The
Essential Baby forums cover all areas of
parenting and stages development for
babies,
toddlers and
kids as well as
parenting lifestyle areas including
Family Travel,
Finances,
Nutrition & Wellbeing,
Recipes and more!
If you'd like to post and interact with EB's
parenting forums read more articles about
conception,
pregnancy,
babies,
toddlers,
kids or more please visit
Essential Baby for the full site experience.
mybabyboy
03/05/2008, 07:37 PM
*~Kellie~*
03/05/2008, 08:04 PM
FWIW I get asked if my two are identical ALL the time
My standard answer has become "No, one has a penis and the other has a vagina" and even then I still get "Yes, but are they identical"
~Bec~
03/05/2008, 08:16 PM
BronzeWoohooo! I can take that without feeling guilty for being where I don't belong.
kazzil
03/05/2008, 08:28 PM
My standard answer has become "No, one has a penis and the other has a vagina" and even then I still get "Yes, but are they identical"
I've actually started saying 'no, take their nappy off and they're definately not identical' and they'll seem to get it.
Maybe we need to ask Nee for a new recurring thread under our new name
~Karla~
03/05/2008, 09:11 PM
Hi girls, I think it's about time I joined in here! My miracle TTTS boys, Jacob and Noah, were born on the 19th of December (07) which makes them nearly 5 months old now.

OMG, where has the time gone? I also have a just-turned-2 year old boy, Alex, and life is so busy I still can't believe it!!
I will do my best to stay as involved in here as I can, but I'm sure you all know how difficult it can be to find computer time!!
Oh, and Brissie girls, what's this talk about a meet-up? May I come?
~Bec~ - I can't believe you didn't text me and invite me! I'm so offended.

