The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: Feb 08 Parents # 11

Bel
New Thread Time original.gif

Link to Last Thread
jacqpot
Huh!!!!Haven't posted for ages and I get GOLD!!!!!!

Hope all well...very busy.ph34r.gif .Will post soon.
moo~tickle
SILVER!!

Woohoo
Took Maddie out to the shops this morning and the amount of stares I got because of the sling were incredible! She really loves going in it and I love to see her all cozied up in it wub.gif
http://s221.photobucket.com/albums/dd217/b...=DSC01086-1.jpg
Im struggling with the image. I tried to put it in but it doesnt work. Can anyone help?
jacqpot
Back so soon!!!Quiet home day for us today.

Ido I have been meaning to ask have you been using your Ergo? I use mine ALL the time now.It took me a while to work it out but now it is a sinch.Truly hands free with Sadie in it.Every time I use it I wonder if you are using yours....with you on Harvey Karp very gentle.I tried doing controversial Gina Ford "Contented Little Baby" with DS(first born) and it just made me a "Stressed out little mother"!!!Threw the bloody book out.Couldn't stand forcing baby to sleep and feed according to her routines....but each to their own though.Whatever works for the individual.

Oh well,here comes DD1 wanting something.Peace disrupted.
amy76
Hi ladies

Well been pretty bored today and have snacked all day i feel like a whale cry1.gif laughing2.gif

Also i think Lucy is teething. She has started to dribble alot and also had the red cheeks. Maybe they are just starting to move around a bit. have to keep and eye on that wink.gif

Goign to take DS to see Horton Hears a who tomorrow, i am actually looking forward to seeing the movie i have heard great reviews.

Oh well i am going to read the end of the last thread

Take it easy
~*tasha*~
Afternoon Ladies!

Well I think I am just about packed. This time tomorrow I will be in Sydney!! Hopefully the 2 children will be good on the plane!

Amy We all have days like that bbighug.gif If it helps Rebecca has been dribbling heaps for the past two weeks. I have seen no signs of teeth though. In saying that when I had DS it wasn't until a tooth came through that I had any idea he was teething!! laughing2.gif

Brooke Were they stares of shock or admiration??

Best keep moving see you all next week when I get back from Sydney!!

Tasha
amy76
Hi
Back again

question for you all, for those who have DD are you going to get their ears pierced. If so what age???

I havnt even really thought about it, just my girlfriend asked me the question today. I know this topic can get heated (which i know it wouldnt in hear) just generally would like to know what your thoughts are.

Ok off to watch the news

sleepy vibes to all
jaffagirl
i have been an avid stalker of you guys since the beginning of this group as well as the early feb DIG. i hope its ok that i join in... as you can see, i'm a bit of a novice and made a couple of early posts in the feb DIG but that has been it since then, so please bear with me as i learn the ropes original.gif I'm a bit shy and felt like i had not much to add so i hadn't joined in. But am starting to feel a little isolated being at home alone with the little one so i thought i might join you. I also live in Mount Isa (north west QLD) so don't have that many social options.

my little bubba Jaxon is nearly 8 weeks old now (he made an entrance 11 days past due via emergency c-section) and i have loved reading how you ladies are coping with the same dilemmas i'm faced with to original.gif

i'm not sure how often i'll be able to post as i'm still figuring out how to bathe myself and brush my teeth in the same day (i never realised how busy a little bub would make me), so forgive me for only popping in every now and then.

tasha and amy... not sure if this helps but i read that the human body doesn't start producing saliva until bubs are around 8 to 12 weeks old, and they're not used to swallowing it so they just let it fall out of their mouths. Jax has started dribbling in the last week as well.

anyways, thats it from me for now, hope i haven't bored you guys too much.

Cheers.
gissellle
My cousin's baby boy died today. He was a premie, born around 25wks, but his corrected age was about 8wks (he was due about 1wk after Sienna). I'm in tears typing this. How can this happen? He fought so hard to grow and come home, then he got sick. Life is so unfair.
adaze
Giselle, I'm so very sorry sad.gif . There's nothing else I can say. Light a candle for him tonight.
2mums22
Giselle - how heartbreaking for them...

below is a post i types this morning and have been struggling to get to load !
Hi ladies

Once again I have been MIA - but have been snooping to keep up !

Everyone’s bubs are so gorgeous – I had a look on the blog yesterday and they are all so yummy and growing so fast.. I am a little jealous of all you girls at home full time with your bubs. Not meant to be for me.. too many commitments and NO paid maternity leave…. I have decided I a going to be a campaigner for paid mat leave in my business. Wont help me… but surely we should get with the time and have it.. we are a large company and well behind the times.. bloody men !

Benty – I am very with you on the inbetweenies looking better than trying to squeeze or wear maternity clothes.. being back at work I needed some desperately – ended up at the cheapie shops buying some pants and two shirts… one of which is white and the girls at work all commented because apparently for the last year I have worn black pants black top EVERY DAY !! one new girl has never seen me in anything else…. Hehe…. The tragedy was I had to buy size 16 !!! which is all fine except I am normally a 10-12… 30kg gained during preg and still have 15 to lose.

Cheryl – Jake is beautiful – I love big baby boys…… there’s something so solid and lovely about then,, (my DS was a big boy )

Tasha – Don’t forget your brolly for Sydney - rain rain rain….

