The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: September 09 Parents # 16

Essential Baby > Parents' Groups > Join a parents' group here > 2009

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=752685

ktgrouch
Ooooh, did I get GOLD without someone beating me?
coolwater
original.gif

SILVER!

Yep, you got it kt, high five.

How is everyone this week?

My routine and settling with Jasmine has worked itself out. Just like Minich said, I cut out the 4.30pm nap and for the last two days, she has settled beautifully. I hope this continues! original.gif She did wake at 3am for a feed but thats fine, I don't mind.. as long as she settles without too many tears then I am a happy mum. Thanks so much everyone for listening and for all the replies and messages original.gif

Needles: We have our needles tomorrow, I won't be able to watch! sad.gif

Feeding: Jasmine feeds once or sometimes not at all overnight. By the sounds of what you ladies are saying, looks like it might increase to 2+ feeds a night, I should try and prepare myself!

Solids: I have bought some farex but haven't started yet. I might wait for the signs and then see how we go. How many people are going to buy their solids instead of making them? Im not sure what to do. Maybe I can do a bit of both as making it sounds like a LOT of work.

Cuddles: None here yet. She almost gets from front to back, maybe another few weeks and we'll get there.

Tara: So great that you had a good chat with your friends. I bet you feel so relieved. Don't forget you always have us to vent to when you need original.gif

I must rush off, MIL visiting today. Have a great day and enjoy your bubs
Nic
minich
Bronze.
I still haven't made it better than 3rd place yet.
FW - Whoo on the sleep. I'd bet you feel like a new woman.
~*Ness~*
Hi everyone.

I have been MIA for a while now, sorry, I will pick back up again and be back to annoying you all on a daily basis! biggrin.gif

From memory there were a couple of things in the old thread I read and wanted to get back to...

Tylie ~ Are you still worried you may be preg? I hope everything is ok, the stress wouldnt help much.

Tara ~ :bighugs: I hope the sleep sorts itself out soon for you. Sleep deprivation is just the worst kind of torture. Zara has been clingy and is up again once a night for a feed, I think 4 months is hard they are so alert and interested in everything.

Caroline ~ I use s26, the standard one not the gold version. I was told the gold ones often make bubs constipated, and they arent necessary anyway, I used the s26 for Ava and also had no issues at all, Zara has been on it with never a constipation issue. Woolies have it cheapest I have found for $17.

Night feeding ~ Zara can sleep right through, has done it many times but not for a while! She is back to waking once for a night feed, and at a different time every night too, sometimes 1am, last night was 4am. I am going to try giving her a bit less at that feed from tonight, I am finding she drinks the whole bottle so fast and is right back to bed, but then at 6am ish she is up (doesnt seem to matter when she went back to bed) and that 6 or 7am feed she fusses, doesnt seem that interested and doesnt finish the bottle. So, want to try and switch and get her used to being full when its morning! This weather isnt helping, its about 40 degrees in the girls room the past few days and nights. Then apparently its going to be cold in a few days and I will be rugging them up!

Solids ~ I am going to do a mixture of home made and the premade stuff. I cooked loads and loads for Ava and then later used a bit of both. I think in the early days when they are really trying the basics and not eating much then home made is easier and less wasteful. I will cook up batches of apples, pears, carrot, pumpkin, potatoe etc and freeze in ice cube trays, then you can just take 1 pear out to mix with some farex, or a bit of each vegie, until they are eating a fair bit to make it a meal the jars would be a waste of money. They are brilliant for when you are out though, much easier. Need to get a bigger freezer, no way I can store all the baby food in there its so bloody small! I havent started yet, was going to hold out till closer to 6 months but I would think she is ready soon, she is a big bubba and watches us eat and seems so keen to join in! original.gif

Rolling ~ Not yet, but its not far away. She rolls her hips over from her back so she is on her side, just needs to push a little more and she will be doing it.

Needles ~ doing them next week, not looking forward to it.

Daytime routine ~ no such bloody thing! I am going mad she catnaps every sleep, no more than 40 mins. Nothing works to resettle. I am going to clinic for a visit next week and will discuss it then, I just dont know what to do to fix it, but I am not going to put her in the pouch etc anymore when at home, it will only encourage this napping. She is good at night, but I need to get things done during the day which is impossible with an overtired cranky bub.

Jen ~ Zara is the same, all of a sudden is grabbing rattles and teddies etc, and trying to get it all in her mouth! She used to just lie on the mat and if I gave her a toy she would hold it but very quickly drop it and not even look round to see where it was, now she spins around to grab things and is so into it all! But her favourite thing is to have my constant attention, loves staring at faces, being talked too etc, just smiles and laughs and gurgles its so lovely.

Well better run and get some work done before she wakes up in 15 mins! Ergh this heat in Sydney, I cant handle it anymore I am melting!
~raindrops~on~roses~
FW - So glad you got some sleep ddance.gif Doesn't the world look different now? Did Ellie get her shots done too?

Tara - Great you're seeing the dr about it, hope DH understands soon, the book FW suggested sounds like a good idea!

Michelle - Great C did so well with her needles, it really takes the awfulness out of it hey? Stop mentioning the dreaded choc bullets would you!!! I LOVE them and it makes me crave them badly. Lucky for me I don't have anything naughty to eat in the house or I'd be in like a shot! My DH tries to do nice things for me too and I end up eating naughty stuff. The other night he treated me with Grain waves chips (which I love!) and red soft drink with bicardi rum! Yum! Naughty but nice tongue.gif

Ness - I'll be interested to see what the nurse suggests to you about the catnapping! Lila slept for 3 hours this morning which was amazing as she is usually a catnapper! She's also done a few 1.5hrs lately... nothing I do makes a difference, she runs her own show that one!
How funny is it when they're trying to get something in their mouths! Lila is so vicious. It's like she can't get it there quick enough, there's such an urgency to it! Even if I rub her cheek with my nose, she whips her head around and tries to latch on to my nose! laughing2.gif

Minich - So glad you're enjoying your own space again, happy unpacking!!

Nic - Glad you got Jasmine sorted out!

Solids - I will mostly do my own I think. With DS I cheated and bought pie pack apple (which I 100% apple) and just pureed it myself. Cheaper than baby apple, more expensive than buying fresh apples, but tonnes easier! I steamed (rather than boiled) all my own veg, just once a week and did the ice cube thing too. Once he was eating a meal of it, I froze the mush in take and toss tubs. I did use organic baby cereal at first too plus Farex. He loved the banana Farex! I'm holding off til 6 months as the dr said yesterday that Lila is doing really well just with breast so there's no need to start solids til 6 months, suits me!

AFM - Lila had her needles yesterday and was soooo much better than the first time! She just cried for a few seconds after each needle and then was ok. But last night she did throw up a fair bit around 11pm and wouldn't keep any panadol down. But then slept ok after that...

Jen
ttgc
F/W - cclap.gif cclap.gif ddance.gif ddance.gif good job on the sleep, lets hope it stays that way for you original.gif

Nic - thats great theings are falling into place again

Jen - How good is Lila Chase cry his little eyes out and Taylor couldn't watch so was trying to give cuddles to both.

Ness- Still a bit worried as I have still been un well but comes in waves, will just wait and see, I really hope not.

Night Feeding - Chase has not done this from six weeks but I have to say at first I just cut down the bottle then went to water then just got up with the dummy. Once they have not had any for 3 nights then you should just keep trying with the dummy I did have a few nights were I was up and down for a few house but that was for only a week. So if you can try give it a go for a week. In saying that I do understand that when you are that tired it seem easier to just give a them a feed.

Solids - Chase is doing really well with Farex will wait a few more weeks tho till I start giving him some of a night and doing veg. I give him the Farex at about 7.30am before any bottles or anything then give him a bottle at about 8.30. I will also make my own, its really not that bad even as they eat more I still do my own brought a big pot when I was doing it for Taylor so will do that again.

GO HEWITT !!!!!!!!!

AFM - Today the house looks like a bomb has gone off, but my lawns are done and now the kids are both asleep, but Hewitt is playing so really want to watch that.... O well house will be done soon.
RootFerretOfDoom
Sorry Ladies - I need to vent again.

DH has just called and he is stuck in Newcastle - problems with the equipment he was installing and it'll be minimum another two hours before it's fixed, and it may be more. So if he gets home tonight it won't be until 9.30/10.00 at the earliest, and if it takes much longer then he'll stay tonight as well.

