The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: Feb 03 Parents # 149

Essential Baby > Parents' Groups > Join a parents' group here > 2000-2003
Bel
New Thread Time original.gif

Link to Last Thread
micallep
Gold tongue.gif

I've been hit with the cold lurgie sad.gif .

Gina, wow how exciting for you! What an awesome thing you're doing. I must say I can imagine you'll have a hard time letting go of the kids that you get.

Michelle, wish I could say the same thing about my wallet I lost week before last (that it came back to me). Such a hassle replacing cards!

Nic, that is one gorgeous girl you have there. Ohhhh I'm sooo clucky LOL!

Julie, did you know the wife before this visit? Sounds terribly rude on her behalf.

Arrggh gotta go, can't think straight after a day of trying to work with lurgie in tow.

FloralArrangement

That's all Ihave to say laughing2.gif laugh.gif laughing2.gif laugh.gif laughing2.gif
FloralArrangement
Slackers

I am Bronze as well.

Pouring with rain here

Gina xx
MichelleM
Haha Gina, I've been watching this thread but didn't bother to post as I had nothing interesting to say!

I was almost up for a divorce as I spilt my drink on Brett's computer box thingo (you know, the bit that houses the engine!) AND his ipod was sitting on top of that! Thankfully only a bit came out so it was only superficial drops - where's the phew smiley laughing2.gif

I've just been reading the 0-6mnths thread and realised that I've been seriously duped with this 'newborn' of mine! There's a thread that asks if you should wake your newborn after 4 hours! Huh! I'd be blown over if Scarlett ever even slept 4 hours and I WOULD be waking her to see if she was alright!

I went to my first assembly today. OMG I forgot how boring they are! It was freezing cold and my feet were numb from standing on the concrete. I have to remember to rug Josh up more on Firdays now that his class attend them.

See I told you I had nothing interesting to post laughing2.gif

Hope that cold is getting better Ping. Every second person has it over here too.

Oh that's right, I do have something! MIL came over yesterday to try the Baptisimal gown on Scarlett as Isabella wore it at 5 months and it was a bit big for her then. WELL! AT 7 weeks 1 day Scarlett fitted into it and not only fitted into it, but it's snug! I am sooo glad that she's being done early as there is no way she would have fitted into it in 3 mnths time!
Nics
See Michelle - there is a reason Scarlett doesnt sleep too long - shes too busy feeding to grow big and strong tongue.gif

Just thought Id pop on quickly and say hi! We are still around although I just dont get much of a chance to post atm.... Ive just finished scoffing down lunch and am about to try for a nap - Ellie has just gone to sleep although dont know for how long as I put her in her cot and for the last few days she much prefers to hang off me unsure.gif so we have pretty much been co-sleeping ohmy.gif BUT at this stage if thatis what works Ill keep doing it until I have a bit more energy etc to deal with it... MIL has already commented on what bad habit that is etc etc - but I dont get a flying f*** if it means I get 3 hours sleep laughing2.gif She was actually pretty good last night and has been very sleepy today (Michelle she actually slept from 5am-8am and then again from 9-12:30 so I shouldnt be complaining should I? )

Shes feeding well and she was reweighed again ydday due to losing more than her 10% in hospital and shes gained 100g in just 2 days laugh.gif what a porker! Still only makes her 3kg though unsure.gif Im so happy to have a little one this time... I think they may have measured her length incorrectly too because the 0000 clothes are swimming on her - her arms and legs get lost laughing2.gif

BUT I have to say Im a lot more relaxed this time and just going with the flow. That isnt too say Im not overtired/exhausted/cranky etc but I honestly just look at her and think how lucky I am to have her wub.gif Shes just perfect and I have bonded so well with her - I havent as yet even had a cry - I know I got the blues in the first week with both boys but tis time Im just so elated and on a high nothing really bothers me (even at 3am wink.gif )

DH has been really good - hes actually taken Jarrod to play a round of golf - Jarrod was supposesd to have Wed off school to bring us home but the hospital made me come home Tues so that didnt happen - so we let him have the day off today knowing he wasnt missing anything important. So Aiden is snoring here on the blow up mattress in fornt of the TV - Ellie and I have been sleeping on that blush.gif so I should go and join him whilst I can!

I uploaded a couple more photos onto photobucket for you to cluck over... cant remember which ones I sent you so may be a double up of some!
http://s293.photobucket.com/albums/mm75/Nicsjtp/
Ill also cut and paste a little bit on my labour that I posted for my due in group... have I mentioned Im so pleased I dont have to do that again! She was the worst labour out of all 3 yet the smallest? Im postiive it was all due to my waters not breaking though - that was the first thing that happened with both the boys but yet the last thing to happen this time... and it definitely made a difference!

Just briefly I started having a bloody show on Sat lunchtimeish accompanied by some back pain that was very persistent. At about 4pm I thought I could feel my waters trickling every now and again and due to being GBS positive I knew I had to have antibiotics if that was the case so the hospital said to come in. By that stage I knew things were happening and I wouldnt be back. So we got the boys organised for dinner etc my brother and his gf came over to sit with them and mum followed DH and I to the hospital. I sgtarted having a few contractions but just like a period pain nothing too much! They tested the pad and yes it was amniotic fluid (ended up being hindwaters though) so in went the canula and antibiotics and we went off to the delivery suite. This was at 6:30pm. Started having regular 5 mins contractions and at 8:30 started on the gas. Cant remember much else besides begging for an epidural at transition time (only because I heard another midwife come in and say 6cm and didnt realise she was talking about the lady in the other delivery suite ) I think this labour was more painful because they didnt break my waters until the very last stage - once that happened she was out in 10 mins - not a lot of pushing - mianly breathed her out. Had they of broken my waters earlier - I have no doubt she would have been born much faster - I felt like something was blocking her way - and mum said that even the midwife had trouble breaking the sac - there was no way that was breaking on its own accord So all in all it was still quick from when I started having painful contractions... and so so worth it (although Im glad I dont have to ever do it again!) I did manage to tear again but it was the same tear from both the boys and she came out sideways so had to be turned a bit so no dobut that didnt help!
Keropi
Can I do a me me me post?
But before I do, Gina - yay on being a very very nearly foster carer!
Michelle - gorgeous photo's and loved hearing about stuff going down in your town.
Nic - Oh I just wanna pinch your cheeks - I'm so proud of you and Ellie is beautiful!

