The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: August 08 Parents # 40

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=733867

hutais
Gold

now just need to catch up!
~my2beautifulbabies~
Boo!!!!!

SILVER eexcite.gif tthumbs.gif

How's everybody? Staying sane in the "silly season"? Elise, how u feeling? Has the ms started to hit you yet? That's so great that you've joined a new DIG for this next bubba. Hope u don't forget about us in little ol Aug '08 DIG!!!!!! That's so funny that you're in EXACTLY the same DIG 2 years later. You guys must like the month of November tongue.gif blush.gif dev (6).gif

Better go back and catch up. Things are interesting around here, but don't have time to post now....waaaaaaay too much housework waiting for me cry1.gif

Lots of bbighug.gif

Olivia
oli77
BRONZE

Thought I would pop in and say hi....better go back and re read.

See you soon
Fizzle
Just popping in to say hi. We're having a bit of a sucky time at the moment so I'll probably not be in for a few weeks and I want to wish you all a good Christmas and New year.

I hope you all have lots of fun and all the bubbas have fun making a mess with the wrapping paper and boxes.
Buzzie
Morning everybody *yawn*

Its 6.15am here.. Ive been up since 4am.. Didnt get to sleep till after midnight and got up between midnight and 4am aswel.. Griffin didnt sleep well last night sad.gif and I cant get comfortable already - worst backache when I go to bed sad.gif But yeah, Griffin, 4th night in the row he has vomitted everywhere in bed - completely out of the blue, no temp, while he was asleep (wakes him up) and then we have to do a midnight sheet change and spewy sheet wash in the morning.. meh.. I'm over it.. No idea whats going on with him.. But if hes still doing it over the w/e I think I might visit the doc on Monday because it is mainly phlegm but he doesnt have a cold or blocked nose or anything like that - so it must be in his gut? I dunno.. But hes so stressed out and scared/upset when we are in thre cuddling him and changing sheets (THANKYOU for not getting it on yourself last night G!).. No idea whats going on.. (do you have any thoughts!??)

Finlaw - I'm sorry your not having a good time at the moment, hope all is well and it gets sorted (whatever it is?) soon.. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! original.gif

Oli - Hi waves.gif

Olivia - No ms yet, i didnt get any with Griff so maybe it'll miss me again? ph34r.gif Haha.. not liking my chances though as I'm not feeling 100% in the mornings - bit of a churny in the tum.. It is weird being in the same DIG, But definitly wont forget this one! Tounge1.gif Good luck with the housework - I hate that part of the day sad.gif haha

hutais- Hi waves.gif
hutais

Elise- Poor bubba sad.gif Hope he gets over it and that you get some sleep.

Just really busy getting ready for Chrissy. I have both girls now that school holidays have started so its constantly on the go. I dont go back till the last week of january which is great.

I better run have a banana bread in the oven which looks like its ready original.gif

T.J.
Hey everyone,

I hope everyone has had a good weekend. We have had a busy one. We went to the zoo on Saturday, and decided to take my nephew, so that was full on. Then one of my Molly fish gave birth to a heap of babies. So at the first count I got 13 and put it into my breeding net, and now 3 days later, there is 19 in there. I don't know where they keep coming from, but it is exciting.

Then we had an email from the RSPCA telling us about the cat crisis in Canberra at the moment, and we have been talking about getting another cat (some of you might remember last year when we had to PTS our blind kitty that had FIV (AIDS), so hubby turned up on Friday with one, that was due to be PTS on saturday morning. So her name is Ruby and she is 7 years old, and beautiful. Then yesterday Cam decided to stay with my brother, so he had his first sleep over, and they came over and dropped him back today. So we went out this morning and brought some last minute chrissy gifts.

Elise - I am so glad that everything is going so well with your pregnancy. It is just so exciting. I can't wait to see photo's of your tummy getting all round again. Cluck, cluck, cluck biggrin.gif

Hutais - Yum, I haven't had banana bread in ages. I make a really nice one, if I do say so myself. I put cream cheese icing on it, and it is delicious.

OK, I'd better go. Lachie has been sick today, poor little baby. He has had an upset tummy, and just not himself, so I am looking forward to having a few hours of uninterrupted time before going to bed.
Buzzie
hutais- yeah hes over it now.. I think I know what it was.. we figured out that he started after we started going to the pool - I think he may have been swallowing to much water or something huh.gif Little bugger thinks he can swim and tried to make me let go and is always putting his head/face under - no fear mellow.gif

Yuuuuum banana bread - send some over to me! happy.gif

Narelle - Ohh how exciting about your fish having babes - they'd be so little!! and a new cat wub.gif what a great time to get one - around christmas original.gif

I cant wait till my tum starts gettig round again to.. even though I think I already look about 20weeks sad.gif huh.gif I know its not baby - but I'm just so bloated! ugh..
~my2beautifulbabies~
Happy holidays everyone! I just LOVE this time of year xmas_wink.gif xmas_biggrin.gif

Hutais - Mmmmm, banana bread....I can almost smell it from here!! I LOVE the stuff, pity I wouldn't have a clue how to make it xmas_tongue.gif xmas_blink.gif

Elise - I remember how bloated I got with ds. Maybe it's something that gets more pronounced with each pg. I remember too how crampy I got as well around week 12 or 13. SO many things get more intense as you have more kiddies.....that's why I thought it was a good idea for me to stop at 2!!! So do you think you will find out the sex of this bubba like you did with Griffin?? Have you told all your friends/family yet, as I notice you haven't mentioned anything yet on FB?

