The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: Multiples under 1 ~ # 31

Essential Baby > Babies > Twins, Triplets, Quads and More
Nee
New thread time original.gif

Link to last thread.
anonebber
Gold for me. sad.gif Everyone here is sick and miserable.
tilly121
Silver! Hope you get well soon, Grub. Is it colds? We are all recovering too- not much fun is it sad.gif

Bec
Brisbane, Qld
Katie Arnelle and Georgia Nicole
10/01/2007 32w6d

JoWo (Jodi)
Bungendore, ACT
Toby Crighton and Katy Margaret
10/02/2007 32w

Jenkp (Jen)
WA
Reese Olivia and Emily Jayde
11/03/2007 29w4d

Melbop (Mel)
NSW
Evie Charlotte and Thomas William
20/04/2007 32w2d

Tilly
WA
Layla Eve and Oscar Thomas
22/05/2007 35w4d

Redchick
Darwin, NT
Tom and Leo
25/05/2007 37w1d

Marnie
WA
Max Kenneth and Blake Daniel
28/05/2007 31w3d

2plustwins (Naomi)
Bairnsdale, Vic
Zachary and Anna
28/05/2007 29w

Mybabyboy
Canberra, ACT
Isaac Luke and Jacob Lachlan
04/06/2007 38w4d

kazzil (Kaz)
Brisbane, QLD
Benjamin (BJ) and Georgie (Gee)
06/06/200737w6d

Gumby (Kate)
Ipswich, Qld
Isaiah Raymond and Kyla Dawn
07/06/2007 36w4d

Spots (Emma)
ACT
Ashley and Paige and Jackson
08/06/2007 35w4d

Gagsmissus (Nat)
WA
Amelia Kathleen and Bethany Marie
11/06/2007 37w1d

Grub11 (Amy)
Brisbane, Qld
Elke Lillian and Gabriella Sian
12/06/2007 34wk6d

SarahKate (Sarah)
Adelaide, SA
Mitchell and Fletcher
18/06/2007

Aquarius76 (Lisa)
Cooper and Addison
22/06/2007

Kellie
Townsville, Qld
Joseph Harry and Elizabeth Malain
23/06/2007 37w

Leisurly Lesley
Adelaide, SA
Alexander and Magnus
24/07/2007 37w2d

Nessrose (Ness)
Canberra
Renee Isabel and Rachel Mary
26/07/2007 37w

laus73 (Laura)
WA
Halle Jade and Taya Elise
30/08/2007 36w3d

LilisMum (Anne)
Upper Coomera, Qld
Charlotte Louise and Madison Jae
18/09/2007 34w5d

rob6712col (Robyn)
ACT
Ella Charlotte and Samantha Jade
01/10/2007 34w

Ladyhawk (Jen)
Kalgoorlie, WA
Samuel Alexander and Jackson Christopher
11/12/2007 37w

Niss68 (Nerissa)
Adelaide, SA
Jacob Andrew and Ruby Alice
30/12/07 30+3w

*danielle* (Danielle)
Hobart, Tas
Jordanna Mai and Kara Joy
22/01/08 37+2w

Belz (Belinda)
Issac Reilly and Jacob Mitchell
28/03/08 37+3w

-MissNiss-
bronze!
anonebber
Yep, snot central.
lawshas3girls
Hi Everyone

It has been an awfully long time since I posted!!

I've been lurking a lot, I'm sorry! Just been busy doing other stuff and haven't posted.

Gosh, all the babies are growing up, mine included! My girls will be 7 months old on Sunday. I can't believe it!

All is going well. We are into solids now and it's going slowly, but good. Taya has 2 teeth down the bottom but Halle is still a gummy shark! Both girls are very placid, happy little girls and a real pleasure. Girls are not sitting up on their own yet, but are getting there.

Had them weighed and measured the other day and there is about 500g between them now. Halle is 7.52 kgs and 66 cms long (just under average) and Taya is 8kgs and 67 cms (just above average). They have caught up quite nicely now since being born quite small and a month early.

I too have an almost 3 year old that drives me nuts most of the time! I am not looking forward to the twins being that age. Two toddler's at the same stage is going to be a nightmare I reckon!

