The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: Feb 03 Parents # 142

Essential Baby > Parents' Groups > Join a parents' group here > 2000-2003
Bel
New Thread Time original.gif

http://members.essentialbaby.com.au/index....howtopic=524671
FloralArrangement
GOLD

hahahahahahaha

Sorry to hear about your Great Uncle Michelle

Jannette so it is respite care for your MIL now I am sorry to read that.

Yes Rose goes 5 days a week.

love me
~JAS~
Morning!

Jannette, I'm so sorry to hear the latest news on your MIL. How is Scott taking the news?

Julie, Great news from the speech appt! You must be thrilled biggrin.gif

Ping, great news for your friend original.gif I can understand your vent with her doctor!

blink.gif My post just posted before I wanted it too. Very bizarre ...

Michelle, I'm sorry to hear about your Dad's uncle sad.gif Hope the funeral goes ok...

I'm still no better sad.gif Went to the GP yesterday and I have the flu AND bronchitis wacko.gif Scott has been off work all week - he has days in lieu to use up and was already planning to take some this week. Ended up being VERY good timing. But he had to go back to work today. At least I only have Shawn at home, but I just want to go to bed sad.gif

Hi Nic, I can see you reading original.gif

Michaela
Nics
I actually wasnt reading Michaela - I had opened the topic then got distracted and have come back an hour later! Always seems to be the case these days....

My gf had her twins last night - both boys biggrin.gif and secretly Im pleased cause I guessed boys all along tongue.gif Although they still arent named so I think they were expecting girls (or at least 1 girl unsure.gif )... shes did really well though - made it to 38 weeks and went naturally! I think her labour may have been rather lengthy but I dont have those nitty gritty details as yet... all I know is 2.5kg and 2.8kg respectively.... great weights too! And everyone is in great health which is the main thing! Im so excited and cant wait to visit and have a little cuddle wub.gif My other gfs really excited too - this was our IVF friend so its even more special IYKWIM. Makes me even more excited about my impending arrival too laughing2.gif

Not much else going on.... I still havent heard from my brother in regards to the Luna Park thing - its a sure sign he feels very guilty/bad and doesnt know what to say! I have to say its just made matters worse though - after receiving an SMS saying I (and J) were a little upset about being left out etc and a bit disappointed that the girls were favoured... he hasnt bothered to respond at all! Just very rude in my opinion and really not like my brother at all.. if anything I would say he has a soft spot for my boys - Im thinking that perhaps this gf may have a little to do with it... Im hoping she doesnt change him too much - I like him the way he is! But he is very much in love and we all do silly things whilst in love dont we? rolleyes.gif

Thankfully school's back and Im enjoyin just Aiden at home. Have been really busy with work from home stuff but have managed to catch up now and start on some housework... actually I do think Im starting to get the "nesting feeling".... little things that I usually wouldnt worry about are starting to irrate me and I now have a very specific "to do" list before baby arrives! Oh well good chance to have a good clean and declutter.... just cant wait for u/s next week so I can get stuck into the nursery - although I keep thinking what if they do say boy next week - then I really will have to wait till its born as its a 50/50 chance depending on which sonographer is right!

Michaela - so sorry you still arent well. But am glad your DH is around to help... although is he helping much? If hes anything like mine - he might be at home but not be much help to you anyway! wacko.gif

Ping - geez it would be cold in shorts at school in winter - why do they do that? Its a struggle for me to get J to wear winter pants atm because apparently longer pants make you run slower and not kick as far or high laughing2.gif Its all about the playing at lunchtime wink.gif

Jule - great news on the speechie! I actually called re Aiden's assessment - hes on the waiting list and I wasnt sure how much longer we have to wait (I want to go to our community one where Jarrod went for OT as they are really good) and we have about 8 weeks left - be so much easier to get it started now before baby comes but alas it will coincide with the birth I bet!

Jet - really sorry to hear about your MIL... it must also be hard on you when you can see that FIL and DH really arent accepting whats happening....

Gina - what are you doing today? What culinary delight are you cooking for dinner? tongue.gif You are welcome to come on over and help me with my to do list.... it will keep you going until July I promise! grin.gif

Michelle -sorry to hear that news too... did Bella go back today? I can sort of relate - Aiden doesnt seem to miss Jarrod usually but this week hes asking when Jar is coming home for X Box..... then there is usually an argument within 20 mins of him getting home wacko.gif ah well I do know they love each other MOST of the time!

anyway better keep on getting these toys sorted... I tackled the toy room this morning and its a never ending job I do have a few bags to get rid of though - just bits and pieces that I probably wont hand down in any case!
FloralArrangement
I meant palative care Jannette. How is Scott holding up?

Nic no delight today. I made a gorgeous curry last night. Lil had 2 helpings.

Just got back from IKEA bought meatballs as some friends are coming Saturday and thought I would make it easy yummy and with lots of veges and of course some great dessert.

xx Gina
Keropi
Jannette - I too am sorry to hear about your MIL.

And Michelle - your Uncle.

Michaela - wow you have been hit with a whammy. Take it real easy and sleep when you can. Can you ask Scott to do a big cook up to freeze some meals for when he isn't home?

My poor Ethan is in the wars today. He had to have two fillings, then xrays where we discovered two more holes developing ohmy.gif After his appointment though I think he freaked himself out because his face was a little numb. But now he is resting. Getting ready to do it all again next week sad.gif . My usual dentist is away, so even though we are getting a huge discount it isn't quite as huge as what we normally would get, but alas I am still extremely grateful because I saved $150. And the universe must be on my side because I just received a call for 2 days of teaching. Apart from that I chucked a Gina today and had dinner in the crockpot at 9.30am!! And I cut the grass, and because I am temporarily SAHMing you guys get to hear every boring detail of my life laughing2.gif

ETA Gina I love those meatballs and the sauce. However I do refrain from buying them to bring home because it would fuel the obsession to want to eat them even more!
MichelleM
rant.gif rant.gif rant.gif I just got a phone call from MIL asking what time we were expecting them around for dinner tonight! Apparently BIL was/is coming over for dinner and to watch the footy and he (BIL) invited MIL & FIL too! I didn't even know BIL was coming over and you can imagine how much that excites me but now MIL & FIL! I just went to woolies this morning too and bought things for our dinner so now I need to go back and either buy more or something different to feed us all. That's not to mention the state of this house. I was planning on putting off the floors until tomorrow morning but now I have to do them today. rant.gif rant.gif rant.gif

Thanks for the condolences for my Uncle. I have to say that, although simple, the funeral and then wake was just perfect and all the speeches really heartfelt and personal. He lived alone and had never married or had kids so had organised everything in advance (he wasn't sick, just had foresight and didn't want to burdon anyone) including red roses for all the ladies and also catering for his wake!

