The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: Apr 08 Parents # 2

Bel

Congratulations on the birth of your babies, and welcome to the April 08 Parents Group!

As you can see, there is only one Parents Group, so I hope that all members of both Due In Groups feel welcome in here.

Please take a few moments to read the Parent Group Guidelines, and please remember that all EB Forum Guidelines Apply in here as well.

I am online at various points throughout the day, so please feel free to PM me if you have any queries, or you think anything needs my attention.

Once again, CONGRATULATIONS!
nzmum
GOLD!!!!

Luca is being a complete pain at going to sleep without being cuddled. I am trying very hard to settle him in his moses basket but he is being a rebel. I had two successes yesterday though, so I am trying to perservere. Natasha, I haven't read the happiest baby on the block. What does he suggest?

We are heading out to look at people movers. We have been trying to live in denial over this. It is going to be an interesting experience trying to look at cars with a 4 yr old a 20month old and a newborn in tow.
Stepmumand1
OHH Natasha Dr Harvey Karp also wrote another book Baby Bliss. Its very similar to HBOTB, but more for the first 12 weeks. If i remember correctly.

Happy Baby website. I was trying to remember the way he says is a foolproof, cant get their arms out way to wrap baby. Only way that worked for DS1.

The Happiest Toddler is a good book but was a bit hard to actually grasp. A DVD version would be awesome. I'll have to see if my libary has the DVD's. They dont even have Dr Sear, another one I love.

Not much else to report on. Jai has been sleeping with us most nights. DS1 is now in his big boy bed; NO DRAMAS laugh.gif so we will be packing cot up for a few weeks then Jai can have that sidecar style attached to our bed. My step sister had a baby girl last night, she is in Ireland. Its made me so more clucky for another.

Must run and change nappy. Have to go for a walk and get some milk.
2puppies
Hi everyone - just introducing myself to those who dont know me from the 2nd April DIG

I'm Mel - live in Sydney and now have 2 DDs (and 2 Golden retrievers as my name suggests - clearly i joined EB when the only 'babies' i had were the dogs!)
DD1 Holly will be 3 in June and my new bub Hannah was born on the 19th of April. Had a pretty uneventful pregnancy and a pretty quick and painful labour despite a epidural which didn't seem to work very well.
So far Hannah is settling in very well - she is mostly sleeping with a few awake periods each day (usually followed by a difficult time settling her).
Today she has been basically sleeping all day - which doesn't bode well for tonight wacko.gif I think i will have to keep her awake after her next feed so i don't end up hopping in and out of bed for hours trying to get her back to sleep...
I haven't read much of the history of this group so far. Finding it quite hard to sit at the computer for any length between DD1 demanding attention and feeding Hannah! but will try and pop in on odd occasions, most likely on tuesdays or thursdays when DD1 is in daycare - at the moment those days feel like holidays to me since DD2 sleeps all day - but i guess that will change pretty quickly!

Argg i started writing this 3 hour ago - will post it now before something else distracts me!

nice to meet u all and lots of sleepy baby vibes for the night ahead!

mel
kiaralee
Hi Again everyone, hope your all enjoying your new bubs.

I am also a firm believer in dummies, My DD1 had a dummy until she was 2, it never posed a problem to me establishing BF and she gave it up relitively easy when she was 2. ( we just did it gradually)
I am a fan of dummies as my mum never let me or my sister have dummies and my sister began sucking her thumb which she did until she was 10, even nowadays if she is really sleepy i have caught her sucking her thumb. She has also had to go under extensive orthodontic work to fix her teeth due to sucking her thumb and pushing them outwards.
I wish Sienna would take a dummy to settle but she hates the things and gets really angry if i try. Her speech pathologist recommends me sticking with it though as it will help her develop stronger muscles for sucking.

well gtg Siennas ready for a feed, will bbl for more presonals
sarah xx
Rosie*Posie

I am also from the second April DIG - I'm Rosie and I'm a first time mum to Ethan, who was born on 24/04/08. We live in the inner west of Sydney after moving from Perth early last year. We had been TTC for 7 years due to PCOS and were on the IVF path until we conceived naturally last year (we were in shock when we found out!!!!! We call Ethan our change of lifestyle bubba as we had very stressful jobs in WA and worked odd hours etc so the change has been nothing short of a blessing!!!) We also have two Jack Russells, Jessie and Tyson...

We had a water birth which going pretty much text book turned bad at the end - Ethan's shoulder's got stuck and the cord was stuck over his posterior should so when they delivered that, the cord snapped (I've not heard of that ever happening before and my Ob said it is quite rare). Ethan then stopped breathing but the Paed team was amazing whilst the midwives and my ob (who arrived seconds after Ethan was born) looked after me. It's only reflection and reading up on shoulder dystocia that I know how lucky we have been that Ethan didn't get a broken collar bone etc...

Ethan has been pretty good and settles well to his Music for Dreaming (Mozart etc) or radio static. He hates wet/dirty nappies but loves his dad who can settle him within minutes (Yay! but Dad goes back to work next Monday so huh.gif what I'll do then!)

I also haven't read much of this group but will do so so I get to know everyone...

Also I have a really stupid question - do you time your break between feeds from the start of each feed to the start of the next or from the end of the feed to next feed??? I can't find anything in the book I have about the timing between feeds.....

BTW, we're still waiting for 2 of girls to join us in here with their bubba's, so please send Melsb and Riss labour vibes!!!!

Rosie
sueyx
Thank you all for the feedback re: dummies smile1.gif

Hi nervous1st! What a birth story! ohmy.gif So glad it worked out well. WRT feeding times, I count from the start of feeding time. That's what the midwives at my hospital were doing and I asked my Mum too. And it's not a stupid question original.gif

Another question for y'all and I hope it makes sense..

