The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: Feb 03 Parents # 141

Essential Baby > Parents' Groups > Join a parents' group here > 2000-2003
Bel
New Thread Time original.gif

Link to Last Thread
Nics
GOLD!

Michelle - really pleased to hear that! I too let the boys sleep late this afternoon but am paying for it now! Even though I know its school hols tomorrow - Aiden still has preschool so cant go to bed too late and Im tired so want them to go to bed now! Jarrod and I have a date tomorrow - we are off to the movies just the 2 of us to see Horton hears a who... thought we'd take advantage of Aiden being in preschool and do something together ( thus Ive had the day off work!!)

On the Dh front - he does have a few more trips away but Ive banned him from July onwards just in case I go early. Im looking at a quick labour anyway so dont want the added worry of who will drive me to the hopsital in the middle of the night as well as mind the boys! I dont mind it for a couple of nights here and there although I HATE the weekend trips - thats supposed to be OUR time rant.gif

OK off to bed now so speak soon!
micallep
Nic, yes BD'ed very late evening of CD 16, O'ed afternoon sometime of CD18 and then BD'ed morning of CD19. Hope that covers our bases and yes M knew, I'm not making it obvious as in lets BD now, if we're in the mood then so be it and it just so happened to be those 2 days original.gif. The only difference is that there's no need to tell him when the safe and unsafe times are tongue.gif .

Michelle, I loved your pics of Josh and Belle.........the bliss of sleeping kiddies!
~JAS~
Hi girls original.gif

Nic Thanks for missing me biggrin.gif Was school hols here last week (student free day today and they go back tomorrow) so was a little busier than normal last week. Glad the "bully" party went well original.gif Enjoy Horton today. I took Josh and Adam to see that on Friday while Shawn was at daycare - same theory as you today wink.gif

Michelle So glad the 2nd party was good and you got to relax!! Adam also has those clingy days as well - so you're not alone!

Ping Glad to hear things have settled down and M is getting a bit excited! Good luck original.gif Oh and we've been married 11 years, together 14.

Thursday we went up the Sunshine Coast to visit Relle and family at their holiday apartment. Had an awesome day! Left home at 9am and got home at 7:30pm, so was a long day, but it was really good. Great to spend some more time with Relle, and got to see Cam this time as well original.gif

Shawn is a bit sick atm. Was fine first thing yesterday morning. Then we had my cousin's DD's christening at 11am and he was really clingy during the service. He fell asleep in the car going to the lunch afterwards and by the time we got there was running a 39 temp huh.gif So Scott left Josh, Adam and I at the lunch and took Shawn home. He's been febrile ever since but only sitting around 38.2 so will see how he goes. He's lying on the lounge atm watching Nemo - has no energy at all. I just hope it's nothing something contagious as Adam has his procedure under GA this Thursday.

Michaela
Jet07

Had a lovely weekend - a first birthday party in a park on Saturday for another EBers DD, then DH's softball team end of season BBQ at our place yesterday. Turned into a Wii afternoon, and they're now planning regular Wii nights through the off season wacko.gif .

Actually I'm really happy as this is the first time since we moved that DH had invited someone over to the house at all! One of the team is a plumber and has offered to put in an extra downpipe for us to stop the gutters overflowing under our pergola so that was a pretty good outcome too! Lucky it rained while he was here laughing2.gif

A bit of a downer or two though - MIL survived a heart attack on Saturday and is still on O2 as she's not getting enough into her lungs with her restricted passages, and then a very good friend of MIL died on Saturday night - from cancer! Not what she needed this weekend.

Trying to arrange a flying Sydney trip in next couple of weeks to visit her, although there's not much we can do. Just glad she's still in hospital, even she admitted today it's the only place for her to be as she is still struggling just to get to the ensute without passing out.

Michaela - so do you know when Relle is getting to Sydney yet? Maybe I could try for then ph34r.gif . Ohh I hope SHawn is nothing serious and Adam avoids any prblems!

Nic - Talon was actually less work at the movies than Shea! Not a typical situation I know. Know what you mean about weekend trips. I had my sister as a backup support person. Thank goodness DH hardly has to travel now. I'm still feeling tired onstantly - but have started trying to get to bed by about 9pm every night! Haven't slept well last couple of nights, and had stomach pains yesterday arvo, but that could just been too much party food.

Michelle - Your social weekend sounded as busy as mine. I love photos of sleeping children too! How cute!

Ping - together 26 years next week, and married 16 years next month! Fingers crossed for you with TTC. HOw exciting! My BT results were fluctuating month to month which was very confusing but apparently that happens with Hashimotos.

Julie - TMI!! tongue.gif . Hope you've caught up on sleep now wink.gif

Lisa - I'm so sorry to hear about your friend. And know exactly what you mean by putting things in perspective. Your weekend away sounds like what we need!

Better go - meant to be washing then shopping now my brand new fridge (the warranty replacement) is here and I've finished stacking it.
MichelleM
I've had such an unproductive day today. I find that if I know I have no one coming over or don't have to be anywhere all day that I can't get myself motivated to get going in the morning and then it spirals from there! Ah well, dinner is half thought about and we've all been showered and dressed so I guess that's something!

I have forgotten when I started washing babies clothes. I was thinking about starting after the holidays finish so I will be 34 weeks. Does that sound too early?

Jannette I'm so sorry to hear about your MIL. She just can't seem to catch a break at the moment but I'm glad she's being cared for in hospital, especially if she is finding normal day to day care hard at the moment.

