The
Essential Baby forums cover all areas of
parenting and stages development for
babies,
toddlers and
kids as well as
parenting lifestyle areas including
Family Travel,
Finances,
Nutrition & Wellbeing,
Recipes and more!
If you'd like to post and interact with EB's
parenting forums read more articles about
conception,
pregnancy,
babies,
toddlers,
kids or more please visit
Essential Baby for the full site experience.
01/08/2009, 08:22 AM
~plimsol~
02/08/2009, 02:08 PM
gold for me whoo hoo
hi everyone!!!!
Nic027
04/08/2009, 11:06 AM
SILVER! yoohoo.
Hi missy!
Hi everyone!
Nic027
04/08/2009, 11:41 AM
Sarah How's the house hunting going? They reckon the market is supposed to be back to normal soon.
Roman also likes to play with our amp but turns its up full blast and runs off giggling. He can be so
naughty cheeky sometimes
Nothing exciting coming from us, just had Chris's 32nd bday. We stayed at the crowne plaza in Darling Harbour. It was really nice, had the best thai food at Thai Foon in darling harbour, anyone been there? I highly recommend it. Met up with friends and a bit of family at a bar had some drinks and we were in bed by midnight softies we are getting old lol. Mil works with crowne plaza alot with her company, so she arranged complimentary champagne on arrival and full buffet breakfast the next morning which was apsolutely divine- Id go back there just for the breakfast sooo good.
We finished it off with some thai massages in Surry Hills then off to watch our boys fight night at Castle Hill.
A weekend full of Thaliand.
Roman's nearly got all his teeth and he loves to feed himself now with spoons and forks. He gets upset if I try to feed him now- so independant. He eats exactly what we eat even a few spicy stir frys I thought would be too chilli for him but he loved them.
Thats about exciting as it gets...hope everyone is happy and well
skylia
04/08/2009, 02:46 PM
Nic - OMG! Roman nearly has all his teeth?! Poor Zac still only has 4!! hehe

Sarah - Goodluck with the house hunting!
CTOO - Best of luck with your biopsy on Thursday!
Us - Well...
We finally have a mortgage!! hehe

Settlement was on Friday.
Spent the weekend scrubbing, painting and shifting. Am absolutely knackered.
House is a mess. Can't find a thing. Is so hard to organise boys for daycare, school and myself for work.
Should really have taken some time off work to get settled. Ah well... Never mind.
Am so looking forward to this weekend, hopefully then I can get sorted.
Will post some pics on facebook soon.
Hi to everyone else. Hope you are all well xx
cantthinkofone
05/08/2009, 10:35 AM
Hi all!
Hope everyone is well!
ninjamummy
06/08/2009, 11:59 AM
Alicia - I did remember today. I hope all goes well with the Biopsy!!
Sarah - How exciting... house hunting! Hope you find something without too much stress (etc)
Lisa - Hooray for having the mortgage and settling in (I'm exhausted just reading about it!) Looking forward to seeing some pics on FB
Nic - go Roman! Such a grown-up boy, feeding himself
Hi to all...
Purity
06/08/2009, 04:15 PM
Hi everyone!
Newbie here.
My name is Erin, Im 24 currently residing in Western Suburbs NSW. I am happily married with a 16 month old son named Riley born on the 25.3.08. I'm looking for new friends so feel free to say hi

Looking forward to chatting with you..
Erin
cantthinkofone
07/08/2009, 11:28 AM
Hey all
Endo was done yesterday. I'm pretty tired still and i have a sore throat. They got me to put a mouth piece in my mouth to keep it open and at first it was blowing oxygen then they turned the gas on to knock me out. He said to me to take a few big deep breaths and i'll start to feel sleepy soon, the minute i started feeling tired i couldn't help laughing for some reason. It was quite funny

