The
Essential Baby forums cover all areas of
parenting and stages development for
babies,
toddlers and
kids as well as
parenting lifestyle areas including
Family Travel,
Finances,
Nutrition & Wellbeing,
Recipes and more!
If you'd like to post and interact with EB's
parenting forums read more articles about
conception,
pregnancy,
babies,
toddlers,
kids or more please visit
Essential Baby for the full site experience.
*Fluttergirls*
01/01/2010, 10:58 AM
Hi Darwin Divas! Have missed you/Darwin/Australia and EB! Have had a little perusal of the NT boards this morning and obviously I’ve missed out on a lot over this past year (although have been kept a bit in the loop via Facebook). Good to see we’ve got some new ladies, and sorry to see some have gone. But it’s all very confusing lol. Who’s here or arriving soon? Who’s left or leaving? Who’s pregnant or TTC? Who’s changed jobs/house/partner/hair style etc? Argh!
So, I propose that as a nice way to start the New Year, and as a very helpful service for the new ladies (who may be put off by the 153 pages of Darwin Divas thread – time to start a new one maybe?) and people like me, we all introduce or re-introduce ourselves here. Maybe even give a little summary of our 2009? And Job/Interests or something fascinating about us? Any takers?
I’ll start obviously…
I’m Kristen

DH and I have 2 daughters – Alison who will be turning 3 in February, and Natalie who is 1 and a half. We won’t be TTC a very-much-wanted #3 this year coz DH will most likely go away again and I’m determined to have him around for at least one pregnancy and birth so I’m willing to work to the Army’s schedule this time (have learned my lesson finally lol)!
DH is Army (duh), and we have just returned to Darwin after a posting to Lae in Papua New Guinea. We were in Darwin in 2006-08 (and 2003) and both the girls were born here. Love love LOVE the Territory – yes even the wet season (have missed those storms! Lae has something like 4 times Darwin’s annual rainfall, but it’s just drizzle all year long no WOW factor to it)! We’ll be living in Durack, Palmerston. Hopefully get access to the house in the next few days and then storage removal arrives and we move in on the 8th. Hope removal from PNG isn’t toooooo far behind!
I have a background in Early Childhood Education but will be a SAHM as long as possible. Have a very avid interest in Photography, and dabble a tiny bit in scrapbooking-type things but not as much as I used to. Also have been known in the past as a bit of a Modern Cloth Nappy Connoiseur

Umm, can’t think of anything else… how sad.
So now, who’s next?
Edit: Wow, forgot I can't access my old account so it looks like I'm a new member - I was 'alibee'. Ooh, and must update that sig lol.
beccit
01/01/2010, 01:07 PM
Great idea Kristen and welcome back!!
Bec - I have two daughters Ari (4) and Jorja (1) I an def not TTC... well not this year anyway. I work full time and girls are in a daycare. Ari will start preschool this year

2010 looks to be very exciting year, my sis and SIL are both pg!! and one with twins
elleraN
03/01/2010, 04:03 PM
Welcome back Kristen, can't wait to see how big those girls of yours have gotten.

I'm still here and am the only one pregnant at the moment i think.
I'm Narelle for those that don't know, and have been a Darwin Diva for 4 years now, so am a longtimer! . Hope to stay here in Darwin for the long haul (hopefully). Army also.

I have two boys Keith (8.5) and Hamish (22 months) and am 24 weeks preg with another bub. I'm a fellow MCN'er as well.

I look forward to all the catchups we will have soon when everything gets back to normal.

