The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: September 05 Parents # 375

Essential Baby > Parents' Groups > Join a parents' group here > 2005
New thread time ladies.

http://www.essentialbaby.com.au/forums/ind...howtopic=695829

Kay1
Ooooh me!!
~3boysmummy~
SILVER SILVER SILVER!!! wink.gif
bronx5
Does Bronze count?! Thank god for school going back today is all I can say. When I've got time I'll come back and have a big whinge and pick everyone's brains but right now I better get the little monsters ready for school, have a shower, put the piddled in sheets in the machine etc etc etc. Who's idea was it to have all these kids?!!!! sad.gif

Bron
Kay1
Bron I ask myself that all the time and I only have two!!

Anyone know how to get rid of my non exisent picture at the top?
~~Lynny~~
waves.gif yyawn.gif nothing new to report - what an exciting life I have atm rolleyes.gif tongue.gif

Decided to take Damian to see Ice Age 3 in 3D today - already got the tickets off the net - just have to pick them up tthumbs.gif wasnt sure if I had to pay for Damian or not - didnt have to last time but I got a ticket anyway - would hate to turn up to a mob of school kids and not being able to get him in.. Em is staying at home - hopefully she'll be tired and ready for bed come 11am hands.gif

Wedding plans are going well - my gran is coming over from NZ on the 18th and staying with my dad for the first week and after the wedding she might stay with us for a week. Hopefully the littlies wont drive her 2 crazy!

Dad's offered to do the photography *yay* Havent even thought about that side of things till he mentioned it ddoh.gif My sorta stepmum will be bringing me some flowers.. MIL is doing the cake (I'm a bit sad.gif about it because I wanted a mudcake cry1.gif ) SIL is helping with salads - read: buying salads from the shops! grr.. She really wants to help so I've suggested a couple of salads thats usually not too bad when you buy them - planning on making a whole bunch of salads to make up for it grin.gif

Still havent got Damo's outfit - will try and get round to that tomorrow.. and then something for DP.. and white tights/stockings for Emily 2 keep her leggies warm..

Next week I want to shop for Damo's present - almost 4 oomg2.gif Can't believe how fast he has grown up sad.gif

Anywho.. better go and be productive - sorry about the dribble.. know how interested you all are tongue.gif

Big hug to all of those who need it - especially the sick kiddies..
~*Sharon*~
Lynny - I can't believe how old they are getting! *cry* Hannah is having a proper friends over themed party this year - 8 3 - 4 year olds... yay fun. We are going out this afternoon to get some materials to make invites.

Oops - just saw the time... gotta run and pick Hannah up from kinder.
BronR
Just checking in and seeing if I can work the new site. roll2.gif

Gaaa, birthday parties coming up fast. I've decided to have Rory's at the play centre near here this year as the last 2 years we've had it here at home and it's rained. 2 year olds we could cope with. 3 year olds was pretty rowdy and full in the living room. 4 year olds (boys especially) I don't think we'd manage. And Rory loves this play centre. I feel like it's a bit of a cop out but can't face the alternative. They've got themed rooms for the parties ets and Rory wants to have the dark "spece" room. I hope it's available.

Not much news from us. Had a lovely morning at the park this morning with some friends we hardly ever see. My friends 4 y.o. girl was such a little mother to Abi - too cute.

OK, M&D have just arrived so better go and talk to them.
sotetno
Lynny - as a compromise when my sister got married and her MIL made the cake they had a two layer cake (still only tiny layers as not a big wedding). The bottom layer was chocolate cake with the wedding cake icing and the top layer was the yucky fruit cake stuff so they could keep it for their one year anniversary. Is your MIL up to sme kind of compromise like that?

Been out to the circus this morning. Made me realise I can't wait till I get back into trapeze classes (probably not till next year though). Baby is down very low today. Made waddling the half km walk a bit slower than normal original.gif

Right better go wade through the policy statements for the three travel insurance policies I've narrowed my choices down to, to see which is best rolleyes.gif
Kay1
Mel - FWIW we have always used Covermore insurance and they have been great. We've needed medical help overseas a few times and had to claim for stuff and never had any trouble. Just thought I'd mention if they are one of the options. Glad the circus was good. original.gif

Just watching Masterchef and eating yummy lemon pepper chicken...mmmm. I went to the gym today and OMG I nearly killed myself! I went to do a class and thought it was a 30 minute stretching type class so I went and did 20 minutes on the treadmill first. Anyway turns out the class was a full on 1 hour Aerobic step class......gah! I nearly died. Anyway I stuck it out til the end but I am pretty sore now...and I shudder to think how I will feel tomorrow.