Julie POOR, POOR Ethan (and you poor pockets!)! I am petrified of the dentist so I can't imagine a little boy going through all of that!

You're a nice host Gina, a whole lot nicer than I just sounded above!! Wish our Ikea was closer than an hour away!

Congratulations on your friends twins Nic! That would send me over the edge clucky wise! Good on you for nesting. I've hit a wall and just seem to maintain the housework these days! Yep Bel did end up going to school yesterday (good timing due to the funeral) but she is fine - well I shoudl say that she is well because she is becoming a stubborn little thing and is driving me nuts with her demanding allllll day and the clingyness, I can't be out of her sight or she freaks out!

Oh Michaela you certainly are crook! I'm glad that Scott could take some time off but sounds like you need at least another week! Hopefully the end of this bug is near and that your not stuck nursing the rest of the family through it.

rant.gif Just got a call from Brett (after a msn msg left for him in caps to CALL ME NOW!). He told me that he was going to help his brother move a pool table tonight which will be living on our back verandah until my BIL can find a home for it (I'll find a home, I could use a few extra bucks so he has a week or else it goes in the paper!) and then his brother was going to stay to watch the footy. He didn't know about his parents but said it'd be fine - FINE! HE'S NOT THE ONE HAVING TO CLEAN AND COOK FOR THEM AND HE'LL BE HERE AN HOUR AFTER THEY ARRIVE!

Best go I suppose before I blow something! Gotta get Bel some lunch and then go back to woolies. I think I'll just make a couple of chicken pies and garlic bread. Does anyone feel like coming over and doing my floors?
Keropi
Michelle - why don't you just be honest with them and say you weren't expecting them and that take out will be on the menu! That way everyone pitches in $$ wise and you don't have to stress.

Nic - sounds like your brother is embarrassed and doesn't know what to say. Or he is avoiding the wrath of a heavily pregnant woman who happens to be his sister!! I still agree with you.

Went to preschool for a morning tea for one of the carers who has been there 20 years and of course Ashie cried when I left cry1.gif And all I have been doing since is cleaning up the mess of the stuff I baked blueberry muffins with. I've wasted a sunny day by not washing. Mind you that was all in between Oprah blush.gif Today's episode made me cry - it was lovely.
FloralArrangement
GET TAKEAWAY Michelle and walk really slow hand on tummy and legs spread going ohhhhhhhhhhh ahhhhhhhhhhhh.

I'm only organised for tea as it was organised weeks ago. Last week we had our across neighbours over that was pretty instantanous but good fun.

All went well for Rosie's first week at school she is tired but loves it no tears at all (YET).

It is about to rain here it has been raining all week grin.gif grin.gif grin.gif grin.gif grin.gif grin.gif

Julie I havenot been watching much tv during the day but i caught todays ep it was fantastic and i was balling.

Gina
Keropi
Gina - weren't they just a gorgeous family?! I was cry1.gif with you laughing2.gif

Michelle - how is that dinner going??
Jet07
Yes Gina - MIL is going to be going home soon, once they have arranged the extra hand rails, and home nursing and other things she'll need. THe OT took her home from the hospital today to check she could get into the house and move around etc. They're stopping big things like chemo (she hadn't had it - was just considering it but left it too late), and zometa, but is still taking other medication for heart etc. The home nursing service they'll use for showering etc is actually a palliative care service attached to a hospice, but not sure if PIL know that yet. MIL has always wanted to die at home so this all makes sense. They were told probably 3-6 months but I don't really think it will take that long.

Michelle - hope you got take-away - that's ridiculous! Talon is also going through a clingy demanding stage - but maybe it's just he's wanted my attention when I've been trying to do paperwork etc. I'm now up to my ears with grant applications and sponsorship packs, trying to get some extra funding for the special needs kids at the school, for extra things not supplied by Dept of Ed. Why can't I say no still?

Julie - how is Ethan now? My teeth are atrocious but it has been 8 years since I've seen a dentist ph34r.gif .

Nic - Stop - it's too early to be nesting yet!

Ping - my brothers wore shorts with long socks from years 4 to 6. I always thought it was ridiculous and still do. Mind you Shea had to wear summer uniform today, but it was as they were taking school photos for kids not there on day 1 or not happy with day 1 photos, and his was atrocious. As they'll be using them for class composite photos they all had be in same uniform. Talon and I managed to get into the full school photo taken from a cherrypicker at assembly this morning. That one is to go up in the office block so will be great to look back on in years to come.