Nappies – DP bought crawlers for some reason – and Alex is swimming in them… will have to pop out to shops today to get some more infant size… no idea what she weighs now – will check on the weekend.. Weighing her involves weighing myself and I REALLY need to be in the right frame of mind for that !!

IDO – My bubs is not big on bathing either – and she is a stinky vomit girl !! loves her shower with mum though.

Ok – I think I am all caught up now and don’t feel like I am cheating reading thread without contributing !

We are doing well – settling into routines – both back at work but being very flexible… the nannies are coping brilliantly (I love those girls !! two sisters who share the job) they are untidy and messy but I don’t care because they LOVE our kids. Would rather spend their day rolling around on the floor with Tobs than keeping house tidy – I get that !! DP is apparently going to gently suggest they have a wee tidy up with the babies re both asleep between 12-2 !.. They normally go out for the entire afternoon.

Ok – best I get some work done

Be good everyone and keep posting the gorgeous pics !!
EyeHeartTrees
OMG Giselle sad.gif , that has sent chills up my spine as our little one is/was a premie too. I hope you don't mind me asking, did he catch a cold or was it something more serious? Our Dr has told us to lean on the side of paranoia with germs and to constantly wash our hands and to limit the amount of people who see her. I am so scared of her getting sick. My sincere sympathies to you, your cousin and your family. Sending you a big bbighug.gif

Jaffagirl, welcome! Hope to hear more from you. happy.gif I love your little boy's name. I know what you mean about bathing and brushing your teeth, at the beginning it was hard to try and fit anything in but baby. Only now am I starting to get on top of it all.
BentyBaby
Arghh !!

What is with this mod ?
I kept refreshing the other thread for most of the afternoon btn chores etc, and then saw it had been closed, at post 70 !!

Happens a lot in this forum, i've seen. No real rhyme nor reason. At least in the 'due' groups, you knew it was always around the '100' mark.

I wish it was more regulated in here too !
kaishra
Lactation cookies - I had an appointment at the osteopath yesterday, I had to express in the bathroom before my appointment cause I was so full! It was like my milk had just come in. Since all my kids have colds this is great cause what I express I can give to them lol

Lauren i'm curious to know about the tattoos!

Hubby has lots and lots and lots lol of tatts and I've always wanted one so we decided when we had Jake that we'd get one (or more) done, we're still promising that we'll get them done.
I'm getting the motherhood knot as well as something for the kids, probably a tree with their names in the leaves but we said that we'd get them done once the last child is born and since it seems we're not done yet we may be waiting a while, not sure yet.
notsochillimum
Morning Ladies..

I'm a mixed bag this morning.. All this talk over the last week about AF has apparently woken my body up rant.gif It's only light but its here. Was hoping for a bit longer than almost 8 weeks with breastfeeding wacko.gif On a happier note.. Jake slept from 9pm - 7am this morning!! Am not thinking that it will happen again tonight as we have needles this arvo, so am prepared for the worse. Was supposed to have pap smear at doctors too..bugger.. thats out now unsure.gif

Brooke - Your Photo?? Did you put the [ img ] infront of the photo code and [ / img ]at the end of it?? (no spaces in between the brackets) I've never had a problem if the img's are in place.

Amy - My teenagers want to see the Horton movie too. Looks good, we Dr Seuss in this house. you will have to give us a review happy.gif

Jaffagirl - Welcome!!

Gisselle - How devastating.. Heart warmed thoughts go out to you and your cousin. hands.gif hands.gif

Well i'm off to local mothers group for lunch better get organised. Great day to all!

Cheryl laugh.gif
RedsGirl
Gisselle - I am so so sorry about your cousin's little one.

I am a bit sad this morning as I think one of those kids who died in the NZ river accident is the grand/daughter of family friends. I didn't know her so much, but am VERY close to her grandmother who I know will be devasted. She lost one of her own sons (uncle of the girl who died)at 16 as well, so sad.

Jaffa - a big welcome. Don't worry about being shy. I am not the biggest with blogs/forums etc, but these ladies are very patient and a mine of info and support and even put up witih my bad typing!

Tori - hi!! Nice to see you in here!

baths - Jemima loves her bath with Dad, however every now and then she just chucks a wobbly. i am not sure if she suddenly feels cold or a wave of tired hits her but off she goes. Most nights she is fine and loves kicking and splashing about. when i am home alone with her in the evenings I shower with her, which she loves as well - I just can't wash her as well as we can in the bath.

Amy - a friend of mine who will be getting their DD ears done told me she wanted to wait until around 18 months but her DH is pushing for 12 months

Amy/Tasha - i recently read the same as Jaffa girl - that around 8-10 weeks is when bubs start producing saliva, don't know how to swallow etc etc. Jemima started frothing/bubbling last week and I freaked thinking something was wrong, but not so!

Cheryl - yay on the sleep and fingers crossed!

Cheers all,

Megan
adaze

I bought a thickener for Ruby's bottles as she's soooooooo spewy, and so far NO VOMITS!
claireabell

Jaffagirl, welcome! I have seen you at the bottom of the boards every now and then and am glad you've joined us original.gif .
i have loved reading how you ladies are coping with the same dilemmas i'm faced with to

Same here, this place is an absolute lifesaver at times.

Benty, the pic with DS2 in the sling is gorgeous, he is growing quickly!