I still don't get out of the house much with all three kids. I prefer to stay home or get them babysit and go out alone. It just all seems like such a big hassle to go anywhere. This is about the only thing that gets to me the most about having twins. Anyone else feel like this? I think it's bad that I do....

Will upload pic's of my girls shortly!

Laus
-MissNiss-
Hey there Laus!

I hear you! I don't have a toddler but my gosh its hard to get out with both bubs! So far I've only been to clinics and doctors and I always bring mum or DH along. Thing is, Jacob is still too small for the pram. DH says as soon as J is big enough, DH will force me out!

I've been a bit down the last couple of days. Its a nightmare sometimes. Fortunately mine still sleep a lot at night (just wake for their 4-hourly feeds) but during the day they both have terrible reflux. J gets it towards the end of every feed - he sqirms and screams and goes beetroot red but still drinks cos he's still hungry - and R gets it 2 hours later, spilling curdled milk and screaming. I'm half expecting it to start happening at night too. Started mylanta this last feed - fingers crossed. The only thing that pacifies R is the baby bjorn. And then I feel bad J doesn't get the same attention!

Nerissa x
mybabyboy
Hi everyone, I am not even going to attempt personals. I am just too far behind. We are all okay. DH was overseas for 2 weeks and we coped better than I thought we would. He is home for 3 weeks and then gone again for 4 weeks. cry1.gif

Isaac and Jacob have somehow picked up a virus and have been absolutely miserable. Isaac handled it really well but his skin has gone bad again. I think he is so used to feeling awful that it is just water off a ducks back. Jacob on the other hand has not been sleeping at all at night and just crying inconsolably for hours and hours. i even resorted to walking around in the backyard with him in the pram the other night at about 3 am. The neighbours must think I am weird.

Other than that though they are going great. My almost 3 year old DS1 is a bit of a nightmare though. He drives me insane some days. I try to give him as much attention as I can and between him and Isaac's higher level of care, poor Jacob is the forgotten one. It's hard sometimes. I do find though that if I can get them all out of the house and go for a walk it is all so much better.

I hope everyone is well and enjoying their babies. My boys are almost 10 months old and I just can't believe how quickly the time has gone. I love having twins and I feel so blessed. I would do it again if I had the choice.
Ladyhawk
Hi Everyone,

Niss, the going out gets better with practice.. yesterday I went out shopping with a couple of friends.. one who has a little girl the same age as my boys and her sister who is 8.5 months pregnant. I even left the nappy bag in the car and just took a pack of wipes and 4 nappies with us!! We walked up and down the street for about 4 hours, BF in Kmart and Toyword, and changing nappies wherever we were... 2 months ago i would have never even thought I could do it! Although I have to admit, having an extra set of arms always helps.. not sure what I'm going to do when my mate has her baby as well!

Reflux, apparently it doesn't really happen overnight.. something to do with the digestive system slowing down. Since I started giving Losec to Sam, he has been much happier... stil vomits tremendous amounts, but that doesn't seem to bother him... bothers me.. nothing is so great for your self confidence as walking around covered in baby spew!

Grub & Tilly, I am not looking forward to our first bout of colds / flus. Jackson always has a snuffly nose, but the aspirator doesn't seem to help any. Just bought some Fess with the hopes that it might work better.

MyBabyBoy, I agree with you, most of the time twins really does feel like such a blessing.. i mean yeah its hard work and really tough to give them the attention they need, but the blessings are doubled as well. I have a 1 in 4 chance of having another set of twins if I get pregnant, but that doesn't scare me nearly as much as I thoguht it would! Admittedly, I would wait until the boys are much mroe independent, say 3 or 4 years old, but I wouldn't mind another set... DH on the other hand has been totally scared off!

My boys are officially into size 00.. their little 000 all in one suits just wouldn't let them straighten their legs.. so yesterday we ventured out in their 'real' clothes

Actually its starting to get to me when we go out... everytime I turn around someone has their head in the pram... "Are they twins?" "No, i just saw another one I liked when I was at the hospital" "Are they identical?" "No, they have dfferent fathers" "A boy and a girl?" "Look at them lady, which one looks like a girl huh??"
-MissNiss-
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif at the questions you get when you go out!!! I can't wait... of course for us it will be "are you sure they're twins... one is so much bigger than the other"...