Dinners about ready so will catch up with others later ..
Keropi
Jannette - that is great your MIL will be at home where she wants to be. I can't imagine the heartache you guys are feeling at the moment.
I was also wondering why you were doing the applications. What do they need funding for specifically at school?
Thanks for asking about Ethan, he is fine, can't say the bank balance is! laughing2.gif I'm still trying to pick my jaw up off the floor.
You better go to the dentist! They are your only set of teeth and to fix them is a lot cheaper then getting them replaced - think of that! So bearing that in mind disregard my $ comment laughing2.gif
~JAS~
Hi lovlies wink.gif
I think I'm finally starting to feel semi-human biggrin.gif Slept from 10-6 without waking up coughing eexcite.gif You have no idea how happy that made me LOL

Shawn cracks me up - he just took himself off to the loo and came back out carrying his shorts and undies. Mr Independant MUST put them back on by himself now - he's more independant than Adam is - and I'm not joking unsure.gif Anyway, he just tried to put his shorts on by putting his foot through the bottom (where it should be coming out iykwim) cracked himself up and was telling himself how silly he is laugh.gif Anyway, probably had to be here wink.gif laughing2.gif

Nic Scott hasn't been too bad actually. But he doesn't think to clean bathrooms or floors or anything (things that I'm usually anal about so they are driving me nuts!) I managed to vacuum yesterday and finished up feeling like I'd run a marathon. I MUST tackle the bathrooms today. How how clucky would I be around your gf's twins wub.gif

Gina I've never thought of take-home meatballs! What a great idea!!! dev (6).gif So glad Rose had a good week biggrin.gif I don't expect any tears from Adam next year either - only from his mum!!! Yes I am freaking out big time about school ... 9 months away. I'm worried because he's not independant with his toileting yet, it's something we have to work on this year. I just hope it's all sorted by January ohmy.gif

Julie Oh poor Ethan sad.gif Poor your bank balance!! Glad he is fine now. At least you found out now - imagine if he had teeth pain while you were away! That would have been awful!

Michelle I too hope you ordered take-away!!

Jannette I am glad your MIL is getting to go home. What will they do for her pain though? Mum was on continuous morphine infusion for the last few days of her life and she would still moan here and there even on that - it was just awful knowing she was still in pain cry1.gif Thinking of your family xxx bbighug.gif

Better go, the boys are looking for breakfast #2 rolleyes.gif

Michaela
Jet07
Julie - the "wishlist" includes everything from therapy equipment like sensory toys, corner chairs, and standing frames to a school employed speech therapist (& possibly OT, physio), to technology like voice output devices, listening posts, alphaboard / neos keyboards, to a school bus with wheelchair access, to a hydrotherapy pool LOL!

Michaela - Don't panic about Adam's TT yet. I know they're equiped with STA's for the 30 SN kids, but there are a lot of mainstream kids at Shea's school that still need toileting help too. Scott told me last night his Dad has been enquiring about a hospice for the end, and is already making enquiries about funerals (getting prepared beforehand like Michelle's Uncle and my grandfather). The news I'm not sure how I feel about is that when his Dad said he'll move down here, Scott and his Dad are thinking along the lines of us all selling up and moving to a place with a granny flat. There are heaps around here, and I wanted him close to keep an eye on him, and it would be great to lose our mortgage, but I'm not sure about that close IYKWIM. I was hoping he'd consider one of those retirement villages where you start off self contained but can then move to hostel, then nursing home as the need arises. I love this house and area, and have my garden etc just about right now. Don't really want to start again right now.
~JAS~
Jannette, Adam can go to the toilet on his own, and he's not having accidents. He just usually still needs some help once he's in there. I still don't leave him to wipe himself, because with him it's just so important that it's done properly because if it's not the excoriation would be severe. He still often needs cream applied, and atm he won't even pull his pants back up - but that's mainly because of the horrific itching he's going through ... but fingers crossed that bit is about to be sorted hands.gif He won't get the assistance in school that he has at kindy this year. It just plays on my mind A LOT.
Jet07
Fair enough Michaela.

Hey - what do you reckon about this laughing2.gif . It's not in same school priority area but now SHea is in, and we'll find out about Talon's preschool place in July (but he will get in - he was the 30th application when they opened on Thursday and they have about 100 places without demountables), this is about 5 mins from here, 10 from school. Bit too good for our boys to trash I think!
Keropi
Jannette laughing2.gif We could all live there - like a commune laughing2.gif
MichelleM
Jannette I haven't even thought that far in advance yet with our folks possibly wanting to live with us but I am a great believer in retirement villages! I once saw a short documentary about the Sandwich Generation which is basically people in their 30/40/50s who are sandwiched between young families and elderly parents and the toll it takes on everyone. This one was made by a doco maker about her own family and although beautiful, really opened my eyes up to the reality. DEF start planting the seed of retirement villages in Scott's mind!

Ohh just found it. http://mediastorm.org/0009.htm It may take a while to down load but it's worth it.

Michaela soooo glad to hear that you are feeling a bit better, hopefully it only goes up from here!! What a crack up Shawn sounds like! While not more independent, Isabella is a lot braver than Josh so sometimes I have to remember who is the older one in the family! She has to escort him into rooms with lights off or that are on other side of the house from where we are, she checks rooms for spiders before he'll go in etc.

Thanks everyone for sympathising with me on the dinner last night. I didn't do take away because in their family who ever hosts foots the bill and quite frankly we couldn't afford to feed them all because it wouldn't have been just pizza or something like that! So I ended up making a couple of big chicken pies and garlic bread which actually wasn't that hard considering that's what I was going to make for our dinner anyway. However there are some dishes waiting for Brett to come home from work, ones that wouldn't fit into the dishwasher last night. It's killing me leaving them there but considering I cleaned the house, cooked the dinner and cleaned up after dinner all while talking to his Mother while HE watched the football, I think it's fair!

My sister also called last night and told me(!) that we were going to the movies tonight so I get some free time again which will be nice!
Keropi
Michelle - oh well, I can't believe that you cleaned up. Did anyone else offer? rant.gif
You enjoy your movie, you deserve it.

I'm having a day out tomorrow too. I'm meeting a friend in the city for lunch and a wine or two which will be nice as I haven't seen this friend in a year. And Damien is taking the kids to their cousins birthday party.

I made the yummiest quiche for lunch today and Ashie didn't even say "yyyuuuuccckkkk" so it must have been good. Very filling though. I made it will bacon, mushies, onion and parsley from the garden. And I have a quiche tray with removeable base so it came out perfectly. I'm pretty chuffed with myself - I don't normally cook something that turns out perfect.
Jet07
Julie - you want a commune try this one. Scott found it! A bit further away - about 15 mins from school, but that's heaps too far in ACT terms ohmy.gif

Michelle I can't believe they let you clean up either!

