The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: Feb 08 Parents # 13

Bel
New Thread Time original.gif

http://members.essentialbaby.com.au/index....howtopic=527698
nessy72
Gold

Just popped in to see how everyone enjoyed their day off.

Good luck Adaze
~*tasha*~
SILVER!

Good luck Adaze!
claireabell
Bronze!

Fingers crossed Adaze...
Tonight is our first night without DD fully wrapped - so far so good.
amy76
MORNING biggrin.gif

Well it is cold and raining today - YAH for the rain BOO for the cold.

Adaze how did the no dreamfeed go???

Claireabell: how did the no wrapping go. I am dreading the day i dont wrap. Lucy loooooooooooves being wrapped.I wrapped DS until he was about 9 months - he was a big boy and we had to use a single sheet laugh.gif

Well DS starts full time school on wednesday. He and I are both looking forward to it. I and he hate school holidays he is a child that needs to be doing all the time. so next holidays i will send him to vacation care for a couple days each week.

anyway having family over today to watch the Crows football match so have to go and tidy up .

Hope eeryone has a fab weekend

Only 2 more sleeps till BB eexcite.gif
~Simply*Blue~
No sleep through for me last night. He was up twice. Hadn't pooed all day yesterday and did a biiiiig one this morning, so I think that may have been some of the problem. He's asleep now though.

We went to the echn on Thursday and the poor little boy has a slight flat spot sad.gif I have 2 weeks to try and correct or else he has to go to physio. So he's tummy sleeping through the day and at night I try and put him on his side, but no matter what I do he tends to roll on his back wacko.gif

Also a quick question For the last week or so I've been feeling like af is coming, yesterday I had a bit of spotting so thought I would get it yesterday afternoon or last night. But I've had no more, yet still feeling pretty crampy. Has this happened to anyone else? Could it just be my body trying to get back to normal??

Adaze - I hope last night went well for you!

Claire - We just started non wrapping not last night the night before, all good so far hope it is for you too!
adaze
Well tbh I'm not quite sure how it went. I was up quite a bit but I never had to feed her - I just had to put her dummy in. She has a rotten cold as well. I'm not quite sure whether I should try again tonight or just feed her at 10pm...
I also want to try just putting her in her grobag. But she still fidgets a lot so I'm not sure how she'd go with that...

A x
notsochillimum
Morning Ladies..

We’ve been for another road trip, this time down to coast to visit my grandparents. They are hitting 90 soon and don’t like to travel, so this was the first time they have seen Jake in the flesh. Pop was very funny with him, just looked but didn’t want to hold him. Nan was another story she was all over him. Jake really took to her too, giving her plenty of smiles and coos. Was heart warming to see them together, the oldest and the youngest of our clan. Had to include this pic. grin.gif

Gisselle – It does look like Sienna is growing out of the bassinette and fast! When we visited my girlfriend in Newcastle last week, he slept in a bassinette and looked exactly like that. They don’t stay little for long do they? Jake is also a tummy sleeper, was worried at first but he has very strong neck and turns from side to side easily. blink.gif

Ginny – Oh dear.. better luck next time for you both with the chilli hands.gif

Adaze – Think its normal to worry about Sids especially when you are more aware of it than most. Hope the dropped dreamfeed goes well. hands.gif

Claireabell – Jake wears ALDI nappies, cheap as chips and does the job laughing2.gif

Nessy – hope all the bum cream advice pays off and your DD problems are vanishing. hands.gif

Amanda – You must be the sling queen now lol Can’t do the sling thing, Jake is over 7.5 kilos and my lower back just aches if I try. Doesn’t affect your back?? wacko.gif

Shell – Good to hear that your move went well.

Rebecca – When I got my AF back was complete different than before. Was light and spotty and lasted 7 days .. used to be heavy and only 3 days. Think first couple are just an adjustment after bub and breastfeeding.

Still no luck finding my damn receipt for microwave!! rant.gif Brain waves were severely damaged while pregnant, I swear! Have to go to a birthday party this arvo so the search will have to wait another day. Teens are spewing no microwave means no popcorn cry1.gif

Anyways, hi to anyone I missed, have a great day all!

Cheryl laugh.gif
kaishra
Lauren i hope the ABs work for Joel,

They seem to be, the swelling has gone done but if he cries it fills back up again so the blockage is still there. I’m massaging it whilst I feed him so hopefully that will work.
kaishra - whats a 'tetra bed' ?

It’s a bed about the size of a bassinet but made of cotton and tea tree bark. It has built up sides so they don’t roll out but if bubs rolls onto their stomach they can breathe through the bark unlike a mattress. I’ve used them for all 4 kids and swear by them. The only thing I don’t like about them is that if it gets wet the tea tree bark stains the cotton. I put a towel down just in case. They cost $118 at Big W (and more elsewhere)

Haven’t tried the Desitin, is it a cream or ointment stuff of a bit like the zinc based ones?

Yep that’s it, it stays on longer than the other zinc based ones though

Congrats on TTC # 5. I don’t know where you get the time with 4 others

Thanks, neither do I lol

Weighed him today and he has gained 310g in 2 weeks. This is less than his previous gains, but I don't really know what is normal?

The HCN I used to have told me that so long as they’re putting on weight it doesn’t matter how much.

Amanda, when you put on the sling try pulling it a bit further down onto the ball of your shoulder it’ll be more comfortable.
claireabell
I need to have a bit of a rant.

We had a wedding today - the groom and i have been good friends for years.

i knew that DD was not invited, but thought that maybe they would make an exception, as the invites went out before she was born and you just never know. so i called my friend the other day and he said she was definitely *not* invited. He was really embarrassed and apologetic about it and said that he had even told his brother not to bring his kids (12 months and 3 years). i was disappointed but it's their day, blah blah blah, so just accepted it, but i told my friend that we may not be able to go to the reception, depending on DD. In any case DD is still 100% breastfed, won't take a bottle, and the wedding was half an hour out of town. DD cluster feeds every 2 hours in the evening so i would have only been able to go to the reception for an hour.

Anyway, turned up at the ceremony today and there were three kids there, inc a baby around DD's age rant.gif . i suspect their parent just decided to bring them - and good on them! they were perfectly behaved and we didn't hear a peep from them during the entire one hour service.

After the ceremony i congratulated the bride and groom and apologised for not going to the reception. my friend said he was really disappointed and begged me to come (but DD still not welcome). ii am sure if i had pushed it she would have been able to come, but i felt v uncomfortable about doing that.

i feel really ugh about the whole thing. he is p1ssed with me, but he just doesn't get that i need to put DD first - and that means being home to feed her if she can't be with me. i also feel very sad at missing out on the reception as he is such a good friend. i think it might be curtains for our friendship, he wasn't happy with me. it's so sad.

anyway, had to get that out.

Cheryl that photo is gorgeous!

Adaze it sounds as though things went quite well if you didn't have to feed Ruby. we're working up to using the grobag too... hopefully within the next week.