Oh and re birthdays we are having a huge bash for Leo's birthday and since Nate's is so close we will probably just have a family do. MIL is getting him a bike, one with pedals as the physio said it would be good to get him pedalling. Does anyone know how to know what size to get? I saw a good 40cm one at Big W a while back....

Any suggestions what to get Nate? We have got him a Leapster 2 but I think I'll save that for Christmas. I thought maybe a Leap Frog Tag Reading system.... shrug.gif

Oh and re birthdays we are having a huge bash for Leo's birthday and since Nate's is so close we will probably just have a family do. MIL is getting him a bike, one with pedals as the physio said it would be good to get him pedalling. Does anyone know how to know what size to get? I saw a good 40cm one at Big W a while back....

Any suggestions what to get Nate? We have got him a Leapster 2 but I think I'll save that for Christmas. I thought maybe a Leap Frog Tag Reading system.... shrug.gif
~*danielle*~
hi girls,

sorry I havent posted much lately. things have been pretty crazy around here.

firstly to those that asked about my sister and I am really sorry I never came back to update. Her office recieved a direct threat and all expats were given 3 days to leave the country. At the time they werent sure whether it was a hoax or not but werent willing to take the chance. Her, her DH and 2 kids were flown out to Dubai where they stayed for a week. In the end it was a hoax thankfully but nerve wracking nonetheless. My sister however was not bothered by it all... only her family back here in Aus was mellow.gif
Her contract in Pakistan was due to end in Jan so over the past few months she has been applying for jobs in other countries. She has since been offered a job in Thailand (only a 12 month contract)
overseeing the final evaluation of the Tsunami Response in Phuket.
I think its bitter sweet for her though as she has really enjoyed her 7 years in pakistan/afghanistan and I believe she will miss the region.
I, however am already planning to visit!

also, I know a few of you asked about the house we had bought (a month or so a go) but I wanted to wait until we had finance sorted before I started showing it. Today finally our finance has been formally approved. its been a stressful month as it became very clear that banks still do not like those that are self employed. its proved to be a very eventful and stressful time.

but here it is ... its only 2 minutes down the road from where we are now though laughing2.gif
I have to admit its not a house I ever thought I would buy but I had to really do what was best for my family... and this house is good for a growing family. Structurally it is great (I was originally looking at places to renovate) and this one only needs 'surface' improvements like removing the colour of that bathroom and removing tiles in the living areas just to name a couple.

This is a 10 year plan and then I will get my dream to design & build

and here is a very similar floor plan... a few things are diffferent but essentially its the same.
floor plan

work is really busy still (getting busier each month it seems) but I think i will be happy with this house business can be put behind us. Its been such an intense few months.
bronx5
Birthdays - Alannah is next and is having a big 1 yo party. We always do a big party for the year they turn 1, then the kids get a 6yo party, 10yo , 13yo and thats as far as I'm thinking ahead.

Caleb is getting a "green birdie" . Its what he has asked for since early this year when he saw the movie Pauly. So he's getting a bird cage and on his actually birthday (which just happens to be a Sunday this year and therefore the markets are on) we are going to the markets and getting him a green budgie. He is also getting a Spiderman cup, plate and bowl set - we always have issues over who gets what plate etc so we've got him his own. I may get him one other small thing if I can find something I think he will like. For Christmas he is going to get a bike and helmet - he is riding Chiara's old one at the moment and its pretty close to falling apart.

Mel - gosh you are getting very close to having your baby. Are you usually on time, late or early? Trapeze classes?! WOW! Is it hard? I love watching the trapeze artists in circuses. We've been to Jupiters Casino (Gold Coast) and they often feature the trapeze in their shows. Its fantastic!! We used to go every year for our anniversary except now no-one will look after the kids so we haven't been for about 3 years now.

Lynny - I second Mel's suggestion - have two different layers - my mum has made wedding cakes like this before and it's quite a popular choice.

Okay - I better go and try and tidy up some of the disaster zone I call my house.

