The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: June 06 Parents # 267

Essential Baby > Parents' Groups > Join a parents' group here > 2006

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=739210

laraq75
GOLD

We haven't had a new thread for ages.

Time to get chatting girls
Honeyblonde
SILVER!

Congrats Cass
Good luck Mell with testing.

Bye, gotta go have lunch!
seepi
b r o n z e
MotherClucker
Hugest congratulations Cass xx Do you guys have names picked out?

Nothing new here. Same old roll2.gif
Rach I am hoping to be up your way in a few weeks. We went to Billabongs for lunch on the 23rd and then to Maitland Park, the one with the pool next to it. The kids had a blast so might try the pool next time!
NorthernLife
Shan - Billabongs is about 2 mins from my house.. wink.gif Definitely let me know when you are here next and we can meet up. Maitland park is awesome isn't it.

BBL - dinner ready to be served (yummy silverside and vegies!)
laraq75
Rach - I thought you were going to QLD this week? did you not go?
philbysgirl
Hello Junies,

A huge Congrats to Cass, how exciting! biggrin.gif

Rach
I watched that 16 & pregnant show, they had every episode and the reunion show in one afternoon here. I admit I bawled my eyes out when the last couple adopted out their daughter, they were so strong!

Our family is on holidays ATM, staying at the house where DH and I were married. wub.gif Kids are enjoying the getaway.
We are returning home on Friday, and have both kids booked in for intensive swimming lessons for the next two weeks after that. We will also be working hard to get our garden cleaned up as we host a BIG Australia Day BBQ at our house each year.
2009 was a good year for us. With me going back to studying and me taking the time to go walking for 1-2 hours a night with my dog, mum and sister 4-5 nights a week I feel happy and relaxed. Of course finacially it is hard with me not working and both of our cars dying (at this stage we have only replaced one of them so still need to find another), however money doesn't buy happiness and I feel so content with where we are in life. My returning to study is better for our future.
DS finished his first year of school (prep), he loved it and did so well. I was amazed at how quickly he went from reading simple words like it, sit, fit, bit, at, sat, bat, rat etc. to reading about ten chapter books this year. tthumbs.gif
DD is VERY excited about starting 3 year old kinder this year, and it will be cute to see her make friends of her own, instead of DS' friends younger siblings that are all 6 months older or younger and therefore wont be in the same kinder then school year as her.
We had an enjoyable New Year's Eve at a friend's house enjoying champagne & a yummy BBQ, and could see the fireworks from their backyard that overlooked the river. Both kids stayed up til midnight and slept til 9 AM which was awesome.
~gemma~
Ok so i cant remeber if i already said it but a bit late i know

Merry Christmas, Happy New Year and i may as well say Happy Easter seeing there is friggan Easter eggs out already rant.gif

Congratulations Cass, how exciting.

NorthernLife
oomg.gif Leah I bawled my eyes out with that adoption story too. I couldn't believe their parents lack of support. The two kids were so strong and it was such a completely self less decision to give their daughter a better life. The couple that adopted her were lovely.

Lara - We were supposed to be going on hols but of course it didn't happen... sad.gif I am not impressed but hey what can i do? I am planning a holiday in October - probably camping at coffs or Forster. The EA Active is awesome. I highly recommend it. It is only 30 mins 4 times per week - so is doable. I like that is not every day! original.gif

Mell - Good Luck with the testing.

Okey better go. Tomorrow is daycare day so DH & I are going to clean our house top to bottom and clean out the spare room, as my sis is arriving next Wed for a week. It sucks cause I will be working Wed, thurs, Fri, Mon, Tues, Wed when she is here, but we will have the nights and of course the weekend.
NessNess

I hope you all had a great xmas and new years. Hard to believe our June Bugs turn 4 this year ohmy.gif
C.C.S.
Hey ladies!

Hope everyone has a fantastic 2010!

We have just bought a Prado so we can get out and about having fun as a family a bit more - camping & 4x4ing. Should be good.

Chayse is good, some good tanties happening but other than that is progressing well.

Seth is good, we hve a scan in two weeks to see how the hips are going - hoping we can be harness free after that!

I'm heading back to work at the end of Feb so will be madly trying to things back in order here (after xmas period) and get a routine in place that we can follow.

Chat soon.
char
*~*Kitty*~*
Girls,

One of our mums - Kate (Cake) that used to post with us a long time ago has just tragically lost her DD Olivia in a car accident.

http://thesixofus.wordpress.com/

Kate - if you still read in here, I am so terribly sorry for the loss of your beautiful Olivia. I hope your sister manages to pull through safely and I send love and strength from my family to yours.

I am so so sorry.
MotherClucker
Kate I am so very sorry for your loss sad.gifsad.gif She was just beautiful
NorthernLife
I know Kate and have met beautiful Liv. It is such a tragedy, and I am sitting here crying after reading Kate's blog.