Rebecca DD went pretty well being a little unwrapped (just one arm out). she kept up with her sleep patterns but got a cold little hand. She gets a bit unsettled before a big poo too.

As for return of AF, i have been getting cramps on and off for weeks, but it still hasn't come back.

Amy LOL about BB! i will have to get the VCR ready, i think it will be on during our bath, feed, bed routine.

it's quiet here lately...
adaze
Claireabell, that's awful sad.gif .Does he know that she is fully breastfed and that no mum means no food? Very surprising that he would be so difficult.
Nah, last night was crap really. I was up heaps and I probably SHOULD have fed her. Oh well. Back to doing a 10:30 feed tonight. I'm up then anyway and she doesnt even wake up so it's no biggie really. I did it with Ava until she started solids at 5 months.
claireabell
Does he know that she is fully breastfed and that no mum means no food? Very surprising that he would be so difficult.

Yup, i explained that when i rang him earlier this week. i think it was his fiance's decision, i could tell he felt bad about it. and for him not to have his little nephew there is a big deal, he is his godfather and so close to him.
adaze
What a b**ch!
babybump2
Oh Claire that sucks with your friends wedding... I always think... one day when they have children they will cringe at the fact that they said no kids, and what they expected of you. So different when you haven't been through the situation. Shame a good friend couldn't understand your situation though! Love your shot on the blog! How funny!

Off to bed... just had a quick look here... make the most of an early night!
idoidoido
Morning all! wacko.gif Fed dd at 3.45 and can't get back to sleep. sad.gif

Claire, I'm sorry to hear about your experience at your friends wedding. Some people are very stubborn when it comes to the no kids rule at weddings, they should realise babies whether b/f or not should be with their mum unless there are exceptional circumstances, and weddings are not one of them!

Unwrapping, OMG, I can't believe some of your babes are already there. Like Amy, I am too nervous to do so as DD seems to need it. DD1 was wrapped until 17 months.

Jacquie, you asked about my Ergo, sorry, I don't have one! I did with dd1 but sold it. I'm using a Hotsling (like the Jazzsling) for when I need to get out of the house quick and the Hug a Bub for when I have more time to put it on. DD and I prefer the HAB as I don't feel dd's weight at all and dd loves to sleep upright, but it is a pain to put it on and with two screaming kids, it's often easier to pop dd in the sling.

Giselle, this is late but I am sorry to hear about your cousin's baby. sad.gif

Since all my kids have colds this is great cause what I express I can give to them lol

Lauren, I've been thinking about expressing to give milk to dd1 when I go back to work I will be expressing for at least two of dd2's feeds anyway and wondered whether to cut dd's goats milk drink during the day and give her breast milk instead? A bit out there but I figure it would be good for her and when I'm paying $4+ a litre for goats milk, I could save some money! biggrin.gif

I've been shopping with my two this morning, people can't beleive I go shopping with them both all the time but it's actually quiet easy still

I get similar comments just when I'm out and about. The number of people that say "you're brave" is starting to bother me. Do most people just stay at home when there are two? After 6 weeks of being home I got sick of it and needed to get out no matter how difficult it seemed logistically! We shop as well, the three of us, but only small shops. I've done a big shop with them and it took too long, so I'm Homeshopping the big shop and going out for supplies as I run out.

Taydan, I love your sig!

Andi, has your dd's catnapping resolved? They say that things like moving home unsettles babies too so maybe this is why she was catnapping?

off to try and do some housework while she's sleeping....

OK, am I the only one that doesn't do housework whilst baby is sleeping. I get so worried that the noise will wake her, so I tend to be as quiet as I can be.

Holly, how are you going with your DS's sleeping?

Prue, go with your gut and be as protective as no-one else will be. I live in the city and so when I step outside my door my kids have to put up with the city environment. I hate to say it but people are generally inconsiderate when it comes to babies going by - coughing and sneezing without covering their mouths, blowing their smoke out just as we walk by rant.gif etc.. etc.. So you be as careful as you feel you need to.

Giselle, check out youtube for tips on how to put baby in a sling.

Astro, I love your birth story. I still can't bring myself to write mine. I went for my six week check with the obs and came close to tears when we went over the birth... won't be trying a vbac2c though, I don't have the strength in me.

so I decided he couldn't wait for 10 minutes - I'd have to feed him there. There was no one else waiting so got him attached with no probs but then several people walked in including an older guy who chose to sit on the other side of the room facing me. I felt so uncomfortable! When Coen was finished I couldn't even get my boob tucked back into my bra discretely so gave up and walked out holding Coen over the front of me (with my shirt pulled down but boob out of bra). I am so crap at this whole feeding in public thing!

Amanda, I understand how you feel and feel much the same way. I had to feed dd at the train station last week and I had a pervert staring at me the whole time and baby and boob were both covered under a wrap! Did he have xray vision or was he waiting for the wrap to fall off? Anyway, I also have trouble discreetly popping my boob back in. I figure practice and time will help! As for the ring sling... ebay! ph34r.gif

Baby crying in the car, do you ladies stop when baby is crying and screaming in the car as you drive or do you keep going and hope to get to your destination quicker? This has happened to us on several occasions and we keep driving but dh mentioned yesterday that he does find the crying distracting so I had to pop my finger in dd's mouth to help settle her as we couldn't pull over for a feed. Do you pull over to feed them? I don't drive and it's not often that we drive around so this is new to us. DD1 was cruisy and fell asleep with the movement of the car, DD2 won't sleep in the car! sad.gif

keep telling her..in a minute

Krys, I can relate to this... usually it's dd asking me to play... I feel awful saying this to dd but sometimes I need that minute to myself. As for the lactation cookies, they are yummy, I don't feel they boost my supply that much but I like them nonetheless!

So anyway, he gave this jumper to the cousin today after the service, and the cousin was SO happy and excited and proclaimed today 'the best day of his life'. ROFL ! I'm sure his dad would have got a kick out of that, wherever he is now .......

I love that! original.gif

Shell, sorry to hear about he burglary.

Gemma, we're starting to get explosive poos. I hate them! sad.gif

Claire, woohoo, Evie is rolling already! What a champ!

Giggles, dd is starting too but not with mum and dad. She's very serious with us!

Gotta go, I think dd is ready to feed again! blink.gif

I'm back again...

Redsgirl, what's your recipe for the 12 hour overnight sleep? My dd also has difficulty sleeping after 3.00pm. She tends to want to feed 2 hourly from then on and will only catnap if I persist yet if she doesn't nap she goes ferral. sad.gif

Feeding in bed, I have started to do this but I'm finding that when I do, dd drops off quickly so doesn't get the full feed and wakes every two hours. Does this happen to others too?

Gisselle, your dd does look snug in the bassinet but if you think she's comfortable and happy then let her be.

Megan, I love those photos of Princess Mary's baby. Have you seen celibrity baby blog - all about the baby products celebrities are given for free and we're enticed to pay a fortune for!

nothing like Andi's, Benty's or Taydan's - I always admire those piccies.

I agree Claire, I wish I could take pics like these ladies!

