The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: Feb 08 Parents # 14

Bel
New Thread Time original.gif

http://members.essentialbaby.com.au/index....howtopic=530282
gissellle
Gold!!
~*tasha*~
SILVER!

Giselle love the new sig!
BentyBaby
Bronze !!

Hi Girls !
Thanks for the advice - 'slept' on the couch last night with DS1 until 2am. His temp went up to 39.2 and he was seeing puppies, so I freaked out a bit and called that 24hr nurse hotline. Got the sweetest lady who said that yeah, 42degrees is when it's bad. I was so worried !! She also said halucinations were normal, and the temp was just his body doing a good job fighting the virus.

He seems fine today though glare.gif ... meanwhile i'm sleep-deprived laughing2.gif ... hmm ...

Cold and horrid here in Melb today ... brrr ...
kaishra
i just don't know how you do it!

lol, you just do! It's been a bit easier since we took the boys off preservatives, colours etc that's for sure.

Benty, I'm sleep deprived too, but that's cause I was on EB till 5am then woke at 7.30am! My computer is so slow it's driving me nuts!
gissellle
Went to the health clinic yesterday to weigh Sienna. The nurse didnt bother to measure her length or head and i felt like i would be asking too much if i asked her blush.gif Not very helpful. Anyway she's 5.6kg only put on 300gm in 3wks. I measured her length and head myself and she's 58cm with HC 39.5, do you think thats small?? (she does have a cute little head!) wub.gif

Thanks Tasha!
amy76
Gisselle: I had lucy weighted at 12 weeks she was 6kg and 59cm. So Sienna sounds about right.

I baked some vanilla cupcakes today and have eaten 5 already blush.gif

Well not much more to report BBL
2mums22
hi girls

long time no speak

benty - my DS is sick too... poor we man has never been sick - but is vomiting / bad bum and generally feeling sorry for himself.. DP was also up all night with head down loo... very sad state of affairs. hopefully its just those two and it skips ally and I.

Giselle - Is Sienna advanced for age ?? there is no way Ally could lift herself up like Sienna is in your sig.. does that mean she needs more tummy time ? not a lot of tummy time at our house given the other small person tearing about the place.. Ally mostly placed in protective custody (ie in playpen on her bouncer) to save her from inadvertant bumps knocks and spills.

Amy - re the evil ex - I would leave things for a bit longer until he is well and truly settled. Money may be tight - but sometime you have to pay for peace.

I am having a shocker day at the office.. have my "one" pair of pants on and the hem is down... for some reason that has made me miserable... and am busy and have mother guilt.. would ratehr be at home with my sick puppies.

Tori
gissellle
Tori, i hardly used to give Sienna tummy time. I noticed about 2wks ago when i popped her down she could lift her head so high, i was amazed! Now i try and give her t/time once a day. All babies are different, but perhaps Ally does need more t/time. Some of the bubs on here are rolling, however Sienna is nowhere near doing that! It must be hard with your DS running around too. When Sienna's cousins come over i move her to higher ground! laughing2.gif Sorry to hear your DS and DP are sick sad.gif
BentyBaby
Tori - I know those days, when a sloppy hem makes you feel like sh*t. I always feel 100% better in full makeup or heels for eg, rather than in trackydacks...

Well, we're just back from the Dr. Turns out Dr Adaze was right on the ear infection, but there's still so much more going on with him, so we have to take him back tomorrow ( he's just having a nap after some Panadol and ear medicine, which is effectively penicillan )

I'm just so worried about him - this isn't my robust boy at all, and he was just complaining of chest pains !! sad.gif sad.gif
I called the Doc back though, and this isn't a symptom of a penicillan allergy ... gee I hope he feels better when he wakes up ...
idoidoido
Giselle, dd has only put on 600g in 4 weeks and the nurse was ok with it. Another 200g and I would have been satisfied! Sienna, does have great head control... I must put dd2 down a lot more often for tummy time.

Benty, good to hear your DS is feeling better today. Sorry to hear you're paying the price though. Hopefully you've had the chance to nap today! Great day to stay in your PJs at least!