Big score making friends with a plumber! Our friends are all office workers, Brett being the handiest one out of all of them so is asked all the time "just for some advice". I joke that we need to find an electrician or a horticulturalist friend!

Michaela I hope that Shawn is getting better and that Adam escapes whatever the bug is. I forgot that Adams procedure is so soon. Fingers crossed for some answers this week.

Sounds like you have your bases covered Ping - good luck!!

I hope you and Jarrod had a good day out today Nic. I would also resent the weekend trips. I hate Brett working Saturdays as it is but it would worse to be without his help for 12 days straight (working away for the weekend in the middle)!

Better go and start dinner I suppose (meat has been defrosting).
~JAS~
Wow Michelle !!
I find that if I know I have no one coming over or don't have to be anywhere all day that I can't get myself motivated to get going in the morning and then it spirals from there!

You have just described ME laugh.gif

Jannette sad.gif Oh no, how much more can your MIL take? It's not fair. I'm so sorry to hear about her friend too. Cancer sucks mad.gif

Shawn seems to be recovered! Had such a cuddly day with him. He slept for most of the day - mostly on me. I put him down at 10:30am and he woke up 5 mins later in a panic because he wasn't being cuddled anymore. Got him back down at about midday and he woke up an hour later screaming because he'd wet the bed! Poor little man hasn't wet the bed for ages (on the occasional daytime sleeps he has!) He was so upset! Got him cleaned up, he was cuddly again, fell asleep on me again. Then Adam needed me so I had to put Shawn on my bed (hadn't changed his sheets yet as he was so clingy!) and he went back to sleep for another hour. Then woke up fresh as a daisy and seems almost back to 100%! I think he just slept himself better original.gif

Michaela
Keropi
Michelle - never too early, June isn't that far away, trust me!

Jannette - I was tired from having a cold, you dirty girl grin.gif

Michaela - glad Shawn is feeling better.

Man, I am still struggling with exhaustion, I fell asleep on the lounge at 7.30 last night and still felt tired when the builders across the road started at 6.45am blink.gif Might need to get my iron levels rechecked. Apparently tea inhibits the uptake of iron and I can't stop drinking it, in amongst other things laughing2.gif Taking Ashie to speech today and then to some new shops on the way. There is meant to be a nice park there. This afternoon we are having Ashie's boyfriend Lachlan sleep over. It's very exciting and apparently 2pm can't roll around fast enough. I'm trying to stay home and babysit everyone else's kids so I don't have to go out and spend money!! Because those coffee's here and there and toys here and there really add up!

Alrighty off to figure out how to put selected photo's on a disc. I have no idea how to work my new camera soft ware.

BTW blog updated.
FloralArrangement
Glad I am not the only one that feels exhausted it's really nice not to feel alone wub.gif

I have applied for my first job, back in a public library, it was in the paper on Saturday. Logistically could be difficutl but as nothing may come of it will just take deep breathes and a step at a time.

Julie I get a lovely tea which is a berry tea I get it from a specialist tea place. When I was feeling like I was drinking a bit too much caffeine I developed quite a taste for it. If you are anaemic you need to get I think zinc and magnesium levels checked as well as this is what helps you absorb the iron going into your body.

Michelle you are in the end of your pregnancy you are allowed to feel like you are.

Jannette hugs to you and to your MIL xx

Michaela glad Shawn has bounced back I hate it when the kids are sick but they seem to recover so quickly. When Daisy was new the first time she got sick is when I knew how much I loved her because I felt so worried.

We are on school holidays here. MIL told me that the girls were going down there again rant.gif it happens EVERY holidays drives me nuts. I understand all that time with grandmother crap but it is that I am told and expected to tow the line that REALLY p*sses me off. SIL, MIL's daughter, never tows the line but (I won't finish that thought blush.gif ) But I did restrict it to the 2 nights she was even argumentative about that!!!!!!!!!!! It peeves Tyler as he is so knackered on the weekend he doesn't want to go down to the country to pick them up, but will of course and it isn't fair or considerate. Oh I could go on but it isn't worth it. I know I am lucky the kids have such loving grandparents around I do know that. Lil and Rose are going so I get some time with Daisy xx

Ciao for now

Gina xx
Keropi
Gina - why isn't Daisy going? I think a couple of days is sufficient because you need your time with them too.
Does your MIL want Ashie because she pulled a whooper on me today while we were out. We went to get photo's printed and while we waited walked across to that evil american food giant for a play and she decided that shut up was a nice thing to say to people and decided that hitting me after I put her in time out was a lovely thing to do.
Oh and when we got home Ethan and Aurora apparently wanted to get spat at ohmy.gif
Thankfully the nice Ashie is back because the evil one knows that at the bus stop there is a bus that can take me to the mummy shop so I can go home with a nice child.
FloralArrangement
Julie,
We will probably leave Daisy down there for a couple of days when we get the other two.

Whisper the evil American Giant on this website someone might hear you laughing2.gif

Rose ccan be a little monster at times and the loud crying in public is sooooooooooo embarrassing.

