13/01/2010, 08:40 AM
fraggles
13/01/2010, 09:13 AM
Sssorento - Hope they have the fire up the road from you under control.
A quick question, did anyones bub's get a rash after their MMR vaccination, H has a bit of a rash (not extra bad though) and i am not sure if it is from the MMR vaccination, heat rash or from licking a spoon that had mango juice on it. He is not sick and has no temp and the rash is just on his back and tummy nowhere else.
~Fuzjuz~
13/01/2010, 10:07 AM
Morning

Kim, no, did they give you the leaflet to check for what can happen after?? Hope he's ok, I hate needles.

Maya, Tristan is so cute.

Glad to hear your Mum is better too.
Kathryn, Hugh is definately like you.

Sam, Tera, Gabrielsmummy.
Ssorrento, he just took 2 steps in Blake's room but I missed it.

Yes, definately has to be concentrating. If we hold out our hand & say come on, he just plonks on his bum again.

Nic, love the photos of Hayden.

Love his hair. T's arm is all healed thanks for asking. Have photos of the pins while in her still.

LOL at Em & a surprise party hehehe.
Peacey, weaning not happening here either. Kane comes over and starts pulling at my top these days.

And is magically cured after a feed too.

Jgal, has Maddy taken anymore steps?? When do you get your kitten?
Hope I didn't miss anyone.

Is nice & cool here today. So we've just cooked a butter & chocolate cake.

Really need to go shopping but trying to make it till sat. Girls are going to watch Alvin & the Chipmunks with my Mum on thurs plus a swim at the beach so we might meet them at the beach after even though I hate sand. Blergh. Took Kane to the beach yesterday & he was not impressed at all. Didn't like the sand or the water. Don't blame him, must take after me.
Enjoy your day.
fraggles
13/01/2010, 10:12 AM
They did Juzzy but it is in his Health Book which is with all the stuff that we relocated in case of a fire yesterday so not here with me
I have a 20 page document on legal questions i have to answer before my membership with them can be upgraded but it is so hard
mayahlb
13/01/2010, 10:19 AM
fraggles - um i think tristan might have but he has this rash that covers his chest/arms/shoulder/back. i had thought it was heat rash and he has had it for a while as it would almost disappear after he slept in the aircon but it got worse last weeka nd i had a closer look and have a very strong suspicion is it excema. i have an appointment on thursday for it to be checked, so if T had a rash i wouldn't have noticed unfortunately. BUT the nurse who gave him his shots did say a rash was a very common side effect cause by the rebella immunisation.
fuzjuz - aww thanks. i reckon Kane is a cutie too.
so Ttristan lost his last dummy (we have gone through 5 in 2 weeks

) yesterday and i didn't realise he didn't have anymore at home so he had to go dummy free last night. after taking 20 mins to cry himself to sleep (me comforting him jsut made him scream 50 times worse) he went down and though he did wake an hour later (stinky nappy) we only had 1-2 little crys during the night and not really big wake up ones. soo ryan said he will buy more dummies today but i am thinking maybe i should just get rid of them. he went alright last night even if he was hard to get down (he also didn't have an arvo nap but slept until 7) but i think if we change to 1 naps during the day as well i think it will work. BUT it means that ryan's mum gets to listen to all the dramas (which ryan wasn't happy about). i will chat to him later and see what we will do. me i would be very happy to get rid of the bloody things and told ryan b2 is NOT getting one unless it has reflux and then it is disappear at 6 months. he of course said no we will use one (he just likes them because they keep the baby quiet

)
gtg can hear Tristan in my bedroom
maya
eta - sorrento - i thought they could test for allergies from a blood test unless it was the hayfever types. sounds a bit like the dr was chasing the wind though
~Tera~
13/01/2010, 10:24 AM
Oh that reminds me I need to get Haydens done asap.

