The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: where can we go tomorrow?

Essential Baby > Meet Other Members > State forums > Australian Capital Territory
fulloffizz
We are looking to go somewhere different tomorrow for a playdate with some friends. We often go to Kidcity or Forde park, but it is getting hard for me to chase DD as I am 38 weeks pregnant am am getting a bit slow!

We don't want to go anywhere too crowded being school holidays and thought that perhaps a park would be nice.

I would prefer the park to be either enclosed or in a safe environment (not near water!) so I don't have to chase DD too much.

We are in the Gungahlin area but would be happy to travel, but not as far as southside - sorry!

Any ideas would be appreciated.

Riss
Mel_Mac
If you are just happy with coffee and cake I would suggest Poachers Pantry (they are a bit of a way though) or old parliament house has a great outside, enclosed area the kids can run. No park as such but if you take some outdoor activities, balls, coits etc that would probably work original.gif

To be honest, Canberra is SERIOUSLY lacking on venues that cater for Mum's, Dad's & the kids!
brazen
cafe injoy original.gif has a small (VERY small, but the kids don't seem to mind lol) play area with lockable gate grin.gif
jckalilvi
cafe injoy original.gif has a small (VERY small, but the kids don't seem to mind lol) play area with lockable gate grin.gif

hijacking thread... sorry OP

I didn't realise the gate was lockable wacko.gif ... we might venture there more often now that I know that.. thanks Karen!!!
babyboo2
Hi

I've just discovered Tulips Cafe in Pialligo. It has an enclosed children's playground (no escape) and they make the most devine Ricotta balls. We're going there for breakfast again this Sunday because its the closest DH and I get to going on a date original.gif
brazen
bigger kids can get it open faye, as it's not a child proof lock, but my two youngest can't wink.gif
s-m
old parliament house has a great outside, enclosed area the kids can run. No park as such but if you take some outdoor activities, balls, coits etc that would probably work

I'm not sure what the people at OPH would have to say about that!?

To be honest, Canberra is SERIOUSLY lacking on venues that cater for Mum's, Dad's & the kids!

I disagree. Even factoring in our need for wheelchair access we never seem to struggle.

OP do any of the clubs over your side of town have kiddy play areas?

Steph
brazen
belconnen soccer club do - but the food is overpriced and pretty awful (unless it's changed) and the play area is outside (which is fine for a lot of the year but not on rainy or windy days)

steph, what places do you know of where the kids can play while the parents relax? other than playcentres of course smile1.gif
chat
Cafe Injoy is a good one. Last time we were there these young teenage became and took over it though rant.gif They were being silly climbing over the top and one slipped off falling into a table then onto the concrete.

The parents were sitting a few tables over from us and had no problem with their 14 year old kids booting my 2 5 year old out rant.gif I think the one that fell really hurt himself wacko.gif

Anyway I think OPH is a good one, we have been to plenty of events there where they have activities for children set up in the court yards.

The Rose Gardens are a lovely place to hang out. We often take our girls down with their croquet set to play. The Rose Gardens are never crowded. There are huge trees to sit under and plenty of room to run around.

pics of rose gardens (had in my photbucket account):
http://i79.photobucket.com/albums/j159/bel...os/IMG_3244.jpg
http://i79.photobucket.com/albums/j159/bel...os/IMG_3228.jpg
Mel_Mac
Steph - we have taken Ayden to the cafe at OPH many times with our own outdoor toys. There is the outdoor garden area and they have been happy that rather than him running around with nothing to do, we cater. And come on, how much trouble can a little game of coits with toddlers cause?!