Bron

~~Lynny~~
Trying to post and get Damo ready for school *yawn*

Thanks for the suggestions about the cake - I'm too scared to say anything to MIL ph34r.gif dont want to ruin whatever plans she had for it and she might think I'm a nut for not liking the fruit stuff unsure.gif I am thinking about maybe making mudcake cupcakes "for the kids" tongue.gif but still not the same as having a cake the way I wanted it.. unsure.gif guess I should suck it up and say something ssorry.gif

Bron - love what you're getting Caleb - you sound so organised.. I havent got a clue what to get the kids.

Danielle - glad to hear yr sis is okay - love the new house!

Kay - how do you measure the size of a bike again - the diameter?? Damian's is just under 30cms and I think he can almost do with the next size up but I wont bother for a while yet - maybe xmas.. He's roughly 107cm tall - can never get him to stand still enough tho.. I'm not terribly familiar with the Leapster stuff - I wanted to get him a laptop similar to Leapster but dont he's gentle enough for it and we've got a spare pc in the office he can bang away on if he wishes..

I'd love to get him one of those big transformers but again - he's so rough! Also wouldnt mind getting him one of those toys you have to plug into the tv and "move" to but I'm not so keen on getting him something that'll keep him inside the house day in and day out..

Other things I have on my maybe list.. new scooter or skateboard with safety gear.. small,basic slot car set.. that reminds me - DP got him a remote control truck off Grays..

Mel - can't believe how close you are getting! hope you get to have the home birth of your dreams and that all goes well with bubs!

Sharon - good grief - you're having how many kids in yr house!!?? I am thinking two maybe 3 but then I havent got a clue what to do with regards to entertainment.. I can maybe do the face painting myself but not sure about games. And how long should you have it for - 2hours? more?

What else... oh saw Ice Age yesterday in 3D and loved it - got a bit boring towards the end tho.

Anywho sorry about the short replies - gotta get Damo off to school

~~Lynny~~
ouchies - 8 degrees over here.. my fingers were cramping up on the steering wheel.. wacko.gif
mummy_to_b
Dan. Love the house. It looks beautiful and lots of room. I am so glad to hear that your sister and family are safe and sound.

Lynny. I would say something to your MIL about the cake and ask if it is possible for her to do two layers.

Kay. A bike sounds like a great idea. Brock was given one by my brother for christmas last year but we still haven't put it up yet. I have to get him a bike helmet first.

For his birthday we are getting him some Mobilo. He loves the stuff and plays with it all the time at daycare. My parents are buying him a fisher price cool computer school thing.

Leanne
Titania
Oh Congratulations Danielle - that's a GREAT house for you guys! Way more family friendly - and you always said you wanted to stay in the same area.... That's secretly the kind of house I would like to have these days... Good job! biggrin.gif

I want to get a proper bike for Lorcan too - but have no idea how to work out what size to get him...
~*Sharon*~
BAH! Toby has been waking up coughing right through the night, so we are off to the drs today. Serves me right for telling someone yesterday that the kids had actually been healthy for a couple of weeks!

Kay - we are getting Hannah a 40cm bike. She was too tall for a 30cm one. That is her birthday present, as well as a couple of board games.

lol Lynny - it is 7 degrees here at the moment, and we have no downstairs heating (STILL!!). I must say, I wasn't surprised to see Hannah come into our bed because she was too cold this morning.

Dan - LOVE the house!! It is almost identical to ours in terms of number of rooms (although ours are over 2 stories).

Hannah is having a fairy party this year, and we are having lots of fun planning it at the moment. She and I went out yesterday and spent about $200 on some supplies and a new fairy dress and shoes. I am hoping (if she will be a bit more agreeable at some stage) to get a photo of her in it to use on her invite. At the moment she is standing outside my door "crying" because I kicked her out (she was standing in here whinging, and would not stop getting into all my things, so she was banned from the room).

Hmmm - better actually post this. I started it about an hour ago, and keep getting distracted. lol
Titania
Yes off to docs again here too. Lor has temp of 38, been coughing half night. Looks terrible - but actually doesn't seem too bad in himself. He looks a bit swollen around the top of the nose area - so I'm thinking sinus infection.... Gah. Really hoping to avoid anti-bs yet again - he only finished the last lot two weeks ago.
butterflies
For those looking at getting bikes for their kids, take them to a proper bike shop and get them to size them for a bike, then do your shopping. They are really helpful at the bike shops

Zahli wants a two wheel scooter like her sisters, so my parents have grabbed that pressie idea, I have no clue what else to get her, we are over run by toys atm as it is.