Hi and welcome to the group Erin
I'm Alicia, i'm from north-west syd.
Purity
07/08/2009, 04:46 PM
Hi Alicia,
Nice to meet you
cantthinkofone
08/08/2009, 02:25 PM
We aren't a very chatty bunch anymore unfortunately
~plimsol~
09/08/2009, 11:41 AM
welcome to the group erin... hope we get to know you some more in here we are all a bit slow lately as alicia said!!! maybe when the kids start to behave we might get some time on our hands again lol... i am from Tasmania...
hi all hope you are all well boys are in bed so i thought i'd pop in while it's quiet...
anyone else going throught the terrible twos early all the boys do lately is fight chuck tantrums and whine bring on 22 august i am of to a hens night to get absolutly p*ssed and dance and have a kid free night that has been a long time coming and i dont have to stress that phil will ring me i have organised for my mum to have them so he can go to a mates place or what ever he wants to do...
we are getting a puppy at the end of the month i have some pics of him o my FB profile so check him out he is sooo adorable he is a cavalier knig charles spaniel..... i will name him either Gian or Crawford what do you think???
anyway sorry for no personals better go
take care
missy
Nic027
09/08/2009, 08:40 PM
Hi all!
Welcome Erin. I almost have the exact same stats as you- I have a son Roman also born on 25.03.08. I also live in the outer west Sydney, Im 23, almost 24.
Glad to hear the endo went smoothly ctoo lol @ you laughing with the gas.
Missy- I like both names for the dog, he sounds cute I'll have to check out the pics. Go hard at the hens night child free yoohooo get messy lol
Lisa- congrats on the house and mortgage must feel great, cant wait to see pics also
Nic027
12/08/2009, 07:50 AM
bump
Natasha*s-Mum
15/08/2009, 08:17 AM

I was thinking we'd been a mega quiet bunch which we have but I realised this morning I was still subscribed to the last thread.
Hope everyone is well. I do really wonder how everyone is doing.
Hi Erin ... I'm Sarah. I live at Campsie and teach at Marayong. My DD Natasha Lee was born on 6th March

Speaking on N ... She is trying to get the cheezels Rocco left on the bench so I should go.
~plimsol~
16/08/2009, 11:13 AM
hi thats all
hope you are all well
Natasha*s-Mum
20/08/2009, 07:33 PM

Hi eeveryone
Nic027
23/08/2009, 08:19 PM
Hi everyone!
How's all our little families going?
We are doing well over here...I actually jumped on for some quick advice
Roman's been hitting himself lately,not anyone else, but mainly when I scold him for doing something wrong or if he gets frustrated he slaps himself in the head, mainly in the eye most times, I tell him to stop or if he's doing it repeatedly I take his hand away or try to distract him with something else.
Do you think this is just a phase? I dont know where he could be getting it from, no one I know smacks around him or smacks him and I dont know how to get him to stop either. Anyone else seen this behaviour?
ninjamummy
24/08/2009, 03:39 PM
Hi All
Wow... so busy these days! I hope you are all well (and your kiddies).
Hi Erin - I live in the Inner West of Sydney and have 2 sons - DS1 was born in March 08 and DS2 was born in April this year. I am constantly exhausted and/or busy (so I don't get to post very often!) Welcome to our group
Us - We took Max for his 4 month needles on Saturday and I asked the Dr what she thought about giving Angus his 18 month one for Chicken Pox (because he's not far off being due for that, anyway) and she said 'Let's do both'. Not one of my better ideas, I must say. Both of the boys were very unsettled afterwards, so not much sleep was had all weekend.
We picked up our professional family photos on Saturday and they are just fantastic (I don't have digital copies, though - so I can't post them, sorry). We also stopped at Centennial Park cafe for lunch (on the spur of the moment) on Saturday.... was really nice because it was such a great day.
Exciting news from us - we are going overseas at the end of the year for a holiday - Samoa for Christmas and New Zealand for New Year. It's all booked now.... am SO excited (but a bit anxious about how the boys will go on the plane)
We also had Max's christening on 16th - it went really well, it was a lovely day - but we were all exhausted afterwards. It doesn't seem that long ago that we were all talking about christenings for our March '08 babies. Where does the time go???

