notsochillimum
20/04/2008, 09:24 AM
GOLDMorning Ladies..
Geez its getting cold overnight in Sydney, brrr. Had to put on the fire last night, Jake was totally memerized by it. lol Apparently I dont need to buy playmats or toys just put him on the floor and the fire amuses him lol (mummy's wallet thanks you, jake

)
Benty - did you notice that we got up to #79 posts last thread lol did you have more words with the mod??
Jettsmum -you poor thing.

The worse thing that they took is your sense of security

Don't blame you for not wanting to sleep in that house now

Hope they get their just desserts
Amy - our list at begining of thread is good idea
Third time around and I still doubt myself.
Jacqpot - think you could have a dozen kids and still doubt ourselves. My kids are similiar but all different too, doubt like guilt, is apart of being a parent I just try not to listen to its voice, think I have perfected the art of bluffing
DS2 gets a sore between his fingers that wont heal because of it.
Lauren - Jake gets this too if I dont put the dummy back in. It also helps contain the dribbling too as he is sucking and swallowing it instead of making a pool of drool
Sary - 
@ losing your voice! I end up with laryngitis (sp?) at least once a year, my teens rejoice at this time too the little buggers. Hope your not in pain just muted and hope the party goes well for Macy (fingers crossed for a poo free panty day

)
Ahh I hear cries for more boobie juice...
Have a good day all!
Cheryl
gissellle
20/04/2008, 09:32 AM
Silver!!!Good morning everyone!
Thanks for all the birthday wishes!

Had lunch at DP's sister's place yesterday then went to mum's in the evening and just hung out watching tv!
Shell thats horrible, you poor thing.
Cheryl Sienna loves watching tv! She'll sit and watch Ramsey with me

It's getting cold here in Brissie too, i have my big thick dressing gown on.
Sary & Benty Good luck and have fun today! Birthday wishes to your little ones!
adaze thats a good idea about putting important questions in bold.
Krys I hope your DS is feeling better soon. Lol at your DH getting bogged! Hope they made it out safely though.
"Are you on that forum again?" DH just asked in the get off the computer tone! Ha ha... better go
Must just be a male thing cos mine's the same
Scrapbooking I'd love to try this, however i have no idea where to start
zucchini slice galore ( enough for dinner tonight too - yummmmmmmmmmmm - just need something quick to eat on the go ! )
mmmm zucchini slice
Amy great idea about the list! I do have it saved in Word but it would be easier to read it on here for a refresher.
Jacquie I hope Sadie settled for you last night
Lauren Sienna has been sucking her fist for awhile now but has just started getting a finger or 2 in her mouth. I think i too would prefer a dummy so it can be ditched later on down the track.
Sary sorry to hear you've lost your voice

Good luck with Macy's t/training!
Claire i'd just like to mention that you're
awesome at personals, you never miss anyone!! I find it strange that DD is still only 55.5cm as both DP and i are reasonably tall!! The doc isnt worried she would of said something if she was. Did your doc/chn tell you what her weight percentile was or did you find that out yourself? I've been using some of the online calculators and they seem to give me a different percent everytime!
Well im off now. I think i might go shopping today, i wanna buy another multi-photo frame as i have sooo many pics of DD and want to put them up for everyone to see