Oh, I have a new phone now, so I can actually send and recieve sms's properly now... when I find the time!
Oh, my dinner's ready so I better go eat it while it's hot (still a novelty for me!).
Karla
tilly121
03/05/2008, 10:21 PM
Multiples Under One
BecBrisbane, Qld
Katie Arnelle and
Georgia Nicole 10/01/2007 32w6d
Jenkp (Jen)
WA
Reese Olivia and
Emily Jayde 11/03/2007 29w4d
Melbop (Mel)
NSW
Evie Charlotte and
Thomas William 20/04/2007 32w2d
Tilly WA
Layla Eve and
Oscar Thomas 22/05/2007 35w4d
Redchick Darwin, NT
Tom and
Leo 25/05/2007 37w1d
Marnie WA
Max Kenneth and
Blake Daniel 28/05/2007 31w3d
2plustwins (Naomi)
Bairnsdale, Vic
Zachary and
Anna 28/05/2007 29w
Mybabyboy Canberra, ACT
Isaac Luke and
Jacob Lachlan 04/06/2007 38w4d
kazzil (Kaz)
Brisbane, QLD
Benjamin (BJ) and
Georgie (Gee) 06/06/200737w6d
Gumby (Kate)
Ipswich, Qld
Isaiah Raymond and
Kyla Dawn 07/06/2007 36w4d
Spots (Emma)
ACT
Ashley and
Paige and
Jackson 08/06/2007 35w4d
Gagsmissus (Nat)
WA
Amelia Kathleen and
Bethany Marie 11/06/2007 37w1d
Grub11 (Amy)
Brisbane, Qld
Elke Lillian and
Gabriella Sian 12/06/2007 34wk6d
SarahKate (Sarah)
Adelaide, SA
Mitchell and
Fletcher 18/06/2007
Aquarius76 (Lisa)
Cooper and
Addison 22/06/2007
Kellie Townsville, Qld
Joseph Harry and
Elizabeth Malain 23/06/2007 37w
Leisurly Lesley
Adelaide, SA
Alexander and
Magnus 24/07/2007 37w2d
Nessrose (Ness)
Canberra
Renee Isabel and
Rachel Mary 26/07/2007 37w
laus73 (Laura)
WA
Halle Jade and
Taya Elise 30/08/2007 36w3d
LilisMum (Anne)
Upper Coomera, Qld
Charlotte Louise and
Madison Jae 18/09/2007 34w5d
rob6712col (Robyn)
ACT
Ella Charlotte and
Samantha Jade 01/10/2007 34w
doubleornothing Zake and
Kaeleb 10/12/2007
Ladyhawk (Jen)
Kalgoorlie, WA
Samuel Alexander and
Jackson Christopher11/12/2007 37w
telli (Chantel)
Jessica and
Arabella19/12/2007
~Karla~ (Karla)
Jacob and
Noah19/12/2007
Niss68 (Nerissa)
Adelaide, SA
Jacob Andrew and
Ruby Alice 30/12/07 30+3w
annah83 (Anna)
Calamvale, QLD but soon to be Ipswich
Lila Grace and
Levi Cooper 08/01/08 34w
*danielle* (Danielle)
Hobart, Tas
Jordanna Mai and
Kara Joy22/01/08 37+2w
justcait2 (Annette)
Victoria
Cameron and
Alanah17/2/2008 36w3d
missamarion (Missy)
Burnie, Tasmania
Raikkonen and
Jordan12/3/08 35w2d
chris72 (Chrissie)
Rhiannon and
Delilah ??? 34+5w
Hi again,
Seems like Little Multiples is the winner...? I have lost track of the exact number of votes but it definitely seems to be the fave (I like it too
). If everyone agrees, I will PM Nee to ask for the name change.
Welcome Karla- I have added you and a couple of other newbs to our list. If there are any errors or omissions please PM me. We are now a big group again (yay!) so it's easy to lose track
Kellie- I also get the 'are they identical?' question ALL THE TIME. I like Jen's response that they have different fathers
. Sometimes we use the response- there is this much *hold fingers about an inch apart* difference between them
. When people ask me if twins run in the family, I now tell then yes that my step-father is an identical twin (which is true). It shuts them up and gives me a giggle because if they thought about they would realise that a) ID twins aren't hereditary and b) my STEP-father isn;t a blood relation
. No-one ever picks up on that though
Spots- Hi and thanks for the update. Of course we remember you- still in total awe and think of you often. Those bubs of your are getting so big aren't they? I'd love to see some more pics.
Mel- My two are now down to just two BFs (first thing in the morning and just before bed). I have been trying to get them to have cow's milk in a sippy cup for a couple of weeks now with no success until yesterday when I had an "aah der" moment
and heated it up slightly (I was giving it to them cold from the fridge). They completely scarfed it down
. My plan is for them to have a cup of cow's milk at morning tea or lunchtime and continue the two BFs for a while yet. How cute to hear about Tom and Evie starting to talk! Oscar and Layla both say dadda and mamma quite happily (although not always at the appropriate times
