The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: Multiples under 1 ~ # 31

Essential Baby > Babies > Twins, Triplets, Quads and More
~plimsol~
h there all well i did write a lovely post for u all but it disapeared

i had my identical twins on the 12 march 08
Raikkonen Gerard Busscher 4 pnd 12
Jordan Thomas Busscher 3 pnd 11

all home now have been for 2 weeks sorry been to busy to post i will tell you all more later

Missy

the boys a month old jordan in the white Raikkonen in the blue
anonebber
Oh wow - CONGRATULATIONS MARNIE and DAN!! ddance.gif eexcite.gif How exciting. I too, confess to being a little jealous.

PS How on earth did you find time for that?? tongue.gif
kazzil
Just a quick post...

We're finally in our new house... and we finally have the internet!!! The move was crazy - we thought we had a great plan by taking time off work so we could move and keep our two in their normal family day care routine. That is, until our family day care mum got sick and couldn't work, so we ended up unpacking with the help of two little sets of hands!!!

Anyway, I'm about to head back over the posts and catch up.

I hope everyone is well!!!!
Marnie
Hi guys.

Just thought I would pop in and let you know that my scan today went well and I have just ONE healthy little heartbeat flickering away in there original.gif

For those that are envious.... I can kind of understand as I know I would be feeling the same way if it was someone else! I always said I wanted one more after the twins... I just planned for it to be in about 4 years time laughing2.gif I'm sure we'll cope ok in the end but morning sickness is fun right now... NOT! Anyow... I'm not complaining - it will all be worth it! SO.... who's going to join me?? dev (6).gif

Marnie
justcait2
Thought it was about time that I delurked. original.gif

My name is Annette and I am the proud Mummy of 2 month old B/G twins. I also have a DS who is 6 and a DD who is nearly 5.

I look forward to getting to know you all over time

Will come back and post more details later

Annette
tilly121

Just a quickie from me too as we are on hols this week and I'm s'posed to be heading out soon but I just wanted to say OM*G Marnie.... CONGRATS biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif!
Scarily I am also a wee bit jealous- glad I can live vicariously tho grin.gif
Hi and wlecome to the newbies (sorry don't have time for personals ATM)... please let us know your name, location, bubs names, gestation and DOB and I'll add you all to our list.

Off to have a becks and a lie down now tongue.gif - Marnie you have scared the crap out of me, hun LOL

cool.gif Tilly
Marnie
LOL Tilly laughing2.gif so you won't be joining me then? wink.gif

scaredy cats!! laughing2.gif
-MissNiss-
Amanda, Missy and Annette:

WELCOME!!!!

It feels like yesterday that mine were the youngest here!

Now Marnie, I just don't know how you do it... I'm full of admiration both for you finding the TIME.... but also jealous

Sorry if TMI but IT HURTS for me! Anyone else b/f have this problem? Its like sandpaper, only worse. Its excruciating. I couldn't even handle the pap smear I got 8 weeks post-birth, and I know the ob was extremely careful...

Very boring boring boring. Another reason to wean?

Oh talking about weaning, I'm just about at the point where they'll feed exclusively EBM (after all, Jacob gets virtually nil from the breast atm and that's unlikely to change, and Ruby spills a lot less when bottle fed) and from there I can decide whether to "wean" (gradually change over to formula) or not. In a perfect world, feeding them exclusively breast milk till they're 6 months adjusted would be great but thats 4 and 1/2 months away...

Niss x

PS no more smiles from the little boy but the 3 I got the other day will keep me very happy for a little while yet. wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif
mybabyboy
Niss - it hurt me for ages afterward I had the boys too. I didn't have that problem after DS1 but after the twins it took about 8 months to come right.
*Pink*Licorice*
To Amanda, Missy and Annette and your new bubs WELCOME!

