The
Essential Baby forums cover all areas of
parenting and stages development for
babies,
toddlers and
kids as well as
parenting lifestyle areas including
Family Travel,
Finances,
Nutrition & Wellbeing,
Recipes and more!
If you'd like to post and interact with EB's
parenting forums read more articles about
conception,
pregnancy,
babies,
toddlers,
kids or more please visit
Essential Baby for the full site experience.
mybabyboy
30/04/2008, 07:35 PM
I am out for next Friday. DH gets back from overseas next Thursday and he's been gone for a month so I am not letting him out of my sight...

So, does anyone still want to meet up this week? I am free Thursday and Friday but if no-one wants to do anything I would like to go visit a friend tomorrow. (Thursday). I'll check back in later to see if there are any takers.
~Bec~
30/04/2008, 09:46 PM
Is next Thursday good for you MBB? Would love to catch up again.
I'm working on the assumption that tomorrow is cancelled, so I hope everybody gets the message.
mybabyboy
01/05/2008, 07:54 AM
I don't know what time DH is flying in yet next Thursday, I want to go and meet him at the airport. If he is arriving in the afternoon I can make Thursday. I will find out.
I need to go to Northlakes tomorrow if anyone wants to catchup there. I can go today though if anyone gets this early enough.
Will check back later.
~Bec~
01/05/2008, 08:29 AM
I can do North Lakes tomorrow if you wanted to visit your friend today?
Happy Anniversary Nerissa and DH! Hope you enjoyed your night out.
mybabyboy
01/05/2008, 08:39 AM
Northlakes Tomorrow would be great. How about 11ish??? Isaac has just had a big break out so I am going to keep him home today. Only on his face though, the rest of him is great.
Happy Birthday Nerissa.
~Bec~
01/05/2008, 08:42 AM
11am is good for me

. Any other girls want to salvage a meet this week and join us? And then we can do Mt Gravatt next Thursday or Friday?
gumby
01/05/2008, 09:11 AM
Just to sound completely dense, where is Northlakes?
Ooh and Niss, let us know how your night out and the big anniversary celebrations went...I can live vicariously through others

**Edited to add - I'm also a fan of Baby Fight Club as a name change, I also like little Multiples/Multiples Chat as that way anyone else who comes along can join us - also people like Simone & Three~Blue~Ones (Bec has declared this her home already

)don't feel excluded and can be part of this group and the other one as well
~Bec~
01/05/2008, 09:21 AM
North Lakes is northside, just off the Bruce Highway. Ummmm, west of Redcliffe and south of Caboolture? Near Kallangur, Petrie, Murrumba Downs if any of those are familiar? There is a Westfield here

Would be a decent hike from Ipswich way, but if you're up for it come along!!!
gumby
01/05/2008, 09:26 AM
Ah, definately a hike

which counts me out sorry ladies, but, have a great day!
-MissNiss-
01/05/2008, 11:15 AM
I reckon Mums of Multiples might be a bit exclusive in case in the future there are any Multiple Dads out there who might like to chat?
Little Multiples or Multiples Babies/Toddlers sounds good to me!
Well DH got a migraine so after I'd showered and dressed we cancelled dinner. Then he went to bed and while coping with arsenic hour (bizarrely that's when Ruby's reflux really kicks in, and to add to it, Jacob spilled too, this was after administering formula plus thickener that was WAY too thick!!!

) I realised I had a blocked duct so after the evening feed I went to hospital emergency to get a script in case it turned into mastitis overnight... which it didn't but better be safe than sorry I say! (ETA: have reduced expressing from 6x to 5x per day, emptying breasts... still got that blocked duct; don't know what else to do...)
So our anniversary was a bit of a fizzer. But we really connected and spoke of our love for each other (gush gush) so it was lovely anyway.
Will ask Mum to babysit next week sometime to try it again!
BTW Ruby is 90th% for weight and Jacob is 5th% (both adjusted age) - anyone else have twins so different in weights? Not that I'm concerned, I just find it unusual... and will be interesting when strangers are convinced they're not really twins!!!!
Niss xx
*Pink*Licorice*
01/05/2008, 02:56 PM
I vote for
baby fight club - love it
mybabyboy
01/05/2008, 04:59 PM
I would have to vote multiple babies/toddlers as any new multiple Mums might not know what baby fight club is.
Niss - bummer about your night. To us the date doesn't actually matter, as long as you love each other every day can be special.
Marnie
01/05/2008, 05:40 PM
I guess my vote is for Multiples babies/toddlers. As much as I like the fight club idea it could be a little confusing or off putting for those who don't know what we are talking about