As for Canberra lacking - I stand by my comment 100% original.gif We have a handful of sub-standard (IMO) designated play areas, I.e. Kidcity, and let's be honest the food/coffee is pretty average. Cafe Injoy's park is VERY small as Karen has said. We have loads of cafes around town sure, but let's be honest when you have 2 young children, and one who is energetic it's hard to sit down for 5 mins (as the pp has stated) without worrying about what your chn are into. The lakes are great but even the parks are fairly close to water and you really have to BYO everything unless you are happy with one of the takeaway options by the lake. The museum, questacon, NGA, Zoo & Aquarium and so forth are lovely venues but their food leaves little to be desired. It's not entirely healthy or fresh alot of the times and the coffee usually sucks sad.gif

What I want is a great cafe/park/play centre that caters to the needs of parents and children alike. Serves fabulous coffee, has friendly welcoming CHILD FRIENDLY staff and some activities, interests for the kids with great food & coffee. Anyone want to open up my dream cafe? Oh, and while you're opening that can you also open up a beauty salon/day spa with a creche? laughing2.gif

I do agree that Canberra has some great things to do with kids (most at a cost mind you) but I also really believe we could improve in areas like this!

Personally, I find chasing after muliple kids, or even one when preg or nursing a baby is stressful enough without worrying about what the child your chasing is into every second original.gif
brazen
imagine with 3! esepcially during the week when i'm on my own! lol

won't be so bad in a year or so when rory is old enough to listen but atm.... little miss stubborn has to be really watched and given that if i say no, she says go, i have to be careful where i take her - she even ran onto the road after swimming lessons today, just BECAUSE i said no (and wasn't fast enough to catch her)

anyway...
chat
I hear you Karen....with Maisie the same age as Rory. I bought her a poodle backpack/toddler lead grin.gif wacko.gif

The twins area at a nice age to do things with now wub.gif
s-m
steph, what places do you know of where the kids can play while the parents relax?

Edited because I've now read Mel's later post.

When DD was a toddler if we wanted to take her to the playground we would take her to one of the gazillion playgrounds around. If we wanted to eat while we were there we'd pack a thermos and snacks.

If we wanted to go out for morning/arvo tea or a meal we'd do that and sometimes add it on to visiting a playground or some other activity that does not revolve around play equipment - such as bushwalking, gardens, art gallery, museum.

Most posters in this thread seem to want a cafe with playground attached - which by definition will ALWAYS be busy on weekends and school holidays.

Steph
Mel_Mac
QUOTEsteph, what places do you know of where the kids can play while the parents relax?

I was replying to Mel's complaint that places didn't cater for Mum, Dad and the kids.

Steph

But it's true. I can't think of too many myself and would love some insight if I am missing out original.gif I want a relaxing, DECENT, coffee (or lunch) with friends and the kids original.gif

(Can you tell I have a coffee addiction original.gif )

ETA: Yep Karen, I SO get it and feel for you original.gif I find it hard enough at times with my two and only one of them walks laughing2.gif

I tell you where really disapoints me - Yarralumla Nursery sad.gif They have a marvellous location but are so overpriced and seem to employ 12 yr olds who often seem to shy to approach tables to take orders in a timely manner. Such a waste of one of the best locations in Canberra!
s-m
I tell you where really disappoints me - Yarralumla Nursery They have a marvellous location but are so overpriced and seem to employ 12 yr olds who often seem to shy to approach tables to take orders in a timely manner. Such a waste of one of the best locations in Canberra!

Don't get me started on them. Their service has always been SLOW. The year that DD was 2y we rode there from home on a gorgeous weather Anzac Day to discover they were CLOSED mad.gif so we sat on the grass and had water and two biscuits each then rode back home.

When DD was a young toddler we tended to meet up with friends for meals/drinks/kiddy play at each other's houses. Most of our meals out with DD when she was little were just us three or other adults with no kids. TBH we didn't do this alot because when DD was 1.5-2.5y I would have to try and feed her AND DH as well as myself so unless we had other adults along or a carer then we didn't eat out.

We had HEAPS of morning/arvo teas out and generally would tack this on to pretty much any outing including doing the groceries.

The places we tend to go are generally not suitable for kids to run around and play WHILE parents are eating. We tend to do one THEN the other. Even at the Botanic Gardens it was only recently that we have let DD play on the grass while we are still sitting at the table - mostly due to the lake and carpark both being relatively close but out of sight.