Is anyone else feeling really possessive/protective of their Bubs? MIL has offered to babysit Aiden for me but at the moment I feel much better if he's right near me. I also watch like a hawk when they change/feed him. I'm not sure if this is going to be me as a Mum or a phase?! blink.gif

Time for a feed!
JaneMcG
Hi everyone, and welcome to those who have recently 'arrived' at this space. biggrin.gif

Like all of you I am pushed for time, so I'm sorry I have little time for personals.
Sueyx - I am like you, very possessive over my little new one. wub.gif It does fade with time, but I think it's a different amount of time for all of us. Actually, having said that I can think of a few extreme cases of mothers who are very protective of their 7 yo boys at my son's school! I am in no way ready for anyone to babysit Alice and I did food shopping without her the other day (left her at home with dh) and I rang 3 times to check on her. So, to me, you sound perfectly normal.
SasoraK - thanks for doing the list, it looks great.

I've recently bought the book Save our Sleep and it's actually working today ohmy.gif It's taken a few days for me to get my head around the book (baby brain here) and really understand and apply what she's saying (and I don't agree with all of it) but today it has actually worked twice! Alice has settled herself in her cradle by herself. I don't count the times when I put her in the pram and go for a walk, cos I think it's the movement that puts her to sleep then. So, I've finally had a good day! Here's hoping we all have a good night tonight.
IAmCal
dummies are life savers!
jo:as for bf yep time from start of one feed to start of another feed, not a silly question! wink.gif
sueyx-possessiveness-yep i was the same w/ DD only cos i reckon mil has NFI as had kids so long ago-now i don't mind! all normal!
jane: i have that book and the one by elizabeth pantly (far better than SOS) don't agree with alot in SOS but the routines are good.
Carly: great list as usual! thanks! smile1.gif
best be off witching time here! oh n dinner ready soon (WA time)
IAmCal
Hello
Carly: same here! Darren is back at work today! Amelia has been crying most of the day-she is still sick and has her eye teeth coming through so she cried non stop for over an hour. So panadol and sedagel here for her teeth. I love your sig btw! wub.gif
Noah is doing well-he has definately grown i want to weigh him but too p*ssed off to go down to the child health clinic as the nurse failed to see something was wrong with him rant.gif not the first time i have had probs with her either! Oh he slept ok lastnight at least he was asleep at 8.30pm, woke at 11.30ish, 2.30ish and then at 4.30ish then at 6.30ish. All for feeds/nappy changes.
Managed to vacuum and mop all the house bar our bedroom and Noah's room. I wish Darren wasn't using his room as a computer room-has the computer set up in his wardrobe (it is built in with an open front style). Men! Still have the washing up to do-Darren made a mess last night and I always get stuck doing it even after I did 5 loads of washing yesterday! grrr laughing2.gif
I hope all is well with you lovely ladies!
lv Cally
Busy working mum
I can't believe my baby girl is a month old today cry1.gif
I still gaze at her and can't believe that we have so many "firsts" coming up. DH & I have already had our "first" smiles (proper one's, not just wind!) but the first time that she laughs, the first time that she stretches out her arms to be lifted up. I'm gushing!

DH was meant to go back to work today for the first time since Ella was born, but due to a soccer injury, he had today off. I really just want to have alone time with my daughter! How selfish is that?! Does anyone else think they would have killed their DH if he had been home for a month?!!!!

We went to the drop-in clinic just to get Ella measured and weighed - think I'm going to start doing it on the 5th of every month... So at birth she was 2.980kg & 48cm and today is 3.600kg and 52.5cm... Great considering she was 3 weeks early!

Have some stuff to vent about, but will wait a bit to calm down before I write stuff I regret.

Big hugs to you and your bubs!
Lump-of-Coal
My baby is a month tomorrow cry1.gif ! I'm hearing you Helimat.
Anthony is feeding, feeding and feeding some more. He does seem very windy and has little 'perks' with each feed. My SIL had a lactation consultant over this afternoon and she puts it down to chocolate - what are your thoughts ladies??? With DD she seemed fine with choc, I guess the only way I will know for sure is if I stop eating it sad.gif

I feel like a human feeding/washing machine laughing2.gif
I did manage to drive 3hrs to Melbs with my 22month old and Anthony visit my SIL and nephew (born 2 days after A) stay for a couple of days and drive back. What an effort - I felt like I was packing for a small army.
kirstyjs
I've been reading the msg's but not replying - always seem to get interrupted!
Sounds like everyone is concerned about their babies sleeping! I went down that path with DS#1, when I hit rock bottom at 12 wks. Luckily DD was a great sleeper, and got herself to sleep (I wasn't going to settle a baby to sleep unless she really needed it, I picked DS#1 every time he made a sound!). Hopefully Josh will too, he does sometimes, but he's had a cold, so it's been hard for him. Now I'm getting it, so I'm really annoyed, at least some of those AB's will pass onto Josh through my milk and help him recover!
Must go and rest while DH has two older ones,
Kirsty.
lovemybabies86
Hi just thought i would pop in and introduce myself for the girls which dont know me, my name is Skye and my DF is Mike and i have 2 children DD Summah who is 3 and DS Alex who is 3 weeks today. he was born on the 15th of april but i wasnt due till the 20th but was induced

any way i will hopefully get to know u all really soon

Skye
IAmCal
hello
moopey:i don't agree about the chocolate thing-maybe caffeine would upset them? oh well i guess you can try!
Carly: try the fess nasal spray for her lil nose! i hope she is better soon! was quite warm here last night. warm today too.
oops mr cranky pants is here!
take care
lv Cally
Lump-of-Coal
Hey Cal I was just thinking that back when we were guessing who was going to go first you and I were up there. I think other than the Danielle's twins we would be the first couple of non induced/c section births. So our guesstimations were pretty good.
AuntyK
Argh! I am finding it really weird trying to keep up with the two threads!!! I read stuff here, and then forget that it was here, and answer in the other thread, and then I discover it was over here... Argh!!!

