The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: Feb 08 Parents # 9

Bel
New Thread Time original.gif

Link to Last thread
amy76
GOLD biggrin.gif grin.gif
tortagianduia
Silver! biggrin.gif

Evening girls!

Coen slept through again last night - now 5 out of the past 7 nights. The two nights he's woken up, it's been around 2-3am with a pooey bum.

Coen has cradle cap. sad.gif DS1 never got it at all. I've tried rubbing oil into his head, leaving it and then washing it off and rubbing his head with a washer - didn't help much. He has very sensitive skin so I was reluctant to try the bicarb paste I've read about. Yesterday I bought some Mustela shampoo foam. Today I massaged sweet almond oil in, left it for a few hours and then combed his hair - got a horrifying amount of flakes out, though there's still more there. I then washed his hair again with the Mustela shampoo. It is looking a lot better than it did. Might do the oil treatment again tomorrow. Any other tips?

Prue, Grace looks so cute in the sling and you are stunning!

Coen's just woken so better dash...

Amanda
~*tasha*~
Bronze!
claireabell
Hi

Just a quick question from me tonight - has anyone got AF back yet? I feel like maybe it is on the way, shocking period pain tonight and pimples - my usual symptoms. i forgot what it was like. i just didn't think i would get it back while fully BF'ing. when i told my MACH i was using BF as contraception she said it may not be effective as Evie goes 8 hours without a feed overnight, and now it looks as though she was right.

Anyone else??

BBL for a less selfish post!
briannasmum
AF - Not back yet but I had all the symptoms for a week then nothing...
With DD1 I got it back 4 weeks after bleeding stopped (bleeding stopped at 3 days post labour)and I was fully breastfeeding. Man that sucked!! lol

BF for contraception??? Is that ever a good contraception even without 8hr gaps? My mum fully BF for 5 years when she had my sister.. in that time she had me and my brother LOL

and now it looks as though she was right.

Does this mean you might/are Pregnant?
kaishra
AF not back yet, don't expect it back for atleast 4 months (fingers crossed, gives me more time to decide whether we're having #5 or not lol)

claireabell my DS2, 3 & 4 were all conceived whilst I was breastfeeding original.gif and they were all planned
tortagianduia
Back again! I am still waiting for DH to get home from work. He is working evening shift for the foreseeable future. sad.gif

No sign of AF yet, but with DS1 I got AF when he was about 4mo and he was fully breastfed. We are planning to use condoms. I would like another bubba without too much of an age gap, but I was reading that if you conceive less than 6m after giving birth, the baby is at much higher risk of prematurity and low birthweight. Apparently the best time to conceive is between 18m and 5yrs after having your last baby, but I am thinking I want 2 more, and 18 months seems a long time to have to wait (especially considering how long it took me to conceive last time). I'd like to lose a bit of weight first anyway, so won't worry about the timing just yet.

Hope everyone has a lovely weekend!

Amanda
ginnyk
No AF here - With DS it was 15 months before I got it back ! Hopefully it will be the same this time...
gissellle
I got mine on Monday... I was told by the doctor i probably wont get them as im fully BF and am now on the mini pill. Not happy jan! I was still bleeding from the birth up until 4days before AF. rant.gif rant.gif
adaze
Giselle, not sure if you saw my post in the last thread, but if you're in Melb you can borrow my hammock,....
amy76
Morning

AF- i got mine 6 weeks after i stopped BF. which was last week but only lasted 2 days grin.gif

DS starts soccer today , cant wait to watch him today and i think DD has a headcold. Poor little muffin.

Well i am off to go for a walk since i have been slack and not walked for last 3 days ohmy.gif
gissellle
adaze Im in Brisbane! Thankyou for the offer though original.gif
claireabell

Helen - no, absolutely definatelty NOT pregnant! i just meant that it would be possible now that AF looks to be making a return (although nothing this morning, but still bad cramps). i find it all really interesting, the way BF keeps AF at bay for some women and not others. i'd love to know more about it. We are also keen to TTC later this year, but at the same time i want to keep BF'ing DD.

How is Maddison going?

Amanda i didn't realise all that stuff about conceiving less than 6 months after the previous baby. My obs said to wait 6 months before trying again though, and my physio said 12 months, as my tummy muscles were so badly separated.

we're off today to buy DD some new pyjamas. she only has one pair and i am going crazy washing them and trying to get them dry in time for the next night.
BentyBaby
Hi Girls !