If I wanted somewhere relatively deserted in the school holidays to let 2-3yos run around while I chatted with a friend I would go to a local (suburban) playground and take morning/arvo tea with me.

Steph
Mel_Mac
Yeah, YN are pretty average hey sad.gif Such a shame.

I guess for me personally (and dare I admit this online) I am not really a very good SAHM in the traditional sense. I don't like story time at the library or parks, playgroups, play centres etc. I guess I am still trying to find some sense of balance between being ME and being a Mum. I think this is why the idea of being able to do something which caters for us both is so appealing to me. I would love to be able to combine my love for socialising, relaxed atmosphere, good food/drinks and my childrens enjoyment. (Bear in mind also I have very few, friends who have chn as yet, so suggesting they meet me at Kidcity is not such a great idea original.gif ).

Tim, Ayden, Liam and I go out for brunch every Sunday morning. It's our family tradition. We've tried Tulips (very limited menu and mostly takeaway shop style food), All things chocolate in Manuka (not bad, but small so not ideal for kids), Cafe Injoy and Tea on the Square (not terribly keen on the food), Black Pepper (good for us, but boring for Ayden), Goromon Ponds (sadly Cafe is closed at the moment) and our favourite Poachers Pantry. Poachers has sensational food, the Manager is always friendly to us and if we sit outside the staff all love watching as Ayden and Tim hit a cricket ball around on the grass. The Manager even joked last week that he wants Ayden's autograph in preperation for our Aussie cricketer original.gif But, let's be honest, they aren't exactly cheap, or close.

Anyway, I guess my point is that catering for all our needs is something I think very few places are able to do. There is usually a plus for one aspect and a negative for others. Such is life though I guess right original.gif

To Ayden's benefit (or not) he is quite the little socialite now and is quite accustomed to accompanying Tim or I on catch up's at cafes where the only fun for him is a sugar sachet or a colouring-in book! Not sure what others with little boys (or girls) think but this only keeps him entertained for 3 minute intervals original.gif
L712
Oh Mel I just had to laugh at the sugar sachets!

April is very good at a subtraction game that DH and her play with sugar sachets while we wait for our coffees when we are out laugh.gif
Mel_Mac
Oh yeah Laurel, desperate times original.gif

We have all sorts of crazy distraction methods, counting, singing songs, thumb wars.... laughing2.gif problem is it doesn't allow for much 'adult conversation' original.gif
s-m
DD uses sugar sachets as maraccas and has recently discovered that the raw sugar, white sugar and sweetener ones make different sounds (due to the different grain sizes). She has also once tried to give a pair of them to DH so he can play too wacko.gif.

For Sunday brunch have you tried the National Museum cafe (sit outside on the deck)? Or somewhere in Garema Place (or elsewhere in Civic) with the promise of a ride on the merry-go-round afterwards? Botanic Gardens?

I don't like story time at the library or parks, playgroups, play centres etc

About the only one of those I can stomach with any kind of regularity are parks and playgrounds but NOT when they are busy!

I know several toddler-friendly bushwalks around town if anyone is interested??

Perhaps we should start another thread(s) so we don't hijack the OP's message any further...

Steph
brazen
tried storytime with my 3 a while ago, i'm sure Jet07 will remember. OMG what a freaking nightmare cry1.gif mind you it was a while ago now so maybe i should try again but i nearly had a breakdown there in the library a few weeks in a row before i gave up altogether...

we do do the morning tea in teh park thing steph, it's just that there are times when all you want is a real coffee LOL doing MT at a cafe and then going to a playground sounds like it could work, but in practicality it's not really worth the effort of getting 3 out of the car, to the cafe, back to the car and in and then doing it all over again. all unnecessary legs of a journey are long gone PMSL!!!!

that's why we frequest playcentres and playareas that i never thought we would laughing2.gif kill two birds with one stone! (plus being able to do other small chores at the shops)

ps: i never let my kids play with the sugar, i feel guilty about the waste, am i just being overly precious? lol!! blush.gif
chat
Aw I'm jealous Mel that you go every Sunday for brunch tongue.gif

Having 4 kids we've given up on that idea for a while wacko.gif We tend to do the tag team thing over the weekends, I will go for a coffee with a friend while the little girls sleep in the afternoon. I get some much needed space.