Oh i have about 3 loads of washing to do also
Hope you all have a lovely Sunday
Gissellle xx
Sorry if i missed anyone!
Rylani
20/04/2008, 10:52 AM
AStro hows your new sling going? I've order a different sized jazsling hopefully will get it this week and hopefully it is the right size!
Amanda How is Coen now, has he settled since vaccinations. I had Lani done on Monday, it was horrible she screamed and screamed.
I can't decide if I was to get DS (2) flu shot done, they have to have one needle then another a month later but I remember last flu season when all the toddlers in perth passed away from the flu strain and it was really scary!
Adaze How'd you go with the dreamfeed, did you drop it?
Benty and Sary hope your partys went well, I was slack and didn't do much for DS's this year. Next year when he is 3 we are going to have a big party though. Sary goodluck with the potty training, I got the pottys out but DS is showing no interest at all yet.
Cheryl - well done of the roadtrip! Hope your enjoying your few days of one on one time with your little man.
Krys haha your DD1 sounds so cute, little princess, I'm hoping my girl is a girly girl so we can do girly things but DH and DS are sure to try to turn her into a tomboy. Hope he didn't need the tow truck though.
Shell How awful, what a nightmare did they take much?
DH has just gone out to work on a Sunday he's done this neally everyday this month. So I'm a bit sh*tty, Sunday is the only day we get to spend a decent chunk of time with him. grrrr Wa up with Ryley last night as he had a fever and kept waking, his back molars are coming through so I'm not sure if it's them causing it or he's getting a virus or something. Okay well I might go put a dvd on for him and try to get half an hour on the cross trainer.
claireabell
20/04/2008, 12:24 PM
February 2008 parents group
TayDan, aka Peta, 32, from Hunter Valley, NSW.
Mummy to Amelia, born on 12th February 2008. 9lb 6oz and 50cm.
Also mummy to Taylor 13.08.97, Daniel 22.01.1999 and Jordan 19.09.2002.
Partner to Brendan, 33.
Gisellle, aka Ramona, 24, from Brisbane, QLD.
Mummy to Sienna, born on 10 February 2008. 8lb 1oz 48.5cm.
Partner to Adam, 22.
Amy76, aka Amy, 31, from Adelaide SA.
Mummy to Lucy, born 22 January 2008. 7lb 2oz 48cm.
Also mummy to Callum, 2003.
Partner to Ben, 35.
Patbrab, aka Patricia (Patty), 30, from Pakenham, VIC.
Mummy to Caleb, born 1 February 2008. 7lb 8oz 52.5cm.
Also mummy to Lachlan (Locky) 2003.
Partner to Ric, 30.
Amanda_D, aka Amanda, 33, from Brisbane QLD.
Mummy to Coen James, born 14 February 2008. 4350g (9pd 9oz), 55cm long, HC 36.7CM
Also mummy to Jordan David, 1995 (13yo).
Partner to Hans, 35.
Emmamotherof1, aka Emma, 22, from Korumburra, VIC.
Mummy to Melanie, born 8 February 2008. 8pd 12oz
Also mummy to Nicola, April 2006
Partner to Joe.
Meik, aka Meika, 26, from Hobart, Tas.
Mummy to Isla, born 13 February 2008. 6lb 14oz, 50cm.
Also mummy to Elsa, 2006.
Partner to Josef, 29.
Shum, aka Prue, 29 from Gold Coast, Qld.
Mummy to Grace Victoria, born 25 November 2007, 10 weeks early. 1530g 42.5cm.
Partner to Jonathon, 33.
Bentybaby, 38, from Melbourne.
Mummy to DS2, born 20 Feb 2008, 7pd 12oz, 50cm.
Also mummy to DS1, April 2004
Partner to Mr Benty, 39.
Notsochillimum, aka Cheryl, 39, from Bradbury, NSW.
Mummy to Jake, born 21 February 2008. 9pd 10ou, 56cm.
Also mummy to Brooke (1992) and Benjamin (1994).
~*Tasha*~, aka Tasha, 29, from Hervey Bay QLD.
Mummy to Rebecca Jane, born 8 February 2008. 8lb 11oz, 53cm.
Also mummy to Benjamin, 27/11/05.
Partner to Greg, 36.
Holly7, aka Holly, 26, from NSW.
Mummy to Hudson Michael, born 17 February 2008. 8lb 15oz 52cms.
Partner to Rob, 26.
Ginnyk, 33, from Victoria
Mummy to Amelia Celeste, 6 pounds, 49 cm.
Also mummy to John, 6 yrs.
Partner to her DH.
Felicitous, 29, from Sydney NSW.
Mummy to Ahnalilia, born 28 February 2008. 7 pounds 10oz, 51cm.
Partner to her DH.
Dcsmum, 23, from Sydney NSW.
Mummy to DS2, born 17 February 2008. 3.82kgs, 51cm.
Also mummy to DS1 3yrs.
Partner to dcsdad.
Kumara, 24, from Queensland
Mummy to Fletcher. 6lb 15oz, 51cm.
Also mummy to Sophie 3 and Riley 2.
Partner to Colin, 29.
Babybump2, aka Sary, 31, from VIC.
Mummy to Beau born 18 February 2008. 3.3kg, 51cms.
Also mummy to Macy 21.04.2005.
Partner to Brendon, 32.
Krys2745, aka Krystal, 33, from NSW.
Mummy to Nathaniel Jordan, born 19 February 2008. 3.5Kg, 49cm.
Also mummy to Ashleigh Renee (4) and Makayla Paige (2).
Partner to Jason.
Rylani, aka Gemma, 24, from WA.
Mummy to Lani Mae, born 15 February 2008. 7 pound 4, 51cm long.
Also mummy to Ryley John - 6/4/06.
Partner to Gary, 28.
Claireabell, aka Claire, 29, from Canberra.
Mummy to Evie Jane, born 5 February 2008. 9lb 6oz, 54cm.
Partner to Rob, 34.
Kaishra, aka Lauren, 33, from Bullsbrook WA.
Mummy to Joel, born 29 February 2008. 9lb 14oz 54cm.
Also mummy to Jake 2004, Will 2005 and Tom 2006.
Partner to Shannon, 34.
Nessy72, aka Vanessa, 36, from Oakleigh Vic.
Mummy to Georgia, born 27 January 2008. 8lb 4 oz 48.5 cm.
Also mummy to Xavier 5/5/06.
Partner to Nick.
Jettsmum, aka Shelley, 25, from Central Coast, NSW.
Mummy to Jayla, born on 25th January 2008. 7lb 80z and 51cm.
Also mummy to Jett 25.04.2006
Partner to Grant, 33.
Jess81, aka Jess, 26, from Canberra.
Mummy to Lucas born 3 February 2008. 51cm 8pd9oz
Partner to DH, 29.
Brookeb, aka Brooke, 27, from Sydney, NSW.
Mummy to Madison, born on 5th February 2008. 8pd 12oz and 50cm.
Partner to Rhys, 27.
Andi, aka Andrea, 35, from QLD.
Mummy to Lily, born 25 January 2008. 8lb 14oz 53.5cm.
Also mummy to Jack, July 2005.
Partner to R, 35.
Briannasmum, aka Helen, 22, from Southern WA.
Mummy to Maddison Paige, born 31st January 2008. 8lb 9oz, 49cm long, HC 35CM
Also mummy to Brianna Louise, 2005.
Partner to Andrew, 31.
RedsGirl, aka Megan, 35, from Sydney.
Mummy to Jemima Grace, born 7 February 2008. 7pd 12, 52cm.
Partner to Red, 35
2mums22, aka Tori, 35, from Sydney.
Mummy to Alexandra Price, born 11 February 2008. 3.65kg, 57cm. Also Mummy to Toby 15 Feb 2007
Partner to FC, 38
Rebecca, 27, from Alstonville, NSW.
Mummy to Miller, born on 6th February 2008. 8lb 2oz
Also mummy to Talon 29.12.2004 & Caden 05.09.2006
Partner to Wes, 29
***Let me know if I've missed anyone, esp our new arrivals.***
nessy72
20/04/2008, 10:28 PM
Giselle I'm glad i'm not the only one that wouldn't mind doing a bit of scrapbooking but no idea where to start.
Benty How did your party go? Can you please post your zucchini slice recipe. I used to have one and lost it. Got one off the net and it doesn't work out very well (maybe it's my cooking
Claire pls update my age to read another year older. I'm so not into my birthday's anymore. More interested in what the kids are doing.
Amy Choc mint mcflurry. I didn't know such a thing existed. Are they new? Might have to try it out...sounds yummy.
Sary I'm hearing you with toilet training. DS tells me when he has done a poo but not wees. He actually pooed in his potty the other day. Very impressed. If i ask him if he has done a poo and he hasn't he says "no poo mummy"
What is everyone using on their DD / DS bum. I have used bepanthen, sudocream and the other herron one. Poor DD has nappy rash sooo badly at the moment. I think her reflux medication has affected her poos and if I don't change the nappy after every fart it just gets worse. She has about 2 hrs of nappy off time every day.
Love all the photos on the blog!
~Simply*Blue~
21/04/2008, 06:10 AM
Another sleep through here! Well he woke at 4.10 but he had been asleep since 6.30