Though might get her one of those totem tennis things.

Titania
Yes, thanks Karina - I was thinking of doing that. original.gif

Lor has ear infection and back on antibs... he's so snotty still. Unbelievable... off for six weeks, back to kindy for one - and he gets sick straight away - have half a mind to pull him out altogether again - at least until he is able to have the swine flu vaccine - as SF can be very serious for asthmatics - and anyway, he's home more than he goes - so it's money down the toilet. Seeing specialist next Tuesday, so will ask opinion. sad.gif
bronx5
Titania - just wondering if you have tried any alternative medicines for your boys? Its okay if its not your type of thing but I have found Chiropractic to be of excellent use in the building up of immune systems and alleviating all types of symptoms. We have a lovely one and if you were interested but just didn't know where to start I could find out about good ones in your area that she would recommend. I could also send you some info in the mail for you to look at and there is fantastic book called Well Adjusted Babies which would also provide you with quite a lot of information and an understanding of how it works. I feel for you terribly and just want to help you in some way every time I read about your boys and their continuing sicknesses.

We have been going to the chiro for years now and I'm quite sure its why we are all quite healthy - I'm not saying that we never get sick, just that if we do it doesn't seem to last very long or be very bad. Alannah even had adjustments in Special Care when she was 4 days old and although she did get sick with RSV she recovered much more quickly than the doctors expected especially for a premi.

Okay - getting of my little soap box but it is something I'm quite passionate about as you can probably tell.

Bron.
Titania
Thanks Bron... We did try Osteopath for the reflux when Lorcan was small - a few sessions - gave it away as it didn't help one tiny bit.

I'm afraid I'm not of the opinion that chiropractors can help immune systems - so won't be going that path. I would be very keen to find a good iridologist - but it's so hard to find one - also a good naturopath. I have the details of an allegedly good homeopath I will take the boys to - but I'm not hugely keen on homeopathy (but it will do if I can't find either of the former).

Lorcan never had a single dose of anti-bs until he was 2.5 years old - when Griff was first hospitalised at 6 months old with Bronchiolitis - after they both caught a serious virus at the paeds (silly mother letting her sick daughter hand out biscuits - I can't move quite as fast as I used to!! We haven't been back lol). Up until then - he'd only had two very mild wheezings with colds - and brushed off pretty much all other bugs fairly easily - even during the first year of FDC.... So his constitution is good - being asthmatic completely changes things though. And at the moment we are looking at him actually having something stuck in his airways.
Weirdly, despite being a worse asthmatic - Griff is seeming to cope better - he's big and strong... and also got asthma earlier - whereas Lorcan wasn't diagnosed for certain until about 2 yrs 10mths...
Sorry I'm waffling. Thank you, I really appreciate your help. original.gif
Kay1
Karina - Thanks for reminding me - I actually got him a totem tennis thing at the sales and stashed it away LOL. The ball is currently strung up in the tree and he plays "cricket" with it. I want it down before Leo starts walking though so totem tennis may be the way to go.

T - So sorry L is sick again. Sounds like a good idea to get the specialist's view on the SF issue.

Sharon - too cute on the fairy gear. Nate is very unimaginative and just keeps saying he wants a chocolate cake. If really pressed as to what picture he wants he says Dora...again rolleyes.gif . Although he's been watching Thomas the Tank Engine today....he's always been too scared before so I might be able to persuade him to let me do a Thomas cake LOL.

Kay1
T and Bron - I took Leo to an osteopath as a newborn for the colic and reflux as well and it didn't seem to help either. I have occasionally thought of taking the kids to a chiro but Im just nervous about it as I don't know who to take them too. Also Nate is so uncooperative I just don't know if it would work. We took Nate to a homeopath for ear infections etc when he was 2 but he was a real wierdo and it didn't seem to help at all anyway.
~*Sharon*~
T - Poor L. sad.gif Toby has bronchitis. He was actually fairly well in himself until we got home from the drs (although apparently his chest sounded fairly bad) but he was really not well when he woke from his nap sad.gif

lol Kay, Hannah has too much imagination when it comes to her party. At the moment her version of the guest list, if you ask her, stands at the little boy down the road, Bibi Blocksberg (her imaginary friend taken from a TV show that has since gone off air), Moni (Bibi's friend on the show) and Harry Potter. She has also decided as of today that her name is Hermione (She has seen a couple of the early movies at the cinema with me recently, and DH is now reading her the books).