Oh and fantastic news Bec on your new potential nieces or nephews, how exciting!
shaggybanks
03/01/2010, 09:35 PM
Welcome back Kristen
We are still here. Hoping for a posting in September. Our status is still the same married to Gav 4 children nearly 20

14, 3 and 2.
im still working flat out at Maccas. I spent alot of this year fund raising for ronald McDonald House which I have found so rewarding that Im going to continue with it this year seeing as though we will be here longer than intended.
other than that Im loving life and cant wait for the next dry season to make the most of darwin and all it has to offer.
good to see you home safe and sound Kristen
Bec...ooohhhh twins I have had 2 sets of twins born this year in our family None ive meet yet but have had 2 boys in one lot and a boy/girl combo in the other. I love twinnies
narelle glad to see you back in one peice and survived the xmas holidays
gypsyblu
03/01/2010, 09:47 PM
Hi Ladies
I am new to EB but have lived in Darwin on and off since 76/77. LOVE this place (and I got told by a born and bred local that I pretty much qualify for local status now

). Have a household full of girls, animals (7 pets!) and a hubby (Defence as well

).
Look forward to getting to know you all.
splash007
04/01/2010, 12:20 PM
I'm new to EB and motherhood!
My DH and I have a 3.5 month old daughter Aviah and I'm still adjusting to life at home
.. especially as she was lactose intolerant so screamed at me for the first 6 weeks of her life

... not exactly what i was expecting but we made it through!!
I have been in Darwin on off since 2000 and live in Bakewell but after working in the city am only just finding things to see and do out this way.
Oh, and i'm Natasha
shaggybanks
04/01/2010, 01:30 PM
Welcome Natasha and Gypsyblu
Hope to see you around sometime
*Fluttergirls*
04/01/2010, 11:43 PM
Wonderful news for your family Bec - 3 new nieces/nephews in one year wow! My brother (the oldest of my 3 younger siblings) just got engaged tonight lol, so hopefully I'll be getting some nieces or nephews in the next few years. And twins too - how exciting!
24 weeks already Narelle - wow! Have you found out sex and are just keeping it a secret? Hope you are feeling well and sounds like you enjoyed your holiday!
Deb, good (for me, maybe not you lol) that you are not leaving till September now so we can catch up properly

Am interested to hear about your fundraising efforts - after experiences in PNG (was involved in a lot more that just the school, but couldn't write about it on FB. Speaking of which, the photos of the presentation of the stuff to the school will be uploaded when we are in a house) I am determined to be much more community-minded and pull my weight... can I help if I don't work for Maccas?
Welcome gypsyblu and Natasha!
Gypsyblu, how many girls do you have and how old? Lol about being a local after being here on and off for so long. I'm hoping I will eventually qualify, coz I already consider the Territory 'home' coz I have lived here for the longest consecutive stint in my life (almost 3 years) and both my kids were born here.
Natasha, welcome to EB and motherhood. Aviah is a gorgeous name! There are a HEAP of things to do with a young baby in Palmerston. 2 things that immediately come to mind are the baby song times at the Library on Wednesday mornings, and 'baby bounce' (more singing and movement) on Monday mornings (in the room at the front of the library). Not sure the wednesday thing runs during school holidays, but there are few other mums with bubs 3 and 4 months old that were at baby bounce just this morning (as well as a mix of other age kids and toddlers). If you are interested, it's a great way just to "get out" and to meet other mums. And of course, us EB girls will surely be having some meetups soon!
splash007
05/01/2010, 09:31 AM
Thanks Kristen, I love wed mornings at the library but didn't realise the monday would be suitable for us but i'll give it a go next week!
gypsyblu
05/01/2010, 07:16 PM
Fluttergirls...I have 3 girls, a dog, 3 cats, a snake, a budgie and we did have a fish but sadly it just passed away (off to toilet heaven!) so down to 6 pets.

I have a 19 year old, nearly 8 and nearly 6 year old. Hubby has PMT as well, just to fit in.

We also have a young lady from OS living with us .... apretty full house! I would love more pets (but not kids!) but sadly I had to agree that the snake was the last. Tho....