Nessy, try cornflour on your girl's bum. We put it on with cotton wool rather than sprinkle it on and it does tend to help keep dd dry. However I find that cornflour worked better on dd1 who wore cloth nappies and not as well on dd2 who is in sposies.

Eating, I've been craving sugar... can't get enought sweets at the moment. Not good... rolleyes.gif

Sharing rooms, are anyone's kids sharing a room with the baby? How is it going? Is the baby still waking at night and how do the kids cope with this? How does settling/resettling work? We're moving soon and it will be a case of either dd's sharing the room or dd2 sleeping on our bed, not enough room for a cot and our bed in our room. sad.gif

Amanda, I love the ring sling and I'm glad it's worked out for you. I actually have two wrap carriers and 4 pouch carriers ph34r.gif to match the outfit or activity, so IMO you can never have enough carriers! wink.gif I am fascinated by the idea of b/f in a sling but I can't work out how to do it. Any tips?

she loves to lye in her cot talking and looking around

Amy, I wish I had one of these babies! Mine tend to scream when they wake up and realise they're not in my arms or that they're hungry! I've heard all about contented babies that will lie in their cots happily until picked up by their parents. Maybe the next one will be like this for me!

Sleep, now that babies are coming up to the three month mark, could we please revisit the sleep regime... what are you doing to get baby to sleep?... what's your routine? I need ideas and tips as even the swing isn't working as well as it used to!
kaishra
Morning all! wacko.gif Fed dd at 3.45 and can't get back to sleep. sad.gif

morning idoidoido, I'm off to bed, bugger just looked at the clock, it's 4.29am and I'm going out at 8.30! Better get a couple of hours in.

when I'm paying $4+ a litre for goats milk, I could save some money! biggrin.gif

I think if I had to pay that much a litre I'd go and buy a goat! lol

Baby crying in the car, do you ladies stop when baby is crying and screaming in the car

Nope, more often than not all of mine fall asleep in the car wub.gif if Joel cries I know he'll calm down pretty soon so I just keep going.
~Simply*Blue~
Baby crying in the car, do you ladies stop when baby is crying and screaming in the car

If it goes on for more than 5 minutes and doesn't seem like he'll settle then yes I do stop. I've done a few feeds on the side of the road. In a safe spot of course wink.gif

ido - well done on the biggest post I have ever seen on eb smile1.gif

sleep - During the day I tummy sleep now, but that's because of his flat spot we are trying to rectify. I don't wrap anymore as I don't think it's safe while he's on his side or tummy. I ditched the dummy a few weeks ago as he was getting way too dependent on it. Now I use the 'Sounds for Silence' cd, he likes track #6 which is white noise.

I try not to do this at night to encourage good night sleeping with no crutches. I pat and ssshhh if he has trouble going down at night.
ginnyk
Morning,

idoidoido - With the crying in the car, it all depends on how far we are going. If its only 10 mins, we let her cry, if its longer we pull over and I feed her.
Wrapping - we never did it, maybe its why DD never sleeps very long...
Feeding in bed - I always feed DD in bed at night, sitting up though, as if I lie down to sleep I also get the problem that DD falls asleep without enough milk and wakes up often for more. Most nights though, I'll fall asleep giving DD a feed, and DH has to prod me to wake up and put Amelia back in her bassinet!

Claire - thats really bad about the wedding, I think people without kids have no idea about how important it is to have a baby with you in the early days (and how undisruptive they are!).

Adaze - whats the trick with the dreamfeed... I've been doing one for the last week with Amelia, but she still wakes up every 3 hours afterwards! OH well, at least its a 3 hour gap now, not 2...

Kaishra - the tetra bed sounds really interesting! I guess they can only stay in it while they are little...?

Cheryl - love the pic with your gran, so gorgeous. Hope you find that darn receipt, how annonying!

jettsmum - yay you have moved, and happy birthday to your DS!

Amanda, your sling looks great! I wish I knew how to feed DD in mine... Amelia's weight gain slowed down for the 10 week weigh in as well - she only put on 600 grams from 6-10 weeks, but the MHN wasn't worried at all.

Me - went to the ANZAC day collingwood/essendon game at the MCG with Amelia which was great fun. Amelia was asleep in the sling, but as soon as the crowd went quiet for the last post she woke up screaming! Good timing eh! So she watched a quarter of footy, then I went to see if there were any parent rooms at the MCG and found THE BEST parent room - if anyone goes, its in section M11, and has 2 comfy chairs in a little corner of the room, in front of a telly showing the footy so you can feed and watch the game. How awesome is that !! So I fed amelia and hung out in there for about 1/2 an hour, then she weny back to sleep for the rest of the game. And Collingwood won, so a great day all round!

DS is asking for brekkie so better stop ignoring him...

chat later
ginny
amy76
Morning

Well it is bloody freezing in sa today. 14 and pouring with rain.

We decided to have an indoor picnic for lunch today DS very excited.

Lucy went 13 hours between feeds last night. I fed her at 7pm i heard her wake at 5am she went back to sleep and then i woke her at 8am wacko.gif grin.gif

idoidoido- what a mamoth post you did.
sleep routines - lucy is now nearly 14 weeks and her routine hasnt changed since she was born. she feeds at approx 7am, 10, 1, 4 and 7. She is rarely up more than an 1 1/2 and sleeps anywhere from 1 - 2 1/2 hrs.
housework - i tidy when ever is needed. DS is so noisy that DD sleeps thru most things. i can even vaccumm in her room when she is asleep sometimes. wacko.gif

claire- how rude of your friend sad.gif . with BB my DH will have to bath her from now on or i will havve to do it by 7pm. i will still be able to massage dress and feed while watching biggrin.gif

well best be off to do some more washing

have a great day
idoidoido
well done on the biggest post I have ever seen on eb

blush.gif I missed two threads so there was a lot to catch up on!

found THE BEST parent room - if anyone goes, its in section M11, and has 2 comfy chairs in a little corner of the room, in front of a telly showing the footy so you can feed and watch the game. How awesome is that !!

Wow, maybe I will make it to a game afterall! Is there a particular level I need to go to?
notsochillimum
Morning Ladies..

Been on the blog and seen so many gorgeous pics of you and your bubbas!!! biggrin.gif
Nice to put faces to peoples names. All is good in this household bar the damn microwave lol

Benty – thanks for the blog access. smile1.gif

Lauren – sounds like Joel is on the mend Hooray hands.gif

Claireabell – Shame about your friends wedding. Guess his bride didn’t want to share any of the attention with your beautiful bubba. wub.gif

Idoidoido - $4 a litre for goats milk oh my.. finally something worse than petrol! As for housework, we live in a three level townhouse. Jake is upstairs (sharing my room), so I will do all other levels while he is asleep except vacuuming. I wait til Jake is awake before doing the top floor. Vacuuming lol he needs to be held by big bro or sis while that is going, as it really freaks him out lol Baby crying in car.. I tend to fed him then go where I have to so I haven’t really had to deal with a lot of screams thankfully.
Sleep – am very lucky in this department. Jake will wake play feed play sleep anywhere between 1-3 hours thru day til about 5pm then wake cluster feed & play til shower, massage, feed off to bed around 9pm and sleep thru til 6.30-7.30 each night. Each time he goes to sleep he’s wrapped from underarms down, held firmly close and couple of pats on bum and off he goes!!