Tasha, re your DS's situation... I agree that you should wait a little longer, money might be tight but I'm a true believer in 'love conquers all' so IMO, your husband's and DSS's wellbeing would warrant a little more patience and perseverence money wise. Sorry you're in this situation though and I hope things get better soon. It would be awful if your DSS ever came to feel as though his mother only wants him for the money she receives - best to shield him from that I think.
babybump2
Benty so sorry to hear your little guy isn't well! It's horrible when your kids are sick! You feel so helpless!

I was hoping to ask your opinion Benty as I know your son is born around the same time as Macy - and you must be going through this or thought about it? But I understand that you may be tied up at the moment with your DS. And anyone else going through similar.

The cut off in Victoria for school is 30 April... DD is born 21 April... she just turned 3. So I have just got her into kinder by going directly to the Kinder. Sooooo.... she can now go into 4 year old kinder next year or I can get her to repeat 3 year old again. I know I know... confusing... I am soo confused.... basically I can hold her back and she will be the oldest in the year or I can get her to go ahead and she will be the youngest in the year.

I went to see Kathy Walker (child pshycologist) speak last night who specialises in school readiness - apparently the trend is to hold back. Soooo now I am worried that if I do feel Macy is ready for school... she is going to be in a class with children that were all held back... ahhhhh am I even making ANY sense! Why do they make IT SO F*&KING CONFUSING!! When I went to school you went the in year you were born... made sense to me! And of course you always had someone younger in the year and someone older... and then they went and changed it... and guess what... you still get someone who is older and younger in the class. Anyway I digress... Kathy Walker is all "What is the rush" Hold back blah blah Hold back blah blah! Mind you did I also mention I was trying to hear the information in between Beau's cranky time!! I tried to leave earlier... but someone had parked me in rant.gif rant.gif rant.gif By the time I got home... an hour and half after wanting to leave. Beau billy goat cried the whole way home... I just got home and cried and cried cry1.gif I was so stressed with having to listen to Beau crying, frustrated at not being able to go home when I needed to and worried that I made by making a detrimental decision - one that could impact Macy's whole life... okay okay I know a little dramatic...

Soooo talked to DH last night and we decided she would just do 2 years of 3 year old kinder. All her little friends from playgroup (not that they will be going to school with her) will be going to 3 year old kinder next year. And it isn't like she is a year socially and emotionally ahead of them. Great so had it decided.

Went to Kinder today... Kinder teacher said how fantastically Macy has settled into the class. I told her about Kathy Walker... she said well the decision is yours. Ahhhhhhhh!!!

I have to enrol her for one by the end of June.... How do I know????

Then I spoke to another Mum on the way out and she said how well Macy was doing (she was on Mum duty at kinder) and I told her my dilemma - she suggested to just put her ahead. Ahhhhhhhhhhh!!!! Why oh why does this feel so big??? I just wish the decision wasn't in my hands... that she was just born later in the year and then there would be no question.

Okay I am TOTALLY aware that I have totally babbled!! I am sorry for the huge me post! I am just sooo confused. Any input would be appreciated!
gissellle
Sary, bbighug.gif how frustrating for you! This is just my opinion...If my babe was born in say Nov or Dec i'd hold them back a year. Anything before that i wouldn't. Will this decision be for when she starts actual school aswell??

My sis had a DD who turns 4 in Nov this year and she's going to hold her back a year. (She was a prem also) IMO thats a good idea as i dont think she would be ready for prep next year, she's still so little!!

Did that make sense? Im in Qld so maybe things are a bit different here...
babybump2
Thanks Gisselle! Yes this is for school too! So basically as she is born end of April she is the youngest... strange huh? So people born May - don't go to school until the following year and they are then the oldest.

Macy is super bright and very social... but there are so many aspects to think of. One Mum's opinion last night... if they are younger they are not usually as good at sports and therefore picked last which impacts on them socially. But then a Mum today said she has heard the other way round where a child of 8 learns they are a year older than the others and wonders why she is 8 and the others are only 7 and wonders if she was held back! Here I go again - ahhhhhhh!!!