I can go and get some fish now....hehehehehe
I also work full time, and hubby is rarely home, but this is home to us. We just love it here.
nessym
05/01/2010, 11:55 PM
I'm Vanessa. DH and I have Ben 05.10.07 and Sarah 01.12.09

DH has been transferred to Darwin from Syd (Wollongong) and we are moving in Feb. I've got a couple of years maternity leave to be SAHM so we will be in Darwin until 2012 and might stay longer if we love it.
Looking forward to living up there and I'm keen to find out info of things to do with the kids. The library mornings sound good. DS went to one in Wollongong with my mum once a week and loved it.
We are flying in next week to find a house to rent (probably near palmerston area) and I'm wondering what to pack. Any suggestions for kids clothing would really be appreciated

beccit
06/01/2010, 05:48 PM
Hi Vanessa - it's pretty wet atm, but still warm. I wouldnt bother bringing up any winter gear (well maybe 1 or two jumper/ jacket for the air con and the dry) make sure you pack your bathers!!
Natasha and gypsyblu welcome!!
I am very excited about all these 2010 babes

first set of twins in our family for a while. ..
hooverdamsel
06/01/2010, 06:39 PM
Hi to all the newbies. Welcome to the threads and hope you are all enjoying Darwin.
We are returnees as of the 21st Jan when we fly in. We've just bought a house so I guess we are becoming permanents. DH is hospital and I am a teacher and we absolutely love Darwin and the lifestyle (can't wait to try out the new wave pool and waterslides). We were here for two years in 2008-2009 and have five children who are all at school now - last one starts transition on the 27th. Kind of end of an era and I guess I have to decide if I want to work straight away or spend a few months just catching up on sleep from the past 11 years LOL. I have a very old house to renovate so I guess that will keep me busy for awhile.
The girls are great on these threads and very accepting - hope you all become part of the group as we love meeting newies and having excuses to go out.
Hopefully we'll get a gettogether happening soon.
Wendy (Hoover)
nessym
06/01/2010, 09:14 PM
Thanks Bec. I'm a bit over anxious about the kids getting overheated and have images of them being in only nappies 24/7. I'll be bringing the bathers for sure!!
Wendy, this group is great for newbies, thanks for starting the new thread. LOL on catching up on sleep - a few months might not be enough. I'm sure I'll be keen for an excuse to get out of the house too.
shaggybanks
08/01/2010, 11:32 AM
LOL Nessym re the kids in nappies and singlets. They pretty much are in nappies and singlets 24/7. My 2 scream if we have to go down the street they hate clothes as they only wear them when we go out
Not long now wendy and youll be home. Cant wait to catch up.
Bec it was quiet on the baby front but looks like there will be a few around.
Hi Kristen....was great to catch up the other day. I love the look of your new house. im sure we can have a great meet up there one day hehehe
splash007
09/01/2010, 10:01 PM
just wondering if anyone knows what time monday baby bounce is that fluttergirls mentioned - i've looked on the library web but it must be run by a different group so thre are no details so just need a time and i'll find out the rest when i get there!
emilygrace
10/01/2010, 02:26 PM
hi splash007,
I am a good friend of "fluttergirls", and also organise baby bounce on Mondays. It is not run by any organisation, just a group of mums that wanted it to keep going when the CEA stopping funding it mid last year. We are running every monday morning at 9.30am. For the next 3 weeks we are in the back room of the library (accessible before 10am from oustide round the back). Normally we are in the front room in the library, which is accessible before 10am by going in via the coffee shop. We have lots of fun doing singing, dancing, playing with musical instruments and also with a large sheet which acts as the sea and the sky for a our songs - the hot favourite for all the kids. We then usually have snacks / coffee while the kids play.
would love to see you there.
PS - in answser to fluttergirls original question, a bit about me. I have been in Darwin since early 2005. I used to work for the oil & gas industry (on and offshore) until becoming a mum (I am an Environmental Scientist by first "trade" and Industrial Hygienist by second "trade", lol). I first went on maternity leave when I had Emily (who is now 2 1/2 years), then actually resigned to become a SAHM when I had Zara (now 1 year). After spending 15+ years being very career focussed, I can honestly say I am really enjoying the privilege and challenge of being home with the girls full-time, and realise how lucky I am to be able to make that choice.
We love going to baby bounce on Mondays, and this year I am more often then not leading it, which is great fun, allthough sometimes nerve wracking, lol... a young audience is tough ha ha ha. We also love going to the library for nursery rhymes / story time etc, and catching up with my TPS mothers group, as well as my other close friends who live here.
My interests are wide and varied, but at present I am learning to use my DSLR, and is fast becoming my new hobby (it is really tricky for a novice like me).
PSS - I am a previous EB user, but go "hot and cold" with it, depending on level of sleep deprivation at the time, lol!!
Regards,
Kate
mummytoboyz
10/01/2010, 02:46 PM
Hi guys, Im knew tothis forum (NT) hubby has been transfered to darwin..we have 5 boys aged between 13 and 2