Gina
Nics
Must be school hols girls with these evil children of ours! Jarrod too can turn it on or off dependent on his mood and add to that the joyous 3 year old tantrums/stubborness - today was the first day I thought how on earth will I cope with another wacko.gif Mind you this all could have been alleviated by DH actually HELPING me or making things slightly easier.... I had an 8:20am antenatal appt which only goes for 15 mins (and they are always on time which I am shocked about too ohmy.gif )But it would have been so much easier to just drive there by myself have my check up and drive home and he be slightly late for work - I mean its only one day and he did work over the weekend rant.gif but NO I had to get boys up early and do the breakfast/dressed thing and leave here by 7:50 to ensure I get there in time with the morning traffic and get a park. It was raining so we had to walk for 10 mins in the rain with me cursing under my breath with a few added extras wink.gif And I just kept thinking would it really kill him to make life a little easier on me cry1.gif Anyway we made it through - Jarrod absolutely loved it - my midwife is brilliant and made him all involved (Aiden couldnt have cared less as she has Thomas toys....) and even let him hold the doppler for a bit and listen to the heartbeat wub.gif he of course is as proud as punch today and is thinking he may like to become a doctor laughing2.gif

Check up was fine BTW - everything very normal although baby measuring a little ahead.. but I do know its had a major growth spurt in the past few weeks - and its definitely not food related (well not all of it tongue.gif ) Cant believe Im ready for my glucose test in 2 weeks! And then onto more frequent visits - its flying by! My midwife also said again shes guessing its a girl there unsure.gif cant wait for that next u/s...

anyway have to run - its FIL's 70th bday so have just got the kids ready and am about to embark on the trip over to their place.. I so dont feel like it - I have had major braxton hicks this afternoon - so uncomfortable I had to have a hot shower.... Feeling a bit better now though but certainly dont feel like a big dinner out..

Speak soon all

Keropi
Nic - I too agree with you that your DH could make your life easier and be a tad late for work - or better still actually go with you!
Have fun at the IL's. May it be short and sweet. grin.gif
Keropi
Ah you're all boring me laughing2.gif

Where is everyone??
FloralArrangement
i know we are producing scintillating conversation at the moment aren't we.

Lil and Rose just left have headache ie stress. it will be okay and Ihave a day with Miss Daisy tomorrow we are going to see my new niece tomorrow and then head into town.

Gina
Jet07
I've been having a lovely time entertaining bot my boys wacko.gif . Shopping yesterday and a playdate here today.

No real news.
MichelleM
I've been reading but finding it very hard to get any motivation to reply (not because I don't want to, I would rather talk than type!). Kids are keeping me busy too, not in a good way, they are driving me nuts . . could just be me though! Took them up to Mums today so I could get 5 mins peace (I was there but Mum keeps them on their toes for me!) and have just got home. Can't be bothered finishing the roast that I've started so got on here! Veggies will have to wait!

Michaela hope all is well with Shawn and OMG I just realised that today was the day of Adams procedure, hope all went well with that. Let us know whan you have some time.

Oh Julie you are a better woman than I looking after other peoples kids! I would just stay home, save money on not going out and just have your own kids! Oh and I so get you on the evil kids. My two even laughed at me yesterday! I've lost all power, it's them against me!!!

Gina try to have a relaxing couple of days and some peace and quiet! I know what you mean about the demanding MIL, mine has demanded that she have the kids tomorrow and as much as I whinge about the kids being terrors, I hate handing them over to her, I actually like spending time with them (even if they don't with me!).

Oh Nic, I suppose I can't complain, at least I didn't have to go out yesterday when the kids had me beat! I would have hated taking them out yesterday in the rain so yes, I think DH could have gone in a bit late to work to help you out too. Good to hear that all was well with baby though.

Hi Jannette!

Better get going and do the veg. I don't even like roasts so I'm even more unmotivated to do dinner tonight!
~JAS~
Thanks Michelle wub.gif

Been a very long day ... got to hospital at 11:30, Adam didn't go into theatre till 3:30 ohmy.gif His GI doc was caught up with complications in another case so we had a different GI doc do the procedure. I told 4 seperate people (3 nurses and the anaesthetist) that our GI needed blood taken while he was under as well, I was so desperate to ensure it wasn't missed. FOUR people. You'd think that would be enough people to tell right? Possibly even pushing it to looking like a neurotic mother? They didn't take bloods cry1.gif rant.gif I was livid mad.gif We now have to go to QML tomorrow to have the bloods done. I can't explain to you just how traumatic BTs are for Adam sad.gif It's just horrific cry1.gif And I can see they are going to struggle tomorrow. Adam's veins are cactus from the amount of times they've been stabbed in his life - it took them 6 attempts to get a canular in today - and that was after he was already under GA so he wasn't even awake to fight them! (went to sleep via gas mask). So the pathologist tomorrow is going to have a tough job tomorrow finding a vein - as she obviously can't use all the spots where he's already been stabbed today sad.gif I was so angry, but had tears in my eyes at the same time - I just get so overcome with emotion having to put him through more and more crap. Especially when it could have and should have been avoided cry1.gif

We did get some good news though - we have a reason for the itchy problem. He's got "significant ulceration" in about 6-7 inches of small bowel from where it's joined to his anus. Don't know the reason why yet - could be allergies, or even inflammatory bowel disease sad.gif Will find out biopsy results in 2 weeks. They also took biopsies from other areas in his small bowel to check his nutrient absorption for his growth issues.

Poor baby has gone to bed with a very sore throat (scope has probably scratched his throat). I told him if he needs me in the night to call out and I'll come straight away - he told me he won't be able to call me! sad.gif So I said ok, well come and get me! Poor baby.

Feeling very emotional tonight sad.gif

M
MichelleM
OMG Michaela I would be absolutely furious too! In fact I am furious for you and Adam. Best of luck tomorrow. Does the place you're going to have people who specialise in oldies and babies who might be more likely to get it right quickly? Hopefully the next two weeks waiting for the results pass quickly and event free for you all.

