but then the last cycle I didn't ovulate until CD35 - but I wonder if that was stress over Christmas that delayed it shrug.gif? I hope I haven't sent you all to sleep! I am just hoping last cycle was an aberration for whatever reason, and that I will ovulate around CD23-25 this cycle... Which by most people's standards is quite late, but for me would be quite good compared to CD35 or CD39. If you're bored you can click on my FF link and see what I am talking about.

I haven't BDd for 3 days now - so far SMEP is not off to a good start. Will try and get a BD in tonight and then aim for every other day.

Brooke, that's great that Madison's bum is better now. Why is your DH so against having a 3rd? Maybe he'll change his mind when Cameron is a little older? It is definitely hard to compromise on something as huge as the number of children you want to have. Are you going back to full time work? I can totally understand being stressed about how you'll cope - I don't think you're overreacting at all. Does your DH help much with the housework and kids? With you both working, you'll really need to divvy up the chores between you. He may be used to you doing more of it because you have been at home, but that won't be fair now. And maybe you need to negotiate with him for him to look after the kids for a couple of hours each weekend so you can get out on your own to do whatever you'd like - spend some time with your friends, go shopping, etc. Enjoy your last day of leave today, and I hope tomorrow won't be too stressful for you hhugs.gif.

Holly, if you are hoping for a VBAC, you may need to shop around a bit. A lot of obs are not supportive of VBACs, and will want to just book you for an elective c/s with no trial of labour / scar. Maybe book in for an appointment with the local obs, and see whether he is supportive of you trying for a VBAC. If not, then in all likelihood you would be allowed a trial of labour at the public hospital, but you'd need to sound them out about it. Failing that, you may have to call around to find a private obs who supports VBACs - you could try posting in the state forums to ask which obs do VBACs in your area. As for bedside manner, many doctors don't have one. And yes, it is nice to have a doctor who does have a nice bedside manner (especially when this is the person who will be doing VEs etc. on you), but it is more important that he is competent. So if he is a good doctor who can provide competent care, but just isn't very personable, I wouldn't rule him out. I'd make an appointment and sus out his views on VBACs. Most private obs will err on the side of caution, and will caesar rather than allow a trial of labour - it's part of the reason why c/s rates are so high amongst private patients - that and 'mother's choice' c/s.

And I am sure you already know this, but just because you failed to dilate in labour the first time, does not mean it will happen again this time. It is very common to be overdue with first pregnancies, but does not mean that it will happen in subsequent pregnancies (though I was overdue and was induced with Jordan, and was overdue again and booked for induction with Coen - I think it was using the acupressure point in my hand that saved me from needing induction that time - I delivered on the day I was due to be induced - 9 days past my due date). Some women will go over each time - I suspect I am one of them. Induction of labours commonly fail. I do not believe induction will be successful unless your body and the baby are ready for labour - if the baby is not in a good position with head well down, then induction most likely will fail because there is not good application of the head to the cervix which stimulates dilation. And there are multiple factors that trigger labour, so if they are not present, then induction may fail.

Many obs believe that VBACs are too risky, but the truth is that you will be very carefully monitored, so any sign of complications will be picked up quickly and managed. It is definitely worth pushing to try for a VBAC.

Have you got the day off today? Is your DH home? If so I hope you can rest up for a bit. I am sure it must be exhausting when you are feeling sick and having to look after little people during the day. I love the idea of having a party day for Hudson with the FDC kids on his birthday! Have you decided what sort of cake to make? I haven't organised anything for Coen's birthday, and still don't know if I am working on the day or not!

Jordan is back at school on Thursday, and I am completely disorganised - haven't bought his stationery, checked whether he needs new shoes, etc. I don't know whether the shops are open today, but if so, I'd better get all that done today, otherwise I'll have to do it tomorrow. I am a shocker for leaving these things to the absolute last minute!

I hope everyone enjoys the Australia Day holiday today! I will be now that I don't have to work tthumbs.gif!
claireabell
geez Amanda, i just went to your blog to get the PB blondies recipe (again dev (6).gif ) and you've been so busy! beautiful xmas menu, well done.

As for your boys, could you have a combined party?

it's good to see some regularity in your chart. hoping for an earlier o for you this cycle. i o late (cd 24 - 30) and i know how much it draaaags.

Holly congrats on the HB! cluck cluck. i could soooo have another - only thing stopping me is wanting DS to be a bit older as he is such a mummy's boy. there are a couple of VBAC supportive, very good obs in canberra - Drs Hehir and Dreher. I had hehir and he's fabulous, although very shy. everyone raves about Dreher, he's apparently amazing. maybe you could book in now while you decide what to do? that way you won't miss out if you decide to go private. oh and if you do come to cbr let me know so we can meet up!
I know the kids are well looked after but I wonder how Ill cope with 2 little ones and working and still being able to be a good wife and then at the end of the day, still be Brooke too, iykwim?

yyes.gif know what you mean Brooke... it's hard at the best of times. i've started getting up before everyone else (no mean feat when DS is up around 6.30am) so i can have some guilt-free time to myself, sewing, or reading, or watching taped trash on tv.
Good luck tomorrow bbighug.gif

Sary that's so exciting about your parents! have you got much planned while they're here? and yay for the zoo. E loves our local zoo... we are thinking of taking them for a weekend trip to Taronga.