Reflux... well its getting worse here. Ruby has always been a spiller but it never bothered her until this last week. She spills masses at feed time (all my clothes go in for daily washes as well as theirs!!!) without being upset, but lately she spills 2 hours later... all curdled so its obviously burning her on its way up. So we're trying mylanta but that means administering it midway between feeds!!!!!

Jacob on the other hand is in discomfort at the end of each feed, so we try to keep him upright for about 1/2 hr before he settles.

Still no real interaction. We tried playtime and Ruby got overtired and became a screaming mess poor thing so we stopped it and took her cue of going to sleep at the end of every feed as her needing to settle... only thing is she's "supposed" to need playtime...!!!!! unsure.gif Jacob handles stimulation a lot better. But neither smile although Jacob at least appears interested in us. Ruby is much more concerned with her internal digestive system than the world around her!

I hope they start interacting soon. Its a bit of a drain when the only way they know how to communicate is by crying!!!

N x
Ladyhawk
Niss, my boys still go sleep straight after some feeds too don't worry... When I first get them up, sometimes I get a chance to play for 15-30 minutes before I feed them.. I now change their nappies on the floor and do a minute or two of tummy time and then feed them as soon as they get grizzly.
lawshas3girls
Hi Again

Thought I'd finally put those photo's up:

Halle

http://i45.photobucket.com/albums/f74/laws...-03-11010-1.jpg

Taya

http://i45.photobucket.com/albums/f74/laws...08-03-28012.jpg

Together

http://i45.photobucket.com/albums/f74/laws...08-03-28006.jpg

Niss - I used to give Taya Infant Gaviscon. You can either put it into a bottle (if you're bottle feeding) or give it in a bottle (mixed with water) after a feed. I found this helped her a lot with the burning feeling. I was told that Gaviscon and Mylanta are only really "bandaids" and if it continues then you may need to look at medication. I believe that Xantac actually helps the body not make so much acid which helps them out with the burning side of things. Losec is to help the big spewing, I think! Poor little bub's. Don't worry about them not being too playful yet and giving much back. It's early days and they were early too. There will come a day that they don't sleep as much, and you'll be wishing they did! LOL! Good luck.

Ladyhawk - My goodness your boys are gorgeous and so big! Well done! I must admit I admire you taking the boys on your big shopping adventure. I don't think even at 7 months old that I'm ready for that, especially since I have a toddler too, but, then again if I had a spare pair of hands it'd probably be OK. Well done!

Another one here too that feels incredibly blessed to have twins. I think that my two are amazing and I am hopelessly in love with them. They are wonderful babies and much easier than my singleton was at the same age. It's not to say they aren't hard work though trying to juggle feeding/burping/double prams/putting 2 in the car/taking 2 out of the car, but sooo worth it!

Have a great day ladies!

Laus
tilly121
wub.gif Those pics of Halle and Taya are gorgeous, laus. My my my we do all breed 'em cute in here don't we tongue.gif?
Ladyhawk
gorgeous Laus original.gif so very pretty
telli

Cute pics again, soo many cute bubbas in this little group!

Ladyhawk & MyBabyBoy I know my girls are only little and I'm sure that it will change when their both up and about but I would do twins again in a second. I mentioned it to my DH and he thinks I'm nuts - the only thing that would put me off would be the possibility of another stay in SCN.

Niss hhugs.gif for the reflux. Poor babies!

Ladyhawk I can't believe your boys are in 00 clothes already, my girls aren't much younger then yours. They have so many 000 clothes for winter, I hope they get some wear out of them - their only just starting to fit into some of the 000's so I'm sure the 00's are a little way off for us.

Us We got brave and went away for the weekend for the first time with the girls. They were so good!! We're so lucky - took us a while to settle them into the porta cot on the first night but I think it was more them being overtired then anything. After that they were great for the rest of the weekend and then last night after we got home they slept for the longest they've ever slept. Went down on 7:15 and I didn't hear anything from them until 4am, I feel great today original.gif

I'm going to bite the bullet and separate them into their own cots today - I don't know why I really don't want to?? Hopefully that'll sort out their day time sleeping.