to all
cantthinkofone
27/08/2009, 11:43 PM
Hey all
Very quick reply, no personals.
Did anyone in NSW hear about the MVA on the M7 this morning in Horsley Park? In short a car ran into a parked truck at about 5am, the truckie was asleep in his truck, there were no skid marks, etc so they aren't sure what went wrong, they have to do an autopsy because unfortunately the car driver died - It was a friends dad.
And i really should be going to bed.
Night
cantthinkofone
31/08/2009, 10:16 AM
BUMP
Nic027
01/09/2009, 08:24 AM
Hello everyone
ctoo- sorry to here about your friend's father deepest condolences

How is everything going with your boys? Hows your dh going after his kidney transplant?
Lisa- love how the new house is looking congrats again
Missy- did you go on your hens night yet? How are the boys going?
Sarah- 
for you ...I hear Natasha isnt well and it does get stressful juggling a sick bub with full time work. Roman and I have another virus we just cant seem to shake, keeps surfacing the Dr cant give us anything for it, just tells me to rest. Hah! what's rest? I really hope the weather changes and we can all get well again
Amber- How is Addie and her hip going?
Roman is still hitting himself, i dont know how to react to it, whether i deter him or ignore it doesnt stop him from doing it, i really hope he grows out of it. I had to tell Adrian off coz he thought it was funny and kept getting Roman to do it by showing him and showing off infront of the neighbours kids who were over.
Hello to everyone else
Nic027
01/09/2009, 08:27 AM
Anyone doing anything special for father's day? What did you get your partner?
I got chris Little Brittain America dvd (for me too haha) a ministry of sounds house cd and Georgio Armani cologne
~plimsol~
01/09/2009, 10:36 PM
nic i have decided to get phil nothing he was an a*se last mothersday well every mothers day and tells me i am not "his" mother so its not his problem so he can stick fathers day where the sun dont shine... i think its him being bought up as a jahovas witness aparently they are not alowed to celebrate anything it's been hard enough getting him into birthday and christmas.... i may just go spoil him though like i usually do i am too soft hearted and i am a sucker for shopping... might just buy me something as well that will teach him.(by the way he is no longer a jahovas witness but his mum and dad and eldr brother still are)
Nic027
02/09/2009, 07:37 AM
Yeah i heard they dont celebrate anything not even birthdays
cantthinkofone
07/09/2009, 08:30 PM
Hey all
Been quite busy!!!
I registered Braden for Little Athletics on Friday, it starts this Friday. He's so excited! He wanted to wear the uniform and run around the house all night after the rego was done. So cute!
Preston has been good too.
DF and I went and seen "The Taking Of Pelham 123" last night... GOLD CLASS!!!

Gotta love those free upgrades from magnum!

Has anyone else here been to Gold Class?
Nic027
09/09/2009, 01:46 PM
ooh you make me wanna go get a magnum lol
~plimsol~
13/09/2009, 04:09 PM
i thought i should pop in and say hi to all and hope you are all well...
i hope all you ladies are enjoying your nice weather as it is still cold here
i had jordy in hospital this week turns out he has pheunomonia he was running a temp all day and not his usual self so i took him up to the hospital and they took an x-ray and found it (oh joy just as i type it buckets down with rain thank goodness i got the washing of the line lol) anyway they admited him for 2 days then sent us home as they thought it would be safer for him to recover at home with all the germs floating around especially (swine flu) and they didnt want him to catch it...he is on strong antibiotics and seems heaps better... anyway i had better go coffee time take care
missy
smiggydoo
14/09/2009, 03:12 PM
Just letting everyone know we are due another bubba on March 19th!
ninjamummy
14/09/2009, 11:00 PM
Oh Laura - that's wonderful news! Congratulations!! I hope you're feeling well. Off to FB to post on your wall, too.
Hi to everyone - sorry I haven't been posting - it's just been a pretty crappy time lately - all good with DH and the boys - but work is cr*p and my Mum is really sick. Not good. I'll be back next week (hopefully) and post some more then. Take care and

to all.....
smiggydoo
15/09/2009, 06:29 PM
Amanda: Big hugs. I hope things look up soon. I've been very tired and green but things are definitely better now I've got past those first few months. You were amazing to manage pregnancy when Angus was so small!
Missy: I hope poor little Jordy is on the mend soon.
hugs to all
Laura
Nic027
21/09/2009, 01:11 PM
Congratulations
Laura! All the best for the journey ahead
Missy Hope Jordy is better now. Poor little bugger. Def. good advice to let him get better at home.
I just got home from hospital, i was in there for 5days, it was more like a nursing home it was really horrible.

