The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: Graduate mums #7

Essential Baby > Meet Other Members > State forums > Australian Capital Territory
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Nut
Damnit... I had a nice longish post and lost it due to a norton check that wiped all my cookies before I got to send it!

That's what happens when you start to post and then leave before you finish.

I think this is the link to the last thread.
Purple_Gecko
Gold as nic cant claim it tongue.gif
sparkle77
SILVER!

I am now a graduate!!!! My DD is now 13 days old biggrin.gif

I am looking forward to being able to drive again (I had a c/s) and meeting up with you all - I am relatively new to Canberra, and don't know anyone with children sad.gif

Anyone with a new baby want to catch up in a few weeks???
mum*of*two
hope its ok if I post here, my DD is nearly 3 weeks old (DS is 20 months)

Sparkle: Congrats! Hope all is going well and you are recovering quickly from the C/S. It must be a such a pain not being able to drive. Would love to catch up one day, it is always good to have an excuse to get out of the house! My mothers group from when I had DS1 are all back at work at the moment, so I am keen to meet some new mummy friends original.gif
sparkle77
Hi mum*of*two - I noticed your change of username! Yes, recovering really well from c/s, almost feel back to normal except for still taking pain medication, and still have a numb and flabby tummy (although that might not go away for a while!!!). It would be great to catch up soon, after May 6th! Hope you are coping OK with your NB and toddler!
Shadowess
Welcome, Sparkle and Mum of Two! Congrats on your new bubs! Ruby isn't a new baby anymore, but if you want to see what's install for you in about 8 months time, I'd be happy to meet up with you! tongue.gif

Sparkle, I'm finding that around my scar area I'm still a bit numb.. kind of a tingly sort of numb. I guess cos they cut through nerves. You went through Dr Dreher, right? his advice on driving is whenever you feel comfortable, you can drive. He told me that I could drive the next day, if I wanted to. I started at 3 weeks, cos that was when my DH went back to work, and I was going a bit insane having to rely on him to go anywhere!

Ruby's got another new trick.. been a big week!! She can clap now too! So cute!

Can't remember what was in the last thread, so I'll have to apologise for not doing too many personals!

Fee
Nut
I think it's time to organise another meet up anyway.

Sparkle - Alex is 5 months old so not a new new one anymore but happy to meet up if you like original.gif
sparkle77
Hi Shadowess - yes, went with Dr D. Good news about the driving, I think I am almost up for it now! When DH goes back to work, it is nice to know I may be more mobile. I can't see Dr D for my "6 week" check up until 12 weeks, so will be driving long before that!

Nut and Shadowess - I would love to meet Alex and Ruby! (and find out what I am in for in the next few months!) And I would love to meet Sophie Mum*of*two!

Who else is keen for a meet up?
Shadowess
Sparkle, wow! 12 weeks! that's quite a wait.. hmmmmm, don't think I'll bother trying to get in to see him about my delivery questions then. Anyway, yeah, he said that the main concern with driving is if you need to brake suddenly, I remember him joking that he'd never had to do anything while driving that would affect his c/s wound, so I should be fine! I had more trouble getting the capsule in and out of the car, than actually driving! Just take it easy, and stick to short trips for the first few days.

Yep, up for a meet up. Tuesdays and Wednesdays are best for me.. given that everyone has such different schedules, sometimes it's just easier to pick a day and location, and then who ever can make it, can come.. it's impossible to find a time when everyone is available!
binchen
Sparkle .... I didn't wait so long with driving after my C/S. Actually I drove myself and Emma (11 weeks now) home by myself as her daddy was on a wet-the-head-session laughing2.gif . But think this is not the best example : rolleyes.gif .
trebambinibelli
I'd also be up for a meet up! Congrats mum*of*two and sparkle on the births of your little girls wub.gif I can't wait to meet them too original.gif Mondays, Wednesdays & Fridays are the best days for me...
Tanya
mumin07
Hi Everyone, Just thought I should bump us up.

Sparkle and Mum of Two, Congratulations on your new bubs.
Michelle, Has Toby stopped waking up at 4:30am?
Tan, How is Mac going? How are formula feeds going?
Fee, How is Ruby going at Child care? Are you back at work yet?
Sabine, How is Emma going?