I'm another one who can't believe the number of people who comment on the twins when I'm out. I find it really embarrassing!! My Mum thrives on it though so if she's with me I let her field all the questions - the best one so far has been the lady who told me all about ID twins (I'm not sure if mine are or not) and how by looking at mine they are definitely ID and then asked me if it was a boy and a girl happy.gif. I'm a bit over people trying to look behind the blanket, or worse, lifting it for a look so I bought a zip up shade cover - now they can't get their hands in tongue.gif

I guess I can understand the twin fascination though, I love seeing everyone's photos on here - I just would never approach a stranger in the shops so I don't understand how others can.

Anyway, have a good day everyone.
Ladyhawk
telli, Sam and Jack are just really solid little boys.. I think they might still fit into some of their 000.. the footless stuff especially, but because I am using cloth nappies, which are a bit more bulky, I've needed to use 00 pants.. if they are in disposables for going out or something then the littler stuff might still fit, but I much prefer the cloth as the disposables seem to leak a lot more.

I put a cloth nappy on them at bath time (7pm-ish) and they have one last feed then go to bed then I don't change them agin until they get up around 6-7am and the nappies rarely leak, but a diposable leaves their clothes drenched after 2-3 hours!!
telli
Ladyhawk - what night nappies do you use? I use cloth during the day but haven't been game to try them during the night. I'm still experimenting with different cloth during the day as I find I get leaks in a few different ones.
Ladyhawk
I'm using BBH ASFO Hemp nappies with their PUL cover day and night and had no dramas... started with BBH Magic Alls which were crap!
*danielle*
Hi All

Sorry that it has been ages since i posted last. I do try to keep up but with 3 under 3 it sometimes goes a week and i havent been near the comp!

Well all is generally going well here. The Jordanna and Kara are now 10 weeks old ohmy.gif My how the time has flown.

I feel so blessed to have twins. If i could be sure i would have 2 again i would do it in a heartbeat. not for a little while yet tho wink.gif

They are both sleeping anywere from 8-10 hours overnight!!!! I dont know how i have managed that to happen but im so glad it has. It makes it possible for me to get sleep and be able to function. Day sleeps have been a bit of a problem. They often have trouble settling.

As for the comments about going out with 2 or 3, i feel i have to go out even if it is just to the supermarket each day. I dont have anyone who can come with me cos they are all at work or have kids of their own. So it is not uncommon of me to be out in town for a few hours with 3 kids. Twins in pram with DD in toddler seat or walking if im lucky. Twins are still in single pram so i dont get too much of the OMG you have twins unless im stopped and they manage to see in, then the questions start firing!

I still cant understand how ppl can go up to a complete stranger and ask them all about their babies and even try to touch them etc. I would look at twins from a distance but would never go up and fire questions! Am i strange huh.gif

Niss: Mine are only just starting to have a little bit of awake time, and even then we have to be careful cos if they go past their tired signs then they are impossible to settle. It is much easier with babies that just eat and sleep but it is also so much nicer when they start to smile and want to play with you.

Jen: Wow 00 that is scary, mine are just growing out of their 0000 and they are so cute i dont want them to grow out of them sad.gif It is nice to put them in "real" clothes tho isnt it original.gif Jordanna and Kara have some pant and tops that are 0000 which they wear sometime.

Sorry for lack of personals but i find it hard to keep up. I will try harder blush.gif
tilly121

Just wanted to share a cute video of my two wub.gif
http://s98.photobucket.com/albums/l272/til...nt=100_2791.flv
Ladyhawk
tilly, that was VERY cute original.gif
LCM
Tilly- OMG- that was just priceless- sooo cute wub.gif
Marnie
Hi guys original.gif

Just thought I'd pop my head in and let you all know we are still here! I've been so busy lately with the five kids and some MAJOR things have been going on around here...

Max and Blake are growing up so fast cry1.gif They both sit really well now and Max is crawling (I am sure Blake won't be far behind either!) They are getting into everything but they are so much fun to watch! I have also seen them start to fight over toys - Max is my snatcher and if Blake has something he wants he doesn't hesitate to reach over and steal it - poor little Blakey! He just looks at him and then bursts into tears. A few times I have seen him reach out and steal things back though laughing2.gif

I can't believe that it will soon be time to start preparing their first birthday party! I've always thrown a family party for the kids when they turn one - it's a pretty big occasion as we have a huge family but I think it's really something to celebrate for all of us making it through that first year - and even more so for the twins!

I can't believe how big all of our babies are getting! So cute wub.gif Great photos and video girls!