Nic - where did you go? It said you were posting at same time as me?
Nics
Hey girls

Well now Im just totally clucky wub.gif not only did I get to hold 1 baby but got the 2nd one as well tongue.gif I picked a great night to go visiting - only her mum and sister were there and insisted I had a hold of each boy - and they are absolutely adorable - so so small (even though they were good weights for twins - 2.5kg and 2.8kg). Mum is looking so so tired though - 3 hourly feeding will do that to you though! Shes in a private hospital so Ive told her to take them to the nursery every night shes there to get a good stretch of sleep in - problem is when one is asleep the other is unsettled so her sleep is very limited... so why not take advantage of the midwives - shes going to have to deal with it very soon all on her own anyway (well with DH's help!!)

I had a pregnancy massage today - very relaxing indeed.. it was my early mothers day present as it was the only free weekend (well Saturday) for a little while. So I do feel a bit calmer now - although still very sleepy so still want an early night tonight wink.gif

Jet - its never too early to nest! I better take advantage of it as it might only last for a week until I get to the too tired/cant be bothered to do anything stage again.... hmm Im not too sure about the granny flat thing - I know I couldnt do it with my PIL - actually dont even think I could do it with my own mother.... retirement villages are definitely the way to go. Guess there is an advantage of having 3 kids - there will be no extra room here in years to come to accomodate anyone else and I aint moving rolleyes.gif

Michaela - so pleased you are feeling better. Yep thats what I meant about DH. They will do the bare essentials but no more! LOL at Shawn... And you still have plenty of months up your sleeve before Adam starts so dont start panicking yet! You will probably find a huge difference in him once this itching sorts itself out!

Michelle - sounds like my MIL wacko.gif never lifts a finger when she comes here - just sits on her fat ass and watches and demands - or asks my nieces to do it for her - shes one of the laziest women Ive ever met but SIL tells me she has always been that way unsure.gif I dont expect a lot of help from her after #3 is born a) they think the 35 min drive here is just sooooooo far away (despite them both being retired and having no outside interests) and b) shes not one to come and help around the house - she would only be coming to see the baby and expect me to do everything so its easier if she doesnt!
Anyway - hope Brett did the dishes - good on you for cooking though! I would have just said too bad its pizza!

Jules - poor Ethan... the dentist isnt fun no matter how old you are! And the $$ arent fun either! Glad to hear hes better though. Hoep you enjoyed your afternoon - I might come and check your posts later - always good after you've had a few wines:tongue: You seem to be very creative with your cooking - maybe you need to post your menu plans on here to give me some ideas! Im so boring atm... last night was leftovers (fair enough it was a friday night!) and tonight its going to be an easy dinner of some sort - toasted sangas, frozen meal or whatever else I can find!
Gina - wish I could come over for some meatballs grin.gif

OK baby is moving a lot - really must be getting to dinner time.. although I am a little worry - it always has an active time between 4 and 6pm - hope its not a sign of whats to come wacko.gif I have enough trouble sorting out 2 at that terrible time hands.gif

Oh Michelle - have you prepared for baby now in terms of washing clothes packing your bag etc? Im still holding out until I finish work although have to admit Im a little worried - both my midwife and chiro have made comments and asked questions in the last 2 weeks about history of premmies etc.... I did say to my chiro - why and he said "just wondering".... baby is measuring ahead too so Im pleased Im finishing up end of May! I have said all along that this baby will be born in July cause for some reason I never wanted a July baby! Now Im wondering just when in July it might be unsure.gif ha ha in saying that Ill probably go overdue now....

Ok have a great night!

FloralArrangement
Just a quickie

Yes but I may be making an easy meal but getting it all organised cleaning and tidying the house arrgggghhhhh.

Nice house Jannette and why not a commune pray tell laughing2.gif

Michelle I really felt for you last night. I think that is a bit off that if you get takeway you foot the bill we all put money in makes life easier.

Nic those twins sounds awesome. Saw my nieces today so cute and Meika does the loudest post feed burps.
She is already at one feed over night.

Michaela glad you are on the mend.

Better go now

Gina xx

PS I need a day out that would be nice.
Keropi
Nic - I'm going out tomorrow, today I am sober Jules laughing2.gif And tired, been nursing a headache all day actually and had a nanna nap at 7.00 until I woke up to the horrendous screams of Ashlen thinking she had chopped a leg off or something. But no, it was worse...a popped balloon. For weeks now everytime Damien comes home from work she has been asking him for a balloon, or if he has been to the balloon shop. It is so cute. So last night doing the groceries I found a pack of 10 animal balloons and put them on her bed. So this morning when she wakes up, she goes to Damien and is showering him in love. Well, I soon stopped that laughing2.gif Anyway she has been playing with a couple of the balloons all day and tonight one popped. Very sad indeed.
Aww on the babies. Good advice you gave aswell!

Jannette - that is definately more like it!! laughing2.gif I think I missed the price on that one, as you know I really can spend more than a couple of million.....cents!

On my cooking I am so not creative and nor do I have a menu plan. Just finding stuff that I already have in the fridge and having a light bulb moment! Mind you, after making that nice lunch I told Damien he could make a nice dinner. The kids got spaghetti on toast and I'm about to partake in a boiled egg. See girls - they are all the same!

ETA - he just gave it to me peeled on a crummy plate that one of the kids used!!
Jet07
Hope you enjoyed your gourmet meal Julie! Mine was a yummy stir fry. Yep - if they don't list a price or just say expressions of intrerest you know you can't afford it wacko.gif . Even with PIL funds from Sydney know we wouldn't come close to either of them cry1.gif . Better keep buying those lottery tickets I guess.

Nic - Aim for 22nd - all the best people where born that day biggrin.gif . How strange two people have asked about premmie history? My chiro helped start labor 5 days before Talon was born, and showed me the accupressure points to continue, Reckon my body wasn't quite ready when she first tried, but think it did help as contractions started a couple of hours after treatment and lasted a few hours before fizzling out again.

