The
Essential Baby forums cover all areas of
parenting and stages development for
babies,
toddlers and
kids as well as
parenting lifestyle areas including
Family Travel,
Finances,
Nutrition & Wellbeing,
Recipes and more!
If you'd like to post and interact with EB's
parenting forums read more articles about
conception,
pregnancy,
babies,
toddlers,
kids or more please visit
Essential Baby for the full site experience.
chillicat
07/05/2008, 05:20 PM
MY DAY
Awoke this morning after a very unsettled night with both girls waking here and there so I was desparate to get out of the house. So I made a snap decision to take the girls (five weeks on Saturday) and DD1 (13 months) to a shopping centre with my mother. Ran around the house like a mad thing getting everything ready (bottles, dummies, nappies etc) then loaded the car with the pram. But I discovered I can't fit both prams in the back and I haven't attached the toddler seat to the Valco Twin yet. So, determined to go out, I put part of DD1's pram in the front seat. Tight fit but ok. Got all girls changed and dressed and started loading them in the car .. discovering I couldn't work out how to lengthen the twins' car seat straps -- they have grown so much since leaving hospital the straps don't fit them anymore. Much swearing and trying. Then I gave up and took all the girls for a walk. Lucky it was a beautiful day. Have since worked out the seats (which are different to DD1s) Cannot describe how upsetting and frustrating it was to be confined to the suburb for another day! We all need to get out!
End of rant!
Danielle -- Thanks for the tips about Huggies Newborn, I need to buy some more so will look out for the latest. Sounds like you are doing a great job feeding the girls -- how old are they now?
Skippy -- My girls are only five weeks but try and roll when I change their nappies!! Am quite surprised about the big poos they do....!!!!
Hi to everyone else
Chilli
breilla
08/05/2008, 09:08 AM
Just saying hello.
amandaw72
08/05/2008, 11:51 AM
Another one here who does'nt have time for personals, so just thought I would say a quick hello. It seems every time I grab a minute to come on here I read through to catch up and then before I have time to post somebody wakes up
It sounds like you are all doing so well. I have been having a hard time the last few days, everything just seems so hard at times and I have to keep reminding myself that they will get past this stage. So frustrating that no matter what time I feed them they always seem to wake at the same time and both want fed at the same time!! I always seem to have one crying while feeding the first one.
On a brighter note, I was telling my Mum yesterday how I was feeling a bit down and just now I got a knock on the door and there was a man delivering flowers from my mum, that certainly cheered me up. I have the best mum

Anyway better go as I think I will try and feed Ryan before they both wake up (poor little guy has a bit of a cold and his last feed he pretty much spewed the whole feed back up and all over himself, lucky I was just about to give him a bath anyway).
Amanda.
chillicat
09/05/2008, 02:06 PM
Hello! Girls had their five week check up today and weigh 3.82 kilos each -- their weight was precisely the same! So they are growing well. And last night they slept for an extra couple of hours, I think they are nearly ready to drop that 230 am feed. YAY!!! Hope everyone is well. Amanda, how lovely of your mum to send you flowers. I totally agree with not getting any time before someone wakes up and cries!! On that note, DD1 is awake and crying. Must go!
amandaw72
09/05/2008, 02:29 PM
Chillicat - It sounds like your girls are doing great, well done. I do hope that they do drop the 2.30am feed for you, would'nt it be great to get a really good nights sleep. I can only dream about that, my boys wake up like clockwork at 1.30am no matter what time we feed them before bed. Oh well they are only 4 weeks old, all my other children have slept through from about 6 weeks so I guess that is only a couple of weeks away, not so sure that it is gonna happen this time though, I will just have to wait and see.
Well all of my boys are asleep at the moment so I might go and have a little nap myself, and just hope that they don't all wake up as soon as I fall asleep
Hi to everyone.
Amanda
Da_Boys_Mumma
09/05/2008, 06:03 PM
Hello All,
hope everyone is well! just quickly posting (one handed) before feed time!
Niss of course your welcome here.
Chillicat yes both babies only wake for feeds at night then settle themselves back to sleep.i had both boys weighed yesterday @ 6 weeks they were both 4 kg (dressed). I too had a good night feed both at 1030 pm last night, Jacob woke at 230 ready for his feed, i made a snap decsion (sp?) to leave Issac sleeping. He slept to 6am. i did not expect it at all i actually thought it would be a while off, but hope it keeps up! i kinda know what you mean about the trapped feeling im sick of relying on people to drive me around, but my infection and pain seems to have stayed away so i think im free.
gotta fly,
its feed time
belinda
breilla
10/05/2008, 12:58 PM
I am jealous of the people getting sleep