Been away from the forum but have had a busy week socially.

Everything all ok here still - I don't 'do' anything with my kids, don't read any books etc, so it's all 'with the flow' here. If they sleep, they sleep, I don't force them, or wake them. that said, if they are sleeping, and I need to be somewhere, and I move them and they wake, well, that's that. I don't tippytoe or change our life/the way the house is run. Works for me.

Jazslings - how funny laughing2.gif - if i'd known you all were going to buy them, I would have asked Wendy for a commission alright ! laughing2.gif And yes, whoever asked about adjusting them for other people .. the answer is 'no' - if you want to share, your partner/friend would need to be of a similar size to you. My DH uses the Baby Bjorn we bought for DS1, which I hated, so we've got one each in a way ...

Had my 6week checkup this week also - all good. We got a referral for the SNIP for DH, heh heh .... original.gif

Next up is the immunisations for both boys ( DS1 is turning 4 ), and then i'll probably be absent as i've got to work on the "PirateShipParty" ( one word, lol ) for DS1, and since a lot of rellies still haven't seen the baby, it's probably going to be quite full-on planning. And working out catering without an oven, as mine is still broken !! Fun !!

Today I got my 'thankyou' cards back from MOO ( Andi, they are *perfect* ) and have also finally bought DS2's babybook, so I can transcribe all the notes i've taken into it today, and write out my thankyous for gifts.

Getting lots ticked off my list today, so very happy with that original.gif Due to a busy week, I think we'll stay in our jammies today original.gif

Hope all is well. Sorry no personals, but I missed out on a whole thread, so I hope all are well, and if not, new methods are starting to work for you

Benty
*astro*
i was fertile when DD was 14 mths, still BF - concieved first go. She was still night feeding, i was not on any contraception. i used the Billings method.

i got AF back around 13ths with DS - a month after finishing BF.

Its possible to get AF without ovulating.
meik
AF - with Elsa I didn't get it back for 6 months and I concieved Isla in the very next cycle. I was still breastfeeding but she had started solids so wasn't taking as much milk anymore. I expect it will be the same this time. I am considering Mirena for contraception this time. What is everyone else doing?
moo~tickle
af - you lucky ducks. i got mine back at 6wks after the birth and am fully bf. im just one of the lucky ones rant.gif

and just wanted to share - last night maddie slept 9.30pm til 8am! need i say more? boobies didnt appreciate it though blush.gif

bbl bub calls
adaze
Contraception: I'm bottle feeding so back on the pill, but DH will be getting the snip soonish. He keeps protesting, but he'll bloody well do it or there will be no more action for him..... grin.gif
*astro*
Contraception - i'm not sure as i don't like the pill, and as i said before BF does work as a contraception for me. I use the billings method to check for fertile signs, but i'm not expecting any for the next year... i don't know whether i'll be going back for #4...
notsochillimum
Afternoon Ladies..

Am recovering well from my cold was only mild one thank goodness. Jake has not missed a beat and has not been affected by it fortunately. He my little angel biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Krys - Oh my god Lactation Cookies are sooo yummy! and also finding they are very filling. Only made half a batch to test, will have to make more today and lock them up as my 13 yo son ate the rest of them thinking they were just normal choc chip cookies! He has been checking his boobs to make sure that they havent grown or begun to make milk! laugh.gif laugh.gif

Amanda - Jake cluster feeds as well early evening til bedtime. I was worried that my supply might be dwindling. More so on left breast than the right. I have been expressing after he feeds on that side to stimulate more supply that side. I did notice an improvement after eating the cookies that same day. So I will bake more and continue, not sure if its the expressing or cookies, but what a good excuse to eat more yummy cookies!! grin.gif grin.gif

Helen - Hope Maddison is getting better for you. hands.gif hands.gif

Tasha - I tried Infants Friend with Jake and it seems to be working so far so good. I also put him high on my shoulder(so his tummy has pressure on my shoulder) and pat his lower back or face down across my legs will give him some relief. happy.gif

Adaze - Glad to hear you have been getting some good sleep patterns, hope they continue for you both. hands.gif

Leeann - Congrats on your pregnancy!