Sorry
BentyBaby
Well, I had had my first meal of the day - 2 big bowls of Spaggie Bog. I'm preparing for a long night ( every now and then DS1 awakes in pain and confusion sad.gif )

Sary - I went through the exact same thing about 6months ago. Both DH and I are also late April kids, and we both went to school early. I figured the same thing for DS1, and then found out all the things you did too, Kathy Walker, etc etc .... i'll send you a PM link where I asked for help on my blog too.

Basically, because DS1 is a BOY, and also a lot of other reasons, we're holding him back. He's in 3yr old kinder now, when he could be in 4yr old, if we wished.
Now we've discovered there's a lapse in sections of his speech development, i'm glad we made this decision. His little mates are all born in May as well, so this puts him in the same 'age group' as them too.

Anyway, i'll PM you .. but yeah - it's a difficult, many-faceted decision to make, and if it's your first child, it's like WHAMMO, cop this !

Good Luck !
amy76
Sary

I would go with your gut instink (spelling blush.gif ) If you think she will be ready to move up then go with that if you think she wont then keep her back. How will it affect when he starts school.

Callum (who bday 4th march) did 1 term of 1 mornings(term 4) in 2006 he was three then. The year he turned 4 (2007) he did whole year of kindy plus one term of this year (4 half days).
Then they start school the term after they turn 5 - depending on the schools. He will only do 3 terms of reception and start Y1 at beggingin of next year.

Isnt it all very confusing and frustrating blink.gif

ANyways off to make chicken bits and baked potatoes for tea YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMm
babybump2
Thanks Amy! Yes yours sounds confusing too blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif Enjoy your chicken bits and potato!

Thanks Benty! I look forward to your message... yes they did say that boys are different - and Kathy Walker really does insist boys stay back. Nice to get a head start working it out for Beau I guess - being a February babe I am going to go through this once more! Ahhhh blink.gif blink.gif blink.gif
~Simply*Blue~
What state are you in Amy, that sounds really confusing!

My oldest ds who turns 4 in December this year will start school in 2010, with the same rules as when I started. The year they turn 5, unless that is after June then it becomes the year they turn 6.
Rylani
Hi All

My DS is a April baby as well and I am almost positive I will hold him back a year as well. I can already tell with his speach and his abilities in conparasion to girls his age that he won't be ready. His gross motor skills though are unreal. I hope it's a more common thing to do when he goes to school, as if anyone was held back when I was at school they were teased sad.gif

I have a shocking flu at the moment as well and I can feel it going to my cheast. Benty hope your boy gets better soon, when they are sick it is the most horrible feeling in the world.
*astro*
Benty i hope your little man is on the mend soon and you are holding up with the lack of sleep
ginnyk

School - My DS has his bday in late feb, and he was pretty much the youngest in the whole school last year. It was obvious he was a bit behind some of the other kids in reading, but he is catching up easily this year so I'm still glad I sent him last year.

Benty - hope your DS is better, nothing worse than when your child is sick sad.gif

Rylani - hope you are feeling better!

giselle - your DD sounds like she's bigger than my DD at the same age, so probably fine (just keep checking on the usual signs - wet nappies, poops etc).

tori - hope your DS gets better!

me - Did postnatal exercise on monday (maybe I said that already, jeepers, its nearly friday already !), and today had mothers group... we are such a group of gossipers, it started at 1:30, and I didn't get home till 5pm. Lots of fun original.gif
Tomorrow is my first ABA meeting, should be interesting!

A question: What do you do (if anything) to help your bubbas sleep longer at night? DD is sleeping only for 2 hours at a time, and I'm tired of being tired ! Thanks happy.gif

PS - I joined facebook on wednesday, what a timewaster that is, but so much fun!

Take care all.

ginny
adaze
Sary, if you feel she's ready then send her. Generally speaking, girls are ready before boys anyway. Ava was born in March and she's starting 3yr old kinder next year and she will be starting school the year she turns 5.
I would send her to kinder and speak to her kinder teacher when the time is right regarding school readiness. She will definately know whether she will be ready emotionally, socially and developmentally. So for now, my advice is to do as planned and plan to send her to school 'early' but speak to her teacher about it later on.
nessy72
Wow, everyone is chatty today. will post more later.

