The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: December 08 Parents # 35

mayahlb
i'm about to go to bed but had to come and give you a cyber hug kim.
so bbighug.gifhhugs.gifbbighug.gifhhugs.gif

ssorrento - i am 12 weeks and some days. felt bub 1st time at 10.5 blink.gif which is very odd but well it couldn't have been anything else.

maya
~Tera~
Congrats Kathryn and Dh and Hugh on the birth of your gorgeous boy Oliver. I love this name biggrin.gif

Hope you are enjoying your new little person.

Am trying to upload a pic of Hayden, I bought him a toddler bed the other day, so slowing weaning him to his own bed next to mine. He is still BF so comes over for a feed then back to his little spot.

Need to catch up with his thread so will pop back later.

Hi everyone I hope you all have a good day.

http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l262/MLPmum/DSC00723.jpg
http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l262/MLPmum/DSC00725.jpg

He loves it.
mayahlb
got to hear the heartbeat eexcite.gif dr found it within 15 secs so no worry about not being able to find it. was soo nice. had the nurse tell me to eat healthy though as i had lost 2kgs. rolleyes.gif (good thing i didn't tell her i think it might have been a bit more but i was fianlly managing to eat something.

oh and tristan had the tip of his bottom eye tooth come through this morning. i am so looking forward to having all 4 through so it will be while before the last molars come through. am tried of teething. MIL is good now on the child raising issues etc but OMG can that woman talk. have felt like saying to her a couple of times, do you know how to be quiet. and she expects me to listen to all the dribble when i zone it out after a while. rolleyes.gif
work is going alright. bit boring but well it is a job. hopefully i get my first pay this friday though, will be nice to have my own money for the first time in ages, even if all of it goes on the car loan.

waves.gif everyone
gtg, sorry about the slightly random post
Maya
~Fuzjuz~
Thought I'd better post before I get too behind again. biggrin.gif

Congrates KATE & family on the safe arrival of Oliver. wub.gif Hope all is well with your recovery too.

Sam, how long is Dh away? No, don't get them out of bed again. tongue.gif

Nic, Diesel has settle in fine. Other cats accepted him no probs. laughing2.gif at Hayden. Kane climbed up on the lounge this morning. ohmy.gif So hope he's not a full on climber as none of the other kids were. mellow.gif

Maya, ddance.gif on feeling bubs & glad all is sorted with MIL. biggrin.gif

GabrielsM, is starting to warm up again & yes, I'm not a fan of the cold either. Hate the snow.
Sounds like teeth. Kane has been whingy & clingy the last couple of days too. sad.gif

Ssorrento, way to go Oli. biggrin.gif

waves.gif everyone else, Kane has just woken from a 1hr sleep so have to go. sad.gif Grumpy boy for the rest of the day. cry1.gif
mayahlb
waves.gif ok so i am being bad and sneaking on at work but well i am here on my lonesome (only my area lol, there are other people here). just had a rather enlightening conversation with a work friend. apparently while i have been away for a year work has been going crazy. we had 2 new people (well they worked in other positions here) go into i suupose you could call them the management positions. apparently they have basically tried to get rid of anyone with higher qualifications then then, tried to intimidate the rest and have now started micromanaging the place. Julie said i managed to miss the worst year here for the past 6 years. and now the new year has started, most of the staff have decided to basically go into revolt and not volunteer for anything, only do what is on their work descriptions and act like the idiots the management is treating them like. should be a very interesting 6 months blink.gif i have a very good feeling my work is going to slowly implode. god i knew this place was bad in someways but this is so bad i jsut have to laugh at the situation. oh and they got rid of one of the manjor important people that worked here and did a huge amount of stuff behind the scenes so come graduation week (am working at a uni for those who don't know) i think this will be reaching disaster proportions. thankfully as i am pregnant i don't feel i have to worry too much about it and can just stand on the lines and watch it all.
maya
fraggles - i still reckon your workplace is a lot worse. i am jsut alughing because i KNOW there si going to be fireworks, there is too many stubborn, headstrong people that work here
ssorrrento
Hi everyone. Why is it that when I'm around, it all goes quiet, then when I don't get chance to read, it goes wild with posts and it takes ages to catch up?