Thankfully she was in a slightly more sane mood when we initially made the list, and it does mostly include people that actually exist.

The fairy party was one from a list I suggested to her (although I am not sure I had much more if she didn't want fairys... lol).

I took the photo today for her invite (although I will take out the background and just use her on the invite)

She is so hard to photograph... she really has one good pose, which didn't work for this, and anything else she either tries too hard, or just gets silly. We curled her hair with the curling wand for this... first time I have done it, but I think I am going to have to do it more often... she just looked so sweet! wub.gif

Rambling now I think... time for bed. 'Night!
Titania
Stunning photo Sharon - I like the background (great contrast against the pink), I'd leave it in, but that's just me.
Poor Toby sad.gif
Weirdly Lorcan's cough sounds more like a normal chesty cough this morning.

I can't believe you guys are all discussing birthday parties... blink.gif
I guess a couple are coming up sooner than others though. I haven't even thought about it yet. Definitely not having a party though...
butterflies
Morning

I have been really busy lately, with work stuff EOFY etc etc and it is now nice to relax as our books are at the accountants so I can't do any work, good timing for the school holidays, though it is looking like we won't be going away, how come DH's work gets busier in the school holidays?

He is working nights atm and had a crappy night last night, got home at 7am this morning, when he has been getting home at around 3am. It's so hard to keep the kids quiet as he is a light sleeper. We can't go to the park til about midday as everything will still be wet, I want to go to the shops but Zahli has been coughing ALL morning but hasn't coughed for about 1/2 hour, so will see how we go.

Zahli will be having a party this year, the girls get parties for their 4th, 5th 6th, then every second year. That's how Paris had hers and DH thinks it hilarious that I am doing the same for the others, can't have them coming back to me in years complaining that one got more than the other can we!!

She'll be having it at a play centre as it's much less stressful on myself, I don't have to tidy up then. Also the other two girls had their 4th party at the same place.

Well as you can tell I haven't had much adult interaction with Dh gone at night and sleeping through the day plus not going to school, I need adult conversation!!

must go as I am being hassled about what are we doing today.

~*Sharon*~
T - this is the invite with the background replaced: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2607/372448..._a4d3eefd9b.jpg

we have 6 weeks left until Hannah's (6 weeks and 2 days until the actual party... lol) so we are working out what she wants, getting invites ready and what-not. I suspect I will lose motivation in about 3 days time, and leave everything else to the last minute. lol. Also saves all the costs of the party coming at once.

Hannah has had 1, 2 and 4 as party years, and Toby had his first, and will have a second too. For Hannah's 3rd she had one friend over, but we still did all the decorating. We also go out for dinner with family each year.
Titania
I think we'll just go with the party every second year... The boys are so close together and DH is two days before L.... Erk, that means G should have one tis year - but there's no-one to invite lol.... Except the little girl next door.

That's lovely Sharon - I still like the green better. lol
~*Sharon*~
lol - I didn't like the scrunched fabric, and there was not really enough space around it to add in the invite information.

If I had the same thing with more space and smoother fabric I would have used it.
Kay1
The fairy party was one from a list I suggested to her (although I am not sure I had much more if she didn't want fairys... lol).

I've tried suggesting everything, from dinosaurs to pirates but he says "I JUST WANT DORA!". At least he's loyal LOL.

