The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: Epilators: do you have one?

Essential Baby > Lifestyle & Entertainment > Beauty and Fashion
*Foggy*

I have what I'd term 'problem leg hair'. It's very thick, coarse and very, very black. Whether I shave or remove by the root, much of it comes back terribly ingrown, and the skin on my legs hurts for a few days as the hair grows out. I exfoliate a couple of times a day, but it doesn't prvovide much relief...

A year or two after puberty, I realised prayers weren't going to help and I bought an epilator (Braun Silk Epil). So, that was around 15 or 16 years ago. (It didn't solve many of my problems; but at least it took a bit longer for the hair to grow back...)

ANYWAY. I'm still using the same clucky old epilator from time to time... but it's not exactly without pain. Are the newer ones any better/more efficient/painless...?

icekool
I had a Braun one that I used for 10 years. So about 15 years ago to this day. I left it in Brussels. So I bought another one when we were in Munich. This was 5 years ago. They are much better - they have different models but it doesn't seem that painful. Maybe I am use to the pain? I find them a bit quicker than the old ones.
louise3now4
I invested in my first one when I was about 16 (19 years ago, sigh) so my hair has pretty much given up the fight. It comes out easily. But my old epilator gave up the fight about 7 years ago and I got a new one. It was definitely an improvement on the old one, so I imagine they are even better now.

*Foggy*

Thanks for your replies, guys.

loise3sofar - interested to hear that your hair gave up the fight. How long before you started to notice this?

I always wondered if that was a myth or whether it really did happen (that hair pulled out from the root would eventually stop growing).

You've inspired me to persevere with the epilator. I wish I persevered properly earlier on, I might've been half way to reducing the amount of hair!!

It's such a pain during summer... I'd love to have nice looking legs, but inbetween epilating, you can see horrible black lumps where the (mostly ingrown) hair is trying to break through rolleyes.gif I'e never met anyone with leg hair as bad as mine... I ought to start a support group! laughing2.gif

So which brands do you guys have? Is Braun the best one you reckon?
louise3now4
Foggy. Slowly over time. Definitely noticing heaps not growing back in the last 5-7 years. I have a hard time making people believe (i.e. close friends and relies) to whom I dare show an untouched winter leg, that my hair is fully grown. And this is despite being pregnant for quite a lot of this time. Hair on my head and nails are going full bolt but not the bits I yank.
I cannot even think of shaving or depilitating with cream etc, either my legs or underarms as I am petrified of reversing the good work. Doesn't really hurt either anymore, just takes a bit more time, but so worth it.
Always a Braun Silk Epil, have never tried another, so I cannot speak for them. I am sure they are good too though.
Alpha_Chook
i have one an used it consistently for 6 months but couldn't get used to the pain. I resorted back to shaving after realising I was dreading every use. Its a Braun Silk Epil.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.