Update on the situation here - had a chat with the wife this evening on the way to get milk. It is actually the husband being a pratt and inexperienced at the whole marriage thing. Will tell more later.
MichelleM
Ohhh Nic she is beautiful! Any tiny too, I hope you get to enjoy your newborn for a long time (for longer than my boof!). You wrote exactly how I felt/feel, right down to the co sleeping but that's from my Dad (If I hear that I am making a rod for my own back ONE MORE TIME!)LOL! Actually I bought a couple of things to help with co sleeping safely but havent been able to use either because she feeds on and off all night so if I move her into the snuggle bed or the other safe sleeper thingo I may as well move her into her own bed! She has to touch me which I think is just too cute anyway!

How funny (but not!) Julie. Bad timing coming to stay in the middle of a domestic laughing2.gif

Scarlett is actually still sleeping, has been for a couple of hours now - I'm in shock! It's cold and rainy today though and Isabella is just lounging on the couch so perhaps it's just the day for it.

I've just been on the pumpkin patch website and bought too much! My order was discounted by 50% overall though with the sales.

I think I might go snuggle with Isabella. I can't get warm today.
~JAS~
Scarlett and Ellie are NEWBORNS!! Gosh what would your relatives think if they knew my 'very soon to be' 3 year old crawls into our bed every night! Shawn jumps in anywhere from 1am-3am and stays till morning. Sometimes we take him back, sometimes we don't, sometimes we don't even know he's there till morning. *shrugs* He won't be doing it when he's 15 so what the hell! It works for us original.gif There is absolutely NOTHING wrong with co-sleeping with your newborns girls! grin.gif

Anyway, my head is throbbing after spending the day at kindy on parent roster (22 x 4 and 5yo's will do that to you laughing2.gif ), and I'm starving so going to do an early dinner tonight!

hugs and kisses till next time,
Oh and Gina... YAY!!!! grin.gif

Michaela
Nics
ohh michelle - guess what i might log into at feeding time tonight? 50% off is fab! And whilst this little girl seems to have a few clothes - most are 000 wacko.gif so she needs some bigger sizes right? Well thats what ill tell dh anyway...

Gina - congrats on the foster news! You must be ever so happy...

Julie - what a strange situation you are in... when do you leave there anyway?

Michaela - what were Adam's blood test results? I may have missed a post from you over the last week or so but I dont remember you saying if his results were good or bad?

OK Ellie is now fast asleep and yes we are on the blow up mattress again.... I think Ill start trying to get her to sleep in her cot in the daytime tomorrow - and work my way from there... I still have another 10 days of DH being home so will make the most of that! But for now cosleeping it is unsure.gif

Nite nite and catch up soon
MichelleM
Nic I absolutely agree that Ellie must have some new clothes laughing2.gif ! I had to buy something token for Josh even though the boys stuff was slim pickings but I could have bought the whole shop for Isabella & Scarlett! I ended up getting Scarlett the red overalls (I got her the same pair but in an aqua sort of colour at the shop the other day but I got 0-3mnths which are way too big so bought the red ones in newborn) and the pink stripey hat.

I say to use the next 10 days to rest up, getting feeding sorted and relax!

Michaela No worries about Shawn getting in your bed! Josh has been in and out of our bed for years. Well actually not so much in the past year but certainly till he was 4. He'd still get in our bed if we let him but he's too big now!

I just learnt the football feeding style tonight which made surfing the net, sitting in bed eating chocolate and feeding ever so easy! Actually it gave me the chance to go through 100 photo's I took of Scarlett yesterday! They are in my flickr link if you want to check them out (not 100 of them!).

I sooo have to stop eating! MIL actually said that i had lost weight yesterday! She has been on my back for years about being fat so I was shocked when she said it!! However the breastfeeding thing is not going to keep the weight off forever so I REALLY have to start curbing my binging!

Ok I'm going to stop waffling now!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/66696671@N00/with/2722723956/
Keropi
Nic - wow Stu has a lot of time off, that is great!!

Michelle - checked out your photos on Flicker, you need more of Josh - he is so handsome! And yes - apparently perfect timing here. We leave on Sunday and I am looking forward to having our own space again, even if it is a hotel room. We really did step in the middle of a domestic laughing2.gif

As good as it is to see our friend I think moving away from Aussie land has been extremely hard on him. I can understand. I rang one of my good friend Bec last weekend and it has only been 2 weeks since we left but gee it was good to hear her voice. However, this is the life he chose and he chose to marry an older woman with a child. As we all know men struggle to adjust to family life with their own children so being a typical male he is struggling even more so I think. Things that our DH's are now aware of he is just starting to very sloooowwwlllly get the jist of. And I mean slowly. I don't know why he is scared of her though, she seems reasonable to me and we do get along. In fact, we're shopping tomorrow without kids!!!!
Nics
where are you all?

