The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: Should I get breast implants?

Essential Baby > Hot Spot > Blog: Justine Davies
daviesjv
My query is about whether or not I should get breast implants.

We have had two kids, who are now 5 and 3 and I desperately, desperately want my breasts to look the way they did before we started our family. They used to be a nice full c-cup, but now they look like two socks that have been half-filled with sand. Sad and saggy!

Don’t think that is a complaint though – I have two beautiful children who are worth all the big breasts in the world. But still, if I could have my kids and my breasts I’d be very happy!

So, I have been scrimping and saving and can now finally afford to get implants. It is like a dream come true – almost. Because the thing is I’m not completely sure whether we might still have another baby. My hubby has always wanted three and I’m still wavering …

Is there any problem with having breast implants and then having more kids? Or should I wait until we’ve definitely finished our family?

Z.

Hi Z,

Having kids AND breasts sounds wonderful, doesn’t it! Because once breasts change from being a fun source into a food source as well, things are never quite the same again. In order to help you I have asked Dr Robert Goldman of Cosmetic Image Clinics www.cosmeticimage.com.au for some advice:

“As part of my standard cosmetic consultation one of my first questions is always: what are the patient’s plans for more children,” says Dr Goldman. “When it comes to cosmetic surgery of the body, specifically breasts and abdomen (such as liposuction, etc) having further pregnancies and children can almost completely reverse the beneficial effects of the surgery. As such I advise my patients that it is best to wait until they have finished their family, finished breastfeeding the final child, before they consider cosmetic surgery.”

According to Dr Goldman, if you do have breast implants and then fall pregnant you can expect your breasts to lose volume and droop – in much the same was as they would without implants. “Not breastfeeding will reduce the amount of damage, although pregnancy alone enlarges breasts due to the estrogens,” he says. “During pregnancy, breast gland tissue enlarges. When this eventually shrinks sometime after birth there is a certain amount of redundant skin.”

However if you do enhance yourself and find out down the track that you’re unexpectedly expecting, Dr Goldman reassures that it isn’t a disaster. “We can certainly do some additional surgery down the track to rectify any changes that the extra pregnancy has caused,” he says. “Sometimes this may require major surgery such as a breast lift operation, or sometimes it may just require larger or different shaped implants.”

So that’s the professional opinion, Z. And personally, based on that I reckon it’s an awful lot of money to spend before you’re sure that you won’t be having more children – you don’t want to have to do all that scrimping and saving all over again, with another family member to afford as well!

EB Members: what do you think?
crazymummyp
As to whether or not get breast plants *at all*; no doubt in my mind - get them if that's what you want to do! I am 100% sure I will be doing it as soon as it's economically viable. I have 2 of the saddest looking saggy baggy squishy sacks you would ever not want to see. They way they swing about is just plain not good for my self-esteem! blush.gif Especially not now I am a almost 40yr old single women 'out there' on the dating scene. So I totally get why you'd want to do it.

As to when, I agree with daviesjv and Dr Goldman. If it's been a case of really scrimping and saving to do it, I'd be waiting until you're sure you're done with having children. It'd be awful to find yourself 'back where you started', so to speak, particularly if you end up being unable to afford to rectify that.

So I'd wait it out a little longer until you're sure you're done and then go go go!!! I'm so jealous. I am probably at least 7+yrs away from being able to do it.
Nerual
I'm one who has done it & couldn't be happier. i waited until my last child was 3 1/2 purely because I wanted him to be a little older & not requiring as much lifting etc for the recovery period.

I would wait till you have made a decision about if you will have any more children really just because of the cost involved. But that said, there is nothing stopping you from having it done & then becoming pregnant as most people can still breastfeed etc after implants. You may just have to save again for additional surgery IF it was required. You'll need to weigh up the benefits of now vs waiting & the costs involved. A consultation with a surgeon would really help out, especailly if you find a 'good' Dr who will offer you sensible advice.

I'm so pleased that I did it & absolutley feel all the better for it. Good luck with your decision.
daviesjv
Good point re the lifting, Nerual, I hadn't thought of that!
earthschildren
Yes get breast implants, it keeps my DH in a job......
daviesjv
Hmmm, yes, it would be nice to be on the receiving end of that cost ...!
pearlnorma
I've only had the one child breastfeeding so far and want more kids but was sooooo disapointed when after everything had finnished my boobs were smaller than when they had started!!! My mother said hers were bigger!!! Soooo ripped off. I would love to have implants put in one day - not now because I want more kids and I don't think there would be any point (for me in particular) because considering how many more children I want I would definately require additional surgery later.

