The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: Mar 08 Parents # 5

Bel
New Thread Time original.gif

Link to Last Thread
LottieCait
Gold

My first for the new group!!!!

Mel
ChickenSalt
Silver biggrin.gif eexcite.gif ddance.gif

Yee-haaaa. Yep, small things.....

After such a dream day on Wednesday, Thursday was hell!!!!! Eli screamed on and off between 3pm and 9.30pm. It was awful! DH was late home from work and I lost it at least once at the girls. Miss 2 woke Eli at one stage (I had him asleep in the rocker in the kitchen), it was all I could do not to throttle her. By the time Eli finally was well and truly asleep in his cot I was so exhausted and promptly fell asleep on the couch (and missed the end of Ghost Whisperer). DH woke me up at 12.30 and Eli woke up just as we turned our light off.

Friday was a bit better, we found Miss 4's sunglasses (she'd lost them the previous week at play group), I was so relieved. As a friend of mine said "It's the little things", I'm pretty sure if Miss 4 hadn't found those blasted sunnies I would have cracked it. Last night I went to bed just after 10, DH came in and woke me up at 12.30 with Eli for a feed. Eli woke up again just before 4, both girls also woke up, DH didn't stir rant.gif. Fortunately Eli had a really good feed and slept through until 8 this morning, meaning that I had a bit of a sleep in.

Well, sorry for the lack of personals but I can hear Eli stirring and I need to bath the girls.

Hello and welcome to the new March Mummies that have come in to join us. To the rest of you who haven't joined yet (and may be lurking), we don't bite Tounge1.gif.

Banana Pancakes
Bronze!
Yee-haaaa. Yep, small things.....
laughing2.gif laughing2.gif laughing2.gif I know what you mean! Both girls asleep equals bliss wub.gif
~RileyandChloesMum~
WOODEN SPOON

Mel - Well there you go....Riley's at CC on Mondays and playgroup is Wednesday mornings....so any other time is fine....happy to drive up if that makes things easier for you. Oh and I hear you on the nappy thing too....I was wondering when I can start to TT Riley, he's 20mths, but I'm seriously over the nappy thing with him.

waves.gif to Samantha....Welcome and Congratulations! Will definitely hold a Brissy meet every month or something (well try to anyway), so don't worry you won't miss out. Congrats on your building your new house too....can I ask which suburb your moving too.

Christy - bbighug.gif you poor thing.....I hope you have some better days coming your way. I do understand the whole losing patience (and temper), I have to turn around and chant "he's just a baby himself" over and over cause Riley's only 20mths so he doesn't always understand everything....and half the time what he's doing is just curiosity iykwim original.gif

Me - Had a great night (sorry). Chloe was in bed at 6:30pm and Riley at 7:30pm......I went to bed at 9:30pm and Chloe didn't get up for another feed until 3am...so I had some good quality sleep and then woke up this morning at 7. She's such a trooper wub.gif Riley was up at 5:30 this morning because he was cold so DH pulled him into our bed. He laid between us for all of 30mins before he'd had enough and decided to get up and play.

Yesterday I was supposed to only be taking Chloe to do the groceries, but ended up with both her and Riley. DH is such a baby about his cold, that he needed to rest. So he begged me (yep, he begged alright) to take Riley. Everything went smoothly except trying to get Riley out of the trolley whilst Chloe's in the pouch. Because I can't pull him to me like I normal would.....anyone else have this problem or found a solution. And then when I was putting them into the car, this really nice lady came up and offered to take the trolley back, and she saw I was struggling to get Riley out of the trolley, so she asked if she could do it.....how sweet was that? Its nice to know that there are still some good people left in the world wub.gif

ddoh.gif just realised, I should have put Chloe into the car first, taken off the pouch and then gotten Riley out of the trolley roll2.gif I'm so dumb sometimes blush.gif Pregnancy brain has not worn off yet.....I don't think it went away after having Riley

BBL.....have to run to Medicare now.

Sherri xxx

For those just doing their baby bonus stuff and birth certificate.

I lodged my baby bonus paperwork on the 6th of March and got it on the 20th March.....the lady said it can take up to 3weeks to process.

I sent my B/Cert form off on the 6th as well......still don't have it and they haven't charged my c/card either....so I have to ring them on Monday to see whats going on. Anyone else having dramas with their b/cert??
LovingMyGirls
Hi All

Well both the girls are sleeping and I am treasuring every peaceful moment. I got quite a bit of sleep last night, but for some reason feel tireder than normal today.

Eden has been grumpy at times over the last two days, not sure why but pretty sure wind is partly to blame, so I've been trying the Infants Friend here and there, hopefully it helps. Thankfully she's still sleeping pretty well although her sleep gets disrupted during the day while we are going here and there, gotta love the capsule. She also has a bit of a sneeze, blocked nose. I use the Fess Drops and aspirator thingy (is that what it's called) to get the snot out but yesterday she went absolutely feral, inconsolable, so Ive decided to give that a miss.

I am still finding the feeding a bit frustrating. The longest I generally get out of her is 10 minutes one side and then maybe 5 minutes on the next, that's if I'm lucky, then she has between 30 and 60ml as a top up. I am hoping she's getting enough as I don't want to give away the b/f altogether but it does cross my mind on a daily basis. The only thing really stopping me is mother guilt and the fact that asthma/allergies run in my family and Id end up blaming myself if I didn't persist with the b/f if she ended up with asthma or something. Silly really because I truly believe that it is genetic anyway so if they are going to get it then I doubt that b/feeding would prevent it, just my opinion. It is a week by week thing for us at the moment. I am going to conduct an experiment this arvo and give her a full bottle just to see how much she takes. I may also take this opportunity to sneak in one glass of wine, I havent had a drop of alcohol since Eden was conceived and feel well and truly due for a glass!!! I have to say though that, feeding frustrations aside, Eden is generally a good little bub and has settled into our family easily.

SHERRI - I still havent got my medicare card or birth certificate and they haven't cashed my cheque payment either, I guess it takes a while. I cant believe you have #3 planned already, you are a brave woman!!!

NADINE - Isnt it a beautiful thing when both girls sleep simultaneously, I completely relate to this. Love your name choice by the way, Gemma is a gorgeous choice. Hope youre well and truly over the gastro.

NINJA - Hope you are feeling much better, you poor thing. That must have been scary falling over. I notice you havent posted since that post so hope that all is ok.

CHRISTY - Zoe has lost about 3 pairs of sunglasses, it is highly annoying isnt it, lucky you found them. I can relate to you saying the girls are testing your patience, Zoe is really testing me at times, Im sure on purpose at times just for attention!

MEL - You live near Redcliffe dont you? That is where one of my Nans live, well Kippa Ring actually but that is pretty close right?

TRINA - Your girls are just gorgeous, great pics. And ouch on the bruise, that looks sore. I hope you are feeling much better after your dash to hospital, that must have been very scary.

ZOE - Does Benny's nose sound blocked, I can clearly hear the snot in Eden's nose and she has a sneeze. Have you tried the Fess Drops???

SAMY - Welcome and congratulations on the arrival of Jake.

NESSA - Congratulations on the arrival of Zarah, lovely name.

KAZZA - You poor thing, it sounds like the b/feeding is testing you as well. I can relate. We should be proud of ourselves for hanging in there, persisting and trying so hard for our bubbas. Sorry to hear about the TV blowing up, it never rains but it pours as they saying goes.

AMBER (Kozajo) - You will deserve a holiday after you get through your busy week. Hope you have a fab holiday and the boys are well behaved on the plane ride.