Michelle - you are never to tell me about PP again! got quite a bit and also one outfit each for the boys.. i figure i can always add it to the xmas santa collection.... some great girls stuff though original.gif

i had a breakthrough this afternoon - a whole 1 hour sleep in her cot! so its a start! will keep at it but its hard to settle her with everything and everyone else around.. and tbh I think she prefers the noise unsure.gif guess she doesnt have much choice with 2 rowdy big brothers laughing2.gif

still going well though..... she did have her allergy tests today and bugger - milk, yeast and nuts came up so fingers crossed if we can get her treated asap she may not be as severe as Aiden.... and may not react through the bm hands.gif

OK best get the afternoon underway - dh is slowly slackening off and im strarting to get frustrated... he may as well be at work if he cant do anything to help - hes busy doing a drain outside for the past 2 days - the only thing he has done today is take the boys to school and preschool - that is it! I havent even managed a nap today so Im going to head to bed with the boys early and he can deal with Ellie until shes due for a feed wink.gif And i guess ill have to cook dinner at some stage too - arrrggghhhh!
Jet07
Hi Nic! I've been pretty much out of the house the past few days. Had a family outing yesterday. Went to a model train exhibition and then was amused by Shea being offered the pick of toys R us for being still for his scan on Friday, and he chose a $2 party bag type toy! DH took the opportunity to buy Super Mario Kart and Monster Jam for the Wii - although it was mainly him and Talon playing when they got home, rather than Shea wacko.gif .

Today Talon and I filled in time while one car was serviced and the other panel beaten, spending from 9:30am to 3pm at an indoor play centre with some other EBers, then went doorknocking for donations (& have a few already biggrin.gif ), while Shea was collected by a school friends Mum and went to their house until we got him at nearly 6pm. I'm exhausted now - have a couple of quieter days coming up to hopefully catch up with you all, before next busy ones on Thursday and Friday.
MichelleM
Sorry Nic! I get the emails regularly but rarely open them because I always get sucked in with the sales and spend too much! So what did you get?!

A huge bugger on the allergy results. What can you do now to reduce the severity? ALso a bummer about S. I have taken to delegating now with things I just can't get around to doing. Although if I don't actually ask, B won't see or do it off his own back. Mind you he does make the kids lunch every day. If I had to do that in the mornings we'd never get out of the door.

What a long day Jannette, bet you're ready to fall into bed tonight! I love Shea's style choosing something cheap out of everything in the store! That's like taking my kids into Coles, telling them that they can have anything they want for morning tea (while I'm gravitating towards the donuts!) and them asking for a piece of fruit!

Julie how did your shopping experience go? Yes I know I desperately need more pics of Josh but he's a typical male who hates having pics taken and when he does he pulls a silly face!

I'm starting to think that my gorgeous Scarlett is not my daughter! I went out for the second time today to try to find an outfit for her Christening this weekend and she would not stay in her pram, instead wanted to be in the sling the whole time which makes things tricky when trying on clothes! As I said, ths was the second time I went shopping for this outfit and the second time she's decided that she hates the pram. Ah well, I've probably got something in my wardrobe suitable!

Ohhh Nic I have to tell you, they have the CUTEST little cardi's at Cotton On Kids for the girls. I got one for Scarlett & Isabella today - stunning!
Nics
michelle - Ellie and I are off for our first shopping trip together today - just the girls tongue.gif how lovely it is to say that! So i will pop in to cotton on kids for aa looksie! You are a bad influence though.........

Re allergies - well the same chiro Ive been taking Aiden to will treat each allergy - they use acupressure. So whilst it wont miraculously clear the allergen if its severe - its supposed to help the body's energy and immune system so in Ellie's case that might be all thats needed.. Aiden was too far gone but it may help him outgrow it earlier (if he is going to!) That probably doesnt make a whole lot of sense but Im hopeful in Ellie's case that she can be helped as shes only 10 days old!

Its feeding time so trying to type onehanded... but she has slept from 10:30-3:15 so I cant complain... Im starting to worry about this cosleeping though. Well not really but she just doesnt like the cot. She has had 2 sleeps in there - 1X 1 hour and 1X 1/2 hour. Do you think its just a matter of persevering in the daytime and one day she will just click? With the cosleeping there just isnt enough room in the bed with all 3 of us so either DH or I have to sleep downstairs on the mattress. I dont mind doing this as it means I have access to Foxtel instead of infomercials wink.gif but its a bit of a pain IYKWIM. However I also realise its working for us right now and I actually am not that sleep deprived. So I guess Im after your advice - do we just keep doing what we are doing and concentrating on getting her to sleep in cot in daytime? Then nighttime will just click? She just loves being near me and close to me and at this stage settles really well as long as she is cosleeping unsure.gif FWIW she does get wrapped and also has a dummy and is in a snuggle bed in her cot (with the angelcare monitor) so I dont think its a matter of feeling safe and secure... Ive also done your trick Michaela and put something Ive been wearing in the cot so she has my smell.... but shes cluey this one laughing2.gif

OK she seems to have finished which is my cue to log off... I dont think IVe used the internet this much in a year!

Jules - how are you travelling atm?

Michaela - where are you? Hope all is OK!

Jet - things slowed down as yet?

Gina - whats the latest with the foster situation?

Ping - you wait to you meet her IRL.. that will get you clucky alright!

Nite nite
FloralArrangement
Nic me personally wouldn't find it too comfortable on an air mattress. Our kids went into cots more or less straight away we wrapped them tightly and put them in this thing that stopped them from rolling BUT if it is working for you and she is only 10 days old...