The roast was done, the meat was really lovely because I cooked it yesterday so it had time to rest (was going to have it last night but everything went pear shaped so I wrapped it in foil, fridged it and got red rooster!). The kids didn't eat it though, no they only ate the brocoli and cauliflower - what kids only eat those out of everthing else?!

Off to find something cold to eat/drink. May even have to resort to fairyfloss flavoured icypoles - the only ones left that we all think are yuck!
Nics
Michelle - its time to head to the shops - fairyfloss flavoured icypoles - what were you thinking sick.gif Wish Id have cooked a roast last night - that would have been really good original.gif I meant to say earlier - you were wondering about clothes washing - Ive already washed my neutral colours and packed them away so no I dont think its too early at all.... but Im not washing the pink stuff for another few weeks.. have you packed your hospital bag? I reckon you should get onto that before you worry about washing clothes wink.gif

Michaela - cry1.gif thats just awful... I hope everything goes well for today - your poor little man... what sort of night did he have? Im assuming he didnt have to stay overnight with this one? And thankfully there are some answers! So hands.gif you can fix the problem and make him more comfortable... Big hugs to you today (and of course Adam wub.gif )

Julie - the IL's were just so much fun as per usual wacko.gif actually it wasnt too bad - probably because we went out for dinner. I just have no patience at all atm - and no tolerance for my MIL. I know she means well BUT... she rang on Wed (the day after the dinner) and said how are you feeling today - you looked so tired last night (a normal comment she makes to me) - it must be the school hols she said .... I snapped and said no I am pregnant and looking after 2 kids full time with a husband that is hardly ever home thus always tired unsure.gif she didnt have a comeback wink.gif I mean she obviously thinks its a walk in the park - or maybe she doesnt know truly what its like to have a husband travelling constantly and being extremely busy at work. FIL always had a 9-5 job and that was it - I suppose things were really different back then and she never worked a day in her life... ARRRGHHH Ill stop now!

Ive just had a go at my dad too - he is coming for a visit this weekend with his partner - dont know why they are coming to Sydney but I would think they have something on rolleyes.gif so he rings the other day and says Jarrod play football or soccer or something on a Saturday (he doesnt even know what sport his grandson plays rant.gif ) and then I say yes soccer - its at home ground at 9am - and then he says oh no too early I wont make it. Geez - it seems too much effort to come and watch him ONCE cry1.gif and Ive just sent him an email asking if he was going to bother getting Aiden anything for his bday because he hasnt mentioned it again .. I said yes Im tired and emotional right now BUT Aiden seems to have been forgotten in terms of his bday this year and that isnt fair - he is special too rant.gif rant.gif rant.gif
I definitely took my cranky pills today grin.gif

Jet - I can sympathise - I was so looking forward to the holidays and love not having to do school pick ups etc BUT it has been raining all week and Jarrod is going mental - hes such a physical kid - loves kicking the footy/soccer ball an playing basketball, riding his scooter etc and has been confined inside! And his little brother torments him and instigates most of the arguments .. he so doesnt miss Jarrod when hes at school wacko.gif I do have next week covered though with lots of school friends play dates AND a cousins day - he'll be happy with that!

Gina - enjoy your day with Daisy.. must be quiet with only one.

OK better get back to work - its going to be a very boring day. Im wondering who else in teh family I can pick a fight with tongue.gif
Keropi
Nic - I think you were justified in what you said. I don't think she will be commenting in a hurry how tired you look. Oh no about the boys bickering. I bought mine some watercolour paints in tubes and special watercolour paper which took up about an hour of their time and we also baked the milo cookies in the recipe section. Mine haven't been too bad this time round (Xmas the complete opposite) except for Ashie's whooper the other day. We also have dinosaur and grizzly bear cereal, it is amazing what a bribe and entertainment they can be. Lowan make them, healthy aisle of woolies. Do you want to meet up next week?
Oh and on your Dad - glad you gave him a good kick up the bum. Wonder if he felt it unsure.gif

Michaela - Poor Adam, I can't believe that they didn't take the blood. Let us know how you get on. And an ulcer - wow. Has he felt burning or mainly itchiness? So how do they think he can start healing?

Michelle - You don't like roasts! Why?
I cooked one two nights ago and my kids whinged like you wouldn't believe because there was pumpkin with it. You should have seen the look in their faces when I threw the towel in and said that they have to cook the next night no if's or but's! They were freaked dev (6).gif Anyway we went shopping yesterday afternoon and bought stuff to make burito's and they did it! Of course with supervision but they cooked mince in the electric frypan, but tomatoes. Actually I should say, not Ashie, don't quite trust her yet!

We have a little friend who is 2 next week coming to play today while her parents organise the move to their new house they bought. I might try and ship Ethan off to his mates house if he wants, Aurora has her friends no's so I'll encourage her to ring them. Apart from that I only need to get to the post office. The kids have been writing letters and drawing pictures and I need to send great nanna a photo of when we visited her (the one in the blog)
Nics
Julie - I dont think hes talking to me anymore blush.gif I did get a reply back and I sent another one.... basically he cant get off his bum and come up 1 hour earlier tomorrow morning to watch J play soccer and as I pointed out he does move to Qld in June so wont get an opportunity to watch him play any sport in years to come cry1.gif cry1.gif I have no idea why I let him to do this to me - I should know by now that we are not at the top of his priority list and he will never change - I just hope that he may realise what hes missing out on and actually want to be a part of their lives...