Gina - I could host our proposed 2009 GTG at home tongue.gif .
~JAS~
Morning,
Just saying a quick hello. Busy day yesterday, Josh had footy at 9am, then ended up playing in the 10am game as well for one of our other U7 sides as they were a couple short - then he had a school friend's bday party in the afternoon, then PIL over for BBQ dinner!

No idea what we're going to do with ourselves today. Scott's just gone to work. I hate how Monday is supposed to be part of his 'weekend' yet if it falls on a public hol he has to work wacko.gif Grrrrrr

Julie Hope you enjoyed your egg on the crummy plate laugh.gif

Nic So did you hold the twins together? Or one at a time? They sure were good weights hey? Hope your friend is doing ok. When will she go home? Had to laugh at the lots of movement between 4-6pm! I will hope for you that that doesn't mean something either!

Michelle Had a giggle at little sister Isabella checking for spiders for her big brother laughing2.gif I hope Brett did those dishes! Can't believe nobody helped you blink.gif

I can't believe it's yet another public holiday. Although it is nice not having to be in a rush for school!

Michaela
MichelleM
Just got home from school duty (Josh's class). I find that job soooo tedious, I really have a hard time interacting with other people's kids although could not live without my own! The teacher asked me to volunteer next week or the week after again . . I kind of skirted around the question/answer blush.gif

I have Isabella's class next Monday and then it's up to the baby whether or not I can volunteer again (if she's a good pram sleeper or if she's a cryer!).

Michaela Josh must have been stuffed by last night!! I would also be really peeved with Scott having to work Mondays on public holidays. Sounds as though you guys never get a break.

Jannette you remind me of my Dad who is always looking at real estate web sites and sending me links to absolutely gorgeous houses but WAY out of any one I know's price range LOL! Mind you, he also jokes that he has winning the lotto as part of his financial plan for the future!

Julie I hope you had a lovely day out yesterday.

Gina you should treat yourself to a day out now that the girls are all in school.

Hmmm Nic I'd start planning what you're going to pack sooner rather than later by the sounds of those comments! I really haven't started anything yet although I just have this feeling that the baby wont turn (she is still very breech) and she's also not in the right position for a vaginal breech birth so I might be up for a caesar (which I desperately don't want, I'm such a woos!). Anyway, so I'm planning on getting things done by 38 weeks.

I did buy some pants & tops to go in my bag & some little bottles of shampoo & conditioner but I still need a few more maternity bras, new knickers, wash bag stuff etc. I haven't washed any of the baby's things yet either and still need to get a monitor, bassinet sheets (can't find any in the shops at the moment so might have to sew some) and to finish the cupboard for the baby's room (which is why I haven't washed but might have to wash & store them somewhere else until the cupboard is done).

AND!! I'm DESPERATE for a hair cut & colour and for some MAJOR maintanence down there! Planning on getting that done before my next OB appointment next week at just before 37 weeks laughing2.gif
MichelleM
Had to share something so cute. Just went in to check on the kids before bed and Josh was alseep cuddled up to his footy covered in a West Coast Eagles beanie so it's soft I suppose! He usually goes to bed with something (stuffed animal/teddy/doll etc) but I've not seen this before!!
Keropi
Michelle - that is cute!
And I all too well remember the stress of the "maintenence" around giving birth laughing2.gif

Ashie has a little cold today, so we are going to vege out. She is OK, ordering me around. Just a sniffly nose.
MichelleM
Wow quiet in here or what!

I have nothing new to report though so I shouldn't even be posting laughing2.gif Hope everyone is well!
Keropi
Yeah it is Michelle - I went to work today when I wasn't booked (I got the dates wrong) lol but I still got to stay! laughing2.gif Unfortunately was double booked for Friday which I'm a little annoyed about as it has been on my calendar for months!! But now I have to contend with my own company because Ashlen will be a preschool.
~JAS~
We got Adam's results yesterday. Something is definitely not right. Gastroenterologist said the ulceration is definitely not normal, he's never seen it before in kids that had the straight pull through like Adam did. Hard to explain without taking forever, but it's not normal.

He now has to have a steriod suppository every day for the next 4 weeks to see if that makes an improvement in the itch and his growth, and he's being referred for allergy testing, but that could take months to get an appt. Good news was the biopsies from further up his ileum where they tested for his absorption was normal - that is great!

That's it in the short version.

I wasn't well while talking to the doctor. I'm still suffering with being very light headed and dizzy. At one point I was seeing the doctor in double ohmy.gif Going back to my GP this morning. Made it very hard to talk to him properly iykwim. Normally I ask loads of questions but I was fairly quiet for my standards, just couldn't think straight. I really wish I'd asked more about this steriod, will have to google, and I might ask my GP bout it this morning. Just can't help feeling a bit uncomfortable about using steroids sad.gif but he's a paediatric doctor, so I'm sure it's fine. Just doesn't feel 'fine' iykwim sad.gif Feeling a bit sad actually. It just never seems to end for Adam sad.gif

BBL.

Michaela
Keropi
Micheala - Oh, that is a bit of a shock that it isn't "normal". I don't blame you for being sad about the whole thing. Poor little man. I hope the steriods help.

Me - well I'm a cranky bum, after having an early morning and everyone ready, I thought yay let's do homework so we don't have to this afternoon, seeing as we have a dentist appointment. Tanty's followed, laziness etc etc. And Ethan lost his mother's day stall money twice this morning!!! But now I feel guilty cry1.gif
FloralArrangement
Michaela I just want to jump through the screen give you a cuddle and wave a magic wand over Adam it just isn't fair.

I'm okay PIL's issues but I just need to get over it tbh.

Gina
Keropi
Ethan had his other 2 fillings done today and Aurora had a quick check up and xray where it was also discovered that she had 2 holes cry1.gif I don't get it - I am so vigilant with their teeth. I don't know what else to do.
FloralArrangement
Julie sometimes it is just the kids teeth. Daisy has dodgy's and Lily and Rose have great teeth.