Brooke - have you tried letting other people drape a cloth nappy over their shoulder that has got some breastmilk on it while they are holding bub. This way the baby still can smell you and might be comforted by it. Doesn't have to be cloth nappy could be anything that smells like you. When Jake is grizzly, I will wrap him in my pj top for a sleep, it settles him coz I believe he can still smell me. This has worked for me, hope it helps. original.gif

Claireabell - no AF for me yet. Hope its a long time, thats something I have not missed. lol No need for contraception here as Ben (DS1) and Jake are the only men in my life. (Can't date them, can only make them laugh.gif laugh.gif )

Off to do some more baking!! grin.gif grin.gif grin.gif

Cheryl laugh.gif
justanothermember
Hey everyone, just popping in to say hello!

I will get back into posting again, just been sick with gastro this week, first Sophie, then Riley then Me. Plus we have been having a bit of a clean out so the house is full of things that 'need to go'.lol

Oh and i stopped bleeding 2 weeks ago, but now i have AF!!!!! I didn't get AF with DS for 13 months. I was soo looking forward to not having to worry about *all that * for a while yet. glare.gif

I will get back into things on Monday.. Hope you're all well, i'm looking forward to catching up properly biggrin.gif

~Andi~
Morning all!

AF No sign here, but like Claire, I've been having AF-type cramps and thought it was on it's way a few weeks ago.... We don't use any contraception as both our babes are IVF, so if it happened 'naturally' we'd be thrilled biggrin.gif

Kumara Sympathies on the house full of gastro sad.gif

Cheryl ROFL at your son checking he's not growing boobs laughing2.gif

Benty Glad you're happy with your Moo cards original.gif You do sound like you're going to be busy, certainly don't envy you catering with no oven!

Spent all day yesterday at our new house with the movers unloading.... it was a very long day, both kids were in bed asleep by 7pm (not a usual occurence lol). Still staying with my MIL until DH comes up when he finishes work next week, so the kids and I are heading there again today to start unpacking more boxes....fun!

Hope you all have a nice Sunday original.gif

Andi.
adaze
Unreal night last night! Slept from 7:30-5am (which was really 6am) with a rollover feed at 10:30. DH got up at 5 to feed her and she went straight back to sleep until I woke her at 7:30.

I watcheed 27 Dresses last night and LOVED it!
RedsGirl
Holy toledo - Jemima slept from 7.30pm through to 8am (and that's revised daylight savings time - so to her little body was still 9am). The only thing that worries me is if she is getting enough to eat during the day, but I guess she'd be waking and asking for it if she was hungry right?

Have a kitchen tea on today, so a good excuse to get her dressed up. It's a shame, though, that so many people gave us gorgeous summer dresses for her and I don't think she will ever get to wear them sad.gif it's just getting too cold now.

I wanted to ask the first time Mum's like me if/when any of you were thinking of going back for number 2? I knew Red would eventually come round, which he has (he is smitten I think) and we are discussing timing etc. we would only have two so I am thinking I'd wait until Jemima was 1 and then we'd go for it (we conceived her with IUI, so it would be quite calculated on our part)so they were reasonably close together (hopefully).

I just wanted to add that Andi - that is a GORGEOUS pic in your sig!

Adaze - I am so glad you/bubs have turned the corner!
gissellle
Wow adaze and RedsGirl thats great sleep for the girls! It must of been the night for it. Sienna slept from 8.30-4.15! Thats never happened, as you know from my posts shes always up from 8.30-till whenever i cant settle her. Only thing was she didnt go back to sleep till 6, but then slept till 10! Yay!
amy76
Good Morning girls

I HATE THE END OF DAYLIGHT SAVINGS cry1.gif

My DS who usually sleeps till 6.30-7am woke at 5.50am (which was 4.50am ajusted time) so i have awake since then. wacko.gif

DD did 8pm-6am biggrin.gif then down again till 8.30am (old time)

We are having a party today to watch The Crows and The Powers play today.

Redsgirl - i am the same as you Lucy got sooo many nice summer outfits but she is still tiny (in 0000 and newborn nappies) that she's not going to wear them. But i am going to sell them on ebay.

Well done adaze on the sleeping - isn't it great when they sleep wub.gif

Well better get back to making the food - i am making a Tuna mornay, veggie bake and my specialty Spinach dip in a cob loaf MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM yum
kaishra
Amanda, I've got 4 kids and my eldest is 3, none are twins and at birth they weighed 9pd4oz, 9pd, 9pd5oz and 9pd14oz and were born 6, 12, 4 and 11 days overdue so for me that article is a load of dogs bollocks!