Went to Ikea to buy stair gates today. Its not easy because I want ones that Nate will be able to open but also that self close because I can't trust him to close them. The Ikea ones did not fit the bill so the search continues... This morning Nate woke at 6am with a nightmare so I hopped into bed with him and realised how cold his bed was! He just had a thin doona and a fleece rug, so I bought him a warmer doona and a new pillow while I was there. Not sure it wasn't a waste of money though as he always kicks his covers off anyway! rolleyes.gif Oh well at least I'll be warm when I have to do snuggle duty.
~~Lynny~~
just testing my email notifications...
BronR
Bikes. We bought Rory a 12 inch (30 cm) which is just right for him but he's not 100 cm yet - short a*se. The 16 inch (40 cm) he could reach the pedals but certainly not the ground and he was scared about that. We were recommended that at this age being able to touch the ground is a good idea. He loves it. Unfortunately so does Abigail. I need to get her a helmet for just wearing around the place as she climbs up everything. ohmy.gif

Brithdays. I think we have planned to have parties every year until 5 and then probably every other year. But a bit like Griff, Abi doesn't have many friends (no mothers group) and birthday being early January not sure how we'll go with that. I think she has 2 little friends at CC (well the 3 of them are always in the daily pictures together) so maybe she does have some friends. tongue.gif

OK I've finished eating my lunch at my desk now so better get back to it.

Bron.

~~Lynny~~
kids are driving me bonkers today - roll on bed time! wacko.gif

B/days - Emily didnt have one last year - just us and MIL/SIL and a cake - Damo had a big one though.. This year I have booked a party at Hungry Jacks - bad mummy I know but he's usually more interested in the kids and play area than the food. I figured instead of having a big party with family etc only 2 weeks after the wedding, we can have a small get together - cake and coffee on saturday.. then Damo can have his party with friends on sunday. I'm inviting kids from preschool - never met their parents so hopefully someone will turn up! They're doing face painting, cake and activities etc.

For Emily I will do more of an effort this year and will have a big party at home with family and maybe a friend or two from EB..

Sorry gotta run - Damo is being a @#$)%&$* today and Emily has got a weeping bottom from teething sad.gif I havent been to the gym since monday and wanted to go tonight but I am shattered so we'll see.. as long as I can still fit into the dress a week from Sunday I'll be happy! Tounge1.gif

~~Lynny~~
*sigh*

Had one of THOSE days today.. Told Damian off like a hundred times - naughty step didnt work etc he was trying to play with Emily but just a bit too rough, didnt know when to stop yada yada..

come dinner time it was just a mad rush to feed them and send them off to bed.. Fed Damo, served DP's food, left mine to go cold and manky YET again.. sat down in the lounge to quickly feel Emily and half way through it just did the worlds biggest vomit - projectile all over the newly cleaned carpet and rug, over me, her clothes, a pillow, her shoes EVERYTHING.. I think I had a brain fart and gave her tomato based food after she had a milk not too long before.. ddoh.gif I just broke down in tears and had a big old sob whilst cleaning up her pool of barf.. what a nice way to end the day from hell LOL

At least I can laff about it now.. laughing2.gif

Damo has been banished to his room a bit early tonight.. Emily has gone down without a bottle - too scared to give her anymore in case she brings it all back up..
Starbuck
I am now an Aunty!! biggrin.gif My sister had her baby last night/this morning at 3:41, she had a baby girl Eva Jade. I am going to see her on Sunday. I have to work for Mum tomorrow and then Mum, Dad and I are going to drive up in the afternoon to visit on Sunday. DH and th girls and I will go up on Thursday next week. I will post a piccie (if I am allowed) when I get back.
Titania
Congratulations Aunty Kirsten!!

Oh poor you Lynny, what a day! Wow, they (or Em anyway) go to bed early!!

So sick of being sick here. DH and are are really under the weather now. I am such a snot factory. DH was snoring so bad last night kept me awake for hours until I finally had the energy to get up and go downstairs on the unmade spare bed. And I have really heavy AF - DH had to take most of the morning off (between conference calls etc ) and I stayed in bed for the morning.... But he's not good either...

G... fingers crossed... is green snotty, but otherwise ok...... don't want to jinx us though....
Kay1
T - Oh that's no good. sad.gif Hope you feel better soon.

Lynny - Yikes, what a bad day!

Kirsten - Congratulations!! How wonderful, another little girl and a cousin for Alyssia and Rose. Did she have a good labour?

My kids are in bed by 7pm these days too. Leo just begs for bed and literally dives in, his thumb in his mouth before he even hits the mattress LOL. Nate is not having a sleep anymore and after two days at preschool he was asking for bed at 5pm LOL. Plus Masterchef gives me the incentive to get them in bed by 7pm. Unfortunately it means DH only sees them for about 2 minutes every day and that is sad. sad.gif

Well better go, we have to vacate again tomorrow so the sanders can come and try to fix the floor tomorrow....BUT in fabulous news I just booked us 3 nights away sans kids!!!!!! ddance.gif I am a bit scared about how much I will miss the kids and how they will cope without me but we really need it at the moment.
Titania
Mel, are you having a baby now?
Kay1
OOoh are you are you Mel??