Kate - May god give you, Matt, Bailey, Dayne and Hannah (and your SIL) the strength to carry on over the next few weeks and months. I am here if you need anything.. please let me know.

xxoxox
4littlebirds
I am just devastated for Kate and her family, what a terrible thing to have happened. It's just heartbreaking.

MRT
OMG I cant' believe the news. I am so sorry Kate and family for your loss, words are very inadequate at this time but if you do read here please know that we are thinking of you.

Thanks Rose for letting us know
laraq75
Kate - I am so very sorry for your loss. I can't imagine the pain in your heart at this time.
philbysgirl
sad.gif How sad, I am so sorry this is happening to your family Kate(Cake), so very tragic... sad.gif
friendly68
What sad news. Condolences to your family Kate on the loss of your beautiful daughter Olivia. sad.gif
laraq75

I think it is time we rekindle the love in Junies. It has been so quiet in here lately.

So what has everybody been up to?

hugs

Lara
~gemma~
updated pic of my lil man

Daycare started back this week, thank heavens, i was going nuts!! Been having some nice time with just Tahlia and Kaity before Tahlia starts school, next week im taking her and Kaity to the movies to see the princess and the frog.

Not sure if i mentioned it or not, but Kaity met her big sister and A's ex-wife is just awesome! That meeting sparked contact from A telling me to stay away from his only daughter, and threatening me.

I dont want to be here, in this house. Clearly Kevin hasnt changed much, in regards to trying to control where i am, and for how long.

I have been to the police about A much to Kevins disgust, he thinks i should just worry about myself and my kids and not him or his ex-wife, but ummm, hello, dude the guy knows where i live and has told me that "it would be a shame if something was to happen, and that this(beating up ex wifes new BF) is just the beginning". Police wont do diddly squat though because his threats are through FB and not written on paper, or my email(so email and FB are different in what way exactly??)

Kids driving me up the wall, pretty sure i mentioned that though!

Dont know if i mentioned this either, but my niece who was with me at Kaitlyns birth is pregnant. She is 17(will be 18 when bub arrives) so i big shock, but i knew it would eventually happen. Her BF and his family are there for her, as is myself and her dad. She is yet to tell her Nan(who she lives with) or her mother.

My brother and his fiance are getting married in May, so hopefully i can attend(in NZ). I guess they will be TTC again soon and hopefully this is their time.

I think thats it. Will BBL if i remember something else original.gif
*~*Kitty*~*
waves.gif Junies,

My girls this morning:

I think it is time we rekindle the love in Junies. It has been so quiet in here lately.

Well get started then! biggrin.gif

What are everyone's plans for 2010?

I have DS starting high school in a couple of weeks. I hope to get a part time job soon, preferably evenings or weekends although for the right job, I would put the girls in childcare during the week. I AM going to lose weight and get buff this year, no ifs, ands or buts about it, i'm going to have a FULL FAMILY portrait this year at xmas time and I want to look beautiful!!!!

I'm going to get everyone into a routine, well except maybe DP, he seems to be my routine disruptor. I'm starting with ALL children in bed by 8pm, as it's the only way I get any time to myself. I also need to work on housework and meal planning. I need to do these things so I have time to take care of myself, everything I need or want is being swallowed up in someone else always wanting or needing something. I look and feel old and haggidy and i'm only 32 FGS!!!!

We didn't end up going to Adelaide at Xmas time, so i'm thinking we will try for June/July before the school holidays so we can have a more relaxed trip, ie not caught up in xmas rush or school holiday rush.

BBS - gotta check my chook, i'm perfecting my chook cooking skills so I can try a turkey lol

*~*Kitty*~*
ETA: Just rejoined with Creative Memories (scrapbooking) if anyone is interested!
MRT
Ok so we are rekindling the love - great idea biggrin.gif

Well Zoe went back to Day care this week so I've had a nice 3 day of doing what I want. She was well and truely ready to go back to as she's been asking when she'll see her friends again. On Monday I went through her room and did a big clean out. Didn't get rid of many toys but I sorted out a heap of her clothes and also took out some of the baby stuff we still had in the top of her wardrobe and put it in the spare room. I also cleaned out my cupboards of things I no longer wear (and made room for new stuff!). Wednesday I had to pick my dad up from the bus and drop him at Royal Adelaide Golf Course so I called into Harbour Town on the way home and bought myself a new work suit which came with a free shirt so now i have a new suit and shoes to wear on my return to work on Monday.

Yesterday I went to gym then had my nails done, my eyebrows waxed and made sausage rolls and home made pasta.

Today we've been to the beach with friends until 1 pm and later this afternoon I will go and catch up with some other friends for drinks.

Back to work on Monday which I am ok about, I'm keen to get the family back into our usual routine.