Marnie
mybabyboy
Hi all, bee pretty quiet around here lately. I haven't been able to post for ages and it would seem everyone else has been busy too.

Isaac and Jacob have been sick with a virus. They both stopped taking their bottles and were still pooing heaps. Once the wet nappies stopped coming we ended up at the hospital. Our local hospital was terrible so we went in to the Royal Childrens and they were so fantastic. Took heaps of tests and got us some specialist appointments quick smart. I was really impressed. Isaac has almost lost 1kg and is quite skinny. I was syringe feeding him but he is back on the bottle now thank god. I hope he puts the weight back on quickly. Jacob didn't far quite as bad but is still getting over it also.

DS1 on the other hand is full of energy and driving me crazy. He hasn't been sick at all, gets heaps of sleep and feels great. He wants to run around and play all day. I on the other hand haven't slept for weeks (okay, about a year) and don't feel like doing anything. Luckily for me though, DH has had a bit of time off and has been taking them all for a walk of a morning so I can sleep. wub.gif

Marnie - hows the finger? We have the same pram and DH got his finger caught in it the other day whilst folding it up. It didn't break the finger but tore the nail off. Needless to say we are VERY careful with it now.

Hi to everyone else. Hope we are all well and getting enough sleep.
gumby
Sorry its taken so long for another update from me, but, we've also had a lot of stuff going on.

Looks like we will be moving again shortly. Long story but will be heading back to Vic for about 2 years. I love it here in Qld, but, family comes first so we will be going down for a week shortly to start house hunting. We were supposed to head down yesterday, but, have had some other dramas. First, DS#2 had a little accident a few weeks ago and banged up his mouth pretty badly. Seemed fine until late last week when his face just all of a sudden ballooned. He had day surgery today to remove his two front teeth and a few others so have had my hands full.

I also had a bit of a 'turn' - started on Friday, got much worse on Saturday and I spent the night in hospital and most of Sunday as well. Seems I have a kidney stone. Great, just great. I'm on some super drugs to help with the pain (its like labour, without the break between contractions so very very painful) and trying to drink as much water as possible to try to pass it as thankfully its only small. Big enough to cause grief but not big enough to require surgery.

Isaiah and Kyla are doing well, I just wish they would sleep more!

Apologies if I'm not about much, these drugs whack me right out and on top of everything else I haven't had much time to get on and read or update so sorry for lack of personals as well. Thinking of you all original.gif
anonebber
We should definitely organise a mega twin Brisbane meet up before you go Kate.
Da_Boys_Mumma
Just thought i would pop in whilst i can and say hi!!

I had my darlings on the 28th of March 2008. Issac Reilly was born at 10:01am weighing 7 pound 3 and Jacob Mitchell at 10:04am weighing 7 pound 13 via c-section. Although it has not all been smooth sailing (boys were in special care and i got a womb infection) twin motherhood is totally amazing!!!!! I love it. But juggling 4 children is another story.... something that will take alot of getting used too, lucky dh has time off. But its all very well worth it.
Take care ladies....

Better go its feed time!!!!
Belinda
tilly121
Congrats Belz and awesome weights for your two ohmy.gif biggrin.gif !!!
I will add you to our list.

Hi everyone else- hope you are all doing well.

Got my monkeys weighed yesterday and they have now both officially jumped past the 50th percentile ohmy.gif- Oscar is 9.42kgs and 76cms and Layla 9.28kg 73cms biggrin.gif (Both long bubs just like my DD was tongue.gif). Considering they both had a slow start (Layla languishing below the 3rd percentile and me facing constant pressure to comp them both with formula due to poor weight gain) I am just stoked at how they have thrived grin.gif.

Both are crawling very fast (faster than I can run at times, especially if they see an open dooor or kitchen cupboard glare.gif) and are cruising the furniture and standing for a few seconds at a time. Oscar will 'walk' with his Stride to Ride, Layla is getting there but often falls (she is better when we take it out onto the grass and it goes a bit slower).

They are driving me crazy with their antics and I just can't keep up with them. We are STILL trying to baby proof as they find ways around everything by working together and going in opposite directions. Layla loves to empty the bookcases and open the drawers and cupboards in our kitchen (open plan so we can't block it off wacko.gif). She also eats everything (ie., sand, leaves, paper you name it) so I am vaccuuming daily rolleyes.gif. Oscar is into chasing our cats and sits on them and pulls their ears if he catches them (lucky they are very placid and put up with him until I can rescue them rolleyes.gif). He adores his big sister and is alawys trying to get into her room so he can 'play with' (ie., wreck) her stuff.