Our report has been sent and apparently they are being processed in a month at the moment ohmy.gif so we have to do a 1st aid course get some police checks of people who are an every day part of our life and voila, well not quite.

So I am glad that the work thing has been sluggish as I have a feeling that I will have my hands full.

Tomorrow night Lily has her dance performance in the city so we are off to that.

Other than that just doing bits and pieces.

G.
~JAS~
I'm here Nic!

Just been really busy. Will catch up properly soon I promise.

Was Josh's 7th birthday yesterday ohmy.gif He had footy training last night so I made cupcakes for his team (even though DH reckons 'cupcakes' and 'footy' don't belong in the same sentence together rolleyes.gif ). After training they all sang happy birthday to Josh (he had a candle in his cupcake!), then all the boys ate one original.gif

You guys know my football nut Josh - birthday cake with his team mates singing happy birthday to him - in the middle of the field he plays his home games on - it was the highlight of his day laughing2.gif

Back tonight, or at least tomorrow!

Michaela
FloralArrangement
Tomorrow night Lily has her dance performance in the city so we are off to that.

I just reread my post this sounds like we live such a great distance away from the big smoke, but it is actually a 10 minute drive away. (Adelaide is a bit like that)

I love 7 Michaela it seems the time after baby and before hormones.

Happy to you Josh

Gina
MichelleM
Just quickly popping in to say

HAPPY BIRTHDAY to SHAWN & JOSHUA!!

Oh and that Tyson Beckford guy ohmy.gif ohmy.gif ohmy.gif

Josh is sick with a high temo and very sleepy so I can see I'm in for a bad one tonight. Hopefully it's not too serious wiith the Christening Sunday.
Nics

Feeling very emotional tonight! I thought things seemed to be going a little too well....

we had our homevisit today and Ellie has lost weight - in fact she is now less than her discharge weight.... Im really shattered! You would think 3rd time around I would know a thing or two.. basically its her attachment - she is very lazy and gets the first let down then is all over the place. I knew there was a slight problem with one side but just thought she preferred the left hand side... so I feel like my confidence has been shattered IYKWIM. The poor thing has been so hungry and I didnt see the signs. Midwife said that is more than likely the reason she hasnt been settling in her cot either. Because she is hungry she wants to be near the food source AKA me!

So the plan is I have to express every 3 hours and wake her for a bottle of EBM so we can see how much she is getting and taking! Apparently this is the fastest solution! It is good that it has been picked up so quickly as my supply is good and has not yet diminished but given another week we would have to probably express every hour to build it up again so Im thankful for that! So she has had 3 bottles since lunchtime and gulped them down - but also been so so settled - in fact has slept straight after the feed and every single time in her cot! Because she hasnt been having enough food her energy levels are really low so whilst I thought she was quite settled and sleeping - she really was only sleeping for 45mins max in the day before waking and trying to feed then tiring herself out again - its a vicious cycle. Then come nighttime she was exhausted - thus why I have been getting a 4-5 hour stint in there (knew it was too good to be true tongue.gif )

So we have a weigh in first thing Mon morning and hands.gif she has put on weight in that time. Midwife seems to think it will make a huge difference. Then we will review the feeding plan then but more than likely will move to breastfeeding first then offering a top up of EBM - so either way I have lots of expressing to do over the next week.

DH did ask if he should have next week off too - but TBH I think he is more a hinderance. Sure he helps with the school drop offs etc but nothing else! Im in 2 minds actually - maybe I should see how tired I am over the weekend and then judge it?

Anyway feeling very flat and a bit out of my depth now! Anyone been in this situation before?

OK off for my big sleep now but will be back tomorrow Im sure original.gif

Oh and happy birthday to Shawn and Josh!
MichelleM
I just came back to check before closing the pc down and saw your post Nic. I'm so sorry that this is all happening and huge hugs to you. I don't know much about breast feeding this being my first time but it sounds as though you have a plan and some good support so I have everything crossed that this is a small blip (although I'm sure it doesn't feel like it at the moment) and once Ellie gets a bit bigger and stronger, you can go back to breastfeeding without the rest of it.

I'd also take up DHs offer for having next week off. Try to have a day where you don't do anything else but stay in bed and feed & eat. I was feeling run down last week so stayed in bed till midday ( ohmy.gif yes I know!!) last Sunday. It helped so much just dozing and feeding and the in and out visits of Josh and Bel of course.

Look after yourself ok!
FloralArrangement
Nic

Don't feel down all is well now and as the midwife said it was picked up quickly. I had all sorts of issues with Rose and because Lily was so easy as a baby (not as a 10 year old) I was a tad freaked out but it did settle.

Hope you have a quiet, relaxing and sleepy weekend xx

Lily did her concert last night it was great. Today she is hysterical and crying for tiredness and telling me I don't care and I don't know what it feels like, I nearly said "yeah try childbirth' But didn't. Her teacher and I had a convo and she said the same thing lol (not too lily) could have kept her with me but what do you do.

Rose is funny she has a had a bit of trouble settling into school, lots of crying (Daisy was the same) anyway one day she was crying on and I said "Have this" it was an old multi trip bus ticket she laughed and looked after it all day. So thus far I have given her a note, shopping dockets, she had a gum nut one day and today I gave her a MCDonalds toy goes off happy as larry, truly sad. But hey it works.

Keep posting Nic if you need us. xx

Jules is having wayyyyyyyyyyy to much fun to talk to us xx

Love to everyone xxx

Gina
FloralArrangement
Note I have changed my user name to a grown up one laughing2.gif see if you can work it out xx

Happy to you Josh and Shawn (This is how the kids said when they were little xx)

Gina
~JAS~
Gina, you had me very confused with the new username, and nup I can't work it out - I'm useless at things like that wink.gif Thanks for the birthday wishes. My baby is 3!!