I'm not normally one for new years resolutions but I do have a few things I want to achieve in 2010. By the end of February I will have reached my goal weight - only 4 kgs to go! To do this I need to go back to work and stop eating all day biggrin.gif

2010 is the year the house is finally going to have all the work finished that DH has given up on. So I need a tiler, a plasterer, a gas plumber and an electrician and I need to learn how to garden! I am hopeless at organising such things but clearly DH never is so I'll do it! Also want to get the front yard looking respectable again.

And the other thing I'd like to achieve is a better work life balance. I think my new Executive Assistant role will actually help me to do this because my new boss doesn't appear to be the sort of person who judges you by how long you spend in the office. Having the last few weeks off has taught me that a lot of the problems we have in the evening could easily be fixed if I just got home from work earlier (and DH helped a bit more but I need to realise I should only concentrate on the things I can truely fix!) so I'm going to try to take advantage of the days things are not so busy and leave work at 5 pm instead of feeling like I *should* always stay until 5.30. I'm also going to dress more professionally for work, not that I dress badly but I think people respect you more if you dress well and that way it's easier to bluff them if you don't know what you are doing!!!

Next.......
laraq75

Well we spent Christmas at the IL's which was lovely. We actually had such a good time that we stayed an extra day. We did nothing for new year. Which was quite good really because we had been so busy during the christmas season that we needed the rest.

After struggling with getting Audrey tt'd, she decided to night train as well and so we have no more nappies for her anymore. It is absolutely fantastic. She is still going to daycare once a week but I am thinking about doing something else with her. Not sure yet.

I have been enjoying my freedom from the kids a bit lately. Now that I am not feeding Angus I can go and do more things. I have been to the movies quite a bit and have a great bunch of girls I go out with.

What's everybody's plans for 2010?
I don't really like to make to many plans for the year either. I have started walking every morning and would like to continue this. I am not doing it to lose weight as such but to feel better about myself. I was find that i was getting so lazy and the walking has given me a new energy.

Rose - I can't believe that DS is starting highschool. That is totally amazing that you will have a highschooler.

Rach - how is everything going being back at work?
*~*Kitty*~*
waves.gif Junies,

There must be more of us out there to rekindle the love, c'mon Susie, Leah, Rach, Bec, Emma, KylieB, Shaz, Char, Jodie, Shan, Dani, Cass, Kirsten, Lisa - who am I missing?????

We used to be an awesome group, I'd like to see us up and running again, I haven't posted in my other PG in ages cause it was just too big once the two groups melded. So i'm going to annoy everyone and post at least once a day, even if it's just dribble, to keep us on the front page and hopefully everyone else will come post their dribble too! biggrin.gif

Did the school book shopping today for DS, just got a couple of things left to get, I left it fairly late this year, i'm usually chomping at the bit to do it the day after boxing day, but DS is turning into a surly, backchatty teen and I didn't feel much like doing nice things for him lately, so I left it until I could enjoy it and enjoy buying nice back to school stuff and not just whatever met the requirements, nice or not ninja.gif

Lara - i'm going to start the morning walk too - at the very latest when DS goes back to school, but I do have intentions of trying to start earlier. I'm so tired and I know the morning walk will do so much for my energy for the rest of the day once I get into it. Congrats on Audrey's TT - Lily went straight into night training once she was toilet trained too, I love it! Freedom - I told DP this afternoon that i'm off to a scrapbooking workshop for the day next month, I didn't ask, I told him lol I went xmas shopping for a couple of hours by myself and thought half my body had fallen off or something, it was so bizarre to be by myself totally roll2.gif Did you do a good gymbo order the other day, I gave the rest of my gymbucks to Dani, I love when I can pay it forward!

Mell - sounds like you had a great day on Thursday, totally green with envy here biggrin.gif

Gemma - i'm going to try take all 3 to the new Chipmunks this week, we don't go very often, so I might even go the choc tops eexcite.gif

Well that's as far back as I can see, i'll BBL to check you are all loving the junies!!! llove.gif
MotherClucker
Gem sad.gif Sorry to hear that things are still pretty rough for you. I hope 2010 is your year

Rose WOW a high schooler!! Spose he will be inviting his girlfriends round before ya know it roll2.gif make sure you ask em if they can quilt/scrapbook and give F the disapproval shake if they cant
How gorgeous are those girls!! Can't wait to get stuck into my quilt!! Must buy iron board and iron tomorrow roll2.gif

Mell Congratulations on being so close to making your goal weight!! It sounds like things are looking up for you and DH too. I will be wishing for a big BFP for you this year.