I will go and meet Nick for lunch or coffee during the week when I only have Poppy (nice).....

I agree, Canberra certainly is laking in the more family friendly places, I'm not so much a club goer either.
brazen
i'm jealous belinda, i dont' get any childfree (or just one child which is nearly as good lol) time anymore cry1.gif
s-m
i never let my kids play with the sugar, i feel guilty about the waste

It's been ages since DD decided to rip open or chew/suck a sachet. They go back in the container when she's finished.

Karen the cafes we go to very often have a playground within easy walking distance - eg Cooleman Court, Chifley shops, Curtin shops. Is there anything like this out your way?

I just remembered another place that's good for kids - Deeks the gluten-free bakery/cafe at Pearce because kids can play in the courtyard outside.

Mel I too am jealous of the brunch thing because especially when DD was little it would take a couple of hours for community nurses and carer to get DH out of bed. His care routine is quite a bit simpler now so it's feasible to be ready to go out by 9.30ish.

I dont' get any childfree time anymore

Never ever? Not even a lunch time or going out for coffee in the evening or leaving them with DH on a weekend?

Steph
chat
I'm jealous Belinda, i don't' get any child free (or just one child which is nearly as good lol) time anymore

Might have to do something about that......drop by and take you out one Saturday afternoon for coffee! I know where you live dev (6).gif
fulloffizz
Thank you everyone for your suggestions. We went to a local park today, but now have some ideas for next week! I think we might try Tulips. Thanks again!

Riss
Mel_Mac
Oh my gosh I just had the most awful, stressful lunch at Injoy laughing2.gif laughing2.gif

Anyone else think the 'park' is just to darn close to the carpark?

Whilst Ayden wouldn't (I hope) run out onto it, the thought just never leaves my mind so I spend the entire time looking around, looking over my shoulder, calling his name (feeling like a bogan yelling AYYYDEEEENNNN over the play ground). Arghhhh, not good.

I completety forgot it was School holidays wacko.gif so there were roughly 15 kids trying to play in the park, most quite a bit older, so naturally Ayden didn't want to be in there original.gif

Anyway, next time Mum suggests Injoy I think I am going to suggest we grab some nice T/A coffee and come to Mel's cafe in Higgins wink.gif

Karen - Ayden doesn't open the sugar either so we too pop it back in the jar original.gif
chat
We just got back from he Canberra Centre and I thought I would mention the free activity they have set up for kids. It's outside of the Teddy Bear Shop, the kids get to paint a bag and the parents are given a free coffee coupon redeemable at a few of the coffee outlets in the centre, it doesn't get better than that!
Mel_Mac
the parents are given a free coffee coupon redeemable at a few of the coffee outlets in the centre, it doesn't get better than that!

I'm in! laughing2.gif Till when? laughing2.gif
chat
I didn't ask, I would assume all holidays grin.gif It's a good list of coffee places to choose from too.

The girls painted a bag that Maisie can use a library bag and one for Nick to take with him when he goes away lol...He's sure to be impressed laughing2.gif
brazen
ot but i thought the teddy bear shop was closing? (or did it relocate?)

sorry it was so stressful mel sad.gif i've only ever been there when there's been a handful of kids and no more.

steph and belinda, i might have fibbed a little LOL i do get some CFT, but not regularly. i used to have a day alone til i went back to work, then i got a half day after work and now it tends to be an hour or so (like today when i am eating leftovers for a late lunch, woohoo great use of CFT LOL) i do get to go out sometimes on weekends, not often, we don't seen to have spare time, but lately i have been socialising a little, maybe once a month.
chat
The Teddy Bear shop is still open, where it has always been. The really nice Maternity Shop next door is closing down. They have the most beautiful baby and kids clothes. I tried this stunning dress on Jess while I was there, just have to convince Nick to open the wallet my way and I might get it, bargain at 50% off.