ALICIA (Keane) - Hope Tiana was less grizly for you today. It is hard to get anything finished isnt it before being disrupted, I can relate, this is how I managed to flood the kitchen/garage! How are all your precooked dinners going? I’ve found mine to be a real help for those busy days.

ALICIA (CTOO) -€Thanks for organising the catch up for us. Hope that Preston has been getting a bit more sleep for you. Sounds like Eden and Prestons top ups are similar.

LISA - Good on you for having some time out, you are lucky to have the break and so is your big boy, Im sure he would have had a great night with just his mum and dad. Love the new signature.

STREAKY - Hope your son is feeling better and over his temp etc. I was the one posting the pics of my little girl smiling, thanks for the compliment.

LELAH - Bl**dy medicare, what a pain! Yay to Coco for having a big night sleep, I hope this has continued for you.

DIDEE - Hope you are feeling much better, you poor thing.

LUCKYKEL - Yay for Heath being a good boy and sleeping well at night.

JADE - That was a wild April Fools Day trick! If I did that DH would kill me, if he didnt die of a heart attack first from the scare!!!

SANZEL - Glad to hear you are getting out and about and showing off Natasha, its fun isnt it.

AMBER (Addie)- Hope that Addie's conjunctivitis has cleared up.

SUNNY - Glad to hear you had a better day after your yucky day. It is very normal to have a bad day and b/f is hard work.

Big hellos to anyone I may have missed, Ive tried hard to catch everyone!

Sorry this has turned out to be a marathon post, hope everyone is having a great weekend.

Renae
keanealicia
Renae - precooked meals are going great. I scatter them through the week, and when i have enough time/get up and go....then i cook something! If i am cooking something i usually peel the vegies early in the morning or put the slow cooker on early. that helps...poor thing with the stuff nose etc hope things improve! good on you re the wine! Feeding is a personal thing, and i don't believe you could stop asthma with whatever you fed a child, especially if it runs through the family. My DH has minor asthma and his brother has a bit more full on, Blake has an asthma type thing but only in winter and they are hoping he will"grow out of it" as they are hesitant to diagnose. I breastfed both my boys up to 8 weeks and i intend to do the same with Tiana. That is what i am happy with emotionally and physically, so don't beat yourself up about it, as you are trying everything you possibly can re feeding original.gif
Sherri - both birth certs and baby bonus arrived friday so took two weeks for me....It's funny how you try sort yourself with little things when going shopping etc with more than one child. It's scarey at first, but second nature later on. It's just harder with a teeny bubby....

Chickensalt - poor you. hope you have a better week next week. I just thank goodness it is the weekend. Next week will be the big test with school drop offs etc for me!

Tiana was a bit grizzly, like i was feeding her incorrectly, but now i think that she was overtired as she has now been sleeping for 3 hours..trust it to be now!

Hope everyone else is having a good weekend. My dad turns 74 today!
Banana Pancakes
Hi

Renae, I hear you on the challenging breast feeding sad.gif Im also taking it one day at a time. I have vasospam on my right side and its very painful when she feeds off this side. Im trying to work through the pain but sometimes I have to use a nipple shield to dull the pain.
Gemma is also a sleepy feeder and often only drinks for 10 mins before falling asleep but wants it again in an hour.
It doesnt help that she is putting on weight really slowly so Im doubting myself. She has plenty of wet and dirty nappies but Im just praying that she starts to put weight on faster so I can relax a bit blush.gif

keanealicia Happy b'day to your Dad! Good luck with school drop offs.

Christy, Sorry to hear you had a bad day on Thursday sad.gif Im dreading Monday when I'll be home alone with the girls. Hope you had a nice weekend.

Sherri, Im so impressed you took both ds and dd shopping! You are so much braver than me. We havent gotten our b/cert yet, but we got our baby bonus and medicare card within a week of lodging them.

Mel, good luck with Charlotte starting dc, Im sure she will have a ball! Im thinking of putting Belle in when she is 2 yrs (she is 18 mths atm). There is a huge lack of under 2 spots in our area so Im not even going to try and
get her in yet!

Karen, I love your new signature! What beautiful children you have wub.gif

Us, other than the breastfeeding dramas we are doing well here. Dh is going back to work on Monday and Im dreading being on my own. My dh works 12 hr days so Im not looking forward to it. Hopefully Belle will behave herself while I feed Gemma. Im defintely going to have to invest in a slow cooker wink.gif

Hi to everyone else wub.gif
Nadine

eta, Ive just re-read this post and it comes across very spacey blush.gif Please forgive me, Im going to blame it on the tiredness...
lelah
I'm only getting one day of this weekend with DH cry1.gif Work is so full on he has to go in on Sunday. No fair! But I had a great sleep this morning thanks to DH's help. Fed Coco from 4 - 5am, then DH took the 7:30am shift, so I slept from 5am - 11:30am... soooooo good!

Sherri – Did your scar keloid at 12 weeks? I thought that would just happen at the beginning, I didn't know it could 'turn'. My scar is looking so good... now I'm worried... Also would I have been told of any muscle separation in hospital when they were checking for uterus contraction after birth?

Nadine – Hope being on your own goes well, I know you'll be great!

Lisa – That's so great of your Mum to give you a night off, and so sweet that Jake is so happy to be having exclusive Mummy and Daddy time.

Nessa – So good to meet you, I love Zarah's name!

Samantha – Hello and welcome to the lovely Jake!
Renae – Coco usually tells me when she's had enough if we offer a top-up. She's been putting on 400gms a week, since leaving the hospital under weight.

Alicia – I hope you find your forms, how frustrating! Sooo cute you and Preston sleeping with heads resting together wub.gif

Trina – Oh how scary! I'm so glad you're okay and that your families have rallied to your side. Your sleep sounds divine! Great pics!

Christy – You're amazing juggling all of your children. I'm in awe and hope I will be as good a mummie!

Better go to bed!
kazzabear
evening all.. finally got miss c down to sleep.. no more 7hr sleeps.. 2nights then has been unsettled since.. i pray tonight is a better night...i am still wondering if she has reflux.. will speak to dr at our appt next thursday.. it is her needles..8 weeks already where did time go?? i dont want my last baby to grow up so quickly.... she is smiling more now.. mainly at her daddy.. typical.. and enjoying being on her play matt.. bashing the hanging toys... didnt get up to much today just lazed about home... should go out somewhere tomorrow as ds will drive me nuts otherwise.. he has been pushing some buttons.. bf and toddler not so easy... and he knows it .. so will have to start showing him i can put her down if i need to..i am hoping to finish miss c room this weekend.. some last things to sew and hanging the butterflies i bought.. i am still undecided what bookshelf to buy.. i love the ikea expedit one.. and found they had a small one that looks perfect but still nearly 200 ... mmmmm what to do... sorry rambling

sherri-are you getting the signs for both kids? i found rileys harder as i really wanted them to last them for yrs.. charlottes i think was easy as my 12yr niece loves it and said wanted one.. so i avoided the buzz/bob the builder ones etc as they outgrow them quickly... They are really large too so a big feature so had to choose something i didnt mind looking at .... i am really happy with mine.... can you tell?????? doing groceries with bubs can certainly be a challenge.. i shop at aldi.. and find the packing /unpacking/repacking/unpacking at home.. is so tiring... i tend to lift my ds to the side when i have the pouch on.. not perfect but it works..