Narelle - baby fishies.....how adorable! I've actually never seen baby fish before. The downfalls of being brought up in a unit my whole life and NEVER being allowed to have any pets xmas_mad.gif

Finlaw - hope everything's OK with you. Merry Xmas to you too xmas_smile.gif

Sooooooooooooooooo busy around here ATM. Crazy stuff. But I'm totally loving it. Wouldn't have it any other way! yyes.gif Although, an update on the MIL......I had sent her a Xmas card a few weeks ago with a pic of our portrait that we had taken at dd's pre-school. It was to her and her partner saying the whole Merry Xmas/Happy New Year stuff, and that I hope it was full of "new beginnings" (wink, wink, nudge nudge!!), and I addressed it from me, dh, dd and ds. I hadn't heard anything until last week when I opened the mail. There was an envelope addressed to dd and ds. I opened it up and there was a xmas card from Grandmother to Granddaughter, then a xmas card from Grandmother to Grandson, then another envelope inside that addressed to "Birthday Girl" (ie for dd, her 3rd b'day is on the 28th Dec). And NOTHING for Aaron and I!!!!!!! She addressed each card to each of my kids, saying "Love you, Miss you" etc etc "Love Nan". This woman is PSYCHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO xmas_ohmy.gif xmas_wacko.gif xmas_sad.gif . So I hold out an olive branch to her and write her a lovely xmas card from all of us, and all she can do is send us a huge "f*** you" by sending the kids cards and not even acknowledging us. Also, we hear along the grapevine that she is going away for Xmas. So she can't even put all that rubbish aside that happened 4 months ago to spend Xmas with her only grandchildren. Just when I think she couldn't get any more stupid and selfish, she raises the bar xmas_angry.gif .

Oh well, vent over. We'll have a nicer Xmas Day without her sad, sorry face bringing us all down anyway. It's just so awful as dd is still asking me "Where's nanny?" "Can we go to nanny's house?" And sooner or later, she's going to stop asking me. Heartbreaking ddown.gif cry1.gif

Have another story to tell you about my maid of honour from my wedding (and how she's TOTALLY taken me for a ride), but I'll have to leave that 'til my next post. Have to start getting the kiddies dinner ready before they wake from their naps.

Stay well.

Olivia

cool.gif
Buzzie
Olivia - Nope havent announced yet.. just waiting for the all clear from my scan in January then prob wait for DH to get home (late January) immediate family know though original.gif

Weve already lost 2 girls out of the DIG sad.gif So hoping there isnt any more..

Oh no about yuor MIL.. oh well.. hopefully its a more relaxing christmas without her there happy.gif

Cant wait to hear to story about your MOH..! cool.gif

AFM - Well.. I'm in a crappy mood.. I'll try explain.. but will prob be all over the place.. DH has a loan for his boat - all is good.. until we recently noticed (yeah, I know I should have noticed earlier rolleyes.gif ) that it was being direct debited fortnightly instead of monthly.. which was great that it was getting paid off quicker without us realising.. BUT then we got married which had lots of hidden costs $$ then DH hurt his back and between no work for the last 12weeks, Wedding, Christmas, Drs,drugs,injections,physio,chiro for DH the $$ started dwindling VERY quickly (as you can imagine!) so when I was going though our stuff is when I found out about the boat loan going out way to often.. so we contacted the people the loan is through and sorted it out and decided we'd get a bit of the extra we'd paid given back to us to cover us till DH goes back to work. SO we did that, filled it out in both our names etc.. then it asked for verification of me - but as we only got married in Oct I had no identification in my new surname.. and they wouldnt accept the wedding cert, my old drivers license etc.. (grr!) so we tehn re filled everything out in just DHs name and were promised we'd get the paperwork last week and get the $$ this week. BUT today is Tuesday and we STILL havent received the paperwork due to the postal strike! They cant email it and cant do anything else. The worst thing is I got my new license in the mail last week so could have done it that way - but they had alraedy cancelled the old paperwork. I'm so annoyed. We have had to borrow money from my Dad/Stepmum and MIL/FIL and even though I know we'll be able to pay it back next week I still hate doing it. DH is getting a lecture from his Mum at the moment about saving etc - and saying I should be working etc.. I know we shouldnt have been in this situation.. but everything came all at once and I'm just so stressed out and want to go to bed sad.gif cry1.gif
Maeli
Elise - UGH, how stressful sad.gif Totally NOT what you need for Christmas sad.gif

On a happier note... ~*Congratulations*~ on the pregnancy bbaby.gif biggrin.gif I only just saw this now, & wanted to send you a huge congrats biggrin.gif Hope that all is going well & that you have a stress free nine months biggrin.gif[

Olivia - Sorry to hear about MIL's behaviour sad.gif How utterly unfair sad.gif Give your kiddles big hugs. She's the one that is missing out by her own silly behaviour sad.gif

T.J. - ~*Congrats*~ on the new member of your household. Glad to hear Ruby is settling in well original.gif What does she look like?

________________________________________________________________________________
_____

We're all doing really well. Until yesterday things had been cruising along really well towards Christmas. I've actually been really looking forward to it ohmy.gif Shopping all done, family getting along reasonably well, kids all behaving reasonably well & dh spent days converting the sleep out into a bedroom for DD2 & did an awesome job of it biggrin.gif

Then my sister put a spanner in the works *sigh*. Nothing unusual for her, but it would have been nice not to have been dragged down by other peoples rubbish when things were going so well.

Dh has managed to get MIL to have the 4 older kids for a craft day tomorrow (gasps!) & he has gotten someone in to do a shift at work so that he can finish at lunchtime & we are going shopping together biggrin.gif Funny to be excited about shopping, (especially right before Christmas,) but I am! We don't get to spend much time together without all the kids & we'll still have Noah with us, but it will be nice just hang out together minus the whole tribe for a while wink.gif

Speaking of Noah he is doing really well. Still teething, poor little mite, but no more ear infections & no more febrile convulsions thankfully. He has a mouth full of teeth now ohmy.gif He's cheeky, always on the go & in to EVERYTHING ohmy.gif He certainly keeps me on my toes ohmy.gif

Me - I'm doing pretty well. I've stuck to my healthy eating plan pretty well (a few slip ups here & there,) & have now got down to 74.5kgs. A total of 12.5kgs lost biggrin.gif Considering back in early October I was 87kgs, I am absolutely BUZZED to finally be *almost* back to my pre-pregnancy weight biggrin.gif

Hope that everyone is doing well & I wish you all a wonderful & safe Christmas xmas_huh.gif xmas_cool.gif
Micha70
Hi all!!

