The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: Multiples under 1 ~ # 34

Essential Baby > Babies > Twins, Triplets, Quads and More
Nee
New thread time.

Link to last thread.
~Bec~
GOLD!!

This is an interesting article on allergies and introducing solids, that is, I believe, related to the study my paed was referring to: http://www.abc.net.au/rn/backgroundbriefin...008/2226031.htm

There is this shift in thinking amongst experts in the field that, you're right, maybe delaying the introduction makes it worse, not better. I take that back: delaying foods does not prevent allergy; I don't know that it makes it worse, there is no good evidence that it makes it worse, but it certainly doesn't make it better, so why would you do it?

I think in the next year or two, you're going to hear that the current recommendations for avoiding foods and delaying the introduction of solid foods in infancy and avoiding things like eggs, milk and so forth, and peanut in young children, is going to be changed so that we are not going to be any more recommending the delayed exposure to these foods. The earlier, maybe the better.

Importantly, some emerging data suggests that there might be a window of opportunity between four and seven months when you're actually very good at developing tolerance to foods. So your natural body's tendency is when you eat a food to not react to it. You learn not to react to it, you learn to be tolerant of it. And it seems that there is a window period between age four to seven months where foods introduced at that time, particularly if under the cover of breastfeeding, you are very likely to be able to be tolerant to it. It's the optimal time to develop tolerance against foods.

there has been a huge recognition recently that maybe by avoiding foods or delaying the introduction of foods to infant diet may actually be doing more harm than good. We need to understand that this practice has risen out of what was thought was best, and it was thought that perhaps the immature immune system was better off not seeing these things until it had become more mature. But now we know, of course, that the development of tolerance to these foods is actually dependent on early, regular expose to these foods, and that's how in animals and normal humans that tolerance develops.

It's a rather long article, but very interesting reading.

Happy Mothers' Day everyone! And an extra special wish to those celebrating their very first Mothers' Day wub.gif.
kazzil
Silver!

Happy mother's day everyone!!!

Niss, how is Ruby? Settling down yet?
*Pink*Licorice*
BRONZE

WOW!

HAPPY MOTHERS DAY!

Thats all I have to say right now laughing2.gif
-MissNiss-
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif Naomi...what are you doing on the net at that time... blink.gif blink.gif

Happy Mothers Day everyone...

losec might be kicking in but very slowly...

At 9pm last night Jacob let out this scream and wouldn't stop. He was inconsolable. We massaged his belly; that gave him some relief. He's never done that before. It was very frightening. I gave him infant panadol which knocked him out! (is that what colic is??? hope it doesn't happen again...)

His stools have been very dry since we introduced the thickener. I wonder if that was what was bothering him??? So I reduced the amount of thickener only to have him stop feeding after 10ml because its flowing too fast... cry1.gif cry1.gif cry1.gif

ETA I did a huge rant but things are looking much brighter today biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Have a FANTASTIC MOTHER'S DAY everyone!!!

lol Niss xxx
fringe82
Hello all (typing 1 handed- feeding)

"HAPPY MOTHERS DAY"

quick q- did anyone use fenugreek for supply? did it work? how much to take? and can u take it with blackmores preg n feeding gold? Is natures own 1000mg.. hope someone knows

thanks
~Bec~
Hi Fringe - I took 3x3 capsules a day until I stank of it lol. But yes it worked within about 3 days - I particularly noticed the evening supply had increased. You can take it with the Blackmores stuff original.gif.

Nerissa - glad the Losec seems to be kicking in. Hope Jacob is feeling much better this morning - is he getting constipated maybe?? Sorry I have no experience with thickeners.
doubleornothing
happy mothers day to all!!!![font=Century Gothic][u][color=#009900]

vic xxx

hahahahahaa....the font change and colour didnt work obviously!!!
kazzil
Niss, both my two were constipated and got lots of wind on the thickner. The pain from that was almost as bad as the reflux from what I could tell. Gia didn't have problems on a combination of AR and Gold, but BJ just had to have Gold it was so bad.

What did everyone do for mother's day? Did you get spoilt? My two did paintings (ok blobs of paint with little finger marks in it) at day care and these were laminated into place mats. Very cute! DP surprised me with a topaz&diamond ring biggrin.gif We had all our parents over for lunch - it was lovely!
doubleornothing
sounds like you had a great day kazzil! what a good gift idea - i may pinch it for fathers day this year!!!!

we went on a really nice bush walk and then had a picnic lunch...i was also treated to a sleep in!!!!!!

lucky me
gumby
HAPPY BELATED MOTHERS DAY TO YOU ALL wub.gif wub.gif

Just checking in and saying a quick Hello waves.gif and popping my head up to let you all know we are still alive. Not sure at this stage when we'll be back (booked one way tickets so we didn't have to rush to get things done) but I'll be sure to let all you Brissy girls know so we can have that meet up finally laughing2.gif
anonebber
Wow, my girls are 11 months old today!!