everyone am off on a mission today so will catch up later, kids are hanging to get out the door.
Gabriel'sMummy
13/01/2010, 10:32 AM
I just got a bit confused! I didn't realise a new thread had been started and couldn't work out where all the previous posts had gone!
I hope the weather is cooling down a bit for you all. It is a bit cooler here today but not much. It was a horrible 40degrees here yesterday. Gabriel was so cranky last night. I think it was a combination of the heat and some new teeth!
Fraggles - G had no problems after his MMR. You might be able to google MMR side effects or go the NSW health website. They might be able to give you the brochure you would have gotten in the clinic?
LOL to Fuzjuz and the sand. I practicaly grew up at the beach so it doesn't bother me. Gabriel doesn't seem to mind it, although he does hate grass. It is very funny atching him in our front yard. You can tell he wants to but he doesn't like the feel of it on his feet!
GTG... time to actually do some work!
fraggles
13/01/2010, 10:32 AM
Ssorrento - DD had an allergy test when she was about 10 months old. She was old enough to have a skin prick test but not old enough for a food challenge one. Can they give O a skin prick test? DD showed an allergy to wheat and egg which she has now outgrown both of. I should get H done as well after his past experience with Mango and Pear but am just trying to avoid those at the moment.
Nic&Al
13/01/2010, 05:34 PM
Beware ladies, I'm posting under the influence of a very fine 1995 reisling - apologies in advance for lunacy.
Ssorrento - I'm sorry you're feeling a bit rubbish, that's no good after so long. Don't let a GP fob
you off either, push on if you feel something is not right. FWIW Em and Al had a cold/flu thing at the end of last year that hung around for weeks and eventually cleared up so hopefully you and O are on the road to recovery. Hopefully hte fire didn't amount to anything serious?
Juz - OMG, how can you not like the beach! Actually my pop never liked the beach so I know it's not uncommon. I love it though! Glad to hear T's arm is mending well, poor thing with the pins! Haydies hair is getting another cut next week - only been a bit over a month since the last cut! How is your kitten settling in? He's actually crawling around right now with one of Em;s pink headbands in it LOL
Fraggles - all quiet on the fire front I hope?
Gabriel's mummy - LOL at G not liking the grass. H doesn't like it either, he kind of walks/crawls around on his hands and feet so he doesn't have to touch it much! Hope you get a cooler night and a better sleep all round.
Tera - did you get your mission completed today?
Maya - I've never used dummies with either of the kids, but if I were you I'd take this chance to get rid of the dummy. T seemed to do ok with it last night, so try again tonight I reckon! Better to do it now than once #2 is here and have extra screaming don't you think? We did a similar thing with bottles when Em was little - she got the vomits, refused her bottle for a night or two so we just changed to stories at bedtime instead of a bottle and had no troubles with removing it like some people do. Good luck whatever you decide!
OK better bath these kids - have a good night all xxx
sandalwood
14/01/2010, 09:11 AM
Hi guys. Well, you HAVE been busy haven't you?!
I sadly don't have time for a full post, but will be rude and just talk about me and ask questions.
Firstly, Phoebe is VERY clingy. This has been going on for a couple of weeks, so I don't think I can put it down to illness or teeth or similar. I now have to use those dreaded words: separation anxiety. During the day I'm lucky if she plays independently for about 10 minutes. If I'm not paying enough attention she appears by my side and clings to my leg. It doesn't matter if DH is there or not. It doesn't even matter if we're outside anymore (she used to be happy for ages in the backyard).
So, any tips? Also, do you guys let your DH do stuff with the littlies even though it means more crying? I mean things like bath and bottle etc. These go much more smoothly when I do them, but of course DH wants to put in, but I can't stand to listen to it!
Secondly, I've finally come to the top of the waiting list at my local DC! Amazing (it's been about 18 months). As I will probably be working 2 days a week soon, we'll move Phoebe out of her current centre (which we all love) and into the local one. I've been to have a look and its not bad. I think I will get to choose which days, so my question (to those who use DC obviously) is is it better to have consecutive days or separate ones? Or doesn't it really matter?
The main differences between her current centre and the new one (at first glance) are that 1: she'll be in with kids up to 2 yo in the new one (she was about to be the oldest one at her current centre I think), and 2: the cots in the new centre are just lined up along the wall of the room, not in a separate area. She doesn't sleep too well even at her current centre (2 x 40 minutes or maybe up to an hour for one of them), so I really hope she won't go backwards from that.
I think we'd be mad not to switch, because the new centre is literally around the corner from us (about 3 minutes with the pram!), but I guess I need to do everything I can to make the transition as smooth as possible. This has been so fast (phone call from the council last night, wanting an answer tomorrow), that I'm not sure I even asked enough questions at the centre this morning!
Thanks for your help!
Hope all is going OK. I have been reading about all your doings, but with this new clinginess I really can't do anything until she's asleep (and often then I'm trying to sleep myself). Arrggg!
fraggles
14/01/2010, 10:42 AM
Sandalwood - H is also very clingy, it is just a stage as i remember DD going through although it does drive me crazy that he always clings to my leg, screams if i walk away, wants to be carried ALL the time, he won't play independetly either (unless it is with something he is not allowed to have). I still let DH does things like bottle and bath (bath is usually easy because he goes in at the same time as DD so is somewhat distracted as to whether i am there or not). I can't stand the screaming either so i usually go down the other end of the house and listen to music or watch tv so i can't hear it (i must still have an instinct though because although i can't hear him i can still feel it)
Childcare - I have found consecutive days are better, i found my kids got into a routine so much easier. They got to know the carers easier. It also made it easier for me because i knew when i got through the 2 or 3 days at work then i had the rest of the week home with the kids. The baby's room in the creche mine to go is up to 18 months so H is one of the older kids in the room now, i don't think i would like him with the up to 2 year olds just yet because he still seems so little to me but that may be just me. The cots are lined up all along the side of the wall and not in a seperate room, i have found both my kids sleep fine there now, it took them both a little while to adjust, i personally like it better that the cots are not in a seperate room.
DD has a fat lip at the moment it looks awful, apparently she collided with another child running outside and put her tooth through her lip so she has the cut from that and then another cut/graze on the outside top of her lip. She won't stop licking it and then saying it hurts
Gabriel'sMummy
14/01/2010, 10:45 AM
Yet another boring day at work... some days I don't know why I bother coming in. I can browse EB and FB at home. At least it is the last day for the week.
Sandalwood - our DC told us 2 consecutive days is better because then he doesn't forget as easily, if that makes any sense. They told us that bysplitting the days, he would have to re-settle in each day he goes. ATM he doesn't like going at all, so I'm not sure how true that theory is.
As for the DH issue, Gabriel would be happy if DH did everything for him, so its not really a problem. He usually STOPS crying when I hand him over to Dad, so I guess thats no help to you either.
Well since I have successfully contributed nothing to the thread today, I am off to target to buy Gabriel a new car seat with his birthday money!
Have a great day everyone!
peacey
14/01/2010, 11:00 AM
Hi everyone!
I'm meant to be working too LOL but a mental break every so often is good right!
Sandalwood - I agree with Gabe's mum - consecutive days are much better from experience. And the cots - well, beds now that F has gone up a room - are in the same room as well. He sleeps really well there - he just doesn't sleep at home