Rebecca – sounds of silence cd is a winner isn’t it?? Lol happy.gif

Ginny – am so jealous of your footy outing. So long since I’ve been to see a match. Atmosphere is not the same at home lol tongue.gif

Amy – hope the weather improves over there, not bad today in Sydney at least we got some sun out unsure.gif

Ok.. now to find that damn receipt...

Have a good day girls

Cheryl laugh.gif
claireabell
Shame a good friend couldn't understand your situation though!

Thanks Sary. i am really worried they think the same of me sad.gif

Guess his bride didn’t want to share any of the attention with your beautiful bubba.

Hmm, the cynic in me thought the same thing Cheryl... it's poss - the bride actually wore a white dress to my wedding (not even i wore white LOL!) so she does like the spotlight.

Baby crying in car - we tend to keep going as she only ever does it when i pick DH up from work in the afternoons. i know it isn't hunger b/c i feed her before we leave, and it's hard to stop in peak hour. sometimes i jump in the back with her if she is really bad, and quite often we play the sounds for silence CD, which lives in the car - that helps most of the time. DD likes tracks 1, 4 and 6.

Claudia - fab post cclap.gif. I am sorry to hear you're unhappy about your birth story. FWIW it seems like you went into it so prepared and knowledgable, i learnt a lot from reading your posts in the feb DIG.

OK, am I the only one that doesn't do housework whilst baby is sleeping. I get so worried that the noise will wake her, so I tend to be as quiet as I can be.

I'm not a big one for housework, but DD loves it when i pop her in the sling and get cleaning. i think she loves the motion, and she def loves the white noise from the vacuum, that always sends her off to sleep.

I think if I had to pay that much a litre I'd go and buy a goat!

LOL Lauren!!!

Now I use the 'Sounds for Silence' cd, he likes track #6 which is white noise.

I try not to do this at night to encourage good night sleeping with no crutches. I pat and ssshhh if he has trouble going down at night.

We love this CD too Rebecca, although ours is in the car. At home we use a white noise track downloaded from i-tunes - it is the sound of a waterfall. DD absolutely loves it. we use it all the time though, night too. we figure (hope!) we will be able to wean her off it when we need to by turning it down, plaing it for shorter periods etc, it's not the sort of thing she has to go cold turkey on.

As for sleep routines, during the day DD goes down after a play. She is wrapped (although we are stopping that - currently wrapping her with one arm out and much looser), given a quick cuddle and then put down with the white noise on. if she is really hard to settle we cuddle her while bouncing on the fit ball, she loves it and it's pretty much guaranteed to send her off.

At night she gets a feed, bath, massage, feed and then bed with white noise playing. that works really well and she usually sleeps for 8 hours after that.

Ginny glad you had fun at the footy! yay for the feeding room too - i love discovering good ones!

We decided to have an indoor picnic for lunch today DS very excited.

Amy that is so lovely - i can't wait for DD to be old enough to do things like that with her. It's freezing in canberra today too... Evie is going to wear wooly tights for the first time wub.gif

I have a few questions:

Is anyone's baby ticklish? i am very ticklish and a little disappointed that Evie doesn't seem to be!

Does anyone still have a linea nigra from their pregnancy? Mine is still hanging around and is so dark.

Does your belly ever regain its elasticity? mine has returned to it's pre-preg shape but the skin is still pretty stretched.

Does anyone read to their babies yet? Again this is a part of my childhood that i loved and i can't wait to read to DD, but is she still a little young? i have tried sitting with her and a picture book but she's so uninterested.

Gotta go - boobie time! hope you all have a great day, we're off out for pizza for lunch with my fave uncle biggrin.gif
idoidoido
I'm toddler free so I have more time today! biggrin.gif

Claire, we bounce dd on the ball too and she does fall asleep but sometimes it takes a lot of bouncing! As for the white noise, do you keep it on the whole night or just at the beginning?

Is anyone's baby ticklish? Ours isn't yet. I think there is a learnt aspect to the ticklishness, so with time IMO, I think baby learns that the tickle games is fun and responds accordingly. We tried 'round and round the garden' with dd1 from the beginning but she didn't respond to it until much later on. She did smile though in response to our exaggerated attempts to get her to giggle.

Does anyone still have a linea nigra from their pregnancy? Mine is fading, but still there.

Does your belly ever regain its elasticity? Don't know!

Does anyone read to their babies yet? Yes and we did with dd1 from the beginning. I recommend Sandra Boynton or Rod Campbell. Rod's book Buster's Bedtime was a favourite of dd's for a long time - short sentences, simple but interesting pictures with touchy feely aspects. Sandra Boynton has three that I like for young babies: Moo, Baa, La La La; The Going to Bed Book and Pajama Time I like Sandra the best because she uses beautiful language that rhymes and appeals to babies. Also, let baby play and touch the book and don't get cross if she eats/chews on them - get board books - as you want her experience of books to be a positive one. I've got an avid reader (she reads from memory only) in dd1 as a result and we're doing the same with dd2.

Another book DD1 loved from a young age was one called Giddy Up Let's Ride. If you can get a copy, this is a fabulous book with simple language and great pictures plus you get to play horsey!
adaze
We have read to both girls from birth. I was always read to and I think that's why I'm so in love with books. I wanted the same for my children.

Sleep: Ruby has her last feed at 6:30 and is ALWAYS in bed by 7. She is wrapped and drops off by herself. I then wake her at 10:30 for a feed and she goes straight back down. SHe usually wakes around 3:30 but I just put her dummy in and she goes back (i'm actually thinking about ditching the dummy though). Then she wakes about 5-5:30 where she has a quick feed and straight back to sleep til about 7:30. During the day she feeds at 7:30, 11, 3 and 6:30 and is up for about an hour after a feed.
ginnyk
Amy - 13 hours sleep, thats amazing! I still don't get that with my 6 yo!

Idoidoido - its on the ground level - there are quite a few parent rooms, there was another nearer where we were sitting in m57, but the feeding was in a cubicle without a telly... so its worth the walk to get to m11 !

Claire - yep, Amelia is very ticklish... she loves being tickled, especially by her brother! I have read a few time to amelia, need to dig out John's old baby books and get into it - I read to john from 3 months every night and still do. Belly and elasticity.... I think it probably should, but it takes a while.

Adaze - great routine. Amelia is always in bed by 6pm, and gets up at 9am (prob with 5 feeds inbetween) but our daytime routine is totally variable, never do the same thing twice!

Mmmm..... banana cake is almost ready must dash!
Rylani
Sleep Routine

DD feeds then plays for an hour and a bit then I wrap her and put her in her cot and press the button for the music on her mobile and she usually goes off to sleep. Sometimes I have to go back and settle her but usually she is pretty good. At night she is still in the bassinet next to me but I usually just feed her in bed then put her straight back into the bassinet.