Look forward to chatting with you all :
nessym
10/01/2010, 07:48 PM
Wow you guys are a friendly bunch. The baby bounce time sounds fantastic - it is great that you have continued. After we have settled in I'll definately be interested in joining too if that's ok.
Does anyone have any suggestions for baby and toddler car seat hire for the next couple of weeks? We get a car through DH work but it doesn't come with the seats. I tried baby for hire and they are on leave until Feb. I also tried the car hire companies but you can only get the seats when you hire the vehicle. I heard that kidsafe may hire and have left them a message. If all else fails we will just check ours in as luggage but I'd rather not go to the trouble of getting them in and out of the cars.
I'm really looking forward to the move to NT. I think it will be a challenge being away from family and friends but also an opportunity to do something different, see new places and meet new friends.
mummytoboyz
10/01/2010, 08:14 PM
Nessy when do you move??
We will be up North at the end of this month...Im feeling very simliar to you....Im so nervous about the whole move
nessym
10/01/2010, 10:16 PM
Hi mummytoboyz
We should be there mid Feb. I'll know more by the end of the week as (fingers crossed) we will have rented a house.
I had a little laugh when I saw that you are mum to five boys. My dad is one of eight boys (they had a girl at number 9). I don't know how my nan did it - I find it tough at times just with 2 kids.
Good luck with the move and hope to get to meet you.
DylMah
11/01/2010, 11:35 AM
Welcome back Kristen.
I'm Georgia. I've been a pretty infrequent poster the last few months, but planning to get back into the world of EB this year.
I am a SAHM to Dylan who will be 3 in March, and Mahalia who is 15 months. I discharged from the Navy in September after 9 years to become a SAHM. DH has been the Navy for 10 years (that's how we met, awwww...). I'd like another baby, but not for a few years, and I've yet to convince DH. I think I am slowly bringing him around.
We moved here at the beginning of 2005, moved to Sydney at the end of 2007, and then moved back up here at the beginning of 2009. We will hopefully be here for another few years yet.
I'm interested in photography, but am very much a novice. I've dabbled in a bit of scrapbooking and sewing, but I often start things and don't finish. This year I plan on doing more scrapbooking, and becoming a better photographer and sewer.
I'll put my hand up as another MCN-aholic.
modifiedlori
14/01/2010, 09:35 AM
Hi, I'm Lori, mum to 20-month-old Rosey, married (and currently separated) to Fletch. I've been an EB member for two years and have lived in Darwin for almost ten and definitely consider myself a local!

I own Darwin's only specialist piercing studio and have been a piercer for fifteen years - gulp, that makes me feel old!
Re: hiring car seats, Little Rompers in Coconut Grove does!
shaggybanks
14/01/2010, 08:06 PM
Lori, im sorry to hear things arent so good for you at the moment. Heres hoping that things work out the way you want them to.
Hi to everyone else. Hope we can all catch up soon.
Kristen ...how is he stroller going. Hope youre enjoying it
Miss_Bell
14/01/2010, 08:36 PM
Hi Girls!
I will be a Darwin Dive in May/June
My partner is already up there in the Navy, and im down in Melb!
Im currently 7 weeks preg