Back in bed now.
Claire can I please be added to the list
Rebecca, 27, from Alstonville, NSW.
Mummy to Miller, born on 6th February 2008. 8lb 2oz
Also mummy to Talon 29.12.2004 & Caden 05.09.2006
Partner to Wes, 29
Di - I was really worried about Miller too. He only did his first half smile at 7 weeks, still not giving me really good ones. He has also just started to give me more eye contact too. They were really worried about it at his 6 week check so stressed me out that he was autistic, but he seems to be coming around, albeit slowly
Nessy - I only use it when it's a bit red, but I love Amolin. Clears any redness up really fast. I also like sudocream
notsochillimum
21/04/2008, 08:37 AM
Morning Ladies..
Made my chilli tuna pasta dish last night for the first time in about a year. Was a huge chilli fan before but during the pregnancy I just couldn't stand it. Now ofcourse I'm breastfeeding I have to be careful, so I started on very mild sweet chilli to see what effect it would have on Jake. So far its been good. Gradually building up to "normal" strength chilli sauce, last nights pasta tasted so good was like hello, old friend!

Now starts the wait and see if Jake handled it for the next 48 hours
Benty - Would be great if you could post your Zucchini slice recipe, as would love to give that a try too.
Nessy - I use Lucas' Paw Paw ointment on Jake's tush. It's brilliant! Also use the ointment on any of Ben's scratches and grazes (many a graze from falling off bike at bike/skate park) and Brooke uses ointment as lip balm. Comes in a red tub in couple of sizes from the chemist.
Di - Jake gave only me half smiles at about 5 weeks and the following week he gave normal smiles for me, his brother and sister. The other day I heard his first little chuckle not that anyone will believe me as we were alone

For anyone else he wears this super serious face

especially if they're wearing glasses. I figure that he might be a bubba that needs to warm up and get used to a face before he gives them a heart warming gift of his smile.
Rebecca - Yay! another sleep thru!
Claire - I need to go up another year on the list too
Brooke - hope you and Madison are doing well too
Well better start with chores while I can lol A Good day to all!!
Cheryl
BentyBaby
21/04/2008, 09:54 AM
Not so Chilli - I get larangitis once a year too !! Not good when my job used to be in sales ( ie: talking all day !! ). DH thinks it's sexy, but it's soooo frustrating when you yell and there's just the whistle of air escaping, and it's exhausting trying to be heard....
Thumbs & Dummies - DS1 (4) is a thumb sucker still ... very hard habit to break.. usually when he's tired, or upset. I think starting kinder is suppressing the urge and making him 'grow up' a little bit.
DS2 seems to prefer a dummy, but I also see him at times munching on his fist, and getting the thumb thing happening..
Zucchini Slice - I hadn't had this for years and went to a g/f's for lunch and she had made it and I gobbled it all up like a pig at a trough ! So I made a recipe off the internet too (
http://www.taste.com.au/recipes/5546/zucchini+slice ), and everyone loved it, but I don't think it was as good as my g/f's, so I might ask her for her recipe...
Congrats to you special
'best sigs' girls

What is everyone using on their DD / DS bum. I have used bepanthen, sudocream and the other herron one. Poor DD has nappy rash sooo badly at the moment.
Nessy - what are you cleaning her with ? With DS1, I discovered baby wipes, and he used to get nasty rashes. With DS2, i'm only using cotton wool balls and lukewarm water = no rashes. If you're using wipes at this age, ditch them, IMO.
If you've got it REALLY bad, there is a very mild steroid cream you can get over the counter at the chemist (
used for mild excema etc ). Just talk to your pharmicist, i'm sure he'll know what i'm rabbitting on about....
Bondimum - your baby sounds fine to me - it is hard when they don't all follow the one formula, and comparisons are normal, but he sounds just fine to me
Needles - yipe ! - that's next on our list of things to do ....
Well, just a quick catch up for me. Party went well, but I am still bombed by it all ... not to mention the cleanup I need to get started on now ..
claireabell
21/04/2008, 10:57 AM
So Cheryl and Nessy have you just had birthdays? If so, hope they were good!
I have updated the list - let me know of any other changes.
Benty: OMG, you party-planner extraordinaire! just looked at the blog piccies and am so impressed. no wonder you're tired!
Sary i hope your little girl is having fun with her grandad. was she up early again this morning?
Shell, how are you going? Hope you're not too freaked out, it's horrible knowing someone has been in your house. when it happened to me (when i was 18 and living at home) we surprised the guy and inadvertantly blocked his exit, so he hid in my wardrobe. when my sis - who was 12 at the time - and i discovered him i don't think i have ever screamed so loud or run so fast in my life. the little twerp returned an hour later and cut power to the house, and after that i was terrified for months. it turned out he was a 15 year old kid up to no good, but it was still so terrifying. i only got brave enough to spend the night alone last year, 11 years after it happened.
Nessy i have used sudocreme on DD's bum, but so far touch wood it hasn't really been rashy. i agree with Di on the pawpaw too, brilliant stuff.
Di there was a post in the birth- 6 months forum a while ago about eye contact and stuff and the answers there were very reassuring. the post is
here.
Cheryl you'll have to let me know how Jake goes with the chillies. DH loves hot curry and is disappointed we haven't eaten in in nearly 11 weeks.
Holly good luck with Hudson's needles today.
I better go, am attempting a new dish for tea tonight and need to get started while i have the chance. hope all the babes are behaving themselves!
tortagianduia
21/04/2008, 03:30 PM
Afternoon girls!
I'm still waiting on this new sling to arrive. I am sure MIL ordered it at least a week ago - she told me about it last Tuesday and she'd already ordered it by then - and it is from a woman who is local to me. I guess I have been getting spoilt by the efficient service of the online companies I have been dealing with - all parcels have arrived within 1-2 days and they have been from interstate.
Shell, I was so sorry to read about the break in. That must be such a horrible violating experience to know someone went through your stuff and took so many non-replaceable items.