Giselle, i am so sorry, that is devastating. your poor family. that is my worst nightmare (as i'm sure it is for everyone else). Life absolutely sucks sometimes.

Prue bbighug.gif

Weighing her involves weighing myself and I REALLY need to be in the right frame of mind for that !!

LOL Tori!

Lauren i absolutely love men with tatts dev (6).gif i've got a real thing about it... but then i go and marry the most clean-cut guy i can find laughing2.gif

Cheryl good luck with Jake's needles. Evie was a bit grizzly after hers but then slept alllll day long the next day (i had to wake her for feeds) and then was back to her usual self the next day, so it might not affect Jake too badly.

Amy i'll let Evie get her ears pierced when she asks for it. i had mine done at about 8 i think on condition that i take swimming lessons (not sure why that is relevant, just throught i'd throw it in there!).

Megan, that's incredibly sad. i can't get my head around that accident - so many kids...

Adaze glad to hear Ruby is doing better with the thickener, sounds like it has done the trick.

Portacots - does anyone have one of these? if so, do they take standard size sheets? we are off to NZ to see FIL next month and i am going to buy one to keep over there. we just picked up a cheapy pram on ebay to keep there as well - saves lugging our one over a few times a year.

My mum is on hols at the moment (teacher) so we took Evie shopping yesterday. She absolutely loved it but unfortunately didn't sleep a wink the whole time we were there and got so overtired. She got spolit rotten with loads of new clothes for winter at the target sale.

I'm off to get my hair done tomorrow original.gif My dad said the other day 'your hair's getting darker'. i said i know, it's called having a baby and not having enough time to get to the hairdresser... and he responds with 'do you tint your hair?' with a look of amazement on his face. dad with the late-breaking news! i have been colouring my hair (red, blonde and light brown) since i was about 15 and only now he realises.

Mums of 2 or more kids - what did you find harder - going from no kids to 1 kid, or from 1 kid to 2 (or more)? We are thinking about TTC #2 at some stage (not right away though) but i am worried as DD has been a pretty easy baby and i can't help but think the next one will be harder. Silly worry really but i am curious.

have a great arvo girls, i am off to eat the choccy DH foolishly hid where i could find it biggrin.gif
Rylani
Claireabell - there is 22 months between my two, I found going from none to one a huge adjustment but going from one to two was well to be honest quiet easy. I've been blessed though as both my kids were/are good babies. I think it'll get harder when DD is a bit older and wanting more attention rather than just eating and sleeping and even harder when she is crawling and fighting with DS over toys.

Jaffagirl - hi and welcome!

Giselle - So so sorry to hear that, stories like that even when you don't know the people really hurt as you can only imagine how much hurt the family would go thru.

Benty - I agree about the threads closing quickly, it makes it even harder to keep up with personals when your trying to flick through numerous screens.

Lauren - I need to get to one of the WA mum meets and meet your little ones but so far I've been busy on those days or in desperate need for a day at home (you know how some days you just want to stay home and get things done) will get to one soon though.

I've been shopping with my two this morning, people can't beleive I go shopping with them both all the time but it's actually quiet easy still. DD goes on the end of the trolley in her capsule and sleeps the whole time and DS sits in his trolleymate in the front of the trolley. You can't keep this girl out of the shops grin.gif I've been so bad this time around, girls stuff is just so cute, DD is quickly accumulating way too many clothes but who can resist!
~Simply*Blue~
Hi everyone original.gif

Hope you don't mind me dropping back in, I'd love to stay in here now if that's ok. Been so busy lately with everything, 3 kids is really hard and we also moved last weekend as well wacko.gif

Miller's doing great, down to one night feed now. He's got a bit of a flat spot on his head that we are trying to rectify.

Rylani - Not sure if you were in our dig or not sorry blush.gif I agree girls stuff is so cute, I hope I have a neice one day to buy for wub.gif

Claire - laughing2.gif at your dad! I have 20 months between my first two and 17 months between 2 & 3. Going from 1 -2 wasn't too bad, although ds2 was really difficult for the first 7 months. Since I have had Miller it has been extremely difficult. 2-3 is just crazy I can't believe the difference. If I was ever to have another one I would definately wait longer. My babies have got progressively worse. DS1 was great except for his reflux, DS2 was a pain in the bum but didn't spew and this time Miller is a pain in the bum with reflux laughing2.gif

Adaze - That's great news about the thickener. I saw your other post. My oldest ds had reflux and I found that Lactogen was really good for him. He was really bad with S26. I also found that colic remedies made it alot worse.

Megan - that sounds horrible sad.gif Hope you are ok.

Cheryl - I don't think you were in the dig either? Sorry if you were. But hi anyway original.gif what a great sleeper you have! Can he come and teach my little one how to do it tongue.gif Please don't put off your pap smear I had one a couple of weeks ago and came back with abnormalities.

Lauren - I'll be getting something for the boys as well. My dh wants me to just get their first initials or something. I just googled the motherhood knot, it looks great, very similar to a tat I already have original.gif

2mums - Good luck with your campaign, I agree we are so behind the times. It's funny that your jealous of being a sahm when I am jealous of the working mums. Might be a case of the grass is always greener for me blush.gif

Giselle - I don't think I've talked to you before but I am so very sorry for your loss. It just doesn't seem fair sad.gif My thoughts are with you and your family.