Cheryl, I missed a thread, what are lactation cookies?
~*tasha*~
Afternoon all!

Adaze & Megan I am so jealous of you both having good sleeper like that. I know that you are bottle feeding Adaze, Megan are you bottle or BF? My baby girl is lucky to sleep 2 hours in a row at night let alone sleeping through the night.

Well I definately know it is the chocolate that is govong DD wind as I ate a heap yesterday I couldn't help myself, and she had lots of lower wind last night and the pain to go with it so no more chocolate for me cry1.gif

Had our needles on Friday and poor litle darling cried so much cry1.gif I was lucky not to go with her! She is doing well, now weighs 4.7kg and is 60cm in length, so since birth she has grown 7cm!

Not much else happening here really, thinking about what I am going to need when I go to Sydney in 10 days, you know how to keep a 2yr old occupied on the plane, is it worth hiring a baby seat and a child seat for DD and DS with the car we are renting or should we just take our own. What clothes to take ..........the list goes on blink.gif wacko.gif wacko.gif I will just have to ask the Sydney girls what the weather is like before we come down that way.

Oh enough dribbling on from me, the 2 kids are asleep, if I was smart I would be asleep too!

Tasha
BentyBaby
Hi chicks.

Just uploaded a new pic to the group blog.

Girls that are new or from the 'latter Feb' group, PM me for access and an invitation to post your own pics !

Benty
~*tasha*~
Benty love your new Sig picture! wub.gif
missmurfy
Hi everyone. I have been lurking here for a while thinking I should join up if that is okay?

amanda_d - my obby gave us a great tip on cradle cap, which we do. We 'rinse' our boy off after a bath head to toe, he hated it at first but now used to it, she said that way they arent left with all the soap suds (like we rinse off in the shower) so far zero cradle cap! Hope that helps.

kumara - I got my AF back the other day and being a first time Mum and BF I felt a little robbed because people had told me that the supressed AF was a bonus for BFing...hhhmm

redsgirl - we have been discussing number 2, was told by obby have to wait 1 year after son was born but I think that is way too long and have been asking around and it appears that is only if you plan to have vbac next time round so I am going to ask the ? again at the 6wk appointment. I would like number 1 and 2 close together because we would like 3 in the end.

Hello to everyone else, hope it's okay to join in.

MM
claireabell

Missmurfy it's lovey to have you here - welcome!

Benty, tell me your secret! i need to get a passport photo for DD and OMG it is impossible! The clock's ticking now as we have her passport interview this Friday and will be travelling next month. it's just impossible. Gorgy new sig pic too, he's so cute!

We had a great night last night, DD slept from 9 until 6 biggrin.gif my poor boobs were ready to burst though, she had a hard time attaching as they were ginormous and rock hard.

I went to meet a girlfriend for a coffee yesterday, had heaps of trouble finding a park, with DD crying in the backseat, so i headed for the parents with prams carparks. well they were all taken, inc one that was taken by my (childless) friend! i had to laugh but geez i was cheesed off.

Tasha that's a shame about the choc, i would be devastated! can't live without my choccy.

Lauren, i have only just realised how close together your little boys are, wow! have you got a pic of your youngest?

Amy can you come and cook at my house?! sounds delish...

Megan we are talking about trying for #2 fairly soon - perhaps when Evie is 6 months? We are lucky in that we have managed to fall pregnant pretty quickly 3 times, but of those three pregs we only have the one child, so we figure we may as well start early if we want our kids close together, which we do. we would also like a big family, so the sooner the better really. it's exciting and scary to think about...

Andi Lily looks so lovely in your sig! And again, you take beautiful photos.

Kumara, hope you guys are feeling better soon.

Adaze, glad things are going better with Ruby. She's a cutie BTW!

off to read trashy tabloids with a cuppa, i love sundays.
kaishra
Lauren, i have only just realised how close together your little boys are, wow! have you got a pic of your youngest?

yep, heaps of them but DH hasn't downloaded any to Photobucket (and I leave that job to him lol) so I can't post any. I'll get on his back about it again though, I have heaps of people wanting pics lol
missmurfy
claireabell - thanks for your warm welcome. I can help with passport photos, no-one in our town would take ours for our baby. What we did was put him on the change mat (which is white) and on the floor then stood over him and took a HEAP of photos. Then we took them to the local photo shop who normally do adult passport photos, that way they had an idea of what is required. Then we took it to the postoffice and they okayed it before we had the interview etc, got approved, passport office said they are more leniant with baby photos. Hope that helps.