No, haven't fallen off the face of the planet, just busy as usual!! I find the 3 kidlets keep me very busy and I stay in touch with most of my friends via facebook, but I know I shouldn't neglect my EB buddies though! Naughty me!!

You've probably forgotten me, but I still wanted to pop in to wish you all a very Happy Christmas!

I hope everyone and their BIG bubbas enjoy a lovely time with your families and that everyone is well over the festive season.

Elise - I see there is some EXCITING news!! Congrats!! That's awesome. Hope the $$ situation sorts itself out too. Nothing worse than money stress at Christmas time.

As for us - everything going nicely here. NO chicken pox for us this Christmas so we're going to BIL/SIL's house for lunch, then back to my brother/SIL's house for dinner. Feeling very laid back as I don't have to do the mad run around getting everything and cleaning the house... it's a nice change actually!

I'm back at work 3 days a week now, prob another reason I'm time-poor at the moment. But I love my job and it fits in well with our family's lifestyle. DH being a shift worker, there are ups and downs in the roster, but mostly it works well for us. I'm on school holidays now, of course... and looking forward to having some weeks off with the boys.

Deegan is now 16 months old (like all our babies!!) and still not walking completely. He's almost there, tottering around more now but still will do only about 8 steps max before reverting to his fast crawl! He's still on the 50% percentile for everything. He's still a happy little boy most of the time (teething a bit at the moment though!) and an absolute delight!! He's definitely our last baby though, I have a VERY strong "I'm done" feeling, so much so that DH has now had "the snip" and we're both very happy with the decision!!

We're going away down the south coast for a week in January and we're SO looking forward to it. We're going to do a whole lot of NOTHING and just relax, something that DH and I are not really good at, just stopping and chilling out. We're going with my friend, who's a single mum and her 2 teenage boys. We've planned on her boys and my DH BBQing each night while we supervise with a bottle of wine... can't wait!!

Anyway... enough from me! Hope everyone is happy, healthy and enjoys a wonderful Christmas with their families!! original.gif
ButterflyFly

I'm another one who hasn't been here much...not that I don't want to, but life is crazy.

Don't know if I've said it yet, but congratulations Elise, awesome news on the PG. I hope the next few months treat you well.

Well lots happening here...still working full-time and feeling like a single mum some of the time with DH doing shift work...but we are coping okay.

DS & DD are both doing well...they have started sleeping through some nights (DD was really good with her sleeping until she got a series of ear infections). DD is now in a 'big' bed and sleeping better for it...she got to the point where she would scream at the sight of her cot.

DH is having Christmas day off as a normal off day for him, which is great...but he's working NYE. Was to be expected really, but still sad about it.

Anyway, better run...at work and just going through some stuff before shutdown.

Take care all, have a great Christmas and I promise to try and get on more regularly.

Liz x

PS. Narelle I didn't design the tatt myself, but looked for a long time to try and find the perfect design that fit what I wanted...I'm not good with drawing!!!
Fizzle
Hey Girls just letting you know I've changed my name from Finlaw77.

Things are still hard but better than they were. DH's dad is on the last stretch and it's just a waiting game. The news was out of the blue so it kind of rocked us both as he was only given a week which has now passed. On top of that DD gave us a scare and had us at A&E most of the night a couple of days later. We both seem to have got our heads around things for the time being and got over the initial shock (and also the sleep deprivation!) so we're coping again.

Sorry I don't have any time for personal just now as I'm at work but I'll try and get in and catch up this evening.
T.J.
Hey everyone,

Olivia - I had never seen a baby fish until last month when my other molly gave birth to one fish. He is so cute and moving around the tank now without any worries. The current count of my babies is at 24 now. They keep coming from somewhere. I have a big 4 foot tank, so it is remarkable that they are breeding at all.
I can't imagine not having any animals. I grew up on a large farm, so always had about 6 dogs, cats, chooks, sheep, poddy lambs, cows, horses, pet birds original.gif.
I am so sorry that your MIL is still being a pain. It is really pathetic that she can't get over herself and it is really sad that she feels like she needs to try to hurt you, especially at this time of year. I am sure your kids are going to have a fantastic christmas, and that is the main thing.

Springchick - Wow, that is a fantastic weight loss. Congratulations. I really need to start the process of losing some weight as well. I am putting it off until after christmas... I know excuses, but I can't be stuffed at the moment. Ruby is a cute cat. Once I find my camera - have no idea where it has been put, I will put a piccie of her on here. She is a massive (taller than my malt/shihtzu) tabby cat. She is really relaxed with the boys, but is currently spending about 90% of the day hiding under our spare bed.

Elise - It really sucks about the money situation. And don't feel embarrased about it at all. Most people have been there at some stage. You sound like you have handled it all great, and hopefully the money troubles will soon be behind you.

Micha - Have a great holiday. Sounds fantastic.

Liz - I love your tattoo. You picked a great design. It is great that Jade is sleeping so well in her big bed. We are doing some bedroom moving after christmas and hope to put Lachie out of our room and into a big bed as well.

Not much happening with us. Lachlan opened up the first chrissy present today - one of Cam's. He has been so good with staying away from the christmas tree and presents, but it must have gotten the better of him. I re-wrapped that one and have told Cam that any presents that get opened will be taken back, so I doubt that any more will get opened. He has a real father figure thing over Lachie.

We are leaving tomorrow to go out to Mum and Dads for christmas. Should be fun fitting 3 dogs, Ruby, Coco (gallah) 2 kids, luggage, christmas presents, and Theo and I in the car roll2.gif I am really hoping we only have to take the one car out, as 3 hours is a long way without chatting together.