Rebecca i love your sig, Cooper is so cute wub.gif

Megan have fun in NZ! and i say go the elmo jumping castle and take lots of pics for us!

we have decided to have E's party at a park and are doing a teddy bear's picnic. simple and hopefully hassle-free (oh who am i kidding!).

it's operation sleep here. T is a catnapper so for the last two weeks we have been resettling him after the first sleep cycle, and it's working! he's now starting to do some longer sleeps by himself - yesterday was 2.5 hours which is so much better than 40 mins! we also went cold turkey on the dummy, moved him to his own room - as he's almost too big for the basinet - and are weaning the wrap. my little boy is growing up!

gotta go, we have a 4th b'day party to go to.

happy australia day al!
mygorgeousboy
Afternoon girls,

Ahhhhh its stinkin hot here today. Oh how i wish we lived near the beach again sad.gif I really miss the coast. One day, one day we'll be back....Fingers crossed.

Amanda, thank you, thank you, thank you, soooo much. Your advice was so helpful and i now feel so much better about making a decision. I went to the GP yesterday and she gave me referral to the local OB. I will do what you suggested and find out if he supports VBAC and if he doesn't i will figure out what to do when that time comes. Why is it that alot of OB's don't support VBAC?

Claire, thank you also for those OB suggestions. I have also heard great things about Dr Dreher. A few girls from Goulburn travel to Canberra just for him. My Ob and hospital was 1hr away when i had H and while it wasn't a big deal i really like the thought of being closer to home this time. But if i'm not happy with local services i will come to Canberra.

Well i had a great day off today. DH, H and I shared some hot chips on the river underneath a beautiful tree anmd then we had a rest on the rug while H played on the slide. Its was lovely. Unfortunatley DH had to go to work at 3pm so H and I had a little sleep together and have been relaxing all afternoon. We watched "babe" the movie and H LOVED it. I did too.

Happy Australia Day........ xx:)

tortagianduia
Morning girls! Jordan will be back at school tomorrow ssecret.gif - looking forward to it ddance.gif!!! Bought his stationery yesterday. Need to check about his shoes, but it won't really be a problem if he wears the shoes he has for 2 days, then we can see about buying new ones on the weekend.

Claire, I love the idea of a teddy bear's picnic party in the park! Are you using some of the ideas from the menu on taste.com.au? I seem to remember you mentioning the cute cut out teddy bear fairy breads last year - they are adorable! That is fab that Tom is having better sleeps for you! Thank you for the nice comments about my blog - it was a bit neglected for awhile but I am trying to get back into it. Took lots of photos from some cooking I did yesterday, so hopefully will have some new posts there soon. I am loving your blog (those baby blocks are too cute!)! I would love to learn to sew. I have a completely cheap rubbish machine here, which doesn't really inspire me to have a go. What sewing machine did you get? Need some recommendations.

Holly, many obs don't support VBACs simply because they prefer to err on the side of caution. There is a small risk with VBAC that because you have a scar on your uterus from your previous c/s, that the scar can rupture during labour. The risk is actually very small for a scar from a low horizontal incision - which is how most c/s are done these days. The risk of uterine rupture for a low horizontal scar is about 0.3%. There is also a small risk of rupture even where a woman has never had a c/s. For women who are planning a VBAC, it generally means you will be monitored more closely (when I worked at the Mater Hospital in Brisbane, we used continuous monitoring with the CTG machine - so the baby's heartbeat and reaction to contractions are being constantly monitored), and if induction or augmentation of labour is required, then a lot more caution is used when giving syntocinon (so usually it starts at a lower rate and the rate is increased more slowly). So the risk of rupture is quite small, and the success rate is about 67%. Good luck - I hope your local obs is happy to let you go for a VBAC, and if not, sounds like you have some good recommendations from Claire.
moo~tickle
just a quick one as i have a squirmy man on my lap

claire - what is your blog addy? i love reading blogs and try to fool myself that im going to take a cooking class, cake decorating class etc etc

first day back was a bit mind boggling. so much info to take in. only working 3 days a week, mon, tues, wed, so back off with the kiddies today original.gif will have a big week next week as the kids go back today, the lady im sharing with hopefully can calm them down to get some work underway on monday.

amanda - thanks so much for taking the time to write those lovely posts and responses to everyone. i did read about all your cd and ovulation - but i have NO idea what it all means in the greater scheme of things. i just hope you are doing ok original.gif
~Simply*Blue~
Has anyone heard from Benty lately?? She had some scary fb status updates regarding her health and she hasn't posted since.
claireabell
what kind of messages Rebecca? was just thinking yesterday how we haven't heard from her in a while.
mygorgeousboy
I hope everything is okay Benty. huh.gif I'm pretty sure her DS1 started big school this year???
~Simply*Blue~
She was saying something about heart attack symptoms.
babybump2
Hey Girls... I got a bit worried about Benty after reading that post - so went and checked out her blog. She also has her twitter a/c on there and looks like she just got back from holidays. So that might be why she is mia...