Nadine-thanks re my kids.. now i think they are cute but am bias.. my ds has taken to posing for photos as you can see.. and well miss c finally had her eyes open for that shot.. I hope belle behaves for when dh goes back to work.. i am sure she will... how does your DS like having 2 sisters??? i hope all your bf issues go away.. i am just taking it day/week at a time.. everythings a bonus.. i did just invest in some feeding tops i just hope i get to use them...anything to make feeding in public easier

Christy- i hope you are getting some extra sleep.. it is so hard not to get cranky my ds is pushing buttons for attention i am sure of it...i have to admit to enjoying his 2 days at car blush.gif good for both of us..

Renae-how did you go with your test and the bottle?? i find it hard to know how long/often to bf.. she doesnt usually do 3-4hrs between her feeds.. i tend to demand feed.. what else can you do when they screaming for it? and it is hard to sit for an hr to do a good feed when you have to be out and about etc..... sure does sound like our toddlers are similar.. being naughty for attention...

MEl- yes very happy ds tt ... saying that he did fall asleep this arvo and silly me hadnt made him go to the loo before hand.. so he did wet the bed... i have been using a nappy at night but most nights it is dry if i get him to the loo before bed and first thing in the morning.. he is good takes it off..goes to the loo.. and puts it in the bin.. and grabs his undies..i swear he is better at picking up after himself than my dh..haha.. wow 55 nappies a day that would have been fun.. NOT>..

Now sorry for lack of personals but missy is asleep so i should be asleep too.. i hands.gif i get another good night...
keanealicia
Kazzabear - how did you go with last night re sleep?
Lelah - glad you got a bit of sleep, but it is still hard without dh on weekends...
bananapancakes - good luck with being on your own next week!
ninjamummy
Hi All

I know I have been MIA for a while but I have been thinking of you and hoping things are going well. I have been trying to get over the allergic reaction – so pretty much saving my energy for tending to Angus and then getting some rest when I can. It’s so frustrating (because I can’t take anything for it) but I’ll stick it out because I want to keep feeding Angus as much as I can (for now, anyway).The housework has gone south (!) but I did manage to get a few loads of washing done yesterday – now it just needs to be sorted, ironed and put away. I’m getting used to the place looking like a Laundromat. laugh.gif tongue.gif DH has taken Angus out for a while (some father/son bonding time, also to give me a break – bless him wub.gif ) so I’m taking this opportunity to do a little bit of housework and thought I’d come in here to catch up, etc.

Top-up feeds with BF – Angus wakes about every four hours for a feed (that’s four hours after I start the last feed) and I feed him from both sides for about 20 minutes each side then offer a top-up – he will take anything from 60 – 120 mls, depending on how hungry he is. I spoke about what I am doing with the Early Childhood Clinic Nurse and she said whatever I am doing is fine because he looks well and has put on weight. I am trying not to obsess about how much I am making or how much top-up he has – because, as I have said before, it’s more important to me that he is getting enough to eat so that he sleeps better. So, even though it means that there’s about an hour and a half between when I put him down and he wakes again for another feed, that seems to be working OK for both of us (but not the house!)

Renae (LovingMyGirls) – hope Eden isn’t so grumpy today. I don’t think I’d be very good at trying to use the Fess and that aspirator thing – but I’m constantly amazed at how prepared I am to do things that I would have never thought, because Angus is uncomfortable or because he needs it. It just goes to show that the maternal instinct comes out in us all. By the way, you know how we were talking about naming our babies and you were thinking about her initials, etc. I just thought I’d share a new bit of info – nothing I had ever thought of (nor would have occurred to me!) but when I put ‘Angus’ into my mobile, if the predictive text is on, it comes up as ‘Bogus’! Too late to do anything about it, and I can easily toggle to ‘Angus’ but I would NEVER have thought of that beforehand!

Sherri (Violet) - I got my new Medicare card with Angus on it during the week (so that was about 10 days). Still don’t have the birth certificate or baby bonus yet – and that has been about two weeks. I did most of the baby bonus claim online (but we had to lodge the form in person) so I will check where it’s up to during the week (especially after hearing about Lelah’s story with the paperwork being lost between offices!).

Nadine (Bananapancakes) – I have been meaning to say how much I like your sig pic of Gemma – how cute!

Christy (Chickensalt) – Hope you’ve been getting some quality sleep lately – we all need as much as we can get! It would be so hard with two other little ones as well as a newborn

Trina – OMG, that story about the PPH still freaks me out. Hope you are well and truly recovered

Samy and Nessa – Hi! Welcome and congratulations on the arrival of Jake (Samy) and Zarah (Nessa). I look forward to getting to know you.

Kazza - Sorry to hear about the TV blowing up – we have been going through the money like nothing else lately – it just seems that there’s always something!

Amber (Kozajo) – Enjoy the trip top Malaysia! Hope you have a fab holiday, get some rest and that the plane ride is uneventful. I seem to remember that it’s your mum’s birthday (?) If so, hope the party goes well.

Alicia (Keane) – I’m glad I followed your lead and got some frozen meals done in advance. Between them, the BBQ (my gorgeous DH has been great in that regard, cooking anything from roasts, hamburgers, seafood and or the good old steaks and snags) and takeway, I haven’t had to cook much – hooray! When I do, I feel like superwoman! Whatever it takes to make me feel like I am coping with things!

Alicia (CTOO) -Hope Preston has been getting a bit more sleep for you

Lelah – OMG – that story about the form going missing between Medicare and the other office freaked me out. I am a public servant and have seen it all (good and bad) – but I never fail to be surprised when something goes pear-shaped! I just can’t believe when something as basic as that goes wrong. Coco is putting on a great amount of weight – more than Angus is (but I’ve come to terms with what is normal for one bubba is not for another).

Didee - hope you’re feeling heaps better now. Thinking of you! Just remember, we all have days when everything seems to go pear-shaped (and they always seem to happen the same day, don’t they??)

Sarah (Sanzel) – Good on you for getting out and about and showing off Natasha. DH and I actually went out for dinner with Angus on Friday night (well, it was more like a cheap and cheerful pizzeria) but it was great. Angus was a dream baby and I felt sensational for getting out on a Friday night. DH went to the rugby last night so I was home on my own with Angus. Not a new experience but Angus was very unsettled. I was exhausted by the time DH got home. Glad it’s not every week!

Sorry this has been such a long post – that had best be it for me for today. Hi to everyone else and hope you’re all well (and your bubs, too)

Ninja original.gif
~RileyandChloesMum~
Ok, I officially have no idea as to whats going on with Chloe & B/fing. Pretty much up until last night things were perfectly fine and then BAM!! it all goes south.

Chloe woke up to be fed it was about 4pm....so I fed her as usual. This time she didn't settle real well afterwards, but was content to just sit in the rocker whilst I went about getting dinner ready. She dozed in and out of sleep.....whilst she was doing this I started expressing some milk (its about 5:45pm when i started) and out of both breasts I only managed to get 90mls....took me a whole hour to get that too. Anyway, I woke Chloe up for our bedtime ritual of bath, b/f then bed.....she drank the 90mls, then had a go at both breasts and still would not settle. She was still hungry.......by now both my boobs are sore from expressing and excessive sucking....so I get over my guilt and make a 120ml bottle for her. DH gave it to her whilst I sat beside them and she drank 60mls of this....finally she was content, but still not sleepy. It was about 7:50pm when Chloe finally decided she was ready for bed, she went down without a fuss.