Not much going on here. Mitchell is finally home and driving me crazy laughing2.gif I never realised just how much he talks laughing2.gif No really, I'm so happy to have him home. My hectic life is now back to normal grin.gif

Going to have to come back later.....being called.

wacko.gif Still getting over Marnie's news too :lol
Marnie
LOL!! laughing2.gif I'd like to let you all think that we juggle 5 kids and have a fantastic spontaneous sex life..... but the truth is, it only takes one time for it to happen.... and If I really think about it I am pretty sure it was almost the last time we even had sex blush.gif (god - that sounds bad! Just goes to show the truth though! Most of the time we are too exhausted or are being demanded by the kids laughing2.gif )

So we're no different to all of you, honest!

And while I'm here - Amanda, Missy and Annette - I am so sorry, I've kinda been caught up in my dramas lately blush.gif Welcome to you and your precious bundles! It's lovely to 'meet' you all!

Marnie
Ladyhawk
laughing2.gif Marnie... you're still doing better than me... what with DH on shifts, dealing with the boys and being absolutely knackered... I haven't even tried yet... it gotta have been 5 months since the last time! Congratulations on the SINGLE heartbeat!

Niss, would you find it easier to express and bottle feed? Then do it! That way they still get the BM but you get a bit of relief... or switch to formula.. whatever works for you honey!

Welcome to all the new multiple mums biggrin.gif

Us, still struggling on.. well its not always a struggle and Sam n Jack are starting to settle down and sleep better again. Getting lots of smiles, chat and laughs! I just love mucking around with them... they look at me like I'm the oddest thing they have ever seen then start to laugh.. makes it all worthwhile.

I bought a couple of foam ABC mats for $5 each and just love them, they also make a great backdrop for photos original.gif

This is them modelling their 'new' clothes I bought off eBay.

gumby
CONGRATULATIONS MARNIE!!!

WOW!! I know you will do a brilliant job, I love cuddling newborns and that beautiful smell they all seem to have. Not keen on taking one home though wink.gif . You are amazing, I'm so overwhelmed with juggling 4 kids I just take my hat off to you wub.gif

Welcome to the new multiple mums as well, Amanda, Missy & Annette, looking forward to getting to know you all original.gif

Niss - Perhaps mention it to your GP? I don't know whether the hormones etc involved with BF can have an affect on you (sadly have never BF long enough to make the 'sex is an ok activity now' time, 6 weeks was my best effort sad.gif ). As for the weaning debate, you have to do what works best for you - I remember when I was desperately wanting to give up trying them at the breast and realised that although many people would try to tell me 'breast is best' and 'they deserve you to try' etc etc that none of those people were willing to put their lives on hold and help me make it happen.

Jen - Very pleased your boys are sleeping better original.gif - if they could give my Kyla some advice I would much appreciate it wink.gif . Last night she woke near on every hour, she is such an unsettled girl sad.gif

Hello to all the other lovely multiple mums :wave: - not meaning to leave any of you out, we've been such a busy lot in here!!

Oh, is anyone still keen for a Brissy meet up??
telli

Welcome to the new twin mummies and congrats on your new babies and congratulations Marnie - how lovely. I'm surrounded by pregnant people at the moment and it makes me miss being pregnant blush.gif.

Niss I'm with Jen, do whatever works - just give EBM if it's all getting too much or switch to formula. If whatever you decide means your happy and less tired and stressed then it's the right decision.

Jen Glad your boys are settling down again, I think that your boys are a couple of weeks ahead of mine so I always know what to expect from my girls when they hit the same age and so far they've mirrored your boys in a lot of ways.

Us - my girls are getting really good at night, 3 nights in a row they haven't called for a feed until 5am with their last feed at 7pm. I'm still getting up a couple of times a night to give them a pat or the dummy but I'm feeling soo good. We've been out a lot more now that I have some idea of when their going to be sleeping etc and it's getting so much easier. Their 4 months on Saturday and it feels like it's gone soooo quick - I already feel like their growing up too quick.

Gotta go but I would be still be up for a Brisbane meet to meet all the brissy mums.