Just mulling something over and wanting your opinions. I am still BFing Leo - although only just...he has one BF in the morning only, and the odd night feed if he wakes. I have been gradually weaning him so DH and I can go away for a few days - anyway all this swine flu stuff has me freaked and I'm wondering if I should maybe try and hang on to this last feed by expressing when I'm away? What do you think? I really doubt I can keep my supply going that way but am thinking maybe I should try...unsure.gif
~*Sharon*~
Kay - it won't make a difference. With the breast feeding immunity, you are passing on your own immunities to them. The reason that Swine Flu is such a big thing at the moment is that it is a new strain, so no-one has immunity to it, and therefore it is spread really easily.

But unless you have had it, you will not be protecting him by continuing breastfeeding.
sotetno
No, no baby here yet. Still only 39+3 weeks so could be a few more weeks. I was telling bubba I wanted him/her out yesterday but they obviously weren't listening. I would like it to be before Nick goes back to school though, so he can have a few days to get to know his new sibling.
Starbuck
Just about to go see my new niece. Hopefully you will have a baby Mel by the time I get back. biggrin.gif
~~Lynny~~
Mel - why exactly are you still here?? Tounge1.gif Hope you get to go before school starts again..

Not much happening here - kids were well behaved today.. thank gawd! I've had a glass of white already - feeling very mellowed out and relaxed original.gif original.gif

OMG This time next week I will be a married woman! ffear.gif tthumbs.gif

gotta run and start dinner - doing Buffalo Wing Salad with Blue Cheese tonight..

Sorry about the self absorbed post *again*
~~Lynny~~
Meant to say that they dont always go to bed as early as yesterday - I've just had enough by then! LOL

Em goes down 5:30-6pm and Damo about 6pm-7pm - he likes watching simpsons in his room and nods off that way..

speaking of which.. he's woken up scared a few times the last week or so.. got him a nightlight ($22 worth!) and he broke it! Apparently he wanted to see how high he could throw it in his room! rant.gif

Titania
Scarey stuff lynny - the marriage I mean lol! biggrin.gif
That's still early, 7pm's the earliest we manage here and that's not often and they're usually up around 6.30am.

Well - I am pleased to say that G has got the bug and is VERY snotty - but otherwise seems fine!! Looks like maybe his immune system is finally bucking up (we did double his flixotide as a precaution as soon as L got pretty sick). I'm not doing so well though - and it's really on my chest now...

bellemae
Quick one from me.

Been at my parents since monday, more clearing on our site. Got a lot done, tho had an accident prone day today...I had a piece of lantana flick back at me and stab me straight in the eye! It's still all blurry and it's been bleeding so my eyeball is all freaky and bloody red, still VERY sore and scratchy, like there's something in it, but I don't think there is?? If that wasn't enough I also managed to smash my right hand VERY hard into a cockspur which jabbed it's thorn deep into my knuckle, this happened before lunch and it's still swelling, my whole finger is swollen & I can no longer move it (looking like a trip to the dr tomorrow for me), pretty sure the tip of the thorn broke off deep inside, but I can't get to it. All good though, I am in lots of pain - and can't do anything with my right hand, but, we got HEAPS done and I'm really happy with how the clearing is coming along original.gif

Sorry, can't really read enough for personals, my eye is very blurry - might have to get a patch!
bellemae
waves.gif ph34r.gif
bellemae
where is everyone??

well, we're about to head off to hospital #2 to see the orthopedic surgeon - they want to cut into my knuckle & see whats going on!! Hospital #1 put a needle in for IV anti b's, and left it there as they said they'll need it when they operate - argh I hate having a needle hanging out of my arm!!!

YAY hospital day - just what I felt like dry.gif

bronx5
Belle - OUCH!!!!! sounds horrible - hope you are okay and the hospital fix you up soon. Is the thorn still in your finger or has it cut through something in there. Did you get them to look at your eye in case you've scratched the cornea or something horrible like that?

Bron
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.