Ah well never mind thats life - really wish I had some chocolate here at work to help me get over my emotional state tongue.gif Damn hormones wink.gif

I actually have a couple of things to bake - just havent got around to doing it! Actually the boys have improved - esp today as they are with the IL's - they are being angels rant.gif no wonder shes always wondering why Im tired - she thinks these boys are a breeze!

OK really have to get back to work - Ive done nothing all morning - but I dont really care either - I have 5 weeks (or is it 6 weeks???) to go!!!!

Next week "i think" we are full up now! Ive organised something everyday but if anything falls through and we become available Ill call you!
~JAS~
I decided not to just trust what the Resident said last night about having to get the bloods done today ... rang the day unit manager earlier - he knows us quite well as he used to be a nurse on surgical ward before his promotion, and day unit is where we were yesterday after coming out of recovery. He's chased up with Adam's gastroenterologist, who has said to not worry about the bloods until the biopsy results are in. I can't tell you what a weight that has lifted off me. Doesn't mean we won't have to do them at a later date anyway, but at least Adam gets a break for now original.gif
Jet07
Michaela - thank goodness for that! I was rant.gif reeling for you when I read your post from last night!

Nic - I'm just about fully booked for next week too!

Just organised an exciting outing for Mon or Tues if I can be bothered dragging us all out of bed well before 6am. It is the autumn balloon spectacular here all next week with mass balloon launches each day from 6am, and on Mon and Tues from 7am they are having tethered balloon rides for kids in the Questacon balloon on the lawns of Old Parliament HOuse! I just confirmed it is a min. age of 3yo so both can do it!

Also planning to take the boys to see the Olympic Flame on Thursday, but as they're likely to change the route at the last minute am trying to keep the day as free as possible. They are planning on lighting it at 7am with pre-dawn fireworks so could be another very early start, but both boys have been stirring between 4:30am and 6:30am each day this week anyway.

Anyway - off to buy a new battery for our doorbell. How exciting. Going to a lingerie party tomorrow, then a circus style show (jugglers not animals) being put on for special needs kids on Sunday. All pending MIL not getting any worse.
FloralArrangement
It is very very quiet here. Daisy slept in and I read this morning then we went and saw my new niece and her sister that was nice. Then we headed into town and bought a few bits and pieces. Have bought vietnamese take way for tea yum yum.

Michaela sorry you had such a song and dance at the hospital.

Nic it would't kill your dad to watch Jarrod at nine oh well what can you do? Tyler's parents are really patronising and dogmatic they have made their life in the country whereas MIL's parents live up here as do we. MIL never stops friggin' whinging about how she didn't really feel like coming up but had to see her parents and the girls (Ty and I don't actually exist) and how selfish her parents are for not selling their house up here and moving down near them so that MIL wouldn't have to come here to see them wacko.gif Her parents have lived in their house all of their married life - 60 years and their friends that are still alive live in the vicinity. You should MIL rant drives me bonkers. Sorry Nic vented my spleen xx

Love lamb roast and even more so now that I cook it for 5-6 hours on a low oven absolutely melts. My children are good vege eaters Michelle. Since they were very little all our friends had finicky eaters and were gobsmacked watching our kids.

Jannette hope you fun buying that battery!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It is going to be a lovely weekend. I wish that it was cold so I could wear my new chunky knit vest thingy.

Gina
Keropi
Page #3 GOLD laughing2.gif

HERE

HERE

HERE

HERE

HERE

HERE

HERE

HERE

HERE

HERE

HERE

HERE

HERE

bugger it didn't work roll2.gif
Jet07
LOL Julie!

Think I might go garage saling today, but theere aren't many on.

Julie and Nic - we're aiming for Sydney next weekend to see MIL (still on O2 in hospital), and trying to arrange something for Scott's birthday Sat night while we are there, unless a friend offers to host something daytime. Will keep you posted.
Keropi
Have fun garaging Jannette, I will have to get back to you on the Saturday event as the night before we have a 60th in Newcastle and may struggle to get a babysitter.
FloralArrangement
Julie I have to ask you a really serious question

WHAT are you on? Cheeky one aren't you.waves.gif

My mum is the Queen of garage sales it drives my nuts but she does find some great stuff and A LOT of crap. Brand new name brand name stuff for the kids, antiques and if a friend hits hard times I tell her and she will source as new stuff for next to nothing.

Gina
micallep
Hey Sydney girls, let me know if you organise something for next weekend.......would like to try and come along as well original.gif

Went shopping with my gfriend yesterday and we both got 2 lovely knitted scarfs in different colours LOL reminded us of highschool days when we would go shopping together and get the same things.

Going out for brekky this morning with gfriends as well to celebrate a birthday and then nice quite day home.

Micheala, I was fuming when I read they didn't take Adam's blood rant.gif . So glad you had sense and rang to double check.

Nothing much new to report.........coming to the end of TTC #1 cycle......AF due in 3 days but I'm not holding out hope. I don't feel anything at all.

Ok better go and wake up M for work.

xxxx
micallep
Quite in here today, where is everyone???

Oh now I can take GOLD for Pg 3 tongue.gif LOL Julie!!
Keropi
SILVER[size=7] laughing2.gif
FloralArrangement
Bronze

So funny xx
MichelleM
I refuse to take the boobie prize for page 3!

Oh Ping,to go shopping with girlfriends again . . I could only wish for such nice things! Good to hear that you had a good weekend though. Hopefully this week brings some good results too.

Gina I hope you enjoyed your peaceful weekend with Daisy (bet she did anyway!). When do you hear about those jobs you applied for?