I don't really know many mums up that way and i don't even know what hospitals or birthing centre's are available in Darwin, so im a bit out of the loop (not to mentioned a bit stressed)
Hopefully there are meet ups happening after i get up there and i get to meet you girls
DylMah
14/01/2010, 11:23 PM
Lori - Sorry things aren't the nest at the moment.
Miss_Bell - Welcome and congratulations on your pregnancy. What does your DH do in the Navy? Is he posted to a crew or ashore? My DH is navy, and I am ex navy. There are only two hospitals up here, Royal Darwin and Darwin Private. RDH has a birthing centre attached to it. There are only a few private OBs up here, so if you are planning on going that way, you'll want to get in quick. I've heard the community midwife program up here is brilliant, and so is the homebirth midwifery team.
Debbie - I'd love a catchup soon, and would love to be able to go to one sans kids for once. Oh how I dream.
Mahalia is having grommets put in tomorrow. I have to have her at the hospital by 7am (I should really be in bed), and she has to fast beforehand. Shall be interesting as she has food in her mouth from the moment she wakes until she goes to sleep. Good thing she first up.
modifiedlori
15/01/2010, 01:25 AM
Thanks, guys, don't worry too much about me. I'm actually surprisingly OK about everything, it's been kind of an ongoing discussion for awhile and is, thus far, relatively amicable.
nessym
15/01/2010, 01:00 PM
Hey Lori thanks for your help. We ended upgoing through little rompers.
Georgia - I hope it all goes well with the grommets tomorrow. Ben had them put in in Sept and has not had a problem since.
Could you recommend an ENT Dr in Darwin?
beccit
15/01/2010, 07:02 PM
Georgia - Hope Mahalia is feeling better after the Grommets this morning.
Lori - we should catch up soon - it's been forever.....
Deb - A catch up sounds good.
livingindarwin
15/01/2010, 10:57 PM
Hi, I'm new to this forum. I am 15 weeks pregnant with my first, baby due early July. I work for the govt and have always been pretty career oriented, so this will be a big change for me. I've been living in Darwin for 7 yes now, and DH is a local boy so it looks likely this is where I'll be for a long time yet!
Does anyone know where to get pregnancy pillows. I went to spotlight but they didn't have them. Target had none in stock and didn't know when they'd be getting in more. I'm used to sleeping on my back or tummy and sleeping on my side is driving me nuts!
DylMah
16/01/2010, 11:01 PM
Lori - I hope things stay amicable while you and Fletch work out what you're going to do. It still can't be easy though..
nessym - Mahalia is seeing an ENT that visits from Adelaide once a month. We were referred to him by a GP up here though. His name is Kym Diamantis and is great with kids. He is next up here at the end of February when Mahalia has her post-op appt.
livingindarwin - Welcome to Darwin Divas and congratulations on your pregnancy. I can only suggest looking online for pregnancy pillows as I never used one. I did find banana pillows did the trick for me though if you can get your hands on one of those. It would probably be much cheaper too.
Mahalia's surgery went really well. She was out of surgery by 8.30am, and once she woke up, all she wanted was food. After a BF, she wasn't happy with the food I brought with us (and threw it across the room), so one of the nurses went running around to find her cheese and biscuits which she scoffed. She is completely back to normal today.
nessym
17/01/2010, 11:23 PM
Glad to hear that Mahalia's surgery went well. It is horrible when they first wake up but like you said they are back to normal pretty soon.
kymcairns
19/01/2010, 05:00 PM
My name is Kym and I am not new to EB, but have not really been on much. Would love to change that in 2010 though. I actually live in Borroloola which is 1000km from Darwin, but love getting to Darwin as much as possible and hope to move there sometime in the next 4 or so years (sooner would be nicer though).
Have 2 kids - Brandon 3 and Tehya 2.
My husband and I run have a construction company, and I am a Body Shop at Home Consultant, which is way more fun than construction stuff.
Am a former teacher. Brandon starts preschool this year, and I have decided to teach him myself through Katherine School of the Air, as the local school is probably not ideal.
Looking forward to chatting with you all.
Kym
paula2000
20/01/2010, 12:57 PM
hi all,
i am new to eb and looking to make some new friends, i have lived in darwin my whole life and married and have three daughter, 5,2, and almost 4 months and no i am not having anymore.
i do family daycare from home with my children and done since i had my first daughter so almost 5 yrs.
i would love to meet you all and maybe start some new friendships. none of my friends have children and my really close friends have moved away so i am the only one left. my whole family except and my husband are defence and at tho mo they all just got posted out of darwin so i am starting to feel a bit lonley.
i look forward to chatting
DylMah
20/01/2010, 09:53 PM
Welcome to the group Kym and Paula.
*Fluttergirls*
24/01/2010, 10:07 PM
Far out - so many newbies coming out of the woodwork now - wonderful! A very big welcome to you all - we'd better arrange a meet-up soon
We've finally had our phone and internet connected - bloody Telstra lol. Still waiting on 2 of 3 parts of our removal though so no meet-ups at my house until I have some furniture and plates. I did a massive grocery shop today - requiring two very full trolleys - to restock my pantry with all those little things like spices and sauces and basic ingredients and stuff you don't usually have to replace very often, and to my shock and amazement, the bill was only $560! Can't say I'm very impressed with the quality of Darwin's produce compared to the stuff we were getting in PNG though... Never thought this would happen but I am seriously finding myself pining for Lae in lots of ways... weird.
While we were in the shops today, I was letting Natie walk around and she was pulling stuff of the shelves etc as she does, and a lady came up and cooed over her "oh you are too little to be walking!" etc etc. Told her she was older than she looks and has been walking for almost 7 months lol. Haven't had that happen for a while (since a lady thought Ali was very clever sitting up by herself in a trolley - she was 16 months old rofl)! Ahh it is funny being back in Australia!
Paula, I think a lot of us know how you feel about being 'left behind' - happens quite a bit up here doesn't it. I've almost always been the one who does the moving away, which I think in many ways is easier, but I know it's hard to make a whole new set of friends when everyone has left. Here's hoping some of us strike your friendship-potential fancy lol!
Kym, love Tehya's name! Doing school of the air sounds fascinating - good on you. Hope we can schedule a meet-up when you're in Darwin sometime.
Living-in-Darwin, congrats on your pregnancy! What kind of pillow are you referring to exactly? I have one of those really long ones, with an extra cover, that I got from Spotlight or Target ages ago. If that's the kind you are after, you are welcome to have mine