Well Chloe got back up at 12pm and was hungry again so I b/f her 30mins on the 1st side then I put her onto the 2nd side, but she still didn't seem satisfied, kept pulling her head back and arching her back whilst still sucking.....I have no idea what that means, anyone have any idea or bub does it to them too?? Finally managed to get her to settle, but it took an hr which is very unusual for Chloe. I can usually just put her into her snuggle bed awake and walk away and she's asleep within 10mins....but not last night.

Then Chloe was back up at 5am for another feed....again it was the same and she didnt seem to be as satisfied like she normally is. And she's been really unsettled all day today....she's not crying or anything, just doesn't want to sleep, just wants to be held.....i figured its because she's sick (Chloe has a cold) and that but the feeding thing has thrown me for a loop.

Its almost like my milk has really dropped off.....and thats very strange because I usually have more than enough milk, that after each of her feeds I'm still leaking some.

What do you girls think??

For those who express -
A) How do you know that you have expressed enough for 1 feed?? I thought 90mls would be enough, as I seriously struggled to get that out, but I was seriously wrong?? And what do you do if you haven't expressed enough and don't have anymore EBM in the fridge?? Do you just b/f??

B) When I express, I get a really fast flow at the start (the initial let down), but then it tapers off to very slow drip.....then it'll stop and I'll keep pumping for a few minutes just to see if anything more will come out, but it doesn't. Yet if i take the pump off and hand express, I still get milk.........what the hell is going on?? Is this normal??

Going to go and have lurk in the feeding baby section.

Sherri xxx

PS Amanda (Ninja)- Sorry to hear that you are not well. Wishing you a speedy recovery bbighug.gif
kazzabear
sherri- could it just be a grown spurt??? i find miss c can be like that at times... and then i give her formula it does the trick... i tend to demand feed her inthe day... and then at night bottle feed.. she still wants to bf for comfort...

Keanealicia- miss slept from 12.30 till 5.30 but silly me didnt get to be until 1.30... i got her back to sleep about 6.15 in bed with me.. ph34r.gif i was so tired.. and she fell asleep feeding.. until i woke her at about 10ish.. she has been sleeping too much today but i think it is the weather..

Amanda- i hope you can get some rest.. housework is never ending.. drives me nuts... hope you are better soon
~RileyandChloesMum~
Karen - She does turn 6wks on Tuesday, so maybe it is a growth spurt coming on and she needs to drink more. Demand feeding is when you feed them whenever they want it isn't it?? If yes, then I demand feed too...thing is though, Chloe only wakes every 4hrs and I feed her until she's satisfied and pulls herself off and refuses to latch back on. But since last night she just wants to keep going and going and its starting to really hurt iykwim.

Will see the ECN on Wednesday and ask her opinion.
kazzabear
Charlotte gets like that in the afternoons.. when my supply is low.. even though she has fed for a good amount of time so i would be thinking if it something just starting now it is a growth spurt.. miss c has done it all along.... yes demand feeding is feeding them when they want it etc.. some times she goes longer and other days shorter..
Banana Pancakes
Sherri, Im sorry to hear that Chloe has been unsettled. It sounds like she was cluster feeding in order to boost your supply. I agree with Karen, maybe she is going through or about to go through a growth spurt. Fun, fun hey! I hear you on the soreness huh.gif
I use an electric pump and I follow its instructions and only ever pump for 15 mintues on each side. Its a pretty powerful pump though and it has lots of speeds (sounds like a loud speedboat blush.gif) so my milk comes out pretty fast. We offer her 80 mls and she has only finished that once. Normally she drinks around 60mls but she is only 17 days old.
Good luck for tonight, I hope she settles well. P.s I cant believe your little girl is almost 6 weeks!

Karen, What were you doing up to 1.30am tongue.gif I cant wait till Gemma sleeps from 12.30 to 5.30!

Amanda, thanks I think she pretty cute as well! Can you come clean my house after you are finished at yours? laughing2.gif

We just braved the shops again with the three kids. Im loving the phil and ted pram we bought. Its so easy to push even with the double attachment and both girls in it. Id better go and start dinner.

Ciao original.gif
kazzabear
nadine- i have been trying to list all my DS clothes as now i have a girl i can clear some out.... he has so many cry1.gif taking me forever... i do a load every couple of days, take photos, arrange them... it takes forever... but thankfully today have had some interest finally....the new trading room is still very quiet

wow you girls are good for expressing.. i dont have the time/energy with demand feeding etc...

Sherri- i was told that the amount that you are expressing doesnt always indicate how much bubs is getting as some ppl the milk expresses faster etc..
~RileyandChloesMum~
Karen & Nadine - Thanks for the advice girls.

Well we did the usual bedtime routine, bath, b/f, then bed. I latched her on and after about 15-20mins, she pulled off and settled in my arms. I didn't offer her the other breast because with how my milk supply has been today, I wanted to conserve some for her midnight feed if that makes any sense. So I offered her a formula top up, luckily I did offer the bottle as she took another 60mls and went into a deep sleep instantly. So maybe my supply is down, from her almost constant feeding today.

Guess I will wait and see the ECN on Wednesday........I really don't like the feeling of not knowing if she's getting enough or if I'm making enough for her. I was confident with the whole b/f thing until last night. As I said she always feeds then settls really well and I would still leak a little milk after her feed....but after last night and today all the doubts etc came flooding in, so I'm feeling less than confident.....very tempted to give up b/fing and just fully formula feed. But I will try to hang in there......as you said Karen, every day/week is a plus.

Chloe was down and out....but apparently not anymore. Better run.

Sherri xxx
cantthinkofone
trina - we forgive you laughing2.gif hehehehe. hope you are ok now from the trip to hospital, scary!
Pregnancy is weird, your prescription changes, your feet change size, your immunity is compromised, your teeth go to hell in a hand basket
Why do we do it?

laughing2.gif
what gorgeous photo's!(not the bruise though)

sherri - when's bub #3 going to be? Preston pulls his head back, arches his back, pulls his legs up while feeding from me too, and while crying. hope it all works out for you

amber (kozajo) - oh poor Josh.

lisa - hope Zac is ok now, so cute to hear your mum took him for show and tell laughing2.gif

nessa - welcome and congrats

karen - i haven't been to the new part of the rouse hill shopping centre yet, the day it opened (march 6) i had to go to Stanhope Gardens and all cars for the RHTC were parked up schofields rd and even parked in the cemetery across the road from the shopping centre (that i found a bit strange/inconsiderate)

samantha - welcome and congrats

alicia - happy b'day to ur dad

nadine - what pump do you have?

me - i finally found the birth rego and medicare/fao forms! woo hoo, so i put them in the post box before i lost them again.
will be taking Preston to doc tomorrow, to get him checked out for reflux and when i was there the other day i asked her a few questions about it and things i'd said aswell, regarding symptoms, etc, she said i'd be best getting him checked incase its more serious, etc. she then was saying about where the oesophegus (sp?) can sometimes somehow be connected to the lung and therefore milk can go into the lung... i dunno how to explain it and i forget what its called... poor little poor has thrown up a few times more, it also comes out his nose, looks so gross and its scary too coz he can't breathe for a little while

sorry if post doesn't all make sense original.gif

Sydney meet

Wed 23/4 -
Me - anytime
Amanda (ninjamummy)
Karen (kazzabear) - unless other appointments arise - prefer mornings from 10am
Sarah (sanzel)
Christy (chickensalt)
Sania (sunnysunshine)
Kel (luckykel479)
Lelah - maybe
Renae (lovingmygirls)
Amber (kozajo) - maybe

Thur 8/5 -
Me - anytime
Sarah (sanzel)
Tash (scarletgirl)
Amber (addisonsmummy)
Kel (luckykel479)
Amanda (ninjamummy) - maybe
Lelah
Renae (lovingmygirls)
Amber (kozajo)

i still need to know what times, etc are best please
kazzabear
ctoo-miss c will have it come out of her nose too
Scarletgirl
I've had a busy week.
We went to a wedding yesterday, Sam was at the inlaws all w/e. They took him on a ferry/train & to the zoo.
Jesse fed through the ceremony in his sling & then slept the next 6 hrs of the reception in his pram. Not a peep from him. Put him to bed at 11pm & he woke at 4am, 8am & we got up at 11!