Good on you for saving up for this thing that you want so badly. That is a real achievement and you should be really really proud of yourself for having that commitment and control.

It would be a real pty to have saved up so much money and than have to go back later for more additional surgery to fix them up again after another baby. I guess you have to decide what is more important to come first. Do you want to look good in the meantime to when you have another little one (if you choose to), or would you rather stay this way until all the damage is done (so to speak!) and then go for it later on.
parusa
Ha ha, your post read like it could have been written by many, many mums I know, including myself. I went from a nice C cup pre bubs to a massive E cup during pregnancy and while I breastfed.....for 12 whole months! I loved it. But my mother in law's prediction of them heading south (and eventually, east and west) came true. I can fully understand why women put themselves through the procedure. I've learnt to like/tolerate/accept them and have used it as an excuse to buy a whole new wardrobe as clothing just sags off me now! It sounds like you've already made up your mind. Thanks for posting a topic I know many mums are to shy to talk about....or at least laugh about! Good luck
Charming Kate
hi
I am all for breast surgery. We as mums do sacrifice a lot to have our little ones, so why can't we amend the damage if we can. Price of surgery can sometimes be daunting but I have a friend who recently came back from Thailand. Her breast look amazing. She wasn't sure about the overseas thing so she hooked with a company who helped her with everything. I am seriously thinking of looking it up! cool.gif
JingleJangle
removed at request
clairy
Big topic

It is one of those questions - I know a lot of people who would like to, but then you see the horror stories.

there are no guarantees, that is the problem!

Knowing my luck, I would end up with something worse than I started with, so I think I would just leave them alone.

Not that I think everyone should. I have seen heaps that look great!
Just too scared, myself!

Vaginosaurus-Rex
Here you are again advertising that company, in your second ever post after joining today!

Ad the OP isn't a blatant infomercial? roll2.gif
JingleJangle
QUOTE (Contumely @ 03/09/2009, 12:24 AM) *
Ad the OP isn't a blatant infomercial? roll2.gif

Oooh... I just read the OP!! ha ha - I followed Charming Kate her from another thread where she seemed to be promoting that company.

Is there any legal requirement for Essential Baby to let us know if they are promoting a paying advertiser in threads like these? Like they do in magazines?
daviesjv
Hi Wachu,

I can assure you that I'm not promoting an advertiser - it's simply called courtesy. When I arrange an interview with someone, whether that be a plastic surgeon, counsellor, doctor or specialist and use up their time with my questions and their answers, I think it's simply courtesy for me to include a link to their business in my topic.

Cheers,

Justine
JingleJangle
Hi Justine,

Thank you for the reply and answering my question. original.gif

Rachel
niggles
I don't think I'll ever be going under the knife for cosmetic reasons. For now, and for as long as I can forsee, I'm happy to let my body change with my life. I don't want to reverse the effects surgically. I consider it as good for the mind to try to love my body as it is, not make it more beautiful so that I can then love it.
Jazz3
Well I was positive No3 was my last and when he was 18mths went and had my boobs done. Best investment I ever made!

3 years later and I am now 29 weeks pregnant!

My boobs before surgery were lucky to fill a 10A. After surgery I had a nice 10C. Now, at 29 weeks pregnant I am a 10E/12E.

I am not sure if I will breastfeed yet, I am going to play it by ear.

Who knows what my boobs will be like after I am back to normal weight etc. I have my fingers crossed they will be ok. I know they wont be as good as they were but as long as I have something to fill my bra I'll still be happy!
maymaymimi
Hi there, I have had breast implants for almost 6 years and I LOVE them, best thing I have ever done. I have since had 1 baby (almost 2 years old) and successfuly breast fed, with implants. I went from a sad and sorry not even A cup, (but even so a horrible pointy shape) to full rounded C cup (sometimes D depending on my weight). And the best bit, they have not moved one bit since breast feeding!!!!! They are still as fantastic as they were before, I love my breasts now!
Indy01
I say that if it makes you feel better about yourself, and isn't harming you or anyone else, then do it! May I be so bold as to ask, what is the cost involved? I'm considering having a boob job myself after number 3 is born and finished feeding etc. Thanks!
daviesjv
Hi Indy,
I think the going rate is around $10k to $12k.
Cheers, Justine
babsnboosh
I had a child at 21 and by 23 was divorced and my B cups were almost A cups, if I was lucky I could pour them into a B cup but once the bra was off they were poor little droopy breast. At this stage in my life I wasn't sure what the future held but knew that breast implants were a possible way forward, in the sense of feeling good about myself and boosting my self esteem. I had the procedure done and went to up to lovely C cups that also helped balance my body shape. I have never regretted the decision and have to say when people find out they are surprised as they look natural, the plastic surgeon did a great job.