). Oscar has also started recently saying 'sis' which is just thrilling for Gab
(he adores her!).
Jen- I'm joining the unpopular brigade
and guessing that your boys are ID too
. Isn't it funny to hear all the mums of ID twins saying how different their kids are when no-one else can tell them apart? I guess they ARE different when you know them well.
Gumby- I am so sorry to hear about your school dramas. I hope you manage to get your DS enrolled in the new school easily and smoothly. There is no excuse for the way the school has dealt with this
. Your son should be able to go to school and know he is safe- it is absolutely the school's responsibility to ensure his safety! I used to work in schools and although there is a lot of complacency out there with regard to bullying, we have some pretty strict legislation and departmental policies in WA (I'm sure QLD would be similar). Sounds like the DP needs a swift kick up the you know what
Grub- Hope your wedding went well and the girls coped okay without their boobs... I mean mummy
Marnie- I've also snuck a peek at your blog and I gotta say- you go girl! Bravo for having the balls to tell them all how you feel
. Your kids are so lucky and will grow up in a house that is chock-full of love, that's for sure. I hope your MS eases soon. Did you end up getting rid of the quad bug? I'm guessing you will need it now so I hope not
. Have you told the older kids yet?
Hi to everyone else!
Tilly
~Bec~
04/05/2008, 10:34 AM
Kate! How rude!

How frustrating and upsetting to have DS go through such a horrible situation and have the school do nothing about it.
Jen - I will also be unpopular and say I think your boys are ID lol.
Mel - my girls still don't really say much, and it's my only concern that I need to bring up at their paed appt in June. Katie is saying a few things in context (teddy, daddy, pillow, ta, thank you, uh oh, mama, lie down, night night, dinner, Katie) but nowhere near where my older girls were at the same age corrected. Actually writing it down she does say a bit lol. Georgia says much less, although she has just started saying bird (she has a bird fascination lol), and came out with a very clear 'Mummy' when out with MBB the other day! And she likes to yell out a LOT.
We have two amazing Jacob Andrews in this group now - Karla's TTTS boy and Nerissa's IUGR boy! Must be a strong name for little fighters!
How is Lesley (leisurely) going? I have seen her around for a while? Hope everything is good with you!
Karla - you finally joined us! Do you have the same mobile number? It'd be great to catch up with you and finally meet those rascally boys. Of course you can come to the Brissy meet! I'm still waiting for pics too (hint, hint!).
Marnie - I hope the m/s eases for you soon.
I like Mini Multiples too, although Little Multiples will do if I can't have Baby Fight Club lol. You should have seen my girls in the bath last night! OMG they are feral sometimes! There was one bowl, and one spoon, and they both wanted both, while also holding a Little People toy each. So Katie would grab the bowl from Georgia, having to put down the spoon to do so. Then Georgia would scream and take the spoon that Katie dropped. Then she'd try to get her bowl back, putting down the spoon, and Katie would scream, pick up the spoon, then try to get the bowl. It was hilarious! I wish I'd had the video camera in there. Georgia has also taken to pushing Katie off the 'favourite' ride on. Constant fighting. And it's just going to get worse.
We are still having 3 b/f a day, plus a cup of milk in the morning, plus 2 cups of water throughout the day. And they are currently obsessed with skin to skin contact (maybe because it's cooler and I've been wearing long sleeves?). They come for a cuddle and pull my shirt aside so they can lay their cheek on my bare chest. So cute