I hope everyone had a better Mother's day than me sad.gif DH spent the day playing warcraft, apart from a picnic (which I had to pack and then unpack when we got home), and all I got was a card sad.gif

We are now down to 1 BF before bed, and an extra for Elke overnight becuase she won't go back to sleep without it. I decided to not offer, not refuse and they've happily dropped them ddance.gif I feel very liberated, and have decided to go back to work one day per week after their birthday.

We also got colds from AMBA tiny tots (same one as Bec went to) so are a bit miserable. On top of that Elke has popped 3 teeth in 4 days wacko.gif

In the last week Gabbie has started to stand unsupported for 15-20 secs at a time, and is getting better everyday.

Gumby - glad to hear the flight was uneventful. Looking forward to a big meet up when you're back in QLD.
doubleornothing
holy moly! 3 teeth in 4 days?????? as my boys are only 5 months i have yet to enter the wonderful world of teeth - is 3 teeth in 4 days unusual? or is she just a fast grower? grin.gif
telli

Hope everyone had a good day yesterday.

Grub mine was about as good as yours, I didn't even get a card but I did get a little box of chocolates with a sticky note on saying Happy Mothers Day. DH spent the day alternating between grouting our floor and play GTA4 while I did everything with the babies and the housework. I shouldn't complain I guess, I have 2 happy, healthy babies but I'm still going to grin.gif

Fringe took about 2 days for Fenugreek to kick in and then the difference was huge, I dropped the dose becuase I was worried about mastitis it worked that well.

Hope everyone is well.
-MissNiss-
I had a pretty cr@p mother's day too... no card OR gift or recognition of the day from DH. I'd spent the night before doing all feeds because it was DH's birthday but nothing was done for me...

Went to Mum's for lunch (which I had to convince DH to go to) but I was so b*ggered that we left early on the premise that I would get some sleep... no luck there as the losec hasn't really kicked in yet

On the up side, DH is usually so supportive that I guess every day is like a mother's day. Only thing is he just doesn't get that you need to be rooly rooly rooly organised to be a parent of twins, so I end up racing around doing everything between feeds (eg washing, sterilising, wasking and hanging out clothers) while he plays whatever or watches tv.

R and J had their 4-month vacs today. Gee J is good. He just cried for about 1 min and that was it. R is taking longer to settle. J just smiles at everyone now... he's a cutie!!! wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif

Also J finally did a big poo just as the doctor threatened him with med to loosen his stools!!! grin.gif grin.gif I'd been so concerned I was considering stopping the weaning process and giving him just EBM but seeing a good poo stopped that thought process (almost) entirely! I still have the guilts though.

Having trouble weaning myself. I have a good-flow breast and a really slow flow breast. The good flow one is softening nicely. But I just don't want to spend 45 min a time expressing just to reduce the hardness of the slow flow breast. I no longer express to empty though (but it means I have to express more often) - I'm hoping this tactic works. The dr gave me supply-stopping meds to take if nothing is working in a week or so.

Kazzil, I've reduced the amount of thickener in J's feeds but its flowing too fast now for him!!!!! (J's feeding sagas just never end!!! wacko.gif wacko.gif ) So my next trick is a slow flow orthodontic teat with less or no thickener added to formula... R seems ok (apart from the losec not kicking in yet)... she needs more thickener than J...

Grub and Telli... sorry to hear about your respective mothers days! 3 teeth in 4 days... wowee...

Gumby: all the best in Melb. Who/where are you staying? Have you found a good school? Are you going to move to Melb permanently? Happy 11 months to your bubs!!!

Ok that's enough from me... there's too much work to do around here to be idling my time away!!! grin.gif grin.gif

Niss x
anonebber
I know I shouldn't complain as I really do feel so lucky to be a mother, especially so coming from an IVF background. It just feels like a lot of work for very little reward, but I guess that's just motherhood biggrin.gif

I'm not sure about 3 teeth in 4 days being unusual, she's (E) has 6 now and Gabbie still only has the two on the bottom. They were three all in a row if that makes any difference. My nephew got 3 in a weekend about a month ago. My two are generally slow teethers so maybe they're just starting to catch up. We had a few nasty nights and a bit of a drop in appetite, but I think she handled it really well wub.gif

Chantel - I love wub.gif your sig. What a great photo.

Sorry to hear others had a bad day too wacko.gif Dh's hey?