Free to Good Home[size=3] 2 x 6 packs of baby bottles (disney designs) Pick up in Melbourne or pay for post. If no replies by sunday i'll put them in freebies.

eta: these are brand new in packaging.
maisy_jane
Hey guys been sooo busy and flat chat but thought id pop in see how everyones been and thought id share a piccie of my now 10 week old!...

xox My Lil Man Kooper xox
http://i26.tinypic.com/10fnl3p.jpg

Take Care
Kate
jacqpot
sary to throw a spanner in the works,my girlfriends son is a dec baby and he is currently in 3yo kinder (vic) and he has speech development delays so his paed and speech therapist have BOTH said better to repeat 4 yo kinder rather than 3 yo and possibly for the second year of 4yo do a pre prep year at a private ELC.(a 5 day program....some ELC's have a specific 'pre prep' year or have a 5 day 4yo kinder program). In my 'gathering of info' experience it is more boys than girls this is an issue with.And one thing I feel with holding back a girl if she becomes the oldest in her year there is development to consider (puberty)...someone else I know has a 9 yo who is older in her class and she is the most developed in her year (period at 8....frightening,unusual I know but certainly possible nowadays!)so gets teased alot.AAAAAAGH! If she was in the class above it may not be so obvious as she would be younger and alot of the older girls are developing too.IYKWIM.But ultimately you will know what to do....I reckon put her up to 4yo and decide next year if you want her to start school the following year.My DS is the same age(doing 3yo this year) but he turns 4 in July.Oh and on TT...I was reading somewhere (I think on TT forum) on some resistance article and what to do....very interesting.My DD1 is very difficult to TT and I was getting VERY angry at her,so have taken a step right back from it and put her in undies at home and pullups out (Aldi pullups are HEAPS cheaper and thicker and fantastic) and I don't talk about it anymore with her.We have a sticker chart in the toilet and if she goes she gets one but no reminding or talking about it...too much pressure I found she resisted more.(even though she is the one who decided she no longer wants to wear nappies!!!Grrrr)

Hey there Maisy Great to hear from you!

And Tori...hope you are feeling brighter.Damn pants!

Look at the time!!DD2 decided on a 1am feed...not like her and I didn't do anything different yesterday!So now I am wide awake.

Ginny Sadie cluster feeds of an evening...I just feed,feed,feed until 9.30ish and then she mormally sleeps 8-9 hours.Really,there is prob not much you can DO at the moment besides making sure DD gets lots of feeds in the day I guess.

Benty Hope DS is feeling brighter and you have had some sleep....

Rylani Hope you feel better soon....the flu is a killer at the mo.

We have had a dig for new garage....very exciting,however,now Melb is getting much needed rain they can't pour the concrete....grrrrr....shouldn't complain I know BUT....just one day later would've been better thanks!!!

Well,best try and go back to sleep.Hope you all had a good night!!
babybump2
Jacquie - thanks so much for your suggestions too! That is a different slant on it too! I can sometimes make myself go crazy thinking of all the alternatives. Thanks all! Well I think we have made our decision! I think! I think we will get her to do 2 years of 3 year old. It is so nothing anyway... just structured play. And she won't know if she does 2 years of it. I feel she is ready as her speach is excellent, and she has great motor skills too. But a light bulb moment a Mum said to me yesterday.... "Why send her when she can cope, when you can send her when she will thrive!" Loved that! And Benty thank you to you too... that also helped in my decision process!

I will have the same thing with Beau... and as he is a boy... and they tend not to pick things up as quickly as girls... I am sure he will go a year later. And I would like them both to have the same distance in schooling years as age.

Macy is also petite for her age. She has NEVER made it onto those growth charts. Very worrying when it is your first! Sooo yes I am blabbering again! We are going to get her to repeat 3 year old.... I think!