Benty - Off to check out that pic, from memory you got a jazsling as well. I have been using mine daily I love it. Thanks for recommending it to me many months ago!
dizzydragonfly
Giselle- That is just awful for your family. So so sorry for that. {{hugs}} to you.

Claire- for me, going from 2 to three has been the worse. Only because the two older ones get into eachother and I struggle to settle DS and become referee for them. I am sure that it will get easier when he gets older. (wishful thinking..wink.gif)

The girls are just getting over a cold that had them coughing like nothing...and now poor DS has it. It is just awful. I have been wiping his eyes with saline and putting the saline up his nose to help him breathe. He has had to have his first dose of Panadol. sad.gif He slept really well last night at least..from 8:30pm to 7:15am..

grrr finally get to log on and he is now awake..poor little one..gotta fly.
adaze
Claireabell: There's 23 months between Ava & Ruby and I found going from 0 to 1 MUCH harder than 1 to 2. TBH, I've been surprised at how easy having another baby is (touch wood).
BentyBaby
what did you find harder - going from no kids to 1 kid, or from 1 kid to 2

I found going from 0 - 1 *extremely easy*, but then I had an easy baby and he fit right in to our regular lives. The only think I missed was our regular Friday night restaurant meal with a bottle of wine wub.gif ... goodbye DINK status ! laughing2.gif

Going from 1 - 2 has only been difficult in the fact I feel for the firstborn - my time with him has been effectively halved, and I feel guilty about this. Also, the pram situation bugs me ( still waiting on my double !! ), so today, walking quite a distance with the stroller and the sling, it annoyed me.

That said, these are all small, petty niggles, as DS1 really loves DS2, and i'm so happy to have been able to provide a sibling for him, and I can't wait to see them grow and interact more.

Oh - and ther's 4yrs between my two. It was meant to be 3, but #2 took a bit longer than predicted. That said, I now think 4 yrs difference is great ( especially if child #1 can go into kinder or care for a day a week and you get that lovely 1 on 1 time with the 2nd... )

Hi to all waves.gif
Better get onto dinner now, DH's b'day today, so cooking him a nice steak. Just got home and house needs a tidy-up first !! ohmy.gif
jettsmum2006
Evening All

I agree that 0-1 is much harder than 1-2. There is 21 months between my two. DS is two on Anzac Day! Once you have figured out how to look after 1 you just end up doing al the same things just with an extra person. So instead of changing one nappy you change two....

Benty I am also having pram problems!!!! I just cant find a double pram that i am happy with!!!

Better finish dinner now, DD has gone to sleep on my shoulder so will hopefully stay that way while i make it.

Back lata

Shell
jettsmum2006
Thought i would add a new pic of my little 'hoodie'girl

Excuse the 'healthy'rolls lol
adaze
jettsmum: She's delicious!!

Benty: I was really worried that my time with Ava would be cut, but I've been surprised. I actually spend pretty much the same amount of time with her...luckily Ruby is a cruiser so she just tags along iykwim. Plus she sleeps a lot...
ginnyk
Hi !

I found going from 1-2 kids easy, in fact better than just 1 ... but there is a 6 year age gap between DS and DD, so DS is at school all day, and he adores his little sister (not an ounce of jealousy). I think I'm also liking it as I have a whole year of mat leave this time, rather than the 14 weeks I had with DS. Oh and DD is an easy baby where as DS was a bit intense....

Jettsmum - Gorgeous shot, and love the rolls - shows she isn't going hungry laughing2.gif laughing2.gif

Giselle - sad.gif Thats so terrible about your cousin's baby, a parent's worst nightmare.

Brooke - I always get lots of stares/questions with my sling. I snuggle amelia in it and close the top now, as people used to poke their head in and say 'can she breathe?' ... I guess they are still not that common (apart from the Feb 08 girls!).

Amy - I'm thinking 16 for ears pierced, although if she wants it earlier I'm not that strict so who knows ! Certainly won't be before she goes to school though !!

Hi Jaffagirl!

Sorry for the lack of other personals. Soooo tired, I need Zzzzzzz......

Had Amelia weighed today, she is 4.68kg, so she has put on about 600gm in a month which is a lot less than her first month... But she has been pretty unsettled and not feeeding well since her immunisations last week. She has finally started laughing again today - she sounds like daryl Hannah in 'splash' when she talks in the mermaid voice... ie a bit like a high pitched dolphin!
briannasmum
Hi girls, Hope your all well original.gif

I can only remember 2 topics without looking back sorry.

Pierced Ears - I feel awful now sad.gif Every one give all the older ages.. We pierced Brianna's ears at 6 months.. It barely bothered her though. she cried for a few seconds and was over it and she never played with them at all. She actually cried less than having her needles.

Oh bugger I forgot the second topic I remembered LOL!!

oh thats right.
Going from 0 to 1 and 1 to 2

I found having the first easy peasy - she was a fantastic baby though and going from 1 to 2 was a lot easier than I had every expected. Mind you we have had a couple of bad days but they past.
Like Benty I too felt guilty for DD1.. I wish I had more time for her sad.gif Im sure once Maddison is mobile it will be much better for mine and briannas relationship original.gif
gissellle

I just have a quick question for those with slings. Do you ever have trouble getting bubs in? I find its a tight squeeze and she tends to get squirmy and cranky while i'm trying to get her in. Also do your bubs enjoy being in there? Sienna looks squashed and uncomfortable. sad.gif

I'll be back tomorrow to catch up with personals.
kaishra
It's only light but its here. Was hoping for a bit longer than almost 8 weeks with breastfeeding wacko

Joel is only 6 weeks old and mine started (kinda, very light) last night, no pains though. biggrin.gif DH is stoked cause then we can start on #5! lol, It took longer for it to come back last time cause Tom was 4months old when it started up again and I got pregnant 3 months later.