Gina
~JAS~
Aww Gina, you just about made me cry with that reply! Thankyou wub.gif

Julie, as Gina said, it's sometimes just the way their teeth are. Josh has had 3 of his back molars filled - and like you I was mortified because they get limited junk food, absolutely no soft drink, they brush twice a day etc etc. Dentist told me he has very deep grooves in his molars - and nothing I could have done would have avoided them decaying. HTH original.gif
Jet07
Michaela - As you know I've always preferred having an answer, even a bad one, to not knowing, so although it's good they have recognised that something is not right, it would be a lot better to know what it is so you can start doing something about it! Sorry that didn't come out right due to being exhausted.

Julie - I had one of those mornings yesterday - just couldn't stop yelling.

Gina - hope you sort out the ILs wacko.gif

Michelle - I got a giggle from your post about Josh's cuddle toy, and your maintenance plans laughing2.gif

I told the school librarian this afternoon that although I'd always thought I'd love being a librarian, that I'd changed my mind after spending 3 days in a row there for the book fair! Now have to pack to go to Sydney Sat am (was going to be tomorrow but Scott can't get off work early after all). Shea has his school cross country tomorrow. Should be interesting!

Have a lovely Mothers Day everyone - hope your kidlets are kind to you hands.gif .
MichelleM
Michaela I'm sorry that you got the news that things weren't right (Gina's right, it's not fair at all) but hopefully this treatment will help a lot and that you/Adam won't have to wait too long for an allergy appointment (would be bloody cruel if they made Adam wait a while for it though). How did your Drs appointment go?

Julie don't feel guilty about getting cross, I think we can all safely say that we've been there at one time or another lately! Same with the teeth, big hugs to you all because dentist work has to suck, especially when you put in all the effort to avoid it.

Gina tell us about your PIL issues when your ready, you know we're good listeners and can sympathise!!

Jannette I fancied myself as a school librarian as a kid because I thought it looked like a cruisy job! Not under that assumption anymore though! Drive carefully this weekend.

My feet are resembling footballs this week. I have been doing other people's ironing for a few months now but I think I'm going to have to let them all down in the next couple of weeks because standing for a few hours at a time is making my feet and ankles swell big time. Actually this week I've been on them all day (shopped from the minute I dropped the kids off at school to the minute I picked them up this afternoon!) and then ironing every night so they're probably just going on strike!
Nics
Michelle - do you want to do mine? laugh.gif I HATE ironing with a passion - there is no way Id be able to do other people's thats for sure... I usually make DH do it (its the only thing he does do around the house - and fair enough too - they are his bloody workshirts!!!) From the sounds of it sounds like you definitely have to sit and put feet up! So yep Id be giving them notice....

Jet - hope you enjoy your trip to Sydney. Pity we cant organise a get together at some stage. Ill have to get all these maternity clothes back to you... I actually havent worn any as yet.... Im just not as big this time (although Im getting there blush.gif ) but Im almost 28 weeks and have put on 4kg so not doing too badly at all original.gif

Jules - yep nothing more you can do. I know your kids dont eat much junk or soft drink etc so its definitely not anything you are doing. As the other girls said - teeth are teeth and if they have deep grooves etc thats what happens! Are these 1st or 2nd teeth? Just hands.gif you dont have to worry about braces etc down the track! Hey how long till your holiday? You must be getting very excited now! Oh and re the tanty's etc - its actually me throwing them here unsure.gif Im an absolute psycho atm... I have even been known to lose it over a broken glue stick in the last week.... its the little things that can set me off obviously!

Michaela - well there was SOME good news in that! hands.gif the steroids make a difference to the itch.. poor guy. Is the special cream no longer doing its job either?? An allergy testing? What makes them think that? Wouldnt he be getting some allergy like symptoms?? Oh mate I really hope you get some answers for him. What happened at the drs with you? Thats not sounding good at all. Big hugs to you....

We have our u/s tomorrow! Very annoyed as DH says the night before lasst something about having to work on Saturday - to which I replied yep after the scan - thats fine! And he said "what scan" rant.gif I honestly think hes losing it or just really doesnt pay any attention to what I say wacko.gif - this scan has been booked for god knows how long ... and he was told its on our anniversary (yep our wedding anniversary is tomorrow too!) and I showed him the link and all of that as well. I cant believe he has no recollection of it. Anyway too bad hes not working and we are ALL going together as a family biggrin.gif Jarrod is very excited! I "think" Aiden is starting to understand now my tummy is bigger too which is great... now justhave to get DH on board with the excitement cry1.gif but as my SIL said - its different for us mums - we get that maternal feeling as soon as we know we are pg and have an instant bond.... all he can focus on is the disruption to our lives/finances/practical stuff... that rush of love wont come until he sees his baby IRL... kind of makes sense I suppose - esp when hes not the most touchy feely sort of person and very communicative. Im pretty sure he was freaked out when the boys did big somersaults etc and wasnt a big one for feeling every kick and movement (and TBH I do get a little overexcited at times blush.gif )so Im probably just paying more attention to what hes NOT doing this time...

Other than that not much going on. I have 3 weeks left of work thank goodness... my legs are proving to be troublesome with these veins that just keep getting bigger! Unfortunately I cant do anything about them .. I simply just cant lie down with my legs elevated all day and the bloody support stockings are too uncomfortable around my belly... I dont like anything over it this time around....

so Ill be back on to post tomorrow night - I may even be able to share a 3d or 4d image with you all of my precious pink bundle! I am hoping the sonographer sticks with that prediction and doesnt change it on us - not that I care if I have a boy - just dont want to have to take back the pink stuff! {Probably a good thing I havent as yet started on the nursery!!!)

Hope you all have a lovely weekend and a special Mothers Day on Sunday. Jarrod is so excited that he bought his own present from the Mothers Day stall for me - it will be interesting!