Chantel
-MissNiss-
jealous jealous jealous of all you mums with bubs about the same age as mine who are sleeping through....

Jacob will be 6 months adjusted I reckon before he sleeps through! We're only making it to 4 hours 15 min - a record by a long shot (usually he demands at 3 hours 10 min) - we've tried building him up during the day (ie 3 hourly at daytime) to no avail!!! He certainly works by his own little rule book...

At least he's gaining weight! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

They weighed in today at:

Jacob: 3.72kg (up 240g in 10 days)

Ruby: 4.97kg (up 360g in 10 days)

Ruby now smiles almost all the time between crying ROOOOOLLY loudly. Jacob hasn't smiled much since the other day but I'm sure more are to come soon!

They still feed 4 hourly.

Thank you everyone for your advice re b/f vs EBM vs formula! You know, I think I'll do solely EBM when DH returns to work (he thinks its important they get breast time and I half agree that Jacob seems happier when he gets more time at the breast). Then when it gets too much I'll switch to formula gradually. In an ideal world I'd like them solely on breast milk until 6 months adjusted (4 and 1/2 months away).

Although hang on - wouldn't formula make them sleep longer because its thicker??? There's an idea!!! - if I give it at their evening feed!! grin.gif grin.gif

Gumby, I saw the GP AND ob about the pain and apparently nothing can be done except a local anaesthetic cream. I'm yet to try it because I'm so afraid it won't work and I can't describe the pain!!! blush.gif cry1.gif blush.gif cry1.gif Plus the pain I was in didn't help DH feel very comfy about the whole thing!

Take care everyone!

lol Niss x
justcait2
Thought it was time to give details finally and thank you for the warm welcome original.gif

I found out at our 8 week scan as we had had a MC 2 months earlier (OB wanted to scan early due to MC) that we were expecting twins. DH had a feeling that we were having twins and didn't tell me and I saw the scan before the OB told me and I burst into happy tears.

Pregnancy was uneventful no MS thank god and only put on 14kg. Had an OB visit on Thur 14th Feb and had high BP but nothing that was concern for immediate delivery as I was booked in for CS on the 25th Feb

Well at Midnight on Sat 16th Feb my waters broke (36w 2 days)and my OB was not on call that weekend sad.gif by the time we got to hospital it was 12.45 and they asked if I could wait till the morning, ummmm don't think so.

As all the theatre staff had only just gone home after an Emergency CS they had to be called in for another grin.gif

Anyway it was just as well they called them in because by the time they wheeled me into theatre which was about 1.30am i was having very strong contractions about 2 mins apart and really having to breathe hard and thinking thank god I am having a spinal shortly no more pain.

Anyway Cameron was born first at 2.01 am 5lb 8oz and Alanah was born 2.02 am and was 6lb on the 17th Feb They were both head down.

Alanah needed to have oxygen for the first 36 hours and both were in SCN for about 3 days.

Cameron was a very very slow feeder on bottle and as he had such a tiny little mouth he could not latch on to BF so the bubs had to stay an extra 4 days after I went home, which was pretty good as I had prepared myself from the 8 week scan for a 2 week stay.

They will be 9 weeks old on Sunday and I must say it has been much easier that what I thought it was going to be, but in saying that I guess being numbers 3 and 4 have learnt all the tricks before and don't jump at every noise.

Alanah has for the last two nights slept 8 hours and Cameron is sleeping 6. Alanah has been smiling for the past 2 weeks and even giggled last weekend, Cameron on the other hand hasn't really smiled yet.

Cameron is now BF and has the occasional top up of formula. Although 2 weeks ago he was on lactose free formula for 12 days while I started a Lactose free diet

At there 8 week check yesterday Alanah weighed 4.3kg (9lb 7)
and Cameron weighed 4.28kg so there is now only 20 grams difference.