Was supposed to have pap smear at doctors too..bugger..

I'm booked in for next Wednesday for mine I think, will see how it goes, Joel's having his shot then anyway so I'll ask the Dr.

I need to get to one of the WA mum meets and meet your little ones

Yes you do Gemma lol the woodvale group is meeting every 2nd Tuesday at Waldecks on Wannaroo Rd, next meet is the 29th at 10am.

gissellle put the sling on and adjust is so it's loose, put bub over your shoulder and grab a leg, bring bubs down through the sling feet first then adjust it. It just takes practise. My kids have all loved being in the sling, I don't always lay them down in it either, my kids are stickbeaks and want to see what's going on.

I've found going from 3-4 kids the most challenging I think, mainly cause my eldest is 3 and what they tell you about the terrible 2's is worse when they're 3! Plus I have a 2yo going through the terrible 2's as well, plus a 1yo with a temper! Plus I keep getting on EB late at night and don't go to bed till 3am or so and DS1 & 2 don't want to nap in the afternoon so I can't catch up. I'm going to bed at a reasonable time tonight, I'm not as young as i once was lol
TayDan
Gisselle, i am so sorry to hear about your cousins baby, what a terrible thing to happen..
My condolences to you & your family...xx
jacqpot

I found going from 1-2 a huge adjustment and super hard.DS was only 16 months so effectively still a baby.I look at photos now of him when DD was born and feel so guilty of the expectations I had of him then.Poor lil mite.DD1 was totally unplanned....breastfeeding and got pregnant basically as soon as solids were introduced.Not how I would've planned it at all....BUT....now they are so close and take on the world together.Gorgeous.Don't get me wrong they fight and squabble and drive me crazy but in general they entertain each other which frees me up to focus on DD2.(sometimes!!!)I have found 2-3 a sinch with a few lifestyle adjustments....ie.shop weekly,prepare meals in the am,just try to be more organised and disciplined!(not so much time on EB!!!Sadly)I think it is my frame of mind too.Sadie was a surprise too(no contraceptive,that is what happens!!!Must've missed that day at school!) but a better gap IMO.And I always wanted 3.Love the full back seat.

Anyway,Miss Sadie is great...sleeping really well,10.30pm last night and still asleep now.Took her to the MCHN last week and she had hardly put on any weught in a month which upset me greatly so now I just feed,feed,feed, whenever she looks like wanting it.Also trying to increase my supply.I wasn't starving her by any stretch but def. spacing feeds to 3 hourly.Weigh her again today so hope she has increased.I felt so bad...BUT....she is avery content baby so shouldn't worry.

Anyway,Hi all and welcome all newbies....although I feel new again with lack of posts.
amy76
Morning ladies

Gissell what terrible news my thoughts are with you and your family

Helen what a fab pic i can never get one of Lucy smilen, love the roles i think that is the best part grin.gif

briannasmum dont feel awful i am thinking about getting lucy done in the next 6 months. Each to their own i belive

Going from 0to 1 and also to 2 has been a breeze both times. But i am very fortunate as both my kids have been good easy babies and because Callum is 5 (and he loves and adores Lucy) he understands when i can't be their for him straight away and their has been no jelousy. I think that comes down to how we prepared him for Lucy arrival. I told him that she would love him more than anyone in the whole world and that has made him feel extremely important (which he loves)

well off to start the day
adaze
Advice pls.

A couple of times, Ruby has woken at 5am and is quite unsettled. I just cant be bothered at that time to persist with resettling so I just bring herinto bed with me and she goes straight back to sleep.
The trouble is that I DON'T want to co-sleep and I don't want her to start waking everday at that time to come into bed with me iykwim? I mean, I love having a cuddle with her in bed, but I just don't feel safe iykwim..
So, my question is...do you think I should try and resettle,or do you think that eventually she'll just wake later than 5am, so I don;t need to worry....

I think I need to ditch the dummy - I was up twice last night to put it in...
notsochillimum
Morning Ladies..

Jake had his needles yesterday, think I took it harder than him laugh.gif I have been so lucky with him, not really a crying baby. He will whinge and whine to get my attention and I try to attend to him before he can scream the house down. But when those needles went in ohmy.gif OMG his cries made me cry too. Didn't last very long but was awful. I kept reminding myself that it would be worse if he somehow contracted one of the diseases these needles guards him against. After a clingy late arvo he did go to bed at 9.30pm and is still sleeping!! Mind you I have been up for almost 2 hours.. just couldnt go back to sleep wacko.gif Have gotten most of the housework outta the way already lol

Adaze - Great news about the thickener!

Amy - My DD, Brooke was 6 years old when I could not stand the whingeing anymore and decided to let her have her ears pierced. I remember the ladies at the shop did both ears at the same time and she screamed and asked if there was blood. She cried and cried til one of the ladies put a mirror up to face once she saw how pretty they were she stop immediately and smiled lol

Rebecca - Hi.. no i wasnt in the DIG, was recommended this site my another mother after Jake was born. I only too well understand the importance of pap smears, was diagnosed with pre cancerous cells way back in 1989. After the precedure I have been insisting on getting checked every year (not 2years as drs advised). As soon as I can I will be back up to the doctors to get tested as this has been the longest I have gone without one since then.