They might think we are running an illegal fighting ring for babies (much like my playpen most days

)
marnie
Gaggles
01/05/2008, 06:17 PM
HI Everybody,
I know I never post in here but I have a photo for Tilly..
None of us all shopping but this is quite amusing as well! I love my Ergo/s!!

Nat
tilly121
01/05/2008, 07:40 PM
Hooray
Thanks Nat- It was everything I imagined..... and more
Very impressive. Doesn't it wreck your back though?
doubleornothing
02/05/2008, 10:46 AM
Just noticed this thread -
Hi all!
My boys are nearly 5 months old...born 10/12/2007.
Identical - we think!! Zake and Kaeleb.
A question - does anyone else's bubba HATE the pram and the car?????????
If so, how do you get them to LOVE the pram and the car????
...am slowly losing my mind....
Ladyhawk
02/05/2008, 12:44 PM
Hi doubleornothing, welcome to the club.. your bubs were born the day before mine

Can't help with the car / pram thing tho sorry

mine just sit there most of the time and only crack it if we stop moving
ETA: my vote for the name change... can't make up my mind.. love baby fight club, but agree with PP that it might be confusing for new members... Mini Multiples?? Little Multiples.. And multiple chat all get my vote
kazzil
02/05/2008, 12:59 PM
Welcome doubleornothing!!
YES!!!! My DS hates the car. I keep car trips to a minimum and only go short distances. When he hit 9kg and I could turn his carseat around, he got better - but 20 mins is a LONG trip in his eyes. He now usually copes with up to 10 mins without a fuss now but it goes downhill from there. At 5 months though, even a 2 min trip was a screaming match.
As for the pram, I usually take a sling as well. Then if he really doesn't want to be in there, I'll sling him on my hip. It's better now that they can eat things like milk arrowroot biscuits. He'll happily sit and munch away. It's also better now that he can sit in the trolley at the shops too (providing you can find a double sit up trolley that is). He's quite happy there - but now we have the problem of my two fighting side by side in the trolley. You can't win!!!
Good luck.
anonebber
02/05/2008, 02:26 PM
Nerissa - my girls are 9.5kg and 8.1kgs. They started with a 50g difference at birth and it's just graduallt gotten bigger since then.
My vote is for Multiples babies/toddlers I also am not a fan of the insuiations that baby fight club brings - even though we all know they do fight.
sorry I couldn't make NL today. I'm a bridesmaid in a wedding tomorrow and it's all a bit hectic here.
Hope everyone has a nice long weekend
Amy.
telli
02/05/2008, 03:02 PM
I like
Little Multiples for the name - I think it's super cute
Welcome doubleornothing - Sorry can't help much except to say that one of my girls only like being in the pram now if she's sitting up. Hates being laid down.
Grub have fun at your wedding tomorrow, I love being bridesmaid. Soo much fun!!
Niss Sorry to hear about your anniversary, sounds like your much happier now though with the feeding. Good on you - now you can have fun!
Brissy girls So are we on for next week? Girls have got physio appt on Fri morn so Thurs would be better but if Friday's better for everyone else I can change the appt so long as I give them a couple of days notice.
Us We've had lots going on here, bubbas had their needles yesterday. I was brave and took them on my own and it was fine, Dr got a nurse to help her so that both legs were done at the same time and they settled straight away. Both are gaining good weight as well.
We've decided to sell our unit and move into our investment prop so I've been madly cleaning and tidying which is hard seeing as babies have decided they only need an hours sleep at a time during the day but I'm getting there slowly. And found out today I'm going to have another little niece - my little sister had her 19 week scan and all is good and my other sister finds out in 3 weeks what she's having, so many babies
Enjoy your long weekend everyone.
Chantel.
doubleornothing
02/05/2008, 03:43 PM
thanks for all your welcomes!!
with the pram thing i guess persistance is the key..we try and get them out at least once a day even if it is only for 20 mins or something just so they are getting used to it..
we went to the shops today and no crying there OR back!! all my christmas' have come at once!
~Bec~
02/05/2008, 04:24 PM
Thanks for catching up today MBB