I shouldn't complain, we now get a guaranteed 3 1/2 hours of sleep with both of them in the cot when we first get to bed, but after that they wake and have a tandem feed and only Angus will resettle in the cot... Ewan simply won't go back in the cot and will only settle in with us (and I am not a fan of co-sleeping).
Can't wait until they decide to sleep through. I

that they aren't like my oldest son who didn't sleep through until he was nearly 2 years old.
Da_Boys_Mumma
10/05/2008, 09:24 PM
Hello,
Hope all is well for everyone, babes have now slept both slept through last night as well. Very exciting. On the other hand shopping with twins is not so exciting, especially when you have to breast feed.
Must go keep getting organised!!! Have a lovely mothers day
Belinda
-MissNiss-
11/05/2008, 10:37 AM
chillicat
12/05/2008, 04:06 PM
I thought it was quiet in here until I realised I should scroll down ....!! We took the twins and DD1 to lunch for Mothers Day, the twins were admired a lot.

Moved them into their cots at the weekend and they look so small in them but are sleeping well -- only waking up for their feeds. Still haven't dropped that 230a feed yet!
AMANDA: DD1 also slept through from six weeks of age, so let's hope our twins do as well and it is only a matter of two weeks for you and one week for me!!
BELINDA: Glad you are feeling better and hope you get out too!! I AM SO JEALOUS YOUR BUBS SLEPT THRU!!!! But happy for you!!
BREILLA: Hello there!! One of my twins would only sleep with me too but I stopped it as I am not a fan of co-sleeping either. She settles down now as I play her music.
NISS: Happy mothers day to you too, what did you get up too?
Cheers Chilli
~plimsol~
13/05/2008, 11:56 AM
hi all thought i should start posting in here i can't belive how many twins are in here!
the boys are well they are now 9 weeks old can't belive ho quick it has gone!!!!
they had there needles last thursday and have been little devil's since.....NO SLEEP for anyone....
up until now they have been dream babies!!!!
has anyone else had problems getting around stores with a double pram?? the other day i went in target and they had so much crap pilled in the way i couldn't even enter the store i was so angry at this...
oh well just the joys of having twins......
hi to everyone i see heaps of familiar people from the expecting multiples forum
i am also bottle feeding my milk didn't come in either Jordan the smaller of the two has a cows milk protein allergy so he is on a specialised formula and Raikkonen has reflux so he is on a thickened formula... would have been so much easier to breast feed......
here is my favorite pic of the moment Jordan is on the left with the cute look on his face and raikkonen is on the right he is such a little sweety......
i feel so lucky to have two beautiful little boys
talk soon missy
chillicat
13/05/2008, 12:38 PM
A quickie for
MISSY to say welcome -- your boys are so cute, I love the picture! What size are they in -- looks like OOO? Mine have their needles next week, I hope they continue to sleep!!! Were yours sleeping through the night before the shots? I have the Twin Valco pram and it's huge! I do have trouble with it -- some neighbours had a tree over flowing onto the sidewalk and it was almost impossible to walk past so we got the council to trim it!! Tee hee!! Shops are always a problem, and so are people's attitudes!! Talk soon!
Chilli
amandaw72
13/05/2008, 03:09 PM
Hello,
I Hope everyone had a wonderful Mothers Day, my older two made me pancakes in bed for breakfast which was lovely.
Missy, your boys are sooo cute. I hope that they settle down and go back to sleeping better for you.
Breilla, hopefully our bubs will start to sleep a bit better soon too, mine usually only go 3 or 4 hours at a time as well. We have taken to getting the one who woke up and putting them into bed with us and trying to settle them back to sleep, at least until the other one wakes up,then feed them both and put them back into their cot. Luckily they both usually fall back asleep fairly easily.
Belinda, you are so lucky that yours slept through the night, I agree that it is exciting and I hope that they keep it up.
I agree that the twin prams can be a bit of a pain in the shops. If I go by myself I found it easier to use a shopping trolley and put the capsules into the trolley, one in the trolley and the other across the top, they just fit. Can't get much shopping in though, but if I just want to get out or just get a few things its ok and then I dont have to worry if I will fit through the aisles (also not so many people notice that I have twins and I don't get stopped every five minutes