Nic, bbighug.gif sorry to hear of Ellie's weight sad.gif As you said, good to pick it up now though. Will keep my fingers crossed for a gain on Monday!

Bit strange we haven't heard from Julie for a while.

M
FloralArrangement
Michaela really think about it...

My bubba is 5 cry1.gif it totally sucks doesn't it?

Gina xx
Keropi
I'm here, I'm here and yes I have been too busy having fun but gee I'm bloody exhausted! Try doing Disney World 10am - 11pm and then taking sometimes 1 1/2 hrs to get home. Tonight we missed the last bus and had to catch a cab. Not as $$$ as I thought it was thank goodness. I'm meeting my American mummy friends that I was pregnant with, with Aurora. Actually only meeting 2 mummies. I'm so excited. It will be strange to see them in the flesh.

Do you know Princess Belle asked my kiddies what they like about home and Aurora said sleeping in her bed, and Ashie said Avacado's. I don't know whether to laugh or cry - is that the end result of my parenting and giving my children life experiences in their own country - sleeping and avacado's!!??
I let you all know when the blog is updated from this week's adventures at Disney.

Anyway Nic - you poor sausage. I would take up your Stu's offer. But get his butt moving! A newborn baby is hard enough as it is without 2 children and a husband and a house to take care of. You need to be as stress free as possible to keep that milk flowing, so Stu taking the week off is step 1 to that solution. Even if he is just doing the school run. I still hate doing the school run LOL Yeah having 3 kiddies can be overwhelming, but only when the going gets tough. Hang in there hon, take up people's offers of help and you just concentrate on your gorgeous girl and boys.

Gina - so tell us your secrets!

Jannette - how are you?

Update on the friends we left - they are still fighting and somehow I have been caught in the middle of it and have our friend asking what I said to his wife about how he treats her! I've told him I just listened like Damien did for you, but somehow she has said something to him and misunderstood my listening ear for taking sides. I had no choice but to listen to her vent about him what else was I meant to do! Anyway so he is emailing me and so is she!!! I just want to block them both until they stop fighting. In fact I don't think I have ever seen a couple fight like they do. And I am upset they we are stuck in the middle of this.
micallep
Oh Nic, try not to let it get you down. As you said, you've been going great and just because you've had kiddies it doesn't mean you should have picked up something. Chin up, you've got an action plan now and that's all that matters original.gif.

Happy birthday Shawn and Joshy!

Gotta go and get ready to go out for dinner at parents from Jordan's school.

Keropi
Oh I forgot to wish Josh and Shawn a big HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! Where did the time go Michaela. When I visited you Shawn was a new born!!!

Gina - I got it now - bit slow around here today aren't we?! laughing2.gif
Keropi
Argh, I thought we were leaving Orlando on Monday but it is actually Sunday we fly out to Dublin and we still haven't finished what we need to see!!! So now I'm in panic mode - never enough time!! wacko.gif
~JAS~
laughing2.gif Gina, I've got it now grin.gif Just a bit slow wink.gif

Don't have much time. Really busy day, was down Gold Coast for breakfast. Have friends from Sydney that've been up for a week (Nic, it was Kym, who Shawn and I stayed with in Padstow when we were down in Aug 06!). This morning was the only chance we had to catch up with them, and they're driving back today. So was early morning to get down there. They were staying in an apartment right on the beach, 19th floor - you walk in and all you see in front of you is the ocean - massive windows in the unit looking out over the water. Absolutely breathtaking. They didn't wanna go home!

Just came home from my aunt's for lunch, and for the boys to catch up with my cousin's kids for a play. tonight I'm taking Josh to the football and was just checking details online for that. Bulldogs vs Josh's beloved Cowboys is being played here, so I have to take Josh. He usually only gets to see his team play live once a year when they're here vs the Broncos!

Anyway, wanted to drop in and wish Michelle all the best for Scarlett's big day tomorrow. Hope all goes well!

Michaela
Nics
Hey girls

Im still around - just been very busy pumping and expressing for the precious one! She seems to be going really well though - she takes whatever I give her in the bottle so if she hasnt put on any weight Monday there is definitely another problem. I did however decide to ring the ABA on Friday as I was a little concerned with the advice given to me.... if I am solely to give her bottle and no breast until Monday - how on earth is that helping the latching on problem? I realise the weight gain is the most important thing atm but so is establishing bf if I want to contineu (which I do!) If she takes a bottle so easily it could only take 2 days for her to realise its a lot easier that way IYKWIM ??

So have decided to feed her from one breast first then give her a bottle then pump the remaining breast ready for the next feed .. and that seems to be working. She still isnt very good with the attachment but I can see a slight improvement each feed. Im also taking Blessed Thistle and Fenugreek to help wtih supply - whilst its not low the pumping wouldnt be as good as her sucking so I thought I should do something to help!

So Im coping right now and hanging out for the weigh in on Monday morning. She is a very different baby though since shes been having a bottle.. I thought she was settled before but now she actually sleeps for long periods and I have to wake her for feeds if she goes too long. AND the best thing is she is sleeping in the cot grin.gif although she does prefer to sleep in the rocker during the day where all the noise is laughing2.gif she loves to hear her big brothers wub.gif DH and I actually got to sleep in the same bed last night for the first time since I went into labour I did ask him this morning to try to get the extra 4 days off work this week - the expressing is very time consuming and hard on the boys (and me!) so it would really make a difference hands.gif Ive got ulcers all in my mouth due to the stress and cold sores appearing on my lips... which I only ever get when extremely run down so its a sure sign for me that I need some additional help!