Niss - what about hand expressing rather than pumping?? Not sure, but maybe it would be less stimulating? What do others think?
-MissNiss-
I agree Grub... I feel VERY lucky to be a mum (another from an IVF background)... especially lucky that my 2 seem to be very happy relaxed children (except when suffering from reflux and constipation!!!) So I shouldn't complain... cool.gif cool.gif

Yeah I wonder about hand expressing..... Would love some other opinions!!!

niss x
*Pink*Licorice*
Hello ladies waves.gif Hope you all had a lovely mothers day grin.gif

It was really just another day in this house. DF being a truckie, he was away working. My mum was here though. She came down to help look after the older two while I had Anna in hospital (Zach was with me also) so that was nice. I haven't spent mothers day with my mum for about 5 years! Got a few pressie from the kids (see blog) and apart from that it was spent doing the usual house work etc. With a family of 6 it never stops laughing2.gif

As for teeth, Zach cut 6 teeth in under two weeks! I was quite surprised as Anna has had a tooth sitting just under the surface for about 5 months now. I was sure she would get teeth first but no, still none laughing2.gif May be a bonus though as Zach discovered tonight that he can bite more than just fingers! *OUCH*

Also, without starting anything.....has anyone decided not to give thier LO's the 12 month vacc's? I have been reading up on this alot lately and I'm really torn as to what decision I should make. Yes there are the benefits of being 'covered' for illnesses but there is also a lot of things I have read about the 12 month vacc being the one that can potentially (sp?) cause the most problems. It really scared the life out of me.

How is everyone going with breastfeeding? We are still having 3 - 4 breastfeeds during the day (together) and at least one overnight (not together rant.gif )! I have tried resettling them without a feed o/night but they just scream and as they are right next to each other I'm to worried they will wake the other one up. How many feeds is everyone else doing?

Lastly, its offical. DF leaves soon to start his new job on the 26th. That means its just me and kids living here until the house sells or the end of term. He will come home on weekends but its going to be so lonely not seeing him AT ALL during the week. Even though he works away most of the time he is usually home for at least a day or two during the week sad.gif

Niss - I agree with grub on the hand expressing. It would definately be less sitmulating. Try it out original.gif

And Grub - Happy 11 months to Gabbie & Elke! grin.gif

Its late so I better head off to bed and get some sleep. Night xx
Ladyhawk
Just a quicky to let you know we're still here and doing well. The boys seem to be over their colds.. although it didn't help when I didn't put their doonas on the other night.. its was 25 degrees when I put them to bed (damn the weather here runs hot and cold) so I only covered them with a couple of sheets, but it was 14 degrees in their room when they woke at 4am...
Sam started roling from his back to his front the other day and now does it virtually whenever I lie him down on the floor... i was so sure it was going to be Jack first, but he seems to have gone a little backwards since he was sick.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JkNGFsft0p8
telli
Just wanted to pop in and say that I've just discovered ABC's Playground Radio laughing2.gif It's so cool, the Old School bit rocks. It even has the Oompa Loompa song from Willy Wonka and The Lions sleeps tonight.

I just went on to try and remember some of the Nursery Rhymes but this is awesome. I feel like a kid again, shame my girls are a bit little to appreciate it biggrin.gif
doubleornothing
i went to ABC playground radio and I agree!! It rocks!!!
Havent written the link on our whiteboard to use for future discos with the boys!
Totally unrelated to anything...i took the boys for a walk this morning and there were no grizzles, gripes or whinges!!!
Hoo-bloody-rah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Am super excited... biggrin.gif
fringe82
Hello ladies,

Niss- Try the hand expressing in a hot shower- the heat seems to get it moving- and with no nipple stimulation it should make your supply slow quicker..

I tried the recommended fenugreek dose and found it has increased a little but this morning I seem to be a bit empty- so will up to 2 capsules three times a day and try and get my evening supply up....

better go- one baby is waking to be fed- have a good day all
kazzil
Where do I find ABC Playground Radio? My two love music so it might be good for them.

2plustwins - mine bottle fed and are having 3-4 feeds a day too. These are 6am (upon waking), 11am and 6pm (before bed). Sometimes they'll have another one at 2.30ish, but I'm having success with them drinking water from a sippy cup so I'm going with that at 2.30pm, and giving them yoghurt/dairy based snack instead of milk.

And as you can see from the new photo in my sig, my two are now standing! BJ can stand unsupported for about 20 seconds and cruises the furniture really well, Gia is good at standing when she can hold on but hasn't let go yet. My babies are getting too big cry1.gif
kazzil
Brissie gals... Anyone up for a meet up this Friday at 10.30am on Brisbane's southside? Another mum and I from the AMBA forums met last week and decided to get a more regular group happening with twins similar to the age of ours. I posted on the AMBA forums but I thought I'd post here too. If you're interested we'd love to have you so let me know and I can PM the details.
kazzil
biggrin.gif I'm glad a few of you can make it. Anyone else?
doubleornothing
I would just like to share my exciting news!
Both Zake and Kaeleb rolled from back to front yesterday!!

biggrin.gif Proud beaming Mumma!
~Karla~
Woohoo doubleornothing! Very exciting!