Liv - chocolate?? I have heard that but don't believe it either. Coffee, broccoli, onion and cauliflower I have def. heard it with also. So there is a chance there is something. Also lactose can have an affect. Although, I just read an interesting transcript of and ABC segment, and in that it says to NOT cut things out of your diet, nor your childs diet just in case of an allergy, as it can actually be what is causing people to have more allergies these days. I wonder if that applies to things that they are already showing an intollerance for??

Hi Kirsty!

Hi Helen! Good to see you posting! Ella is getting to be a big girl now!!!!

Urgh. It is like a bloody wrestling arena here right now. Two of the boys' friends are over and one of them has NO idea on how to play quietly. I swear the child has ADHD big time (and yes, I am serious, I do think he does, not just a throw away statement!!!) and we have been asked to have him stay for the night cause his dad is away. Argh!!! I don't know if I can cope with this... Deep breaths, deep breaths...

K
natasha77
Hi Girls!

Sorry another MIA yet again!

nzmum - Happiest Baby on the Block works on 5 S's.
Swaddling/Shhing/Swaying/Sucking....and for the life of me I can't remember the other one sorry! (We're only using the first three and it's working so well still with Henry).

We haven't looked back since I watched the DVD, Henry has been in his basket all night every night!! smile1.gif

Can anyone tell me approx how long a growth spurt usually lasts? Henry went to two hourly feeds for the last week... which was killer as he takes an hour to feed. I'm hoping a better night last night means we've seen the end of it... but DH nor I could find any info in the books about what o expect duration-wise.

Okay, off to PM to get added to the list original.gif

Sorry my posts are so quick and selfish! Henry is due to wake any moment and I need to do the water/pillow/toilet dash tongue.gif

Nxx
AuntyK
Natasha - quick and selfish is fine! I think we all understand right now!!!

Growth spurt? No idea! A few days maybe??? I know, I should know, but I honestly can't remember!!!! I seem to erase my memories from one child to the next and then they all come flooding back once it starts to happen again!

OK, deep breaths still going here. OMG, these kids...

K
breilla
I'm here original.gif Will pop back later and do an intro.
2puppies
just checking in to say hi and ask a few questions!

K - hope the kids all finally went to sleep...i am struggling with 2 (of my own) kids in the house - let alone 7 + extras! you must be super mum!

Carly - hope your day is a bit more relaxing today original.gif

Moopey - you are brave going visiting with a newborn - i dread even going to visit my grandparents and its only a 50 min drive away!

Re books on settling - Natasha mentioned the Happiest baby on the Block one...has anyone got a favourite - there are so many with different opinions on everthing - thought i would get in early and read a few while Hannah is still quite sleepy...She is quite different to DD who wasn't interested in sucking at all and didn't have an unsettled period (just didn't like sleeping in the day so was quite often cranky) - whereas Hannah is very unsettled for 3 or so hours in the evening and does like sucking...I'm not quite sure of the best way of handling it (i would be happy to just hold her and feed her but since the unsettled period coincides with me trying to feed/bath and bed DD1 that isn't really an option unless i put her in a sling i suppose)
I haven't tried a dummy yet (and never used one with DD1) - so here is a silly question...what do i do with it - just stick it in her mouth and leave it there or do i take it out after she is settled or asleep? Also do i need to sterilise them right before i give it to her or is it ok to give a dummy that has been sterilised and kept in a container for a few days?

anyway better go do some washing and housework before she wakes up.

Have a good day everyone!
mel
AuntyK
Morning!!

Well, I survived! We all did. Not too many probs in the end. I just had to wait for Mik to come home and play tough dad figure a little bit. Worked a treat! Tell you what though, that father owes me big time!!!

Carly - I feel stupid asking questions too! We can't know it all though right?!?!

Mel - no, not supermum. Actually, feeling rather calm about 'life' right now, but that could be because I can't actually do anything (cause of the SPD)! I don't have the school runs to do, I don't have to cook or shop. I don't have to do the washing, the cleaning etc. I just have to make sure Fionn is OK and keep the kids fed during the day and entertained. i have progressed to doing the dishes (Mik bought me a stool to sit on so I can be there long enough to get them done), and I can now bathe Fionn on my own. Oh, and I can fold the washing for the kids to put away. Pathetic isn't it!?!?! So no, don't feel like supermum AT ALL!!! Now Mik on the other hand, he is def. super Dad right now!!! He deserves ALL praise that is thrown his way!

Dummies - we use the Happy Baby brand (cheapies from the supermarket). They come with a cover, so steralise and pop the cover on. They should stay that way for ages. What you do with the dummy when they are asleep is up to you. Fionn usually stops the sucking thing once he is asleep and it drops out of his mouth, Gael would keep sucking right through the night and it would stay in his mouth. So I guess it depends on the child and what they need from the dummy. I personally think there are two reasons for giving a dummy - when they are are needing comfort through sucking, and when they have reflux/wind pain and it helps to settle their stomach. I think Fionn uses his for the wind to help it settle, whereas Gael def. used his for comfort. Not sure if that answered your questions? I personally find a dummy great for some kids, others don't need them. And yes, sometimes it IS the best thing for your sanity and your house!!!