my DD was the same!
Fraggles, your poor DD, if she'd only leave it alone! But kids never do. I'm in my 30s and I still can't resist poking at a bruise or a cut then exclaiming 'OW!'
Maya - get rid of the dummy! Sounds like he doesn't really need it much now anyway. How'd he go last night?
HI NIC!
KA - only a few more days to go EEK that's wonderful and soooo exciting!
Hi Fraggles, Tera, Juzzy, Sam, Ssorento, JGAL and everyone else I've missed (Sorry)!
I'm LOVING the weather in Melbourne today. It's perfect. Sunny, a slight breeze, no wind...not hot...not cold...yay!
Right back to work booooo
x
mayahlb
14/01/2010, 12:17 PM

just popping in to say i am still here

have tog o the dr's with T soon about his rash. no dummies went fine the first night, 20mins crying then slept until 7

last night however he was awake for 2.5 hours from 2am. BUT i am thinking that had more to do with teeth. and me and the MIL have decided nope, no dummies so ryan has been forced into agreement. he did go down for a nap this morning pretty easy and he went down last night pretty easy so they are gone bye bye.
have to go running late
maya
kathryn-anne
14/01/2010, 02:34 PM
Re Dummies - thought I would add a bit (not that we are proud of it) BUT Hugh is completely, madly IN LOVE with his dummy.
The older he gets the more in love with it he becomes...I thought he would get more independent but obviously not.
Everything else he is to relaxed about..couldnt really care less and is tantrum free EXCEPT for the dummy.
We have decided not to try to throw it away so soon before Bub #2 as apparently the #1 child can regress a bit. Mum said that I went back to a dummy at age 2.5yrs after not wanting one for 6 months when my little brother came along.
THe bed thing is going well (in his big bed) but last night rolled out of the foot end and found himself sitting next to his rocking horse (well, it's technically a rocking elephant) at 4am and looked up at it SCREAMING his head off

. So funny - both the cat and the dog are scared of the rocking elephant too.
Nothing else to report...having the bub at 6.30pm Monday. Can't decide whether to call him Hamish or Oliver now....
fraggles
14/01/2010, 03:35 PM
Dummies - H won't take one but DD had one (actually she slept with 3 one in her mouth and one in each hand) until she was 3, we only took it away a few months ago.
Kathryn-Anne - Monday wow your pregnancy is going fast, i can't wait to hear your news. I love both names Hamish and Oliver so i am not much help, lol.
ssorrrento
14/01/2010, 04:36 PM
Clingyness - yep - nightmare. O is contstantly clinging to my leg when I'm in the kitchen. TBH, I just put it down to my mum being here and him not being used to her. We'll see how he is when she goes on Monday.
Childcare - O goes Tuesdays and Fridays and we haven't really had any issues with that. He doesn't mind when we leave him now, and he's been going since the end of October. Sleep is still the bugbear though.
The fire up the road re-started yesterday, but it seems to be under control now. Police are looking for a couple of boys on bikes who are suspected of starting it.
And I went to a different Dr's yesterday with my rubbish head and he diagnosed a sinus infection and gave me antibiotics. WTF. 2 diff Drs, 2 diff diagnoses for the same symptoms. TBH, Oli and I are both starting to sound a bit 'looser' in our chests, so fingers crossed.
Just got back from a free lunch, at the 'best' pub in Perth. I had a brown lettuce caesar salad, mum had a pile of sludge masquerading as a Thai chicken and lime salad. I normally grumble and pay, but I was so p*ssed off at having to pick the brown bits of lettuce out of my salad, when lettuce is the key ingredient, that I complained. Mum also complained about her dish, and we got them both for free. Mind you, we barely ate any of it. Yeugh!
Ok, hoping to be back to doing personals soon. Have a great weekend everyone.
mayahlb
14/01/2010, 05:20 PM
kathryn-anne - oh that is so cool. can't wait to hear the news and you ahve to organise for pics to be posted.

both Hamish and Oliver
ssorretno - yuk, i would have complained too. i am VERY fussy on food i buy. probably comes from mum being a cook lol. i hope the clinginess goes soon too. must be very annoying. T is not really cligying thank god

fraggles
well the dr agrees, the rash is excema and said as it isn't too bad to jsut use QV mostueriser (sp?) on it twice a day at the moment but if it gets inflamed to get a cortizone cream over the counter and use twice a day for 3 days. i am hoping that is clears up soon but it doesn't seem to bother him. getting rid fo the dummies is sort of working. sort of as in now he is teething

. went down within 5 mins last night and this morning for his nap but well he has been whinging in his cot for 1/2 hour now after a quick nap in the car (a whole 20 mins wow). reckon i better go get him as i don't think it is going to happen. hopefully tonight's sleep will be better.
maya
fraggles
14/01/2010, 08:09 PM
Maya - Both H and E have eczema. I usa Hydraderm as their moisturiser, They both also have three types of cortisone creams luckily they were both prescribed the same ones and depending how bad it is i know which cream to use. E's is worse than H's and she has been on antibiotics a few times since it started when she was 10 months old. Sometimes hers when i can't get it under control spreads everywhere and it looks like chickenpox.
samshine
15/01/2010, 09:30 AM
Maya - Wow, well done on the dummies. Better now than down the track. Have to admit, we haven't weaned F's yet, he's a bit too reliant on it for falling asleep so I haven't been brave enough yet. Hope T's rash clears up well.
Ssorrento - Sorry to hear you still feel rotten. Hope the abs clear it up for you, and that Oli feels better soon too. Your lunch sounds awful. Such a disappointment when you go out for a meal and its not good - especially these days when theres less opportunities to go out for nice meals!
KT - Count down!! Love both names - you can look at him and decided when he arrives. Good luck and can't wait to hear your news. You mentioned regression, we did find that a bit when F arrived. C asking to be rocked like a baby and wanting to go back to bottles etc. It didn't last long though.
Peacey - Saw the photo of your facial artwork on FB just then