Jannette you'll have to post some pics taken from the balloon ride (yeah I was on facebook just before this!). It seems Canberra does a lot for it's citizens. I'm sure we don't get a quarter of the family things over here as you seem to get there - lucky things!

Michaela I'm glad that Adam has escaped the blood tests so close to his hospital stay. Hopefully once they're needed he'll be a little less fragile. How is he feeling a few days later (now)?

Nic it must be very hard to keep up the motivation with only 5 weeks to go (it was for me when I was working while pregnant with Isabella that's for sure!). I think you did the right thing by pulling up your Dad like that. Some people honestly don't see past themselves and this was a good wake up call for him!

Julie I'm going to have to stock up on bribe foods for next holidays I think, thanks for the tip!! Oh also, forgot about the recipe section on here too so headed over there for something to do today! Oh and a huge thanks on reminding me about milo - damn you I had forgotton about that stuff and now I want a big glass of ice cold milo!!

We took the kids on a hospital tour yesterday as Josh has started to frett about what's going to happen to me (and him) when the baby arrives. He's a lot more relaxed now that he's seen that hospital is nice and calm and the kind of room I'll be staying in. It also helped that a set of new born twins were wheeled past us and Josh gasped with the biggest smile on his face!

Ohhh I just read - 6 weeks 3 days till the Sex and the city movie comes out . . I am SOOOOOOO EXCITED!
Jet07
Michelle I have just printd a couple of photos direct from memory stick to printer but since our photo software is on our notebook which is still being rebuilt I can't scan or download them sad.gif Hopefully by end of week according to the service guy this morning hands.gif .
Nics
Ah Michelle I just finished a glass of Milo blush.gif I LOVE the stuff atm!

Big hello to everyone else..... no time to stay - just a quick long on in between getting dinner ready - very early one today due to tired boys.... DH not home so we will all eat together and then BED unsure.gif well thats the plan anyway....
FloralArrangement
Errr Michelle you will be slightly busy when the sex in the city movie comes out

Tyler has taken holidays this week ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh. he went fishing with L and R at 5 this morning and they caught NOTHING. laughing2.gif

I have made chicken parcels for tea with mystery stuffing hope it's nice blush.gif

Gina
MichelleM
Ah Gina I could kiss you! I have some chicken in the freezer that I've been wondering what to do with and chicken parcels sound like the go! Haven't done them in a hundred years and I have to get rid of the dregs of the cauli and brocoli - perfect solution!

Oh and as for being busy, some how I will be seeing that movie at the movies! It may not be on the 5th (and honestly wrestling with thousands of other women while seriously pregnant or just after having a baby doesn't do much for me) but I will see it! I did tell Brett though that if the Counting Crows tour at any stage on or near my due date that I WILL get tickets and go! I missed out both times they toured when pregnant with Josh and Bel and I'm not going to miss out again!

Nic I hope you all got off to bed alright tonight! Am going shopping btw tomorrow too to buy milo (and pastry now!).

I forgot to say bummer about the computer Jannette. My lap top is dead (well the port where the charger plugs into) so Brett and I are sharing a computer at present. Bad for poor Brett and I don't share well dev (6).gif

Better go and fold up 2 baskets of washing that have come out of the dryer (I hate using the dryer - so after complaining about our insane heat, now I'm complaining about the rain and cool weather LOL!). It's not cold enough to use the heater either so I can't hang them inside either (unless I have years for them to dry).
~JAS~
Michelle, Adam is doing ok, except that he's so lethargic sad.gif He's been like this for a while now. I'm sure it's from the anaemia, but I just worry about it being something else (my job to worry right? rolleyes.gif )

He's been falling asleep on the lounge between 5 and 6pm sad.gif Luckily we have dinner early, but he struggles to eat because he's so tired. Makes me sad because a 5yo boy should be complaining about being told it's bedtime, not falling asleep early sad.gif

Glad to hear Josh is feeling better after the hospital visit. He does know there is only one baby coming home to him right? tongue.gif Very cute him being excited about seeing the twins!

Hi everyone waves.gif
Keropi
Michelle - know what you mean about the clothes, that's is all we have been using for over a week, but I'm trying to do smaller loads so it doesn't build up otherwise I spend the day stuffing around with the dryer. You're welcome about the Milo grin.gif
Counting Crows huh? are they going to tour?
I have a confession blush.gif I don't know if you remember but we put ourselves on a self imposed concert ban, which is quite difficult for us. Well, we caved - we are going to Powderfinger - all five of us laughing2.gif

Gina - mystery filling?! laughing2.gif

Jannette - can't wait to see your photo's too.

Busy day here. Ethan went to a friends house, the friend's mum gave me a home grown pumpkin so I made my first ever pot of pumpkin soup for lunch and there is still heaps left. For dinner tonight - home made sausage rolls, inspired by Nic - other ones just aren't the same.
The friend came back with Ethan is has stayed for a sleepover.

Michaela - we posted at the same time. It is a worry Adam is tired. What's happening with his ulcer now?
micallep
Oh boo, just posted and lost the darn thing GGRR.

In short, Micheala big hugs to you and Adam. You've every right to be worried.

Julie, care to share your sausage roll recepie???

Jet07
Michaela - you have every right to worry! I hope you get an answer soon. WHen my bowel was bordering on ulcers I went to a naturapath who prescribed Blackmores Digestive ENzymes whenever I was feeling stressed. They completely fixed me over time! Not sure if kid suitable though.