MM
moo~tickle
welcome missmurphy!

just a q for those of you who have non day sleepers. what do you do with them when they wont sleep? madison only seems to be happy by herself for a short while but then wants to be held to be happy.

also are you all still taking your preg/bf vitamins. im almost out and wondering if i should continue

bbl original.gif
nessy72
Sorry i haven't been around for so long. A week at sleep school and a week at home to recover.

Sleep school went well. I do think that 8 wks is too young for that and they day stay would have been better for us. DD slept well the first day we were there and got progressively worse for the next 5 nights. Met som e really lovely ppl there and most of the nurses were fantastic too. The Dr there put her on Zantac which seems to be working well and she is finally sleeping well again overnight. The last 2 nights she has slept more than 8 hrs in a block which is pretty good.

DS is chatting away due to change in daylight savings. He starts chatting at about 6.30am. I'm used to him getting out of bed about 8.30. Not happening at the moment. happy.gif

I have bought the ingredients for the lactation cookies and hope to get some time to make up a batch later in the day.

Went to ikea yesterday (haven't been there for years) and we got a table and chairs for DS. DH commented about a chair in DJ's a week or so ago and I thought it was ikea. When I checked it was so we went shopping. It doesn't tip back like his current chairs either. Also bought a couple of plastic bag things to go on the wall which were only $1 each. I think it will be a bit sooner rather than later before my next trip.

Benty I thought you would have had you new oven by now? Is it a complete new kitchen that you are waiting on.

Contraception. I spoke to OB at my check up about mirena and implanon. He gave me a script for both, said both were good and to do some reading on the net and decide (i want it to control heavy AF that i got after DS)

Brooke Yep still taking the preg vitamins to get my iron level back up there (BF too). DD doesn't sleep much during the day but has a couple of catnaps for 45 min or so about 3 times a day. I get done what i can usually washing / cleaning etc. sometimes i put her in the highchair and tilt it right back and she watches me doing stuff. If i walk off and she can't see me she usually starts screaming.

Will have to post some pics in the blog.

Hope all are well. original.gif
~*tasha*~
Morning! yyawn.gif

missmurfy welcome!

Brooke unfortunately for me my baby girl likes to sleep during the day and not the best at night. When she is awake during the day I usually feed her then let her lay under her play mat/gym thing until she gets cranky then I put her back in the swing to sleep. I find it hard for her to settle and sleep in the bassinette during the day, and she only goes in the bassinette at night when she is completely out of it.

Nessy I cannot remember did your dd have reflux? is that why the doc put her on zantac. I took it during my pg for my heartburn.

claire rolleyes.gif at your friend. Is that the first time Evie has slept that long? has she done it again or was it a one off??

I need help getting my DD sleeping at night for more than 1 1/2 hours it's just bloody ridiculous. She will be up for a feed and settle no problems but it's only like 1 hour later she is awake again, anyone got any suggestions? I am going nuts!

Have a great day

Tasha
BentyBaby
Hi Miss Murphy - welcome ! waves.gif

Claire - passport guidelines here:
https://www.passports.gov.au/Web/Requirements/Photos.aspx

Basically, we bought a canvas dropsheet from Bunnings and folded it over much so it was nice and cushiony for positioning a head to look forward. Then, 1001 digi-snaps, and 2 looked pretty much like what I wanted. Have now sent them off to Snapfish and hope the colour/quality comes out ok. I have a DSLR. I know you're in Melbourne, so you're quite welcome to come over for a 'workshop' if you like ?

Brooke - yep, still taking my Blackmores. I did this with DS1 too, all the way through b/feeding. Dunno if they do anything, but i'm a bit superstitious in what I gave to one, I like to give/do for the other Tounge1.gif

nessy - we were holding off on fixing the oven in case we were going to go with the whole kitchen reno. Turns out now we are calling a sparky today and fixing the oven laughing2.gif

Ikea is great - Everything DS1 has is from there, and DS2's nursery is all Ikea too ( hand me down from DS1! ). In fact, a lot of our HOUSE is from Ikea ohmy.gif

Did you get the plastic table and chairs - bright blue/lime/purple ? DS1 has those and my God, they are brilliant.