And thank you for the TT tips! I have just left it for now... but the stickers might be a great way to encourage her. Thank you!

Rylani - sorry to hear you are feeling rotton! Not nice when you are a Mum as you don't get the chance to rest!

Kate - Kooper is super cute!!

Thanks for you advice too Adaze... urghhhh!!! Whenever I hear another opinion I am slightly swayed... but I think I will stick to doing 3year old twice.

Well got to get ready for Gymbaroo.... have a great day girls!
jacqpot
Sary good on you...esp if she is littler for her age.No harm at all....I could never hold Evie back being a Nov baby had considered it to space out school years but she is a BIG gal....prob get her period at 6!!!!!ha!ha!....hope not.Enjoy Gymberoo.

oh and Tori lol about protective custody for ally....We do the same here...poor Sadie gets little floor time.I beat myself up over it always....She spends alot of time in her swing....which I hate but keeps her happy and out of harms way.Never used one before,girlfriend gave us one...have to say bit of a godsend in the evenings.But I feel sooooo guilty when I watch her just swinging away staring into space!!!
~*tasha*~
Morning Ladies!

Going to get DD weighed today, be interesting to see how she is going as I haven't had her weighed for 4 weeks.

Sary in regards to TT I have just tried to start DS again, he is 2 1/2 and I found that he didn't like the toilet as much as the potty. So at daycare he sits on the little toilet and at home he goes on the potty. I have just been rewarding him with 1 smartie for a little wee and 2 for a big one. Yesterday I went through 3 napppies on him the whole day and he didn't wet his undies either. I just kept asking him if he wanted to go to the potty. Worked for me anyway, see how I go today.

Benty Hope DS gets better soon, there is nothing worse than a sick child and you feel kind if helpless, all you can do is give them your love.

Gotta fly.. Dd is screaming at me BBL!

Tasha
notsochillimum
Morning Ladies..

It’s been a little while but think we have worked out Jake’s worries. Silent reflux! My supply is fine thankfully but am continuing to express to ensure that Jake is more upright when feeding. (Between my huge knockers, jelly belly and thunder thighs, Jake almost flat when feeding off me lol) Am now offering him 200ml per feed, sometimes he drinks all and sometimes not. Between 1ml of Zantac and little extra milk offered we almost back to a content bub. Hoping he regains the weight by end of next week hands.gif and gets back into our rountine hands.gif

Benty - hope DS1 gets better real soon .. sleep vibs for you

Lauren – up at 5am on computer ohmy.gif

Gisselle – new sig looks great cclap.gif

2mums22 – hope your DS1 and DP are on the mend

Tasha – your DSSM should have told Centrelink that she was not the prime carer from that date onward. Your DH should give them a call and advise them, you should get an entitlement, if nothing else a reduction in child support payments. Totally agree with idoidoido about keeping DDS out of the loop, sometimes too much info is harmful. unsure.gif

Sary – How confusing is starting school is in VIC! Brooke started early too and we had no issues til now. She is 16 in two months but most of her classmates are 17 by the end of year.. Next year will be horrible for us, when they can drink and party and she’ll want to do the same, she will be left out and I’ll be the horrible mum that enforces the legal age limit. What fun to look forward to.. wacko.gif

Rylani – hope you are feeling abit better

Ginny – no help with nightly sleep issues, sorry

Jacqpot – TT is Grrrr, but think you are doing the right thing by letting DD set the pace.

Hope everyone else is doing well and everyone have a fab day!

Cheryl laugh.gif
BentyBaby
Sary - maturity later on was something in my decision too - you don't want to be the only boy with a high voice, or no pubes or whatever - you know how proud teen boys are of gross things !! I also thought with an extra year on him, he might be less resistant to peer pressure in regards to drugs etc.

No safeguards or promises or anything, but hey, if it makes me feel better original.gif

You might also want to factor that if you need to repeat 4yr old kinder, there are no Govt subsidies - they only give you one crack at it.