. I wore just a singlet top yesterday afternoon as it was warmer again and they were both all over me trying to get their face on my skin! I'm not sure what that's about.
Hi to all the newies! I think I missed a few as you popped up.
Bye for now!!
-MissNiss-
04/05/2008, 10:52 AM
Hi everyone!
I vote for Mini Multiples too now!!!!
Jen - sorry mate but I think they're ID too...
Lesley's in the UK I believe... and prior to that she told me she just hadn't had time to keep up with EB and everything else...
Now this starting solids business (just crossing threads!): wow, how much work is that to keep up with fluids as well? So how many times per day do you end up 'feeding'?
I'm still expressing; also getting really moody. Not sure whether its hormonal as my supply drops, or emotional as I feel a little guilty and feel like I'm letting myself down (I was SOOOOOO proud I was keeping up with demand!)
They have formula 1x per day. Poos are much easier to handle! Firmer!!! But instead of 1x every 2-3 days, its 3x per day each atm lol... hopefully when they are fully formula fed they'll reduce back to 1x per day (which I've heard is the average).
Who was it that had advice re formula for reflux babies? Jacob just has thickener and he seems ok but Ruby has thickener plus Zantac to no avail, poor love... she's in chronic pain which is (oddly) cyclic... she's great overnight from about 8.30pm on (thank goodness), then the regurgitation starts around 10am and gets worse as the day progresses. Its common for her to regurg 3 hours after a feed (around 2pm and 6pm) and it causes her great discomfort.
Our paed wants them on gold - either karicane gold or S26 gold; I'm not sure whether any of the formulas good for reflux come in gold?
OK gotta go
Wish I was in Brissie for a meet up!
N x
tilly121
04/05/2008, 02:16 PM
So how many times per day do you end up 'feeding'?
It feels like constantly
! My advice would be to put off solids for as long as humanly possible as I really felt that once we started in earnest I did little else but feed these kids all day every day
. We waited until 6 months and tried baby-led solids (mostly finger foods) but also added some purees as my two had voracious appetites. We started slowly (one solid meal at roughly lunchtime) and always offered a BF before solids until just recently. By 8 months or so they were having three solid meals. I am pleased to say that my two are now excellent eaters
kazzil
04/05/2008, 02:51 PM
Just quickly (my two have decided not to do their PM sleep I think).
Niss, I think it was me who was talking about AR formulas. My two both had reflux. We combined Karicare AR and Gold and it worked here. PM me if you want to know exactly what we did. I hated the thickner. It was a PIA.
doubleornothing
05/05/2008, 08:04 AM
we've just started the boys on "solids" (mushes) over the last week and i've read that the mushes are to have no nutritional value for awhile...so we're just giving them a teaspoon of farex mixed with 2 teaspoons of EBM and 2 teaspoons of pureed apple. We'll just stick with that for a couple of weeks maybe changing the fruit to pears or something...
We feed them about half an hour after their lunch feed.
Zake's doing really well, swallowing it down and getting it everywhere! Kaeleb is more interested in grabbing to spoon and putting it all over his face!!!
Ladyhawk
05/05/2008, 02:14 PM
We've just started the same doubleornothing..
I have tried some farex with them every so often since 3 months as Sam has reflux and solid food is meant to help... but this week they've tried pureed carrot (jack didn't like it), pureed pumpkin, and Heinz Vanilla Custard with pureed apple... that went down a treat.. pity coz I really want tem to get a taste for savoury before they get too much sweet

ETA.. just wanted to continue the 'are they ID' query with my boys... they had separate sacks and placentas - i know this doesn't mean they can't be ID, but it does lower the chances... and I took a whole heap of photos yesterday to try and get one the showed the differences:

Okay, Jack is on the left and Sam on the right. To me, Jack has a much rounder face, slanty up eyes, and a pointy hairline while Sam has an almost 'elvish' face with a pointy chin, slanty down eyes and a more rounded hairline... and their heads are different shapes too, Sam is more angular.. but I would consider the genetic testing.. one company lets you by a coloured 'picture' of their DNA that you can frame and mount on the wall.. i think that would be pretty cool
doubleornothing
05/05/2008, 03:15 PM
i can see the differences you are talking about Jen but they still look pretty similar. i'm prob going to get my boys tested too as they had what appeared to be one placenta (making them identical) but we were told it could have been two placentas that have fused...as we found out at 19 weeks that we were having twins the placentas may have already fused...
what company does the nice picture frame thing?
also, you know how they say to only try one food at a time when introducing solids...is that like one a week or like one a sitting/feeding/time....does that make sense????? (baby brain - i thought it went after you have the babies!)
~Bec~
05/05/2008, 03:25 PM
Both mine and Marnie's twins are identicals despite having separate sacs and placentas! My girls have different shaped faces and at times look very different (to me anyway!). Apparently 20% of di/di twins are identical

*~Kellie~*
05/05/2008, 03:26 PM
It was suggested to wait 3 days between introducing a new foods. Allows you to isolate which food may have caused an upset if there was one.
I have always started with 100% veg or fruit purees and made up big serves and frozen the rest. Unfreezing 1 cube per babe to start with and working up from there. I also started with lunch as it was the least stressing time in our household and I could sit and spend the time needed with them to persevere with solids.
J & E started solids at exactly 6 months corrected (6 months 3 weeks).
Kellie
Ladyhawk
05/05/2008, 05:52 PM
Id or Not: Ah well.. testing it may have to be LOL but i am pretty sure they are fraturnal!
Zygosity Testing: The testing co. that does the DNA prints is here at
Think Twins. They are pretty pricey, but similar to those recommended by the
Twins RegistryStarting Solids: We do lunchtime too. I have 30mls of puree frozen into sticks... I bought the 'milk trays' from the ABA which were great for freezing EBM into small amounts, but were pretty useless after a month or so... They were quite expensive so I am quite glad to be able to use them. We have tried plain farex, pear and banana farex, and the vanilla custard many times previously, so the vegies were the only first... I know about only trying one food at a time, so I started with carrot a couple of days ago, but jack really didn't seem to like it, so i tried the pumpkin instead yesterday, then thought scerw it and mixed the apple with the custard and fed them dessert too!
Marnie
05/05/2008, 06:23 PM
Yep Jen - Mine and Becs are testament to the fact that Di/Di means nothing! I too think that my boys look quite different. Blake has a larger rounder face where Max has a smaller face with a more pointy chin... but then just when I think they are nothing alike they change and look the same again
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v648/marnieh/DSCF4040.jpgHa ha ha... I just went to find you a photo to prove my point and I realised they look the same
gumby
05/05/2008, 06:57 PM
Jen - The pics of your boys are a little dark for me to see really clearly so I'm not going to say either way

. Have you joined the twin registry? When I first did the tooth study was full, then, I kept checking and a few months later they were after more participants so that would be a nice cheap and easy way to get the DNA testing done

. I wanted the DNA tests done to shove it up one particular family member who insists (hides it behind a joke) that Isaiah
can't be Dals baby as he is white
Niss - The fluctuating hormones sound exactly what I went through when I stopped expressing. So many times I got angry at myself, upset with myself and felt guilty. I thought the hardest part was making the decision but the second guessing was just as bad here
I am so tired lately, feel like I'm just dragging myself through the day and not feeling much like doing anything. The fact that I & K are nearly 11 months old and I can count on one hand the amount of great nights sleep we have had are probably contributing to that but also I dare say the amount of stress that goes with moving house might be a big factor too.
kazzil
05/05/2008, 07:27 PM
I had a fused placenta. On every ultrasound it looked like we had one placenta and two sacs. Mine are boy/girl so 'one' placenta doesn't equal ID either.
Jen, they still look ID to me. Good try on pointing out differences though! I think you'll need them tested to be sure. Don't they do it for free when they do the tooth study??
Marnie, I can't see any differences in them in that shot. What great eyes they have!!
I agree with tilly - hold off on solids. You can't just pack up a bottle and go anymore, you have to organise food as well. Mine didn't like manufactured baby food either, so I had to make it all fresh.
It does get easier though. Today we went to a BBQ and my two ate everything that adults had - bread, rissoles, salad, veges on the BBQ (of course I cut it up into bite sized pieces). It was great. It didn't feel like you had to make them a separate meal. They thought they were pretty clever too.
Gumby, I dare say the stress of moving it just tipping you over the edge. I found it really stressful as well, and some of my sleeplessness wasn't baby related too. Is their sleeping getting any better though?
Brissie gals, are we still meeting on Thursday (or did we change it to Friday)?
~Karla~
05/05/2008, 09:49 PM
Bec, here's some photos just for you.