Oh and one more thing... my angel child (aka Aiden) is slowly turning into the devil ohmy.gif no hes still a good kid BUT he is biting at preschool. He bit 2 kids on Monday and one of them was really hard ohmy.gif but what can I do? The director has agreed that its due to his communication skills (or lack of) - hes on the waiting list for his speech assessment which should be another 8 weeks (maybe a bit before) and Im almost positive that he will have some speech therapy following that... I cant afford to send him privately right now and for the sake of 8 weeks probably wont be worth it anyhow (and I may have a wait privately as well!) All I can do is reinforce that biting is not on and the teachers will have to do their best to deal wtih it - its funny how its onyl happening now though - we havent had any issues previous to this at preschool and he did start in February? He does bite Jarrod on the odd occasion but has never done it to any other child?? Hmm I just dont know what else I can do to help him overcome this phase?? Any suggestions? Anyone had a biter before?
FloralArrangement
Michelle My in law issues are no real drama I just need to let go of being way down on the list as is Tyler for consideration no worries just need to accept it.

With ironing can you lower the board and iron sitting down? I hate ironing I ironed a pair of jeans for Rose this week and that is it for months.

Nic have fun at the scan the kids excitement will probably affect your dh. To be honest with each child we have worried about finances etc but we both wanted the baby more and knew it would all work out in the end. I def think your dh is overworrying everything. Put it this way I really wanted baby no 3 and it took surgery and 4 years to have her. Many times we thought we should be grateful for the two we already had and leave it but I kept thinking when I am 50 and can't have kids anymore I don't want to regret not having that baby wub.gif money worries wouldbe long gone and my baby would just be as she is.

Lily has tonsilitis poor bugger.

Gina
~JAS~
Nic: I'm not sure - food allergy is just the only thing the gastroenterologist suggested that it could be, because it's so abnormal. I know it was good news, it certainly could have been worse. But I just can't help still feeling really sad about having to put him through MORE crap sad.gif The cream is still working - that's for the excoriation (severe nappy rash) so is unrelated to the itch.

He had his first suppository of the steroids last night, and even though he's used to panadol suppositories, these ones are so much bigger ohmy.gif Poor kid was so upset. First attempt to administer it failed and then he just squeezed his butt cheeks tight and cried and cried and begged me not to do it. Took everything in me not to cry as well cry1.gif I eventually managed to bribe him with chocolate to let me try again. Got it in, and then he had chocolate. Not ideal right before bed but at least he brushed his teeth after and at least the thing went in!

My docs appt was ok - he thinks the dizziness is just still part of the virus I'm trying to fight off. Although he was very concerned about the double vision I had. He talked about sending me for a CT scan which really scared me, but we decided as it's only happened once, we'll just wait and see. Hopefully the dizziness should go away on it's own, but it's still really bad today. Driving me crazy really.

Oh Michelle: We could be waiting up to 6 months for the allergy appt ohmy.gif A friend of mine in WA has 2 anaphylactic kids, she's very much into all the allergy stuff, she told me yesterday that apparently Qld has the worst waiting times in the country for allergy specialists. Just great wacko.gif

Nic: Hope the scan goes well today, and I hope Jarrod enjoys it! I'd love to take my boys to our scan with the next one too original.gif

Michaela
FloralArrangement
Michaela I have had allergy treatment and went to a private dr but I didn't pay for as it started public which is why. Can you get onto something like that? Ring around? If you were here I would put you onto my doctor he was great. I had the injection therapy for a few years to desensitise myself.

I am so sorry you and Adam are going through this. Did the doc give you some stemetil to ease the dizziness?

I have made that chicken pie again but have tried to make it a bit spicier this time a tad sweet last time.

Gina
Nics
Michaela - I can offer a bit of advice on the allergy testing too having been through a few wink.gif Id ring around all the places/hospitals that do it and get on ALL their waiting lists and also ask to be put on the standby list - that means if anyone cancels they will call you. Yes not always suitable at the last minute but better than having a 6 month wait! ITs very interesting actually - having an allergy child myself I thik you would realise if there was something in particular he was allergic to however maybe its an intolerance to something or a particular food group etc. To speed things up you could probably do the elimination diet with him and see if that makes any difference - it could be any number of things. Oh and pop into the allergy forum here on EB - there are plenty of Qld people in there who will probably be able to give you some helpful advice for allergy testing specifically in Qld.
Oh and I hope you dont think I was trying to downplay that news at all when I said there was some good news unsure.gif Im pleased that you got an answer for something rather than nothing if that makes sense?? But can certainly understand that enough is enough for Adam - cant they just figure out what the problem is and leave him be sad.gif

ETA - Michaela you WILL be able to take your boys sometime in the next few months to your's!!!

BTW I forgot to mention I still havent heard from my brother.... so another week on and he still hasnt acknowledged the SMS I sent him rant.gif And I certainly havent forgotten dev (6).gif
~JAS~
Oh Nic, hon I didn't think you were trying to downplay anything at all! I know there was some good news - the fact that his absorption is normal is GREAT news. Things definitely could have been worse, I just wish he didn't have to go through anything else at all, as you know! But nah, I didn't think anything of you saying that AT ALL!

With ringing around for waiting lists, the GI doc did say he prefers the program at Gold Coast Hospital - something about them doing extra tests with pads on the chest? Not just the skin pricks on the arm?? Do you know anything about that? With the elimination diet, I don't think I'd get accurate results anyway, because he's on the steriods now, I wouldn't know if it's the steriods improving things or the elimination iykwim? It would be hard too because it's not something I can physically see, we just have to see if it helps the itching, but as I said, that could be the steriods working unsure.gif

We see the GI again in 4 weeks - do you think I should just wait and ask him then about other waiting lists? I'm totally lost here wacko.gif

Gina, no he didn't give me anything for the dizziness at all unsure.gif
MichelleM
Michaela I can't believe the wait is 6 months! That's just incredible when Adams issue is just so prolonged already. Could you perhaps call every few weeks hoping to get a cancellation appointment? I know you have a million other things to worry about but do try to look after yourself as well. The virus you have sounds pretty nasty and you don't want to knock yourself out while trying to do everything else (I know, you're the Mother, what can you possibly drop to give yourself more time!).