Love it!
Gabrielsmummy - Have fun baby seat shopping!
Sandalwood - I would take consecutive days for the reasons others have said. As for the bed situation, at our centre they go from cots in a separate room in the baby room, to mattresses in the room in the toddler room. DD adapted pretty well. When F was having his settle visits I happened to see C haivng her day nap at child care. I was gobsmacked at the sight of her sleeping soundly amongst a room full of noise.
Hi
Nic
Juzzy - lol at Kane at the beach, we went swimming the other night and F wasn't a fan either. Happy in the pool but not the beach, and he wouldn't go off the towel on to the sand. C was teh same though at this age, and now she is straight into the water as soon as we get there.
As for clinginess, we've got that happening here too. Its bad enough at home, but in group settings, whether it be kids or adults he's shocking, screams if he's not in my arms.
Well, this has taken a while for me to type. The naughty fairy came and put a spell on my children last night as they have woken up with filthy moods and feral behaviour. Don't you love those days? Really fills me with excitement with the prospect of DH leaving monday.
Hope everyone is well.
mayahlb
15/01/2010, 12:16 PM

everyone
don't be surprised if i am not popping in a much in the next few days. B2 has decided that he is going to plague mummy with dizzy spells and almost had me faint a couple of times. oh fun am back at work on monday like this. will probably be reading just don't know that i can sit up long enough to post.
maya
fraggles
15/01/2010, 12:47 PM
Thats no good Maya hope the dizzy spells stop soon.
Ok been and got my hair cut, eyebrows waxed and now feel much better for it.
I need to leave my job i have decided, i am just trying to decide whether to go for a complete change or stay in the same profession. I still only want part time because i am still going to try and get this work from home thing going.
Gabriel'sMummy
15/01/2010, 04:02 PM
I officially hate shopping. I bravely battled the Target sales today. Got Gabriel's new seat, which he seems to like, and laybyed a whole heap of clothes and a new toddler bed, fo when we decide to do the big transfer. Sooooo many people in there! I was so stressed, I had to go and get my nails done! Overall a nice day out with my baby!
Maya - I hope you are Ok. Good luck at work with your dizzy spells. I hope they are kind to you. I remember being so tired in the early months, that I would fall asleep at my desk. The boys I shared an office with would conveniently find something outside to do for a little while!! I think they were actually scared to wake me!
I am so impressed with the dummy issue! G still needs it for sleeping. I can't see him being without it for a little while longer, although I could be a bit stronger in not giving it to him.
Kate - getting exciting. Can't wait to hear your news. Both names are beautiful... although I personally prefer Oliver.
Might go and watch some TV in peace. G sleeping. I think he was pooped after shopping. DH gone out. The house is very peaceful. Actually have to go and prepare for a teleconference for work tonight. Better 7pm than 7am!
Have a good night and a great weekend!
Nic&Al
15/01/2010, 05:27 PM
Kate - I hope you and B are enjoying some special time as a couple before #2 son arrives on Monday, as well as special time with your firstborn. Or, failing that, cracking a bottle or two of something vintage with bubbles!
~Fuzjuz~
15/01/2010, 09:32 PM
Ahhhhh I'm behind again.

DUMMY - Kane is a fan.

He has it for bed or when he's tired. If he still has it upon waking we say tah for mummy/daddy/DB or DS & he hands it over.

I'm not worried about getting rid of it. Blake sent his to Santa when he was about 2 1/2.

No problems.
CHILDCARE - consecutive days sound good.

Spose I should look into booking Kane in soon.

Thinking 1 day a week when he's around 18months.
CLINGYNESS - Yes.

Will grab onto my pants & stand there whinging.

He's not a fan of strangers either.
Ssorrento - hope the ABS kick in and you're feeling better soon. WTF with your lunch?

Maybe you should try the worst pub.
Maya - hope the excema isn't too bad.

Dizzy spells don't sound too good either.
Kim - LOL at your daughter. Better to be safe than sorry hehehe.
Sam - Kane didn't touch the sand either & wasn't too sure about the towel on the sand.

Hope the good fairy visits tonight.
Gabrielsmummy - yayyy on getting a new seat. I'm not a fan of shopping locally atm as it's school hols & we have tourist everywhere.

everyone else.
Kane is trying to walk more & more.

He looks so odd when trying to do it.