DS slept *lovely* last night - thanks for all your care. The penicillan is obviously working - I hope he's better soon too !
adaze
Benty, so glad that DS1 is feeling better. I swear I was a doc in a former life! A friends sister and her baby were really sick a few months back and the docs couldn't figure out what was wrong. I kept saying to my friend 'It sounds like menangitis'.....eventually they tested for it and BINGO! Luckily they're both ok but I figured it out weeks before the doctors did.

Ruby's now sleeping through from 7-6:30. She does wake up once or twice but it's just for a quick dummy in and she's fast asleep again biggrin.gif
~*tasha*~
Afternoon Ladies!

Well I made it back to finish posting from earlier on. Both DD and DS are sleeping ATM, so should I but aah I will survive.

Went and saw the HCN today and had DD weighed. She is averaging 150grams a week. In 6 weeks she has put on a kilo. and now weighs a nice 5.3kg. No flat spots on her head and now fully BF the HCN was VERY proud of me! It's nice to get some reassurance that you ARE doing the right thing sometimes! So on the growth chart she is coming in at average for her weight!

DH is going away this weekend, first time with the kids all by myself for a whole weekend. I am sure I will be fine.

Cheryl I am hearing you but I think I am going to let this one work itself out. I mean she should be the one to tell CL that DSS is no longer in her care. Paid Child support yesterday, as much as we shouldn't have to pay it ATM I still made the payment. It is a really hard situation TBH. All DH wants is his son living with us, he doesn't care about the $$$, and becauseDSSm is a bit "unbalanced" as I would put it or would I acll it "psychotic" one of the two, he doesn't want to p*ss her off beause as soon as he does she will come take him back.

Adaze Yay on Ruby's sleeping! I wish DD would sleep better, I mean she is getting better but no where near as good as some of the bubs here! I am still up to her at least 2 times a night.

Well thats it from me I might go and catch a bit of a nap

Tasha
kaishra
Lauren – up at 5am on computer ohmy.gif

I was good last night, I was only on till 2.30am! blink.gif
~*tasha*~
ARGH!!! I jinxed myself DS has now thrown up twice since 6pm.. it's going to be a great weekend alone!!! blink.gif wacko.gif blink.gif wacko.gif cry1.gif
claireabell

I have been without internet for a few days cry1.gif . Amazing how much stuff i managed to get done though! the house is actually clean original.gif

Benty & Tasha hope your boys are okay. And Benty do we all owe you a belated happy birthday??

Sary there was a feature on EB not long ago about when to send early kids to school. i'll see if i can find it.

i had my MG come around yesterday. they arrived at 9 and left at 3, it was fab to be able to talk to real live actual ADULTS!

we booked out flights to NZ later this month too. sooo nervous about taking DD travelling but i guess we will have to get used to it.

can't believe it is 10.30, i need some sleep
~Simply*Blue~
to be able to talk to real live actual ADULTS!

That is my dream laughing2.gif

I have 3 close friends left from school and this weekend the last of them moved away sad.gif
amy76
Hi ladies

Well the weekend is here biggrin.gif along with my AF sad.gif

Having a little trouble with Lucy days sleeps at the moment. She has got herself into waking up after 45 each day sleep. Now this really isnt a huge problem cause she wake up happy and is happy to be awake, but i am thinking maybe this could turn out to be a bad thing in the long run.
She has a sleep after each feed so that is 4 x 45 mins a day and i struggle to keep her awake for more than 1.5hr. And she feeds every 3hrs.
So i am thinking maybe now she is getting abit older 15weeks that i should maybe try to keep her awake a bit longer and then resettle her when she does wake so she sleeps a bit longer
But then i am thinking maybe she just doenst need to sleep
Im confused, im stressing out about it.

What do you think???

Sorry about the me post sad.gif
adaze
Amy, we're having night sleep issues here. Day sleeps are generally pretty good, but sometimes she does wake after 45mins and I resettle her.
My issue is the dummy. I was up 4 times last night between 2am and 5am just to put her dummy back in blink.gif . I would like to get rid of it but I'm scared. I might post in the birth-6mo section.