Gina acceptance is hard isn't it, especially when you love the guy so much that you think that his family should love him as much as you do. I feel the same way about Brett and his family. He has really made something of himself but yet his family fail to see what a gorgeous, intelligent, successful man he has become and fawn all over his good for nothing brother who has yet to grow up and is my age!

Good luck with the spicy pie (I'm a very bland eater, drives Brett nuts as he loves all types of food!). I'm making the sausage rolls today!

Nic I am so excited about your scan tomorrow! With the DH thing, Brett only said last Sunday that he is looking forward to this baby coming. It wasn't as if he wasn't happy about her coming but now he said he can't wait to see what she looks like and what her personality is going to be like as the other 2 kids are so different. He even sat in the baby's room with me last night and listened patiently while I went through every item I bought while out shopping yesterday for her (Like you, I'm over excited!)!

Can you get like a knee high version of the stockings? I know I wouldn't be able to handle anything tight on my stomach at the moment either (pants come straight off when I get in the door!) but you don't want to suffer another 12 weeks of throbbing and pain.

As for Aiden it sure does sound like it's just frustration. Can a carer work a little closer to him so that s/he can step in on the situation before it escalates into biting? Isabella used to bite Josh all the time a few months ago but only when she was provoked (which was all the time!) and it only really stopped when Josh went back to school and they were separated. Thankfully she wasn't in day care during that stage or else I may have been on here with the same requests for ideas!

Have to go grocery shopping today which I'm sooo not looking forward to. I actually came on here to do myself up a list of what I needed but got distracted (doesn't take much these days!). No more ironing this week though so at least I can relax at some point today.
~JAS~
Nic, just found the allergy forum and have posted. Thanks for the tip original.gif

Michelle, I know, crazy isn't it? There's a lack of specialists everywhere I guess sad.gif
Nics
Michaela - ring the hopsital today and get on the waiting list (the hospital he suggested).. otherwise another 4 weeks will mean a 7 month wait. Just another tip - they will ask if you have a referral and your referring dr's name (unless its changed somewhat since we had it done) - dont tell them you dont yet have one - just tell them the GI's name or whatever dr will be referring on. And as I said ask if they have a standby/cancellaton list,... dont know anything about the chest things but someone in the allergy forum will surely be able to help..

Michelle - nope to the knee high version considering its above my thighs as well - and cutting off the circulation around knees and groin would make it worse! Im hoping when I finish work I may get a little more time to put my feet up laughing2.gif laughing2.gif yep its laughable isnt it! Good to hear that it may be "common" practice with DH's enthusiasm levels... I can also remember him being very wary when pg with Aiden - I just need him to stop focussing so much on $$ - who really cares?? At the end of the day we are coping paying bills/mortgage/food etc and not living too stringently and lets face it - everyone is in the same boat atm with rising interest rates, groceries and petrol. I guess Im a little too blase about finances these days and maybe he feels he has to make up for my lack of knowledge/attitude.

OK 1/2 hour feet up time before the school run!
FloralArrangement
Gina acceptance is hard isn't it, especially when you love the guy so much that you think that his family should love him as much as you do. I feel the same way about Brett and his family. He has really made something of himself but yet his family fail to see what a gorgeous, intelligent, successful man he has become and fawn all over his good for nothing brother who has yet to grow up and is my age!

Thank you. That is my man to a tee and guess what he so hot he has been offered another job wub.gif It is his birthday tomorrow.

Michaela I have benign positional vertigo (bad travel sickeness but I don't have to be travelling) I have a permanent prescription for stemetil. If it doesn't settle get one as it helps while you get better. Nic has some great advice. Call everywhere your dr may prefer a particular place but waiting may make that a luxury.

Pie was great Michelle it was very sweet last time with the chicken and corn soup and the chicken this time I did the same but I added a sprinkling of vinegar and a tad of pepper. I am sure you would have liked it.

Happy mothers day to all of you xx

Gina
MichelleM
I''m sitting here typing this on my new lap top. Brett came home tonight with my 'early Mothers Day present' as he put it which I promptly told him that it was really a very early Father's Day present because the only reason he bought it was to get me off his PC!

He is redeeming himself though and is at the shop right at this moment buying me chocolate biscuits!

Gina congratulations on the job offer. Do you think he will take it? I would drop dead from shock if Brett got another job, he has been working in the family business since leaving school (actually even while at school part time) and knows no different!

Nic I can see what you mean about the knee highs not being a good option. The count down is on till you finish work then and you are going to HAVE to make time to put your feet up ok!

My feet are still not going down and are really hurting now. Even my fingers have started to tingle with swelling and I didn't really do much today. I've never ever had a high BP prob though (ave 50/90) so I doubt it's that, just a run of the mill late pregnancy problem I guess.

Josh had a ball plaing with his mate from school this arvo but I was quite surprised how fiesty this little one is as he is an absolute adorable angel at school. He wasn't bad by any stretch, just way more outgoing than I had ever seen at school. His Mum was the same though, she is usually very quiet at pick up/drop off but we had a great time at her house, the kids even cracked it when it was time to leave and they never do that!

Am meeting an old friend from work (as in Telstra where I quit 2 years ago) and her daughter tomorrow at a play centre about an hour from home. I hate driving so far when I have no idea where I'm going!

Michaela I just wanted to say, in case I don't get back on here this week end, that I will be thinking of you on Sunday hhugs.gif
Jet07
I got an early mothers day present last night too! wub.gif Actually two! tongue.gif A Wii Fit (we had been talking about it so it wasn't a hint), and a string of pearls! Guess he couldn't really hide those in the back of the wagon to go to Sydney today.

I'll be thinking of you tomorrow too Michaela. I usually have trouble coping every year since losing Tainn, and then my grandmother, and now it's going to be the last with MIL too, so hope I cope ok. To make it worse though I've come down with a terrible cold and probably shouldn't even be seeing my pg SIL today and MIL tomorrow.

Just wish my family would wake up now so we can get going, we're going to be late to lunch as it is (3 hrs plus multiple toilet stops for both boys).
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.