We have guests coming for dinner tonight. They are down from Queensland for one week, so I very much doubt we can reschedule (am waiting on a call back from then). I've been out shopping, preparing food and cleaning the house all afternoon and now he's not going to ****ing be here.

I am so angry I could cry. And the real pain is that it's not his fault, he's incredibly apologetic and disappointed himself so I can't even yell at him.
specialtreat
Gem that is terrible. Hope your dinner went well though.(when I feel that angry that I want to cry, I go for a shower and let the tears flow,helps sometimes)

Tara~ Yes Please go and see a doctor. I felt I had PND after I had my first Baby and I went and saw the midwife (small mining town with a very small hospital and limited doctors) she basically told me to go home and get over it huh.gif Luckly I did, I think once I was told yes it was the start of PND and not just me being a horrible mum and that I had a reason for feeling the way I did, I WAS able to get over it.
I agree with who ever it was that suggested taking your DH with you,it wouldn't hurt for him to hear what the doctor has to say.Let us know how you are going and SLOW down! You have a very busy life Take some time out for yourself every once and a while or you are going to burn yourself out.
Having said all that...well done on getting a dress from the first shop you walked into and with both girls. You are very brave original.gif

How funny is it when they're trying to get something in their mouths! Lila is so vicious. It's like she can't get it there quick enough, there's such an urgency to it! Even if I rub her cheek with my nose, she whips her head around and tries to latch on to my nose!

Jen~ Chloe does this too!
I gave her mashed potato and gravy last night and she loved it! She had no trouble swallowing it and kept grabbing my hand and forcing it to her mouth to get the spoon in, it was sooo funny.I wasn't going to worry about solids yet but she is ready, if she is awake at our dinner time then I will give her some, if not then I won't bother.

Ness I have always cooked fresh for my babies too. The only jar stuff they have all had have been the pureed fruit(when out) and the jelly/fruit ones. The rest I do myself.I wouldn't eat a jar of baby meat and vege sick.gif That stuff is disgusting! (I have nothing against those that do though just my personal op biggrin.gif )

How many people are going to buy their solids instead of making them? Im not sure what to do. Maybe I can do a bit of both as making it sounds like a LOT of work.

Nic~ I've never found it to be a lot of extra work. I would just make a little extra on the nights when we had veges and freeze it.And we had a lot more roast meals so that I would have extra left over to freeze.The fruits I would have a big cook up over the weekend and freeze about a months worth.

Here is my Friday pic from last week just a bit late. We went to Riverway for the day on Monday(so hot here and with rain building up) The kids enjoyed the water and Chloe went in for the first time,I think I need to get her a girl swim nappy though, Mitch's old ones are a bit stretched and blue laugh.gif

ttgc
Gee its quite here today original.gif Just trying to see if this photo upload thing is work

ttgc
Hey it work biggrin.gif biggrin.gif ok so its not chase in the water but it was when we were down the river lol

Whats this fridays photo now that I have worked it out original.gif

Gem - Hope your DH got home soon rather then later original.gif And your dinner was ok

4 + 1 - Very cute pic, Its ok for girls to wear blue, but poor chase when we went camping it was cold and wet, only started like that xmas day so I didn't have much warm stuff and he had to have some pink on... DH was not happy lol

AFM - Taylor is at mums again she is having all the kids again, and Chase is just being a good little boy, sleeping. I need to go get on the trademill. So cold here now tho, one day we are roasting the next we are all cold, lucky I got Taylor some new winter cloths the other day
RootFerretOfDoom
Funny you should say that Tylie, I was just coming on to complain that I got a call from DH at 4pm saying that he still has at least an hour's more work and won't be home before 7. This after promising me yesterday that he would be home at a decent hour and would try to leave Newcastle around lunchtime.

Very much NOT impressed.

Our friends still came over last night and bless them, they brought Chinese so I wouldn't have to cook. It meant I also had an extra pair of hands to help with getting the kids off to bed which was great as Ellie was quite fractious so I was able to bathe her and put her to bed while my friend took care of bedtime stories with Cameron, so I only had to do his last two "bedtime" books. Would have been a lot harder by myself.

The kids were really good last night too - didn't hear from Cameron at all and Ellie slept until her 4.30 feed. Two nights of decent sleep in a row - I could get used to this.
owenwh
friday photo theme for tomorrow???
RootFerretOfDoom
Brilliant. Just got a phone call from DH and he won't be home again tonight. Apparently the whole system has fallen down and they'll be working through most of the night trying to get it fixed.

What really sh*ts me is that if I'd known he was going to be away 3 nights I would have planned my week completely differently so that I would have company and help from friends and family. My sister is here from the US at the moment and if I'd known DH wasn't going to be here I would have gone up to my parents place to visit for the day. I'm really really really p*ssed off.
~raindrops~on~roses~
Gem - I so feel your pain!! And you just want to let lose and show them how cross you are, but as it's not their fault you can't... but you still want them to know hey! Same thing happens here... I still take it out on my poor DH by sulking when he does eventually get home and I insist on telling him how hard it's been. How mean am I??? Hope he gets home eventually! Great your friends were more help than hassle!
~*Ness~*
Hi everyone.

Gem ~ I would be really cranky, all you needed was to know so you can plan for it.

Tylie ~ Very cute pic. original.gif

Friday pic ~ What about a colour? Like maybe Pink / Blue. (just to be creative!)

Mums group ~ Is anyone going and really enjoying it? Mine is turning into a bit of an organised scedhuled thing that I am not as happy with, I wish they would just relax and go with the flow! Someone did a roster for the next 4 months! rolleyes.gif I barely know what I am doing next week. Harder for me I guess having 2 kids and working and a DH who doesnt do anything! I have met 1 lady I am getting along very well with and she has the same thoughts as me, so we may just branch off soon on our own!

I went to the shops today to kill a few hrs while I waited for my car and I spoilt Ava! Cotton on had some cute t-shirts less than $5 so I picked up a couple of those, but wow did she score with the drawing stuff! Her latest addiciton is colouring and drawing, and we all get roped into it! Aldi had twistable crayons on sale today for $1.50, so I grabbed heaps of them to leave at mums, my sister etc! Also stocked up on pencils, art books, sticker books and the best I havent given her yet I caved and got the crayola twistables little suitcase thingy that stores them all. Been wanting to get it for a while and they were on sale at kmart so I just got it! Figure I will see how she goes with the cheap aldi ones and if she can look after them I can give her the good ones. I got her some once before and my MIL taught her how to twist them up rant.gif Being 3, she then twisted all of them right up and snapped them off! Useless once that happens.

Miss Zara is doing well, but she is still waking for an early morning feed. I tried just doing the dummy at 2am but she was not impressed at all! She gulped a whole bottle in like 5 mins so was starving, then slept till 5am when I tried again with the dummy without any luck. I am getting a little worried though that the dummy is becoming more of a need than I want, I am happy to be plugging it in all the time during the day, but she never ever needed it at night, but last few nights she wakes crying at 9 or 10 and I pop it in, so will keep an eye on that I think.

Anyway, off to vacuum up the cleaning foam which should have set on the rugs in the garage. (our garage has been transformed into the playroom. Ava did a wee in her pants the other day. rant.gif Its just lazyness now and I am not standing for it, she knows it too was scared and hiding in the tent, anyway I wasnt there when she did it, and I could smell it but couldnt see anything. I cleaned and scrubbed on the rugs where she pointed but all I can smell is gross urine smell in there so I obviously didnt get it. I am a clean freak and fanatic about smells so I am very very angry at her. Anyways, heres hoping the foam stuff gets it all sorted, if not I will be hand washing all the bloody things and leaving in the sun. rant.gif
ttgc
Ness - Yep that would drive me nuts too.

Mums group - I was really not happy, when we lived up the coast everyone went to a centre for the first five weeks and thats were you got your mum gourp from but down hear, was told its only for first time mums, so have not got one which is a bit of a bugger its a great way to meet ppl. But I have all you guys so thats good too.