Not going to be needing it anytime soon so it's just taking up space lol.
Lori, hope things look brighter on the home front soon. Gee I bet Miss Rosey has grown since I saw her last!
Miss_Bell, you've come to the right place if you are looking for the info on Darwin's hospital/birth facilities - I think within this group we have used all the available options over the last few years. Just ask away!
Crap - where is the button that used to let you 'launch complete topic in a seperate window'? I can't see any more than the last ten posts so I know I am forgetting people grr. Sorry about that

Edited:

Fern and Vanessa! Wendy - can't wait to catch up and glad you are back. Renovating a house sounds like fun! Oh, and Deb, I'll get that stroller back to you soon - has been a godsend thanks
paula2000
25/01/2010, 07:48 PM

thank you everyone for the warm welcome, its nice to find a darwin forum that this up and running with people that actually reply. i have found a couple oout there but its about a yr since someone has made a post.
well to let you all know a bit about me i am happly married now for almost 3 yrs with three beautiful girls jaimie charli and ashley and no i am not going for number 4 would love a boy but dont think i can be pregnant again.
i live in the northern suburbs working from home doing family daycare for a beautiful set or twin girls they are lovely kids.
my big girl is about to start school this and is over the moon about it.
other then that i think am still adjusting to being a mum off three and being back at work.
nessym
25/01/2010, 10:42 PM

I'm back in Wollongong from a successful trip to Darwin. After looking at around 30 houses to rent have finally got one around the Palmerston area that I think we will be very happy in for the next 2 years. Looking for houses is seriously hardwork especially with a newborn and a 2 year old. At one point I looked down at my little 2 year old who was looking up at me with big blue eyes and an expression that said "why are we looking at these houses mummy"