Oh, and Mel - that is the cutest pic of Hannah in your sig! She looks so adorable!!!!

Hmmm... I spose I should get out of bed sometime today. Gael is at kindy and for a change I have no appointments. So have just been lying here with the baby and the cat. These days are so lovely!!! Until I get the guilts that is!!!

K
IAmCal
hello
i have crazy boobs! the right one sprays all over the house in the shower, i finished feeding Noah n could spray Amelia with it laughing2.gif i think i have a strong let down-it hurts and sometimes i have it 2-3 times in a feed! wacko.gif Amelia squashed Noah yesterday-she climbed into his bassinet how i don't know! he was ok just frightened as much as i was! cry1.gif then i was in tears as i felt like a bad mum cos he'd already been sick then Amelia does that.
K: laughing2.gif lady muck hey? well hopefully you can be up and about asap!
Liv: dummies-sterilise them then cover them and put them in a food container or in the fridge. i just leave them with the dummy they usually spit it out when they fall asleep. ummm some lil babies won't take it or only take it sometimes. i would be lost without one w/ amelia! noah isn't to fussed about them. i use the nuk ones with noah and the happy baby with amelia.
oh well Noah is having his fuss pot timem so best be off!
take care
lv Cally
Lump-of-Coal
Just a quick 'Hi' just had to report that A put on nearly a KILO in two weeks OMG!!!! ohmy.gif At least the 2 hourly feeding has done something - I would say it was a growth spurt and lasted for about 3 days.

Cal - Claudi is upto similar antics the joys of having a 20-21 month gap!!
2puppies
thanks girls for the dummy advice - i tried it yesterday and she seemed to like it for a little while - spat it out once asleep.

bad news in she seems to have caught the cold that DD1 and i have had...poor little thing is snorting and grunting all over the place - hopefully it won't last long

better go she awake!
barlea85
Hey Guys,
Im really surprised at the amount of sleep Charlea is getting at night now, shes sleeping 5 to 7hrs at night which is good for mum and dad to catch up on their sleep, too bad most of the time we stay up watching our tv shows. Need to start going to sleep when she does say after her 8pm feed (or sometime around then).

We took Charlea out in her pram yesterday for the first time, she was really good, cried once when we stopped to look at digital cameras, dad had to settle her and then she was fine back in the pram while we did our food shop.

My partners brother and his gf come around today, I think Charlea scared his gf who is around 8weeks pregnant, think she now knows that she will have a little one to look after by the end of the year.

Hope you all are well and coping well.
2puppies
barlea85 - you sound just like me (although def not getting 7 hours sleep from hannah yet) - but she does her biggest sleep after her 8pm ish feed - will sleep till 1 or 2am for the last few nights - but i rarely get to bed before 10:30 or 11...silly really. Will have to make an effort to be in bed earlier from next week as DH is back at work and won't be getting up with DD1 so i can sleep in anymore cry1.gif

ok back to the chores...

actually one question - Hannah has been doing green poos (looks like she has been eating grass or pesto) for the last 3 or 4 days - the ECHN says it doesn't matter but does anyone have any opinions - i didn't think it would stay green for this long (DD1 did it a few times but never for extended periods...) - FYI she is fully breastfed and pooping at least a few times a day.
IAmCal
Hello
Liv: glad to hear Amelia isn't the only naughty child! I have to get Noah weighed he looks so much bigger! blink.gif
2puppies: i think it is normal for bf babies-they aren't really runny/watery? Sometimes i think they say it's got to do with the feeding patterns or with what you are eating?? poos and wees link
Not much happening here! Just tired I think i need more iron in my diet better start the extra iron tabs! Amelia's nappy rash is clearing up thank goodness! I wonder what we'll get for mother's day??? last year i got a coffee machine but yeah i haven't used it since we moved cos i'm too lazy to clean it and we have no bench space!
ANyway, waves.gif
take care love cally
original.gif
Lump-of-Coal
I see you down there Pineapple! Your DD is beautiful, newborn pictures melt my heart.

2puppies - not sure about the green, maybe check out the Australian BF Association website, we were given some lovely pics of poo and what to expect when we in hospital - I can't remember where it is! A's poos are all yellow, mustard seed/foamy.

Nothing much to report here. Had a couple of nearly 2 year olds come and play with DD today - mini whirlwind with Playdoh, vegemite and banana cake. happy.gif
nzmum
2puppies - I think the greenish BF poo indicates Hannah is getting more fore-milk rather than hind-milk. Try staying on one side for longer to see if that makes a difference. This is something my midwife was asking me about this week.

No time for proper personals. Luca has been an unhappy boy for the last few days and I am tired.
2puppies
Cal - thanks for that link original.gif - i've had one or 2 poosplosions that were very watery but most are normal consistency ...(such detail - sorry to anyone who is eating!)

Moopey - will try the BF assoc site - didn't think of that - thanks

nzmum - i've read that theory about formilk/hindmilk - it could be that however H only feeds on one side at the moment and at most for about 15 mins (which hasn't changed basically since my milk came in - have a very fast flow) - maybe this is the problem but i guess i can't really do anything about that one...shes already chucking some of the milk up after guzzling so much so fast so i can see how i can get her to take any more..
actually i guess i could always express off some milk first before feeding but might be a bt hard with a bub screaming for food!
I hope Luca settles down for your soon and you can catch up on some sleep hands.gif (we had our first 1.5 hours of terrible screaming this afternoon - i cant imagine how i would cope if it was happening constantly...fotunately a bath followed by a BF knocked her out so hoping it doesn't restart when she wakes up)

will see how we go for the next few days and if the poos still like this on monday then might check with the GP.

ok better try and get to bed early for once.

night night

mel
breilla
Try and get this done as quick as I can while both babies are sleeping. biggrin.gif

Okay, for those who weren't in the 2nd April DIG. My name is Alicia and my partner is Alex. I have two gorgeous older boys from a past relationship and I now have gorgeous twin boys with Alex. Ewan and Angus came into the world on the 12th of April so this makes them 4 weeks old today. cool.gif

I'm also a dog breeder/exhibitor and the only other females in this house are two of my dogs; Sunni and Shensei - who are both little b!tches. laughing2.gif (of course).