Baby in car - I usually will give her a top up on the boob before we leave to go for lengthy drives even if she isn't due, I just pop her on for 5 minutes then put her in the car. Both mine like the car and go to sleep, somedays if they are both grizzly I go for a drivejust for some peace and quiet!

Baby Belly - I think it's a bit like strechmarks it comes down to genetics and luck of the draw, I got a few strechmarks but I never got that streched belly skin. By the way what is everyone using on their strechmarks?

DH is calling BBL
~Andi~

Sorry for being a bit MIA of late, no excuse really....just slack at posting ph34r.gif but I do keep up with all your news!

Ginny - I want some of your banana cake now LOL!

Claudia - well done on your huuuge post! You asked if Lily was still catnapping - YES! Drives me bonkers some days, but am learning to just get whatever I need to get done that I can't when she's awake!

Claire - yep, Lily is ticklish, no linea nigra here, very elasticy/wrinkly belly, and I haven't started reading to Lily yet, but we did from birth with Jack! Think I better start the routine with her soon....I love watching their little faces light up, they just love it! I agree with everyone else, very sad that your friend couldn't understand your situation, I hope your friendship isn't over because of it all.

Amy - opposite weather here today - DH & DS even went in the pool! We love having indoor picnics here too biggrin.gif

Crying in the car - again depends how far it is we're going....if we're on our way home and it's only about 10 minutes I wait to feed her...she doesn't cry the whole time though. I too have done many roadside feeds....interesting at night and cars shine their headlights at you LOL.

Wrapping - Lily didn't like being wrapped, neither did Jack actually! We've just started putting her into a grobag, am loving them! She seems to sleep better too which is an added bonus! They also look soooo cute wub.gif

Ok, it's past my bedtime.....will try and be back sooner rather than later this time!

Andi.
BentyBaby
Hey Guys !

I've been absent for a thread and a half, and life here is boringly normal. We have birthdays, we have colds, we have busy .. blah blah ... nothing new :rollseyes:

So to catch up:

Leaving baby on the playmat to do other things:
yep, sure. Otherwise nothing would get done, and i'd also go nutty...

BB - yep, especially at the start. Glad there's more of a mix this year - sick of all the kiddies with their enhanced and pierced bits, quite frankly.

gisselle - sorry to hear about your cousin's baby :sad:

Party - thanks all, it was a lot of fun, but hopefully I won't get sucked into such a production next year :laughs:

Amanda - grr to your neighbours and their treecapades !

New pram - love it, would recommend it to anyone in a similar position. We are getting out and about everywhere - ahhh, so nice to be mobile. It's so light ! It is a Peg Perego Twin Aria 6040.

Claire - YAYyyyyy !! on the rolling ! - how fantastic original.gif

Soup - I am making a vege& barley soup tomorrow night .... mmm.. farty .... lol

Reds - I love CelebBaby news - I read a few Celeb baby Blogs blush.gif

No Neighbours here, but I do love Home & Away .... blush.gif blush.gif !

ginnny - what did you end up spending your Babyco $$ on ? How lovely !

PawPaw ointment - contains a live enzyme that attacts both good and bad tissue. MHN's won't recommend it anymore apparently. There's a cheaper version of parrafin ( like Lanisoh ) you can get from chemists, just ask for the cheaper version of Lanisoh...

nessy - you've got a rolly baby too ! I think DS2 is almost there himself. He's very laugh-y/happy .. although gets all serious if you whip out the camera laughing2.gif

Amanda - that sling is so pretty, it looks great on you and bub looks so comfy. How happy do you look ? original.gif

Shell - happy belated to DS !

Cheryl - cute piccie of jake and his Great-Nan !

Claire - that whole wedding saga was just absolute crap. It seems if you'd just turned up with babe, it would have been ok and no-one would have said anything, but no, you did the right thing, and got penalised. Your friend will regret his 'banning' in time and realise what he did when he gets his own babes. His wife sounds like a bit of a Princess...

Wrapping - we don't do it here. Just tuck him in like I tuck myself in ( if that makes sense )

Baby crying in car/while out - I try and time a feed'n'go, so I basically get 2-3hrs to get anywhere and he'll sleep during that. If he was really busting a gut though, i'd pull over ( unless really close to home ), because it would kill me with guilt and affect my driving ( concentration, worry, speeding - all subconcious, mind you ! )

Sleep routines - we don't have these either - I am such a slack mumma !!! He just sort of has a big sleep at night all by himself...

Claire - wooly tights on little girls are sooo cute !!

Ticklish - yep, both my boys are .. poor buggars original.gif

Linea Nigra - yep, I don't get mine until the 9th month, and then it takes forever to go away ! I find cleaning it with an oil-based product ( such as baby oil etc ) helps clear it away easier - it comes off like a dirty old holiday tan.

Tummy elasticity - a lot of this is to do with your genetic makeup - i've never really had stretch marks or crepey skin. that said, my mum does, so go figure ?

Reading - not yet.... lazy ... too busy making up time to the 4yr old also ...

Hi to everyone else !
( Boy, was that a lot to catch up on ! )
RedsGirl
Hi gals,

Claire - I went to a wedding with no babies allowed on Sat too. It was in the Hunter, so our choice was to pay a freaking fortune for 2 bedroom apartment to take Nana up at a min. of 2 nights due to long weekend (and the fact every place in the Hunter Valley charges min, 2nights on a weekend rant.gif )OR leave bubs at home with Nana and drive up and straight back. We took option 2. Fortunately for us, Jemima does take a bottle and it all worked well. To be honest I am kind of glad we did it this way, although I had to express a couple of times for relief. I would have been worrying and stressing either way, but at least this way Jem's 'routine' wasn't messed up and she got to bed at normal time and we were able to enjoy ourselves.

That said, I think the bride, like your friend, doesn't get the newborn thing and how emotive breastfeeding is. I didn't want to bottle feed Jemima, but had to start her for this wedding. Now, of course, it means Red and I can go out if we want to and have her babysat, but that isn't the point.

I really hope this doesn't mean the end of the friendship, and I agree - once they have a bub of their own they will understand!

I don't have much time, Jem is having what will probably be her only daytime sleep. I have resigned myself to the fact that 12 hours overnight means little or no day sleeps, usually we get an OK oneon the morning and I'm lucky to get a 30 min catnap in the afternoon BUT she is coping a bit better now, doesn't get quite as cranky in the afternoon these days. She sleeps unwrapped, in her cot from 6.30pm to sometimes as late as 8am! what do i really have to complain about?

Oh and she has started talking to herself in bed! I have heard it the last few mornings, but last night I woke at 12 midnight and again at 4am and could hear her babbling away - it was interesting as it gave me a very good indication that yes, she does wake during her biiiiig night sleep and yes, she does settle herself back to sleep. And it's so cute!

I am off to the shower now, it might be my only chance!
notsochillimum
Morning Ladies..