Off to eye clinic today to check how Shea's glasses are going. Then swimming again (we're doing fast track - bth boys in together and yesterday it was just the two of them in their class - so cute).

Sydney girls - trying to keep the weekend plans fairly fluid depending on MIL condition, but at this stage don't think I can fit in a playdate (well not with the boys - I may be free Saturday arvo for a while - maybe Ikea to be central-ish?).

We'll probably drive up Friday, visiting MIL on way to my Mums where we'll leave the boys. Scott and I will return to Sydney Sat morning and see his Mum again, then he wants to lawn bowl at his old club at Gladesville in the arvo ohmy.gif , whereas I thought we should go to see our old softball teams who are playing at St Ives early afternoon. and I'm hoping to have dinner with some of our other friends for his birthday Sat night. We'll either stay with FIL or in a hotel. Sunday my parents will bring the boys back to Sydney after church, we'll all visit MIL again, then head home.

And I'd love to fit in the boys seeing a few of their cousins too but not sure when!
FloralArrangement
Mystery stuffing was sundried tomatoes, cherry tomatoes, tomatoe paste, spanish onion, cream cheese, baby boccini, amd of course chicken. May hold off on one of the tomato thingy's next time laughing2.gif other than that all of the family liked it which is difficult. The chicken was marinated in garlic, basil, paprika and olive oil.

News headlines now "Woman gives birth at Sex in the City Premiere"

Yes I would like your sausage roll recipe as well Julie.

It sounds like anaemia to me Michaela hope it gets sorted soon. hhugs.gif

Out again now

Gina
MichelleM
We just got home from breakfast with Mum and Dad! I am soooo full (although I didn't eat much but the kids were way over fed!) and the kids are now laying down!!

On the way home I popped into Woolworths and got some pastry for our parcels tonight. Gina I'm having chicken, broccoli & cauliflower, corn and cream of chicken soup in mine (I'm not a tomato lover and we've had way too much spag bol lately because it's all I can be bothered cooking!). I did however forget MILO so I think Brett will have to go to the shop on his way home!

Oh and I'm not giving birth at the movies. Apart from the ewww factor with the germs in those places(!), I am going to watch the whole movie thanks!!

Michaela of course you'd be worried, I worry about everything and we don't even have a minute portion of the medical dramas you and Adam have gone through! When is the next specialist appointment? Has Adam always been a tired kid though? Josh always has been, happily goes to bed at 6.30 at night and will sleep in the day if I let him. He gets a lot worse when he's just about to get a cold or a virus which in winter is regularly!

Jannette how is MIL going? Bet DH can't wait to get down there this weekend.

Ummah Julie!! When's the concert? Counting Crows have just released a new album so they may tour but probably not to Australia (def not Perth!). The only two times they've toured here have been on my due dates with the kids so the joke is that they'll tour again - IN JUNE! I'm so in love with them!!

Blerch I really need to lay down too I think! Maybe not all the way down though because the OJ is killing my throat (heart burn).
~JAS~
Thanks for your support girls.

Next GI appt is 7th May - I'll get biopsy results then - that'll tell us what the ulceration is and how to treat it, and also will tell us how his nutrient absorption is going.

I dare say they will still want the bloods to be done then - if only to check his iron again. Last time I spoke to the GI about the iron problem he was talking about possibly doing IV iron infusion (because the supplements don't agree with him - severe excoriation that he just can't put up with). They'll obviously have to check his levels again before they do anything like that.

Michelle, yer he has always been more tired than the other 2 - he didn't give up day sleeps till close to 4 (J&S were both only just 2), and he often complains of "tired legs" but then another 5yo boy with HD that I know also complains of that too so I assumed it was a normal thing with HD. But over the last month or so he's so tired, most of the day, which isn't normal. And this falling asleep on the lounge in the early evening is also not normal.

Stressing me out a bit really.

M
Jet07
ETA - Page 4 GOLD laughing2.gif

Michelle - it's not looking good. They have now discovered a blood clot in her leg and are sending her back to the surgical hospital tomorrow (in a wheelchair cab not an ambulance - go figure) for a special scan to see if there is a clot in her lungs - which can be fatal. They have stopped the physio that she went to the rehab hospital for until they get the results and work out where to go from here.

I'm having a night like yours a few days ago Nic. DH is working back so I ate with the boys, got them into bed, a load of washing on, dishwasher on and kitchen tidy, and garbage out - all by 8pm. Normally I'm not eating until at least 8pm when DH cooks!

All your talk of cooking - not only can't I cook things like that, but my boys won't eat them either, as they're only used to plain meat and veg type dishes.

Saw eye clinic today. They're pleased with Shea's glasses. Am meant to be having a home visit from a speechie and a psychologist to watch Shea eat lunch tomorrow but the speechie is sick so not sure if the psych will still come. Swimming was great today. Talon actually back floated for 10 secs in his second lesson without me in the pool! Shea is doing most of what he is asked to do unlike when we sopped lessons in January as he was ignoring all requests.

Anyway - better go peg that washing and put on another load so I can catch up to start packing for the weekend.

Back again quickly to say sorry you're having teenager trouble Gina!
MichelleM
Oh Jannette sorry to hear that things aren't improving with your MIL. I'm very surprised that they aren't putting her in an ambulance too.

With the cooking Jannette I am the WORST cook! Apart from hating it, I am very fussy and would prefer plain foods most nights myself! Anyway, this pie (too much filling for individual parcels!) was sooooo easy.

Brown the chicken or even use roast chicken that you buy from the supermarket and chop it into little pieces.