I can imagine a lot of the jewelry would have had sentimental value as well as the $ value. Sending you a
Krys, hope little Nathaniel is feeling better now. It's good the two girls are nearly better. Do you think the cookies make a difference to your supply? I still haven't got around to buying the brewers yeast to make them. DS1 complained about the tie at first but he is used to it now. It is a 'zipper tie', so he doesn't even have to tie it - apparently an Australian invention.
Benty, you did an amazing job with the pirate party! No wonder you were exhausted! I bet the kids had a great time! Did DS1 sleep well that night?! I love the treasure chest in the garden and the map. Looks like you must have spent lots of time on the costumes. You all looked great! Do share if your gf gives you her zucchini slice recipe - yummo!
Sary, sorry to hear you got a cold right before the big party!

I hope Macy had a great time anyway! Are you feeling any better? How long is FIL staying for? Good luck with the toilet training! The timeline sounds hard. Kinder won't take Macy in pull-ups? Seems a bit harsh to expect all 3yo's to be fully toilet trained.
Adaze, hope you and DH enjoyed your night out at the footy!
Jacquie, thanks for the feedback on the Ergo insert. Maybe I will think about getting one for the next bub. I don't think Coen is quite strong enough to go in the Ergo yet without the insert, but it doesn't seem worth buying one this late. I can't wait to start using it! Saw a mum with her little one on her back in an Ergo at the shops yesterday and it looked great.
Gissellle, love the sling pic of Sienna! I am a bit late but happy birthday!!!
Claire, how did the party go for your friend's daughter? DS1 is tall for his age. He is taller than me, by about an inch now!

I know how sad it is when people think your baby is much older than they are - an older man guessed Coen's age as being 8m when he was 8w.

Sleeping bags - it hasn't really been cool enough here in Brisbane to bother yet, but I have put Coen into a sleeping bag on the few cool nights there has been. I never bothered with putting DS1 into his sleeping bag during the day (just tucked a blanket over him if needed), but if you think Evie will be asleep for awhile and it is cold, it is probably a good idea.
Cheryl, Jake did very well with that long trip! My parents-IL live a bit over 2 hours drive away - have avoided going out to see them so far. That's so sweet that your other kids are calling to check on how their little brother is.
Lauren, a man must have designed that parents' room.

Heaps of people have double strollers - the door needs to be wide enough to easily cruise on through.

I think a comment to centre management wouldn't go astray - other people must be finding it hard too? How exciting you have decided there will be a #5!!! When are you planning to start TTC?
Important qu's in bold - great idea!
Gemma, Coen was unwell for 2 days after his vaccinations - temps on and off and grizzlier than usual. He's back to his usual self now.

So not looking forward to the 4m ones. I can understand you are upset about your DH working Sundays. My DH has agreed to do a few hours overtime on Fridays, and I am not thrilled about that. I'd be even less impressed if he was regularly working a weekend day - which he sometimes does. Does your DH
have to work Sundays? I try to tell myself that it is good for the money, but in reality it is usually preferable to have them home. It must be hard for you.

Have you talked to him about it?
Nessy, I think that is one nice thing about having kids too - I am less worried about getting older than my childless (with no plan to change that anytime soon) friends. You definitely change your focus to the kids.

For little bottoms, I use Bepanthen if there is no rash, Sudocrem if it is looking a bit red and Curash powder if it is quite red. I always found with DS1 that creams were good for prevention, but the Curash powder was quicker to clear up an actual rash.
Di, I am not sure at what point you would need to worry about the eye contact / smiling. Have you discussed it with your GP or child health nurse? Coen started smiling at 5 weeks, and sustaining eye contact around 4-5w. Every baby develops at their own pace though - I am sure your little one is fine. Did you end up deciding on a name? I've missed a few posts...
Rebecca, that is fantastic that Miller is sleeping through for you!
Holly, hope Hudson is feeling okay after his needles today. Did you have a good time with your parents?
Can hear Coen stirring - better go...
Amanda
BentyBaby
21/04/2008, 05:27 PM
Yum,
Claire - what's for dinner ?
Amanda - funny you're wiating for a sling you don't really want

Finally got a full refund on
my pram from the online outlet (
which was really good as they only offer store credit, and there's nothign else we need nor want, besides our money back !! ). Turns out they won't be getting 'my' pram for a few more weeks, so we're getting it locally tomorrow :happydance:
These
cookies .. so everyone's talking about brewer's yeast .. does this mean I can just substitute with a beer and do just as well on supply ?
Pirate party - my clothes were all my own (
what does that say ?! ha ! ), and DS's were all from the $2 shop, DS2's were old DS1 clothes chopped up and painted ( that's a headband around his waist ! ), and DH went to the hire shop. We went to a bit of an effort this year, seeing there's been a fair bit of emphasis on DS2. next year's theme is "
thanks for your present, here's a party pie, here;s your cake and see you next year !". lol.
Funny story .... today is DH's Uncle's Funeral, and DH's cousin (
the deceased Uncle's son ) has Down Syndrome. He's the sweetest, and to make him feel a bit better, DH organised a signed St Kilda jumper through some contacts he knows.
So anyway, he gave this jumper to the cousin today after the service, and the cousin was SO happy and excited and proclaimed today
'the best day of his life'. ROFL ! I'm sure his dad would have got a kick out of that, wherever he is now