I found it! I found it! I found it! Clever me stuck the microwave receipt in the back of the manual, which I came across last week but didn’t look thru it wacko.gif

Yesterday Jake started to fuss and cry after 15 mins on the boob. He got quite violent with my nipple and even hit boob with his hand, as if to say hurry up and make more milk. wub.gif So I swapped to other one and 10 mins later he same thing again.. Both boobs felt quite empty. He did settle with his dummy after thankfully. This makes me wonder how much is he getting?? I expressed for the next feed (3 hours later) and only got 100mls from right and 60mls from left. Which he downed and then cried when finished. The rest of the day I expressed just before the feed to check on amount he is taking and was pretty much the same, around 160mls. He is only having 5 feeds a day now but sounds like 160mls is not enough hmmm might take a trip to see BHN in the meantime, What do you all think.. Is 160mls enough per feed??? Another growth spurt?? Jake is 9 ½ weeks and though next spurt would be later. unsure.gif

Claireabell - Is anyone's baby ticklish? Jake is, but he doesn’t enjoy it lol
Does anyone still have a linea nigra from their pregnancy? Yep, but its fading.
Does your belly ever regain its elasticity? Not sure, mine looks the same as the last 15 years with a little extra padding lol Does anyone read to their babies yet? Not yet but plan to. We are all big readers and hope to pass it on. I do dance and sing to him thou, music is always on in this house.

Idoidoido – That’s so great that your DD’s like story time. My teen son in particular loved it. Think I read three little pigs for about 1 year straight (with all the different voices) and yes by the end of it, he could read from memory too.

Adaze – did Ruby insist on keeping the dream feed??

Ginny – banana cake!!!! Yummy!! This forum is a cooking inspiration! lol grin.gif

Rylani – Although I didn’t get any new stretch marks with Jake, still had plenty from my teens. They did get extremely itchy and occasionally still do. I just use same body lotion as rest of me (Dove body lotion with cucumber & green tea.. smells & feels divine)

Andi – pic in your sig are gorgeous! wink.gif

Benty – I know that I really don’t know you but seriously don’t think words like lazy and slack could be associated with you. lol You seem like the ultimate super mum! tongue.gif

Redsgirl - glad to hear that all is going well

Cheryl laugh.gif
bondimum
Ok, so I tried to run through the 15 odd posts I've missed since I was last on and I can't keep up! I've skimmed as many as I can though...

Kashira - are you TTC #5? That's awesome. I've got 3 (had 4, 1st was a premmie that didn't survive) and have to say that the more i have the more I enjoy being a mum which kinda surprises me. Do you find the same thing? I'm done and dusted with my lot though - I've been pregnant every year since 2003 and coupled with breastfeeding, I have only just now started to feel like the old me is coming back original.gif. BUT I am strangely loving it. Maybe it's their ages?

Adaze (or was it Claire?) - that is completely crap about the wedding. You can't ban babies! Kids, fair enough maybe but babies, no. I've got a wedding on Thursday and not taking the bub but that's my choice. There are plenty of mums out there, esp 1st time mums and or/bf mums that just wouldn't/couldn't leave bub behind and fair enough - they're babies FGS! I think your friends fiance is selfish (and I'm usually very open minded).

Noise - I've never limited noise around my kids, cleaning or otherwise and I have to say they are all sensational sleepers and can sleep through pretty much everything. I do think we can make them a bit too sensitive by over protecting them from things like that, but you gotta do whatever you feel most comfortable with. And quiet is peaceful all round.

Sharing Room - our 3rd is the noisiest baby we have had! I think it's mainly when he is windy (his burps are also the biggest and loudest and wettest!). He is still in the bassinet in our room but I do have to make sure he is very well burped before putting him down or he is far too noisy to sleep with. He does have this wierd 6am extra noisy period - but I think that could be poop related. I have never seen a baby poop as much in one sitting as he does, it just keeps coming and coming (I'll think he's done and go to change nappy only to have it continue to stream out with every sweep of his bottom!). He is regular with his poop being once per day. He is also the only one formula fed at such a young age - maybe this is all related?

Sleep routine - I think my bub is a little younger than most (27.2) but he is pretty much wake, eat, sleep, play, bed, all within 1.5 hours (or less - any more than that and he will be hard to put down, otherwise it's just a cuddle, wrap and sleep). He is up round about 6am, 8, 11, 2, 5, 8pm, 3am, mainly sleeping inbetween. At 3 and 6am it's just feed, burp, change nappy, sleep (over within half hour).

Wrapping - I still wrap very tightly and did with all 3 til as late as I could (past 6 months from memory for both). At least with mine it's helped them sleep long stretches at a time I think and the older ones still do (at 18 mths and 3 yrs). With 3 under 4 this is something I am very thankful for! Im a big fan of wrapping and relate to whoever posted about wrapping with the sheet - the wraps have to be extra big to make sure they are well contained.

Formula Feeding - I breast fed my 1st for 11 mths, my second for 4-5 mnths and with current bub gave up the bf last week and he is now ff. I've noticed that he now will only have a very small feed (50 ml) esp in the morning feeds (have just changed him to Nan Gold HA too), with some bigger feeds (up to 120ml). Is this normal? He was guzzling feeds before but is not anywhere near as interested now. I was expressing some feeds before so know that even with the bf's he was taking up to 150ml per feed. His top up ff's (of which he would have 1 or 2) were the same. As mentioned he is also very noisy and his one poop of the day is ridiculous in how big it is (and unbelievably green - army green). Has anyone else moved from breast to formula and noticed these sorts of changes? Or any other changes?

Smiling - thanks to everyone who posted about the smiling. H e virtually started smiling and giving lots of delicious eye contact almost from the moment I wrote the post. He is definately a happy chappy!

Di
Emma-motherof2
hi everyon e,

its emma mummy to nikki and melanie(11 wks now?

i have bee nmisusing in actioin for almosta month due to being in hospital with melanie and then back the next week and then staying mt the in laws for a bit so no internet and then we have been at perth for a while as DH grandad has terminal cancer and we wanted to take the girls to see him before it was too late. we will be probably going back up there later in the wekso i havent fprgottomn to come on hgere i jusy havent bee nable to and may not for a nother liuttle while.,

i am having trouble getting mel to feed and tried chaging formula but it doesnt se mto be making much of a difference and im running uot of ideas and patience.

heres the story.............. she was on NAN then she got sick and then she didnt want t odrink any more so last thursday i changed her to SMA and she loved it and then on the plane over we noticed that she was acting a bit constipated and so on the friday she was still having trouble and so on sat i put her back on NAN and just as i was giving her the NAN bottle she did a big poo which would hasve been from the sma and it was fine but i kept goiong with the NAN then today she decided that she didnt want that, so i gave her a SMA feed asnd she still mucked around so now i dont know what to do?

any ideas? thoguth i would jusdt keep persisting with the SMA and hope she picks up.

i am having noithing but trouble with this girl and itsa driving me nuts.

anyway ladies im so sorry for the me whingey post. il ltry to get back no tonogith to see if anyon3e has any advice if not ill tlak in a week or two cause we are prob heading back to perth next week.