Us - Micah is crawling around very quickly, trying to get into everything. He has his first tooth and I think others are coming as he is a bit grumpy.
laraq75
I thought it might be time to re-invent this thread again.

Nut - I hope that is ok but there are a few of us looking for somewhere else to go.

Deanne - here is the thread.

It has been a while since anybody has posted.
*Caro*
Hi Lara, maybe you and I could do a meet up and introduce Angus to Angus? grin.gif

Hope all is going well with you guys. My Angus is still an angel, but he has started waking heaps more. I think he is also teething, I had to put a bib on him today to catch all the drool mellow.gif rolleyes.gif he is rolling front to back and back to front already, I can't believe it. DH calls him the Power House biggrin.gif

cheers
boymakingmachine
oh so is this the group for after the pregnant mums group?!?!
laraq75
Yes girls this is the other thread I was talking about. original.gifI knew it existed from when I had Audrey. original.gif

Caro - glad to hear you Angus is going so well. You know I was going to PM you before my Angus was born to tell you about the name but I was hoping you wouldn't mind too much. We had chosen Angus as soon as we knew we were having a boy. It has become so popular.
darnie
Thanks for hunting this out, Lara. It might make it easier to transition out of the pregnant mums thread! laughing2.gif blush.gif I keep DH that I could just get pregnant again so that I could stay there, but he doesn't agree! laughing2.gif

Caro: Good to hear that Angus is doing so well. Alice isn't rolling over yet, but is giving it a very good go.

I've been thinking about organising a gtg at my house. Just got to find time to clean the house! laughing2.gif I was going to make it for sometime soon, but with Rob away and Erin having all of her ballet rehearsals, I am not so sure. Maybe we could do something in early December? I might even have the house clean by then! blush.gif

I can't believe that I am heading back to work in 3 months! cry1.gif I so don't want to go back!

Anyway, better go and tidy up a bit. I have a friend coming to mind Alice this afternoon so that I can get my hair cut and coloured. eexcite.gif

Takec are everyone!

Cheers,
Deanne.
boymakingmachine
Deanne a get together sounds great!
~strawberry~
Hi girls! Good idea Lara to get this thread up and running again original.gif

I struggle to find time to post lately, but will try with this thread!

William is doing really well. He's 7 weeks old already ohmy.gif The time goes so quickly! Ella is in care today so I am relaxing, and getting some housework done (long,long overdue!), and this afternoon going for a physio appt.

A gtg sounds great, but I will be away the first week of Dec so I might have to wait for the next one...
Savvy
Just a little question - can I join blush.gif ? Ryder is not so new anymore, he is already 5 months ohmy.gif but since not posting in the pregnant mums thread and the young mums has kind of fizzled so I don't really have another buddy group (I could never keep up with the what month are you due threads!)

Congrats to all the new bubs and a big wave to Darnie original.gif - I miss reading your posts in the preg mums thread!
madkat
Hi, popping my head up as well!

Daisy is doing well. She rolled two weeks ago, when I put her down for her third tummy time (poor neglected third child). That was tummy to back.

She is such a happy little baby. She has been sleeping through (6-10 hours at night) since four weeks. So much better than her brother who didn't sleep through until he was 2!

Short post as Daisy is calling for me. Thanks for reinvigorating the thread Lara original.gif
laraq75
Oh I am glad that everybody is joining us. How exciting.

I can't believe all these babies are rolling already.

Kelly - I can't believe Ryder is 5 months already that is amazing and of course you can join us.

It is going to be mighty quiet in the pregnant mums thread now without all the chatter boxes. original.gif
darnie
Savvy: Alice will be 5 months in 5 days, and I'm here, so I would say that means of course you're welcome! wub.gif My posts are notquite as long and frequent these days laughing2.gif

Gotta go - Alice is grumbling and I need to collect Erin from childcare.

Edited. Typo.
darnie
Just a gentle *bump* grin.gif I'd hate for our thread to get lost now that it has found us again! laughing2.gif

Meant to say before - madkat: good to see you again and great news about Daisy being such a good sleeper. Maybe we could introduce Daisy & Alice so that Daisy can teach Alice how to sleep! laughing2.gif

Have a great day everyone.