Karen I am looking forward to going back to work to get some 'me' time and lunches with friends laughing2.gif
brazen
LOL ! i only get half hour lunches so not all that exciting !! are you going back to the same place?
chat
Yes I'll be back at the same place, only I might only be able to do 1 day a week, that will keep my foot in the door. I love my job, but there is so much other stuff going on. Maisie and Poppy will be in CC about 3 days a week though.
brazen
must make such a difference for you having the older 2 in school! i can't wait til i have at least 2 in school! lol

sorry fullofizz that we have taken over and gone totally OT blush.gif
PS: you look wonderful with your tummy, it has really grown latley, do you think?
Bumble~bee
I would love to be able take my 2 somewhere for morning tea/lunch instead of a play centre, they are just to embarressing & play up the minute we get their, is their a secret that I don't know about on how to enjoy a lunch/dinner out with a 3 & 5 year old.

Usually I prefer a picnic at a park or it ends up being Maccas as they can run around or play on the equipment & I am not chasing them or yelling at them. I dread when we are asked to go out to dinner or if DH wants a meal out, I just prefer to stay home & avoid the battles.

It would be nice to have somewhere apart from Kid City or a club where you could have a nice meal & not have to worry about the kids misbehaving or running amok.

Child Free Time, that is something I dream about, have not had a day/night or weekend to myself since before kids.

Leanne
Jet07
I just got back from about 5 hours at Canberra Centre too LOL! Decided I didn't want the boys to paint as Shea was in brand new clothes, but did go across the road to Glebe Park for the last hour, taking a STarbucks coffee with me!

I hate to disagree with a PP but compared to Sydney there are TONS of places to go with kids here!
Mel_Mac
Ahh but Sydney has beautiful beaches original.gif

Coogee Beach has the most amazing park - it's a huge pirate ship! Even I would have fun on that now original.gif

Brissie has some great play centres where the actual cafe is not in the same section and you can pay a small fee for a few creche workers to supervise whilst you enjoy a HOT coffee.... bliss original.gif

I also went to this incredible day spa with a g'friend which was called Yummy Mummy's or something unoriginal like that. Anyway they had a fabulous creche and if you had any treatments the creche was free. I had a facial and a massage and it was soooooo good! Ayden had fun and I was pampered!

If only I had the motivation or cash flow to open up a huge but intimate (?!?!) cafe with a play centre AND a day spa!! If anyone else does let me be the first to say I'll be there fortnightly original.gif
L712
Mel I would be there too biggrin.gif

I think we need a word in CJ's ear to expand further laugh.gif

Karen-April doesn't open the sugar either wink.gif
Mel_Mac
I think we need a word in CJ's ear to expand further

Yep, trust me, been trying!

Initially she actually asked Elise and I to undertake a beauty course and massage/Personal training cert and open a joint venture. We seriously thought about it (we had huge plans - well dreams - for a day spa/beauty salon/personal training centre out in some sensational bush setting) but the finances and the time didn't equate at that point in time.

I dare say give her a year and you'll find she has more 'beauty' treatments/therapists though original.gif She's up to what, 4 staff now?
L712
Must be yep!!

That idea is awesome biggrin.gif
Mel_Mac
I know - if only I was motivated laughing2.gif

I did actually have my first PT client today (and I am not even qualified yet laughing2.gif ROFL) shall see if I love it enough to do the real thing hey original.gif
chat
Mel the PT means Personal Trainer?

My sister and her partner are both personal trainers down in Melbourne and love it.
Mel_Mac
B - spot on original.gif I was going to start my cert before Liam came along and then I was distracted laughing2.gif It's still an interest, that's for sure, but with possibly starting a new job soon it's by the wayside again original.gif
chat
You should go for it, my sister did hers in 2005 and has a contract with Fitness First on Collins Street. She is never short of clients.

They plan to start their own business away from FF eventually.
L712
Mel I reckon you should go for it too! biggrin.gif
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.