I can say that cause I'm his Mum.
Have a good w/e & best of luck on Monday Kathryn.
sandalwood
16/01/2010, 07:20 AM
Hi all.
Fraggles, we didn't have a rash after vaccinations, just a bit of grumpiness, which of course could be caused by anything! Has H's cleared up by now? Hmmm, 20 pages of legal questions - sounds like perfect zzzzzzz material. I now have an image of you at the other end of the house with TV blaring and headphones in as well - but I know what you mean. When Phoebe was younger I used to use the ipod while DH was with her sometimes. Unfortunately our house is tiny so I really had to turn it up LOUD! Re the job; good for you! what industry again?
Kate, I had guessed that was an old photo of you, or even DH. The likeness is amazing. I must dig out some old ones of me. Mum says holding Phoebe is like having me as a baby again. She choked up as she said it - so sweet. Phoebe's the same as Hugh with the dummy - i.e. in love with it. She gets a little rash on her chin from the dribble she creates when she uses it. She's usually pretty good about giving it up when she gets up though. Your rocking elephant sounds incredibly scary! I love both names too. If you decide to go with Oliver, please be happy with people calling him Ollie! Friends of ours correct us if we don't use the full name, yet they gave him a name that is easily and naturally shortened (Oliver!).
Fuzjuz, yay on the walking! Do you tend to do stuff to encourage it with your kids, or do you just let it happen? I'm hoping Phoebe will be less frustrated and whingy once she gets the hang of it. I hate sand too - you're not alone.
Nic, Em is hilarious! She'll be wanting to shop for the presents and help you wrap them next!
Ssorrrento, sorry you're feeling crap for so long. Hope the ABs have worked. I've got something 'sinusy' going on at the moment too - have had a headache for days.
Hi Peacey. I loved that day in Melbourne too.
Samshine, so lovely for you to see DD asleep with all the noise surrounding her. Phoebe just tends to go and go and go until you remove her from whatever is going on, so it will be very interesting.... And she's the opposite to F with the clinginess. She's not very clingy when we're in company because she loves other people and action. That naughty fairy IS very naughty.
Maya, you poor thing. And the timing is so bad. Hope its a quick passing phase.
GabrielsMummy, Target sounds a bit mental! Hope you got out of there safely. Nice of your colleagues to leave you to sleep when you were pg.
As for us: Well, we've finally decided on the daycare issue. I phoned my potential employer (same company I used to temp for when I was pg) and asked if anyone had an idea what days might suit better if the job actually does go ahead - all very tentative. Of course they said non-consecutive days, and I suspect just about any employer would say the same (unless you were job-sharing I guess). So we decided to take Tuesdays and Thursdays at DC. Then DH suggested we put her in for another day so that I still get a day off! Wow. We went through the sums and decided that would be OK. It also solves the consecutive days issue - Phoebe goes to care Tues, Wed & Thurs, and I work whatever days my employer wants out of those.
I was pleased with that last night when we decided, but this morning I'm thinking I'm going to miss her! Oh well, we can always drop a day if it comes to that.
In other news, we're finally going to have a little holiday. I'm so excited about 4 nights away! Just to Daylesford (which is about an hour away, for non-Melburnians).
I'm hearing noises from P's room, so have to go.
And finally, good luck for Monday Kate!
Nic&Al
17/01/2010, 03:37 PM
Happy birthday Kate - hope you're being thoroughly spoiled!!! Also hope you have a restful night ready for the big day tomorrow!
All the best!

hi everyone, will try and be more productive tomorrow!
~Fuzjuz~
17/01/2010, 03:50 PM
Was nice to enjoy a cool day here.

Bit of rain & not hot at all.
Sandalwood, not encouraging walking at all.

Dh on the other hand.

He will do it in his own time.

Kane isn't whinging though which helps. Glad to see another who isn't a fan of sand.

Nic
Enjoy the rest of your sunday.
mayahlb
17/01/2010, 06:49 PM
Kathryn-anne - happy birthday and i best wishes for tomorrow. and have a ncie time having lots of cuddles with huge.
maya
samshine
17/01/2010, 06:50 PM
Just wanted to pop in and say Happy Birthday Kate and Good luck tomorrow. Wow this time tomorrow your second born will be here!
fraggles
17/01/2010, 06:53 PM
Just quickly popping in to say Happy Birthday Kate. All the best for tomorrow. Look forward to hearing your news and seeing a pic of your new little bub.
mayahlb
17/01/2010, 09:40 PM
sorry this is a bit of rant
i love my MIL but she has to either respect my choices as a parent or she can leave. quiet frankly i have never come across someone that is ignorant enough to believe that jsut because a child is under 2 they are allowed to get away with murder. so i tell my child off for pulling my hair and biting me. what teh hell is wrong with that? but no "because he is a baby" he doesn't understand what he is doing is wrong. he bloody well does. and if you keep bloody giving in to him and not sticking to my ruleshe can go to daycare and stay with my mum who agrees with me. NO i don't moddycoddle my children but you know what bviously i am doing something right as he is a happy healthy little boy who is happy to play independantly, or with mum or nicely with other children. so far you have managed to teach him that he will be picked up every second of every day and be carried around everywhere. i don't want him to be like that because while i am happy to carry him around i won't do it everywhere as he doesn't need it and he has legs he likes to use. please understand i KNOW MY child and what he needs and you are seriously p*ssing me off. did you listen to a word i said earlier about how i want things done after you upset me by basically accusing me of neglecting my child. the only reason i haven't said anything is because i don't want to upset ryan anymore then you and i already have. and for godsake, you gave up smoking, coming to visit is not an excuse to take the disgusting things up again.and going to ryan and making things worse between us is just making things worse, to the point where i am going to start issue ultimatums. and if i hear ! more word about how perfect a mother my bloody selfish SIL is i will explode and i might serioulsy damange our future relationship (this bit isn't ment to offend anyone i really mean it) SHE choose to go back to work fulltime and only see her children 3-4 hours a day because her career was more important then raising her children. she can easily afford to stay at home or go part time so as far as i can see maybe if i saw my children a little as that i would be the perfect mother by your standards. i want my children to have a great relationship with their grandparents but you know what it is a PRIVLEDGE not a RIGHT and at this point you are really pushing it to be anywhere near my family when B2 arrves. because i won't want your help. my mother is quiet happy to respect my thoughts, and choices in the way i raise my children and you knw what, you ahven't had anyting to do with young whilcren since ryan was born 36 years ago.
sorry again i jsut need to get it out or i am going to bite her fricken head off!!!
fraggles
17/01/2010, 10:02 PM
Oh Maya rant all you like it sounds like you are having a rough time with your MIL. Hope things settle down soon and she starts to listen to you.
kathryn-anne
18/01/2010, 05:19 AM