OK lovely ladies, I had better go. I hope you all have a great christmas and drive safely. I will try to get back on onchristmas day to wish you all a merry christmas.
Maeli
~*Merry Christmas*~ for tomorrow ladies!! xmas_cool.gif

Hope that you & your families all have a truly magical day & that all the Mama's get spoilt! xmas_happy.gif
T.J.
Hey everyone,

Merry Christmas Everyone

We have had a great time, too much food biggrin.gif

I hope you are all having a great time and I will chat once we get home after tomorrow.
oli77

Hope that everyone had a great Christmas and is having a relaxing time afterwards.

Is everyone on holidays at the moment? I am forced to take leave until the 18th Jan which is a long time which at first I wasnt happy about but I think the wind down time will do me some good. Also have to get the spare room ready for Angus to move into.

Poor Angus has a really heavy cold at the moment...I am glad it didnt hit him completely on Christmas day but I know that he wasnt well as he was quite whingey. It is all courtesy of my SIL sending her son and daughter over last week with a cold and i then coming on Christmas Eve and my BIL was coughing and spluttering but all over him as well....oh well.

It is a bit hard with the weather at the moment as it is raining that we cant really play outside as I think staying inside for too much longer will make him go crazy. We may even just have to go to the shops just so he can run around.

Anyway, had best get going....I need some breakfast...DH gets a sleep in today...but then again I slept in until 930am yesterday morning biggrin.gif

Take care
Micha70
Hey all!

Twice in a week I've been on EB! What is the world coming to?? biggrin.gif

We're on holidays here, one of the perks of being a school teacher! I don't go back until the end of January, but I'll probably get into school to do some work in my Library before then and certainly will do a stack of work at home before then too!

We had a lovely Christmas Day here. We went to DH's brother's place for lunch and my brother's for dinner. Our preparation was very low-key this year, compared to previous years where we've put everything on! Nice change! The kids were spoilt rotten as usual and got way too many toys that we're still unpacking and finding places for at home!

Nothing on this week... dirtbike riding Wednesday and preparing to go on our holiday on the 4th.

Watching the cricket while Deegan sleeps... bliss! original.gif
Buzzie
Hi all waves.gif just popping in to say hi original.gif
Buzzie
Question:

Is anybodys bubs totally obsessed with food at the moment..?

Far out Griffin can put some food away. He is 'average' weight and a bit taller tehn 'average' for height.. but he just EATS so much! He would eat all day if he could (if I'd let him more like it!) but the other day he even had THREE breakfasts! He had 2 pieces of toast + cereal at home.. tehn at my dads he ate 2 more pieces of toast.. then they cooked up bacon and eggs and he shared that with his Poppy.. huh.gif THEN still had lunch, dinner and snacks the rest of the day..

He eats pretty healthily so I'm not to worried.. and will eat pretty much whatever hes given (minus casserolle and strawberries -reasons unknown..) but he would happily eat a whole watermelon for afternoon tea if I let him I reckon! Its just the quantity that everybody comments on.. but hes always hungry.. standing at the fridge trying to open it.. standing at the food cupboard with his hand out waiting.. going upto strangers in shopping centres with food with his hand out ohmy.gif (yeah I gotta stop that one pretty quick!) He is such a guts but I was a really fussy eater when I was little and my parents struggled to get me to eat (plain rice, plain pasta and beetroots were my main diet haha)

He eats more then me.. mellow.gif (wish I had his quick metabolism wink.gif ) But I guess if hes an alright weight it shouldnt matter to much?

Fizzle
Just popped into to wish you all a happy New Year.
T.J.
Hey everyone,

HAPPY NEW YEAR

Elise - Lachie eats alot as well, well besides the last few days where he is getting more teeth through. He too goes through the fridge and freezer and pantry. And neither him or Griffin are huge babies. Just normal I would say biggrin.gif

Not much happening with us, just enjoying hubby's week off work. It is my brothers birthday today, so we are going over there to "surprise" him. It is his 30th, and he didn't want a party or anything at all, but Mum spilt the beans to his wife this morning, so I don't know how much of a surprise it will be.

OK, best go and get dressed..... it is 11am in the morning grin.gif how bad's that!!!!!!!!!!!!!! roll2.gif
Buzzie
Narelle - Oh good its not just him then Tounge1.gif I cant imagine what he'll be like with food as a teenager huh.gif Haha.. Ohh poor Lachie getting teeth through, I hope they come through soon.. All of Griffs are through now ddance.gif (except for 2nd lot of molars but dont they get them closer to 2? dunno) but now hes sick sad.gif Arggghh.. Does it ever end? haha

Hope you still got to surprise your bro original.gif
T.J.
Hey everyone,

Elise - Yes, it was somewhat of a surprise, or so he said tongue.gif It turned out to be a great afternoon. We all brought food, so there was heaps, then we had afternoon tea, and then went to the park down from them, and then we went to the big park near them. It is just beautiful there. There is a flying fox at the park, so hubby goes down it first and then I said I would have a go, so I get up there, and as I am afraid of heights, it took a bit of coxing especially as one of my brothers was telling me of all the awfull things that will happen to me if I fall ddoh.gif, so eventually my brother and hubby said "don't worry, if anything happens we will get you", so I took off, but they didn't tell me I had to lean back with my legs out in front of me, and I got dragged a bit of the way. It was pretty funny, but hurt a bit.

I know, it will be expensive food wise, just imagine it laughing2.gif The worse part for me is, Cam is a terrible eater. I think my bird eats more than him. He grazes though, so eats all day, but still it isn't much. I feel like I am constantly forcing him to eat. Whereas Lachie loves eating. He really enjoys it. If I am preparing dinner, he has to be sitting at the table, snacking on something, or else I get in alot of trouble for taking so long roll2.gif

OK, better go.
oli77

Happy New year to you all.

Food Yes bottomless pit here as well...we cant eat around him without him wanting what we are having even if he has just had a meal.