A x
gissellle
Amy, Sienna has been doing this lately too luckily not for all her sleeps. She normally has 2 sleeps of 2-2.5hr (in the morning and late avo/evening) and then another shorter one usually in the middle of the day. Yesterday she woke after 45min twice i think. I cannot resettle her so i just got her up for an hour and tried again. She does put herself to sleep though. Normally she's up for 1.5hr including feed, but yesterday she wanted to go back to bed after 45min-1hr! So maybe she justed wanted a catnap?

Ok i just babbled a whole bunch of crap! Hope it actually made sense. Maybe Lucy does want to be up longer between sleeps? Perhaps 3 sleeps instead of 4 during the day? Does she have full feeds? Sienna's started only taking 1 side for 5min...surely thats not enough?
~Simply*Blue~
Adaze - that is the exact reason why I ditched the dummy about a month ago. It was hard for a few days, and I was very tempted to give it back, but once we got past it, it's been fantastic. I'm so glad that I did it early on.
amy76
I have decided that i am not going to stress. She sleeps 12 hrs over night so maybe she just doesnt need long sleeps in the day

Funny this morning she slept 2 hours laughing2.gif

It just seems that when you have a baby you are so consumed with their sleeping patterns wacko.gif

Adaze: I am lucky Lucy hardly ever has dummy she just doesnt like. Only really use if she is having a bad ilent reflux day (apparently help to suck)

anyway beautiful day here so i am going for a walk
adaze
Rebecca: How do you settle without the dummy though? What happens during the night if she wakes? It's just so easy to put her dummy back in....
BentyBaby
Claire - thanks .. yep .. older and wiser ??? Well, maybe just older biggrin.gif
Re travelling: I tend to think it's pretty easy at this age ( unless you have a screamer that is NEVER happy ? ). Remember to breast/bottlefeed on ascent and descent and you will be fine.

It's travelling with older kids that will send you balmy wacko.gif

For our trip coming up, it's the 4yr old i'm more concerned about - they like the novelty of the toilets and the novelty of hosties bringing you whatever you want, when you want ... arghh ... lucky this year, i'm hoping he will be more interested in the videos and computer games.. we'll see....

MG sounds fun too - glad you like your girls. Ours starts at noon, and normally breaks up at around 5pm. Husbands suffer with dinners on that night laughing2.gif

Rebecca - sad.gif Have you joined an EB 'local' group. To meet others in your area ? Most of these groups have catchups etc, and obviously all have young kids, so generally a similar interest/stage of life etc...

amy - AF. Ugh. sad.gif
Re: sleeping babies - I just work around the baby. Lucy's routine sounds fine to me. I don't do 'forced' sleeps, or 'forced' wakes - I think it's just adding unneccesary stress for all concerned. I've never timed sleeps or feeds or awakes - as long as you're all getting enough sleep AT NIGHT, that's the main thing. Good Luck with whatever you decide !

Me - well DS1 is back to normal. The Doc couldn't believe the change in him - she saw a totally different boy the next day. Yay to that.
~Andi~
Hi everyone....I've been slack again blush.gif but I have been reading. I go to answer questions and someone else has already said it so I don't bother repeating lol....

Benty Belated birthday wishes! Glad your DS1 is better, it is so scary when they're unwell.

Amy Lily is the same, she only sleeps maximum of an hour during the day, mostly between 30-40 minutes. It's hard, but she wakes up and is not sleepy at all, I've tried resettling but she just laughs at me unsure.gif Now I just have to get her to sleep well at night and we'll be set LOL.

Rebecca I second Benty, is there a local EB group in your area? I have met up with the girls in my area a couple of times since moving here, and it's great, I struggle with not talking to an adult all day long too laughing2.gif

Claire The internet takes up WAY too much of my time too! Glad you're enjoying your MG!

I might have to head to bed soon. Having issues with Lily's sleeps - she was up 5 times last night - not even going 2 hours between wake ups blink.gif It seems she wants a little feed to send her off to sleep again, and I have no idea how to 'break' this habit, anyone have any advice? Particularly astro, I know you're a feed to sleeper also, which is how I think we got into this habit in the first place wacko.gif

Hope you're all having a good weekend original.gif

Andi.
~*tasha*~
hi!