jaffagirl
21/04/2008, 05:38 PM
thanks for the lovely warm welcomes

this will be my very first attempt at a few personals so i will try my hardest... sorry to the people i miss and please let me know if there's any etiquette (spelling?) that i need to know about.
bondimum Jaxon started his smiling and eye contact at around 4 weeks i think... its not that long ago but i have trouble remembering everything at the moment. I'm only a first-timer, but i don't think there is too much to worry about with your little one... isn't it amazing the amount of worry these little bubbas cause there mums.
Nessy i've been using Egozite baby cream on jaxon's butt and it seems to do the trick... i only use it when its red and (as Benty said) the redness seems to be worse when i'm using the disposable wipes, so have been trying just to use water and cotton. Anyways, the egozite cream is really good, i used it on jax's face as well when he had a rash (all over it) and it cleared up in two days.
holly how did your DS go with his needles? jaxon is having his tomorrow and i'm dreading it already
benty your party for your DS sounded fabulous... i think i remember reading a story (and saw some piccies)about how you decorated DS2s nursery earlier in the piece, it was lovely to
Amanda OMG... i just looked at your personals... my effort looks peasily (is that a word?) in comparison...
I think someone mentioned they also have a maya sling (not sure who), i just recieved mine in the post and will have to try it out... i've tried jaxon in a few different types and he's squealed like a banshee (hug a bub & a meh tai), i'm really hoping he loves this type of sling. I've been really inspired by all you babywearing mummas and really hope that i'll be able to do it to (the pram gives me the willies).
I have two questions and if anyone could comment it would be great:
jaxon has a cold at the moment and he is booked in to have his needles tomorrow, should he still get them done?
I have a bubba who cat naps all day, no long sleeps at all, probably 3 or 4, 20-40 minute stints and thats it, which is ok as he only wakes once during the night. but its a pain in the but to get anything done around the house, and i feel guilty about leaving him on his activity mat while i fart around... what do other mummas of cat napping bubs do?
anyways, i should be off as DH is home now, sorry for so few personals, hopefully i'll get better with practice

and thanks again for the lovely warm welcomes.
Cheers!
ginnyk
22/04/2008, 07:17 AM
Morning!
Just catching up on posts - spent the weekend down at the beach, its always so nice to get out of the city. I was psyching myself to go for a swim, but in the end, flabby tummy and chilly weather got the better of me and I just rugged up with DD in the sling on the shore, while DS and DH had a swim!
OMG
Shell, thats my worst nightmare being broken into, what a terrible feeling!
Maya slings - I have a Maya pouch (its just like a jazsling!), which I love, mainly for the colours, its gorgeous.
Leaving baby on playmat - guilty! She seems happy though, and as soon as she starts getting bored I do something else with her. I don't see the harm at all. I have also seen DD watching telly... am trying to keep her away from that a bit, but as we are all such TV addicts in my family it will be hard
Needles - I wouldn't take bubba if he is sick. Amelia reacted badly to her injections this time, very irritable for a whole week (and it was noticeable, as she almost never cries), and she also had diahoria(I will never be able to spell that), for 4 days from the gastro vac... poor bubba. My MHN told me to let the vac ladies know about her reactions, as the vacs they get are new ones and they are still working out the side effects.
Benty - love the party!
Claire Thanks for the list, its good to be able to check everyones details!
"Are you on that forum again?" DH just asked in the get off the computer tone! Ha ha... better go
Wow we are all married to the same guy...
Smiles - My DS didn't get into this until he was almost 3 months, DD it was 3 weeks... I guess every baby is different. It won't hurt to check with health nurse if you are worried though.
Can someone tell me where the "best sigs" thread is? I need some inspiration to make one for myself!
Better go get ready for school....
have a great day, hi to everyone!
Rylani
22/04/2008, 10:39 AM
Amanda - DH is a tradesman and we own our own business so he doesn't even get paid for going to work on sundays (well not directly) I was just in a bad mood that day. Now it's winter things usually slow down a bit and he should be at home a bit more, it's just been so hectic the last few months.
Baby bottoms - have yet to put anything on DD's bottom she hasn't had any rashes etc so far.
Benty your party look awesome, I would of almost had a nervous breakdown organising all that, I get so stressed when catering for big numbers!
babybump2 - sorry toilet trainings not gonig so well. I can get DS to wee on the potty usually while I'm running him a bath, I ask him to sit on there while the water running and he usually always goes.
Big brother - not sure, we have foxtel and I never get the remote DH is always watching really blokey shows that's why I come on EB. Australias next top model starts tongiht though, must remember to watch it.
Okay girls I have a poo question, DD goes for days without poo usually about 4/5 days I can tell when a poo is coming as she is unsettled all day and catnaps and is jsut generally a bit grumpy. Then when she poo's it is a explosion that comes out the top on her nappy up her back and runs down her legs. As soon as I hear her doing it I take her to her bath. Are any of the other babies like this? She is fully b/f still.
notsochillimum
22/04/2008, 02:33 PM
Afternoon Ladies..
All is well in this household. Can someone tell me how to I can view this blog everyone is raving about?? Would like to see all the pics from everyone too.
Holly – Hope all is well with Hudson after his needles.
Benty – lmao @ beer in leiu of brewers yeast.

Will use your link to zucchini slice soon. thanks.
Claire – Can’t see any chilli effects so far. Hmm Curries.. Might try a mild sweet curry next week
Sari - Hope your voice improves and is on the mend now.
Amanda – People think Jake is older too it’s obviously coz he’s big chubba!
Jaffagirl – Would definitely talk to doc about bub’s cold. Don’t think they will give him needles if sick. Certainly don’t feel guilty about leaving him on playmate or bouncer. Like Amy I take Jake room to room on bouncer. I feel more guilty when chores aren’t done lol
Amy – Never been into Big Brother but my teenage daughter is, although she is not impressed that the one ad she has seen shows a 50 year old contestant! Lol Remember when we were that young and everyone else seemed sooo old lol
Adaze – What sort of meeting do you have for a christening?? My teens had a naming ceremony but not christening. Haven’t even thought about getting Jake done yet.
Jacqui – It’s definitely the season for colds. Hope you all recover soon.
Ginny – We are tv addicts in this house too! Love our foxtel. Jake watches the MAXmusic channel in the morning while on his playmate while I scoff breaky and a coffee lol
Tasha – did you enjoy your trip, bar the weather?? Lol it is cold in sydney now
Gisselle – Your sig looks great. Looks like Sienna has a healthy head of hair now!
Rylani – That’s exactly what Jake’s poos are like!!

Runny and yellow-orangy in colour that needs atleast two soaks in the napisan bucket to get out the stain! Jake usually goes every second day which is plenty, so I can imagine your dilemma after 4-5 days.
Hope
Shell is ok its been a while since she been here.
Well its soup weather here.. off to make pumpkin soup.. Have a good day all!
Cheryl
tortagianduia
22/04/2008, 03:17 PM
Afternoon girls!
My TV viewing has been somewhat spoilt.