Maya - work sounds fun. As you say, you have other priorities now, so it should make it easier to deal with. My work is boring too. I think it's working in admin for the government! Glad your drs appointment went well. Is MS the reason you're not eating?

Fuzjuz - how is Kane and his walking? Are you now having to run around after him? I think Oli is too cautious to want to walk just yet.

Tera- wow - a big bed - he looks so comfortable. So do the sides only reach part way down the bed? And have you had problems getting H to stay in it?

Oh Fraggles bbighug.gif I'm so sorry that H is going through the mill. You can't help but blame yourslf, even though your rational mind tells you it's not your fault. How is he responding to the anitbiotics?

Hi to everyone else :waves;

Not much happening here. My first day at home with Oli after mum left and it's been really nice just relaxing. I was so tired this morning that I went back to bed when he had his morning nap and it felt so good. Haven't done that for months. Had a friend and her little girl over this afternoon. I think that Oli is going to be a ladies man. He kept trying to undress her. laughing2.gif

Ok. Off for dinner.

fraggles
Well i think the antibiotics are working lets just hope it doesn't come straight back when he finishes the course.

Ssorrento - I have been around just not posting ninja.gif

Maya - Yay on feeling bubs move and hearing the heartbeat, how exciting. Sorry you are having work problems as well, i need out of where i am i can't do it anymore.

Well i have applied for two jobs, finished my legal exam (no idea how i went because it was really hard and extremly long but i don't have anything to lose by doing it) and have started the online course for running my own home business.

Well off to make myself some more breakfast because both children steal my toast now, and this is even after they have already had their cereal dry.gif
mayahlb
fraggles - i hope you get the perfect job and pass your exam. and yah to H finally getting better. T steals food from me too. apparently anything i am eating belongs to him, just lovely to get a hand shoved into my food, esp. when it is covered in dirt and you are trying to eat a bowl of ceral

ssorrento - yeah work is nuts. normally there is something going on, as i don't think anywhere can work with academics and not have any infighting for budgets, students, jockying for positions etc etc. but now it has just gone to rediculous proportions. luckily being in the library we are sort of outside it a bit though we are affected rolleyes.gif yeah i wasn't eating properly cause of ms, has maxalon and it helped but if i ate anything beside toast, dairy (metled cheese sandwiches yum) or nutrigrain i would be sick, oh and if i ate any sooner then 4-5 hours apart i was sick and the maxalon just stopped the contant naseau not the sickness. but it is getting a bit better, i have managed to eat meat the past few days, not much admittedly (ms literally won't let me eat more then 1/2 what i normally do portion wise) but i am eating healthier now thankfully, esp. as the dr told me to stop taking the mutlivitmins now i am past teh 1st trimester. wub.gif at Oli, so cute at trying to undress her.

hmm well i only have to work 3 hours today. yah. and i got my 1st pay today and it was more then it thought it was going to be tthumbs.gif has anyone elses bub suddenly taken to climbing everything. if anything 2 foot and under is on the floor i can garentee tristan will climb it. i got the box of baby clothes out of the shed the other day turned around and he is sitting on top of the box. has figured out how to climb the couches too.
gtg bbl
maya
Gabriel'sMummy
Good afternoon ladies.

I am sitting in the air conditioning as it is super hot today. G is in bed sleeping so I thought I would jump on EB and say hello sine I have't posted in a while.

Maya - you poor thing. MS is the worst. I didn't suffer nearly as much as you, but the thought of going through that again scares me. Being pregnant would be so exciting if I could cut straight to 3rd trimester! I hope things get better for you.
G climbs everything, coffee table, back of the couch, TV cabinet, his musical table, everything. Little munchkin thinks its hilarious sitting on the coffee table to eat his food.

Fraggles - G just waves his hands at me now and says "TA". Apparently that means he wants my toast! I cherish the mornings I am up before him. Its so nice to have a coffee in peace!