Both my partner and myself are photographers although I am taking a backseat with work at the moment due to obvious reasons... another pair of hands to any mother would be fantastic!

I look forward to getting to know about everyone in the April 2008 mum's group. I'll try to post but it is hard at the moment, however I will be ph34r.gif and keeping as up to date as I can with everyone.

original.gif
~Girk~
Moopey: waves.gif laughing2.gif yes, was coming on to post yesterday but every time I start typing DD seems to want a feed! Glad you liked her pic, I'll post some more soon.

My Intro: hi everyone, I'm from the 16-30 April DIG. my DD is 11 days old today, she is our first & we are really enjoying her, but finding it a little hard. She was 8 days overdue and I was induced. Quick summary: Had the gel night before, then in the morning had ARM & drip. baby was posterior, she turned in labour & then turned back & in the end was manually turned by my OB in the pushing stage (which was 1.5hours) she got stuck between my tailbone & pubic bone & needed the vacuum to help her out. 2nd degree tear & lots of bruising, swelling near my bottom from where her head was bearing down. baby was 4kg with 36.5cm head (ouch!). I struggled with disappointment over some aspects of her birth, mainly as I wanted to experience a spontaneous, natural labour with natural endorphins assisting me, but after lots of discussion with Ob, I accepted an induction. I hated being tied to a drip during labour & the monitoring that came with this. I tried to use relaxation, the spa etc and techniques from "Birth Skills" as I wanted to avoid an epidural. I had hardly slept for 2 nights before and then labour went all day, I had her just after midnight the following day so I was exhausted. The pain became too intense & I feel I lost control, I had an epidural about 3 hours before she was born & then a small top up during pushing.
I feel like there are some parts of labour that I don't rememeber clearly & I'm sad about that as I was really looking forward to the birth & excited about meeting my baby, but the moment they put her on my chest I just felt so exhausted I didn't really "savour it" as I wanted to IYKWIM.
I tried to go into it being flexible & having an open attitide but I guess I also had expectations at some level that it would go better than it did. I was in a lot of pain afterwards & found it hard to B/F sitting up & to walk,etc. I'm feeling heaps better now, & although I found her birth emotionally & physically challenging, I am just so glad to have my gorgeous, healthy DD.

sorry for rambling! ok, that wasn't really a quick summary laughing2.gif

looking forward to getting to know you all,
cheers
Pineapple

P.S edited to remove PG ticker, need a new sig!
nzmum
2puppies - It's probably not the issue then as if you are doing single sided feeds she should be getting a good mix of milk. My flow is really fast too and Luca sounds like he's drowning! My midwife suggested expressing off the first bit of the feed, but I'm with you - who has time!

Us - I am slowly getting more shattered. Luca is nothing like Mia and Jemma were in the early weeks (unless there is some rose coloured glasses happening with them). He is a very unsettled baby and he is crying for a good many hours every day. I am struggling to find things that soothe him. He is not sleeping much at all now, so that is no doubt making things worse. I can sometimes get him to sleep on my shoulder, but it's tricky to get anything done. He even cried in the sling. I am unfortunately starting to be concerned he is a reflux baby. This amount of unconsoleable crying is not something I've had to deal with before. I am not able to give Mia and Jemma much attention at all but they are being pretty amazing about it so far. He is only 4.5weeks old though, so things may change! Wish me luck.

No time for more personals...
Lump-of-Coal
Hey girls,

Typing whilst feeding aka slowly.

Pineapple - With my DD I was induced and had a very similar experience to you - I was hoping for the active labour and I was basically tied into the bed with the epidural and monitors. I think for some people when their baby is born they are so emotional and cry and cry with joy (and probably relief). I had all these expectations and then I had DD and not a tear (strangely for me) - so wonderful to have her but not the emotion I had seen on TV and read about. Maybe a mist of epidural? Funnily now I struggle to remember all the details of her birth at the time I thought I would NEVER forget them. So from me to you what you are experiencing sounds completely normal. Try not to be too hard on yourself hhugs.gif

nzmum - Sounds like you are having real challenges with Luca, esp if your girls were so different. I hope things pick up for you soon.
IAmCal
Hello
Pineapple: Amelia's birrth was the same was not how i expected it and was quite traumatic for me. I still can't remember alot of the first month or so with her it is all a blur. I consequently had PND but unfortunately no one diagnosed me until she was several months old. This time was so much different, i remember it all and i have no negative thoughts/flash backs about it at all. oh except the epidural fiasco but i think that's nothing compared to Amelia's birth! All normal I think! I guess if it really is bothering you, you could talk to a counsellor?
J: Luca sounds like Amelia was and she was like that until 3 months and I didn't get a diagnosis until she was 8 weeks old. Maybe try infants gaviscon you mix it up in breast milk or cool boiled water, give it before/after a feed and keep him upright for 20 mins after feeding. It's like a thickener/makes a float to stop the acid burning their oesophagus. Have you tried tilting his bed up slightly? I hope he settles soon I know how you feel (well sort of)
Hello Alicia and Mel and everyone else! waves.gif
Carly:got my coles bag today but i had the green voucher so they'd only give me the green bag...came in handy as Amelia was playing up and was hungry so I gave her the snack bar from in it! I'd rather the baby one-I might ask my MIL who works at the baby club to get me another voucher for the baby one tongue.gif
sueyx
Hi ~Pineapple~ - thanks for posting your birth story. My baby was also induced and I empathised with alot of what you said (phew, thought I was the only one in that boat). The main difference is my labour ended up being 2 hours which was a huge shock. OB had prepped me for long labour and probable c-section as I was only 1/5 engaged when I was induced. So the intense pain won and I didn't have time for pain relief. I didn't feel in control for most of that 2 hours and I was so out of it! I could only feel relief afterwards and my baby felt foreign to me.