I sometimes wish that DH cooked more of his meals though as there are times where I lose my enthusiasm on what to cook him.

Not much to report her....on leave until 18th which is forced leave unfortunately. We need to get the spare room tidied so Angus can move into it but it is difficult to do with little guy who is climbing everything at the moment.

I used to be able to go upstairs, turn some Wiggles on for 10 mins and get ready for work now I am not sure what he will be doing as yesterday DH found him sitting on the glass topped coffee table after climbing over the couches.

Anyway, have to make a spinach dip for a bbq today.

Take care
Buzzie
Narelle -Oh well at least he acted suprised happy.gif Aaww haha.. Good on you for facing your fears with the flying fox - bit of a bugger they didnt tell you to lift your legs up though.. hope you didnt hurt yourself to bad!

Hehe Griffin is the same with needing a snack while dinner is getting organised.. hes obsessed with using a spoon/fork himself and gets really upset if we try to help him.. cant even just spin it in his hand so its facing the right way otherwise he cracks it rolleyes.gif Hes actually getting pretty good though - still messy, but better haha.. Last night he was trying to eat peas and corn with his spoon and just getting nowhere.. but when he eats yogurt with a spoon he does really well - must be cos it actually sticks to the spoon haha..

I was a really fussy eater (much like your Cameron hehe) so I'm glad G isnt like that.. Apparently when we went to dinner at a restaurant that used to be near us when we were kids it was a self serve salad bar and all I used to eat was beetroots.. no meat or anything else.. just beetroot, everytime we went there.. drove my dad crazy Tounge1.gif and then as hes italian we always had big spagetti bolognaise's etc and I would only eat pasta with butter - no sauce.. haha.. oh dear.. I am only realising now how irritating it would have been for them Tounge1.gif

Olivia - Hehe Griffin is a climber to.. fun isnt it happy.gif Ps - How is #2 going? original.gif Already half way - geez its gone quickly! (well for me anyway! hehe)

AFM - Griffin has been sick.. but.. HES ALL BETTER ddance.gif haha.. hes sleeping again and doesnt have snot covering his face - so thats always a plus biggrin.gif drove me insane for a few days there.. I'm getting a bit anxious about going to the doctor Tuesday.. Ive had some spotting and just hoping that everything is okay.. I'll have a scan this week to.. so I'm REALLY looking forward to that..

I'm not sure if I told you, but my SIL and Brother are pregnant with #1 (the one that had been trying for a year and had the ovarian cyst removed etc) and ahh it is just so exciting - but she had a scan during the week and the doctor put her days back 5 days - so due on the 19th Aug - Same day as me! Haha! Mine will prob change when I have a scan.. but far out.. cant get much closer Tounge1.gif EVERYBODY knows shes pregnant now though - she wanted to keep it secret till closer to 12weeks.. but my brother is a loudmouth and has told.. everyone haha.. at least she knows hes excited! So as immediate family only know about me at the moment I'm gonna be able to shock them all and (hopefully if all goes well) be able to tell them theres another one coming to! original.gif

Hmm.. well.. I better be off - Griffin is making a mess (something new) rolleyes.gif
Buzzie
hey just a quick question..

When do you think you will start toilet training..?

I dont think Griffin is ready yet.. but I just thought I'd ask.. and what are the *signs* to look out for..? Have any of you started yet? Starting soon? Waiting till closer to 2yo..?

I just noticed a girl i know who has a DS same age as Griffin (well 1 day older) has started TT her son and getting frustrated because he wont go 'in' the toilet.. he's gone next to it and on a laptop bag (yuck) and the first thing I thought was "wow thats early" but tehn looked it up and looks like its not all that unusual (even though 2-3 is more the average - and even then it depends on the kid).. I mean I'd love for Griffin to be TT by the time the new baby comes.. but I dont exactly see it happening.. shrug.gif

I must admit, shes always been one for wanting to do everything *first* and *early* rolleyes.gif
~my2beautifulbabies~
HAPPY NEW YEAR, LADIES!!!!!!!!! xmas_biggrin.gif

Elise - toilet training already? Is that lady INSANE?? xmas_wacko.gif I'm only just tt my dd now......and she JUST turned 3 last week!!!! She still doesn't have the hang of #2's (2 days ago, she got it in the loo, and tonight I caught her running away and hiding to do it in her undies xmas_angry.gif ), but she's pretty much got the #1's down-pat. I tried her originally about 4 or 5 months ago, and she just didn't get it at all, no matter how I said it, how I bribed her or what time of day it was. And you know that after about 2 or 3 days of trying, if there's not 1 skeric of progress, then just stop. I REALLY started trying with dd around the beginning of December and after probably 3 days, she pretty much had the idea of the #1's. And as I said, STILL struggling with the #2's, but I just leave her night nappy on a little longer in the morning so that she can do it in there, and THEN I put her undies on for the day (although she wears pull-ups to bed for the afternoon nap). As for eating, ds is a freakin' garbage disposal!!!!!!! rolleyes.gif Actually, the whole time we were on our boat for new year's, all ds did was eat, eat, eat and eat. My 2 BIL's kept saying how ds is their idol with how much of an eating machine he is!! We would feed the kids first, then have our meals (whether it was b'fast, lunch, or dinner). Dd was fine....she'd eat hers and be done with it. Ds would scoff his down, and want half of ours as well! If I let him graze all day, he would. Even this morning, he had 1 weet bix, then I cut up 2 oranges between the 2 kids. THEN he had a piece of toast and that was going to be it. But then we all had breakky, and he snacked on mine, my dad's and then wanted some of my brother's too!!! But I was stern with him and told him enough's enough....even though he's not eating rubbish, I feel it's teaching him bad eating habits, that he can just eat all day, whenever he wants. Hopefully now that we're home, it will be easier to get back into the breakfast/lunch/dinner routine!! hands.gif

Phew, so far, it's taken me about an hour just to get this far in my post. I keep getting distracted with tidying up, unpacking bags, putting a load of washing on....I think I'll have to come back another time to catch-up properly!! But after 4 gorgeous, memorable night on the boat, I'm finally home-sweet-home with the kids (dh is still on the boat with his 2 brothers and my dad). I'm going to head off to bed as I've had 2 weeks FULL of late nights and not much sleep aannoyed.gif . So hopefully I'll be much better rested and stay on for a little longer tomorrow night.