. Always good to have a chat and a bit of a shop!
I really want this Brisbane meet to eventuate! Let's aim for Thursday next week at Garden City...
Welcome doubleornothing! These are a lovely bunch of ladies - if you're in Brisbane we're trying to organise a meet up next week.
Okay, no baby fight club then

. Maybe I should tell them and they might stop their 'training'.

Hi everyone else!
Manicmum
02/05/2008, 04:37 PM
Hi Ladies!
I'm joining in now, the girls are 4 weeks old and have been home for a week.
Well we got home with the girls last Wednesday and my parents have been here, my sister came too, but she was too bossy and when I told her to stop she screamed at me and I told her to leave, I don't think she will speak to me again... Oh well!
Rhiannon is putting on weight nicely and Delilah has a bit of catching up to do but is performing well. I have a couple of pics for you. I really am sorry for the delay.
Me 34 weeks 5 days (1 hour before)

Girls about 5 minutes old
(I couldn't really see much from this angle)

Girls 3 days old

Cheers!
Chrissie
Marnie
02/05/2008, 06:46 PM
Just to confuse you all... I like mini multiples too
Welcome to double or nothing and Chrissie too!
Chrissie - I can't believe your sister

I hope she comes around but surely people must know to tread lightly around a brand new mum of multiples?? Talk about stress and hormonal overload - I would think most people could understand that so I hope she can and you manage to talk to each other again!
I meant to come in and update on us the other day but I never got back here. Max and Blake are doing really well. Both crawling and both well and truly into everything. I have to retrieve them from the bathroom/toilet/big kids rooms etc.. 100 times a day and I am just dreading them figuring out they can open the drawers in the kitchen (I know it's coming though

) I think this weekend we will be doing a bit more babyproofing!
They are not standing or pulling up yet but I have a feeling Max isn't too far off it. I was lying on the floor playing with them this afternoon and he managed to stand on his feet once his hands were on my belly (I guess that's kind of pulling himself up?) They are so cheeky and funny to play with but otherwise such relaxed easygoing babies.. I can't believe how lucky I have been and I just pray this next (and last) one is as easygoing!
I will be posting their birthday invitations out over the weekend too. I still can't believe my gorgeous boys will be one soon!
Here is a photo in case you wanna see what they look like now
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v648/mar.../DSCF4013-2.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v648/mar.../CRW_2438-1.jpgI might have posted that second one before but it's one of my faves...I love their eyes in it!
kazzil
02/05/2008, 06:48 PM
Welcome Chrissie! Great pics.
I'm voting Little Multiples
I'm happy to do Thursday, but if Friday is a preference for others, I'd prefer Friday too (Friday is just better because mine are in Family Day Care from Mon to Wed and Thursday they're often tired and aren't as patient as usual). Still, happy to do Thursday if that is what suits everyone