Ok - well this is my childfree day ( not babyfree though wink.gif, so what am I doing here talking to you lot ! I need to get out and purchase pirate party stuff !!

have a great day gals !

adaze
Tasha, I've got no tips as I'm not breastfeeding but MY GOD ohmy.gif . I was a walking emotional zombie when Ruby was waking 3 hourly, let alone 1.5hrs!
Sorry I can't help - oh, is she wrapped up tightly?
~*tasha*~
Adaze she hates being wrapped and wont take a dummy, I am over it TBH my SIL gave me a book on 3 day sleep training so I might give that a read and hope to hell I get something out of it!!

There is a thread going in the birth to 6 months section with someone asking if it is ok to let your baby sleep all night in the swing. Personally I don't think you should , just like DD spends her daytime in the swing I think I have created a problem for myself! I will have to go and see the Health Nurse this friday and see if she has any tips for me as well.

I have just been out at MIL's place. Dh's cousin is up from Sydney and she has a DD that is 15 months and she is also 5 months PG so it was nice to catch up, however DD didn't have her swing so she would not go to sleep, she has been awake now for 3 hours, fell asleep in the car on the way home, however I put her in her basinette and well guess what..... she is awake!!! wacko.gif wacko.gif
*astro*
I need help getting my DD sleeping at night for more than 1 1/2 hours it's just bloody ridiculous. She will be up for a feed and settle no problems but it's only like 1 hour later she is awake again, anyone got any suggestions? I am going nuts!

So, are you feeding every 1.5hrs at night? I've been there with my DD and its HARD!!! Is she hungry do you think or is it more a habit? or snacking?? Its good she is settling afterwards easily for you - but i would be looking at your frequency of day feeds to see why she is tanking up through the night??? I'd get rid of the 3 day sleep training book too.
BentyBaby
Question:

DS2 has *black* eyes ( is that even an 'acceptable' eyecolour on forms ?!?!? ) and is getting a passport.

DS1 also had black eyes, which turned to a deep deep blue by about 6mo, and then to the 'regular' blue of today.

Kiddy passports are valid for 5 years.
What colour do I list DS2's eyes as ? I think 'blue' ( DH and I both have blue eyes ), but feel I am telling fibs to do so and worry about ending up on Border Security ( lol )

What do you think ???
ginnyk
Hi Gals,

When we got DS a passport he was 4 months old, and the passport photo people just lay him on the floor and took the photo for us... but that was back in the day of the 'film' camera! So I guess its a bit different these days!

I took amelia to the footy yesterday, all dressed up in her collingwood gear, she was very cute. Slept the whole game in the sling, just waking up 10 seconds before the end of the match... so that was really great!

Tasha - so sorry you aren't getting any sleep, we had a similar thing with DS - unfortunately the only solution I found was to co-sleep. Amelia went through a 'short sleep' phase, but one day I really tired her out (she was awake basically the whole day, by accident not design!), and she slept 6 hours that night and has been doing so ever since. Hopefully your maternal health nurse will be able to help out.

Ikea - love it too! Most of our furniture is ikea - quite often second hand from ebay!

Ds is back at school tomorrow, it will be quiet around the house... I'm not looking forward to having to be organised by 9am again though.

Better go and check Amelia, she was pretty narky all day and I'm hoping she hasn't come down with something...
adaze
Tasha, what about a hammock? Ruby loved it and it would probably settle her better as she obviously loves the swinging feeling. Maybe look into hiring one??

http://www.hireforbaby.com/equ_hammocks.html
nessy72
Tasha DD hadn't been diagnosed with refulx as such but the Dr put her on the Zantac and she has been so much more settled.

Benty Yep. The mamut range we got the red table as we wanted the rectangle one and a couple of blue chairs. might go back and buy a couple of the chairs without the back rests soon. Also bought DS a big roll or paper to draw on for $10
holly7
Morning ladies,

I know i shouldn't complain too much, but i need help settling DS to bed of a night time. He just won't have it and the earliest he goes to sleep is midnight. Any time after 4 or 5pm he just won't sleep. Day times we put him into his cot and pat bottom and sshhh until he is asleep but night time he screams whenever i put him down. I would love him to go to sleep around 8 but midnight is just wacko.gif wacko.gif wacko.gif .