Lara fantastic news on the TTing. Isnt freedom grand (not that i get a lot haha) I also hope you get that BFP you are seeking! Maybe there will be another baby boom in Junies wub.gif

AFM
Not much new here! Holidays have been a bit of a mixed bag for us. Its rained so much my kids go stir craazy and drive me batty!! Sarah cant wait to go back to school; hayley is starting as well.
Am currently thinking about next year which I know is a very long time away but I am thinking about putting the twins in kindi as well...so I would just have 1 at home full time and 4 at school ph34r.gif

Dale finally decided to potty train. He gets lazy though and will just stand there and wee himself if we arnt on him constantly. All poos so far have been on the potty ddance.gif
He also does this incredibly annoying thing of repeating every question that someone asks. And I mean EVERY!!! Does my head in lol

Jenna is soo precious. My fear is that she has the intelligence (shes very smart!) but lacks the social skills to go with it. She dislikes people outside of her circle. We were eating our food at a food court once and some teenager sat next to her, well she looked him up and down and moved her chair further towards her sister roll2.gif it was so priceless

Caity is at that incredibly adorable stage before the terrible twos. She will give you the best snuggly cute cuddle then look at ya and smack ya square in the face. She has started walking this past week full on now. Love watching her chubby little thighs toddle around. She gets so excited.

I am off to the doctors on Monday. Have been having weird pains in the chest. I am exhausted all the time, cranky. Just not enjoying life.
Will ask her to do a complete blood work up thing too to check various things as I really want to try and lose some weight. Even 10 kilos would do me good I think. Better hit reply before the power goes out or my comp restarts! have been having a wicked storm all evening!!
MotherClucker
ETA: I think I am taking the girls to the movies next week but to see that Princess and the frog movie or whatever. I heard Chipmonks wasnt that good??

Rach we will be at that park on the 23rd if you are around
~gemma~
I took Tahlia to see chipmunks last Sunday, it was ok, funny. Shan what cinema are you going to, im taking Tahlia to Dumeresq St

Lara ~ Congrats on the TT. We are still in night nappies for J here

Rose ~ Wow, high school! They grow up so fast dont they

MRT
I too am going to make more of an effort in here even if I do as Rose is planning and just post my dribble biggrin.gif

It's actually normally what we think is dribble and boring that makes for good conversation starters.

I still can't believe you have high school aged boy Rose!!

We saw the Chipmunks too and I thought it was ok. It was the first time Zoe had been to the movies and she really wanted to see it so I thought why not go as a treat.

Today I was supposed to go out to lunch with a friend but DH had to work so I needed to stay home so our new mattress could be delivered. I ended up suggesting to my friend that she come to my place instead so we had a nice lunch of Fasta Pasta (so I didn't have to cook) and had a few glasses of wine out the back under our pergola. Mind you i had to do a massive clean up out there this morning so it was acceptable for guests. I really want to work on our outside areas this year. This week we have hard rubbish pick up so tomorrow is a big clean out day for me. I can see it now though I'll have it all piled up on the footpath and DH will go out and bring it all back in!!

Anyway about 10 mins after one friend left another called around as she had finished her book and wanted to borrow another from me. So another glass of wine was had under the pergola. C has become a really good friend of mine I have met through playgroup. Not sure if any of you remember but I made myself join the playgroup for me (because Zoe already had plenty of interation at day care) and it really has been one of the best things I did for myself. Through C I have met so many other lovely mums in the area.

So that was my Saturday, tomorrow we have swimming lessons, preparation for the hard rubbish pick up and organising myself to return to work - a long break over the Xmas period is lovely!
*~*Kitty*~*
Hmmm I had fasta pasta the other night and I will be having it again tomorrow when we go to harbour town to find school shoes for DS and catch up with my baby bro for lunch.

Did I mention I am joining Lily up in mini jazz lessons? She loves to dance so much. Oh and Bec, that video of Bronte freestyling the other day was a classic, I loved it!!!!

I'm hoping I'll meet some mums on my walks as my return route is along the lake and there's lots of little parks that i'll be able to stop at for the girls (me) to interact with the others.

Went to get Olivia's 4 mth shots today (she's nearly 6 months ph34r.gif ) and the doc was out of them, so we go back on Sat, and get them, then all of us are getting swine flu shots and DP and I are getting whooping cough as well cry1.gif My poor little darling has the worst excema, so hard to keep it under control, my only positive is Lily used to have it so bad and now has all but grown out of it!

Oh and DS has his first "job", a lady in our street asked him to mow her lawn fortnightly biggrin.gif
laraq75
Rose - are the same things setting off Olivia's ezecma? I remember that both Audrey and Lily had it really bad. I did do quite a good order of gymbo the other day. One of the other friends had already given me some of her gymbucks so I had plenty to play around with.

Mel - sounds like you had a lovely time under the pergola. I remember that you were having a few problems making some friends and it is so great that you have made some. It is so hard being without friends.

I went out again last night and saw its complicated. It was heaps of fun. I went out for a walk about the lake this morning and had a little nanna nap this afternoon .

Oh by the way.