Jettsmum - Thats the sweetest pic! Love the rolls! Jake has them too. I think they are the cutest!

she sounds like daryl Hannah in 'splash' when she talks in the mermaid voice... ie a bit like a high pitched dolphin!

Ginny - Thats the most heart warming thing! grin.gif

For all you mums of new bubba boys.. Are you having them Circumsized?? My DS1, Ben is and suddenly occurred to me that I should get Jake done too. Both of their fathers were and I don't want to Jake or Ben to feel like they are different. What do you think??

Ah..great! Jake is finally up, my right bosom will be back to normal size very soon laugh.gif

Have a great one girls!

Cheryl laugh.gif
~Andi~

Slowly making our way through the unpacking, only a few to go now, but I've totally lost motivation lol. Will try an unpack at least one more today happy.gif

Cheryl I think it's a very personal choice and one that gets heated on EB (hopefully not in our group!) My DS is done, but I was very glad not to have to make the decision again this time, as it was a hard one to make first time round!

adaze I probably can't give you much advice, because we do co-sleep..... and Lily won't take a dummy so can't help there either lol. All I can say about co-sleeping is that you are VERY aware that the baby is there, we have a king size bed too so there's plenty of room. We just do what works for us....

Jettsmum Gorgeous pic! Lily has healthy rolls too LOL.

Gemma I thought I'd only go to the shops on days when Jack was at daycare - but I've found it's actually easy to go with them both! He loves to hold the pram so I know I won't lose him lol.

Claire I have a portacot and it takes smaller sheets...but I'm not sure if they're all like that? Enjoy your haircut - I had mine done on the weekend (first time in 12 weeks ohmy.gif) and feel soooo much better!

Gisselle sad.gif so sorry about your cousins baby.

Going from 1-2 I think I've found this harder than going from 0-1...probably for the same reasons Benty listed. DS has taken it harder than I thought he would, and has become a real Daddys boy, which makes me sad sad.gif

Lily is still catnapping mellow.gif but it's starting to affect our days more.... in that because she's tired (she really needs to sleep longer, but just won't!) she's not feeding properly so is feeding more regularly and then still only sleeping for 20-30 minutes at a time wacko.gif It's hard to do anything or even get out of the house and I just don't know what to do, it's starting to get me down because it makes it even harder to spend time with DS. Suggestions are welcome!

Ok, off to try and do some housework while she's sleeping....

Andi.
adaze
Andi, yep I am very aware when she's with me, but I just don't want to do it. I guess I don't want her to be coming into bed with me until she's 5 iykwim? Just not for me...
*astro*
I finally got around to writing up a quick birth story last night - here it is:
http://members.essentialbaby.com.au/index....howtopic=526274

Going from 1 to 2 and then to 3 - its an adjustment each time, then it just becomes normal life so you get on with it, yk? Its all certainly challenging lots of the time, theres a lot more stains on the carpet, and the house is messier and a lot noiser, but its still all great (when i can ignore the laundry pile...)
amy76
hiya

took lucy fir a check up today she now weights 5.5kg and 59cm. so she i going along nicely. i was a bit concerned as she still only has 120ml every 3 hrs but sh is putting on weight so thats good

cheryl my DS is circumsized at 5 days old - he cried for about a min and that was it. it is a very personal decision and always prevokes heated threads but again each to their own. my reason was ALL THE MEN on both sides of family are done (right wrong or otherwise) i didnt want DS to be odd one out.

anyway off to watch SVU on foxtel
holly7
Andi: I'm with you. DS only has 30mins max every sleep and i know how you feel. Leaving the house is a nightmare with sleeps but you've just got to do it sometimes. I can only imagine how hard it would be with a toddler. My DS has no routine and i've tried the whole re-settling thing. it just doesn't work.
moo~tickle
another one here who has trouble with sleeps in the day. but the funny thing is, i find it better when we are out as madison is more likely to go to sleep in the carseat or pram. i enjoy getting out because it means i dont have to hold her - she will only sleep if being cuddled. makes it very hard to do ANYTHING at home

bought madison lamaze spin gym thing today - 50% off at myer only $29.95

does a babies weight plateau at any point? i dont think m has put any on for 2 weeks but she is a healthy size and still feeding/weeing well
briannasmum
Just thought I would share my angel with you all

11 weeks already sad.gif

babybump2
OMG.... haven't posted FOREVER!!! My computer died and went to hospital... I missed this site so much! Well I am being requested for cluster night time feeds but wanted to drop a line and say hello... look forward to reading all the posts since my computer has been away.

Hope all are well and the babies are thriving!

Sary
gissellle

I'll try and catch up, havent really felt up to posting last 2 days.

Prue my cousins baby died from meningococcal. I never realised premie babies dont have the same immunity as term babies. My sister's DD1 was born at 29wks and she wouldnt even take her to the hyperdome shopping centre when she was really little. She know a healthy 3 1/2yr old little terror! I guess you can never be too careful.

Ear piercing I hadnt really thought about it. If Sienna's ears are anything like mine i dont think i'll do it to her. Mine kept getting infected, finally were ok when i was 16.