Tasha: sorry to hear DD is still waking every 1.5hrs. Is this all the time night included? DS only sleeps 1.5 to 2 hours Max during the day but after finally going to sleep of a night will have a longer block. My DS refuses the dummy too and just the other day i tried a bottle as last feed and he refused that too. ohmy.gif . Not sure what to do now.

ginny: I would love to see a pic of DD all dressed up in footy colours if you have one?

Benty: don't know about the eye colour/forms, but that is a gorgy pic. He looks adorable.

I should be doing housework and washing but can't seem to get motivated today. Have a good day peoples.
Holly original.gif
notsochillimum
Morning Ladies!

Has been busy couple of days, think Jake has hit the 6th week growth spurt. wub.gif He is feeding longer and more often thru the day but still is giving me much needed sleep at night hands.gif . I have been feeling completely empty at night and have resorted to formula for last feed on occasion. Now starting to express alittle after each feed during the day just in case he needs it a night and also to give my nipples so much needed rest. ( Dont like feeling like a cow lol wacko.gif )

Adaze, Gisselle & Reds - Congrats on all the sleep you and your girls are getting. grin.gif

Andi - Don't envy your unpacking a house with a new bubba. Hope it goes well and fast for you. hands.gif

Amy - Ive got the opposite problem with Jake. He is a little heffer lol 6.4kg at 6 weeks. 000 are starting to look too small already!! He hasn't been in newborn nappies for almost a month now. He averages 400gms weight gain each week!!! and thats on boobie juice!!! ohmy.gif laugh.gif (he might have had a total of 6 formula feeds since born.) BHN tells me not to worry BF babies can not get obese and it will not last forever. laugh.gif OOOhhhhhh love that spinach dip in bread cob, its devine and very moreish tongue.gif

Lauren - Lactation cookies are yummmo and supposed to assist in increasing milk supply. Thought I would just snack on them in the afternoon to help with my low supply late arvo and evening but hard to just limit myself to arvos dev (6).gif Older kids love them too. They are mainly oats and choc chip cookies with a few hidden extras. Althou I made a batch with sultanas instead of the choc chips and found that I enjoy them more. Plus there is more chance of me getting them with sultanas coz older kids prefer the choc chip grin.gif Recipe can be found in the breastfeeding forum here or google "lactation cookies" plenty of sites and variations can be found. ** Warning ** wub.gif very addictive

Tasha - Geez I'd be going out of my head from lack of sleep if I were you. Hope it gets better real soon. hands.gif OOhh have you tried different types of dummies? First dummy Jake refused was NUK ortho dummy. He hated it but then got Tommy Tippee cherry shaped dummy, its larger but think it also helped teaching him to open mouth wide for nipple. He has no nipple confusion and finds it soothing and settles easily with it.

Missmurfy - Welcome. Welcome wink.gif

Benty - ROFL at black eyes & Border security!

Brooke - Jake is mainly awake in arvos from 3pm til he goes down for the night. After a feed he will go on floor under his play gym for about half hour, when he gets whingey and have cuddle with me, then he tries the bouncer which I love coz I just pick it up and take it in any room, chatting to him all the while I get on with the day. Mind you there is plenty of hands once the older kids get out of school to help out and amuse him. Both Brooke (good choice of name don't you think lol) and Ben love him to bits and will spend at least half hour with him playing, talking or singing to him each day grin.gif I might not have a partner to rely on but my teenagers are heavensent with him.
blush.gif Love my little family unit wub.gif

Holly- BHN assures me that refusal of sleep or grizzlys is normal in late arvos. Prefer him to be awake in arvo then up at night thou wub.gif

Thought I'd share this pic with you guys... Mr Chubbycheeks!

Great day to all!

Cheryl laugh.gif
kaishra
I took amelia to the footy yesterday, all dressed up in her collingwood gear, she was very cute.

How good a game was that? sing it withme "We beat Richmond, we beat Richmond" lol DH goes for Richmond poor thing, I didn't even watch the game but it's great that WE BEAT RICHMOND (like that was hard roflmao)

thanks Cheryl, I'm due to make more cookies so I'll google those ones
~~NICOLE~~
Hi ladies, i stumbled upon this thread and thought id stick around...lol..My DD#2 was born on 14/2 so il keep dropping in,if thats ok, and maybe get some tips on how to get her to sleep during the day. ATM we are managing 3 catnaps(20-30mins) wacko.gif

Noticed Lauren is here too...Hi we met at the mothers meet at Waldecks grin.gif See you soon..
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.