They still dont know what happened to me after ab xrays, cts, cystograms. I was just waking up every morning feeling faint and nauseous and having chronic ibs I had to be picked up off the floor.
I am on meds at the moment which seem to be helping and the antibiotics they pumped into me in hospital helped. I still have to see a specialist and get a biopsy and coloscopy done later. But other than that I am feeling good.
I went to the baby expo yesterday with Roman, just wanted to get out of the house. It wasnt too bad, a little disappointing I think I sorta expected a bit more. Roman was on the warpath and chucked wobblies every 2minutes...its just wasnt his day and a little bit embarassing when he did it twice throughout the expo.
Must've been amusing seeing me pick-up a kicking, screaming , thrashing toddler from the floor and attempt to restrain him back in the pram.
Im going to start playing tennis in October with my mother-in-law. Mixed doubles comp I think it is. Should be fun and interesting
smiggydoo
25/09/2009, 04:49 PM
Nic: Big hugs

Roman is looking so gorgeous!
cantthinkofone
28/09/2009, 12:44 PM
Thought i'd post here too....
Congratulations Kel! Welcome Ruby!
kozajo
29/09/2009, 07:50 PM
Congratulations on the arrival of Ruby, Kel !!!
Congratulations on your pregnancy, Laura !!!
Do you have something to tell us, Alicia ???
cantthinkofone
29/09/2009, 10:55 PM

I'm presuming you've seen my post in my other PG.

Everyone - do not say anything on facebook. But yes I'm 6w3d pregnant.
Nic027
30/09/2009, 05:07 PM
oh wow everyone's having more babies!
Congratulations ctoo!
Congratulations Kelly! Hope the birth went well and would love to see a pic.
smiggydoo
02/10/2009, 09:00 PM
CTOO: Congratulations
kozajo
02/10/2009, 10:15 PM
Congratulations Alicia - that's great news. I'm sorry to have outed you but I was just excited to see your news. I'm not stalking you either ... promise!
ninjamummy
05/10/2009, 06:08 PM
OMG Alicia - congratulations!! SO exciting.....
P.S. Amber - you clearly have too much time on your hands
Natasha*s-Mum
06/10/2009, 09:43 PM
Congrats Alicia!
Natasha*s-Mum
09/10/2009, 08:03 PM
Quick question girls ... I took Natasha to a playcentre today and a little girl knocked her over and I thought was just cuddling her on the ground but as I discovered tonight when I gave her a bath she's actually bitten her and left a mark. As it is about 12 hours since the bite happened the damage is done but I wonder if I should have checked at the time or should have cleaned it or something. Advice?
~plimsol~
09/10/2009, 09:18 PM
Sarah i wouldnt stress about the bite unless it has drawn blood... if there is blood put some antiseptic on it and it should be ok.. must be an age thing my two are starting to bite lately...
alicia congrats on the baby news how exciting maybe a girl this time would be nice
kelly congrats on the birth of ruby i love that name

i hope you are all well
nic you will be next with the baby news lol... hope you are feeling a little better.
and have you sorted your problem with roman hitting???? the twins are at each other all the time drives me mad..
i have been flat out lately phils mum and dad are selling up and moving back as his dad found out he has prostrate cancer and they want to be near family which is understandable....
phil is still of work and his back is no better his specialist said he doesnt want to go back in to operate again as he feels it will ruin what he has already done so he has to go see a pain specialist to try and do something long term for his pain!!!!
the twins are into everything and driving me mad they are talking flat out jordy is saying heaps of words where as rai blabbers sentences which i sort of get a few words that he is saying...
they had their 18 month check the other day and the health nurse is really happy with their development so that made me happy..
jordy had an xray on his chest and app with pead today and phnemonia is clear yay i was so relieved....
i had better go i am getting a little tired
take care
missy
luckykel479
10/10/2009, 04:48 PM
I've had my hands full lately so sorry for posting so late!
My tiny Ruby Jean arrived on Sept 22nd, 5p1oz (2295g) via emergency c-section. Was very scary but it all worked out in the end.
We are both doing really well, Ruby is putting on lots of weight and Heath adores her - he has to give her lots of kisses when she's awake and has to say bye before going to daycare!
Alicia - Congrats on #3!
Hope everyone is well - it's amazing how much our 'bubs' have grown!
cantthinkofone
11/10/2009, 09:55 AM
I'm just copying and pasting this from my other PG. I posted it two days ago.
Things haven't been great, i have had a MC.