'til later.

Olivia

sleep.gif
ButterflyFly

Happy New Year!!!

Sorry it's late, but life is hectic...back at work and actually have finally managed to find time for myself!

All going well here except for sleeping...Jade won't go down without a fight when I'm around and Aidan's never been great...though lately once I finally get them both down, they stay down.

We started a 'new' routine on Friday, but it's not working trying to get them both down at the same time, cause they both want 'Mummy'. So from tonight, I'm going to try and put Jade down first and see what happens...wish me luck!

Sorry no personals, really should be working...but just wanted to say hi. Aidan has his pre-school orientation on Thursday and then starts on the 20th, two days a week. I'm a bit worried about it, cause he's never been to a big centre and always with his grandmother (as she runs a Home-Based Child Care)...but we wanted to help with the transition to school next year.

DSD's birthday on Sunday, so having a small family get together on Sunday afternoon...should be nice, hopefully she behaves.

Take care all, better run...so excited to hear about the new babies on the way...my boss' daughter had her second baby on the 30th, so just been to the shops to get a little gift...I love hearing about new babies, but have definitely decided that we are done!

Keep well, Liz x
Fizzle
Hey Ladies, I've got another one that's obsessed by food at the moment.

Toilet Trainning - I've kind of started but more just getting DD used to the potty and what it's for and following her lead. As soon as she poo's or wee's but mainly poo's she wants her nappy off so I've being showing her that it goes in the potty. However yesterday she pulled her nappy off and wanted to go on the toilet. She didn't do anything but I'm thinking she's not too far away from being ready.

It would be nice not have 2 in nappies when this one arrives and I think when I stop for mat leave at the beginning of feb that I'll give it a go. My parents arrive just before this one is due so I'll talk nice to them and see if they will continue what I'm doing by following DD's lead when I'm going to be too busy/sleep deprived. In saying that if it doesn't happen it doesn't happen but while she is showing interest why not try?
T.J.
Hey everyone,

Elise - Yeah, I know what you're saying. Cameron was toilet trained by two. I started him at 18 months, just sitting him on the potty with a drink and sitting near him, and when he would go, I would make a huge deal out of it. He never really liked the potty though, so I got him a seat for the toilet which went heaps better. He loved sitting on it. Again I would give him a drink to make his bladder full and then go nuts when he would go. Number 2's were the easiest as he didn't like going in his undies. I am probably going to do the same with Lachlan, as he is showing signs of realising that things are happening. Like, if he is nude waiting for a bath, he will hold his doodle, stand next to the toilet and go. He also gets up of a morning and comes out and lies down on the loungeroom floor and does a poo, then runs and gets a nappy and gives it to me. The main thing with toilet training while they are so little, is to go by signs. They can't say "I need to do a poo and a wee", but they will hold their privates, or stand away from you and go really quiet, things like that.
I went on the belief that if he didn't like it, I would wait a week or two and try again. There will be a heap of washing and cleaning to do, but expect that before hand.

Liz - Yeah, I know, so many babies. It is great that everyone is falling so easily. Maybe I should drink some of the water near you guys lol.

Olivia - Glad you had a great time on your holiday. Sounds like it would have been so nice.

Not much happening with us. I have given myself a good kick in the bum, and went back to the gym today. Hubby is back at work. And Cam starts Kindy in a few weeks. I am so nervous about it.

OK, best go. Chat later.
ButterflyFly

Just thought I'd take a few minutes to say hi...the sleeping thing really isn't working at the moment, so I am sooooooo tired at the moment. Have tomorrow of to take DS to a pre-school orientation, so I'm hoping the kids might sleep in a little.

Am I alone or do you get a bit overwhelmed by life at times? Working full-time, having two young children who won't go to bed easily, a step-daughter who isn't exactly a pleasure to have around most of the time, a shift-working husband who picks and choses when he'll help out and a house to maintain are all really taking it out of me at the moment...I start to wonder if I'm really that great a Mum and if I'm giving my kids everything they need!!! Mother guilt maybe, but it's a terrible feeling.

Anyway, sorry about that...needed to get that off my chest!

Take care all, Liz x
T.J.
Hey everyone,

Liz - Oh, I am really sorry that you are feeling like that. sad.gif You are doing the best that you can, you work your absolute bum off, and you are doing a great job. bbighug.gif And of course I feel overwhelmed sometimes, and I only stay at home!! Whinging and tantrums and constant cleaning and lack of sleep and a fully time job would take there toll on anyone. If you need a chat, let me know. I am always here for you hhugs.gif

Gosh it is cold here today. Insane to think it is summer. Good though. We still haven't got air conditioning installed, we only have fans, so the cooler it is the better!!!

Well, 3 days at the gym this week so far which is great. I am also on a low calorie diet, so hopefully the last few kilo's will fall off. The creche isn't open today, so I will go back tomorrow.

OK, better go. Catcha later.
Fizzle
Liz - I'm willing to bet your a fantastic mum otherwise you wouldn't doing what you're doing and wouldn't have mothers guilt. That's exactly how I was feeling with just 1 so I can't imagine how you are feeling with 3. I have told DH that when I go back to work after this one it's 3 days a week max. It really got to me as well, to the point I wasn't really functioning. I guess I should of talked more instead of puting on the supermum, super housewife, super careermum etc etc facaed.
ButterflyFly
Thanks guys...DH says the same thing, that if I feel the need to ask if I'm a good mum, then I am, or I wouldn't have thought to ask or be worried about it.