I'd better go and have a shower/get dressed/get organised for Erin's ballet rehearsal (and figure out where the Belconnen theatre is wacko.gif )

Cheers,
Deanne.

ETA: Re the gtg... what about 26 or 27 November? That will be after Erin's ballet performance and after DH returns and my cleaner comes on the 25th so the house might even be hygienic! laughing2.gif It will also be before Jo goes away. Any preferences?
~strawberry~
If it was the 26th then I wouldn't have to run around after a toddler! Wednesday is day care day. That said, I should be able to do either day.
darnie
I'm happy with 26th if everyone else is. What do you all think?

Oh, BTW, I'm in Amaroo, so Northside.

Man I have to get my butt away from this computer. No wonder my house is always feral! laughing2.gif
beaglebabe
Hello ladies - It's good to see this thread has been ressurected.

Hope you don't mind me gate crashing tongue.gif

I'd love to come along to Deanne's get together, if the invitation is also open to the 'still pregnant' amoung us. I'm due 25 November, so who knows whether I will have a baby by then or not.... needless to say, I'll have to be a 'maybe'.

Michelle
darnie
Michelle: Of course you are welome! I was going to post in the Pregnant Mums group as well, once we had worked out details. I have another friend on EB who is not in either of these groups who is also coming along if she can, I think.
jomicabi
I have another friend on EB who is not in either of these groups who is also coming along if she can, I think.

Is that me Deanne? I want to gate crash to see all the new babies (and nurse some too if I'm allowed laugh.gif )

cheers
Narelle
madkat
I can do 26 Nov. 28/11 is Holly's 4th bday, so she gets her injections 27/11. Also I only have one child on Weds, so it's a good day.
darnie
Ok, let's make it 26 November. What time?

Is that me Deanne? I want to gate crash to see all the new babies (and nurse some too if I'm allowed )
Yep, that be you. grin.gif

Well, I just went to Erin's first rehearsal for the big ballet performance. The preschoolers looked so cute wub.gif And the older kids and the teachers were so good with them! And I found out what a Pollyanna hairdo is, so I should be able to get that done for the dress rehearsal, and I've bought the pink lipstick and sourced the damn white liquid eyeliner. Maybe I can succeed at being the Mum of a girly girl yet hands.gif

Gotta go. Alice is unhappy. Gotta bath her and get her to bed.

Cheers,
Deanne.
darnie
a friendly *bump* (I'm so hanging on to this thread and making sure it doesn't get lost! laughing2.gif )
emishka
Can I join to, I forgot this thread.. I will be away for your get together but please have another one so I can come.. original.gif
Puggle
Just surfacing to waves.gif and say I'm lurking and would love to come to the meet if I can. We have a few feeding issues at the moment that we need to work through.
darnie
Hi Anne! Good to see you! Hope things work out with the feeding. I remember going through that with Erin. hhugs.gif (Once she got the hang of it, she never let go! laughing2.gif It was jsut getting the hang of it that took time!)

Emishka: Hi! Great to see you! I think we should plan the follow-up gtg for before 9 February so that I can come. I go back to work on 9 February cry1.gif

Better go. My goal is to get both girls in bed and asleep by 7:30pm (youngest one down, eldest one to go!) Then, dinner for me, feed the dog, get swimming/ballet bags ready for tomorrow and off to bed for an early night.

Take care,
Deanne.
boymakingmachine
HI girls, yep i'd like an early night aswell, as i plan to be at brand depot right on 8am tomorrow! Anyone else i should look out for?!(or am i the only CRAZY one!?)

Deanne id love to come to the get together, i think id prefer AM but am pretty flexible so whatever majority thinks! Im going to try to palm the 2 big boys off with Dad for a few hours and then try not to get lost finding your place!! I dont go northside very often!
Cant wait for a chance to finally meet some people and to see all our babies in the one spot! Might have to bring the camera!
Anne did you get the classifieds? I posted it on Wednesday morning.
darnie
Older kids are welcome, so don't feel as though you have to find a baby sitter. (My oldest won't be here, but yours are welcome!) Actually, morning would suit me better too, I think. Is everyone OK with morning?