Tera - love the bed. How do you keep him in it? I have one on layby for G but don't know when I will try him in it.

Hi to everyone else.

Sorry to hear everyone is having work dramas. Its aweful to be somewhere for so long eah day when its painful! I am really enjoying being back at work. I had my first real "work" day in over a year. Ususally I am in an office but Wednesday was spent in a work yard trying to collect blood samples from 700kg cattle!
It was hot, tiring and at times dangerous. Not to mention the flies. It was fun though.

Also Gabriel had his first haircut yesterday. It took a lot of distraction, but it was done pretty quickly. It is so curly now! Poor kid!

Hope everyone has a great weekend.

BTW DH said yes!
mayahlb
gabrielsmummy - yes to another baby? thats great i hope it happens fast for you. and um would you believe the ms isn't as bad this time. last time i chucking 4-6 times a day until 24 weeks then at least once/twice a week if not more until the day he was born. but they didn't take my weight so regulauly last time so i don't know if i lost weight. only gained 9kg though. can i ask what you for work? it sounds interesting.

oh and i booked my 20 week scan yesterday. 5th march, so 6 weeks away.
gtg stuff to do as always
maya
mayahlb
wow it is quiet in here, hope everyone is having a good weekend. just came to post some piccies, bought T some new shoes the other day so he can go to the park etc. these ones he hasn't figured out how to get off yet. they look sooo cute

and one of him tellying daddy to pick him up

bbl
maya
fraggles

Love the shoes Maya. I have trouble finding H shoes because the top of his foot is so high. H has a top just like T's in your pic biggrin.gif
fraggles
rolleyes.gif at work with no work left for me and almost everyone away because tomorrow is Australia Day and they are having a long weekend. Why am i not surprised unsure.gif

Anyway hope everyone is going well. We are heading off to the beach at Queenscliff for 4 nights on Thursday. DD is really excited as she has never been to the beach before. Hopefully H likes it as well. We are meeting up with my parents who are on holidays there as well.

I should tell you of my funny story last night. I cleaned up DD's room put everything away so when i went in in the pitch black last night to shut DD's window i was thinking oh how nice i can walk straight to the window without trying to dodge the toys, only thing was i forgot i had a half packed suitcase in front of the window and went head over heals over it, i hit the rocking horse, the wardrobe doors and landed on the ground. I grazed both legs and pulled several muscles, it wasn't funny at the time but now OMG what an idiot i was
samshine
Fraggles - Hope you've recovered from falling over! Good on you for doing those courses and exam, you'll be able to get away from your work.

Maya - Aw, love his shoes - cute. Sounds like there's a bit of work politics? Well at least you don't have to worry too much, since you'll be off on m/l again soon!

Gabrielsmummy - Yay for your saying yes, how exciting, have to say the maternal instincts are a wee bit jealous with talk of pregnancies and babies. But no... I really know I couldn't do a 3rd, its just the idea of it! OMG on you collecting blood off 700kg cattle, I would be terrified. And I thought dealing with needle phobic humans was bad enough!

Ssorrento- laugh.gif at O undressing his girlfriend. F is not looking like a ladies man at this point - he gets very upset at his little girlfriend (11months) who is super active and affectionate and scares him so much he cries on sight. DH admonishes him and tells him he needs to work on his pulling skills. Far cry from him telling Charlottes boy friends off for kissing her!! Double standards much. How are you going without your mum? It must have been hard (but relaxing) the first day or 2 she went?

Juz - DH is away just shy of 3 weeks. He owes me big time wink.gif

As for us, well, its busy here with DH away. I didn't realise how much having a second person, even though he works full time, helps! I had great plans for my evenings after the kids go to bed but TBH, I have so much other stuff and housework to catch up on that its not working that way. Still, we're getting by fine.