Congratulations to Char (Aja's mummy) on the birth of her little boy

Shan - lovely to hear from you as well. How lucky will you be next year with only one at home full time. You won't know yourself.
MotherClucker
Gemma I am thinking of just going to Bowral. I am going to the park on Tues with EB Member Mrsploppypants and her 4 kids in Picton if you are interested

Mell we got a new mattress as well! Only a king size. P's bed doesn't fit in any of the bedrooms here without removing the doors to the walk ins roll2.gif You must of been tanked after all that wine. Sounds like you had a lovely evening. When do you go back to work?

Rose Lily will have a ball!! Make sure you post heaps of photos and some short videos on FB! When does she start? Last week I took the kids for a walk around this man made lake and a bit of a play at the playground. They thought it was fantastic! I was a bit paranoid though about strangers etc so might have to make it earlier in the day rather than 7 o clock at night. The couple of mums I was able to chat to were OK. We haven't done Caitlin's 12 month needles yet either (and shes 14 months today!~)

Lara am getting ready to head to maccas to meet Irene wub.gif Kids are buzzing with excitement lol probably because I promised them an ice cream

Well Friday night I got this pain under my left boob. You know when you swallow something without chewing it properly? That ache you get? Constant? But then it goes away? Well it still hasn't. Had it all day yesterday. Sat in the walk in clinic for 2 hours before I got fed up and left but made an appointment for Monday arvo.

Then last night I started having a bit of a panic attack, thinking maybe it was a pulmonary embolism or heart attack! So at 1am I took myself to THAT hospital. They weren't too bad, tested my blood for the enzymes in heart attack patients and did an EKG both of which were normal so it most likely isn't my heart. Gave me half a nitro tablet OMG instant head ache!! How brutal is that stuff?? Then asked me what I thought was wrong rolleyes.gif So I said lung cancer, blood clot or chest infection (even though my chest is clear) Bah who knows. Was home in bed by 3am which was good, although still in pain

Guess we shall see on Monday! Wish me luck
SUSIE25

Bit of a lurker here too.

Congrats to Char on the safe arrival of your new baby boy. very cute .

DH and I celebrated our 10th anniversary in December with a night out at Crown. helped prompt our decision for a new bed -lol. the place was amazing. We must do that more often than every 10years. First overnight babysitting at nannas too. kids behaved for her of course wink.gif

Just had a quiet Xmas here. Lots of food and family. wink.gif
Have been going down tot he beach a bit during these hot Melbourne days but its quite cold today which is typical Melbourne.

We also got a nice brand spanking new bed. No more sore back. The old one felt like concrete in comparison. Its a huge QS sleepmaker with pillowtop we got from the recent Myers sales. Jack also doesnt sneak into our bed anymore cos we said he isnt allowed to in it. Dont want to risk any 'accidents" so he is quite happy to sleep on his little flip out sofa on the floor if he wakes up from a bad dream. he has them quite regularly, just wakes up yelling for no apparent reason. like his head doesnt switch off when he goes to sleep.
Olivia on the other hand usually sleeps like a baby -lol. Exception was the other night when she was up from 1-5.30am. we watched Fantasy island and played teas sets as you do at that hour. She was just not sleepy. very wired. Teeth coming too.

There was on Public Holiday breaks for the kids from daycare so they have still been going. Daycare no longer give 1/2 day rates so I may as well keep them in. All their little friends were still going too and it kept them occupied esp. on the really hot days.

Re: TT. Still havent got Jack night trained. Not sure how to as he is just so sleepy once he finally goes to bed. Perhaps not ready yet. I have tried to ditch the night nappies but he just kept wetting almost every night for 2wks. was driving us mental.

Movies; have also been to see a few. I love going to the movies and the last couple I saw were Avatar 3D and Bran Nue Dae.

I plan to get a job. still looking but very quiet at the moment. Nothing much suitable but I guess alot of places are still on holidays. This is the longest I have ever been unemployed.
DH keeps telling me not to stress and my mum reckons I should just enjoy this time as she never had the same opportunity. My main concern is keeping my skills up. Course are okay but its the practical side of things that i need to build my confidence up in.

I plan on doing a bit more around the house. Motivation is a factor when one day blends into the next but I need to push myself a bit more.
I also need to do a massive clearout of the kids clothes as well as my own. they are outgrowing things fast.

I would alos like to possibly do a photography course. Very least learn how to use my new camera I got for Xmas properly. Having fun in the Eb photo challenges so that helps.
I got an Olympus DSLR.

Kiddies - Jack is cheeky Jack as always. Olivia is fast catching up. He will be due for his 4yr needles soon and Olivia just had her 18mth chicken pox one.
Cant believe the Junies are going to be 4 already. Jack starts school next year too.

Both are keeping me on my toes. They can bicker a bit but are also very protective of each other. The main difference i have noticed is that Jack needs company whereas Olivia is quite contented to play by herself although she doesnt mind other kids. She is very independant and strongwilled.