Boys are also sick with nasty flu/cold symptoms - so lethargic and chesty coughs and so so bad tempered and naughty rant.gif

Michelle - have a lovely day tomorrow - make sure you post some pics when you get a chance! I have to tell you I ended up going back to Cotton on and purchasing the orange cardy with the macthing pinafore and white shirt for underneath grin.gif made me feel better anyway !

Michaela - I know you are at the footy atm... how did Shawn and Josh enjoy their bdays? I dont think I actually met Kym cause she was in hosoital with one of her kids at the time ?? But I do know who you are talking about wink.gif

Gina - I got your user name straight away and that is even with being sleep deprived tongue.gif

Jules - enjoy your last day in the US! But can I say you are going to a great place - Dublin! Any q's you may have fire away over the coming days - I did frequent Ireland quite a bit whilst living in London blush.gif

Ok think my darling is waking for the next round and then Im having a very early night unsure.gif well thats the plan anyway - it usually doesnt end up that way for some reason
~JAS~
grin.gif OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG grin.gif

We were in the front row at the football. One of the newspaper photographers who was near us came over to talk to Josh at the end of the first half. Asked him who his favourite player is and Josh told him "Matty Bowen and Johnathon Thurston" (both of whom are out injured atm!)

Just before the 2nd half started, I could see the photographer talking to JT and pointing down towards us. Then they came running down to us! Josh and I got to meet Johnathon Thurston!! Won't mean much to many of you I know wink.gif but this bloke is a superstar, and Josh idolises him original.gif He was awesome with Josh, chatting to him too grin.gif

The photographer took photos of Josh and JT together, and has given me his email address - told me to email him and then he'll email me back with the photos, but I also took one on my mobile phone camera ...
http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a355/Mic...aWilson/054.jpg

Photographer took us into the media room under Suncorp Stadium after the match because he didn't have a pen on him to write his email address on - then he showed us out the back exit out onto the street - and we ended up walking out amongst the Bulldogs players (the opposition tonight) on their way out to their team bus! Josh was telling all the Bulldogs players "Yay the Cowboys won!" blush.gif laugh.gif They were really great about it though and were laughing at the massive Cowboy hat on his head original.gif

Great night original.gif

Nic Kym picked me up from your house - then she went back to the hospital again!! Fingers crossed for the weigh in on Monday! I'm glad you got some more advice from ABA too. Sounds like a plan, and I hope DH can get the 4 days off!!
MichelleM
All of our clothes are ironed & set out, I've made copious amounts of choc bounty tarts, caramel tarts and marsbar slices (other food is at Mums where the party afterwards is) and camera batteries are on charge which means that everything is ready for tomorrow BUT I feel so unorganised like I've forgotton something very important! I just REALLY hope that Scarlett handles the service and doesn't want to be fed the whole time!

Sounded like a great night Michaela! I showed the Brett the pic and he knew exactly who the guy was even if I didn't!!!!

Nic I'm so glad to hear that you have a plan but do try to do as little as possible otherwise, because it sounds as though it's taking it out of you big time. The girls are wearing their new cardies tomorrow so I'll post a pic!

Thanks for the info on the allergies, I never knew you could treat it like that.

Julie am off to check out your blog after this, haven't for a week or so now! How much longer till you see your brother and his new baby? Bummer about being in the middle of the domestic with your friend and his wife.

Ping I hope you had a good night out. It sounds as though your school has a close knit community which is lovely.

Gina I got your new user name right away although, for the life of me, I can't remember your old one now!! How is Lily now, recovered from her big night laughing2.gif Gotta love the drama queen antics!

Well I suppose it's time for bed. Scarlett is unsettled tonight so I should make the most of sleep now.
**LISA**
HELLO EVERYONE! waves.gif Hey thought I should show myself after being AWOL for sooo long.

Firstly, Nic, A huge congrats on the arrival of your adorable little princess. Also I do hope tomorrow brings weight gain (for her not you) lol.

Michaela, A huge HAPPY BIRTHDAY to JOSH AND SHAWN!!! What an awesome thing for Josh to meet JT. Yeh I do know who and how big he is! WOW.

Julie, Argh... I think your friends DH is just looking for someone to blame. Unfortunately you were there at the wrong time....

Michelle, How did the service go...was Scarlett okay? Hang on, I read that you posted today that all is ready for tomorrow, does that mean you are having a service on Monday?? In any case I do hope all goes/went well.

Me, well the kids are great, I am going okay, though absolutely cr#pping myself at having to pack up this place. We, or I should say I have been here for 12yrs but there is definitely 40yrs of 'stuff' here to sort through. oomg.gif Our move is set for around 26th Sept. Only 7 wks!!! BUT I am looking forward to my NEW home that is for sure.

I am going to go now because I have a little/big girl reading over my shoulder!! And I really think she needs to go to bed! (gigggle giggle from Michaella)

I hope to catch up soon
Lisa
FloralArrangement
Michelle I hope yesterday went well the food sounded nice, if you wish to post the recipes they would be much appreciated. We have that chicken and soup pie quite often blush.gif

Nic bet the weigh in goes terrifically.

Wow Michaela how cool at the footy for you and Josh.

Julie have you told that couple to pull their head in yet and stop externalising their marriage issues?

How is Dublin?