I did get very lucky and score a fairly impromptu trip to MElbourne for the night saturday. One of my friends just broke up with her partner and was a bit down so when mum said she'd take the kids for a night I scooted across the water for a night with her. Was nice, had nice lunch and girly time on Chapel street and dinner. Weird though, some friends I find I am so different from since having kids. Their world is so far from my world. I felt completely on another plane on a girls night out the other night. Still love them the same but its different. Then I have other friends that don't have kids, and nothing changed. ANyway gone off on a tangent now, but have been thinking about it the last few days.

Pooping myself a bit, formally did my uni enrolment today and 3 weeks til I start. Not sure how I will fit study in since I'm already feeling stretched with .5 work and will still be doing that! Great news though, found out I get the whole course on scholarship because of my hospitals affiliation with the uni, yay

Sorry for so much me, me me cool.gif
Nic&Al

Been a bit AWOL due to running a friend's home business while she's on holidays - discovered that floristry is something I won't be adding to my resume any time soon LOL.

Sam - Yay for your one-nighter in Melb, although the friends' bust-up not so nice. I understand how you feel about friends who don't have kids yet, their lives seem so far removed don't they! Not in a bad way, just different priorities and activities and stuff like that. Good for you with the scholarship too, that's fantastic!

Fraggles - Oh poor you, I hope your knees are ok today! Enjoy the beach, will be interesting to see what the kids make of it. Your work is stupid, you're doing so great getting those courses done - you'll be out of there in no time!

Maya - great pics, I can't believe how much hair T has now, it's really thick and lovely! And OMG you're nearly 20 weeks already, how fast has that gone! Love T's shoes, need some for Haydie but he has fat feet on top so they're hard to find.

Gabrielsmummy - glad the first haircut went well, they're so funny sitting up there in front of the mirror! We had H's cut on Friday too and it already looks like it could do with another, curly mop he's got! How exciting at baby #2, good luck! Your work sounds pretty interesting, are you a vet or something like that? We have a climber here too, Haydie climbs everything he can and then stands on it. Think he's going to come a cropper soon!

Ssorrento - yay for your nana nap the other day, they're so lovely aren't they! So nice that you and O had a great first day without your mum there, having visitors is hard work even if it is someone you love lots! How cute that O is already a ladies man original.gif

waves.gif hi everyone I've missed!

Not much going on around here, H is chatting his head of at the moment, he seems to say the same word for just about everything but we can usually work out what he wants thankfully - otherwise it turns into a screaming episode which is not too pleasant. He's starting to take a few steps which is wonderful, you might have seen on FB that the cat was the first thing he walked to - not me or Al LOL.

Em is away at my parents' place this week, been there since Saturday and coming back tomorrow I think - it's been so nice to have some uninterrupted time with Haydie, and lovely for her too to get some undivided attention from Nana and Poppy. We're having her 'surprise' party on Saturday, at a park with a really cool bike track for kids, with traffic lights and everything!

OK, loud bang followed by 'uh-oh' means I better go check out what the boy is up to!

ssorrrento

Nic - wow - you can turn your hand to anything! A friend brought up the subject of one on one time with her kids the other day. I guess H won't notice he doesn't have it, whereas Em must have had a fair bit of adjustment to sharing you guys. It must be hard.

Samshine - we're back to normal without mum now. But she has to go for an ultrasound on her ovaries next week due to low abdominal pain (which she's had for months but didn't want to do anything about it 'til she got back from us ohmy.gif ) and it's made me think about what I would do if she was ill. I'm in awe of your stamina with 2 kids, a demanding career and uni. Would you pop some in a box and send it to me? Sounds like you had a nice night in Melbourne. How long does it take you to get there?

Fraggles - your fall sounds scarey - lucky you didn't fall through the window. It's the kind of thing I'd've done. I know what it's like when you have nothing to do at work. I'm in a similar boat and it's driving me crazy. How long before you see yourself leaving?

Gabrielsmummy - what job do you have - it sounds full on. I have a climber too. He climbs on to a big round ottoman and lays on it when he's tired, or props himself on his elbows and watches TV. v funny.

Maya - I can't see your piccies at work. Hope the MS isn't too bad.