Welcome jaffagirl! I'm a shy person too, it took me awhile to post on here. I was serial stalker for a few months! I also suck at personals but i try my best grin.gif

Cheryl not sure if i already mentioned that Jake's gorgeous wub.gif When Sienna had her needles she slept from 3pm till 9.30pm when i woke her for a feed, nappy change, panadol as she had a slight temp, spewed that up and went back to sleep till 2.30, then slept till 7am.

adaze thats good to hear Ruby's doing well with the thickener. Sorry i dont have any advice for you with Ruby waking at 5am. Sienna still isnt sleeping thru! Last night i put her to bed at 9pm and she was up then at 12.45, 5.45 and 9am wacko.gif

Portacots we dont have one yet. My sis had one for her first 2 though. Even if the sheets were a bit bigger it wouldnt matter would it?
'do you tint your hair?' with a look of amazement on his face

Lol at your dad!!

Mums of 2 or more kids well i cant actually answer this as i only have 1! I too have been thinking about no.2 (thats so scary, as i swore i was never going thru that again laughing2.gif ) I think i'd like 2years between them, which would mean starting TTC when Sienna is about 1 ohmy.gif Hmmm well see....

Welcome Rebecca!

Jettsmum What a gorgeous pic of Jayla! Sienna has healthy rolls on her thighs! laugh.gif

AF & Pap Smears I though i got AF again on Saturday, but it was really light and was gone by tuesday. My doc has sent me for an ultrasound to make sure there's no retained membranes or anything. I too have had high grade abnormalities on my pap smears since Jan 07. I'll have to have a cone biopsy done if nothing has changed since having DD, going back to hospital on the 30th to find out.

Amy Sienna is still only 55.5cm and 5.3kg so i think your bubba is doing well! biggrin.gif

Helen beautiful pic of Maddison! original.gif

Welcome back Sary! Lol at your computer going to hospital laughing2.gif

Catnapping I think im really lucky here as Sienna has really good day sleeps, 2hrs+! I still struggle to get things done (somehow i think its my lack of motivation blush.gif )

Well i have a funeral to go to on Monday cry1.gif I really done want to take Sienna though. Its hard since she's fully BF i cant leave her with DP's mum or Sis.

It's my birthday on Saturday! A big 25, im getting so old laughing2.gif

Ok im off now, Sienna is asleep and i havent showered yet!

Hope you all have a restful night original.gif

Gissellle xx
EyeHeartTrees
Gisellle - thank you for sharing. I can understand your sister's reasons, I haven't really taken Grace anyway, we were told to steer clear of shopping centres and crowded places until she had her 4 month immunisations which she had last month but I am still reluctant to go out. I can see a protective paranoid mother forming inside me which I have to watch that it doesn't get out of control. blush.gif
ginnyk
Helen, that picture is just gorgeous. You've inspired me to get off my butt and get one done of Amelia!

BBL for personals...
claireabell
Good morning everyone!

Rebecca, welcome back! It's good to see you again and glad to hear Miller is doing well (still hheart.gif his name BTW).

Krys how is Nathaniel going? Hope he's feeling a bit better. I'm dreading Evie's first cold, i know i will panic.

Benty happy b'day to your DH for yesterday original.gif

Shell Jayla is gorgeous! i love the healthy rolls - cute name for them too!

Ginny your description of Amelia's laugh is so cute wub.gif Evie's laugh is similar to her great uncle Howard's... deep and loud!

Giselle with the sling, DD looks squashed, but i'm sure she's not otherwise she would let me know. it takes a bit of practice to get her in, i lean forward while wearing the sling and it can sometimes take a while to get her to sit in it properly.

Lauren, wow, four kids is amazing. you sound so calm for a mum of four little ones too. i'd love to have a family that size one day.

Jacquie how did you go with getting Sadie weighed again? i worry about Evie's weight all the time, although am not getting her weighed again now until she is 3 months.

I told him that she would love him more than anyone in the whole world and that has made him feel extremely important (which he loves)

Amy that's simply gorgeous.

Adaze i'm not sure about the co-sleeping, so don't have any advice to offer sorry. what happens if you put her back in her cot at 5am?

Cheryl i hope Jake is feeling better after his needles.

Andi i hope the unpacking is going well. i can understand your frustration with the catnapping - Evie has days like that and they drive me around the bend. i can usually get her back to sleep but it means my days is taken up with resettling. there is a book called sleep right, sleep tight that is supposed to have good advice... i haven't read it but it was recommended to me at sleep school.

Astro your birth story is wonderful!

Holly how are you going with Hudson and his bedtime? My CHN was rabbiting on about babies and their 'circadian rhythms' the other day, so maybe that has something to do with it? dr google might know more.

but the funny thing is, i find it better when we are out as madison is more likely to go to sleep in the carseat or pram.

Sounds great Brooke, Evie flat out refuses to sleep in her pram, drives me crazy wacko.gif . If i want to do a long shop i have to recruit someone to come with me to help with baby holding/bag carrying etc.

As for baby weight gain, i think it drops off at about 12 weeks.

Helen, Maddison is beautiful, very cute photo.

Sary, welcome back!!!

I too have had high grade abnormalities on my pap smears since Jan 07

Same here - i was having to have paps every 6 months wacko.gif . i had another at my 6 week check though and it came back clear. i bled after it though - not nice.

I can see a protective paranoid mother forming inside me which I have to watch that it doesn't get out of control.