Photos- blue/pink sounds good. Also what about sports or something, I am taking Chase to the race track on Saturday his first time so hoping to get a photo of him and Taylor in one of the F/Fords, my brother has a team its been great as he use to race then when he stopped I missed going then when he started a team it was great they won the championship first year out. Here is a pic of Taylor at one of the rounds 2 years ago, this was after she had her own little race in it and stood up and said I won mum lol

Gem - Hope your ok on your own. I really do know how you feel, my DH works away 4 weeks at a time, but when he is home I get mighty p*ssed of if he takes of on his own to much cause he is away so much I just want him to be home with us
the4rugrats
Gem- Vent away. smile.gif Hope your DH is home soon...it would really annoy me if I was in the same situation as you are. Glad your friends were able to help out a little. Maybe you should visit your sister/parents, in anticipation of him not returning home. oomg2.gif
Tara- hope everything is a little brighter today.... glad you are seeing someone. I think I had a touch of depression a while back, mainly due to DS1 being a PITA, and didnt do anything about it, but since having DD2 I have never been happier (well I cant really remember too far back, but its been a long long time since I have been this happy).
Tylie-Chase is so handsome. wub.gif
feeding/food- havent started here yet, I dont think I will be starting for a while. I found making my own food easy...just took out a bit of what we were eating each night before adding seasoning, and doing the ice-cube thing. Then if we were having a casserole or something just defrosted the cube. I found if I bought the tins, I wasted more than what was eaten.
mothers group- I havent asked about one, but in the health clinic, they have a note for play-group...which I dont see any point in Trudi going just yet and a 'youngmums' mothers group. I am by no means a young mum so I guess I wouldnt be welcome. I havent seen anything about another mothers group and there was nothing said about it in hospital either. I have never joined a group, with any of my kids and wouldnt know where to start. I still havent got in contact with the DS association, they have a new (to DS) mothers coffee morning, coming up soon. I really want to do it, but put it off as I have a phobia about using the phone...I cant rely on DH to ring all the time...its time to bite the bullet and DO IT!
immunisation- Speaking of phones, I still haven't rung up for Trudis needle appointment (damn phobia again). I really cant put it off too much longer, shes already a little late. blush.gif

As for us- We got the phonecall yesterday, the dates been set. Operation: heart, is 2 March. Well they said 'provisional date'...I guess that depends on how Trudi is (no sickness) hopefully it doesnt mean that the Drs can cancel it for whatever reason. We have a pre-op consult on 26 Feb, so we get to find out what happens before, during, after, also Trudis weight/height/heart is checked. So from now til then we should probably keep her awayfrom everybody and everything, I dont want her to get the slightest bit sick at all. I think its (the heart) just starting to affect her as she gets clammy/sweaty as she feeds now and we have air-con so its not the heat. Shes still not blueish, or breathing fast, and still putting on weight so its not affecting her too much.
Weather here is very unpredictable. Its meant to get to 42c by the end of this week, but nights at the moment can still be a little chilly. Some nights I have Trudi in singlet/nappy to sleep and then the next night its long all-in-ones. Now dont get me wrong...I love love love winter, but if its going to be hot- stay hot until autumn, dont chop and change mid-season! Actually the cooler weather has given me a chance to dress Trudi up in the 0000 winterish stuff that was too big when she was born. laugh.gif

happimama
Solids - have decided i'm going to do what i've read others do, freeze little portions in ice cube trays. I've been reading up on introducing solids and we've decided that we're just going to let her have a couple of mouthfuls in the morning. We still want her to drink the same amount of formula so she gets all the nutrients but also we want her to get used to eating. Everytime i put something in my mouth when i'm holding C she tries to grab it and put in hers. Even in the bath when i was using a cup to rinse her she did it. She only wakes once for a feed but thinking of cutting this one down as she wont take a bottle till at least 10am.

Mothers Group - Haven't joined one yet but as soon as we move i am. Went to the library yesterday and there were all these little girls playing and Cadence was sitting on my lap, she kept jumping forward and smiling at them. Makes me feel guilty knowing that she's not going to have any brothers or sisters to play with and i want to make sure she fits in with kids ok, i know she's young but she was so happy watching these girls play.

Sherri - What size is Chloe? I bought Cades a swim nappy when from the baby expo but i can't even get them past her thighs. They're medium monkey doodlez, cherry pattern. Let me know if they'll fit Chloe and i'll post them to you.

Jo - It must feel better to have a date set, even if provisional. Hopefully the sweatiness is as bad as it gets.

Jen - I was so stressed while we were waiting for our number to be called (we go to through the local council) and i felt so guilty holding her while they did it. Makes me feel better about

Gem - Isn't takeaway great. I know men get stressed at work blah blah but i do think it more stressful for the one left to run everything. Hopefully the kids keep up with their sleep. Its amazing how much of a difference a few hours of sleep can make.

AFM - We put in an application for a house yesterday. It needs a big clean as the people who lived there before smoked (im assuming cos the walls and ceiling had that yucky colour to it and you could see where they started to clean it). Its so cheap but we're not sure if that just means that the landlord is crap and can't be bothered making it nice. Hopefully they call us next week to say yay, you've been accepted.

I'm just waiting for Cadence to wake up then we're going to the sleep school. Typical, the morning we're supposed to be there she sleeps for ages!
RootFerretOfDoom
Well, I should have known three nights in a row of good sleep was too much to ask.

I have been up all night. Seriously. Every time I started dozing off, one of them would wake me. At one point I just gave up and sat on the computer for an hour, because I was so awake and angry that I figured there was no way I'd get to sleep. Of course both of them were quiet the whole time, I decided I could go to sleep, and 15 mins later...

I ended up leaving the light on for DS and giving him a pile of books around 3am as he just didn't want to sleep, around 4am I went in to get him to go back to sleep because I heard him throwing the books out of the cot, and he had another tanty about it, so I smacked him and yelled (but under my breath IYKWIM) and then stormed out and went back to bed - he was completely quiet and I lay there feeling awful about smacking him - went in after 10 mins to apologise as there was no way I was getting to sleep feeling like that, and of course he'd gone to sleep and didn't wake until about 8.00.

So of course Ellie started again literally a minute after I'd laid back down, and I was so angry and so frustrated and thinking she was going to wake DS again - I seriously scared myself at how much I wanted to shake her and yell at her. It took every ounce of self control I had not to do it. I kept her in bed with me the rest of the night and by about 6 gave up and put her in her swing in the lounge room and just went back to bed - so after that I had about an hour and a half of sleep.

I'm about to take DS to daycare, have been waiting to make sure I feel ok to drive as I was so exhausted and dizzy when I got up for the day I just didn't feel I should get behind the wheel. Feeling better after breakfast though. DH has promised me that even if everything blows up he will be hom by 3pm and will take over everything as long as I need him to, and once DS is in daycare I can sleep anyway while Ellie sleeps.

I never understood how people could kill their babies by shaking them but I really saw how it could happen last night. God I hope I never get that feeling again.
~gemma~
bbighug.gif Gem i know how you feel, though i dont really tend to speak out about it, my kids drive me nuts and i literally bang my head on walls so i dont hurt them sad.gif Have you been to tresillian or anything to help you?

Sorry i havent been in, well i have, and have been reading, but yeah, i just havent replied. Have been a bit funny lately and things just do not want to go my way, i dont wana be here in this house, Kevin drives me crazy, he hasnt changed at all. He still tries to control my every move, rings me when im up the shops every 20 minutes "why is it taking you so long?" Well maybe dipsh*t if you didnt ring every few minutes i might get something done rant.gif He doesnt seem to get that he is pushing me further and further away sad.gif The other night i went to the police station to put a report in on A, i was gone 3 hours(45 minute drive to get there as i went wih A's ex wife) and i had TWELVE missed calls from him. My phone was on silent, im not rude like him, i dont take a phone call just because its ringing.

Need to go back and re read everything, ive lost the lot lol
ttgc
F/W - I hope you get some sleep today, you poor thing, I do understand when its like that and your on your own its very hard, can you send you DS to stay the night with anyone? even if its one or two nights to give you a chance to get Ellie worked out? Also I have some hints if you want but it will be hard for a bit, and you need to stay strong and be able to listen to them cry for a bit, but it works. I did it with both DD and DS DD I started when she was 3 weeks old and DS about 4, and they now both sleep really well. its when time how long before you go back into them. Also anyway of maybe moving them around so they don't wake each other up? I found when I first came home DD would wake up but then I just told her that if she hears DS crying to know that its all ok and for her to go back to sleep till the sun comes out. If DS wakes she just sleeps right throw it

Gemma - Hope your feeling a bit more happy soon and get everything worked out. Try telling K how would he like it if you rang him every 20mins when he was out or at work..