Gina xx
Nics
Just wanted to let you know that Ellie put on 230g grin.gif so we are back on track. Have to keep comping her with EBM but decrease the amount and she will be weighed again on Thursday to make sure shes doing the right thing. Got some great advice on bf and some oral exercises to do with her beforehand to help her along wink.gif So Im feeling a bit better tonight AND I told DH how much I needed him here this week and hes taken the rest of the week off! As much as we are back on track - I still have to express after every feed so Im very time poor atm - and that doesnt sit well with school pick up and drop off and Aiden's swimming lessons etc. Not to mention all the boys including DH have colds so everyone is a tad cranky/tired/miserable etc!

Ok its time for another milking session but I just had to let you all know the good news! We are almost back to birthweight which is great news. Oh and shes sleeping by herself after every feed - she seems to love her cot now laughing2.gif one extreme to the other wacko.gif Although DH is giving her a little cuddle now - she was sitting in her rocker quite content and he couldnt help himself and thought he would pick her up wub.gif She has him wrapped around her little finger already tongue.gif

Michelle - did you survive yday?
MichelleM
rant.gif I just did a whole post and lost it!

Nic I just wrote how happy I am that Ellie had such a good gain and it sounds as though S is totally besotted!

Gina, the tarts are so embarrassingly easy, lets just say that for the caramel ones all you need are buttermilk? biscuits and a tin of top & fill!

Lisa I LOVE your new home, I'm especially in love with your back yard if you can call it that! Good luck with the move, moving after 8 years was bad enough!

The Christening went really well. Scarlett cried for most of the service but thankfully calmed down once the water was pured over her head of all times (you can tell she loves her bath!!). Josh and Bel were so well behaved, like OMG extremely well behaved laughing2.gif .

Pics are here if you want to have a squiz: http://www.flickr.com/photos/66696671@N00/
Keropi
Michelle- gorgeous photo's!!! Scarlett melts my heart wub.gif

Nic - yay on Ellie's weight gain. Glad the comp feeding is working well and hopefully soon you won't have to do it.

Lisa- I love the house too. But still wanna know the farm story!

Man - the airline left one of my bags back in the US. Thankfully it has bits and pieces and not our clothes. So I am hands.gif that it gets to us here in Ireland in the next couple of days. Apart from that it is our first day here after a very long delayed couple of flights that doubled our time of travel to get here. However Damien has mapped out the U2 tour of Ireland and we will conquer that tomorrow. The B&B we are in is lovely and we are being looked after. The lady who lives here made the kiddies hot chocolate as soon as we arrived, told them to help them selves to the yoghurt in the mini fridge in the breakkie room and then after we showered got out ham, cheese and bread for us to have lunch. Thankfully they said we could cook here because I can't stop converting in my head and you know how frugal I can be! Eating out is incredible here. Nic what can you recommend!! Also do you think we could navigate our way around Ireland without a GPS?
Nics
Jules - we ate out at pubs mainly - huge serves so you guys could all share... just not sure if kiddies are allowed in the pubs over there?? I was childless when I did my travelling grin.gif so a little different! Ask the B&B lady - the Irish are ever so helpful so Im sure she could point you in the right direction. Ireland is very easy to navigate - even for you tongue.gif so Im sure you will be fine...

Michelle - gorgeous pics! How beautiful is she? BTW my PP order arrived - loved everything! The bounty tarts sounded so good - how did you make those?

OK Miss Ellie is screaming so best go and feed again! She didnt have a great night last night so we are feeling it toay - or should I say I am feeling it? wink.gif

FloralArrangement
Michelle, I understand the tin of stuff but do I crush up the biscuits and add buttermilk??????

The photos are delicious of Scarlett btw

Gina xx
MichelleM
Woops sorry Gina, I meant butternut biscuits!! Anyway you lay the biscuits over the holes of a cup cake pan thingo and put them in the oven for about 3 mins (till they're soft enough to be pressed into the tin with your finger). This becomes the tart shell/base/thingos. Once cooled, open the tin of top & fill and spoon in the shells (I put the caramel into the microwave for a few seconds to soften it up). Put in fridge to set - toldya it was too easy!

Bounty tarts - again too easy although I didn't particularly love them. I bought the premade tart shell/base/thingos(!) from woolies but the butternut biccies would be yum too.

Melt 2x50g bounty bars & 125g of chocolate together, mix thoroughly & then stir in 1/4 cup of thickened cream. Put in fridge to cool and stiffen & then spoon into the tart cases - that's the word I was looking for - cases! Sprinkle with cocoa to serv.

I put some crushed almonds on some of these to make them a tad more interesting.

How exciting getting your PP order Nic! I am so dissapointed, the red overalls I got Scarlett were too small so I took them to the shop today to exchange them and they had none left. I ended up getting her a long sleeved Tshirt instead but I wanted the overalls! Looking forward to getting the second order I placed now blush.gif I got over $130 worth of stuff for under $60 though.

Julie sounds like you're on a winner with the B&B (I just cracked myself up - I read Bold & the Beautiful for B&B!). huge bummer on your luggage.