Also at Garden City, there is a little playground upstairs outside of Harvey Norman. Michel's Pattisserie is there too so this might be a good place to meet so we can do a coffee etc. What do you think? Or would you prefer the food court?
doubleornothing
02/05/2008, 07:02 PM
so wish i lived in brissie!! i'm a sydney girl so cant come to your catch up...dont think the boys would be too happy with a plane just yet as we're still mastering the car!
chrissie - my piece of advice not only regarding family but everyone you will come into contact with is that EVERYONE thinks that they are an expert on multiples! Smile and nod politely to what ever anyone tells you and then ignore it - unless they are a mum or dad of multiples. I have nearly been driven mad by people trying to tell me how to bring up my kids - as they should know because they have 1 baby...the key word being one!!
i also HATE HATE HATE how people say "ohhh twins, double trouble" or "say goodbye to sleep". i find it really insensitive that people focus on the negatives...
they're probably just jealous!! or cant believe how we amazing mums handle twins!!
arent we a special lot....... hehehehe
mybabyboy
02/05/2008, 08:12 PM
Hi everyone. Just popping in quickly to say HI to the newbies. It is nice to hear about the early days, I have to admit I have blocked out all the bad stuff and only have happy memories of the early days.
Great to see you today Bec. Katie and Georgia are so adorable. Mitchell was really upset when we parted ways. I'm off to look for that slow cooker right now too. Shame you couldn't make it Amy, we'll see you soon though. Have fun at the wedding.
Brissie Meet - I am free Thursday Morning but can't make Friday. DH flies in Thursday afternoon and I will try and meet him at the airport. I can't wait, I am so excited!!!
Very much looking forward to meeting all the other EB multiple mums too.
*Spots*
02/05/2008, 08:22 PM
Remember me???
Just popping in quickly, I just don't seem to have the time these days, to put my vote in for 'Little Multiples'
Hopefully I can pop back in over the weekend with an update and some pictures. I do pop in regularly to see what you are all up to.
mybabyboy
02/05/2008, 08:58 PM
OMG spots your trio have grown up so much. They look Gorgeous. Hope the chilly Canberra weather isn't getting to you too much..
melbop
02/05/2008, 09:08 PM
Hi Spots, of course we remember you. Don't worry, I never have time to post either, but I do sometimes manage a quick catch up on the posts!
My vote is also for "Little Multiples", I think it sounds cute and takes in a broad age bracket.
Thanks again for all the B'day wishes.
We went to the paed today for their one year check up and he was most pleased with both Thomas and Evie.
Thomas' weight was 10kg and Evie was 10.35kg. Evie has lost weight since mid March when she was last weighed!
They are going great, crawling everywhere, cruising furniture, and Thomas can even stand without holding on for one or two seconds. They are of course getting into mischief!!
Gumby, you asked about the flowers on Evie's cake, my good friend did it (I helped!!). You just cut marshmallows into quarters (lengthways), join in the middle with a bit of icing, and then put a smartie (or whatever) over the join. Yeah, she did great and I told her you asked and she was chuffed!!
Marnie, hope the MS is easing up for you.
Bec, I remember a while back you posted that one of your two was saying "mama". Thomas is saying it occasionally and also when he is crying sometimes it sounds like he is trying to say it. When can I expect to hear it clearly and confidently? Evie says "uh oh" all the time coz everytime they drop a bottle on the floor, or lose a toy, I say it and she copies me! She also says "ooh rain", coz we have had so much rain lately and mum started it with Thomas, but Evie caught on and points outside (even when sunny) and says, "ooh rain". It's so cute coz she has such a cute little husky voice!!
Also, I cut out their lunchtime bottle a few weeks ago and was wondering if it's still good to give them a bottle after brekkie and dinner like I do. Does anyone know? I have tried to give them their milk in a sippy cup, but they just throw it to the floor (water in the sippy cup is fine) but they insist on having their milk out of the bottles.
double or nothing: Whereabouts in Sydney are you from? It seems the majority here are from Brissie!! I am from South of Sydney.
Anyway, a short post has turned into an essay!!
Hi to all the newbies and hi to all the oldies too!!
Take care,
talk soon,
Mel
Mel
doubleornothing
03/05/2008, 10:23 AM
hey mel,
i'm in northwest sydney - the hills area...where abouts are you?
Ladyhawk
03/05/2008, 11:39 AM
Wow! Talk about a busy thread this week! Chatty lot aren't ya!
Tilly, I'm a libra and renowned for not being able to make decisions! LOL You never know, that third of a vote might just be the difference that decides a winner!
Chrissie, its great to see you and your gorgeous bubs. I agree with doubleornothing... smile sweetly and nod, but unless the advice is coming from another multiple mum it often doesn't mean much.. The best thing I did was join my local AMBA coffee group.. meeting with a bunch of women who have been there and done it and come through it rlatively intact is invaluable.
Oh and more twin comments... seem this week everyone is saying "Twins.. oh you must have your hands full!" well der!! I've been replying "Only when I pick them both up together!" I've also have about 10 people this week tell me that they must be identical ("No they have different fathers" works well there) and "Gee they look alike" ("well they ARE brothers!")... that one always gets me because Sam definately takes after my husbands family and Jack takes after mine in looks. To me they look really different:
tilly121
03/05/2008, 12:02 PM
Okay another progress score....
Baby Fight Club - 2 + 1/3 votes
Little Multiples - 4 + 1/3 vote
Multiples Babies/Toddlers - 3 votes
Multiples Chat- 1/3 vote
Any more votes? Chrissie and doubleornothing what do you guys think we should call ourselves?
I will BBL for personals. Time for a shower now--- I need to try to shake off a mini hangover
- DH and I went out for dinner last night
Tilly
kazzil
03/05/2008, 01:40 PM
Sorry to go with everyone else Jen, but they look very similar to me!
But if it makes you feel better, I get asked if my two are identical. And they are NOTHING alike. They even have different coloured hair.
Ladyhawk
03/05/2008, 02:20 PM