Prue that's understandable, i would feel the same. I had no idea premmie bubs had lower immunity... i naievely though that once they'd made it to their due date they were back on an even keel. excuse my ignorance.

Got my hair done yesterday grin.gif I ended up getting it chopped above my shoulders as it has had a little too much spew in it lately for my liking. i felt so old getting a 'practical' haircut though, so went blonder too to makeup for it. i'll regret that in a couple of months when i have to get it done again...

we had our last offical mothers' group yesterday, although we are going to keep meeting up. one of the mums left in tears, i felt so bad for her. she had taken her twins to get their 4 month vaccinations the day before and one of them had reacted badly, meaning only one hour's sleep the night before. she was saying how she felt bad that she had neglected the other twin, started to cry and it all snowballed from there. i can't imagine how hard it must be to have two little bubs.

it's been interesting reading about everyone's experiences going from 0-1 and 1-2 kids, thanks for sharing. from the sounds of it us mums of 1 don't have *too* much to be scared about if/when we go back for more.

DD is calling, BBL.

claire
~Simply*Blue~
Miller has slept through the last 2 nights ddance.gif Just hope it lasts hands.gif

I've been feeling really funny the last few weeks, like af is going to turn up but hasn't unsure.gif A bit crampy, I hope it doesn't have anything to do with the abnormal pap smear unsure.gif

Claire - Thanks wub.gif I love your sig!

Prue- You have every reason to become overprotective, I wouldn't blame you at all.

Helen - That pic is just gorgeous wub.gif

Gisselle - I love that pic of Sienna in your sig, that was what we were going to call Miller if he was a girl wub.gif

Astro - hi buddy! I've been wondering lately if you are still tandem feeding? Sorry if it's too intrusive I was just curious.

Brooke - I think from memory that babies do plateau at times. As long as they are happy and plenty of wet and dirty nappies like you have then they should be fine.

Shell - Jayla is gorgeous, I love that pic wub.gif
jacqpot
Claire Thanks so much for asking about Sadies weigh,she only put on 30 grams in a week which upset me but then the nurse said to me if I hadn't known her small weight gains would I be worried about her and the answer is no because she is doing really well.So that makes me feel much better.
tortagianduia
Afternoon girls!

I haven't had a chance to post for a week! Crazy!

DS1 is back at highschool this week. The boys have to wear ties in terms 2 & 3. original.gif He looks so grown up!

Coen had his vaccinations done on Wednesday. Afterwards we were told to stay for 10 minutes in the waiting room to check he was okay. Coen was upset as it was getting close to the time he'd want to feed, so I decided he couldn't wait for 10 minutes - I'd have to feed him there. There was no one else waiting so got him attached with no probs but then several people walked in including an older guy who chose to sit on the other side of the room facing me. ohmy.gif I felt so uncomfortable! When Coen was finished I couldn't even get my boob tucked back into my bra discretely so gave up and walked out holding Coen over the front of me (with my shirt pulled down but boob out of bra). blush.gif I am so crap at this whole feeding in public thing!

Coen was running a bit of a temp that afternoon and yesterday, plus was a little grizzly. I gave him Panadol for his temp. He seems pretty much back to normal today, though he is a little overtired from visitors yesterday (friends of my mum came over from 10:30am till 3pm mellow.gif ). He's having a good sleep at the moment.

Nappies - I bought crawlers because I thought the infant size were getting a little small, but the crawlers are really big on him even though he is about 6.3kg at the moment, so I think I'll get some more infant size next shop.

Slings - MIL and FIL came over on Tuesday and we went out for coffee. I took Coen in his stroller as I thought it would be easier to eat and drink if he wasn't attached to me. He was perfectly happy. Anyway, MIL tells me she met a girl who was carrying her bub in a ring sling and she thought it was a terrific idea so she decided to go ahead and order one for me. huh.gif I appreciate the kindness of this, but would have preferred it if she had spoken to me or DH first before going ahead and ordering it. I already have a Hugabub, a Peanut Shell, and an Ergo! wacko.gif I haven't been carrying Coen in any of them when she has been over, but that is because she has only seen him a few times and it is always at my house, so he has been either asleep in his bassinet or has been cuddled. I had sent her photos of Coen in the Hugabub and the Peanut Shell weeks ago though, so there's no reason why she should think I have been completely ignorant of the convenience of a carrier or carrier-less. If she had really wanted to buy something, there are other more useful things she could have gotten. How ungrateful do I sound? sad.gif I don't mean to, and I did politely thank her when she told me. unsure.gif So I am waiting for the ring sling to arrive in the post. Apparently the woman who makes them only lives a couple of suburbs away from me, and MIL had already ordered when she told me on Tuesday, but it still hasn't arrived.

Benty, sorry to hear about DH's uncle. sad.gif Is DS1 excited about his party?! I loved the sling pic!

Gissellle, I am so sorry to hear about your cousin's little boy. How heartbreaking for the family. sad.gif

Jacquie, do you use the infant insert with your Ergo? I have an Ergo but didn't buy the insert, so I haven't been using it yet, but thought I might be able to try Coen in it without the insert soon.

Welcome jaffagirl! waves.gif

Lauren, so you have decided you will go for #5?

Sorry I haven't done many personals. I'd better squeeze some housework in while Coen is still sleeping.

Have a great weekend everyone!

Amanda
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.