Yesterday our neighbours got in two men to lop some branches in their yard. I had been asked last year whether they could remove my bottle brush - I said no. I said they could trim the branches on their side (not that there was much on their side anyway) - I was on my way to work at the time and told next door neighbour it would be better to talk to my DH, which she never did, and that was months ago. Well, the guys cut down half of the bottle brush,
on my side of the fenceline, and a huge branch hit the roof on the way down and has damaged our TV aerial and crushed the gutterpipe.

No damage on their side, of course. Not happy. So DH went and had a little chat with them this morning. We need to get quotes for fixing the antenna and the gutter - hope it doesn't rain in the meantime. They have contacted the contractors and let them know. When DH was speaking to the guy next door, his wife (who'd spoken to me last year about trimming the branches) yells out, "I wasn't sure if you wanted that tree so I told them to just cut it down," after I had told her not to cut it down last year.

We now can't pick up most channels through the digital box, so can't record my programs on the hard disc and what can be picked up is fuzzy. Sorry for the whinge, but I am just so annoyed about the whole thing.
Amanda - funny you're waiting for a sling you don't really want

What can I say? I am a sucker for a parcel!

Still hasn't arrived (tapping fingers)...
Benty, how's the new wheels (finally!)? Good to hear you got a refund - how big a PITA would it have been if they had insisted on store credit for that amount? That is so sweet and funny about your DH's cousin and the jumper!
jaffagirl, hope Jaxon is feeling okay after his needles (if you were able to get them done). If not, hope he is feeling better with the cold. Poor bubba. How's the Maya sling going? Is it like a ring sling (this is what I am waiting on)? Sometimes you just need to build up to longer periods of babywearing - pick a good time when he's not too grizzly and let him get used to it. Coen has turned into a bit of a catnapper too. Sometimes I am lucky and he will sleep for a few hours in the afternoon, but often he is only asleep for around 20 minutes. It does make it harder to get stuff done. Sometimes I carry him in one of my various slings

, other times I put him in the rocker where I can see him. Often not much housework gets done.
Adaze, I think that will be nice having Ava and Ruby christened at the same time. I still haven't made a move to organise Coen's christening.
Jacquie, sorry to hear you are all sick. Good to hear Sadie is sleeping so well though (although obviously you aren't if you are worrying about her breathing

). Hope you are all feeling a bit better today and that you will get a better night's sleep tonight. Evie's TT sounds very stressful for you. I wish I could think of something to suggest.
Ginny, a weekend at the beach sounds nice. Don't think I would have braved the water either.
Amy, I always say I won't watch BB, and then get sucked in after a few weeks. DS1 loves the Friday night games. My DH hates it too (along with 95% of the other programs I like

).
Sary, good to hear your voice is making a comeback! Poor you and Macy with the TT. Sounds so stressful. I'm sure kinder can deal with the Pullups - Macy won't be the first or last that is not fully TT on starting. My FIL is a bit like that with Coen too - more interested in Jordan. I think he has held Coen once, and pretty much handed him straight back! That is lovely that Macy is getting some extra attention from him.
Tasha, welcome back! How was the Sydney trip?
Gissellle, the funeral sounds like it was lovely. I love the idea of letting the balloons go. Feel very sad just thinking about the whole thing. How is your cousin holding up? Must be very hard when her DD is so devastated too. Your sig is great BTW.
Gemma, it will be nice when your DH is home more. Re. the poo - Coen is fully bf too, but he still poos at least once a day. When it is just once for the day they can be pretty explosive though. Midwife told me that it is normal for some bf babies to only poo once a week, so I am sure what Lani is doing is normal.
Cheryl, if you PM Benty, she should be able to send you an invite to the BLOG. Homemade pumpkin soup sounds yummy!
Amanda
~*tasha*~
22/04/2008, 04:17 PM
Well I am back!
After 6 loads of washing mind you!!
Our trip to Sydney was excellent despite the weather. DS misbehaved on the flight on the way down, I guess he was so excited to go on the plane!! DD was a little grizzly but eventually went to sleep on the way down. At the wedding DD was the best behaved, barely heard a peep from her most of the night, except when she wanted to be fed! DH's Auntie asked if DS could walk down the aisle with her grandaughter who is 16 months old, I told her good luck, and well she needed it. DS got to the top of the aisle and freaked, I don't blame he didn't know the people surrounding him! So he got all dressed up and looked so cute but never ended up walking down the aisle! If I can manage to find a pic I might post some on the blog!
If you can remember I was concerned about DD's sleeping habits as she was very dependant on her swing, well we had no troubles at all with her day sleeps and at night it was the same, up for a feed and straight back to sleep. I couldn't have asked for a better holiday.
Benty Love the pics of your pirate family on the blog!! I am glad the party went well!
Amanda

@ your neighbour!! What right does she have getting someone to cut down
YOUR tree!!
Big Brother Oh I say every year I won't watch it but more than likely I will.. I am a sucker for reality TV! I must say it will be different this year without Gretal.
I noticed in the last thread someone asked about going from 0 - 1 childreen and 1 - 2. I found it alot harder going from 0 - 1. This time I am so less stressed about everything. DS was born with Hip Dysplaysia(SP) (hip sockets not developed properly) that was because he was breech the whole time and was in a Von Rosen Splint for the first 3 months of his life so it was all a little different to having DD I guess. I will post a pic on the blog of DS in his splint so you know what I am talking about.
Cheryl I love it when it starts getting cool as it is time for soup!! I make pea and ham soup and have no idea how to make any other sort!!
Shell Sorry to hear about the break in, did they catch who did it??
baby bottoms I use Sudocreme have since DS was born. ATM DS has a nasty rash on his bottom and his face. GP has given some ointment for his face and his bottom just lathering up the sudocreme.
I am catching up with some old mothers group friends on Thursday I am so excited. I never really "Clicked" with some of the girls in the MG so I never continued going. I have mainly kept in contact with one lady from Antenatal classes when I had DS, her boy was born the day after my DS. She has invited me to meet up with a few others at a park on Thursday which will be nice. One of the girls has a 5 week old baby can't wait to see him, plus they all had boys to start with too so I guess the boys will have fun playing!
Hello to everyone else, I never the best at personals, but I do try! Sleepy vibes to all our babies!
I had best keep going and upload some pics and then fold up all my washing
Tasha
claireabell
22/04/2008, 06:53 PM
Hi
Sorry for no personals tonight, but
I have a quick Q about rolling[b]. DD has now twice got herself from her back to her front on her own, with one arm trapped under her (she gets frustrated trying to get it out and it ends in tears).
The first time i thought it was a fluke but it happened again today - see below.