Anyway better stop hogging the post and get ready for bed, as everyone else is asleep and hubby is on his way home from QLD ( we are in VIC)

Talk later Annette XX
anonebber

Happy Birthday Thomas and Evie
tilly121
Thomas and Evie biggrin.gif
Congrats Mel on surviving the first year grin.gif!

Wow has it been 12 months already? I remember you sending us all into a panic in the Expecting Multiples Group with your early arrivals (and I was only due a week or so behind you, I think ohmy.gif). Hope you have a lovely relaxing day biggrin.gif!

Marnie
Oh WOW!! Happy birthday Thomas and Evie!! I remember the excitement their early arrival stirred up in the expecting multiples group! What an amazing year we've all had huh?

Hope you have a great day with them Mel!

Marnie
gumby
HAPPY 1ST BIRTHDAY THOMAS & EVIE

And a very big Congratulations to you Mel on surviving the first year. Its hard to believe how quickly the past year has gone, and how many of us in this group are starting to celebrate the big 1st birthdays of our precious duos.

Annette - Thanks so much for sharing your birth story with us all. Certainly brought back a lot of memories for me of those early days. How gorgeous that your little girl is smiling already and giggling, hopefully Cameron will start for you soon too. Its just wonderful when you get the 'double the smiles' original.gif

Niss - Oh, you poor bugger sad.gif . The anaesthetic cream sure sounds like a bit of a pain, are you willing to give it just one try to see how it goes though? I mean, if you look at it from the angle of 'at least it can't get worse' then you have nothing to lose wink.gif .

Well done to Jacob and Ruby on great gains there too original.gif - and don't worry, at 10 months old we still don't have regular sleepers here either. My two older boys were sleeping through from about 6-8 weeks so this time around has been very draining. You are definately not alone original.gif

Chantel - It does fly by so quickly doesn't it! So pleased to hear your girls are sleeping so well, hopefully they keep it up original.gif

Should we start throwing around dates for a Brissy meet? I'm hopeless at organising things blush.gif - not sure where is appropriate for a meet but am keen to finally get together original.gif
~plimsol~
hi all hope u are all well....

MARNIE)congrats on your news u are going to be one busy mummy

the boys were weighed on thursday Raikkonen weight is now 3.10 kg a gain of 310g
and Jordans weight was 2.44 kg a gain of 260g
they seem so big now even though they are still smaller than the average newborn.

Saturday night was my first frustrating one of many more to come i am sure...
Raikkonen was really unsettled and no matter what i did he just kept crying and carring on in the end i layed in my bed and got him to sleep and i also fell asleep and dear Dh put him back in his cot when he came to bed......

a Question for u all i know that it may seem silly but do any of u feel guilty if more time was spent with one of the twins than the other as Raikkonen is a mummys boy and wants the attention all the time however Jordan is just happy lying there looking around i know i do spend plenty of time with him but sometimes i just feel like a lot of my time is spent settling the sooky one (i shouldn't call him that it so mean)

other than that i seem to be coping well there are day's when i think of how life was so easy with one and you could just jump in the car and just go but i wouldn't have it any other way....

In other news my afl team the Western bulldogs played a crap game to an even crappier team i still am getting over the fact we drew with richmond of all teams and the fact that most of the game they were beating us...
the poor little boy's were woken by mummy screaming at the tellie sorry about that guy's just another thing i have to remember!!!!!!!!!

i hope everyone had a great weekend
Talk soon Missy
kazzil
Welcome to Amanda, Missy and Annette!

Marnie, congrats!! That is great news. I must say I was a little shocked, but a good shocked biggrin.gif

Happy birthday to Thomas and Evie - and congratulations to Mel for surviving the year!

On the topic of birthdays, I know there are lots of other birthdays coming up. What has everyone else got planned?

Niss, my two didn't sleep thru until 6 months either. Gia probably could have done it earlier but we didn't give her a chance. She got fed when BJ did. We asked for a 'silent night' for Christmas and got it the week before. Still, it doesn't mean we always get a silent night!!!!