Michelle - Hope you get the house and the sleep school works out. Maybe you could share your tips for everyone that is having trouble with bubs sleeping

AFM - I am sitting here LMAO as Chase is blowing bubbles its so dam cute I can't belive how much I love this little guy and his big sister most of the time lol. My pram broke so off to buy a new one, wish I didn't have to rush to get one but need it for tomorrow out at the track.
minich
Wow sounds like some of you are having a rough time. Hope things look up for you all soon.
Gem - I could only imagine how you feel & don't worry I think every parent feels like that at times. I hope your DH makes it home & doesn't let you down again. Hope you feel rested soon.
Gemma - Have you been house hunting? hope you find something soon, sounds like you really need your own space.
DH - Don't worry ladies the a*s*hole gene is in built in all men. I can't complain at the moment because he's been pretty good but I think you woman whos men work away are lucky because even if they were around they wouldn't do anything anyway. Mine thinks that because he works he is intitled to go to the pub or friends places whenever he likes because work is so stressful, whatever babe, work has been so slow lately that they haven't even been working 5 days a week. When he was home the other day I asked him to clean up after himself as I am always cleaning and he said yeah that's all you do & I replyed, I know but I think he meant that's all I have to do is clean and I meant all I ever do is clean. Lol
Solids - I think I'm going to wait until we see the health nurse and see what she recommends but I will be doing the cooking my own and freezing in icecube trays. Our fridge makes ice so I have just bought the ice block trays from tupperware and am excited to try them out.
Mothers Group - One of the local ladies has just started one up but all of the babies are older than Amelia and I think I'm the youngest Mum too. It is nice to get out of the house but I'm going to give it a miss and wait until she's a bit older and can enjoy playing with other kids. We also have a playgroup and book club in town but again I think it will be better if she's older.
Wrapping - Those who use the Woombie what do you wrap bubs in when it's in the wash? I try different things but it seems to take forever for her to get to sleep.
Caesarean Scar - Mine has been itching like crazy. Anyone else get this? What do you use on it.
Needles - I called the clinic today and they are closed for another 2 weeks so it will be 3 weeks until we get ours done.
Jo - Good news about Trudis op. How are you feeling about it? You seem not to stressed out.
Ness - Yes another clean freak here.
AFM - I am so in love with my daughter. llove.gif I can't get enough of her. I love the way she looks at me with those innocent eyes that just say I'm the best things in the world. She is such a joy and I believe children really are gifts from God.
C xo
specialtreat
Michelle~ i will PM you original.gif about the swimmers. Also a tip with starting solids I was always told to give bub food AFTER a feed (Breast or formula) That way they are getting their full feed first and not filling up on solids first.
Good luck with the house,I hope you get it hands.gif and with the sleep school!

Gemma hope you are feeling better soon, ohmy.gif every 20 mins he rings you! That would drive me up the wall!

Gem~ It is a horrible feeling isn't it. We mums who try to be the perfect mother and wife don't speak about those moments cause they scare us so much but the reality is we do have them you are not on your own there.Just take a deep breath and come on here and let it all out. We understand. bbighug.gif original.gif

Jo~ good news on the op date? That will come round so quick for you.

Tylie~ great photo of Taylor, the look on her face says it all original.gif I normally wouldn't have a problem with Chloe wearing blue but after 3 boys I am really loving PINK lol!

AFM I am laying in bed trying to get some rest but am on my lap top instead rolleyes.gif Was up till 3am. Little miss went to sleep at 5;30pm yesterday and slept till 1am which is when Ryan woke up vomiting sick.gif so I was up till 3am with Ryan and Chloe wanted to chat and play then did a huge poo!!! then went to sleep. After cleaning up vomit her nappy was the last thing I wanted to clean up but I couldn't let her sleep in that! So then she was awake again cause I had to clean her up rolleyes.gif
Ryan's ok now so must have been something that he ate maybe.Anyways everyone is resting and all I can think about is what I should be doing(cleaning)but need to be catching up on some sleep.
This ALL WAYS happens when DH is at work he never seems to be home for the bad nights of vomiting and sickness Grrrr!
~raindrops~on~roses~
Ness - Riley was given a set of those twisty crayons for Christmas too. He loves them but wants them twisted up big he says! Which I know will result in snapping! I think I'll put them away til he's a bit bigger or only used under supervision..
Lila sometimes does an early morning wake up. This morning I just let her burble for a while and she went back to sleep. She doesn't cry when she wakes so I think I'll only get up to her if she starts getting cranky or so loud I think she'll wake DS! Surely they don't need night/early morning feeds anymore? By this age my DS was sleeping 7pm-7am!

Tylie - I meant to ask where you went to get Chase's needles? I know the lady who does needles at Kable Street GP is also a lactation consultant which would be why she always offers feeding advice! When I was there to get my own shots done I was breastfeeding Lila and she pulled my shirt back to have a peek and said "I just love seeing a baby have a good breastfeed"!! I do too, but I'd never pull someone's shirt away from their boob to look oomg.gif
BTW - If you ever feel like catching up, just give me a call or send a text original.gif
Lila does those bubbles too, sooo cute wub.gif

Mothers Group - Haven't ever joined one.... I have several friends with toddlers and babies so just keeping up with all of them takes up most of my time! Plus I view you ladies as a kind of mothers group original.gif

Photo Friday - I think there was some talk about doing a pic with their favourite blanket or toy?

Jo - Glad you got the date for the op, does it make it easier now knowing what happening? Funny you should mention your phone phobia! My DH has one too and I've always thought it the strangest thing... he can't explain the phobia can you? He just says he doens't like it which I thought odd, but I'd be interested to hear your story original.gif He is getting a bit better I think. He will sometimes call the vet if our (his) dog needs something and he can do work phone calls and immediate family, but he won't call to make restaurant reservations or order take-away.....

Michelle - Good luck at sleep school!

Gem - You poor thing, your DH better be home as I type!! Hope you've had a rest today with DS at daycare hands.gif Wonder what his caper is at nights? He hasn't always been like this has he? So you can hope it's just a shortlived faze? My DS is going through a 'refuse to go to sleep' faze. Hate it! But I keep saying "this too shall pass!" He used to be perfect as soon as he was down for the night, but good things never last!

Gemma - Ok Kevin is just weird... you're not even his partner anymore! What's with all the calls? Is it coz he's watching the kids and wants to know when you'll be back? And can I ask what the deal is with the report on A? Great you're getting along with his ex too!

Minich - Can you buy a second hand woombie for your back up? I still wrap so no advice sorry sad.gif Great you're so in love with AJ, was it you who just went through a patch of wondering what you were thinking having a baby? Glad things are on the up anyway original.gif

Sherri - Hope you got some rest!

AFM - I think I forgot to mention that Lila is 6.25kg as of her needle appt on Tuesday. Seems so tiny compared to my DS who was a boofer! Just been going through all her clothes and swapping all 000 for 00 in her drawers. Not enough space for a gradual change so it's out with the old and in with the new, regardless that she still fits some 000! I just want them all spacebaged together! Then I'm taking all the spacebags (boy and girl clothes) to mums to store there until my SIL has her baby in March and we know which colour clothes to pass on! I just don't have the space!

Jen
~gemma~
Jen ~ The pics on mine and A's ex wifes(L) FB sparked contact from him, telling me to stay away from his only daughter and that "it would be a shame if something was to happen" and that he knows where i live bla bla bla, so i went with L to the police, but because it was through FB that he sent the messages, there is nothing they can do, but they put my stuff in with L's and if they need me, they will contact me, so basically i wasted my time going to them, but what he wrote mentioned both L and her new BF and that this was all just the beginning. All fun and games.

Kaitlyn had her needles yesterday and slept through last night, but today has been very upset. Poor baby. Doctor didnt weight her though dammit but i think she is roughly 7kgs

happimama
minich - We have a Big Baby Woombie you can borrow. Cadence is now in Mega Baby. Makes it sound as though she's obese!

Gem - What is it about men that they (some of them) can't figure out that if they keep calling it will take twice as long to do something.