It is dead easy to get to my house - either Majura Road or Gungahlin Drive from the south and so easy from both of those roads that you won't get lost.

When we've worked out the details, I'll start PM-ing my address and phone number to everyone.
darnie
I thought perhaps I should list everyone who is coming, so I can make sure I give you all my details...

Leonie
Anne
Madkat
Narelle (jomicabi)
Jo
Michelle

Feel free to cut and paste and add your name to the list original.gif
sot
Thanks for telling me about this thread Deanne. I'll be at the gtg as well, looking forward to meeting up with everyone

Anne - hope the feeding issues improve. I was really sore in the beginning but James seems to have worked out what is going on, and no longer hurting.

Who had the baby that slept at 4 weeks - how on earth did you manage that? I would love a block of sleep more than 2.5 hours...

Peta
Puggle
Oversupply issues, it would seem.

Projectile vomits are scary sad.gif. At least we seem to have got it down to one a day ... hands.gif

BF'ing Claire had its own set of issues but at least then I was the one with the pain IYKWIM, not the baby. This is completely different. Still, I BF Claire until January this year and I know how to persist, so we will soldier on and work out the best plan to deal with it. Lauren is a beautifully gentle feeder, so once we get the oversupply sorted I know we won't look back.

Yes thank you Leonie, I got the notice, just haven't opened it yet blush.gif. Thank you very much, the stamps will be on their way to you very soon biggrin.gif .

Sorry for the 'me, me, me' everyone.
darnie

Anne: I had similar issues with Alice. The Kelly Mom website helped me. There are links on that page to foremilk/hindmilk imbalance and forceful letdown that I found quite useful. I hope I'm not sticking my nose in - just thought these might help. wub.gif I agree - it is awful when you see them writhing in pain. Alice was also choking heaps. cry1.gif hhugs.gif

Peta: No worries. I'd love to see you at the gtg.

So, is 10:30am an ok time for everyone? I'm easy - if you want to change it, that's cool by me.

Cheers,
Deanne.
Puggle
Are you up late feeding Deanne? wink.gif

I wub.gif Kellymom, such a wealth of information. You are not sticking your nose in at all, it is nice to have the support original.gif.

Well, off to bed for me. I was just polishing off a late night snack of a bowl of Cheerios blush.gif. Oh, 10.30am would be great for us, I really hope we can make it!
boymakingmachine
Yep 10:30 is great!
Anne please do not send any stamps back, i was more than happy to post it and .55cents isnt going to break my budget laughing2.gif !
*Caro*
Hey goils

Now that we have a new thread, you guys have gone all chatty again laughing2.gif

Can I invite myself to the gtg too? blush.gif I'll have to bring my two older girls, which is a bit of a worry as sometimes they go hyper, but usually they are pretty good at someone else's house. Especially people they don't know. They'll probably be all meek and quiet and shy - and you'll wonder what I was worried about - *fingers crossed* tongue.gif

So the new list is:
Leonie
Anne
Madkat
Narelle (jomicabi)
Jo
Michelle
Caroline

Lara - no worries about the matching names for our boys. I have been a bit taken aback by how popular its become - I saw 3 entries in the Canberra Times one Saturday blush.gif Oh well, at least he won't have to worry about people spelling it wrong - unlike the girls, who are going to curse me every day of their lives laughing2.gif I've loved this name for years though, and I have a great mental image of how my Angus will be as a young man, so I am happy to live with a bit of popularity!

Madkat - I have discovered more freaky resemblances between our families. Our second children both sound like they were terrible sleepers, and our third kids sleep well at night. Angus is not doing as well as Daisy, but he is far far easier to manage than Zahra wacko.gif

Anne and Peta, hope the feeding is going ok. I had a few issues with Angus in the first 6 weeks or so, but its settled now thank goodness. I was pleased I had a fair bit of b/f experience to draw on, otherwise I would have found those 6 weeks very difficult to handle blush.gif

Did you guys end up talking about baby wearing and cloth nappies at the last meetup? I am trying to get into cloth nappies again this time around. (I did it parttime with Emmeline.) I have some snazzy new nappies on order which I am really excited about, I just hope I can keep up with the washing... unsure.gif