Missy, I've got a more demanding twin and a placid one and I've had lots of times where I've felt really guilty. Mine have been like this from day 1, and Gia would happily lay on the floor staring out the window whereas BJ wouldn't last a minute. They're still like that now - BJ has to be near you (preferably crawling/climbing ON you), whereas Gia will normally sit next to us and chat/play with us without demading all the attention. As she's grown though, if she wants attention she'll 'ask' for it - and I always give it to her. I don't feel as guilty knowing she'll get it if she wants it.

For us, we've had a grumpy week. BJ cut two teeth and both have had a viral infection. It's not been fun!!! We've settled into our new house well but still haven't unpacked the study yet. Those last boxes are hard lol

We can join in with a Brissy meet up too. Fridays are good, Thursdays are mostly OK, but I work Mon - Wed.

I hope everything is good with everyone else.
-MissNiss-
Some photos:

(ETA I should say Jacob is on the left, Ruby on the right... they're both dressed in boyish clothes)

Nerissa x
*Pink*Licorice*
Just wanted to say...

WOW Niss! Your little ones are beautiful! Jacob looks EXACTLY like my friends little boy who was also born at 30 weeks and is now 16 weeks old. Its really uncanny!

Also just wanted to add some pics of my two LO's

Zachary:

Anna:

Nearly 11 months old! I can't believe it! They have come so far since they were born at 29 weeks wub.gif
tilly121
wub.gif gorgeous pics gals!

Better add mine too...
http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l272/tilly121/100_2681.jpg
Ladyhawk
Niss, I cannot believe how big they both are now!!! You're definately dong something right!

Tilly, So Cute! How do you find those bath seats? I've jst bought a couple for my boys... don't fit in our 100 yr old bath tub tho.. glad we're moving sometime soon!

2plustwins, also very cute original.gif

Missy, welcome original.gif

Us, we're doing well atm... sleeping through the night most nights... Jack is a little unwell today.. mega snotty nose the poor little tyke.. I've been trying to use Fess and the 'snufflator' but i think I need more practise!

Budget Tip: Been told I can just buy saline packs (like for first aids kits) instead of the fess and that its cheaper!

My current fave pic:

loving the alphabet puzzle mat as a photo background! not bad for $5!
anonebber
Dimetapp make a cough, cold and allergy syrup which contains basically the same ingredients as codral. Helped my girls a lot with their last cold. Not sure of the ages though.

We're up for a Brisbane meet - just name the place and time. Pretty much any day suits us.

Should we try for Everton Park? Great play ground for older kids.
-MissNiss-
Soooooooooo gorgeous, Naomi and Tilly! And Jen it goes without saying, yours are so cute!

Jacob got snotty at hospital and the paed said just use saline (REALLY cheap) and a syringe; put a drop on his nostril and he'll breathe it in (do the same on the other nostril), then it all loosens up...

Jacob didn't have a cold though - it was because of the feeding tube blocking everything up, so you might need more than just saline!!!

And get a few 1ml syringes if you do this (I have a few that I just keep on sterilising) - and definitely don't mix them between twins but I know you already knew that

Niss x
kazzil
Fess drops actually helped my two to bring up wind if they were stuggling. I found it by accident when they had a cold. It was almost a relief when they had a stuffy nose that I could use the drops, then bulb thingy and then voila - a nice big burp!

Very cute babies everyone!! They're all getting so big.

I've heard everton park is great, but a little too far for us with BJ still not liking the car. We'll wait until somewhere closer to the city.
Ladyhawk
getting better with the snufflator - a much better name than aspirator i think! wink.gif actually managing to get some snot and help him to breathe a bit.. went out and bought a vapouriser and some vicks baby balsalm, so fingers crossed tonight goes smoothly.
tilly121
I swear by my vapouriser Jen. You can add some eucalyptus oil too for added 'de-snuffling' power tongue.gif. Fess is such a rip-off isn't it? We buy contact lens fluid (which is just saline) and use a dropper too.