She kind of lifted her legs in the air (like she had wind) and then flung them over to the side. From there she kinda rolled over into a tummy time position. ii think it was more accidental and not a conscious movement IYKWIM.
Is this rolling? is it a fluke? i am not ready for her to roll yet, she finds it hard to self settle without her wrap, although we had been planning to try her in the grobag this weekend (when DH will be around if she doesn't sleep). i thought babies rolled from their front to back first? is what she is doing maybe a stage in the lead-up to rolling??
I'd love opinions/advice please!
kaishra
23/04/2008, 12:08 AM
Jake gets this too if I dont put the dummy back in.
Cheryl, Will is 2 so if I gave him a dummy now he’d chew it to bits lol
I’ve given Joel one, he doesn’t like the newborn one though, he’s already using a 6-12month one, anything smaller he spits out.
What is everyone using on their DD / DS bum.
Nessy, get a tube of Desitin, it’s brilliant, it stays on so much longer than the other ones and works overnight, if that doesn’t work it might be fungal and we’ve found that Daktarin (could be Daktosin haven't bought it in a while) works really well for that.
We started out using Sudocream cause it was a sample in the Bounty Bag but Desitin really does work so much better
Di my 3rd Tom has always been known as our serious one, he smiled around the same age as the others but he’s always been a frowner and very serious, he’s lightened up a bit now though and smiles a lot.
Lauren, a man must have designed that parents' room.
That’s what I reckon, might say something next time I’m there. Where we used to live centre management was upstairs and there was no lift, I reckon it was so that mums with prams wouldn’t storm in and complain!
How exciting you have decided there will be a #5!!! When are you planning to start TTC?
Last week lol Actually I wanted to wait till I’d lost some weight but we’ll see what happens cause the weight isn’t shifting at all and before long I'll start getting impatient lol.
who will be watching Big Brother this year
No way
Joel had his needles today and has been pretty upset about it, he’s ok though. And we finally have an answer about his eye, he has a blocked tear duct and has been put on oral antibiotics, not ideal but nothing else is working so fingers crossed this will cause I really don’t want him to have to have surgery
moo~tickle
23/04/2008, 08:29 AM
morning all
claire - sleeping bag we are only just using at night at the moment. i was worried that madison might still wake herself up (when do they lose startle reflex?) so am wrapping her in a sheet - a lot bigger than muslin wrap. still wrapping her in those for the day sleeps
amanda - any sign of the sling yet? bad news about your antenae! stupid people
benty - great news about the refund. grrr that they couldnt supply the goods. the story about your dh uncles funeral was sweet
jaffagirl - i have a catnapper too who has only just started doing her catnaps in the cot rather than in my arms. she has started to like just being left to kick on her mat and even likes the tv flashing and making sounds. i dont think you should feel guilty about leaving bub on a playmat for a short amount of time as you know you would go pick him up if he didnt want to be there anymore
amy - not neighbours! i used to watch every night until old people started getting it on. that turned me right off

ill be watching bigbro too but just wish it would start so those annoying ads would stop!!!
"i dont think so!"
jacquie - hope youare all feeling a bit better
ginny - weekend at the beach sounds nice
sary - dont stress too much about potty training. hopefully the kinder will understand (they should!) and the pullups will be an easier transition for you
gissele - im so sorry about your cousins bub. best wishes for your family
rylani - cant help you with the poo. my bub is the opposite and does exploding poos! they come out of everywhere and at least once a week drench her clothes. and she just laughs at me trying to clean her up - little ratbag
claire - how exciting about rolling! our babies just dont want to be babies. madison isnt rolling yet but is starting to move around her cot a bit. you put her in straight and she ends up crooked!
lauren - hope the antibiotics work
me - things are going better here. maddie is sleeping a bit more during the day and is still going down for 8hours at night. she loves standing up in your lap and bouncing and would do this all day if you let her.
thats the best personals ive ever done!!!!!

have a nice day, last mothers group at the clinic today but there are some nice people so hopefully it continues on
notsochillimum
23/04/2008, 10:48 AM
Morning Ladies..
Still no adverse effects for Jake from the chilli experiment!! Lol Yay! Might have to drop the NOT from my username lol
Amanda - Can’t blame you at all for being annoyed at your neighbours, how rude!

Hope they are prepared to pay for the repairs to your house.
Tasha – We are definitely soup people here. Pea and ham is my other fav soup. Pumpkin soup is very basic and easy. Kilo of pumpkin, couple cups of stock (I use chicken), salt and pepper to taste, simmer for an hour or til pumpkin soft, shove in blender, serve with dob of sour cream and you’re done!
Claireabell – Rolling- Jake does this too and gets very upset when he can’t free the other arm. Think he just prefers to be on his tummy, loves his floor play
Lauren – Hope the antibotics work on Joel’s tear duct!

Good luck with TTC
Brooke – Happy to hear that Madison is sleeping better thru the day for you.
Does anyone bub giggle - its hard enough for me to get more than 10 smiles a day out of my miss serious
Amy & Rebecca – Jake has his days like this too, it will happen soon I’m sure.

As for the chocolate pick me up, I’m more a hot chips & gravy girl when I’m down (and why can’t I lose those extra kilos???

) Do whatever at whatever time to get your thru dear!
Better go.. need to search for my receipt for microwave that I bought at christmas as it suddenly decided it doesn't want to play anymore!