He is making up for it today, I think we are at our first growth spurt. Feeding from both sides until empty. Magical boobs suddenly have more milk 15mins later just when I'm starting to panic.
It feels like I have fed him about 100 times in the last 2 hrs, probably really 8 times, lol.

Sherri- I'm not expressing this time. I did with DS & got too obsessed with how much or little I was getting. This time I am just demand feeding, see above.
Like Chloe, Jesse has been a good feeder & sleeper, so I am sure its a growth spurt.
sunnysunshine

these posts move so fast!

Welcome and conrgratulations to all the new march mummies!

Jacob is one monthe old today!!! a whole month!! can't believe it. i've been a mother for a whole month it feels like such an achievement! grin.gif

I've been MIA I have been thinking of you and missing this little forum. I have relocated the lap top back to the sofa so i can read while I'm B/Fing.
You know I've had a bad day when I haven't poked my head in for a few days. Mothers guilt is almost paralising!! coincides with lack of sleep!

Just popping in to let you know I'm okay caught up on some sleep and we're on track.

Breastfeeding is not what i thought it was going to be but itsounds like some of you are experiencing what i am. I'm ready to give up to be honest! My supply was low for a few days which utterly depressed me but now it's back.. I looking forward to the promise of it becoming easier as Jocob gets more coordinated. just wish my let down didn't feel like being injected with cocacola in my nipples - it's the only way i can describe it like fizzles and stabbed with a needle - I know when jacobs due for a feed with out a doubt even if he doesn't! and the tabbong pains in my breasts! I could go onbut I wont. i have emailed a counsellor with my local ABA. so we'll see what happens.

BBL for personlas Jacob is due for a feed.

Cioa for now
streaky
Morning all!
IT is back to school today for DS#1. YAY! These holidays were far to close to the chrissy hols.

I am sorry to hear that some bubbas have decided to party at night. We have had a couple of bad nights but other than that Liam has been pretty good.

Expressing! please keep in mind those that feel that they carnt express enogh that bubs is a far more efficient at getting the milk out than a pump. When I expressed with Riley it got to a time that I could not even express 5mls but yet he could still get a full feed.

Sorry to hear that some of you are finding BF really hard and thinking abot FF. Dont feel bad if you do FF (I FF DS#1) as happy baby = happy mummy. They will still thrive on formula.

I carnt belive how fast the time is flying. Liam is 7 weeks old today and that means he has his 1st lot of needles comming up soon cry1.gif .

Well I hope everyone has a nice day and manages to get some rest.
Take care
kazzabear
morning... well missy had a great sleep last night from 10.15 till 6.15... then a big feed and is cozy in bed next to me asleep now...YAY.. just wish my ds would do what he was told now... cant have everything now can i..hahah...

Miss C was rolling lots last night and i was able to catch it on my video phone.. hence some of you got texts from me..hha biggrin.gif i had to share...

sunny- good description of let down.. i felt it in the beginning and now dont get it anymore.. i know i have milk as i am full... especially this am....I hope they are able to give you some answers....I found my supply would drop off it i didnt drink enough water or was super busy/or stressed... or maybe he is just having a growth spurt too...

Scarletgirl- wow sounds like jesse was an angel for the wedding ...that is great so you could have some fun... I still havent got myself a sling for feeding which i am sure would be handy but to what weight/age can you use the slings?? i did buy some BF tops to make public feeding a bit easier..

Streaky- posting at the same time... i know what you mean about time flying my son turns 3 this sunday and miss will be 2months she has her 8 week needles on thursday... ouch..
trina-p
I gots a new sig (thanks Shazlee)

Rolling?!?!?! No!!! It's too soon. Are we talking the "lift legs and move to the side" kind of rolls or the actual flipping over from ones back to ones front?!?!
Cause the first one we're already doing at 2 weeks but I'm not going to be ready for rolling over in 5 weeks.
I'm sure E was 3 or 4 months when she rolled over.
cantthinkofone
karen - looks gross doesn't it laughing2.gif

sunny - as long as he's fed is all that matters original.gif

trina - cute sig

Sydney meet

Wed 23/4 -
Me - anytime
Amanda (ninjamummy)
Sarah (sanzel)
Christy (chickensalt)
Sania (sunnysunshine)
Kel (luckykel479)
Lelah - maybe
Renae (lovingmygirls)
Amber (kozajo) - maybe

Thur 8/5 -
Me - anytime
Sarah (sanzel)
Tash (scarletgirl)
Amber (addisonsmummy)
Kel (luckykel479)
Lelah
Renae (lovingmygirls)
Amber (kozajo)
Sania (sunnysunshine)
kazzabear
trina -she is 8weeks now but started at 5...it is a full roll.... if i knew how to post it i would..haha
streaky
kazzabear Well done to Charlotte on her rolling. My oldest started rolling at 4 weeks and it looks so wierd as in something so little can do that!
Natasha*s-Mum
Morning March Mummies.

It has been a busy few days for me. This is the first time I've sat down and had time to read and post. I'll try not to ramble on too much.

Natasha has been sleeping really well once she actually gets to sleep. It's about a week or more since I've felt like a zombie from sleep deprivation. I feel like I am going to jinx myself now I've said that.

Most of our weekend was spent entertaining. One of Rocco's friends from when he used to do lights for bands came over Saturday to give us some second hand clothes. He has a five month old and Rocco went into shock over how big Natasha will get.

Yesterday my grandmother caught the train up from Wollongong to meet Natasha. It was a nice afternoon. It's amazing to think that my grandmother has fourteen grandchildren and now two great grandchildren and yet she still gets excited over the new babies.

Natasha has started smiling which is so exciting. I thought Rocco was going to cry the first time she smiled at him. She's also worked out how to roll onto her side. She certainly is growing up.

Alicia {cantthinkofone} - I'm ok for any time for the Sydney meet ups. I suspect my little one will sleep right through.

Lelah - I can't believe they lost your baby bonus paperwork. I got a letter Friday to say my claim was unsuccessful. Surely it shouldn't be this hard!

Sherri - It's funny how we get used to our partners being away. When I started dating Rocco he was touring all the time with bands. He works corporate now for an events company so he still tours but not necessarily for as long. He is about to do two tours: one to Bali and one around Australia so I'll have some quality 24/7 time with Natasha. It also means I might fly to Brisbane for the week when he is up there. My inlaws won't see the baby any time soon if we don't.

I'm glad your DH is getting in some quality parenting time.

And I don't think you are crazy for planning baby #3. We have already worked out when we need to start trying for #2. But I am not intending on any birth control so if it happens earlier then it is meant to be.

Trina - Don't be shy and don't worry if you aren't used to personals. I have good days and bad days with them. Today is a good day. Natasha is asleep on my chest though so it might turn into a bad day if she wakes up.

The pictures of the girls are gorgeous.