Our bath seats are my most valued piece of baby gear ATM biggrin.gif. Means I can bath both bubs and DD together even when DH is working and I'm on my own (stops them from standing up in the bath wink.gif). I used one with DD1 until she was almost 2yo blush.gif.

cool.gif Tilly
anonebber
We've done away with the bath seats as they can both stand up in it anyway. So now bath time is a game of sit down stand up. They're slowly learning wacko.gif
kazzil
I love our bath seats too. I dread the thought that we'd have to stop using them!!!
gumby
Jen - Hope things are going better, colds are just awful sad.gif

Amy & Kazzil - Will have to find out where abouts Everton Park is blush.gif but just let me know what days coming up are good for you and we will start to work something out. Also, is there somewhere closer for Kazzil that will suit you are keen on getting the kids out of the house?

Not much happening here, just a bit of spring cleaning around the place and trying to organise things for when we finally move. Since getting that bloody kidney stone we have had a few other little hiccups so it keeps getting pushed back a week here and a week there. Very frustrating!

Am half looking forward to tomorrow. Turning 30 and I get the distinct feeling that with everything going on, there will be no presents for me sad.gif . I'm not normally a big 'birthday' person, but, I do bother to celebrate milestone ones. I make a fuss of families at birthdays, don't get me wrong, just not that keen on my own birthdays. Normally, just seems like another day and nothing special. Perhaps now, this has come back to bite me in the backside sad.gif .
Marnie
Hi everyone. Still here and suffering with MS sick.gif

I don't use our bathseats here as I don't trust them to not tip over unsure.gif they just don't seem to get good suction on the bottom of the bath?? We still bath the boys individually and it is such a drawn out process!

Gumby - Happy 30th!! I hope you have a wonderful day and if there are no pressies waiting for you then make sure they all make it up to you BIG TIME!

*sigh* well, I'd better get to bed since it's gone quiet here! I need all the rest I can get lately!

Marnie
Ladyhawk
the bath seats don' even sit flat in our current bath, but i tried the boys out in the yesterday just on the floor:

they seemed to like it, althogh the suction caps don't work on carpet!! laughing2.gif
kazzil
Jen, we used ours to play in too when they were wanting to sit up but couldn't be trusted. They were fine suctioned to tiles (the ones in our old lounge room worked but not in the kitchen) so our two would sit and play in their bathseats on the floor.

Happy Birthday Gumby!!! Good luck with getting ready to move. I know EXACTLY what it is like trying to do that around the children lol

I'd love to join in with a meet up. Since I'm not a SAHM, I can't do everyday so I understand if the days I'm available don't suit. I can do Fridays no drama, and some Thursdays (however some Thursdays are a write off as they're tired from 3 big days in Family Day Care so we just chill at home). I can usually drag BJ out to about 20mins in the car so that takes us into the city area, out to Wynnum or down as far as Logan. Sorry, the Nth side is just too far for him (and me listening to him vocalising his protests on the top of his lungs).
~Bec~
eexcite.gif ddance.gif Happy 30th Birthday Kate!! eexcite.gif ddance.gif

I'm definitely in for a get together. I absolutely MUST meet you in person before you abscond back to the southern land. Everton Park is good for me, but am happy to travel...
tilly121

Happy birthday Kate! Hope those boys of yours (Dal included wink.gif) spoil you rotten- you deserve it, hun biggrin.gif.

cool.gif Tilly
FabFour
Hi everyone - I have been MIA for sooo long that you probably don't remember us! Heaps happening around here lately. We have moved house, my BIL got married (I made the cake), SIL over from the US with her twins, and our 2yo lost our wireless broad band card during the move so haven't had much chance to get on here!

Everyones bubs are just growing and changing so much! Jen I couldn't believe how much your boys have changed! they are real little men now!

Happy 30th Gumby! Hope you get spoilt rotten.

Congratulations Marnie on your exciting news!