).
I had the Maternal Health Nurse come today to weigh and measure the boys. They are doing really well and stacking on the weight, Ryan put on 490gm in 2 weeks and Alex 540gm which considering that they both have little colds at the moment is quite good and the nurse was really happy with them.
I hope you are all well and please post more pics of your babies, it is amazing how quickly they grow and change isn't it.
Amanda.
~plimsol~
13/05/2008, 05:35 PM
chillcat- the outfits the boys are wearing are actually 00000 the pic just made the boys look bigger than what they are!!! and no the boys didn't sleep
through he night before there needles they still get up at 2.30 ish in the morning!!!!!can't wait to get a full nights sleep again!
Amanda- do you know how long the health nurses will visit you at home for???? they only did 2 visits at my house and now i have to take boys to them which is annoying especially now the weather is crappy!!!!
will talk again soon and post some more pics later!
missy!!
chillicat
14/05/2008, 11:04 AM
Feeling very sad

as my mum just left to go home interstate after being here for six weeks -- a week before the birth and the last five. Couldn't of got through them without her.
amandaw72
15/05/2008, 02:25 PM
Chillicat, I hope that you are feeling better today. You are lucky that you had your mum stay with you for 6 weeks. It must be hard that she lives so far away though, my mum lives about an hour away and that seems so so far.
Missy, I have had 3 home visits so far from the Health Nurse and she said that she would come again in 2 weeks. I think that 2 visits is normal but I have a lovely lady looking after us, she is so positive, always telling me how well the boys are doing and what a great job that I am doing, it makes me feel like I am coping ok. I assume that this will be the last home visit, it has made it a lot easier though.
The weather has been so nice in Melbourne over the last few days, we all went to the park yesterday. It was good to spend time playing with my 2yo while the babies snoozed in the pram in the sun. I was worried how he would react when we bought the twins home but he pretty much ignores them (probably a good thing).
This is a picture that I took yesterday (Ryan in blue, Alex in white).