Nessa - Congratulations on the birth of Zarah. I absolutely love the name!

Samantha - Welcome to the group.

Ok I will post this half now and then check the new thread.

Sarah
luckykel479
Infants Friend is a godsend! Heath has been so much more settled and less 'chucky' since we started him on IF. It used to take ages to wind him before and now he burps almost straight away each time. Thankyou to those of you who mentioned it!

I called my local health centre today to follow up on when my mothers group was meant to start as nobody had called me back - apparently they only run them when they get a chance so if they are really busy (which I know they are)they don't run them... bugger.

Looking forward to the catchups.

Gotta run - Heath has just woken
trina-p
I knew I blogged about it - E rolled over in May 04 so she was 5 months. ph34r.gif
Scarletgirl
Rolling Sam rolled at about 5 months too.

Jesse I think will be a late roller too. He is never awake long enough for tummy time laughing2.gif

He finally went to sleep/finished feeding at 10pm last night & woke at 4am & 8am. (.)(.) are much fuller today after lastnights marathon feeding frenzy ohmy.gif
LovingMyGirls
Hi All

Well I am having a pretty average day I must say. I feel like the tiredness has caught up with me and just feel pretty down really. I finally got Zoe to go to sleep after a lot of whinging and protest and then Eden took a bit of settling but finally went off to sleep, then not long after that Zoe woke up screaming because her nose was blocked, which in turn woke Eden cry1.gif. This didn't really help my mood. They are both quite now so lets hope they sleep a little more hands.gif!

Zoe had dancing this morning and it was the last one for the term, so the one where all the mummys get to watch, she was so cute, she has learnt quite a lot.

Got our new medicare cards today, it was quite cute to see all our names on there. Feels like there's a lot of us now tongue.gif.

Settling - Does anyone find it takes their bub a while to settle off into a good sleep sometimes? For some of Eden's sleeps during the afternoon early evening mainly I find she'll lay there then start crying, I'll go back and give the dummy or resettle etc and leave when she is quite and calm but still awake and then this will repeat itself, sometimes this has gone on for quite a while before she is actually asleep. Anyone else??? I am really trying to avoid nursing/rocking her to sleep as I believe in not starting something unless it is what I want to have to do every time IYKWIM.

ALICIA (KEANE) - Thanks for the reinforcement re the b/feeding. I personally don't believe B/F will prevent illnesses as such either. My mum B/F me for 9 months and I had chronic childhood asthma and still have it to some degree and she b/fed my sister for 2 1/2 years and she has chronic eczema sp? So go figure... At least you have a plan to stop at 8 weeks, I feel like I'm in limbo with it, I'd love it if I could get to at least 3 months, I doubt we'll get to 11 months like I did with Zoe however. Hope your dad had a nice birthday.

NADINE - Sorry to hear you're having issues with the b/feeding too. What is vasospam? I have an inverted right nipple which was painful but is pretty much 'broken in' now, still hurts a bit though wacko.gif. The self doubt is really the hardest part I think. After the scare with Eden ending up in hospital at 2 weeks old, it just threw my b/f confidence completely.

LELAH - Hope you managed the Sunday without DH. I can relate as my DH works alternate weekends so is only home every second weekend, he does have a day off during the week however to compensate.

KAZZA - Yay for Charlotte having a good night, you must feel on top of the world with a big sleep like that. She is a clever girl with the rolling, would love to see it. From memory Zoe was about 10 weeks when she went from tummy to back and was almost 6 months when she went from back to tummy. Which way is Charlotte going? It does sound like Zoe and Riley are behaving similarly at the moment!!!

NINJA - Hope you are fully over the allergic reaction. Yay for DH cooking up a storm on the bbq, that all sounds lovely. DH has been helping out in the kitchen here and there but cooking isn't really his forte, he does do a lot to help with the housework/washing however which is great. Gotta laugh at Angus being 'bogus' laughing2.gif.

SHERRI - Sorry to hear that Chloe wasn't feeding very well for you, hope it has gone back to normal. Eden also does the pulling away from the boob thing sometimes, but I am really clueless as to why I'm afraid so can't offer any enlightening advice, she doesn't do this when she has her top up on the bottle however!!!

ALICIA (CTOO) - Glad you got your forms off. How did you go getting Preston checked at the dr?

TASH - Glad you had a nice time at the wedding with Jesse being so cooperative, good for you. Sounds like Sam had a fab weekend too.

SUNNY - The mother guilt can be quite overwhelming and is an ongoing thing I must say. I think it is just because we love our children so much, all we want is the very best for them which is what we all strive for, but at the same time we are human and can only do so much. Sometimes (well most of the time) we expect super human effort from ourselves and then feel guilty for not living up to our own expectations.

STREAKY - I am also not looking forward to the needles, ours are still a couple of weeks away. A necessary evil I guess but no fun all the same. Yep the time sure does fly doesn't it.

TRINA - Love the new sig, your girls are gorgeous.

SANZEL - The trip to Brisbane should be fun. Glad you are getting some good rest and yay for Natashas big smiles.

LUCKYKEL - Sorry to hear there is no mum's group for you to go to. At least you have all of us grin.gif. Glad to hear that the Infants Friend is helping Heath, out of curiosity how often do you give it to him and do you do before or after feeding?

Renae
cantthinkofone
sarah - how can your baby bonus be unsuccessful??? very strange blink.gif

took Preston to doc this morning, all is fine, he said not to worry about the reflux stuff at the moment.... but i'll talk to the ECN on wed about it again anyway

Sydney meet

Wed 23/4 -
Me - anytime
Amanda (ninjamummy)
Sarah (sanzel) - anytime
Christy (chickensalt)
Sania (sunnysunshine)
Kel (luckykel479)
Lelah - maybe
Renae (lovingmygirls)
Amber (kozajo) - maybe

Thur 8/5 -
Me - anytime
Sarah (sanzel) - anytime
Tash (scarletgirl)
Amber (addisonsmummy)
Kel (luckykel479)
Lelah
Renae (lovingmygirls)
Amber (kozajo)
Sania (sunnysunshine)
kazzabear
Afternoon all...

YAy my two are asleep.. we went and visited my aunty today she looks after 6 kids, then my cousin was there 2 with her daughter and the lady across the road had her fdc kids.. 4 i think.... so it was busy but my Ds had fun once he warmed up..he is super shy at first... then about 5mins after leaving he was sound asleep.. and still going....

CTOO- not to worry about reflux?? has he settled down at all? I find charlotte is a bit better with regards to being sick with infants friend...

Renae- sorry to hear you arent feeling great... it can be hard cant it..i hope you can get some rest and feel better soon.... i do feel ok for the sleep but still tired i think it is the weather.. Charlotte can only roll from belly to back.... she likes to sleep on her belly but if she doesnt want to be on it she just rolls straight over..Charlotte can take a while to settle.. she is a comfort sucker... last night i had her sitting in the tri pillow with her dummy about to come in and see if she need to bf to sleep after her bottle as she does sometimes.. and i come back and she was sound asleep and stayed that way for hours.... i think she likes noise..

Scarlet girl- i think my ds rolled from belly to back about 12weeks... not sure about the other way.. and he always had tummy time... i thought she did it as a fluke but she keeps doing it..

Trina- my ds was older.. she can only roll from tummy to back not the other way around...

Kel- i am a big fan of infants friend too...

Streaky- i know what you mean.. i missed her first few rolls as she was having tummy time and i went out of the room come back and she was on her back.. and would think... how did you do that..hahah

Sarah-yes they grow so quickly.. well done on the clothes you would be surprised how many these little ppl use

ok bbl bubs crying
sunnysunshine
Good afternoon Ladies!