Hi there
Cheers for the bday wishes!! Was out to dinner both nights Sat & Sun...being a piggy!!! We took Hugh out for his first proper dinner out last night (he sat at the table like a little man) and he did OK. Maitre d' scared him though and there were tears everytime he came to our table ...so hard not to laugh at him poor love!
I can see so much of myself in him...I used to be a bit the same when young. No food on the floor...so he was better behaved than at home
Feeling a bit guilty for Hugh...bringing home another baby and all. I hope I don't get too upset when I am in hospital and fret about him for the whole week. Have been awake since about 3.30am so I am obviously doing the last minute panic .....
Also feeling guilty about the elective c section..although am not sure why??? It's not as if there is much I can do about it. Perhaps I am feeling a bit of social pressure? My babies seem to need to be LURED out of me and don't like coming out of their own accord....
MAYA - just read your rant! I hear you...I hear you!! MILs can be largely jealous of their DIL, so her comments need to be taken with a grain of salt. I have had my hackles up over mine for the last year too.....Ryan really needs to step in and say something or else it will become a wedge in your relationship. I would be booking some time out to explain your feelings to him and then he can have a chit*chat with his mum....she will be far more obedient with rules coming from him rather than from you unfortunately!
I being admitted to Waverley Private at about 5pm so you should hear some news at about 7pm from Brenden. I am predicting just over 3kg but I am so excited to see who he looks like

...so far he seems to look like my Dad in scans...
Can't think of much else...have washing to do, lunches to make (yes...DH lunches need to be PRE made and frozen), bathrooms to clean and bags to pack (not mine...Hugh's!)
PLUS I have to fast from noon so I am going to start eating NOW
Chat again in about a week
ssorrrento
18/01/2010, 09:43 AM
Take care Kate. Belated Happy Birthday for yesterday.
Mum goes home tonight, so looking forward to catching up with everyone's happenings.
Gabriel'sMummy
18/01/2010, 12:05 PM
Hi everyone!
Just recovering after a horrible stomach virus over the weekend... so I need to catch up on what is going on!
I wish I would get sick on a work day and not the weekend
Maya - You poor thing. Sounds serious with your MIL. I had a few issues with mine before Gabriel but nothing but help since. You definately don't want it to get between you and DH! Definately rant away though. A good rant can always make you feel better!
Kate - Happy birthday for the weekend. Good luck for this afternoon and lots of hugs to you and your family for the safe arrival of your new boy.
Have to go and do some work.
Have a great day
BTW... I have just discovered how to use emoticons!!
~Fuzjuz~
18/01/2010, 12:23 PM
Sorry to hear about your MIL Maya.

I think they definately know what they're doing. Hope your Dh & you can have a talk & work things out with her.

Maya, Sam, Fraggles, Ssorrento & Gabrielsmummy.
Another cool day again. 19 apparently & windy. Toodles.
floss22
18/01/2010, 03:23 PM
Hi everyone!
Merry Christmas, Happy New Year, and Happy Birthday to those I missed. Good luck for today Kate.
Maya feel free to rant. I have issues with my MIL as well but we won't go there!
I haven't caught up on everyones posts so I will start a fresh from now.
Gabriels Mummy - Hi I don't think we have met. I am from the original DIG but can go missing sometimes! Hope you are feeling better soon
HI Sam, Fraggles, Juzzy, Ssorrento
Not much news here except Mia is still flat out! She is very full on and requires a lot of attantion and supervision. She is gorgeous but wears me out a lot! Christmas was nice but again tiring. We are starting a bit of a health kick this week so no drinking or junk foods. I am already thinking about chocolate!
OK BBL
mayahlb
18/01/2010, 04:06 PM
thanks guys, you know you always make me feel better.
gotta say LOVE the pregnancy hormones. and that lovely motherly instinct. they made me stand up for myself and i bluntly told her i want an apology or she can go home. this is MY house and MY child and anything else is a privledge for her adn well basically told her off. oh and ryan stood up for me pretty sure he gave her a talking to while i went to the bedroom and ranted to my mum (love my mum, she's a best friend and mum rolled into one) and well i think she heard some of the conversation when she came to apologise, and it made her re-assess her behaviour. I then camly explained my reasons behind what i am doing, why i was doing it and what caused tristan's behaviour, which she then agreed made perfect sense, and promised to follow my rules (hmm, my mum is supervising her for me

) oh and want to know what she said this morning that was what set her off? oh Tristan cried when i told him off.