. My heart sank and I looked down at him and said "don't worry mate, we'll get you one with a pool". Then I realised that we would then actually have to get one with a pool. lol.
Although we were only there for 1 week I loved being in Darwin. It seems like a great place to live.
Fluttergirl - I was suprised that the groceries weren't as expensive as what I thought they would be. It seems pretty much the same as Wollongong/Sydney prices. My dad is a butcher in Wollongong and is pretty cheap. The parap butchers were pretty much the same as him. One tip he gave me when I was asking about prices is to avoid the crumb stuff when you can and crumb yourself. The butchers make a bit of money on the crumb stuff as you pay for the weight of the crumb and some can be double crumbed as well. This may be totally obvious but I hadn't thought of it before. I've never really had to pay for meat before so this will be a bit of shock to the old budget! I haven't checked out many places so I'm not sure if the parap butchers are expensive or cheap for Darwin only that they are on par with down south.
Paula - Lol to Fluttergirls response "Here's hoping some of us strike your friendship-potential fancy" - it is a bit like that isn't it. I get that being left on your own can be just as daunting as moving to a place where you may be on your own. It is so good that this is an avenue to possibly meet people for a chat and for the kids to have a play.
We are packing up the house over the next couple of days and will be moved in by 15 Feb all going well.
I'd love to meet up after that and don't mind having something at my house once all of the boxes are unpacked either.
HAVE A HAPPY AUSTRALIA DAY!!!
paula2000
28/01/2010, 09:49 AM
thank you every one you have all been very welcoming and i look forward to maybe meeting you all
shaggybanks
28/01/2010, 10:50 AM
Welcome to all the new girls....we will definetly all have to have a meet up. Now school is back Maccas is always a great place to catch up as it has the kids play area.
i was so happy yesterday when i only had 2 out of 5 very demanding people at home
mketa
23/02/2010, 08:35 AM
Hi Everyone,
My name is Kelly, I am a SAHM of two a DS who is 2.5yrs and a DD who is 1yr. We have 1 dog, we had another but we lost her 3mths ago. We have been in Darwin for a while now DF is army I have been a bit of recluse since moving up here, I really haven't gotten out much at all, and I am keen to get out more with the kids.
Can't wait to chat
Kelly
*MuchTooYoung*
23/02/2010, 02:07 PM
Hi kelly
I have a tendancy to hide away at home also.
But the ladies here are really nice....
I'm going to the wildlife park on friday morning if anybody feels like coming along

If you have an NT drivers lisence you can pay once and get in free for 12months
mketa
23/02/2010, 11:31 PM
I would love to come out there again, I have been trying to head out to show my DD I think she would love it, but I never get there and I can't on friday either as I have an appt mid morning.
twinklestars
24/02/2010, 09:42 AM
Hi everyone, just thought I'd drop in and say hello. I'm new to EB, but have lived in the Territory for almost 10 years now. I'm on maternity leave until later this year, so am a SAHM to four children, DS1 - 8 years, DD1 - 6 years, DD2 - 21 months and DS2 - 7 months. I'm looking forward to chatting with you all here!
kezeven
24/02/2010, 10:01 AM
Hello, I have just found this forum thing, how wonderful it is too! I have a baby boy who is about four and a half months - how fast time goes by. I live in the northern suburbs. I have taken a year off teaching to be at home with bubby Zeven but in the last few weeks really missed my brain being stimulated and have taken on a few hours at school again. I am really interested in the baby bounce and might try to get out there next week or the one after. Do we have to book or can we just come out? Also we are looking to talk to mums doing family day care. I worked in child care for years and while I am sure it is great for some it terrifies me and we are looking at other options.
Alos how have those people done those beautiful things at the bottom of their words with the pictures of their kids in a banner sort of thing??
*MuchTooYoung*
25/02/2010, 04:28 PM
QUOTE (~snapdragon~ @ 24/02/2010, 09:42 AM)

Hi everyone, just thought I'd drop in and say hello. I'm new to EB, but have lived in the Territory for almost 10 years now. I'm on maternity leave until later this year, so am a SAHM to four children, DS1 - 8 years, DD1 - 6 years, DD2 - 21 months and DS2 - 7 months. I'm looking forward to chatting with you all here!

Hello... fancy seeing you here
Straight*No*Chaser
25/02/2010, 08:07 PM
Hi I'm Carla, Mum to 2 boys aged 4 and nearly 3.
We left Darwin last December and moved to Townsville but my ex-husband is still in Darwin so we will we back there a few times during the year.