Shan, I see you are going to take the girls to a movie. Is that a first movie trip. Havent been game to take Jack. Not sure if he would last. has anyone else taken their littlies to one?

Anyway, that was along post. off to finish dinner. Roast chook, chips and veg. need to go take them out of the oven before they dry out.

Susie

~gemma~
Shan ~ Thanx for the offer but im kinda broke til Thurs lol. Good luck for 2moro, hope its nothing bad

Susie ~ I took Tahlia last week and also had Kaitlyn with me and she was sooo good. It was Tahlia's first movie trip and she was good too, not a peep out of her. Im not too sure about Jordan and Madi, i dont know if they would keep still.
laraq75
Susie - did you enjoy Brand Nu Dae? I really want to go and see it. I saw Avatar a week ago and loved it. I can't believe Jack starts school next year. Audrey has to wait until the year after but she will start preschool next year. The cut off in the ACT is April so we miss out on preschool for this year.

Shan - I hope you enjoy your time with Irene.
SUSIE25
Lara, it was a good movie. Not the best I have seen but I did enjoy it. Lots of singing.
I was planning on Its Complicated but couldnt get the time I wanted on the day.

Cut off here is end April so Jack is the only Junie who would be starting too. Makes it by 1 week. He is already in 3yr old kinder thru the daycare so I will just continue him on.
*~*Kitty*~*
Susie - school cutoff in QLD is 30th June so Miss Lily should technically be off next year, I'm sure academically she will be more than ready and to hold her back another year I think she would be bored, but she'll be one of the youngest in the class. Olivia on the other hand will have to wait a whole year extra being a month over the cutoff and will always be one of the oldest in the class, I wonder how the dynamics of that will transpire in the future???

Bugger it's hot today, I don't DO hot, I hate it with a passion!!! Grrrr!

Lara - the excema is just genetics I think cry1.gif She's just had a lukewarm bath with sorbolene, a dose of Aerius syrup (non drowsy), a topical application of sigmacort and an all over application of aloe vera mixed with a wee bit of sigmacort, she's got an all in one on with the singlet over the top so her sneaky little hands can't reach between the snaps and scratch her chest and tummy. I find when I can alleviate the symptoms, the itch and get the general ickiness of excema under control, she's just so much happier, a total different baby as you would expect.
MRT
Zoe gets to start school next year too but not until term 3 (we have 4 terms in SA). In SA you start the term after you turn 5 and have to do a minimum number of terms in reception. So Zoe will do term 3 & 4 next year in reception along with all of the year after before going into year 1 in 2012. I'm still blown away that she starts kindy pre entry (so just 2 hours a week) in April!

Zoe's not night tt either. I transitioned her into pull ups for night time only a few days ago but tonight she said she'd rather be in nappys for sleeping still - must be more comfortable. I'm not too fussed about night time though.

Susie Zoe had her first trip to the movies with Chipmunks and was really well behaved. I think the excitement of something new and the massive screen helped (and the popcorn).

We had a productive day with swimming lessons and then our clean out for hard rubbish day. I also did a couple of small jobs in the back yard, amazing how a few little things can make such a difference.

I'd better log off now I still have my new shirt to iron for my first day back at work since Xmas tomorrow - I am looking forward to seeing everyone but am sure there will be plenty of work to catch up on too. This weeks plan is to leave on at least one day at 5 pm.
seepi
Adele went to see 'Ice story' with DP, but she got a bit bored by halfway thru, and was openly saying 'can we go now' with 20 minutes to go.... apparently it wasnt that good of a movie though.

she also went to the ballet to see Angelina Ballerina, and she loved every minute of that. We are going to see a play of Alice In Wonderland this week, so I hope she can stay quiet thru that one .

Night TT - not here either and she has been day trained for 6 months or more. I'm not in a rush though. The idea of changing wet beds sounds pretty bad. At the moment I'm giving her a malteser if she gets up with a dry nappy - she is really keen to do it, but only has one about twice a week.

We never had pull-ups here. she just wiggles the nappy up and down if she gets up before us.

I am missing all the regular activities at the moment. And my playgroup venue is not ready, so they don't know when it will start up again, which is a bummer.

but mainly everything is all good - I am quite enjoying being back at work, and having more on my mind than what to put on the toast, and feeling guilty for not weeding the garden or whatever.

Cass
laraq75
Mel - the SA system sounds great and I wish we had in here in the ACT. I would make it so much fairer on the older kids like ours that are ready to go to school in the middle of next year. At least we have a free preschool system here. So Audrey and the other ACT kids will go there for a couple of days next year.

rose - a big decision to hold Lily back for that extra year. But she will just be the same as the ACT Junies and will probably enjoy being one of the older kids at school.

Night TT - really came by accident. I really wasn't ready to give up nappies at night but she was consistently dry and we have only had one accident overnight so far and that was because she didn't go to the toilet before bed. They have amazing bladder control at this age.