Of course as soon as I get on here World war three breaks out over what show is on ABC Kids. rolleyes.gif Better make this quick. Feeling a bit overwhelmed by it all lately. Sam & Molly started waking for night feeds again about six weeks ago and the older two started waking at night around the same time with nightmares and bedwetting. DH is doing long days at work which mean long days for me too. Just wish I could press the pause button on life at the moment! Our 4 year old has been having trouble with his hearing which has meant trips to the audiologist and ENT Surgeon, and our two year old swallowed some batteries last week end which meant a trip to casualty and then a few days of sifting through nappies trying to find them sick.gif . And while I'm on my whinging bandwagon the constant noise of four kids is doing my head in! I love them dearly but I would love to go and have a leisurly coffee and cake with my girlfriends who seem to have mysteriously disappeared from my life since Sam & Molly arrived!

I desperately want to get back into running regularly but if I do get the chance I just end up even more exhausted by the end of the day. Plus the girls I used to run with (who only have one or two singletons) have decided to run each night at 5:30 which is smack bang in the middle of arsenic hour here! rolleyes.gif sad.gif

Oh and I promise this is the last thing (for now wink.gif ) My SIL who had her two singletons 15 months apart tells me she knows what it's like to have twins because hers may as well be twins they were born so close together rolleyes.gif rant.gif

Anyway sorry to unload on you all blush.gif Needed to get that off my chest. Thanks blush.gif blush.gif

ETA So much for making it quick!

Hope everyone else is having a good day! original.gif

Billie
gumby
Thanks so much for the birthday wishes everyone wub.gif

I am nursing a bitten backside though. I was hopeful most of the day but by late afternoon it was looking less and less likely that a pile of presents and lovely cards was going to appear (hey, even a bunch of flowers & a card would have made my day). I nearly burst into tears cry1.gif when my SIL brought around a cake and lit the candles and Jamie (upon being told it was my birthday as he said 'who is having a birthday') piped up with 'we better get Mum some presents'. Yep, the deal was sealed.

I got a sleep in until 9:30am, one email birthday card (from Crayola.com no less, must have entered my details when I signed up for their kids activities huh.gif ) and a cake. I got lots of lovely well-wishes from friends and some family, but, wow.

Kyla got me up at 1:30am and then again at 4am, so, the sleep-in doesn't count I say. Dal is mopping floors as I type so if hard labour is my present, then, I still feel ripped off. I need a drink!!
melbop
OMG, I have been on here and photobucket for about 2 hours now trying to figure out how to post a pic without a link, with NO success.

Anyway, just thought I best pop in and say hi to all, good to hear you are all going so well, welcome to the newbies as well.

Marnie, OMG, you are so brave, CONGRATS to you and your family!!

Just wanted to say A huge thankyou for those that wished Thomas and Evie a Happy Birthday, thanks so much for remembering us, even though I don't get to post very often at all. I was so touched to read your Birthday wishes!!

Well, just quickly, we had a party on Sunday, on their actual birthday, and although busy, was lovely. MY guys (as I call them) are going great, no complaints, a bit of sickness here and there but mostly all good. Cannot post a pic as I still SUK at it!!! WOuld love to though.

Gotta go, take care and I will try and pop in again more regularly!! (Try being the operative word!!!!!!)

Cheers, Mel,
Thomas and Evie

Happy Birthday Kate!!!!!!!!!!!!
gumby
Mel - Thanks wub.gif - and for the photos, try photobucket - www.photobucket.com . It is free and easy and the links are all done for you sitting under each photo original.gif .

Lovely to 'see' you again!
melbop
Thanks Kate, I did try photobucket, I am pretty sure I know how to do a link, but wanted to just post a photo or two in my post without having to have a link???

PS: I did send a happy birthday post, but it disappeared, so Happy Birthday to you!!!!
Gotta go to bed now so will check in again tomorrow.