Us - not much happening. Went to the beach with friends yesterday and Oli had great fun trying to catch seagulls. People thought he was hilarious crawling down the beach. Hubby has a day off from work tomorrow, so we get to spend our first day alone in I don't know how long. Can't wait. biggrin.gif Ok. off to try and look busy at work.

CoreysMummy

Hope you all had a great christmas and having a fantastic 2010 so far.
Been MIA for the last couple of weeks as we have been to Qld and home on school holidays with Corey.

All is going good here.

Joshua still only has 4 teeth, NOT walking but crawling everywhere, chatting away.

He is starting daycare next week 3 days and I'm a bit nervous as he has only ever been with Myself, hubby and my mum & dad.
Corey is back to school on thursday (2nd class).

Does anyone else's little angel have tantrums if they don't get what they want.??
Also has anyone else's little one's become fussy with food.

Gabriel'sMummy
Hi all.

I hope everyone had a nice, sort of, long weekend. I don't work fridays and took monday off, so it was a super long weekend for me.

Nothing much here. I seem to have baby on the brain now we are TTCing! DH doesn't want to talk about it until there is actually a baby to talk about, but all I want to talk about is prams and cots! I think I am driving him a bit crazy!

Coreysmummy - don't think we have met yet. Gabriel has just had 2 more teeth break through, so he has a grand total of 6!
Yes to the tanties! He will now throw himself on the ground and cry when I tell him no or wait. I hope its a phase because this routine is getting very boring, although I do tend to just ignore and step over him when he does it.
No problems with food. He will eat whatever he is given. I have said that I think kindy is going to start charging me extra because he eats so much.

Ssorento - hope you had a nice day alone with DH. We actually got to go the movies on sunday night. It was nice to do adult stuff.

Nic - good work with the floristry. Sounds fun. laughing2.gif to H and his uh-oh! G does that too. Does H do it deliberately? Throws things on the ground and says uh-oh! Very funny.
The 'surprise' birthday sounds wonderful. Good luck.

I am actually a scientist working with livestock. It can get a bit Mcloud's daughters at times! I love it though. I spend some of my time in an office, some time with the animals and some time in a lab doing tests. Its great fun. I know though that if I get pregnant again, all animal work has to stop and I have to sit at my computer all the time. Not looking forward to that bit.

Sam - Its a little bit different, not much though. I used to work in a kids hospital collecting and processing blood samples, so I have done the needle phobics too. What do you do? What are you studying? Sounds great anyway.
Sounds like you had a nice night out in Melbourne. All my close friends have kids now so I don't seem to have that problem. Although I can see how things and priorities would change. I was actually the last of my friends to have a baby.

Fraggles - laughing2.gif you poor thing. Thats why I don't clean up!!

Maya - love the shoes. T looks so cute. G has fat feet so I am another struggling to buy him shoes. I have started buying expensive sneakers for him, although he has grown out of his old pair from last year and I'm not getting another pair until winter. They seem to be the best for his feet, but stupidly expensive.
He has beautiful blonde hair though. Poor G got my hair and so is very curly! DH thinks he looks like a mad scientist!

Hi to anyone I have missed.

Sorry for the long post... it did fill in a bit of time for me though, and now its home time. YAY!
Gabriel'sMummy
BTW... sorry about the photos. I didn't think they would be so big and I don't know how to make them smaller!!
mayahlb
wish i was home. tristan was running a low-grade fever before i left. it's just from teething but sad.gif .guess what, i am over work already.

gabreilsmummy - aww wub.gif so cute. love his hair. t's shoes fit fine though he is a skinny kid (doesn't look it in clothes but he is). weight sits about the 30th percentile and height the 75th so barely any fat on him at all so no problems with shoes. BUT they can't have any velcro or he will work out how to take them off in 5 seconds flat.

coresymum - T will scream th hosue down if told no, or pulled away from something. he isn't quiet as bad as he was a couple of weeks ago but wow he has volume.