It looks like Jacob has reflux. He's vomiting after each feed. not little possets big projectiles allover me and himself. Getting into see a dr was a bit traumatic the receptionist said I couldn't get in to see the dr before next week! So I rang the pedeatricaet and he said to get into see a gp today. HA! So i called the GP back and relayed what was siad and miraculously I have an appt for tomorrow at 11.30am.

We've had a fairly easy morning it's been great actually! Jacob slept from 11pm till 5.30 this morning and eventhen I stuck the dummy inhis mouth to but me sometime to express my ginormous breasts off so he could latch on and how much do you think came out?? 220mls unbelievable!!!!There was still plenty after that for him to have a feed.

We finally had some visitors yesterday afternoon. Friends of ours from Bowral came up. They had a little girl they called Andaleyne born 6 weeks before Jacob. We haven't seen them november when we went down for the wedding.

I want to say thanks to who ever it was that recommended "It's time to sleep". Was it Mel? IT WORKS!!!! It's hard the first few times but as long as you remember it takes 3 days for them to learn a new habit... piece of cake.

Zoe - I was dealing with the samething. I have banned the dummy for settling because I can't handle the constant resettling. I used the techniques in the DVD I mentioned above. Which is wrap, put bubby on thier side away from you, to prevent eye contact and pat - i pat in rhythm to twnkle twinkle to save my sanity. It takes 10- 15 minutes and he cries but then he settles down and drifts off. If he cries longer than 15min then I'm supposed to pick him up and cuddle and try again but he hasn't done that. he's tired anyway so goes to sleep. Be prepared to get that shrill cry it's when they reach that, their peak, that they quiet dosn and settle the drift off. It onlt takes 3 or four days of this. I've popped Jacob in his bassientte twice today and he has gone off almost instantly. I still wait for a few minutes and creep out. well thats what i do and it's working for me.

CTOO- you too with the regurgitaed milk? I feel for you. Jacob was having a great fuss free feed this morning good long sucks and I was thinking ddance.gif and then i burp him and i get nice healthy burp followed by a great big splash down my back. blink.gif

Sarah- Natasha is going great guns! congrats on the first smiles it must warm your heart!. I put Jacob on his playgym and he is consistemtly hitting one of his toys - me thinks it's not random anymore. We're not getting any smiles yet ;)but it could be any day now grin.gif

Mel - noticed that too that if My water intake decreased or if had coffee or diet coke my supply was low. one night I could only express 40mls from both breast when normally I can easily express 120mls.

I can;t remember anymore sorry ladies. have to get a move on anyway

ciao for now
lelah
Not going to be a long one today... feeling a bit down. Not sure why...

My Mother's Group met up for their first non-childcare centre planned meeting today. It was lovely to chat and share stories in person. Can't wait for our catch ups in person ladies.

Sherri – I go up and down with how much my nipples hurt. Hope you're doing okay...

Alicia – How's Preston doing? I can do any time on the May day. April only afternoon.

Sunny – I know what you mean about b/fing not being what you thought. I thought it would be a sinch, how presumptuous and wrong I was. Hope today is better.

Sarah – Unsuccessful? What do they mean? Mine was called 'not effective' because they were missing the paperwork from Medicare. Same for you?

DH made me a signature... original.gif
Hope everyone has a settled night!
kazzabear
Sunny-i hope the GP can help you tomorrow with the reflux.. i hope he can offer solutions..

Lelah-you have a clever dh.. so cute that siggy.. sorry to hear you are feeling down.. sometimes motherhood makes us more emotional...
Scarletgirl
Renae I also am not a believer of B/F preventing allergies. I'm sure it was recently disproved.
I have 2 close friends whom are extended B/F (12 months+) both of their children have horrible allergies.

Sunny GL with J's appt, I hope it is sorted quickly.

Lelah Love the sig. I hope you are feeling better soon.

Karen Your Aunty sounds like a superwoman. My mind blink.gif at coping with so many. I'm glad Riley had a good time original.gif

Kids in bed original.gif I'm a bit sad I have the last season of Gilmore Girls but I don't want to watch it too quickly as there is no more sad.gif laughing2.gif

I hope everyone has a good night. Remember that things are much easier by 3 months biggrin.gif
ninjamummy
Hi Girls

This will only be a quick one from me - am exhausted and trying to have an 'early' night (before having to get up for the next feed)

BF-ing - The whole pulling back, arching their backs thing. Angus does that sometimes - when he does, I immediately take him off the boob (cause it hurts and I think it will lead to a whole lot of damage and/or more pain). I have made an assumption that he does it when he's very hungry and I don't have any milk. I then offer the bottle and he gulps at it (so that fits with my theory). I agree with the other ladies - i.e., sometimes, I just won;t have as much as other times - so, because I have supply issues anyway, I am not too stressed about offering a bottle - but always feel like 'hi-fiving' myself when he doesn't need much of a top-up laugh.gif

Alicia (CTOO) - I am OK for any time on Wed 23 April for the Sydney catch-up. If I am able to come to the one on 8 May, the afternoon would be best for me (unless I ditch the Mothers' Group that day). I feel like you ladies are more my friends and confidants, anyway, so I'll do my best to get to the one on the 8th, too.

Angus had his hearing test today (all good!) because he kept waking up in the hospital, so they couldn't do it. I had a check-up with the Cardiologist and he's very happy (post birth, etc). He says the allergy stuff is a worry and he's referring me to some specialist for it. Thanks for all of the good wishes and kind words - it's not comepletely better yet but at least I am able to get some sleep now (and I don't look like a big red blotch!) DH has been a god-send.

Does anyone else just get blown away when they see their partners holding the baby? I could just sit and watch them together for ages - I feel like I could burst with both pride and love for the pair of them... blush.gif wub.gif SOoo cute and sweet!

Time to go and put some calamine lotion on...

'Night all

Amanda/Ninja original.gif
LottieCait

I have been so tired lately I haven't been up to posting.
I have started to take iron supplements again as I don't think my levels have come back up enough.

Charlotte is starting day care today so I'm going to come home and try to get some sleep. She got up at 4:30 this morning glare.gif

Caitie is cranky so I'll be back later when I'm all rested!!

Mel
Banana Pancakes
I did it! I survived yesterday on my own with three kids biggrin.gif

God, it was a long day though. Even with the oldest at school for half the day blush.gif

Mel, hope Charlotte has a great day and that you get a loooong and peaceful nap!

Lelah, I love the sig, it looks fab. Sorry to hear your down. Perhaps try and get out of the house today? That used to help me when I was down when ds was small.

Amanda, glad to hear that your Cardiologist is happy. That must be a relief. Good luck with the allergy specialist.

Tash, enjoy Gilmore Girls! I never really got into that show, but I was so sad when I was watching the last season of cold feet

I better go and get the day started. I have a babe in arms atm (the 18 mth variety) so I better go feed her!

Nadine
~RileyandChloesMum~
Lelah - Love the sig....as Karen said you have a very clever DH. Hope you start to feel better soon. Like Nadine I use to make sure I went out of the house once a day....even if it was just a 15min walk around the block.....it can really make a difference . I hope the lovely Coco is doing well too!

Sunny - Good to hear Jacob had such a great sleep. Best of Luck for today, I hope the GP can help sort out the reflux issues. oomg.gif I can't believe you can express that much....I'm lucky to get 60mls at anyone time......although today I did manage 125mls from 1 boob, so you can imagine how pleased I am with myself.