Scarlett has picked up a cold from the weekend I'm sure. Poor baby is so stuffed up with a green nose and a cough. I think the cough is from the snot though. Poor thing was finding it quite hard to breathe and eat last night but I have some fess and hopefully she'll knock it on the head soon.
Nics
Michelle- I was out at the chemist this morning cause it looks like Ellie has caught the boys' colds.... I bought some Fess and on the advice from another mum at school (I dropped J at school this morning) there is a spray called Medic Spray - its from the makers of Lemsip.. and totally safe for babies - Ive sprayed that around her room and shes still asleep 3 hours later! I will however have to wake her to feed very soon mad.gif But go and grab some if you can - I ended up spraying it all over the house much to DH's digust (he hates Glen 20 though - strange man!)
Wish I had of known about the overalls - I would have bought them from you - I missed those in the PP order for some reason unsure.gif and TBH we are a little low here on 0000/newborn clothes. Ive got quite a bit in 000 but shes not going to be in those for at least a month (my guess is maybe even 6-8 weeks time) but all the shops here have had clearance sales on therefore there isnt much left for winter in a 0000. And I tried a 000 suit on her and OMG the poor thing was tangled within 5 mins ohmy.gif I could just do another PP order I suppose (but Im trying hard not too buy too much in the one hit so DH doesnt notice too much on the CC and freak out over $$ grin.gif )

OK Im off to make jelly with J - its j sound this week and I promised him we'd make some together so best do that before Miss wakes for a feed! Oh the juggling act....
micallep
Michelle, congratulations on Scarlett's Christening! Gosh she looks gorgeous in her dress and bonnet wub.gif .
The tarts sound devine, have to give them a go, make them next week for Jordan's book parade day. Just need to know what top and fill is LOL! I assume it's some sort of caramel filling, is it from the cake section? Any particular brand of butternut cookies?

Nic, that's gr8 news on the weight gain. Hope you can stop expressing very soon, it's terribly time consuming and then having to wash all the gear and steralising after each express!!! How adorable that S is so in love with her.

Michaela, I've no idea whatsoever about footy players but it sounds like an awesome experience! It's great when these sporting guys take time out for the kiddies.

Julie, well your accommodation certainly sounds more comfortable than the last one LOL! I can't believe they got you involved in their domestic blush.gif .

I stayed home today with Sienna, she's got a bit of an ear infection & mucousy cough. Us girls had a lovely nap together. Oh what bliss to have a nap everyday LOL! Jordan has grandparents day together with book parade next Wednesday. I'm doing a costume loan from another mum, so glad I didn't have to make anything this year!!!

xxx to everyone else.
Keropi
Nic - would you believe Medic Spray was around when I was a kid and I remember using it. The old folks would spray it on a tissue and I remember it working. It spun me out when you said you bought some.

Ping - we actually were in orlando last week in the most amazing accommodation at the Hilton! But yes I am glad we are out of that domestic, hopefully it stops following me - I've had no emails since.

Yay I got my bag back today - delivered to the B&B. Michelle what is happening in it lately - I'm having withdrawals LOL. Man it poured rain here most of the day. Our shoes were squelching with water when we got back even more so after stepping in a 20cm deep puddle ohmy.gif had no choice as we had to cross the road and it was flooding. Nic - the B&B people are saying it is expensive everywhere and it is! But you reckon the meals are huge, we may have to try. We just paid 18 Euro for a pizza we pay $6 for back home - Dominos - the same!! But alas it was the closest place to where we are staying for take out in torrential rain.
~JAS~
Glad your bag turned up fairly quickly Julie. Same thing happened to me once - we flew in from Honolulu via Sydney. Plane was late leaving Honolulu so by the time we got to Sydney it was literally RUN to the domestic terminal for our flight home - one of my bags didn't make the flight! Qantas delivered it right to my door later that day though original.gif

Ping The photographer was saying that JT is one of the best players in the NRL for taking time out with the kids. Very down to earth guy original.gif Somebody from Scott's work plays for what was JT's local club before he made the big time - it's here in Brisbane. Apparently JT still goes to the club to have a 'drink with the boys' when he's in Brisbane original.gif Fame hasn't gone to his head at all, it's great.

Adam's turn to try and get a photo with HIS hero today! It's a public hol here and Darren Lockyer is going to be at the shops near PIL house - so we're off to try and see him for Adam today (yer yer and for me too tongue.gif )

Nic Great to hear about the 230gr! Thats awesome! Fingers crossed you won't be having to express for much longer. Are you on anything to increase your milk supply as well?

Lisa I can appreciate you being scared to pack! We'd only been at our old house for 4 years and that was bad enough!

Michelle LMAO at Scarlett being happier when the water was poured over her head - isn't that the point they're supposed to START crying, not stop? laugh.gif Just had a squiz at your pics - Scarlett is beautiful but I have to say her big sister is just stunning ohmy.gif Look out Brett, you better get your shotgun ready wink.gif

Michaela
~JAS~
One very excited Adam!
Boys and Locky

eexcite.gif

I was chatting to another mum there this morning who had her 2 boys with her - 4yo and nearly 6yo. Her nearly 6yo was shorter than Adam! Sounds crazy I know, but it was so exciting to meet a 5yo shorter than Adam wink.gif Her 4yo was about Shawn's height too. We had a chat about 'little' boys wink.gif
Keropi
Michaela- how cute, Adam is sooo cute! Josh looks so grown up with his missing teeth wub.gif

Hope all those sick ones are feeling better today.
Jet07
Hi - have read but no time to reply. Got through the 9 days of 14 without a car ok, but need to take mine back again to get a minor problem with new stereo fixed. Been doorknocking businesses for donations with lots of success for little items but urgently need a major prize for the raffle. Medicaly we're all fine apart from sniffles. Loving the Olympics of course.

Gotta get to bank and supermarket before school run so better go..
Keropi
Jannette- have you tried Sydney bridge climb. Ashie's preschool got one last year (which I bought in an auction). Apparently they donate. Also my friend up the central coast had one for a fund raiser she went to. Might be worth a try.

C'mon girls I'm in Ireland-where are y'all.

We drove to Cork today and gee it is lovely down here. Glad we are out of the city. I'm kissing the Blarney stone tomorrow!
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.