Speaking of which, time to go hang out another load rolleyes.gif

C
wrappedup
I'd love to come to the GTG - I'll be a week off due, so more like a final year undergrad biggrin.gif Will have my 2 yr old in tow... m'kay?
darnie
Just quickly cos I haven't got dinner organised yet blush.gif Man, I am appreciating DH right now - 9 days until he returns! grin.gif

Re older kids at gtg: Of course it's fine. We don't have a lot of boyish toys but have 6000 Barbie Dolls! laughing2.gif There's plenty of other stuff to play with too. I made a fresh batch of playdough the other day, and might even make some more (got a cool recipe if anyone wants it) Erin won't be here, it's her childcare day. If she was, you'd see that she is a 4 year old with "spirit", so don't stress about hyper kids - they'll be cool. grin.gif

Puzzlepieces and Caro: Of course you are more than welcome.

So the new list is:
Leonie
Anne
Madkat
Narelle (jomicabi)
Jo
Michelle
Caroline
Puzzlepieces

Are you up late feeding Deanne?
You will not believe me why I was up rolleyes.gif The short version is that I started giving Alice her dream feed at around 10:30pm. A friend called me at 10:45 pm because "You are the only person that I can call at this hour of the night when I want to be candid and get something off my chest". So, she then proceeded to tell me about her s*x life and in particular the bits that she didn't like. Deanne the prude doesn't even like hearing about her own s*x life, let alone other people's! laughing2.gif Anyway, we then talked until midnight and I still had to get some stuff done ready for swimming and ballet today. So, the result was that I didn't get to bed until 1am rant.gif and thought that I might as well check out EB before I went to bed. Told you you wouldn't believe it blush.gif

Take care all,
Deanne.

PS When I get organised, I will post the gtg in the pregnant mums thread too. For 10:30am on 26/11.
laraq75
Deanne - don't forget about me. original.gif

Leonie
Anne
Madkat
Narelle (jomicabi)
Jo
Michelle
Caroline
Puzzlepieces
Lara

Anne - I have had so many problems with my oversupply. I found the links that Deanne sent me were great and I also have another website that i was put on to. I have to do two feeds on one side and then two on the other to cope with my milk supply. http://www.llli.org/FAQ/oversupply.html

caro - I hear you on the popularity of the name. I am sure it wasn't that popular when we both thought of using it but now it is everywhere. Oh well I still love it and I can't wait to meet your Angus.
darnie
Hi Lara: Awesome that you can come! I had wondered whether I'd missed your reply or not.

Gotta go. Been out at ballet rehearsals - my Lordy, don't worry about ballet being tough on the kids, I'm sure that it is used as a form of torture for parents in some countries! The hair and makeup almost ended in tears - mine, not Erin's!! blush.gif I am SO paying someone to do her hair and makeup for the performance - I need to remove superfluous stress from my life! grin.gif After collecting Alice from my friend's house, I took both girls shopping on my own. I think I need a stiff drink. Only 8 sleeps until DH returns cry1.gif grin.gif
sot
Don't forget me!!

Leonie
Anne
Madkat
Narelle (jomicabi)
Jo
Michelle
Caroline
Puzzlepieces
Lara
Peta

Interested in this oversupply discussion, as wondering if we are candidates... James massive weight gain, what appears to be pains in his belly, and vomiting (lots) after he feeds. I have expressed after I fed him and got 100ml in 10 mins... ???

Peta
darnie
Peta: Oops. Sorry. I obviously have breastfeeding brain - didn't mean to forget you and Lara. blush.gif Re oversupply: with Alice, it was exactly as described on that KellyMom link I posted earlier - really green poos (because she was only getting foremilk and not hindmilk), fussing when on the breast, writhing in pain - including knees coming up to chest, gurgling and choking during/after a feed. Not sure about the huge weight gain - Alice tended to not be on the breast long enough to get the fatty hind milk, so I would have probably expected not much weight gain. I think in our case the time between weighs meant it was a bit hard to tell. We picked it up and had it well and truly sorted between weighs. Both of my girls have been vomiters, so not sure whether in our case it was oversupplyy or genetic grin.gif A lot of people look shocked at my vomiters; I just thought it was normal until people continued to look shocked laughing2.gif

Cheers,
Deanne.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.