Emma
*astro*
Emma - sorry to hear about your Dh's grandad - it must be a hard time for your family. I can't help you with the FF question but i hope you get it sorted. How have you been feeling??

Ido - wow huge post! its great you can get out with the kids - i am fairly housebound, mainly its DD2 who makes going out in public places a bit stressful for me. I can handle the oldest DS4 and little Aaron together no problems. i'm sorry you're feeling a bit sad thinking of the birth, you gave it your all in many ways. do you think discussing it with the ob helped?

claire - heres another glad there is no more weddings coming up. i'm appauled that your friend didn't compromise his position! that would be it for me i'm afraid.

notsochillimum - i don't think you can equate volumes of breastmilk to volumes of formula - i've always been crap at expressing anything but my kids still gain weight and have wet nappies. you're breasts won't feel as full as they first did, because they are making milk as you need it, feeling empty doesn't mean you don't have enough. maybe you should ring the ABA helpline or post on their forum to get help from a counsellor? I would recommend giving your son more time on the breast when he is unsettled, if you think it might be hunger. Five feeds a day isn't much IMO.

redsgirl - good that your survived the out of town wedding! sounds like a huge day, travelling up to the hunter!!!

wrapping - i'm working up to using the grobag too... trouble is DS likes being wrapped at the start of the night, but later on he gets cozy in bed with me (unwrapped), so grobag would be too hot.

linea thingy - i never got it

flat tummy - never got that back either original.gif

tickling - are you trying to torment your little one claire? original.gif

us - well DH is back at work today after 2 weeks holidays - 2 weeks where it rained every single day!!
Aaron is doing well - hasn't been sleeping through so much at night but i don't mind that.

BB - i'm a complete sucker for this. plus this is the time of night i feed Aaron to sleep in front of the box.

i'm considering taking the plunge and going back to uni - but maybe not until next year. i've always wanted to study mathematics and be a teacher. it'll probably be correspondance, and aim to complete it before aaron starts school! original.gif

ummmm on food, i enjoyed some homemade chicken soup today,and tucked into homemade apple crumble last night with icecream (while watching biggest loser of course!). i love taste.com.au website!

oh, and is anyone on facebook??
~Simply*Blue~
oh, and is anyone on facebook??

Just came in to ask the same thing.

Here is a link to my profile, hope it works. If you add me you better tell me your username here cos I'm pretty hopeless laughing2.gif I have just added some new pics too if anyone is interested.

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=753263195
~*tasha*~
Facebook is addictive!

Here's the link to my profile

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=679081097

Not a great deal happening here TBH just relaxing while DD has a sleep!

Hope everyone is keeping well

Tasha
~Simply*Blue~
I just went in to check on Miller, I had tucked him in down the bottom of the cot on his tummy and he was up the other end on his back ohmy.gif
amy76
ohhh nearly time for BB eexcite.gif tthumbs.gif 1 hour

im on facebook too love it dev (6).gif

flat stomach: havnt had that since before DS 5 years ago, dont think it will ever come back unless i have tummy tuck laughing2.gif

DH did his back in at work today cry1.gif so now i have no extra help around the house. But saying that DS is always willing and very able to help around the house. Too mature for his own good

Rebecca i had that one morning with Lucy she is wrapped and tucked and she had managed to back crawl all the way to the other end of cot. But hasnt done it since.

DS starts school on Wedneday. I cant believe it, it only seems like yesterday that he was a baby and now he is at school. So i promised myself with DD that i wouldnt wish her life away and treasure every moment i have wub.gif

Anyhooo enough babbling from me, off to do a few more things before BB starts

Have a great night

OH PS DId anyone else watch SO you think you can dance. I was soo happy Jack won. what a little cutie he was cool.gif
*astro*
Rebecca! what a clever little guy!

here's my facebook link:

http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=665367547
adaze
Ruby had her 3month check today and she's gained 1.4kg in one month! She weighs 6.5kg!!
Everything is fine except she has a very flat head....

Still not sure what to do re the dreamfeed. I might have another go at not doing it tonight...
~*tasha*~
I am going to take Rebecca to the Health Nurse this Friday I think just to get her weighed. I think her head is ok, I cannot make out any flat spots as yet. It will be interesting to see how much she weighs as I haven't had her weighed since she was 8 weeks old, and she will be 12 weeks on Friday!

Any one watching BB?? I am finding it boring ATM!

Better go Desperate Housewives will be on in a minute!

ETA Amy I just read your post sorry to hear about your DH
RedsGirl
What do you all think.. Is 160mls enough per feed

Cheryl - just wanted to quickly add my 2c. I would say maybe not... Jemima is 11 weeks and Mum minded her saturday day and night. I had three of the 240ml bottles (they're 240 aren't they?) and one little 125ml bottle of EBM for her. I really wasn't sure what to leave or how much she'd drink because you can't tell with boobies right? Anyway, Mum told me she pretty much took a full 240ml a feed.

The Babylove book and other guides I've read suggest 150-240ml per kilo of body weight divided by number of feeds over 24 hours for an 8-12 weekold bub. Eg 6 kilo baby x 200 mls = 1200 mls divided over 6 feeds = 200 mls per feed. Given Jake is a good size he may well be needing a bit more.

Jemima must be just over 6kgs now, but I think she takes a bit more for her size as she only gets 4-5 feeds a day (not that I am happy about this, but when she is asleep for so long overnight i can't seem to fit anymore in).

Anyhoo hope that helps a bit.

kaishra
Kaishra - the tetra bed sounds really interesting! I guess they can only stay in it while they are little...?

nope, mine have stayed in them till they've been between 9-11months, usually till I wake up in the morning to find they've crawled across the floor in their sleep! (very freaky the first couple of times it happens!)

Is anyone's baby ticklish?

Not yet, but he will be, we all are. My DH hates being tickled and I think Joel will be the same, if I tickle him he looks at me like I just stole his favourite toy or something lol

Does anyone still have a linea nigra from their pregnancy?

Never got one

Does your belly ever regain its elasticity?

My belly has not been elastic for many many years and it has nothing to do with pregnancy, more to do with eating too much. It does look the same now as when I got pregnant though.

By the way what is everyone using on their strechmarks?

Nothing, most of my stretchmarks are pre children anyway and since I have no desire to wear a bikini I don't worry about them.

Cheryl, the 160ml that you can express is nothing compared to the amount that the baby can get out. I can express both sides till I can't get anymore then put Joel on and he still gets heaps more.

Kashira - are you TTC #5?

yep original.gif

have to say that the more i have the more I enjoy being a mum which kinda surprises me. Do you find the same thing?

Yeah, I've loved it from the start and it keeps getting better, more hectic and a lot louder, much more difficult to get them all in the car without a power play (DS1) but lots of fun.

I'm done and dusted with my lot though

#5 will be our last, we were only going to have 4 but changed our mind lol

I've been pregnant every year since 2003

lol I have too, since October 2003 there's only been about 13months that I haven't been pregnant.