Geez last microwave lasted about 8 years and this one didnt make it even 6 months!! Anyways, great day to all!!
Cheryl
RedsGirl
23/04/2008, 12:23 PM
Hi ladies, I've just been having a lovely time catching up on the great blog pics.
Some of my personals might be past their use by date, but here goes...
Claire: sleeping bags - I only put Jemima in hers at night, as during the day her room is generally warmer. During the day I either just pop her down and tuck her in or sometimes i wrap her in something under her arms. i have found that she is much calmer in bed now and stays under her sheet/blanket, which confirmed for me she really didn't like being wrapped as she would ALWAYS kick off her covers in the process of fighting being wrapped. Now it only happens once in a while, usually if she has woken up and been lying in her cot a while probably while having a little wriggle.
And wooo! on the rolling. That's such a cute pic of her bot too - Jemima has those leggings!!
Benty - the Benty Pirate family looked great! I like next years theme too
I'm glad there was some brightness at your DH uncle's funeral.I hope when its my turn everyone has a few laughs.
Jaffagirl Catnapping - Jemima has majorly shortened her naps - ranging from 45 mins - 1.5 hours now (so OK I guess compared to 20 mins!) but she pretty much refuses to have any nap after about 2pm. So, as the day goes on she gets crankier and crankier and wants to be held, so I wish she was happier to be left in her rocker or on her mat. In our case, she sleeps 12 hours at night so I expect her days sleeps to be shorter, however I think she is still too small to cope with being up so long during the day/afternoon and hence the afternoon grizzles. I am hoping her body/mind soon catches up with what is going on.
tasha - we tried to warn you - it is cold here!! Glad to hear you all had a great time. your story reminds me of my wedding day when my 4 year old nephew who was meant to be ring bearer, was all dressed up in his cute little suit and took two steps into the church and then turned and ran back out. Like your boy, I think he just freaked that everyone was looking at him and couldn't cope. They do look cute in those little suits though don't they?
Gemma Jemima is fully BF and also only does one massive poo every 5-6 days (this morning was d-day).Hers are a mustard yellow colour and splodgy. to be honest i can't pick when she is due by the signs, I might focus a bit more this week and see if there is anything tell-tale (she was doing very smelly farts yesterday...). I have found since we went up a nappy size they are better contained, but this morning there was still a bit of a damp patch so we had to change her suit and singlet. I have also been told by the ECHN this is quite normal.I usually jump in the shower with her if its a bit messy and slather her bum with Sudocream, more as a precaution than anything else.
Gisselle Glad the funeral was OK. Such a sad and unfair situation, when a life just starting is taken away.
Amy - i think we are on the cusp of giggles, but no luck yet. We get big smiles and sometimes a bit of a squeak, which I think is her trying to laugh. Don't worry, I'm sure Lucy is saving it all up!
Us, well we had the discussion about TTC Number 2 the other day. Given my age and the AC factor (meaning financial and emotional strain) we have decided when missy turns one we will start and give it 3 or 4 goes and then that's it. I know I need to try but I don't want Red or Jemima to suffer or get neglected in the quest for another baby, so if fate determines we should have another so be it, if not, so be it also. I do feel good knowing we have some parameters in place. It may sound a bit clinical but there's no point sending ourselves broke and not able to support our family the way it is now, or making Jem feel she is not enough for us. I also personally feel that 38 is the upper age limit for me. I hope that all makes sense!
And I am not sure of anyone else is a celebrity baby freak like me, but here is a link to some gorgeous pics of Princess Isabella (Princess Mary's girl) who just turned one. She is so like her dad - so cute! I love the one on the blue ball.
http://www.kronprinsparret.dk/ee000c/img/920020Over and out from me!
gissellle
23/04/2008, 01:05 PM
OMG
Claire Miss Evie is rolling, what a clever little chicken!!
Sienna giggled at me last night for the first time

There's nothing cuter!! She's nowhere near rolling yet, she does lift her head and chest up with her arms and looks around while on her belly, which is adorable. Thats what she's doing in my sig pic. I hadnt even realised she could do that till a couple of days ago. She doesnt spend much time on the floor.
Amanda_D you have every right to be annoyed at your neighbour! I would be furious
Tasha welcome back, hope you had a good trip! Thats great to hear you had no dramas with DD's sleeping.
Bubs bottom I'm using curash cream. Its awesome stuff, i use it nearly every nappy change, DD gets a bit red due to doing 4 poos per day!!
Holly how did DS go with his needles? Hope he was alright.
Claire that must of been a horrible experience for you at just 15.
Benty great news on the pram. I hate places that only give you store credit as a refund!
bondimum Sienna first smiled at about 4wks, her eye contact has been relly good since birth (
she even stares at you when she's crying, little bugger!). I dont think you need to worry though. Check with your doc if you're really concerned though.
Amy Neighbours is worse than Home & Away!!

BTW its
never to early for chocolate
Jacquie How are you all feeling? Hope you havent gotten any worse. We've been lucky here
touch wood and none of us have been sick. How was your chicken casserole?
mmmm BTW where are you from? I saw 2 children yesterday that looked like your little munchkins!!
Leaving baby on playmat I do this too, plus i leave her in her bouncer sometimes in front of the telly if i need to get something done
ginnyk hope you had fun at the beach!
Big BrotherI might actually watch it this year since i'm home all the time and not between DP's & my house anymore! Since we've lived in our own house i've been watching alot more tv!
Sary sorry to hear TT isnt going so well. I cant imagine it being easy.
He is still asleep and we are tiptoeing around the house!
I hate when this happens!
Rylani sorry i cant help with your poo question! DD goes about 4 times per day, usually after a feed. They are explosive though!
Cheryl another soup lover here, especially pumpkin! Pea & ham to way mum makes it and tomato is good too! Woo hoo about the chilli not effecting Jake!
Lauren hope the antibiotics help little Joel's eye. Wow TTC #5, good luck!
Brooke Sienna ends up quite crooked in her bed too! Good to hear she's sleeping better thru the day for you.
RedsGirl We have also had a talk about #2 and have decided it would be nice for him/her to be born in 2010 so that way they're only 2 yrs apart.
Questions- Do any of you still have bubs in their bassinette and/or in your room?? DD still is and i really dont want to move her to her big bed

She still wakes at 3am on most nights plus 6am.

Do you think she's too big to be in here??
Also ive noticed a light brown stain on her sheet where her head is. She's a tummy sleeper. Does anyone know what it could be from? I posted this in the birth-6mth but havent received much feedback. I'll ask my doc next time i see her.
Sorry if i missed anyone, hope you all have a great day!