Solids - Have bought Farax and some puree potato and pumpkin on the recommendation of the nurses at the sleep school. They want Cadence to be taking it before we go there to stay. We're starting tomorrow an hour after her morning feed.

Edited - Gem i completely understand that feeling. When C was a newborn she only slept for a few hours a day. I'm on medications that instead of making me sleepy it makes me need lots of sleep. I would get so tired, to the point where i nearly dropped her and even fell asleep with C laying across my tummy. Once i got so angry that i sort of quietly yelled at her IYKWIM in a scary voice. She got so scared of me. FIL came in to the room while i was getting a bottle and when i tried to get her back she started screaming. She was scared of me for nearly half an hour. It was a horrible feeling knowing that i'd frightened her. Its hard sometimes to realise that they're aren't doing it to make you angry. I used to think Cadence hated me.
ktgrouch
Gemma - Charming Ex you have there sweetie! As for Kevin... does he think you guys are back together or something? You are having a bit of bad luck with the opposite sex at the moment aren't you!!!

Gem - DH Aand I always talk about how since having kids although we would never condone it, we really do understand the emotion behind shaking a baby. Thankfully both of us are pretty good at just putting them down and walking away for a little while.

Ness - Ebony has decided that she is going to pee in her pants every now and then too. Drives me nuts esspecially since she can have a 2 hour sleep during the day and not wee. She even wet herself at my friends house the other night. Very embarrassing!!! Thankfully my friends DD had done it at our house a couple of months ago so we joked about payback! lol.Most of the time though I think its because she doesn't want to stop what she is doing. Not too bad though. Only a couple of accidents in the past couple of weeks.

Needles - I need to ring the clinic to make an appointment. Not looking forward to it!!!

Sleeping - Levi has decided that catnaps are the way to go during the day and they have to be in his bassinet not the cot. Thankfully he is sleeping all night. Usually around 7pm til 8-9am. But last night we were out and he slept from 9.30pm (when we got home) til 11.30am! Crazy. He is asleep in the bassinet now and has been for about 50mins... so fingers crossed he keeps going for another half a hour or so!

AFM, I am very excited. Just got a phonecall to say that my Wii is fixed! Now I can get my fix of Guitar hero and Wii Fit! lol. Gotta go and pick it up. Will be back later!
ttgc
kt - ddance.gif ddance.gif on getting your wii back. What a good little boy Levi is sleeping that long at night Chase will do from 5.30 to 7.30 but if we are out and he is in bed later he is still up at 7.30 bugger about the days sleep's tho, not sure what to say both DD and DS have been good during the chase is doing 3hrs morning and 2hrs of an afternoon, but if we are out he is awake for more and cat naps. Its a bit hard cause I like for him to have his moring sleep then go out but DD still has an afternoon sleep so like to be home for that.

Jen - went to the windsor hospital thing to get them done. Same as for you if you want to meet up. I will keep that in mind two, and if on a hot day you want to come round for a swim feel free original.gif Always nice having other people in the pool, Taylor get a borad with just her and I, and sometimes hard to get my act together so I can be down there before it gets to hot. Also I do the same with Chase stuff, take it out and take it to mums to store lol. Mind you once DH gets the snip I will be giving most of it away.

4+1 - Thanks, we thought it was pretty cute. I get it about the pink, girls stuff is so cute, I have found it really hard finding nice boys stuff... Just love pink to much I think lol

I got a new pram today the strider really happy with it. Can't wait for tomorrow, I have not been to the race track since 08, didn't get to any rounds last year cause I was sick and they didn't have a round in NSW witch was a bugger, its only a test day but still can't wait and its all Taylor has been talking about, she is such a rev head, takes after me, already got her and my brother's DS fighting over who is going to have my old go-kart...
specialtreat
Very quiet in here. I hope everyone is having a good weekend. original.gif
LittleMuffin
Thanks girls for all your replies!

Have been away down south for a few days for my SIL's wedding, it was just the break I needed!! I do wish it was longer thatn just two nights though!! I have my Dr appt on thursday so Ill let you all know how it goes.

Don't have time for personals tonight, gotta be up early so I better head to bed! Im sorry I havent been keeping up with friday photo, Ill get the list updated soon I promise!!

Just a quick photo from tonight, Sophie's first time in her big girl bath seat!

cazbabslong
Hi Everyone,

It is very quiet in here!!

Tara Love the Elmo pics on the bath! Where did you get them? Sophie loves Elmo! PND I have had it with all of my kids. I always get it about 9-10weeks after birth. This time I tried everything not to, and it still reared its ugly head. I control mine with medication, and usually stop the meds after about 6 mths. If you ever want to chat, feel free! Well done for doing something about it, and good luck for Thurs!

Solids
Tried Sophie with farex this morn, but not interested. Got some great photos of her pulling a yuck face. Shall try again maybe in a couple of weeks.

Those of you with older kids, any tips on getting them out of night time nappies? Isaac is 6 next mth and still a very heavy wetter at night. He uses dry nites but am thinking it must be time to do something about it, I just dont know what!

Needles I need to do them this week, not looking forward at all!

Sleep Last 2 days Sophie has had 2 day sleeps of 2-3 hrs, and then 1 cat nap, then slept 8-5, feed, and 5-9. So great, prob jinxed myself now! She still in her basinette, prob last another couple of weeks.

Feeding Had 1st full day on formula as I had run out of frozen ebm. Still quite constipated so might try a diff formula. Trying Heinz nurture at moment, did try Nan but she didnt seem to like it.

Cant believe she is 4 mths! Realised on FRiday that it was a year ago that I got my surprise bfp!!

AF
Still not returned but shouldnt be long now as not bf anymore. Prob get the mirena in again.

Can hear my little girl!!
Caz
minich
Hi all, another hot weekend here in WA. Was so nice to have a BBQ & swim at friends yesterday. I love Aussie summer. I gave AJ a rattle to play with yesterday & she kept trying to shove it down here gob, then I remembered that I had a pkt of teethings rusks someone had given me so I opened that & gave it to her to suck on. She ate the whole thing within a couple of hours. I've never seen anything like it. My sister was holding her and if she took the rusk away Amelia would search for it with her mouth and try to grab at it with her hands. Even her little feet would fling up in the air with content while she was sucking. Not sure if this is a good thing or a bad thing. What do yous think? She has not even started solids yet so I'm a bit concerned that it's the first thing she's eaten.
Feeds - How many feeds does your bubs have in a 24hr period? We do about 7. 7am, 10am, 1pm, 4pm, 6pm, 1am and 4:30am is pretty much our routine lately. Can't wait for the 1am one to go. yyawn.gif
Flat or Bald Spot - AJ does not have a flat spot but right in the center of the back of her head is completley bald & I'm often finding hair in her bed.
Sleep - I just realised that Amelia has turned into a catnapper, our days have been consisting of 1hr sleep, 1hr awake etc. until the evening where she has about 3 hrs awake from 3pm. I am not phased by this as when she wakes up so looks happy and rested, also it's easy for me to get things done if I need to pop out. Once every couple of days and when she needs it she will surprise me with a long sleep.
Australia Day - What's everyone doing? We have been invited to lunch at a friends for multicultural Australia day & everyone brings a different dish from around the world. I think this is a great idea. Not sure what I'm doing yet. Maybe Thai Beef Salad. Yummo
Better go I can hear her starting to squawk.
C xo
~gemma~
Im getting rather slack lately lol.

Feeds (Formula here) ~ i dont really take note of the times she has a bottle lol, but generally around 5-6 bottles of 180mls. She sometimes wakes once overnight anywhere between 12 and 4am and then has her next bottle at around 8am.

Flat or bald spot ~ OMG the hair. Her bed sheet gets covered in hair where her head is, we had a week that was really bad, but it seems to have settled now. She is a fair bot bald on top lol, poor thing, she had soooo much hair there and now its all gone. But its growing back slowly. She also has a bald line at the back of her head, not round like my others got, it goes right across the back of her head lol.

Sleep ~ Again, i dont really take note, but she is still having 2 decent sleeps and then a few little catnaps. Sleeps through most nights.

Australia Day ~ Possibly going to the Regatta Centre. We went 2 years ago and it was good, but we will not be going for the whole day like we did that year lol. That was a very long day, I think Keving had Tahlia on his shoulders and she went to sleep during the fireworks lol.