Emma, try Lactogen, it's the cheapest formula available and doesn't cause constipation where alot of the other ones do, my sister and brother both had babies on formula and they both ended up constipated, the girl was put on laxatives for months, they were both on the expensive formulas, and as my brother and sister never listen to me rant.gif they wouldn't change them over.

Oh that's great that you'll be in Perth, I'm over here too (as is Rylani) maybe we can all meet up?

I took Joel back to the Dr's today and she gave me a referral to the children's hospital in Perth, his eye is getting better but the blockage is still there so if I can't clear it with massage he'll probably have to have surgery sad.gif

lol, I'm watching Joel right now, he's lying on the couch behind me, I laid him down on his back but he's rolled himself onto his side and is holding himself up so he doesn't roll onto his stomach. (the couch slants towards the back) very cute wub.gif
jacqpot

This will prob take me thw whole day to write!!!!Some huge posts have been written and I am going to try and be relevant!!!

Sadie is doing soooo well,still sleeping 9 hours overnight.Weight gain still slow but she is happy and I feed her plenty!!!Feeling much more sure of myself.

Wrapping I am terrified to stop doing this.I have her in the 'miracle blanket' and it sure is....neither of my others slept or settled so wonderfully.I put it down to that.But soon I will have to unwrap her and put her in her cot as she is rapidly growing out of the tiny bassinet she is in.The cot is in our room as well as we are renovating and haven't moved the others into the same room yet....(a MASSIVE undertaking)...I can't remember when I stopped wrapping the others....they weren't as content as DD2.

Cheryl I have always been informed that what you express is no reflection as what babe gets as they are way more efficient at getting milk than expressing.So you can't even compare.But Astro's advice of talking to ABA would be the best way to go.

BB...I am a sucker for reality tv....always swear won't watch it but get sucked in....had a glance at it last night before 'Australian Story' and 'Desperate Housewives' and ....Kyle does my head in and what was with the huge microphones they were gripping onto?Ridiculous looking.
I LOVED 'So you think you can dance'....loved Jack but also loved Rhys and Kate.And no doubt I will get suckered into 'Australian Idol'...the thing with BB is we are frantically busy at 7pm so prob won't get the opportunity to watch it much.

Oh,better go.....Evie has started this shocking ear piercing squeal when she doesn't get what she wants....it makes my ears want to bleed!!!!...She is fighting with Hugo and I don't want them disturbing Sadie.

facebook....waaaaay beyond me I think....but then I thought that about blogging and I can do that.
~Simply*Blue~
I've been pregnant every year since 2003

laughing2.gif I never thought of it before but I've been pregnant every year since 2004 ohmy.gif I've been either pregnant or breastfeeding continuously now for 2 1/2 years. One day I'll have my body back laughing2.gif

#5 will be our last, we were only going to have 4 but changed our mind lol

We were always going to have 3 but have changed our minds for 4! Not yet though!

I want to breastfeed Miller for at least 12 months and I don't see that happening if I get pregnant again.
adaze
We had success last night! Ruby was in bed at 6:45 and slept through until 6:30 WITHOUT ANY FEEDS INCLUDING THE DREAMFEED!!! At 6:30 I brought her into bed with me to wait until Ava woke so she went back to sleep until Ava woke at 7:30am. Here's hoping it happens again tonight hands.gif

What do you all think.. Is 160mls enough per feed

It really depends on the baby. I've never listened to those formulas to figure out how much they 'should' be having. As long as they are happy, growing well, wet nappies, then they are getting enough.
Ruby has anywhere between 150-230mls per feed. And she's gained 1.4kg in just under a month...
notsochillimum
Morning Ladies..

Ahhh my nipples! cry1.gif Lol I have tried to persevere with it, letting him stay on for longer but nipples are starting to hurt again with all the fussing. BHN confirmed that babies can suck more efficiently than pumps but wasn’t impressed that Jake had lost 200grams in almost 2 weeks. This did freak me out coz he was putting on 400grams per week in the first month and I realize this doesn’t continue but didn’t expect a loss! ohmy.gif So last night and this morning I have let him go as long as he can on boob, if he cries for more I have offered him 125ml of formula. See if this does the trick, have to go back next week to check on his weight.. I want my content baby back cry1.gif

Bondimum – glad to hear you have a happy chappy grin.gif

Emma – hope you feeding issues resolve themselves.. sorry about your DH grandad.

Astro – thanks for the advice.. have contacted tresillian nurses association. They are now online and you can chat to them thru msn messenger. What a great idea! Am listening to all and any advice.

Astro/Rebecca/Tasha - Oh yeah addicted to facebook too here’s my link:
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=629333274

Amy – thought Jack was very deserving of the title too. My teenage daughter thought he was a hottie!

Adaze – great weight gain for Ruby! smile1.gif oh cclap.gif @ your sleep thru ddance.gif

Redsgirl - she only gets 4-5 feeds a day (not that I am happy about this, but when she is asleep for so long overnight i can't seem to fit anymore in). That’s exactly what Jake does.. Don’t want to wake him and force a feed.. hmm we’ll see what happens offering him a comp feed

Lauren/Jacqpot – both of you were right on the money about expressing.. thanks

Cheryl laugh.gif
kaishra
I want to breastfeed Miller for at least 12 months and I don't see that happening if I get pregnant again.

you just never know, my last 3 were all conceived whilst I was breastfeeding, I fed DS3 till he was about 15 months and Joel was born 2 months later. He has had a couple of feeds since Joel's been born but not regularly.

edited cause I actually wrote "were all conceived whilst I was pregnant" baby brain is still about!
~Simply*Blue~
were all conceived whilst I was pregnant

laughing2.gif

I actually got pregnant with Miller while breastfeeding DS2, I only managed to feed him to 3 months pregnant, so he was 10 months so I almost made the 12 months.

I guess if I got pregnant now he would be almost 1, tandem feeding is also an option. Not that I'm trying!! laughing2.gif
BentyBaby
were all conceived whilst I was pregnant

duh - I didn't even see what was wrong with the statement even after you corrected it !!

Facebook - nup, I don't know why, but I really hate facebook, myspace, msn, icq etc etc - I find them all really annoying.

not so chilli - hope you find a solution, poor thing

adaze - yay on the sleep and goodbye to the dreamfeed !

About to go for a walk, see you all later grin.gif
*astro*
breastfeeding while pregnant- one thing for me was that when i got pregnant, it did affect my milk supply, first making the milk more salty, then drying up completely until the colustrum started, so was pretty much dry feeding for alot of the pregnancy. i only continued because i have a stubborn daughter who didn't want to give it up. feeding was pretty awful alot of the time due to nipple tenderness. if i was going back for #4, i'd wait a bit longer so i could breastfeed for longer. it was so wonderful when i got real milk again!

adaze - great news!

notsochilli - good luck with it - i didn't realise he'd been dropping weight...

kaishra - i just don't know how you do it!
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.