SasoraK - Carly, it's not just your FF baby with the evil farts and poos! The farts are plentiful and some of the poos..OMG sick.gif How often is your Bubs feeding?

Hellos to everyone else! smile1.gif Not much to add from my end. Aiden is starting to stay awake for longer periods and is harder to settle at times. Poor lad had trouble with a stuffed nose but a steamy bathroom and a well time sneeze finally fixed it. Phew!!
AuntyK
Happy Mother's Day!

I had a whole post written, but lost it.

So instead I will just send you all wonderful wishes of relaxation and pampering! Enjoy your new look families today!!!

Love K wub.gif
Persnickety_
Happy mothers day girls
wub.gif Sorry for being so slack but things are hectic here laughing2.gif I will try to pop in tonight and have a catch up wub.gif

Jodie
AuntyK
I just took some photos and uploaded...
Fionn on Mother's Day
another one today
and an oldie but I love it!

Trying to get all the kids ready for a group photo. I can't tell you how hard this is!!!

K

ETA - We did it! Here it is...
The Quall Kids
Danielle20
hey girls sorry just a quick one- both my dss and ds had reflux and milk allergies so i feel silly asking this BUT li'l Emmi Jane has 8 bottles of 100mls each day firstly does this seem right- she leaves 25 mls in half of them so 4 out of the 8. Secondly around 2-3 of these bottles she spews ATLEAST half the bottle and its like a scence from the exorcist- now i DO NOT think it is an allergy as she isnt really unhappy when she does it - i really think its wind as its VERY Hard to get burps out of her but if we dont keep trying she will spew the whole lot up which happens as i said 2-3 times a day. Now as i said i am used to reflux babies but they never spewed as big a quantity as li'l miss..... anya advice? we sit her up whilst feeding and for 20 mins afterwards we ALWAYS burp her, we bicycle her legs and do baby sit ups to get the burps out but the spewing is disasterous but as i said we try and try to get the burps out but to no avail a couple feeds each day.... ugghhh i know i am rambling i think all the spew has gotten to my brain laughing2.gif

seriously lucky shes cute haha here is a couple pics!

wub.gif having a lil girl FINALLY!
AuntyK
Oh Danielle! You poor thing!!!

I think the amount of bottles is pretty close, I was going to say maybe one less, but she is leaving about that much anyway.

It could be that she needs a different formula as she is reacting to the one you are using?
It could be that the feeds could be thickened a little with Karicare to keep them down (this will probably result in her having a bit less milk cause she will be more full also).
Or it could just be that she is a happy chucker! Liam was one and it was forever coming back up again!! But he put on weight really well, he didn't have reflux, just chucked and chucked all the time! He was BF, so it wasn't the formula in that case, he just couldn't keep it down!

Someone else might have a better suggestion!?!?

K

ETA - Just thought, I wonder if trying to get the number of bottles back to around 6-7 and stretching out her feeds a bit. Just try to hold her off a little longer and make it 4hrly feeds rather than 3hrly??
steps
Its great to finally be able to check into this group! firstly just to introduce myself...my name is erin and i'm from the 1-15th april group. I had my little girl (she was 9 1/2 pounds) Stella on the 25th april (didn't think she would ever come!) but was due on the 14th..I live north coast nsw with stella and her dad and currently she is asleep biggrin.gif and i've managed to get a carrot cake and some slow cooking corned beef on the go! i'll also be attempting a shower but she will probably stop that one glare.gif ..

Stella's birth: I had 2 stretch and sweeps a week apart and the second one kick started regular contractions. I went to hospital thursday night (3cm) and had no sleep with the cx all night. I had an internal and ARM in the morning to show i was still only 3cm and after a long day had another internal at 3pm that showed i was still only 3cm rant.gif
I was so absolutely exhausted and losing it so we transferred to a bigger hospital (THE worst ambulance ride ever!!) where i had an epidural and syntocinon. I zonked out for about an hour original.gif then woke up to the worst pain in my right hip, they topped up my epidural then checked how dilated i was- 10CM! yay but OWWWWW. The pain was so concentrated in my hip I couldn't focus and i started getting pretty vocal and distressed. i was waiting for the 'urge' to push but it never came, so after an hour of waiting for it and me being generally beside myself i just started to fake the urge and push. It actually relieved the pain to push so i didn't break between pushes as i just wanted her out!! 30minutes later her head was out then next push her shoulders and body wub.gif 9.5pound, 55cm body, head 36cm apgars 9 and 9.
so far she has been awesome just feeding, burping, pooing weeing and sleeping and not much crying (so far that is).

hope the post wasn't too long and sorry no personals but the shower is calling...
I look forward to getting to know everyone and CONGRATULATIONS on all your beautiful babies and HAPPY MOTHERS DAY!!

must change ticker too
X ERIN
nzmum
Danielle - Mia was a happy chucker too. She was fully BF and would do the exorcist impression after every feed too. I had loads of helpful people tell me it was reflux, but she never cared about it. In the end I just got lots of cloths and she eventually (read months) grew out of it. So based on your description and my experience with Mia I wouldn't be overly concerned and would buy more spill cloths. biggrin.gif

Luca was perfectly behaved when my uncle came to visit today. He fell asleep in his arms and generally looked adorable. It was a wonderful change not to be the one trapped under the sleeping baby. Of course as soon as my uncle left and we put Luca in his basket he got most upset. He is a real limpit baby.