Last night was terrible sleep wise. DH was on night shift, so DS decided he had to keep me company...not a bad thing really cause it guaranteed he'd sleep through...so here I was thinking I'd get a good nights sleep...not to be as DD decided not to sleep through and woke up screaming a few times through the night till I brought her into bed with DS and I...so not only was I being woken up, when I did bring her to my bed, she kicked and tossed and turned so I still didn't sleep much...then they were both up by 6am...sooo tired and it's DSD's birthday today, so we have the family coming over at 5pm...and DH asleep until at least 1pm...!!!

Okay, better go...might try and have a nap on the lounge while DS and DD play...DSD isn't due back until about 4 or 5pm.

Liz x
Buzzie
Liz - I'm sorry your having a tough time with the kids sleeping.. hope it all calms down for you soon and you all get some much needed rest!

Narelle - Your doing so well going to the gym and eating well etc.. I really needed to do that last year.. but maybe I'll make it a post August goal now..? I'm just slack.. rolleyes.gif

Toilet Training - Thanks everyone who answered about it.. maybe we should get DS a potty just so he knows what it is perhaps.. Hmm.. I think I'd rather try do it on a month that DH is home though otherwise I'll prob go insane haha..

Pigeon Toed? I have noticed that Griffin seems to turn his feet (toes) inwards slightly when walking - making him pigeon toed.. and its worse when wearing shoes (he only wears then when we are out somewhere anyway) but I'm just wondering if its something to be concerned about? A friend mentioned it the other day (asking if Griffin was pigeon toed) because when he sits with his legs out he turns them right inwards aswel.. we have a 18month check next month with the CHN.. so maybe I should just ask her do you think?

AFM - Things are going well here.. Griffin has been sleeping well and I even had to wake him up today! (at 9am! he just wasnt getting up!) and he has about 1.5hours in the early afternoon after lunch.. so thats been good! Ive changed his routine slightly - limiting his arvo snacks and getting him to eat a bigger dinner so I think thats worked.. and hes LOVING the shower.. he stands there and dances and sings with the water rushing over him - its such a crackup! DH is away at the moment (2more weeks!) and when he gets home I think we will announce #2 being on the way.. (I'll be around 11weeks).. So I'm looking forward to that!

Hope you are all well! Talk soon!
T.J.
Hey everyone,

I can't believe we were no the second page. How slack are we all tongue.gif

Well, today was a massive day. We had to buy all of Cam's school stuff. So we went to Canberra and had a massive day trying to get everything. I can't wait to see him all dressed up in his school clothes. It is so exciting. And as I am doing Tafe this year, Lachie has to go to day care 1 day a week, so I had to get him a bag and stuff too. So I am glad that that is all done.

Elise - Cam's feet always did that, and he sat like that too. We took him to the doctor after his pre-school teacher commented and he said he wasn't pigeon toe'd, but had knocked knees. He has grown out of his now though. Lachie was a bit bow legged, but is straightening out.
I can't wait to hear how telling everyone goes. How exciting. We saw a lady today at the shops with the littlest baby. She was 2 weeks old and only weighed 2.4kgs. So tiny. Cluck, cluck laughing2.gif

It is so cold here at the moment and we have thunderstorms, so should be a nice night to stay in watching movies.
~my2beautifulbabies~

Yes, I TOTALLY put my hand up as being one of the slack ones 'round here. Just haven't had 2 mins to scratch myself, let alone type out a post!!! rolleyes.gif

It was my birthday yesterday, so I spent the day in Sydney with my mum, sis and bro and basically shopped from 10am 'til 5pm!!! My idea of the perfect day tongue.gif We had done the 'family dinner' on Saturday night with the kids so that was lovely. And when I got back from Sydney yesterday, dh and the kiddies had made me a delicious chocolate cake.....it was sooooooooooooooooo yummy dev (6).gif . Dd was SO proud of herself. The minute she heard me walk in the door, she came running to me and said "Mummy, mummy, I made you a birthday cake. Come and see it". It melted my heart when she grabbed my hand then ran towards the cake to show me wub.gif wub.gif

So how is everybody? I know it's really quiet in here. Hope it picks up again soon. I miss the "good ol' days" where it was like Grand Central and you just couldn't keep up!! Elise, I guess you don't have long now before you tell everybody. Have you had your 1st ultrasound yet, or do you have to wait for the 12-week mark? If you've had one, can you post a pic of the ultrasound for us to get clucky over??!! And Narelle, how's things with your bd'ing??!!! Any closer to giving your 2 gorgeous boys a baby bro or sis???

Anyhow, best be off. Have the TV all to myself tonight as dh is staying on the boat, so my FAVE movie, Speed, is on and I really have to concentrate on drooling over Keanu Reeves for the rest of the night!!!! roll2.gif wub.gif tongue.gif

Olivia

grin.gif
Buzzie
As requested happy.gif

SCAN PIC

original.gif Its a bit of a nothing pic - I was only 7w5d.. and I'm now 9w4d and DH will be home next week.. so I'm presuming after he gets home and he gets onto telling his nanna/aunties etc it will be 'announced' next week or the week after (at around 11/12 weeks).. I dont have another appt till 1st Feb (then will have 12w ultrasound soon after) - but that will be with my OB and I'm really looking forward to talking to him and sussing him out adn how he feels about me attempting a VBAC - fingers crossed he thinks its on the cards!

Olivia - Ohh sounds like you had a great birthday.. and hehe how cute about your DD being excited about making the cake wub.gif so cute! Have fun drooling over KR hehe..

Narelle - Yeah I ended up asking my friend who is in her last year of medicine (going to be a doctor) and she said its really common and usually grown out of.. so.. I'll go with that for now and just mention to the CHN next month.. Ohh cute abut Cam in his uniform! and Lachie going to day care.. aww.. I am looking into maybe Griff going in for 1 day a week but dunno when or anything.. I havent really 'looked into it' i guess.. rather thought about it hha wwhistle.gif What are you studying at TAFE?
oli77
Love your signatureBuzzie and glad to hear that things are going well for you. SO exciting.