Just click to view the slideshow and there's a few there, ranging from when we were all in hospital to a few I took last weekend.
http://www4.snapfish.com.au/slideshow/Albu...12/t_=115535412Hope they worked.....
In order, the boys are as follows:
Jake on the left, Noah on the right
Noah under the UV lights on day 5 in hospital
Noah on the left, Jake on the right
Jake, Alex, Noah
What are the actual details of the meet-up? I got a bit confused reading the last thread

(I'm still blaming it on baby brain/milk brain).... I'm really hoping I can make it and catch up with you and the other Brissie girls!
Oh, and yes my mobile number is the same, but this phone actually works properly! My last one never worked all that all anyway, then I dropped it into a bowl of hot water (that I was heating up a bottle of EBM in, believe it or not

) and it pretty much died completely.
Uh-oh, time for a feed - I better go. I'll try and get back here tomorrow if I can...
Karla
doubleornothing
06/05/2008, 07:54 AM
morning ladies!
another query (you guys are my saving grace)...
i'm breast feeding my boys and`am thinking of weaning them ultra slowly onto formula.
for those of you that may have already done this which feed did you drop first??
~Bec~
06/05/2008, 08:52 AM
Brissy girls... It's my understanding that this week's meet is cancelled as Kate will be in Melbourne, and that we'll plan something for when she returns.
Karla I can only see the first pic

. Looking forward to meeting them IRL though!
Jen (and any others interested) - The
Dental Study is run out of the University of Adelaide. They are currently looking for more families and as part of the study you receive free zygosity testing. Saves $149+! There is very little involved. I signed up for it while my girls were still in SCN

. They thought I was extra keen!
Kate - I'd say moving plus sleepless nights would be a huge contributing factor to your tiredness! Also iron levels continue to drop througout the first year after birth, so maybe start taking some supplements or get your levels tested?
Sorry I can't help
doubleornothing - I'm sure someone will have some good advice for you!
Gotta run!

everyone!
-MissNiss-
06/05/2008, 09:43 AM
Bec - OMG I had no idea about iron levels continuing to drop... I'd better start those supplements again!
Gumby - you poor poor thing, moving and all. I'm pretty tired and there's no end in sight yet (although I'm lasting 9 hours - JUST - before expressing now) - I see no end until they go to school??? Because just as you get to sleep through they become toddlers and wear you out even MORE during the day!!! I'm so sorry to hear of your DS's experience at school - that sucks. Its endemic. I've worked at many schools around Adelaide (all private) as a piano teacher and there's only TWO that I feel confident that they treat bullying fairly and well (despite all the claims from the other schools). Its just horrible horrible horrible. I'm not looking forward to that stage of their life: we can't afford private schooling!
doubleornothing: I'm currently 'weaning' from EBM to formula. In my opinion feed them formula on the feed before you want them to sleep through (as its thicker than breast milk and makes them last longer between feeds, at least at first). For us its the 11pm (we want them to last until 7am. Ruby does. Jacob lasts 5 1/2 hours if fed formula at 11pm). We're having a SLOW progression to formula here. Yesterday and today they'll get full EBM again, as despite my less frequent expressions, I manage to express a lot more than before...*sigh*... I suppose its all good. I just want to be able to JUST get up for feeds at night, not 45 min of expressing! (I must have slow flow nipples)
Ruby's tummy isn't managing well, and they poo ALL the time (4x a day). Must be the thickener? Kazzil, I'm going to speak to the paed today to see if he's ok about Karicare AR combined with Karicare Gold. Also a problem here is Ruby SCREAMS when we administer Zantac. Personally I'm considering going back to gaviscon (no thickener) but that had its problems for her too (still has reflux 3 hours after feeding, awfully painful for her because it must be acidic)
sorry to blab on so much about me me me
Jen... get the test done! Even have bets placed! My bet would be ID (yes I CAN see some differences! But there are sooooo many similarities!)
Marnie, they are GORGEOUS! I hope your m/s eases sometime soon. I can't see any differences between your 2!
I'm starting solids ASAP despite its challenges... I've heard (through Bec?) that starting earlier reduces the chance of food allergies later.... according to the information Bec gave (First Foods for Premature Babies) we can start anytime between 24/5 and 30/7... Ruby is showing a little indication she might be ready but not enough yet.
Jacob is acting oddly again... he does my head in sometimes! He goes through great chatty gurgly attentive stages where his body is normal (not stiff) then he switches to being stiff and inattentive to the point where you move your head to his line of sight and he moves his line of sight away ON PURPOSE! Its driving me crazy!!! I can't wait until his next attentive phase!
OK gotta get some work done around here sometime soon!
take care everyone!
Niss x
~Karla~
06/05/2008, 10:00 AM
tilly121
06/05/2008, 10:26 AM
I've heard (through Bec?) that starting earlier reduces the chance of food allergies later
Niss I haven't heard this at all- would love to know details
. AFAIK, current research suggests that there are no benefits and in fact many risks to starting solids before the 6-month mark especially in premature bubs who may have issues with gut maturity. Of course, all bubs are different and you should go with your paed's recommendations but I thought the general rule was no earlier than 6-months corrected age?
*~Kellie~*
06/05/2008, 10:37 AM
Although there is only 3 weeks correction, which in the grand scheme of things isn't much at all, our Paed expressly told us to wait until 6 months corrected age before starting solids.
He also said that if they have the 'ejection' reflex (I think it is), the one where if you put food in their mouth they push it out with their tongue, you should wait another week then start again.
kazzil
06/05/2008, 12:11 PM
Niss, maybe you should talk to your Paed about Losec. Gia was a different girl when we started it. It's more potent than zantac or gaviscon and worked beautifully here. Gia's bottles were 1/2 Gold and 1/2 AR. With that combination and the Losec, we went from having a screaming baby to a beautifully contented one!
We get conflicting information here (where I work) about children starting solids. One minute you get info through saying it should never be started before 6 months, then the next week it will be it is OK to have it after 4 months. At the moment the debate is that children shouldn't have full fat dairy products! So next week I'm expecting news to hit my desk to say it's back to full fat.
Pity about the meet up. If anyone still wants to still do one, I'm up for it. Then we can have a big one when Kate is back.
-MissNiss-
06/05/2008, 12:52 PM