Aunty K (and anyone else with any advice)- So when do you think the point comes when they need to sleep on their own to avoid bad sleep habits? I am seriously struggling with Luca and am worried that I won't be able to get him sleeping when he's not on me. Nice as it sounds I just can't do the full-time attachment parenting thing. I have other children who need me too. I am constantly trying to put him in his basket, but even if he's asleep when he goes in within 5mins he's awake and crying. Putting him down awake and patting/rocking works 1/5 tims, but 4/5 time he continues crying/sleeping/crying/sleeping all with his eyes closed. After a while I generally give up and cuddle him off to sleep. This whole process can take 45mins.
AuntyK
Grrrr.... just tried to go out for a walk with the kids and it started raining, literally the SECOND we stepped out the door! And its been hot and sunny all morning, what is with that!?!?! Grr...

So back here...

Erin - long post?? laughing2.gif Hardly. Wait 'til you see some of our mega posts! Lovely to 'meet' you, and Stella is such a lovely name!!

J - Have been thinking about you today, and your post about Luca being so very unsettled. You know, I would also be thinking reflux with him. He sounds soooo much like Aoiffe when she was little. From the day we got her home she would just cry and cry and cry, and it was hysterical crying too, just went on for hours. The only way to settle her was to hold her, and as soon as she went down she would start up again only minutes later. And then by 4mths she was in the WORST sleep pattern during the day that by night time it was a combo of the reflux and just being totally over it and she would scream non stop for hours. Sound familiar!?!?!?!? I will assume you just said yes, and I will say, yep, thought so.

Some things that gave us a really good indication that Aoiffe had reflux...
- screaming (naturally!)
- would start the day fairly quiet, but over the day it would build up and get worse and worse until the evening where she was totally hysterical.
- she was happier upright.
- she would just scream if I put her in her capsule cause her belly was doubled over.
- she wouldn't go down on the ground for tummy time, even at 4mths!
- EVERYTHING we did simply didn't work to calm her down. Warm baths, massage, wrapping, rocking, swinging - NOTHING helped!

So, if it were me right now? I would first of all look at lots of things to help with reflux - most of all putting him in a cot and raising the head of the cot, rather than using the basket. The cot may just give him a little bit more support for his belly and then on a slope the food is more likely to stay down. I would also sleep him on his side rather than on his back, especially now whilst he is little and he doesn't move much in bed. That way you have time to work out what is wrong before it becomes a real risk of him rolling onto his front.

I would ask my CHN about a small dose of mylanta to give him. We started it at around 5-6wks from memory. We also tried giving her just a teaspoon or two of thickener mixed with breast milk. It was super runny and we would pour it into her mouth and down her throat to try and get SOMETHING in there that would help her tummy settle. We also started feeding her farex as SOON as her tongue reflex would allow her (I think around 3.5mths?) so that she could keep something heavy in her tummy.

Then, as soon as I could, I would then see a Dr and get him examined. And keep pushing your point! I was told that Aoiffe had colic and to take her for a drive. blink.gif I went three times to that Dr and was fobbed off. The nurses tried to help, but it wasn't until we booked into the sleep school that they diagnosed the reflux and put her on meds. Once she was on the meds we could fix her terrible sleeping habits. And seriously, it was almost immediate!! Once she wasn't in pain, it only took about a week before she was totally reformed!!

Now... having said all that...

What if it isn't reflux and just a really unhappy baby who needs some sleep training?? Hmmm... I have just started this week making sure that Fionn has at least a couple of sleeps a day where he goes down awake and falls asleep himself. The other times I don't mind if he falls asleep in my arms, but for those couple of sleeps he has to go down on his own. If he gets unsettled, I give him his dummy, and or pat him for a bit til he settles. I have to admit that I am SUPER LUCKY and he really doesn't fuss. But IF he did, I would pat him on his bum (he side sleeps, all my babies have and I swear by it, despite the SIDS recommendation!), until he drops off. If he started crying and fussing, I would hold his arms tightly with one hand, and pat his bum with the other. Once he was settled I would slowly release his arms, stop patting, and slowly move away. When we did this with Aoiffe, it would take a few goes before she would be so soundly asleep that she didn't wake again, but eventually she learned that she just needed to sleep on her own.

So to answer your question a little more clearly, yes, he should be starting to have a sleep in his bed on his own. HOW you get him to sleep in the first place is really up to you. If rock him in your arms, and then lay him down and he stays there - great! Use it for the moment until he is getting better at sleeping on his own. WHEN he has established a good sleeping pattern, THEN move to the step of putting him down awake. But if he doesn't stay asleep once he is there?? That is when I would look at the stuff above.

Another thing you can use to get him to sleep is to put him in his pram and then move him back and forwards over a bump (like the join in carpet and tiles) until he is asleep and then just leave him there. Same theory as above, once he is sleeping properly, THEN work on moving him to his bed etc.

Sorry, all of this is probably a little mixed up! I have kids being nightmarish! They are p*ssed cause our walk has been postponed!!! If it didn't make sense, tell me and I will come back and try to explain more clearly.