Her oldest was starting school this year also and she also has her new business... so probably just a busy Mummy! But yes would be nice to see her round these parts again.

Well my Miss M starts 4 year old kindy tomorrow. Sniff sniff! She is soooooooooooo excited! Been counting down the sleeps for the last week. And this year I will be without her 2 days a week. It is going to be strange. But it will also be lovely to have some one-on-one time with Beau.

Just a quick one from me... shattered off for an early night.

Night night girls

~Simply*Blue~
Yes benty's alright, she's been in Hong Kong, per her last fb status. I'm sure she'll laugh at us being worried wwhistle.gif

Good luck to Macy today, hope she has a great time!

Talon starts preschool on Monday, he was meant to start primary school on Wednesday just gone, saw a little friend of his yesterday in her uniform sad.gif
babybump2
Hi Rebecca.... know the feeling with seeing a little friend in uniform. Macy repeated 3 year old kinder last year. Don't know if you remember I had a bit of a struggle deciding what was the right thing to do. One of our neighbours/good friends starts school Monday. And Macy is now doing 4 year old kinder... although she will be 5 in April. She is very much one of the gang now rather than being the youngest by far - so I am feeling comfortable with it. But I think I might always wonder?!

Sniff sniff.. feeling really strange without my Miss Moo home though... Yessss I know - what a sook! rolleyes.gif

Beau is fast asleep too... so feeling a little redundant! Had time to post some pics on facebook though.....

Happy Friday everyone! Hope you all have a wonderful weekend!

kaishra
I'm baaaack biggrin.gif

Wow what a long holiday that was lol, we spent Christmas with the in-inlaws, had a party for my mum's 60th and I got my first tattoo!

The house we're in is fantastic, the back yard is huge, the kitchen has cupboard space galore and the pantry is just made for modular mates biggrin.gif Plus we we have a walk through robe and a bathroom that isn't 20years old! biggrin.gif

I'm now off to bed cause I've been up all night (only set the computer up last night so playing catch up lol)

Smudged, if you're still on here are you still in Wagga?

Talk to every one else soon.
mygorgeousboy
Hey Girls,

Lazy afternoon here, H is having a nap on the lounge and DH has gone to work.

Glad to see you back Lauren, glad your settling in okay and your house sounds great. Whats your tattoo like?

Not much else to report from me. Might go finish reading my book. wink.gif
babybump2
Hi Lauren waves.gif Welcome back! Sounds like your settling in nicely.

Hey Holly - relaxing afternoon reading sounds great! Whatcha reading?

We had a great day today at Werribee zoo. Amazing! We got there at opening and we were the first at the lions... and I would have been touching the lion if there hadn't been glass. biggrin.gif My closest encounter for sure! Grrrrr! Was so much fun. Great day with hubby and the kids... before the madness begins again. DH away every week for the next 3 weeks. Luckily home at weekends... but I dare say his mind will be full of work! During his busy time Mum and Dad will be arriving too.

Might post a pic from the lions today if I get a chance. Hope everyone has had a relaxing weekend cool.gif
tortagianduia
Just snapped this pic of Coen, saggin' a little laughing2.gif! He has a nappy with a sheepy face underneath (see whole nappy here) - I think it looks hilarious with just the eyes peering out original.gif

mygorgeousboy
Hahaha Amanda, that is very cute. laugh.gif

All the kiddies are still asleep in this household, except H rolleyes.gif ......Hoping they will hurry up and wake up so its not a mad rush with afternoon tea and home time. I have an appointment at the beautician this afternoon. Hurry up kiddies and please wake up HAPPY !!!!!

original.gif
~Simply*Blue~
lol Amanda, so cute!

Holly just a quick question about fdc, do you supply food? I'm just starting to think about maybe doing it when we finally move out of this house. And do you ever take the kids out? And do you know the rules on how having your own children there affecting the numbers, like if my oldest ds came home from school and the other kids were still there.

Talon's just home from his first day of preschool, he had a great day and his teacher said he was wonderful and never looked worried or distressed at any time. I was so worried about him all day too rolleyes.gif
mygorgeousboy
Rebecca- Have Pm'ed you original.gif
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.