Sorry
Bec, it was
butterfliesgirls who said her paed recommended starting solids earlier... in
this thread:
With my daughter we waited until 6 months but with the twins the paed (who worked in one of the major children's hospitals as a neonatal specialist and is one of those really thorough doctors) said that the more recent research showed that rather than causing allergies, starting earlier could be protective against them.
With no history of food allergies I guess he thought it was safe?
So I might go check with our own paed about when to start solids...
And Bec passed on this link to me in the same topic:
First Foods for Prem Babies.
(Hope you guys don't mind me crossing over topics and passing on the info!)
Kazzil, I'm waiting for a call from our paed re the zantac and I'll take up your suggestions re losec, gold and AR! The really strange thing is, she doesn't get reflux at night (I'm not complaining though!)
Niss x
ETA: Kazzil, where do you work?
doubleornothing
06/05/2008, 12:58 PM
I've read that starting solids between 4-6 months reduces food allergies as well. I've also read that babies iron stores start to become very depleted after 4 months of age - breast milk only contains a small amount (not sure about formula). So babies need iron to help build up their red blood cells - hence why farex is suggested as it is a iron fortified cereal.
doubleornothing
06/05/2008, 01:11 PM
Thanks for the tips Niss! You just confirmed what we were thinking...we're going to give it a go tonight and see what happens!!! Ekkkkkk!!!!!
We too are going to do it really slowly, prob 1 bottle of formula for 2 weeks and then drop another feed...
tilly121
06/05/2008, 01:37 PM
I've read that starting solids between 4-6 months reduces food allergies as well. I've also read that babies iron stores start to become very depleted after 4 months of age - breast milk only contains a small amount (not sure about formula). So babies need iron to help build up their red blood cells - hence why farex is suggested as it is a iron fortified cereal.
This information is actually vastly different from what I have read
(for example here). The National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) Australian Dietary Guidelines released in 2003 are very clear about recommending that babies are not fed solid food before the age of 6 months and detail the reasons why (can increase the risk of food allergies, decreased breastmilk production, increased exposure to germs, increased load on your baby’s kidneys and/or constipation, from poor digestion. Full guidelines are available here. The early introduction of solids is definitely not something I would do without talking to your doctor first (particularly in the case of premature babies
).
I know that guidelines do tend to change over time, but it is usually the result of improved understanding about what is best for babies
. You should be able to get up to date info from your MCHN or paed.
It is true that babies iron stores start to deplete after 6 months (until this time they have adequate iron stores from in utero). However, research has shown that the iron contained in breastmilk is very easily digested by your baby- so even though there may not be a lot of iron in breastmilk, what is there is quite efficiently used and it is rare for BF babies to become anaemic before the age of 12 months even if their soldis consumption is very little
. If you are FF, switching to a follow-on formula (which contains extra iron) or the introduction of foods such as meat and green leafy vegetables after 6 months should provide most bubs with enough iron.
Iron enriched cereals such as farex are actually not necessary for babies over 6 months (but may be a good first food for bubs because they are palatable and non-allergenic
). Personally, I never gave my bubs Farex as I can't stand the stuff and wanted to get them eating family foods ASAP because I am lazy and didn;t want to spend hours preparing "baby food" LOL- so their first foods were vegetables and fruits.
Sorry for the essay but this is a subject about which I feel passionately (as you can probably tell
). Of course, I have no issues with individuals making their own decisions (in consultation with their paeds, of course) about what is best for individual babies-- as long as they know all the risks and benefits and can make an informed decision
Just my two cents' worth
-MissNiss-
06/05/2008, 01:59 PM
Thanks Tilly!
I know with prems they need more iron because they missed out in utero for the length of time they were prem IYKWIM.
I'll ask our paed about when to start solids.
Meanwhile I have screaming bub (poor tacker) - reflux again - *sigh*
doubleornothing
06/05/2008, 02:15 PM
I guess it does all depend on what publication you read and who you consult! But I agree Tilly, individual babies require individual things so therefore need individual eating plans!!
Whatever works I say...there are arguments for and against everything after all...
Just for arguments sake...
"the iron stores a baby is born with have been depleted by the time he reaches six months. Iron helps us to make healthy red blood cells that carry oxygen around the body. Unfortunately, lack of iron is the most common deficiency in the UK, and is found in about 12 per cent of children between 18 and 29 months.
The symptoms of iron deficiency anaemia include poor appetite, tiredness, lethargy and even fractious behaviour. Babies and children who are anaemic tend to cry a lot, are clingy, difficult to rationalise with, and are more prone to temper tantrums.."
I know it's from a UK website however just playing devils advocate!
~Bec~
06/05/2008, 02:28 PM
It's okay Nerissa, my paed did recommend starting between 4 and 6 months, and said recent research suggested delaying solids beyond 6 months can cause an increase in allergies.
Definitely check with your paed or MCHN - I checked with both before starting as there is so much conflicting advice, and so many studies which are very much favouring one way or the other. I did my own research, plus took on board the advice from them and went from there.
mybabyboy
06/05/2008, 03:35 PM
Question - Our local Coles has twin shopping trolleys but stupid me does not know how to manage it. Do you put the kids in the pram, get the trolley, lug the pram and the trolley back to the car and put the kids in the trolley and pram in car???? Bearing in mind I have a 3 year old as well.
What do you do???
As for Brissie meet up, I am out anyway. Have decided to keep the boys at home and make sure everyone gets a good sleep so they are all in a good mood for when Daddy comes home. After next week though I will be keen for a catch up.
tilly121
06/05/2008, 04:31 PM
I know with prems they need more iron because they missed out in utero for the length of time they were prem IYKWIM
I had never thought of that Niss! Perhaps that's why some paeds do recommend starting early for twins then?
MBB- ATM I still sling one twin and carry the other. I try to shop when DD1 is at school. It is a massive PITA when I get all the way from the carpark into Woolies and there is no twin trolley though. Have done my shopping a couple of times now with Layla in a cling and Oscar in a trolley and my golly my back is shot by the end of it! When they are too big to carry, I will probably load them into a single trolley in the carpark and then wheel them in to find a twin trolley (which are usually hidden by the service desk- if you are lucky!)
That reminds me of something I've been meaning to ask you all. Has anyone else found they have ongoing back/hip/pelvic pain as a result of twin pregnancy? I though I would be fully recovered now but I am starting to think the damage may be permanent
Well it's my first day back at work tomorrow and O&L's first day at childcare (DH is home so they will only be going for half a day). I am a bit emotional today and worried about how we will all go
-MissNiss-
06/05/2008, 05:15 PM
OMG I forgot to ask the paed about when to start solids... not that its urgent
He said we should use just Karicare Gold, not AR, as prems need the omega 3.
And he said use mylanta. If it helps he'll consider losec. So will use mylanta for 2 days then call him.
doubleornothing - good luck tonight! Expect firmer poos (