Just over six years ago I found a wonderful bloke who I married and am now pregnant with our second child (my third) and I have to say since my last baby my breasts have changed shape due to the pregnancy and breastfeeding. They still look full even if not perky, however I haven't got a problem with that as they still look so much better than they did before the procedure.

I guess for me I am glad I did the procedure as it was 14 years between my first two children and in a few years if I feel the need to have my breasts redone I will look into that. But if I was Z I would wait until the decision to have child number three was sorted before having the procedure, then whether or not child number three comes along or not, go for it. If it is on your mind alot and you are not happy with your breasts as they are get it done.

But I warn you if you get it done, you may find you spend a whole lot more time in front of the mirror topless!!!!! original.gif

b
KristyMum

I totally relate to all your posts. I have 3 children with my youngest being 8 months and I know I will not have any more children.

I went from a perky 12DD up to a 12G but now they are empty, flat and have excess skin. No-one ever told me they would never be the same!! With each child I breastfed they got worse - but I wouldn't change feeding them. I would love to get my breasts "done" but have concerns re scarring, how they feel and how long they last for?? Do you need to get them redone later, how long do they last on average??

I would also love a tummy tuck but am worried about the scarring and recovery. That seems a bit more major that a breast augmentation.

Would love to know your thoughts on this, both tummy tuck and breast implanst. biggrin.gif
Megan Wilson
I almost got breast implants about six months after the birth of my second child, but decided against it because of other financial priorities, but now I'm glad I haven't gone through with it. My boobs are saggy too, but I've come to love them as they are apart of my body.

Having said that, I am by no means against other people getting surgery and I may still consider it in the future, after having another child.

So, I would wait until you've had your last child and then if you still feel it is necessary then go for it.

Megan ohmy.gif)
gardenbaby
Great to see so many woman sharing their saggy boob stories.

I too went from a C cup to an massive E cup when our son was born and was bewildered that one boob was twice as large as his little head! ...and now have small saggy boobs 14 months on with excess skin.

Id like to hear from women who do weight training. Has anyone had any luck perking their chest back up as a result of pumping iron. Even slightly? I have no plans to go under the knife and will persist with my regular weight training as I have heard this can help. Even if it doesn't make me perky again at least it has helped me regain my confidence as I have sculptured shoulders and buff arms again from training. Plus there is nothing (apart from a boob job lol) like a great bra!

Please post your thoughts as Id love to hear them!
milliearchmum
I have seriously thought about having my breasts done also ... maybe we all have at some stage! I'm thinking that i'll look into it once we've decided to complete our family with baby #3.

My breasts were a lovely rounded C size and when baby #1 came along I LOVED them after the birth and the milk came in ... : ) Sadly once Breast feeding reduced to a few feeds I had NOTHING left! : (

They are now a small size B ... sad & saggy .. I can wear a bra with padding and they look OK under clothing. But I always get changed in private and am embarrased wearing swimmers! I lost weight after baby #1 and thought weight-training would help, but I had my figure back and my breasts got even smaller! I even had comments 'what happened to your boobs?' 'you couldn't possibly still be breast feeding, you don't have anything to feed from!' ... (close friend comments - they can get away with it).

So I will be straight to the operating table once we finally have #3 and say he/she is about 2yrs of age. AND i won't be telling everyone - they can just admire them and think that they just stayed that way after finishing bf! biggrin.gif

Goodluck !
wheresmysanity
wow i would love to get implants, ive allways had small crappy boobs and now they are small crappy saggy ones, ive allways had a complex about them so would just love to do it BUT i didnt realise the cost, 10-12K is that correct sheesh maybe i should have had them done when i was younger would have been cheaper
I say go for it if , if your self concious about them
kpingitquiet
Heh, I'm terribly amused by the women who refer to "a massive E" and the like. I'm a natural E/F and am DREADING how large they'll get with breastfeeding. I've been planning breast lift surgery my -entire- life (giant boobs rarely point any direction but south) but have waited until after babies/breastfeeding to avoid some of the problems the doc described. Being so large-breasted to begin with, most medical plans in most countries cover me for the surgery anyway. Add to that the affects of baby/breastfeeding and I believe pretty much all of them cover lifts (not implants). So, just waiting on baby, then it's new boob time!

Go for it, OP! Just use a very skilled and well recommended doc!

just-call-me-martha
wait till you've had all your babies...that is what I'm doing!

3 babies have done bad things to my body and I'm guessing number 4 will just do a bit more!

corrie;)
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.