I can't believe how chubby they are getting.
Hope everyone is well, gotta go and feed babies.
Amanda.
~plimsol~
15/05/2008, 07:38 PM
Amanda your boys are so cute.... how old are they and how big were they when they were born???
\
Manicmum
15/05/2008, 08:56 PM
Hello Everyone!
May I join in, actually I thought I posted a while back but must have done it wrong.
Rhiannon and Delilah are 6 weeks today (5 days corrected).
I am twin b/feeding them four hourly and things are going pretty well. I'm please that I have found you all here together, I have not been on much lately but am looking forward to catching up with you all some more>
Best Wishes!
Chrissie
~plimsol~
15/05/2008, 10:37 PM
welcome crissie great to hear from you and it will be great to start sharing thoughts gripes and pleasures with you all
talk soon Missy
doubleornothing
16/05/2008, 10:47 AM
On the pram drama - i too dislike taking the pram to the shops as its soooooo big!!! my dh and I always go food shopping together and we take the boys in slings...i swear those slings have saved my life!
but if i'm going to the shops alone i brave it...or only go if i absolutley HAVE too!!!!
~plimsol~
16/05/2008, 11:37 AM
just wondering are we going to start a list like in other threads who we are etc let me know i could manage that if someone can tell me how to do it????
pramadrama drives you nuts!!!! i went back into target and they moved all the crap from the isles maybe a moan at them did some good!!!! LOL
hi to all hope your week has been a good one the weather here is crap by the way where u all from?????
talk soon Missy
doubleornothing
16/05/2008, 11:42 AM
I'm from Sydney...the hills area...
anyone else from my way?????????????????????
-MissNiss-
16/05/2008, 01:09 PM
I'm in Adelaide... anyone else here???
~plimsol~
16/05/2008, 02:44 PM
i am from Burnie Tasmania
did anyone want me to start a list for this forum on who is who and post is every couple of days for all to see who we are it's up to you!!!!
amandaw72
16/05/2008, 02:45 PM
Hi Everyone,
Missy, my boys are 5 weeks old today. They were born at 37 weeks and 2 days. Ryan was 2690g and Alex was 2610g.
I think that it sounds like a good idea to start a list but I don't know how to do it either.
Chrissy, Hi, it sounds like you are doing great with your babies. I'm glad that they are doing so well.
I agree that the slings are good. I had to go to Target yesterday and so I had 1 baby in the sling and 1 in a capsule trolley so I was still able to use the trolley and go down the aisles, it worked well.
I'm in Melbourne - Western suburbs.
Amanda.
breilla
16/05/2008, 04:01 PM
just a rant...
aaarghh!
The routine has been lost - I want it back again
chillicat
16/05/2008, 04:41 PM
Wow it is busy in here -- great
MISSY-- I think a list is a fabulous idea. Do you want everyone to PM you their details? I am not sure how to do a list however!
BREILLA -- Urrg I am feeling for you!! I hope you get the routine back soon!
AMANDA -- My girls are six weeks tomorrow so very close in age to your boys. Your boys are just gorgeous!!
CHRIS -- Welcome and well done on the breast feeding. Sounds like your twins are already in a fabulous routine.
Hi to everyone else.
I am from NSW in the inner west. Girls are well, still haven't dropped their 230am feed yet and are a bit unsettled at night. I keep telling myself they won't be little for long so to enjoy! DD1 is as beautiful as ever.
Chilli
~plimsol~
16/05/2008, 04:45 PM
yeah pm me the details sounds good i will try to figure out the list thing i will hunt and ask someone on another forum
pm me your names bubs names and birthdays and where u are from!!!
0h and the names and birthdate of any other children you have can't leave them out!!!!
thanks Missy
skippy121
16/05/2008, 09:08 PM
Hi Guys,
I had a few minutes to myself and thought i would jump on. Rylee and Haylee are 4 months old today wow the time goes fast.
Girls are sleeping till 4.30am and then till 6.30 so it is getting better and better.
I have been giving Rylee some Farax the last few days and she loves the banana and pear one. It is so cute watching her eat. I am sure i will be sick of it all too soon though. Haylee is not ready for any yet. They have there shots on Monday and they get a weigh so it will be interesting to see if the weight difference increases.
As for shopping with the pram how frustrating is it when you can't get down the isles. I am definately feeling all your pain.
Just a question for everyone. What are your day routines like. My two are awake for approx 1.5hrs then sleep 1/2 hour from when they get up at at 6.30am to when they go to sleep at 6.30pm. Does anyone else have this or do they sleep longer periods.
I am in Cairns if anyone is up this way.
Cheers Skippy
~plimsol~
16/05/2008, 09:43 PM
TWINS 2008
Doubleornothing (Syd)
Zake &
Kaeleb 10.12.07
Danielle
Jordanna & Kara 22.01.08 Missamarion (TAS)
Raikkonen & Jordan 12.03.08 Finge82
Deegan & Kale March 08Sheree8383
Hunter &
Kelsey 07.04.08
Amandaw72 (Melb)
Ryan & Alexander 11.04.08
Briella (Brisbane)
Ewan & Angus 12.04.08
Gerorgie01 (melb)
Ava & Kira 25.04.08
Chris72
Rhiannon & Delilah2bubs4me (Adelaide)
Jacob &
RubyBelz
Jacob & IssacSkippy121 (cairns)
Rylee & HayleeChillcat (need your details)
Georgie01
17/05/2008, 11:56 AM
Hi everyone!
The girls were born three weeks ago on Anzac Day (posted the story in Expecting Multiples yesterday or Thursday). Ava weighed 2.2 kg and Kira weighed 3.2 kg - almost exactly what the scans predicted. Both are growing really well and we're enforcing a strict 4 hourly feeding routine. DH does around half of the feeds so there's lots of expressing going on but it frees up my time to get some sleep and keep on top of other jobs.
I've been lurking in here the last few days but have had very little time to actually write anything, it's been great to catch up on news from those from Expecting Multiples and to start to get to know some new people.
I read about the Huggies a few pages back - I've just started getting my nappies home delivered in bulk from Nappyland (
http://www.nappyland.com.au/WebPages/NLHome.asp) and they delivered the new Huggies with the tabs that attach anywhere (they are in Vic, SA and parts of Qld). Their prices are pretty good (works out to be the same as paying $37.50 for a box of Huggies from the supermarket). It's a big help as I've got three in nappies and one in night nappies still and that pretty much fills my trolley at the supermarket. I'm stunned that it actually took me 4.5 years of nappies to find out about this.
Chillicat - my Mum left this week after 3 weeks with us, we loved having here here but she was wanting to get home for a while. She sorted out a range of systems in the house, I've never been so organised! She's planning to come back in July when DH has a 6 week stint back at work (he's only working 1 day/fortnight at the moment). My MIL arrives on Thursday this week to lend a hand.
We got the people mover (Kia) last week, I haven't actually driven it yet but did have a little test drive of one before we bought. The older kids think it's the best thing ever because it has a DVD player (it's ex-demo and came with a few extra features). I still haven't got a double stroller for the new babies, my double pram gets used in the park so is usually dirty and I'd prefer to have a stroller to leave in the back of the car... I guess we'll start getting the girls out and about in the next little while, I'm still amazed at how small Ava is and just haven't wanted to expose her to the cold weather.
Will get into the swing of personals soon - can't believe that all four kids are quiet at the moment, better go and check
Georgie
~plimsol~
17/05/2008, 12:47 PM
Georgie welcome and congrats on your two little girls i have added you to the list..
i am glad they are growing well when my two were born i was also on a strict feeding schedule, they now just feed when they want, will look forward to chattin to you some more i don't have heapd of time for a big post!!!
Missy