Brissie girls - Whose going to Kaz's meet tomorrow? I'm going to brave it with all 3 kidlets! wacko.gif
anonebber
Unfortunately we're still too sick from AMBA Tiny Tots to be socialising yet. sad.gif
~Bec~
Yes we're still snotty too Amy. Definitely not going back, at least over winter rant.gif.

Yay Zake and Kaeleb!
-MissNiss-
Hi original.gif

Man I'm having a hard time of it at the moment... although on a positive, Ruby now sleeps from 11pm until 7am!!! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif And they are both good at sleeping at night (although Jacob still needs a feed at 3am). AND my supply has only JUST decreased to the point where I don't need to get up at night to express anymore!!! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif They are now formula fed 4x a day and fed EBM 2x a day. Soon it will be just formula. Its still making me really sad not to give them breastmilk though... cry1.gif cry1.gif

During the day if its not 1 screaming its the other! Ruby has severe reflux, to the point that even losec doesn't appear to work. She wakes and cries just before she spills, so I ASSUME it must be reflux!!! And then she just doesn't settle so we cuddle or put her in her swing. Trouble is, I don't want her to rely on the swing or cuddles in order to settle! What to do?!?!?!?!?

And Jacob has started getting what seems to be like colic? He just suddenly out of the blue starts screaming shrilly and I think it must be a bubble of wind/gas passing through him...

Anyway they are both asleep in their swings now biggrin.gif biggrin.gif (after hours of crying)

But after all this hard work, it really is worth it when they give you a huge smile!!! wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif

Niss xx
kazzil
Niss, the losec should be working if it is going to work by now! Can you make an appointment with the Paed and get Ruby reassessed? Also, are they now about 6-12wks adjusted? Sorry, I can't rememer how early they were but I know this is a time notorious for being a tough time for all babies. I know we had a awful time at that stage but it got heaps better when they turned 12 weeks.

Bec and Grub, I hope your babies get better soon - and I hope the rest of the family doesn't get it!

Go Zake and Kaeleb!
~Bec~
DH and I are both miserable too kazzil sad.gif but the older girls seem to have missed it somehow. I hope you guys have fun and I look forward to finally meeting you all (those I haven't met) when we're all better original.gif.

Niss - 9w old (2w corrected) was our horror time where I really reached breaking point, but it does pass and you will get through. You're doing an awesome job, especially with the challenges you've had to face already in the journey.
telli
We'll hopefully be there tomorrow.
kazzil
Bec, I hope you all get better soon and your older girls don't get it!

It looks like there'll be 5 of us meeting up this morning. Considering the short notice, I think that is pretty good. Anyone else? It's not too late!
-MissNiss-
Hi! original.gif

Kazzil, yep I looked it up - they are 10 weeks old adjusted. Hopefully they'll settle down soon!

I left a message with the paed yesterday. No call back yet. I'm afraid he might think that its not reflux. But at the moment while I'm typing she's in there grunting and straining away, soon to cry, dummy still in, and I'll probably find she's had a spill when I go in there. But also she doesn't do this at night. Its so strange.

Have a great time today at your meet-up! I'm quite jealous! Its very wet here too...

OK she's crying now, I'd better go

Nerissa x
kazzil
It was good to meet you Telli and Karla - your babies are adorable! So well behaved just laying there and having a good look around.

If only my two would decide to sit and play rather than want to be up and all over the place. Then I would be able to sit and have a proper chat like you two were able to too! I hope we didn't scare you knowing what you'll be in for in 6 months time.
-MissNiss-
Kazzil laughing2.gif laughing2.gif laughing2.gif your post makes me both want to laugh and cry!!! I'm REALLY SCARED now!!! laughing2.gif laughing2.gif laughing2.gif

n x

ETA its unbelievable - they are both fast asleep!!! And I'm just wasting this precious moment on the internet instead of doing housework blink.gif blink.gif
doubleornothing
yeah!! i'll always told myself it'll get easier as they get older! - i have been known to chant these words whilst rocking in a corner....
hahahaaaaaa...you mean to tell me it doesn't?? wink.gif

BTW even though I'm stoked that both boys are rolling onto tummies...goodness me it can create some drama; what with them crashing into each other and kicking each other in the face etc etc.......
laughing2.gif laughing2.gif laughing2.gif laughing2.gif
Nee
Link to "Little Multiples" thread.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.