Thanks, Mel.
gumby
You did in your original Mel lol, its just at the bottom above your sig, but, hey, I'll take double birthday wishes laughing2.gif

And you can just pop the photo straight in from photobucket, you just use the bottom link I think, the one that has the [img ][/img] tags around it original.gif . Looking forward to seeing some big first birthday pics of Thomas & Evie!
*~Kellie~*

I know I've been absent for a very long time, but I browse through from time to time but then my time is up and generally don't have time to respond.

Everything is so chaotic here at the moment. DH is currently serving in Afghanistan, so the children and I have headed home to Mum's. He's been gone since Feb and isn't due back until July. We make do, but MAN its hard, hats off to single Mumma's thats for sure. Add to that my study and my new hobby, photography and I think I've bitten off far more than I can chew!

Joseph and Elizabeth are going great guns, 10 months old today and are just joyous, although I do worry about Joe's health as he seems to be snotsville ALL the time.

Developmentally they are also at very different stages. Elizabeth is desperate to walk, up and cruising everything and has been crawling for months. She likes to dance and talk with lots of loud Ya Ya Ya and is very boisterous with her older sisters. She has been sleeping through for months also which has been my saving grace.

Joseph doesn't crawl, although I think he can, I have caught him a few times, he likes to get up on all 4's and rock with this rhythmic noise like "mmm mmm mmm" as he's rocking. He's not standing either and mostly likes to sit in his walker so he's off the ground so Elizabeth can't get him or in his Jolly Jumper. He's only just (in the last month) started to sit unassisted, but can't put him self up into or take himself out of his sitting position and 'face plants' quite often. Joseph also doesn't sleep well, although he is getting better and now only wakes once a night, we take him to the Chiro once per week and he seems to be showing improvements.

We've started planning 1st birthday parties to tie it in for when we leave Mum's and it all seems very surreal that the last 10 months have passed so quickly. I don't think I've had a more joyous, loving, love filled, difficult, sleep deprived time in my whole life.

Well, better get some sleep, Joe is sick AGAIN and I think we're in for a rough night.

Kellie
mybabyboy
Just a quick post from me. HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY GUMBY.

Lets do a meet up next week. My Mum has been here helping out while DH is overseas but leaves on Monday so I am free all next week. How about Thursday? Friday is okay too though. Does anyone know of a good central park so Kazzil can make it too? What's Southbank like for Kids? My two love crawling on the grass but it has to be 'clean' grass IYKWIM. Isaac can tolerate pollen etc now that he has cleared up so much so it really opens up the possibilities for me.

My best friend also suggested Roma St parklands. Apparently the parking at Southbank is horrendous now.

Anyway, any suggestions? Thursday or Friday Next week? Either way count me in. Will anyone else be bringing an older child?

Speaking of older kids, DS1 turns 3 on Wednesday. DH won't be home for it unfortunately. Kellie will your DH miss the twins birthday?? I can't wait for Mitchell to be out of the 'terrible two's'. He drives me banana's some times.

Anyway, I will be back to do some personals at some stage, I just need to set aside some time to catch up on all the goss.
~Bec~
What about Garden City / Westfield at Mt Gravatt? I haven't been for ages so not sure how older kid friendly it would be, but it's just off the highway, free parking, and reasonably central?? Southbank parking is expensive. Roma Street parking is fairly reasonable if you park at the metres, but means driving right into the city.
gumby
Thanks again for all the birthday wishes ladies wub.gif

Bec - Garden City is great for me, I know how to get there without consulting a map (SIL lives in Mt Gravatt lol) so am happy with that if everyone else is original.gif

Every day next week is fine for me so that makes it a little easier!

Kellie - You sound like you are more than just busy, dear lord, I don't know how you do it but my hat is off to you. Hopefully the time until DH is home safe will pass quickly for you. Thinking of you original.gif

Will pop back on later tonight, just a quick hello for now, have had a friend over and she is popping back over again shortly so will come back for a bit more EB time when the kids are settled or in bed, whichever comes first wink.gif
mybabyboy
Garden City is fine for me too. I am free Tuesday onwards too.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.