I'm ok though, getting there, it obviously wasn't meant to be. We still hadn't told anyone about it and that's how i intend to keep it. The only good thing that has come out of this week is we have set our wedding date - 27/2/10.
I have been reading up occassionally on the phone because i am currently without my laptop. The RAM died.
Preston has been sick. Last Thursday (not the one just gone the one before) we ended up at the Doc coz he had a temp. He has tonsillitis and his temp was 40.2, he is ok now though.
Anyway i don't really feel like posting, so i'm ending my post here and keeping busy with other stuff.
Nic027
12/10/2009, 07:43 AM
Alicia: 
sending some love your way sweety keep your head up. Sorry to hear of your loss.

Congrulations on the wedding date, Im sure you will be kept busy with wedding plans now. Speaking of which Chris took me yesterday to this place he wants to have our wedding Curzon Hall in Marsfield- If you are looking for a place it's gorgeous. It looks like a castle, then he's told me last night he is booking it for November next year. Im a little taken back, Im not sure if I'm ready to organise etc but they have great packages which include a wedding planner to help you, it will take the stress out of planning

How is Preston going now? Ive had tonsilitis twice, its not nice

How is B enjoying his athletics?
Missy Glad to hear the twins are doing well. I was scoping the pics on facebook, they look so cheeky. Definately double trouble. Not at the moment we will be having anymore bubs lol knowing my luck I will get twins haha I only just got my figure back
Sarah As long as she didnt break the skin when biting, it should be ok. Just to put an antisceptic on it, like dettol cream or bepanthen one, it will take a while before the mark goes.
Nothing really exciting here...We took the boys to Weber's circus they are in St Marys at the moment, they are really good. It was worth it. The boys were in awe and I dont like slap stick comedy but these clowns were hilarious

Oh, also would like a little bit of advice, Roman has been filling his nappies alot lately and he comes over and tells me when its full or when he is uncomfortable, I've put him on the toilet a couple times on his seat and he thinks its great but I'm still unsure if he is ready to toilet train. Do you think I should try tt this summer? Im wondering if its too early, he's only 18months.
cantthinkofone
12/10/2009, 10:38 AM
Yes Curzon Hall is very nice...
P is ok now, took him back to the doc this morning and all seems fine.
B loves LA's, we haven't been able to go the past few weeks though coz school holidays, rain and a wedding.
We are also starting to introdue TT to P, so no, it's not too early for R.
smiggydoo
13/10/2009, 04:56 PM
Alicia: I don't know what to say. I'm so sorry. Big hugs. I'm so glad you've set a wedding date.
Kelly: Wow, Ruby was small! I'm glad she's putting on weight well. Was she premmy? hugs.
Nic: It's never too early to toilet train as long as there is no pressure.
~plimsol~
15/10/2009, 07:36 AM

alicia i hope you are ok...
nic i am going to try and start toilet training the boys in summer if it ever happens here in tassie lol...
kel hope you and your little family are doing well....
i had better go the boys seem to get in to trouble lately the minute i turn away ahhh the joys of mother hood... rai went missing this morning and i found him cleaning the toilet
Nic027
16/10/2009, 01:54 PM
cleaning the toilet with what?
lol...i took roman to the shops the other day and he went into those little play areas they have, and on the edge they have games like balls or flip-cards on boards iykwim...this particular one was of the train maze and you had to help the silver marble balls through the maze- they are on a track...does anyone know what im talking about? lol...anyway, roman thought it would be a smart idea to use his
tongue! I dont know how many kids have touched that thing in what sort of state but I was like omg Roman