I am taking Audrey for her 3 year old check up today. It is a little late and I have cancelled the appointment a few times because of things clashing but I am determined to go today.

Angus is so close to walking. he has started to stand in the middle of the room. He is so cheeky about it all and loves an audience.

I am so happy that we are all chatting again. Fingers crossed some other junies will come back as well.

mel - i agree with you sometimes when you just chat about so that is going on in your daily life it sparks up conversation.

~gemma~
I didnt answer the other question about plans for 2010...

Well Tahlia starts school, so thats a start. I really want to do something for me this year so first up starting on Friday im losing weight, i want to lost a bit before May. I am going to NZ for my brothers wedding. No one will stop me this time. This is his 3rd marriage, i have to attend at least one of them lol. I wanted to apply to be a trainee paramedic but i think il get myself in shape first and then apply next year.Maybe il do a pathology course this year, its one thing ive wanted to do. No other big plans, maybe will go back to NZ for Xmas aswel, il see.

Better go do some housework. I really wana change the kids rooms around but Kevin doesnt like my idea
WaywardAngelBec
Hey Girls

Thought i'd pop in and say hi waves.gif

We are all going good at the moment - not liking the heat in Perth at the moment though. It got to 43 yesterday and they are prediciting another hot one here today.

Harryson is off to Kindy this year (2 days a week at the school - 1st year of school in WA) and he's looking forward to it. Having troubles wiping his own bum after a poo, so not to sure what we are going to do there.

All the other kids are growing up way to fast.

Hope to chat soon.
NorthernLife
Hey ladies!

OMG I have been so busy, its insane.. Sorry about me being MIA! original.gif

I have read back over the posts, so will just quickly post little bits and pieces:

Movies

I took my three to the movies to watch "The Princess and The Frog" and they loved it. They were perfect - so definitely try the movies girls! original.gif

Plans for 2010

Well my baby boys are starting school in 2 weeks ohmy.gif which I am freaking out about. Isabel starts daycare full time on 1 February (she and the boys go on Wednesdays at the moment). I am working full time until the end of April at the moment. I have been talking to the bosses at work and there is an option for me to work right until the middle of November - probably 3 or 4 days per week from May - November, which is perfect for me. I also had it confirmed I am going to Thailand in July for work for 2 weeks so can't wait! original.gif DH is going to come over at the end of the trip and we are going to a resort for a week to recharge! original.gif I am also still studying my Diploma and am hoping to finish it this year, but am not pushing it. If i don't I can finish it next year! original.gif I am also trying to lose weight via weight watchers. I need to lose 8kg to get to goal by Isabel's birthday, so definitely do-able if I am good! original.gif

Isabel is going to be starting school in 2012, so will be doing either preschool or daycare next year. Probably daycare because I will hopefully be working. She won't make the cut off and while she is academically ready I won't push it as she isn't gifted. If we were still in NSW next year she would be eligible to start but I doubt very much she would. I like a 2 year gap between her and the boys as well as I just don't think she will be ready.

We will be moving at the end of 2010 which is exciting. We are 99% sure we will be moving to Canberra, so I am very happy!! I have started researching schools, and jobs for me and am pretty excited at the prospects for next year.

Sporting wise kids are doing swimming still this year, Isabel is starting baby dance which is a mix of ballet and jazz, which will be cute! The boys are going to be doing soccer, so we are going to be really busy! original.gif

Our other big 2010 plan is to save lots of $. We want to build a house in Canberra late next year. Not sure where yet (need to research options). I also need to get a good job to be able to help DH to fund our dream! laughing2.gif As soon as we get the final confirmation of our move I will be applying for lots of jobs.

My boys birthday is in 2 weeks (5 Feb), I can't believe they are turning 5 ohmy.gif - it is very scary how fast the years go! original.gif

Well better go to bed. I have a busy week ahead - DH is working for 24 hours tomorrow so 7.30am tomorrow til 7.30am Wednesday. Thankfully my sister is here to help with the kids which is a big help. My sister is here til Thursday, then her and her two kids are off to the Gold Coast.. lucky ducks.

Night TT-
Not happening here yet. Isabel still has No.2 accidents a lot so that is something we are trying to work on.

MRT
Well I survived the first day back at work! I have to admit after the monday morning management and ops meeting I had a headache just thinking about what was ahead during the year but a bit of food at lunch time and a walk around in the sun fixed that. Can't say I was overly motivated for the day but I did achieve quite a bit for my first day back. I now sit right next to my boss (which I think I've mentioned) and that is working out really well, I think he's appreciating having me close by so that's a good thing.

I managed to leave at around 5.20 pm tonight which is pretty good for me, I only stayed after 5 because I was trying to catch my boss as I work from home on Tuesdays. AND I managed to each my morning piece of fruit (another one of my "goals" for the year to eat more fruit) - so overall a pretty successful return to work.