Get puff pastry from the freezer (no I never make it LOL!) and line a pie dish with it.

Put the chicken in, corn (frozen of course!), any other veggies.

Open a can of cream of chicken soup (or even chicken and corn), poor that on top (I added a bit of milk with the soup before adding it because it needed just a big more).

Add a pastry lid & put it in the oven till brown!

Easy peasy and the kids LOVED it! Actually I think they liked it because it was something different for a change. It would have been even easier for them to eat if I had made little pies using a muffin tin but couldn't be bothered cutting out the pastry! As it was, they just ate the filling with a spoon and then the pastry with their hands!

After eating all that I'm off to watch the biggest loser laughing2.gif
Keropi
Narelle - sorry to hear about your Dad being unwell. Please keep us updated on how he is going.

Jannette - how did your MIL scans go today?

The sausage roll recipe can be found on the back of Borg's Puff Pastry 1.2kg packet. But here it is -
500g sausage mince
500g beef mince
2 onions finely chopped or grated
2 eggs
2 cloves of crushed garlic
1/2 tsp mixed herbs
1 tbl sp of bbq sauce
3 tsps Worcestershire sauce
1/2 cup bread crumbs
3 tbl spns of finely chopped fresh parsley
salt & pepper to taste
Puff pastry (says 2 sheets but we used about 6 for this)

Preheat oven to 180
combine both minces, onions, 1 egg garlic, sauces, parsley, b/crumbs, herbs, salt and pepper. Mix well (may need to use hands to combine)
Thaw pastry sheets, cut in half.
Place meat mixture down the middle of the half and roll the pastry over to cover.
Brush top with egg and cut rolls into pieces.
Cook in hot over 250 degrees for 25 - 30 mins.

I cooked this tonight too with the girls
http://www.taste.com.au/recipes/3118/banana+bread

Very yum.
Haute Mama
Well look who the cat dragged in!

Yep I am back from LOEG but unfortunately it wasn't all I had dreamed of!

As most of you know we arrived home discover that my Dad wasn't well due to kidney cancer. He is starting him on some new drugs as soon as they arrive from Canberra - with any luck that will be today - (they are all held at a central location and sent out after approval to specific approved pharmacies). They are insanely expensive (and I mean insanely - at about $15,000 PER MONTH) but we are very lucky that Dad has been able to fit into a test group and gets them for free from the drug company. The aim of the drugs is to 'hopefully' shrink the tumors and give him a bit more quality of life (the tumor in his lung is large and makes him feel out of breath all the time - so much so that he hardly does anything any more). He will do cycles with this drug of 4 weeks on and 2 weeks off indefinitely. Best case scenario is that these drugs will keep the cancer under control for enough time to wait for something better to come along.

WE had planned to return to the US on Sunday but Cameron F'ed up and read the tickets wrong so we missed the flight on Sunday and had to rebook for Monday. (Naturally I haven't mentioned it ph34r.gif ) We arrived nice and early for the Monday flight but unfortunately after boarding the plane they discovered there was a technical problem with the computer so they had to replace it causing a bit over a three hour delay so we arrived in LA just in time to miss our flight to Dallas, luckily we made (just) the next flight and arrived back in Dallas same day very exhausted but safe and sound and with all our luggage.

The children have woken up at 1 am both mornings and stayed awake until around 4 (gotta love jetlag) tonight I am giving them both a dose of antihistamine and cross my fingers that it will help them sleep!

Good things on our holiday included catching up with a few friends, not as many as I had hoped due to running around with Mum and Dad to and fro doctors appts and tests. We enjoyed a wonderful stay at Mooloolaba (I love that place)with friends and family popping in every day, some staying over and some doing day visits (eg Kayla). We also had a blast at my cousin's wedding, although it may have been classified as a little 'over the top, complete with fireworks, it was beautiful and we got to see all the uncles, aunts and cousins as well as my dear sweet Grandmother.

WE had a house inspection and the house looks great. The tenants are fantastic, pay on time etc, are keen to stay for a couple of years. They keep the house and yard very clean and tidy, nothing broken and no problems, they even offered us a coffee while we were there! I had actually forgotten how cute my house was, now I remember why we renovated the way we did.

I had a few flat white's and a couple of meat pies, ate through half a truckload of Allen's jelly lollies and Cadbury chocolates.

I am very glad to report that I have managed to get 4 containers of vegemite (we are hard core when it comes to vegemite) here safely.

Anyway I better get going, still haven't managed to get through all the washing so I better get onto it, not to mention all the bloody dusting I need to do. It's amazing how much settles around the place while you are away for a month.

Oh we arrived home to discover our cable had been cut off, apparently the don't send a reminder if you miss your pay by date! WTF Anyway its been paid and is all hooked up again now - thankfully.

Hope you are all well. Will try to read the old thread and catch up on everyone soon.

hugs

Relle
Jet07
Just a really quick one as we have unexpected houseguests tonight (brother and SIL and niece and nephew), and are still heading off to Sydney as soon as we can get organised tomorrow.

MIL scan showed a compression in part of the lung but they aren't sure if it is a clot or if the nymph gland that had been pressing on the oesophogus is now pressing on the lung since the stent went in. They are medicating for a clot and if there's no improvement in a week they'll assume it's the gland but we're not sure if there is anything they can do or not. She is apparently extremely weak and frail now, and still not eating much at all, they think she now has an oral aversion (like SHea) since eating made her sick for so long.

Probably won't get a chance to get back online until Monday so have a good long weekend everyone.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.