Caz ~ Sorry, no tips for the night wetting. Tahlia is my only one out of nappies fully. The other 2 are still huge wetters, at the rate Jordan is going he will be in them for a while. Tahlia was so easy, i just stopped putting them on her and she was fine, no accidents. Have you tried just going cold turkey and see how he goes?

Tara ~ What a gorgeous girl you have there. Both your girls are little stunners.

Sherri ~ I didnt realise that you had a little angel sad.gif

minich ~ I havent been looking at rentals the last couple of weeks but will start looking again tomorrow.

Michelle ~ Why do they want Cadence to be on solids before you go? She is only just 4 months old, have i missed something?

Katie ~ I got a Wii fit last week and man, some of those things are bloody hard to keep up with lol

AFM ~ Nothing to actually report here. Im boring this weekend lol.

Kaitlyn is doing great, she was grumpy for 2 days after her needles but is now back to normal. She is such a happy little girl, always smiles even when she has been crying i can always get her to smile. She is just gorgeous wub.gif
~*Ness~*
Caroline ~ Ava is 3 but still a huge wetter overnight. She doesnt have any awareness when asleep yet, I have watched when she falls asleep on the couch now, I always put a disposable nappy under her in case as she wee's while asleep. I am not too worried yet, but have started talking more about it as she knows if she has a nappy, she can wee in it! I am going to enforce wee before bed, and 1st thing in morning etc, and when the time comes I plan to get some brolly sheets (or something similar), as she may just need to wet herself a few times to realise whats happening (like how she got it with daytime training). The brolly sheet idea is great as it means no sheet changing, just whip it off and put a new one down.

Gemma ~ Zara still has a flat spot on 1 side, its so obvious but I am not too worried yet, they said it will fix itself and I have noticed lately she is sleeping sometimes on the other side. She is getting the bald spot but like Kaitlyn ts more a strip! She had such thick hair when born and it seems to be thinning out completely. Although the top is getting longer and just curls so much so its probably not thinner, just seems to be. Ava had the bald spot for AGES. I am finding patches of Zaras hair on the sheets every morning!

Feeds ~ (formula as well).... she has 6 per day, and on the odd day would have 7 (if she is up for an extra night feed). Times vary, but are starting to become more regular this week actually. Oh, and its 6 x 180mls. She drinks the whole thing, or almost whole thing in about 10 mins. The tresillian nurse the other night said she should be having at this age 6 feeds per 24hrs, so if she is sleeping all night she needs to make up a feed during the day, but I am just going with the flow. (but do try and make sure she has 6 feeds now, 7 is a bit much at this age and she is certainly not thin or sickly at 7kg!)

AFM ~ Had a good weekend actually. No work, and no housework exept for washing, I must have got about 5 or 6 loads done perfect washing weather! DH was working, but it was nice too spend time with the girls and not worrying about anything else I should be doing. And sorry if TMI but DH and I actually FINALLY got back our mojo! Twice in 1 weekend! Its been a while and a bit of a problem for so long that I am so happy too see things are starting to change finally.

Well am off to bed, have had a few glasses of wine and am exhausted, dont seem to be getting to bed before midnight for days now, and being up at 4am for a feed then 6am for the day is very tiring, specially when DH is at work and not home till they are both fast asleep.
emma-g
Hi everyone! Ive been around reading but not posting.Life with Cassandra is getting more settled/we are getting used to her being here. We also cant get enough of her! she brings a tear to our eyes. wub.gif We have already started talking about TTC later in the year.

Sleep: Cassie has a couple 45-1hr naps during the day.she's been getting sleepy for bed 6.30-7.
Minich/Feeds:Cassie feeds pretty much the same schedule as you. 7am, 10am, 1pm, 3/4pm, 6pm,9-11pm, 1am, 4am. She may skip the 6pm feed is she falls asleep early.She also seems more often than not to have a small feed around 5.30am.I think I may just try popping her dummy in and see if she lasts till 7am.The biggest gap between feeds is the afternoon/early evening to the 9-11pm is feed.
Flat/Bald spot: she as a small flat and bald spot at the back of her head.Her hair is falling out too.When she was born she had mullet going on so those longer bits are falling out.She still doesnt have much hair.
Bath time:my mum bought us a table to use for the baby bath so i dont have to bend over.we used it a whole 5 times.Now little miss kicks and splashes so much we are back to using the bath in the shower recess!

AFM Im heading back to work one day a week now that life is getting more settled.DH will bring her to my work for one feed and he can formula feed for the other.Im lucky that my work is just a5min walk away.
ive tried expressing and just cant get any more than 10ml at a time and thats when she is feeding on the opposite side.I just cant get a let down on my own.
happimama
gemma - C only drinks 6 bottles of 150mls in 24hrs but she's 8.5kg. She'll have a bottle between 1-4am but then wont take another till at least 9am. They want her to start her day around 7am as well as stopping that early am feed. So now we're trying the dreamfeed and a bit of farax/potato/pumpkin after her morning bottle. So C feeds between 9-10am, 12, 2:30, 4:30, 6:30-7pm, then the early am. She can go 8hrs overnight but during the day can only wait 3hrs max. It doens't matter how long she's been without she wont even finish the 150mls.

bath - We haven't used the baby bath for over a month, well we use it but for dirty nappies. She's just to long so couldn't fit. Now she has a bath in the big bath or a shower either with me or DP (if he's home).

hair - C used to have a strip missing along the back but although she still rubs her head against the sheet its gone. She has quite a bit of hair, its just very fine and grows quick.

rolling - Can not leave Cadence alone for even 10secs anymore. I put her on her back to turn the shower on turned back to her and she was on her tummy. She moves her legs like she's crawling and pulls anything that is in her reach. Definitely think she'll be an early crawler. She wont even sit on my lap, always trying to jump forward, she pushes her legs against me to push herself forwards.

Australia Day - Just realised that we'll be at the sleep school sad.gif I really wanted to go to the fireworks.

AFM - My friend had her baby a few days ago, i can't wait to meet her. Seems as though everyone is having girls! We're going to get castings done of Cades feet and hands today. Think i'm more excited that it means DP finishes work early. I'm starting to really miss him cos he's gone so much. I love when he's home on the weekend. He gets up with DD so i can sleep till 9ish, i could probably keep sleeping except we're all in one room so i hear her when she's playing. We're going to do alternate weekends so i'm happy with that.
LittleMuffin
Argh, Im still sick, Im so over it! I've had a really sore throat and swollen glands for over a week, and the last night my head got all blocked up, so now I feel even worse! Going out on a date with Adam tonight, a much needed one! My sister is coming to have the girls (good luck to her!!) and we're going to see Avatar in 3D at Imax and dinner.

Feeds (Formula here) ~ Sophie will still only take 120ml per feed, she doesnt normally finish it so I hadn't planned on upping it yet. She 'generally' feeds at 8am, 11am, 2pm, 5pm, then I try and squeeze another one in at 6:30pm, then overnight at around 12 and then at 5am-ish.

Flat or bald spot ~ Soph hasn't lost as much hair as Chels did, Chels went reallt bald! She's got a little bald spot on the back of her head, thats all! And no flat spot that I've noticed!

Sleep ~ Cat napping during the day grrr she'll have 3-4 naps ranging from 30 mins to sometimes 1.5 hours, but generally about an hour

Australia Day ~ Don't know what to do this year, Adam is on day shift so he won't be home till 6:30pm

Bath
~ Soph is normally in the bath seat that lays down, but for the past few days she's been lifting her head trying to sit up, so I changed her to the bigger bath seat. She's still a bit little for it so I pack it with cloth nappies so she doesn't slip down too much!

Rolling ~ Soph still doesn't do it much hehe loves being on her tummy so still doesnt often roll, and she's not doing back to tummy yet either.

Don't have time for personals today Im sorry, it's going to be 41 again here today eeek! Luckily I left the aircon on all night so its' nice and cool hehe Gotta get cleaning, house is still a mess from when we got back from down south!