easier to clean) but lots more poos (

lots and lots and lots here

)
I just used gaviscon instead of thickener for the last feed for Ruby

Hopefully it will help the reflux more than pure thickener???
(
ETA nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo she's screaming again

)
Tilly, we just supplemented EBM with 0.5ml of iron once per day until the script ran out a week ago. I just asked the paed whether we should get anymore iron, and he said formula is heavily fortified with iron so not to worry... WTF they are on pure EBM ATM while my supply diminishes (not that it is... I now express 3x daily but get double the amount per expression as I did when expressing 6x daily PLUS Ruby dropped a feed so I have STACKS in the fridge and freezer! I'm going to have to throw it out so they can get the iron they need!!!

)
Sorry for my rambly post... I think I'm losing it (so tired!!!)
Niss x
skippy121
06/05/2008, 05:21 PM
Ladyhawk, i just read the thread through and saw your piccies. Iknow what your talking about with the differences i can def see them, getting them tested is probably the only way to tell for sure.
Ihave ID girls one placenta but mine are quite different also. After much research i have found that ID twins can either be fully identical or look nothing alike. This is due to environmental issues as well as with the splitting of the egg. One twin can be prone to asthma while the other may have the recessive gene and have differnt eye colour. It is all very confusing.
As mine are only four months i will wait a while longer to see if they become more alike.
Skippy
~Bec~
06/05/2008, 05:23 PM
Shopping: Until recently I would sling one and carry the other, but now I put one in the seat of a single trolley, and the other in the basket (which is apparently very exciting!).
Has anyone else found they have ongoing back/hip/pelvic pain as a result of twin pregnancy?
Yes!

I still have SPD pain frequently and my back will never be the same I don't think.
Nerissa - I think to reduce your supply you need to just express to comfort level, as opposed to expressing until your breasts are empty. That should gradually decrease the amount you're getting as your body regulates to the lower demand.
kazzil
06/05/2008, 07:22 PM
I park near where I can get a trolley without walking too far away from the car. Thankfully inconsiderate people leave them all over the carpark so I can usually park next to a dumped trolley

I put one in a single trolley and sling one until I can find a twin trolley.
Niss, I did what Bec did to reduce my supply. It took a little while but you have to be careful you only go as far as making yourself comfortable. I hope the mylanta works - I know exactly what it is like to have a screaming baby who you can't comfort! To answer your question, I teach child care at TAFE.
Here's a good article about weaning/introducing solids from the Vic Govt. It's actually a really good site for all health related issues.
http://www.betterhealth.vic.gov.au/bhcv2/b...es?OpenDocument
anonebber
07/05/2008, 09:35 AM
My local woolies is great re trolleys. I usually put one in a baby bjorn and carry the other - have a quick look on my way in and can usually find one. The other day though I forgot the pouches and managed to carry them both in and just went to the customer service desk and someone went and got one for me
So, what's the plan for Mother's Day?
doubleornothing
07/05/2008, 10:52 AM
my mothers day is a surprise! my husband has organised things but i'm not sure whats happening...
very exciting as it's my first mothers day - i'll probably shed a tear!!
we gave the boys their first bottle of formula last night when they woke at 9.30...only drank 150 mls but the tin said make up 250mls...i guess they weren't that hungry.
They took it well so we'll keep giving them that feed for 2-3 weeks before swapping another from breast to formula.
kazzil
07/05/2008, 11:09 AM
Doubleornothing, mine are 11 months and I still only make up their bottles with 150ml water. They have 3-4 bottles a day and rarely finish it. Lots of mothers who formula feed say their babies never drink what the tin says.
It's my first mothers day. We've got mine and DP's parents coming around for lunch. I think it will be more work than fun though
*~Kellie~*
07/05/2008, 11:13 AM
Yup, mine are 10 months and I only make up 180ml, they generally won't drink a whole 240ml bottle.
They're still on 4 bottles a day plus water. The only bottle I make up more is their night time bottle, they're on the Novolac Sweet Dreams for night and I make that up to 210ml
doubleornothing
07/05/2008, 11:33 AM
aaahhhhh...ok thanks all for the advice!
thats going to save us a few dollars in the formula department!!!
kazzil
07/05/2008, 11:45 AM
Kellie, can I ask why you use a different formula at night?
Doubleornothing, also if they're using Karicare, you can buy it in bulk from Nutricia saving you heaps more! - and it's delivered so you don't have to lug tins of formula home from the shops
doubleornothing
07/05/2008, 02:49 PM
yeah we bought the karicare gold stuff - we have no idea about formulas so just bought what looks good and was priced well!!
whats the difference between all the formulas? Anyone had any bad experiences??
What about this novasomething dream sleep stuff....I have no idea what it's actually called!!!
*~Kellie~*
07/05/2008, 02:58 PM
Kellie, can I ask why you use a different formula at night?
The Novalac Sweet Dreams is a thickened formula that sits in the gut for longer for hungry babies. Just something we thought we'd try cause I was at my wits end with Joe. He would wake and would resettle with a bottle so thought maybe he was hungry. Also it is nearly $30 a tin (I think) so didn't want to be using it all the time IYKWIM. Neither Joe nor Elizabeth have any reflux/colic/gut issues so we just use the Terry White brand of formula for during the day.
Kellie
kazzil
07/05/2008, 03:16 PM
Thanks for that Kellie!
doubleornothing, gold formula was recommended to me so I just went with it. If you call Nutricia (their freecall number is on the side of the tin) and tell them you're a twin mum, you can buy formula for about $17 a tin delivered. You have to buy 12 or 18 tins at a time though so it's a chunk off the credit card. They'll ask you to fax/post in a letter from your doc or nurse to prove you've got twins though.