ssorrento - hope you ahve a wonderful day with DH

nic - wow, multiskilled tongue.gif

sam - that's great news about the scholarship

so just a bit of a work vent. anyone else feel like your supervisor etc or other people are constantly hanging over your shoulder judging your work? it is either this or being left to do told to something where the procedures have completely changed. maybe it is just my mood today or something. i think it is also DH trying to convince me to get the internet cut off for a couple of months as i want to change the plan we are on. told him yeah he could do that but then our phone bill would double so we wouldn't be saving anything anyway. rolleyes.gif and i would go crazy with no net. 1'd get rid of the foxtel before then net. then we would save money. bet his mum said i spend too much time on there. she made some comment yesterday about "excercise being good for pregnant women" which i know but i am not going outside to walk around our block a few times with them and be eaten alive by march flies and have pretty welts all over my skin. she knows i'll allergic to insect repellant. and i bet you i do a hell of a lot more walking then her, but because she doesn't see it them obviously i am on my way to being a fat pregnant couch potato. grr
sorry another rant yet again. all i seem to do lately is rant.
maya
fraggles
Gabrielsmummy - Love the pics and G's curly hair.

Maya - Yep completly understand the work situation with people watching over your shoulder.

Hi Coreysmummy

Samshine - Your Melbourne trip sounds great. I don't see really any of my pre kids friends we have gone different ways and now have nothing in common at all.

Nic - Its hard to find that balance to give each child undivided attention isn't it. Hope Em is having a great time with her Nana and Poppy. Wow Floristy i wouldn't have a hope in keeping that home business going laugh.gif

Well we are off to the beach now for 4 nights so i may not be online, depends whether we can get a connection at the caravan park.
CoreysMummy

just wondering how to add pictures. Would love you all to see Joshua. He is a big boy with curly hair.
Gabriel'sMummy

Coreysmummy - upload your photos into photobucket and then insert the IMG address into your post. It will look like just an address until you actually upload your post, then it will add the actual pic.

This is how I did it anyway... others might have a better way. Mine seemed to come out really big!
mayahlb
god save me from stubborn stupid women!!!!!!!!!!!! esp. of the mother in law variety.
i come home and she sitting there with her foot and ankle swollen to double it's size and one of the bites that is obviously infected getting redder and bigger until it is almost a red band around her leg. she had rung the hospital earlier to see what to do (rang me for the phone number and i told her if they told her to ring my gp and make an appointment, even told her where to find the phone number!). they of course told her to come in and get it checked out. but no does she ring me and say can you come get me? noooooo. she waits until i come home, and has she made a dr's appointment like a sensible person, noooooo. does she listen to me or dh when we tell her you have to be very careful of infections here as we live in the tropics and infections go bad fast, nooooo. what sort of person has to threaten a woman in her 70's with ringing her 96yr old mother to tell her off, and to stop being stupid. me of course. i took her to the hospital but she couldn't wait longer then 40 mins before she wanted to leave, and i did because the nurse did say a ambulance has just come in and only 1 dr was there at the moment. but i can tell you what, i am making a dr's appointment (if i can get one! they book out very fast) tomorrow and dragging that silly old woman, by her hair if nesassary to get seen by a dr. and if my gp isn't available i will sit on her in the ed until someone sees her!!! sorry i just need to vent as it is just going in one ear and out the other with her at the moment. i thought it was bad having to drag my own mother to the hospital, at least she had the excuse of being off her head with fever or dehydration those times (both because of mum's medical condition make it feel like you are dealing with someone with dementia). urg a woman her age should know better!!!!!!!!!

sorry about the vent about MIL again, it is jsut so frustrating. it's just going in one ear and out the other with her at the moment. and she keeps going on about oh she will jsut go to ed while i am working as it is a shorter day, well they make sick leave for a reason and i currently have 31 days, i don't think a whole 3 hours will make much bloody difference. esp. as it looks like t has got some sort of bug at the moment. as it the sort that he has done 6 today. poor thign they are burning his bum raw. and she expects em to go to work? what is wrong with this woman???? i serioulsy think she needs her head examined.
maya

gabrielsmummy - that's how i do it. to make it smaller i just go to "other options" and select the size
medium (600X400). hth

Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.