Oh, and J - I felt so terribly useless as a mother when I had had my 3rd baby, and I couldn't get her to sleep!!! I just thought I had no idea whatsoever! If you are feeling like that at all - DON'T! I would seriously guess that there could be more to your story than just an unsettled baby, its just a matter of finding out what is wrong and getting it fixed so that you can THEN work on the sleep stuff.

Good luck! I hope you get some sleep soon!!!!

Love Aunty K wub.gif
IAmCal
hello
reflux: yep Amelia was like that except it would start at 5am and yep was told several times by gp it was colic until 8 weeks old and a paed diagnosed her with reflux, prescribed zantac, gaviscon and 1ml mylanta if needed. i ended up trying the zantac for 2 weeks but it seemed to upset her more so just stuck to the infants gaviscon. Amelia had a distended tummy (swallowing saliva& therefore air) to stop the burning, funny skid mark type poos, saliva bubbles in her mouth, lots of crying etc. i had tried infacol etc but nothing worked. thankfully the gaviscon helped and she was better by 3-4 months once she could sit up more.
Erin: hello!
Happy Mothers Day as well!
best be off
lv Cally
kiaralee
Hi there everyone,
I know i have posted my intro here before but i havent been back since, life has just been so busy as im sure you all know.
It is great to see so many familiar faces and all the new ones too original.gif I just love all the gorgeous photos,

Dannielle: your girl is such a cutie, Sienna is on 6 bottles a day of 105mls each and is fed every 4 hours. This is the ammount set by the drs in the nicu for her. So your ammounts sound right just fed more frequently original.gif

K: Finns gorgeous too, we have bought the same outfit from pumpkin patch for Sienna but in the pink wub.gif

Erin: Hi there, what a beautiful name you have chosen for your DD

nzmum: I hope Luca starts to settle better soon.

I cant remember how much i have written about my bubs in this thread, but as an update.
Sienna Rose will be 5 weeks old on tuesday, Since being born she has had various problems that have kept her in the NICU but atm they are all resolved except for her feeding. We have been allowed to bring her home with a nasal gastric tube in so she doesnt lose any more weight . The last couple of days her feeding has been really poor with her only drinking 5-10mls of her bottle at each feed.I feel so fustrated. The neonatologists arent sure what is wrong with her, apart from major hypotonia(weak muscles) and are doing heaps of tests. I have been told there is a chance of her having a chromosonal abnormality and atm are awaiting the test results. She is being admitted back to the NICU on wednesday to have an EEG, Lumbar puncture and MRI. They are hoping that these will shed some light to why she is so weak and her reflexes arent that good. The last 5 weeks feel so long to me, and i hate so much seeing her have all these tests. I am just so glad that i have got to bring her home for the last week and be like a normal family.
DD1 and DS have been so helpful with Sienna and DD1 is so cute when she spends ages just staring at her new sister, almost enough to make me cry,lol got to love those pg hormones.

Quick Question, I went to the GP last night as i have been getting really bad migraines and waking up at night drenched in sweat(enough that i have to get changed) He put it down to stress and anxiety. I told him i dont feel anxious at all and that i actually feel quite calm. and he said it was in my sub conscious. Has anyone else felt fine but then had wierd body reactions that suggest anxiety? I thought it might also be my bodys hormone levels going back to normal again.

well better go put DD1 to bed, will try and catch up with the rest of the thread tomorrow
luv Sarah
BboysFlygirl
Evening ladies,

Well I have finally ventured out of the 2nd DIG to over here.

For those that don't know me, I'm Kylee - wife to Brian and Mummy to Liam (4.5), Jack (3.5) and our final addition Imogen Laura.

Imogen was born on 24.04.08 after being induced at 40+3. My labour was fine but I had a very severe haemmorhage after birth (lost 2.5L of blood) which was extremely scary. I needed 2 blood transfusions and stayed in hospital for 5 days all up. I was also back in hospital for 4 days earlier this week as I ended up with a Golden Staph infection. So really I'm all hospitaled out now so I've made the executive decision that I'm going to be fit and healthy and never need to go near one again.

I'm looking forward to getting to know the 1st DIG better.

Will be back tomorrow as I'm off to bed now.

Kylee yyawn.gif
Lump-of-Coal
Happy Mothers Day Mummies!!!!

Little one grunting away better go and feed him again. I have a really tender left boob and he is feeding poorly on that side - I doubt he is draining it properly. No lumps just tenderness. I expressed off the left side earlier and it relieved, now it is back again. Any thoughts/suggestions?
~Girk~
moopey, sueyx & cal: thanks for your kind words of wisdom re: L's birth, I'm feeling heaps better about it now, have had some time to reflect (and the baby blues/sleep deprivation haze is lifting!)

Erin: hello waves.gif I haven't cooked a thing since I've been home, well done on the carrot cake & slow cooking, yum.

Kylee: I just read your intro to the group & remembered what a hard time you had...how's the recovery going? 2.5L is a LOT to lose! wow, hope you don't see a hospital for a very long time.

Sarah: I find that when I am anxious, I am usually consciously aware of it (start having negative thoughts, ruminating over things, plus sometimes physical symptoms like heart palpitations, tension headaches). however, I also believe the mind has many levels & it is possible that your subconscious might be processing things differently, so your dr's theory may be right...I also find I get migraines when my hormones are changing ( I used to get them when I was on the Pill too). so perhaps it is just a hormonal thing? sorry I'm not much help.

moopey: OK disclaimer: newbie here so not so good with breastfeeding advice...I had some lumpiness in my Right breast. I usually feed in the Madonna position, but to help the lumpiness, I put DD on in the football, underarm hold so she could drain the breast from a different position and that worked for me...maybe try alternating his feeding positions?
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.