Rach you must be so pleased to be moving back to Canberra - I know Lara must be excited original.gif. I can't believe your boys are nearly 5!

Well I might go and read my book for a while. I'm half way through Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett. First of his books I've read and I have to admit it took me a fair bit to get into it but now I'm really enjoying. I don't think we've discussed books much before actually, does anybody else read?
C.C.S.
Morning,

I keep trying to catch up on this thread but keep getting called away, so I thought I might try and post and then go back and catch up or it'll be a week before I do.

Our Plans for 2010 include (and I know its cliche) but weight loss and fitness. It just simply has to be done, I have at least 20kg to loose but would be happy with 10kg for now, I have dropped 1.9kg since Christmas, though I don't know where from or how LOL. My treadmill is going to become my best friend - will share my good and bad times and the fridge and I are not on speaking terms any longer original.gif~

I am returning to work end of next month, going in there this morning to discuss the details. I would have liked longer but they have asked me to return and daycare won't hold a spot for Seth any longer than that so I guess my mind has been made up for me.

We go this morning to get Seth's hips scanned to see if they have corrected themselves after being in the harness 12 weeks. I hope so, have an appointment with the specialist next Wednesday to discuss the results. Seth got bitten by something late last week - on the foot. Is swelled up and was a nasty red/purple colour and he was crying alot so we went to the Dr who gave him a topical cream, which didn't seem to relieve it at all so he then gave him oral antihistamine (sp?) which calmed him almost instantly. Poor little mite. The lumps are still there but the swelling and the redness have gone.

Chayse is excited to have his brother go to the same Day care center. We have been watching the first Chipmonk movie and loving it, will try to get the Squeekwell soon.

That's about it for now, will try to come back later and catch up.

Char
*~*Kitty*~*
waves.gif Girls,

I didn't get a chance to get in here yesterday, my computer chucked a spak rolleyes.gif

Rach - how exciting that you will get to build, it's so much fun if you get a good builder/supervisor. We still have our 2nd block of land, haven't decided what to build yet, but are thinking 2 storey this time so we have more yard leftover. I'm so glad things are working out for you with work and you'll be so rich this year with 2/3 of your child care costs reduced eexcite.gif How does DH work for 24hours - does he have to be in attendance, but is able to sleep whilst on call or is he sposed to be awake that whole time?

Char (Aja) - Congratulations on the birth of Koda, he is divine and just too yummy for words wub.gif

Char (Rocky) - How is the Prado going? Good luck with Seth's scan today, hope it means his harness can come off hands.gif

Mell - I hheart.gif reading, my fave author is James Patterson, but I also like a good trashy romance, especially historical ones, except I get all sooky and start wondering why I don't get treated all romantic and stuff like in the books so I have to snap myself out of it roll2.gif

Gemma - how is the house hunting going? A is a real t*at, most likely the reason he doesn't want you mixing with the ex is cause even more of his lies will come out when you start comparing stories, and once you two are friends, then he has lost all "power" over the both of you.

Lara - Caught up with my PP the other night oomg.gif there were 3 episodes including the one that just aired that I had missed, I thought the one that just aired was the first one back, but I must have missed one before xmas and they must have done a double ep when they came back, but anyway there really needs to be a drool smiley in here llove.gif I need to catch up on my Greys, I have them all, but haven't watched them yet.

BBL!!!
C.C.S.
I'm finally home!

Scan went well - last part of the report reads "Ultrasound features are suggestive of bilateral stable hips Type 1 - normal" so I'm guessing all is good and won't be wearing the harness again. Still have to see the Dr next Wednesday but I think I know what he's going to say! original.gif

Having said all that both Seth and I have a cold - runny nose, sore throat etc... sad.gif but will I was waiting for the report I did manage to buy myself 2 pairs of shoes, 3 shirts and a pair of pants!! LOL

Rose - the Prado is great we are both really impressed. Though it's not flash like the interior of yours!! OMG it looks lush! original.gif With schooling - Chayse makes the cut off too and we'll be sending him, I figure if he's not coping I can pull him out or he can redo it - provided daycare think he's ready to try too cause he'll be doing a kinder program there this year. Are you sending Lily next year or holding her back?

I really wish all the states were the same and just used the year they were all born, I think it would work alot better having them all the same age - especially when it comes time for drivers licences and drinking etc.

I also joined WW today - so I've taken the first step towards weight loss - now the hard bit begins......

Gem - When is Kaitlyn's hip scan, it was this month wasn't it? Oh and I don't think I answered you before Seths was a type III.

Rach - How exciting on the building.
SUSIE25
Char, thats great news about Seths hips. yay to no brace.

Rose: what eps are you up to? I am just DL Bro&Sis and D/hwives, eps 13
and Greys Eps 11. They got to about eps 10 just before Xmas so I have been going thru withdrawals but looks like they are back into ratings season.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.