Narelle Are you looking forward to school going back?

AFM: Not much to report. Struggling a bit in this heat but will survive. Just find it really hard to sleep in this heat but will try and get some soon.

not much else to report...will bbl...think I am just tired.

Take care
Fizzle
Sorry girls I'm at work and don't ahve time to read back. I have no internet at the moment. The house move went well and they moved the phone on the same day but there are problems with our internet connection and with the holiday tomorrow I hate to think when I might get back online!

I hope you are all doing well.
T.J.
Hey everyone,

HAPPY AUSTRALIA DAY biggrin.gif

Elise - Oh wow. What a cutie. Are you going to find out the sex of bubba??? How exciting. I am just going to study Aged Care. I would have had nothing on this year and decided to get into nursing anyways, so it should be a good way to spend the year. It is only one day a week which should be good for Lachie as well.

Oli - Nope. not looking forward to it at all. I will miss him so much. BUT, I think he is just going to love it. I am really looking forward to him growing through it.

OK, sorry about not writing much. We have been out at the farm for the weekend, we got home and went to the Australia Day celebrations at Goulburn park, then we went to the pool, had a great time, then got groceries, got home, washed the dogs, had dinner, cleaned up, went to clean the fish tank and we have more babies. 11 new ones. So I had to put them in the enclosure. We will have to sell them when they get bigger, because we ended up with 20 from my last batch.

OK, gotta go. I hope you are all well. Is everyone busy at the moment????
hutais
Hi Ladies :waves;

Sorry but just never get a chance to come in here anymore sad.gif

Hoping everyone is well original.gif

T.J.
Hey everyone,

Wow, well today was exhausting. Cam had his first day of school. He was so excited all morning, and looked so cute in his school uniform. Hubby took the day off work so we both got to go up and take him. Lachie tried to follow him, when he left with his teacher. He was so upset all morning, calling Cameron over and over. We decided to take the opportunity to change all the rooms around, so tonight Lachie is having his first night in a big bed. Cam got a new room and we turned the extra bedroom into a playroom/computer room. Needless to say, once we started, it was a huge job, but all finished now.

I hope you are all well, and a big hello to everyone waves.gif
Buzzie
Aaww our group is slowing down sad.gif haha.. I just noticed that we are on Thread #40 and September 08 is on Thread #149 Hahaha..

Not much happening here.. Griffin has turned into Mr Tantrums rolleyes.gif So thats irritating.. but other then that all is well..

Narelle - I saw Cams pic on FB, so cute! and good luck with Lachie in a big bed! original.gif Hope he transitions easily for you original.gif
T.J.
Hey everyone,

Elise - I know, I can hear an echo of my own voice in here tongue.gif At least we are keeping the group going ddoh.gif

Umm, no last night wasn't the best I have had laughing2.gif He was so excited to be in the bed, so it took an hour and a half to get to sleep, but then he slept really well until around 1ish, then got into our bed and then whinged most of the night from then on. He looked so little in the bed. He has a king single with a safety rail.

Well, the second day of school was interesting. They didn't have to start yesterday until 10, so I just thought that they started today at 9. So we got there at 5 to, we live 6 houses down from the school, so not a long walk, and the buses were all turning up, but not many kids there. So i stayed with him, until one of his friends from yesterday turned up, although he wanted me to go from the moment we got there. So Lachie and I went up to the office to put in some forms, and got back and he is nowhere in sight. Not anywhere. So I freaked out, got to talking with another Mum and found out that school doesn't start until 9.30 ddoh.gif. So I kept on freaking out, until the bell rang and he came running down from the other end of the playground with his friend. All kids look the same in there school clothes. I have never noticed that. `Needless to say, I won't be early tomorrow.
Buzzie
Haha.. oh dear about Cam and the school drama today, glad that all was okay though and he was just playing.. I love how kids dont realise that their mummies worry when they dont tell us where they are going rolleyes.gif Haha

My nephew started Kindy yesterday, I havent heard how he went yet, but hopefully went okay, the older one started year 1 at the same school but the younger one has special needs but he has an aid so should have been alright.. I guess I'm just all worried that hes going to get picked on sad.gif He only started walking last year and has leg casts and got glasses last week and has a speech/developmental delay (not exactly sure what is *wrong* but hes been having a million tests since he was a 1yo and is now 4 and they still have no idea sad.gif poor little chook..)

Bugger about Lachies first night in the big bed not going to well, but he'll get used to it original.gif
I bet hes loving being like his big bro in a big bed! original.gif

I had my appt yesterday, and looks like, more then likely, I'm going to be heading for a repeat c section instead of a VBAC sad.gif But we'll see a bit closer to the time.. Mainly because apparently Griffin actually got stuck (I didnt know this - but I was pretty out of it at the time haha) and he was only 7lb 5oz so if bub gets around that size or bigger I dont really have a huge chance of it really happening, plus I already have high blood pressure again rolleyes.gif and I REALLY dont want to go down the emergency c section route again and would much rather it be planned.. i dunno.. Guess I'll wait and see how things pan out.. I'm 11w5d at the moment ddance.gif and have my scan next Tuesday, woohoo! Haha.. AND David should be home Thursday *fingers crossed!*
oli77
HI ladies,

Glad to see that Buzzie and TJ are keeping this group going biggrin.gif

Glad to hear that Cam's first days at school went well...it must be a big adjustment for you.

Buzzie Hope you are doing ok with David away and with the tantrum thrower Griffin...I think it is an age thing or Angus and Griffin have been having a chat.
RE VBAC vs Caesar you need to do what is right for you and for the baby but you may have some time still to make up your mind

Not much to report here. Off to do a make up aqua class tonight which I am looking forward to. I just really need to get some exercise. 25 weeks now.

The past few weeks has been a bit tough as I have been thinking about the bub that I lost but nevermind I cant change the past.

Anyway, hope all is well...have to get ready to go
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.