Well I had to work tonight, just at another wedding and MIL babysat DD and DS. Well lucky I only live 2 minutes drive away as my DD decided to refuse the bottle, she wanted mum's boobies! I was stressing I wouldn't have enough milk for the bottle forher afer expressing after every feed today and then she goes and refuses the bottle!! I do mind and yet I don't IYKWIM? It took me 7 long weeks trying to get her fully BF so for her to not want the bottle is good but bad because I can't leave her with someone like tonight! wacko.gif wacko.gif Oh well might just have to start to introduce it every now and then because we have functions or weddings booked most weekends and I usually work.

Hi Andi! Nice to see you again

Time for bed I think before DD wakaes for her next feed. Last feed was at 6:45pm so we would be getting close. Might just stay up till she wakes!

Night All
Rylani

How is everyone.

For the Big Brother watchers what do you think? I haven't caught enough of it to have an opinion just yet original.gif

Amy -sucks that you got AF back.

Lauren - Holy heck how do you survive on so little sleep with so many little people at your place?

I agree with the travelling with them this age is far more easier than 2 year old! I took DS to melbourne when he was 4 months and it was easier than trying to take him now at 2 to the supermarket!

Andi - Sorry about the sleep troubles, I cluster feed DD before she goes down for the night she usually feeds at 7.30, 8.30 then 9.30 then sleeps through until 7am. She is only just starting to strech her day feeds out to 3 hourly. I think that getting so much during the day fills her up enough for the nighttime.

For those with two or more, how different is this baby to your other/s? For me Lani is such a little fattie Tounge1.gif Ryley has always been a skinny little thing about average on the charts but he is tall for his age and has the skinniest little chicken legs but DD is the opposite she is so chubby. I find it really strange when I change her nappy and dress her and get things over her chubby little legs. Ryley was quiet a serious bub, he frowned alot and was the type of baby that people say "has been here before" Lani on the other hand is SO happy and social and so alert. Anyway I'm dribbling on here. Back to personals...

Adaze - that's the thing about dummies it's a bit of a love hate relationship. You love them when they buy you a little more time and get you a bit more sleep but you hate them when they are waking you at night and when the child is older and you find it hard to get rid of them (that is me at the moment!!). Not sure what to suggest, eventually I think they learn to self settle or to find the dummy themselves Tounge1.gif

I think I better go to bed now brain has well and truely stopped functioning. Enjoy what's left of the weekend original.gif
~Simply*Blue~
Thanks Benty and Andi Yes I have met up with some eb members here, although I'm in a very small town, Alstonville if you know it, so not too many members from here. I do have have other friends, just not really close friends like these others were.

Adaze - Honestly the first few nights without the dummy were really hard, and I know it was so easy just to pop it back in, but then I knew that as soon as it fell out I'd have to get up again.

We have a fisher price aquarium and that helps, I also use sounds for silence cd and alot of patting and ssshh'ing. If all else fails I would feed him to sleep. But that was only for the first couple of nights, now he's fine and settles at night no problem. I honestly think the dummy was most of the problem. He would want the dummy, get the dummy, lose the dummy and want it again wacko.gif Take the dummy out of the equation and he was alot more settled.
briannasmum
I cant keep up with you all sad.gifsad.gif
adaze
Rebecca: I'm being a wuss and sticking with the dummy. She slept from 7-7:15 last night and I didnt have to get up at all so hopefully the night before was a one off hands.gif

I'm feeling like sh*t - achy and like i'm getting a cold. Off to bed now...

A x
kaishra
Lauren - Holy heck how do you survive on so little sleep with so many little people at your place?

I nap in the afternoon on the couch when they have an afternoon sleep, and I don't do it every night, just when I'm trying to play catch up on emails.

For those of you who have cradle swings or electric swings be careful about using them/relying on them too much. DS3 walked later than the other 2 and the only thing we can put it down to was that he spent a lot of time in a cradle swing instead of on a mat (it might not have been that but it was the only thing we did differently)
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.