Nadine - Congrats on making it through yesterday....first days always the toughest.

Mel - Hope your getting some good quality sleep and that Caitie is no longer cranky.

Amanda (Ninja) - Glad to hear that Angus was given the ok with his hearing test and that the heart specialist gave you the ok too....not so good about your allergies though. I hope the specialist can help you out. I too love seeing my DH holding out little girl, but love it even more when he is holding her and also juggling Riley on his lap...its such a gorgeous moment wub.gif

Tash - I totally understand about the last season thingy, although I'm not into Gilmore Girls....I'm a Stargate, Stargate Atlantis, Firefly, Smallville, Scrubs, NCIS, Supernatural, LOST, Las Vegas, Battlestar Galatica kind of girl.

Sarah - I too am confused by the 'unsuccessful', the baby bonus is not income tested, its just a one off payment...how strange....did you apply for Family Tax Benefits at the same time, if you did maybe thats what has been unsuccessful. Hope it gets sorted out either way.

he said not to worry about the reflux stuff at the moment

Alicia (CTOO) - I find that a little worrying to be honest. Did he say when you needed to be worried??

Renae - Chloe only takes a while to settle during the day.....but she's slowly getting better. I just make sure that I catch her tired signs...yawning, fist sucking, jerky movements, lack of eye contact, turns away from you if you talk to her....she goes down really easy if I catch the signs very early on. Good luck with the settling.

Kel - Sorry to hear there is no mums n bubs group near you.....have you tried your local playgroup, it may not be a baby playgroup, but I'm sure there would be mum's who bring along their babies whilst their older children play. Just a thought.

Kazza - I love'd that video....made me so jealous. Chloe doesn't get much floor time.....Riley is still learning that Chloe's not a doll and that he can't step on her or fall on her.

Me - Well today is my frist day at home with both kids....its been really good so far. I've managed to get so much housework done......more than when DH was here, go figure! Milk is really up at the moment....I had to wake poor Chloe last night, because my boobs were killing me (and continuously leaking) and I was way too tired and lazy to express blush.gif Things are going really well now.....just hope it stays up. 1 of my boobs is making so much more milk than the other though, so I expressed just after Chloe's last feed and managed a whole 125mls!! Very pleased with myself....considering I can barely get 60mls on any other given day.

Riley has just poked Chloe awake, so i better run. May need to safety gate her door to stop him....he's such a little monkey these days, but I wub.gif him.

Sherri xxx
cantthinkofone
kazza and sherri - to be honest i found the doc visit a waste of time and money, i had to pay for him coz he's not on medicare yet, hence why i'm still gonna get a 2nd opinion... original.gif

sania - how'd you go at doc??? i'm lucky he doesn't throw up too much

lelah - how you feeling today??? cute sig

me - preston was unsettled all morning, finally asleep now but on me. breastfeeding - i don't think i'm going to have a choice whether i continue or not, he's been refusing me.

Sydney meet

Wed 23/4 -
Me - anytime
Amanda (ninjamummy) - anytime
Sarah (sanzel) - anytime
Christy (chickensalt)
Sania (sunnysunshine)
Kel (luckykel479)
Lelah - maybe - only afternoon
Renae (lovingmygirls)
Amber (kozajo) - maybe

Thur 8/5 -
Me - anytime
Sarah (sanzel) - anytime
Tash (scarletgirl)
Amber (addisonsmummy)
Kel (luckykel479)
Amanda (ninjamummy) - maybe - afternoon
Lelah - anytime
Renae (lovingmygirls)
Amber (kozajo)
Sania (sunnysunshine)
keanealicia
sunnys - Mel could have said re "it's time to sleep" dvd but i also mentioned it. It has been a saviour for me with Blake and this time around too. I just wish we knew about it with Nathan - he had colic and screamed for hours!
Nadine - well done with the three kids thing...i know what you are saying! Some days it will be just an achievement to get to the school!

I better go BBL for more personals.....
luckykel479

Heath must be getting ready for another growth spurt - he has been feeding all morning and only just went down @ 12 and has already started to stir at 1.30!

Renae - I give Heath a dose of Infants Friend before most feeds and he gets the minimum dose for his age. If I don't give it to him I find he gets pains in his tummy again quite soon. I tried it after a feed and it brought up both the wind and the feed, so we won't be doing that again.
He hardly chucks at all now which is great.

Karen - did you get your breastfeeding tops @ Rouse Hill? I need to get some but don't know where to go other than the maternity shops at Castle Hill.

CTOO - 10am on the 24th would be good for me too, but anytime on the 8th. Hope everything is ok with Preston.

Off to hangout more washing!
Superman+4sisters
Good afternoon ladies & March babies,

Just dropping in quickly to say I'm still here! From a few posts it sounds like things are pretty busy and hard work for a lot of us. These early days are so intense... but don't last forever, thank goodness.

Benny is still feeding pretty frequently, and has been a bit more unsettled yesterday and today. I don't know if he's unwell or not - no temperature, but still with a blocked nose. Could it be sinuses? I have some Fess little noses, and use it occasionally, but Benny hates it so much I try not to use it unless I have to.

I'm interested to read how many of you are using top-up feeds. I suppose I've been fortunate not to need to use any formula / EBM to top Benny up. Although there are days when my supply is stretched to the limit I think. Someone mentioned their baby pulling off, then trying to latch back on again. I seem to rememeber that as being something that the baby does to try to stimulate an additional let-down. It can hurt, I know, but there is sometimes a purpose to what they are doing. My nipples are very tender atm as well, so my sympathy to those who are feeling sore. They do say that it takes around 6 weeks to fully establish breastfeeding, so please take heart those who are struggling. It does get easier.

I'm really struggling with my 2.5yo atm. I know it's fall-out from Benny's arrival, but her behaviour is really, really, really trying me. I was in tears this morning before the clock had even reached 7am. I'm hoping somethings going to change, and soon.

Sorry about the 'me' post ladies, I don't have enough time atm to read back & do personals. I read up when I can, but getting to post is another matter. I'm sure most of you can relate! But thanks everyone for sharing - it's good to read what other mums of little people are up to original.gif

Well, time to straighten up the kitchen before going to pick my big girls up from school. Anyone know the phone number of a genie? I'd love someone to magically straighten up my house and have it sparkling grin.gif Have a good day
sunnysunshine
Hi Girls!

Good news! No reflux. His vomitting is related to two things;
1. to my supply. My let down is too fast and he's gulping and guzzling to keep up hence the reason he latches on and comes off all the time and doing that he's trying to control the flow. 2. Because he likes to suck for comfort despite that he's full he'll keep sucking and when he comes off I prop him up for a burp he vomits up the excess!

Typical wog mother over feeding her kid! roll2.gif

Because my flow is so fast The dr said i don't need to have him on for the full 20 min reduce it to 10-15min. ddance.gif is all i can say thats at least 10 minutes less of being chained to the couch!

Jacob was quite unsettled to day he wouldn't sleep properly. Hope he sleeps tonight.

BBL for personals

Cioa for now hope you all have a good nights sleep and all our bubbies sleep through!
sunnysunshine
good morning all!

Wow!! bit quiet i must say! 12 hours and no posts! ffear.gif

I'll check in later see how you're all going.

Top up feeds - Yes I have been with EBM 50 mls at the end of a feed at night and i substituted one night feed with formula because I didn't want the hoo-haa that breatsfeeding has become for me at 3am when I didn't have enough EBM
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.