Friday 22nd January
Favourite toy / blankie

Friday 29th January
Australia Day

Friday 5th February
Pink for girls and boy for boys

Friday 12th February
Tummy time

Friday 19th February
Wearing a hat

Friday 26th February
Photo with mummy

specialtreat
Thanks for the list Tara Soory you still aren't feeling better sad.gif I hope you still get to enjoy your date with your husband wub.gif

Gemma Yes I have 2 angel babies sad.gif my first one I lost on Australia day 2006 It was so hard, she was very much planed and wanted. sad.gif My neighbour was pregnant at the same time with her 2nd DD and she was 2 weeks ahead of me, was a very hard time.

Luckly though I fell straight away with Mitchell,I think it was the only thing that stopped me from falling into PND.

My 2nd was an early loss at 8weeks when Mitchell was 4months old. (not planned but missed) So started trying when Mitchell was a bit older and now we have Chloe wub.gif

Flat spots~ Chloe doesn't have one. She is too active and doesn't keep still long enough to get one laugh.gif

Rolling~ Tummy to back when she feels like it!

Bath~ still in her baby bath most nights (it is a big red one) or the big bath with the boys. She has had a couple of showers with me but with DH away so much I find it hard with no one to hand her out to.

AFM I am heading off to spend a couple of days with my mum and dad and to do a few things with the kids this week, beach, water park, freckles play land etc. Keep them buisy and wear them out for early bed times dev (6).gif
ttgc
Thanks for the photo list Little Muffin

Feeds (Formula here) - Chase has 3 260ml bottles, 8am, 12.30- 1 and 5-5.30 and farex frist thing when he wakes up, some days he might get another smaller bottle in but thats about every 3rd day. And his is 9KG so no harm in him having just the 3 bottles, they are big anyway.

Flat or bald spot -no flat spot, but a bald spot yep, not to bad tho

Sleepstill the same, up at 7.30-8 back to bed by 10 up at 12.30-1 back in bed by 2 back up at 4.30-5, start bath bottle and bed at 5.30, but if he is not up in the afternoon till 5 its a bit later

Australia Day - not sure might be going down the river skiing.

bath- big bath for us have been for a while now, Chase is just to long, I had even brought another bigger baby bath but he still got to big for that.

Rolling - Chase has not rolled since my birthday mellow.gif

bed wetting for older kids- Not sure how we did it just used pull ups and asked Taylor to keep the flowers dry, she was very good only about a week or so to get it. But find the week before DH comes home she will wet the bed once or twice,

AFM well not much took the kids out to the race track, they had a great time, and then went over to the gokart track to see the racing there and some ppl I use to race with. Was good, but Taylor was at me to get her a gokart and asking why should couldn't race yet...
~raindrops~on~roses~
Caz - I've heard it's quite normal for lots of kids to keep wetting up to about 8 years... I think doctors don't worry til then, but might want to check it with your GP?

Feeds - Lila has 6 breastfeeds a day and sometimes 7 if she wakes around 2am which is fairly rare.

Australia Day - This weekend we're going to DH's boss's place down at Lake Conjola for a water skii weekend but on the actual Aus day we're going to a BBQ and pool party at a friends house.

Bald Spot - Yep Lila has a bald spot but not flat surprisingly

Ness - Glad you and DH got your mojo back... we're getting there slowly... I still don't feel like it but try to make a bit of an effort! We even managed morning sex the other week which was a bit novel! We put DS in front of the TV ssecret.gif

Emma - Does your DH work from home or will he just be staying home that one day a week so you can work?

Michelle - Can't believe how active Cades is!! Lila tries to do all that stuff, but can't get far yet... I can see her starting to get frustrated though! Yay for the sleep in, we do a similar thing but I only get to sleep in til Lila wakes. DH gets up with Riley though which is good. So my sleep in is more like 7am... and we don't alternate! I get it 99% of the time biggrin.gif

Tara - Hope you're feeling better soon and really have a great date!!!

Bath - Lila only used the baby bath about 4 times! She showers with DH or has a bath in the big bath sometimes with me, sometimes on her own laying on that terry toweling thingo..

Sherri - Sorry to hear about your angel babies, that must of been hard sad.gif
Have a great time at your mum and dads and keeping busy with all those activities!

Tylie - Can't believe how big Chase is!! Lila is only 6.25kg! At 4 months Riley was about 7kg and I thought that was pretty big. Does he have rolls? I love those rolls on babies wub.gif

AFM - All going along pretty smoothly here... Lila is behaving nicely and is mostly happy. She gives me some long naps, some catnaps, terribly unpredictable! Had a friend with her newborn and toddler over today. Was fairly hectic but nice. The big boys played nicely together and the babies just fed and slept!

Jen
emma-g
Jen: my Dh doesnt work, he had a motorbike accident 4yrs ago.He has an injured brachial plexis.so he has very limited mobility of his right shoulder/arm/hand and is in pain quite a bit. He has good days and bad days.He helps me the best that he can.
Anyway,we live around the corner from my work, its a cafe and i really want to feed Cassie more than once at work and i am there to work afterall, its not fair on the other workers for me to be breastfeeding every 3hrs for 40mins...
owenwh
Hi All waves.gif

feeding: Emma is fully BF, and usually feeds at 7, 9 (top up for long nap), 12, 3, 530, 7 (top up before bed), and then either once or twice overnight. I know this seems like a lot, but she's only in the 50th percentile for weight so MCHN said feed as much as she wants. We're not really on much of a schedule really- changes every day!

Bald Spot: yup- circle on back of head

Australia Day: nothing here, DH is away for 3 weeks ATM, so I'm laying low and trying not to get too lonely.

Mothers group
: I got to one- all first time mums, but unfortunately bubs are all a fair bit younger than Emma, so its not really bneficial in terms of getting advice. Am forcing myself to go though just for the social side of things

Solids
: not yet, MCHN said wait a bit longer.

Mojo: no interest from me- DH has stopped asking which i feel really bad about. Have tried a few times, but just hurts too much still!

Bath: In big tub now- or shower- grew out of baby bath quickly as Emma really likes to sit up and not lay back. I got her a bath seat which she enjoys.

Exercise: REALLY need to get motivated, weight has been slowly falling off my moderate exercise and eating right, but need to start on treadmill... hard though when DD doesn't sleep more than 1 sleep cycle and by the time she goes to bed I just want tea, a glass of wine, and some quiet time!

Friday photos: great themes! what about one in a carrier/sling?

AFM: Emma has a snuffly nose, which makes it really hard for her to feed and she gets really upset. ATM just giving her a warm shower to loosen it all up when its really bothering her (sometimes 2 times a day) and then sucking it out if it doesn't fall out on its own. Anyone have any other suggestions?

happimama
Just a quick post, a me post, to say YAY for me i got accepted into my first preference for uni!! So bloody proud of myself. Its 4yrs full time but i'm only going to start with one subject then increase every semester till i'm full time. I was so sure that i didn't get in that when i read the screen i yelled out to Tam and i woke Cadence up. Don't think i've felt so good about myself and i haven't even started yet!
ttgc
Michelle - Well done glad your feeling so good original.gif

Whitney - Have you spoken to a gp about it still hurting?? Might be an idea. Hope emma feels better soon, also if you sit in a chair hold your legs out and lay her facing the floor on them, then cup you hands and pat her on the back, needs to be a good firm pat, it will help free all of it.

Jen - Yep he is a big boy off the chart for weight and height, so he is the right weight for his hight but just above the lines. He only really has one roll at the top of his legs. Taylor was also a big girl but she on the other hand had a few more rolls, but your right they are very cute when they are a chubba bubba, I was hoping to not have another chubba bubba, just for the fact so they can be carried around alot long. He just gets to heavy, had him in the pouch thing when I went looking for a pram and it killed me after about 30mins.

Sherri - Hope you have fun at your mum and dads and you get the kids nice and tired.

Exercise - Well I started a comp with my brother to see who can drop 15kg faster and I am 3 down and his is nill eexcite.gif eexcite.gif Been on the treadmill every day sometimes twice a day and 150 -200 sit ups and how ever mand push ups I can do, O and Taylor will do them with me very cute, she also gets on the treadmill for about 2 mins original.gif

Mojo: mine is back but DH has dropped off, but in saying that it was good over xmas, this is another reason I want to get the weight off cause I want him to want me again. I know he is not a fan of the way my body is now and nore am I but its still nice to be wanted, and not turned down all the time, also get tired of being the one to always start it.

Aus Day: I am now going to a friends place for a BBQ should be good, they have older kids and Taylor loves them to bits so gives me a break. Will take the portacot so that Chase can have a good sleep.