i explained it wasn't a cry, it was his way of saying "sorry mummy i shouldn't do that", basically his acknowledgement of knowing what he was doing was wrong. i guess i have to be understanding that she can't understand him like i do but really. it was just such a shock as she is normally a lovely (even though she stresses about everything too much)woman.
just have to say was a bit amazed at myself too, as it jsut suddenly seemed when it came to my child i could be a tiger

me the total paficist, non-confrontationally person.
better go am sneaking on at work and the boss is back from lunch now. she was happy for me when i told her i was pregnant again too
maya
KA - can't wait to hear the news
Nic&Al
18/01/2010, 08:01 PM
Announcement time!!!QUOTE
Oliver Finnegan born 2.98kg at 7:30pm. Kathryn's done another fantastic job and is doing well.
Congratulations to Kathryn, Brenden and big brother Hugh on the safe arrival of your little man Oliver. Wishing you a restful and speedy recovery, and hoping Oliver is a beautifully cruisy as his big brother!
fraggles
18/01/2010, 08:32 PM
Ohhh yay was just coming in to see if there was any news yet.
Congratulations Kathryn, Brenden and Hugh on the safe arrival of Oliver
mayahlb
18/01/2010, 08:57 PM
i love the name and wow congrats to Kate and Brendan and Hugh and welcome little Oliver.
maya
mayahlb
18/01/2010, 08:58 PM
... double post
samshine
18/01/2010, 09:17 PM
Congrats Kate, Brenden and Hugh on your new little boy, fantastic news. [color="#000080"][/color]
Pretty close on for your size prediction too! Don't worry about the guilt, it's a mother thing, I spnent the entire day that I was booked in for F's induction crying with guilt about what I was doing to Charlotte. Think of how wonderful it will be for HWT to have a brother so close in age.
Maya - Will post properly later but sorry to hear about the MIL issues, and well done for sticking up for yourself and your family.
Been to see DH off at the airport tonight. Was fine waving him off, but feeling a bit lost now. I put the kids to bed and it was so quiet and empty I was tempted to get them up again

. Charlotte is funny, her explanation is 'daddy caught a plane up in the clouds to visit his mammy'. Bless!
Nic&Al
19/01/2010, 06:11 AM
Morning ladies
SO exciting to have the newest addition to our group here - hopefully Kate and Oliver had a very peaceful night, actually - hoping Brenden and Hugh did to!!
Sam - Can imagine the house would feel weird with only you there after the kids in bed, cherish the peace though - great chance for reading, watching TV shows G can't stand, all those things you can't do with a man there

Hope your 3 weeks as solo mum go smoothly, sing out if you need any help or a quick sanity break! Haydie has a cold with a green nose so I think I might have to pull out of tomorrow sorry - last thing you need is sick kiddies while you're on your own. Will text you this arvo to let you know for sure. C's explanation is so cute
Maya - sorry to hear your MIL is being a pain, good on you for being assertive and setting her straight though! THese things need to be ironed out quickly or they never seem to get resolved. How did your first day at work go? Love that lioness mother instinct too

We rarely hear from Al's mum so I don't have to worry about it too much thankfully!
Floss -
Juz - how is the new kitty settling in? You must have quite the collection of pets now!
Gabrielsmummy - hope you've recovered from your tummy bug now, they're so unpleasant, specially with a kiddy around! Hope G didn't catch it to.
Ssorrento - you have your own space back, hooray! Having a house guest, even when it's your mum, is hard work isn't it - you've done well to get through it pretty unscathed! I bet O will be pleased to have his house back too. How's the clinginess going, I still have a velcro-baby too
AFM - Haydie is just so gorgeous at the moment, chatting away and getting stronger every day. He can stand unsupported for a few moments if he's concentrating, but still a loooong way from walking I think. The CHN told me he has hypermobile ankles, knees and hips so that is hampering him a little but shouldn't be too bad. He is slightly above average height and weight, but his head circ is on the top line LOL. Little brat though, he can move the coffee table from in front of the TV even though it has 2 x 4.5kg weights on the rack to try and stop him. He's also decided that climbing on top of it is great fun too

cheeky monkey.
Better go referee the latest match between the two of them. Have to admit that I'm starting to feel a bit over being at home with them all the time, think starting uni soon will be a very welcome addition to my life! Of course I love them to bits and mostly enjoy being the SAHM, but I don't feel very stretched and am welcoming the addition of something a bit more intellectual! Please don't remind me of this once I've started uni and am complaining about how hard it is LOL.
Gabriel'sMummy
19/01/2010, 08:58 AM
Good Morning all!
Feeling much better and thankfully G hasn't pick it up.
CONGRATULATIONS KATE, BRENDEN & HUGH.
Nic - Yay for H! G is a fan of pushing the coffee table, usually into our legs when we are sitting on the couch. He thinks it is hilarious. Good luck with the climbing thing too!
Sam - Charlotte is gorgeous. Hope all goes well with the kids on your own. It is nice to do your own things occasionally.
Floss - nice to meet you!
Juz - the cooler weather is definately a blessing. Enjoy it while it last. Although I know I will definately be wishing for warmer weather when winter gets here. I hate the cold!!
Maya - All I can say is ROARRRRRRRR!!! Had to be done! Your house, your kids, your rules.
Ssorrento - hope the clingy-baby syndrome has subsided.
Hi Fraggles!
Hi to anyone else I have missed.
I think I bought home a demon child yesterday after kindy. G was just a case. I have never seen him so bad. He was quite whingy in the morning before we left. He grabbed hold of my hand the minute he got out of bed and refused to let go. He wouldn't even let me open the door so we could leave. The teacher said he had a slight temp in the morning, but was still eating ok and had slept a fair bit. He was happy when we left to go home, but as soon as we walked in the door, what a change! I couldn't do anything with him. He screamed the whole time. I couldn't pick him up but I couldn't put him down either. He didn't want to sit or play or sleep. All he seemed to want to do is cry and scream. I eventually picked him up with his dummy and panda and blanket and any other comforts I could find and layed on my bed with him. I think he fell asleep from exhaustion. He was mildly happier when he woke up and I put him back to bed 2 hours later. I think maybe his teeth? I hate blaming everything on teeth, but its the only thing I can think of?
Today was better... thank goodness.
Anyway... got to do some work.
mayahlb
19/01/2010, 09:05 AM
nic -

i am wondering how sane i am to be contemplating going to uni next year. BUT i also don't know how sane i would be with nothing to do but look after 2 kiddies. must admit there have been times this year when i have wanted something else on my brain.
sam - wow that would feel strange and quiet.