Kazzil, I realised that when I was trying to pick a photo to demonstrate! That was the one with the most difference! Okay then, to me and a couple of other people who see them all the time they are quite different
doubleornothing
03/05/2008, 02:45 PM
i too like little multiples...lock me in for little multiples!
my boys are identical but like some of you they look nothing alike to me...loads of other people say they look alike but i guess i know their personalities.
gumby
03/05/2008, 03:05 PM
Brissy Girls -
Don't kill meBut, I am flying down to Melbourne on Wednesday night. I should be back on Monday week but we WILL somehow have some sort of a get-together. I promise.
We had some dramas with my eldest the last two days and I have to do the Mum thing and make an executive decision. Yesterday I noticed he had a bit of a black eye. When I asked him about it, he told me he was hit by another child in his class. He approached his teacher (who incredulously told Jamie 'X wouldn't do that'

) who then passed it all off to the deputy principal to deal with. Her appropriate course of action was to put both boys on detention. I have taken photos of his face and I will be up at the school on Tuesday to speak with the deputy, his teacher and take him out of the school. I don't send my son to school for him to be beaten up or teased. I'm sick of the schools attitude of 'sink or swim' when it comes to children. Some state schools can have 900 students and run like a well-oiled machine, this is not one of them.
I am so over the school. We had a horrible incident last year where he was bullied by one boy in particular and his cronies and I had several conversations with the same deputy principal. I expressly told her that if anything else happened at school I wanted a phone call.
Some of these children are just little ferals in training. The filth that comes out of their mouth makes me shudder and I am sad for my son that by sending him to this particular state school, he has had to endure this type of treatment. Because he is a bright kid with interests that are things like maths and science and choir, he is labelled 'gay' and 'dumb'. *** he is 8 years old! He is not stupid, he is a lot smarter than these bullies and I am sick of the teachers and the schools attitude to this.
So, I have an appointment with a private school in Melbourne on Thursday with him, one that my niece also attends and is an exceptional school when it comes to anti-bullying and fostering positive ideals about fellow classmates. I plan to enrol him, organise uniforms, books and have him start there immediately. He will stay at my sisters house for a week or two (he will love it, she spoils him!) while we head back and pack up the rest of the house.
Apologies for the me me me post, I just had to get it all off my chest as I'm still seething
kazzil
03/05/2008, 07:15 PM
Jen, if I had to guess, I'd be saying your two are ID from that pic! If they're even more alike in other photos, there is no question. Are you going to have them tested to see if they're infact ID?
OH no Gumby! I hope we get to meet you before you leave. That is terrible about your son. I'm glad he doesn't have to stay there too much longer.