Other wise thats about it for me, Chase is having a bit of a hard time I think he is getting teeth, woke at 4am and didn't settle right away so got him bed with me then he slept till 8.30 which was good as I had one to many last night and was not feeling to great first thing, but much better now. Anyway off to bed now night all
minich
Michelle - Woop woop, good on you for getting into uni.
Emma - So sorry about your DH's accident. That must be so hard on the both of you. Good luck with heading back to work. I work 1 day a week & really enjoy it.
Tara - You've not had a good run lately have you. Hope your feeling better soon. Also pls correct me on how to spell your name. My SIL is Tarah & I can't remember if you spell your name with a h or not. Sorry.
Sherri - So sorry for your loses. I could imagine it's something you would never get over. bbighug.gif
Tylie - Good on you for the weight loss. I wish I was as motivated.
BF - How long do your feeds take. AJ is quite a quick drinker and feeds take about 5-10mins, she also only takes 1 side per feed.
Sex - We are both keen but never seem to find the time. Now that AF has returned it makes TTC#2 a very high possibility. We really want another baby but I am dreading being pregnant and having to look after a baby.
Heat - Unbearable today. We really picked the wrong time to move out with no aircon. We have a little portable one for small rooms so had it blasting in the bedroom today. Amelia & I hardly left the room.
Friday Photo - Thanks for the theme list. I think we have all been very slack so hopefully we can get back to regular posting.
Tummy Time - Amelia loves being on her tummy and she has a couple of tummy times a day. Has been a bit slack on the rolling though.
AFM - I have decided to go to mothers group tomorrow so that I am not totally unsociable, lets hope the weather is a bit cooler. 2 friends have had babies. Both girls. The 1st was called Miette, 7lb13oz born on her due date by emergency caesarean. The other also ended in a caesarean. Mum had to be induced 2 months early as bubs was not growing in the belly. Bubs is called Divina Ferrari and weighs only 3lb something. She is the size of a hand and will be in hospital for about 4 weeks but is doing well. More great news for me my best friend just got engaged and I'm so excited for her. Whoo I'm going to be a bridesmaid again. I love weddings and they are so much more enjoyable when your in the bridal party.
C xo
ktgrouch
I have been so lazy lately. DH has been on holidays for 4 weeks so I am getting a bit used to having help around here! hee hee. Gonna suxk when he goes back to work next week!!!

Mojo - Definately not here. I am terrified of getting pregnant!! We have never found a contraception that works for us so pregnancy is always a very real possibility. So until he goes in for the snip I am saying no! Or maybe just standing 6 foot away from him at the appropriate moment during sex!!! lol. Sorry for the overshare!!!

Feeds - Levi has 4 or 5 per day. Depending on how much he sleeps.

catnapping - We have had a breakthrough in the last couple of days. He has been sleeping 14 hours overnight, then 2-3 hour sleep, then 1.5 hour sleep. I am happy with that. Just one good day sleep is fine with me! Also he has been putting himself to sleep in his cot. Woohoo! Whats the bet he stops doing it now that I have said that.

Bald spot - Yeah, all my kids had one. Levi and Charli are so similar in their head shape and they have both had a noticable spot.

Tara - enjoy your date night! Looked at your photos on facebook. How cute did Chelsea look at the wedding??? So adorable. Thanks for organising the photo themes.

Carolyn - Was it you asking about bed wetting at night? My DD1 was really easy to train at night. We just put her in knickers... she wet the bed once then never did it again! But my DS is a different kettle of fish. He is 4.5 and still does one wee at night. He generally won't wake up if he wets the bed either. Haven't tried him in a while though, so might give it a go soon.

Michelle - CONGRATULATIONS! That is so exciting! What are you studying?

Ok, DH is back from basketball. His Gran died today but they didn't have a good relationship. I think he is more upset because his mum isn't taking it too well. Better go and spend some time with him.

owenwh
Hi All waves.gif

Caroline BF time- Emma sometimes is just as quick at AJ, ten mins max, usually overnight is the longest feed because she's so relaxed and not distracted I reckon. I love weddings too! Mine was actually the first I had ever been to, but since I have been to a few more, and a bridesmaid in my best friends... now my brother is getting married in april so i get to be in that one too! Yippee!

Michelle Congrats!! How exciting for you! I was 1 and a half semesters away from finishing a 4 year Uni degree before I come over here permanenly and started working full time with DH... wish I had, and now I'm afraid its too late to go back sad.gif

TTC We'll prob start trying at the end of this year, DH is concerned he's getting to old as he really wants to be an active dad. It took us so long to fall pg with Emma, we best try sooner rather than late!

BF-ing those of you who are, how long do you plan to go for?

Tylie well done on weight loss! I just did 15 mins on treadmill before Emma woke, so better than nothing huh?

naps: those of you whose bubs do one big nap and rest small catnaps (seems like there were a few of us) when during the day is bubs long one? Morning? mid-day? late arvo?

AFM- Anyone else finding it hard to leave bub with anyone else? Emma is SO easy, but I just don't want to have anyone else put her to sleep and muck all my hard work up! Especially MIL... Emma goes down in her cot chatting, and leave her for 5 mins and she'll fall asleep on her on- but MIL sys 'oh she's not tired' and gets her back up! Its so hard to tell MIL's what to do- or even more to the point, what they're doing wrong!

I am thinking of getting someone to come a few days a week for a few hours (while DH is away for 3 weeks) so I can get some of the sale horses ridden (essentially- 'going back to work'). Even though MIL is on property, I think it might be easier with a professional/stranger, who expects (and wants!) to be 'told' what to do. I need to get Emma back on bottles of EBM though- she has not been really interested in a bottle anymore when y boob is there! What would I expect to pay hourly for someone to come to our house?? I would certainly try to organise it around naptime, and I'd be only just outside with the horses as well- not really 'gone'.

Just re-settled Emma, off to hop on the treadmill again! I want to be noticablly skinnier when DH comes home biggrin.gif
~raindrops~on~roses~
Emma - Sorry to hear about DH's accident sad.gif Is it something that will improve over time? Good luck starting work original.gif

Michelle - Yay on uni!!! ddance.gif Well done!

Tylie - Are you sure your DH would be saying no to sex due to your body? That's a bit sad... he might just be tired or not have a very high libido? I'm so glad my DH doesn't seem to mind my body shape, I would be so self concious walking around my own house if he was! Well done on the execise and weight loss though yyes.gif I just think you should do it for yourself, not someone else. You'll feel great about yourself when back to your desired weight (this is also what I keep telling myself!)

Minich - Lila feeds for about 20 mins and also only one side.... Maybe your friends wedding will be your weight loss motivator?? Does she know when the wedding will be yet?
I can't help but think being pregnant and looking after a baby would be easier than being pregnant and running around after a toddler! I'm thinking a large portion of the population has it wrong with the age gap between kids (myself included) a two year old and newborn is hard work! I think under 18 months or over 3 years would be a better gap, but I can't know really coz I haven't done it!

Katie - Yay on the sleeping!! How interesting that no contraception works for you? Not even a combo of pill and condoms? Or are you a pill and condom forgetter? They don't work if you don't use them says my dr laughing2.gif

AFM - Lila woke too many times last night for my liking. She woke at 11.30 and I refused to feed her as I don't believe she needs it, so I settled her with a dummy (which she won't usually take) and by stroking her hair. She woke again and 2.30 and I was too buggered so I fed her then and again when she woke at 5am mad.gif She keeps unwrapping herself and also kicks off her blankets so could have been cold... I'm wondering if I'll move her to a sleeping bag sooner than planned afterall....

Jen
owenwh
Jen Funny you say that about age gaps in kids! I have always wondered why everyone says '2 years' as that sounds like a nightmare to me!! Thats why we'll thing of going with a smaller age gap I think biggrin.gif Glad to hear someone else has my logic too!

Sleeping bags: Oh i keep forgetting to mention this... with all this hot weather coming up, i was worried about DD in a sleeping bag getting too warm, and i found online these GREAT muslin sleeping bags... I ordered one and LOVE IT! So cool... highly reccomended tthumbs.gif this is the cheapest website i found them on...

http://www.designchild.com.au/store/pc/sho...mp;resultcnt=20
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.