charlotte's explaination

everyone
well work went alright yesterday. was really hanging out to get back to tristan from about 2 in the arvo. but it also went faster then i thought. BUT my boss was also so jetlagged it was a bit funny at times too. she jsut got back from poland on sunday and had only had about 4 hours sleep. it all mostly came flooding back though so i didn't feel like a completel nitwit though some things are very changed. they took my fav, workmate's office out of our building though

she was so great to have a chat to and now i can't jsut pop around the corner and chat about something. but i suppose i will also get more work done, though i have never had a problem completing task. it just well felt a bit too quiet there yesterday. the boss was very happy for me being pregnant as well. which is lovely, i just explained to her that this baby was very planned and some of the reasons behind it and she completly understood. they had all known about mum's health problems and that she had being told she only had a few years left as i went in there before xmas, just to say hi and ended up crying all over them from the stress of it all. all i can say is Thank God they found something else they could do for mum and she is bascially very much healthier and has a decent life expectancy now. sorry i am very full of horomes and just plain emotional at the moment.
guess what though? i am sure i have felt the baby move already

definately wasn't gas and i think this one likes resting against the front. about 3 times now, once a kick and twice a bit of a well wriggle? wish teh insomnia would let up though, have been awake since 4.
and Tristan has been sleeping better without the dummy overnight then with it. oh and have you ever seen a 1 year old absolutely destroy a corn cob.

we had eaten most of the kernals but left enough that he could have a go with it. he ate every single kernal left on it. GREAT TEETHING TOOL

oh and the mil issues has been resolved. she has acknowledged I am Queen Bee in this house

and she has to respect me. i think she knew i was completely serious when i said if she didn't do things the way i wanted.
gtg need some breekie. no work until 1 today
maya
gabrielsmummy - sounds like teeth to me. i am pretty sure T's eye teeth are going to be trying to turn up in the next week or so. from MIL's decription of how he was behaving yesterday and the way he was eating it would say something is happening teeth wise and these are the only ones he has left to get besides the 2 yr old molars.
Nic&Al
19/01/2010, 09:22 AM
Gabrielsmummy - it could well be teeth, but ear infections can cause symptoms like that too. My GP always says ear infections can go unnoticed all day, but once it's night time and they're lying down the pain increases. I would say get him checked out if he's like it again today just to be sure - they can be cleared up quickly with antibiotics.
ssorrrento
19/01/2010, 09:39 AM

I am officially mother free.

Kinda mixed emotions, as when things settled down, it was nice having her around. She spoilt us by doing the washing and ironing, and totally re modelled our front garden. Plus Oli warmed to her eventually. Still, we'll see her in September when we go back.
Congratulations Kate, Brendan and Hugh. I must commend you on your excellent choice of name.
Maya - Big hugs to you. I have no MIL issues, so I can't imagine what it must be like. Do you think that she has regrets about her mothering and is trying to rectify her mistakes vicariously? Glad things seem to have settled down tho. And you felt baby move! How far along are you now?
Gabriel'smummy. Poor G. Don't you just hate those days. Hope it's teething - at least that's explained.
Nic - Aren't they fantastic? They really seem to have a personality now. I must admit - I really love Oli now he's so interactive. I'm just not a baby person. H sounds pretty strong. Is there any way you could channel that for your own purposes? Maybe the vacuuming? We still have clingy baby. Be interesting to see if it changes now mum has gone.
Samshine - how long is hubby gone for? You'll have your hands full while he's away, I imagine. But C sounds very cute with her explanation.
Floss - I hear ya on the health kick. Mmmm. Chocolate. Maybe I'll start tomorrow.
Can't see further back, so Hi to everyone else.
Us - Oli took 3 steps yesterday to reach a balloon, and then another step to turn around later. He is an excellent balancer. He can say 'rara' for Flower, and 'Balo' for Balloon. The solids are going heaps better now we give him bite sized pieces. He just loves sitting in a high chair when we eat out too. And at the airport yesterday, he thought that the escalator was hilarious. Little things
So I'm back at work now

I've loved being at home with O for a month now he's at this wonderful age, and am keeping fingers crossed that I win the lottery so I can be a SAHM. My p/time arrangements were only for 6 months, until Feb. While my manager is happy for me to continue part time, I'm dreading being told by higher powers that I can't, and have to go full time.
Have a great day everyone.
fraggles
19/01/2010, 08:30 PM
Gabrielsmummy - i agree with Nic it could be his ears, i would take him to the doctors to get checked, when H had all his ear problems night time was when i picked it up each and every time.
Well H now has inflamed tonsils and is back on antibiotics, i really hope this isn't a reoccuring thing now, we have just got his ears fixed. Off to bed now feeling rather down about it all wondering what i am doing wrong to cause all this (even though it know its not my fault).