In the last couple of weeks they have started to get cross with each other and 'argue'. It usually starts with one (usually Layla) pinching a toy that the other is playing with. They used to not care much but now they have started to shout at each other, cry and look at me as if to say, "Hey mum, come and fix this!" and we've even had to the odd smack to the head if they are really fired up! Scary stuff... I am sure it is the beginning of the end.
Anyone else?

cool.gif Tilly
Ladyhawk
Hey Belz, congratulations and weclcome to the next step original.gif

Tilly, I am just not looking forward to when my boys don't stay where I put them! lol Congrats on the great weights.

Gumby, hope everything settles down and starts to go smoothly for you. Where aouts in Vic are you moving?

Marnie, how is the finger.. you have had me terrified of my pram as I have the P&T too.

MyBabyBoy, sorry to hear about the sickness, hope everything has settled for you now.

Us, boys weighed in at about 7kg this week, jack is 62cm and sam is 61cm... I say 'about' because I just can't be bothered stripping them to do a naked weight.. waaay to much effort for a wednesday morning LOL

Sam has started kicking more and Jack has started talking more, so they are catching each other up again.. they are both working really hard to try and roll over. Tummy time is no longer a drama and they both seem to enjoy the time now that the physio has explained how to tuck their elbows under and both are getting really good at watching Tv on their tummies original.gif
anonebber
Oh wow - that's two sets of twin boys named Isaac and Jacob! Welcome Belinda!

Tilly - we're in pretty much the same boat - starting to fight over toys, and also with the baby proofing wacko.gif
mybabyboy
Hi and welcome Belz. Gotta say I love the names you chose. tongue.gif

So how about a Brissie meet up. Gumby when are you planning on leaving?? I am free all next week.
anonebber
We're good for any day except tuesday.
mybabyboy
How about Wednesday? Anyone interested? Any suggestions as to where? I can go anywhere now, I have the car for the next month while DH is away.
~Bec~
ph34r.gif sneaking in here - I'm only free Thursday and Friday next week, or Monday if I can bring the tribe.

Amy I can't make TT next week sad.gif.
telli
I'd be up for a Brissy meet??

Just wanted to pop in and say that I was very brave today and left my girls for the afternoon for the first time. I went and saw Phantom of the Opera and it was awesome!!! I only called home once to check on everyone, I'm very proud of myself but don't think I'll be doing it again any time soon. blush.gif
Ladyhawk
well done telli
I still get weird leaving the boys behind
I'm doing an infant first aid course in early may that has a creche for the bubs... that makes me really nervous... what do you need to pack for them for creche?
gumby
Mybabyboy - We're leaving towards the end of April, start of May. We'll be going away for a few days around the 23rd of April (I daresay Anzac weekend) as its my 30th and my sister and Dal have organised a 'surprise' holiday thing for me so I'm scarce on the details there.

This week is fairly good, I can't do tomorrow (Monday) as I have an appointment with SIL and the start of the following week (Mon thru Wednesday I think will be safe) should be fine as well.

Anywhere you ladies think is appropriate will be fine. I'm coming from Ipswich so if we can make it around 10am or later if that is the consensus with nap times etc then that is perfect, will have time to get the school run out of the way and plenty of time to head straight across original.gif

I think I may have finally passed my kidney stone!! ddance.gif - none of the excruciating back pain anymore but am still a bit nauseaus so hopefully in a day or two I'll be back to 100% original.gif
Ladyhawk
Sorry, bit of a me post..

The boys are so very unsettled this week... They woke this afternoon, Jack at 1:40 and Sam at 1pm and I only managed to get them down to sleep this evening, Jack at 6:30 and Sam at 8:15pm!!! They had a couple of really shirt kips during the afternoon when I fed them, but woke as soon as I moved them. The only thing that has settled them is booby time - I tried a panadol today with no effect. None of the usual settling techniques are working and as for self settling... NO CHANCE!

I'm really frustrated because I'm getting no time at all to myself... even scoffing a quick brekkie is virtually out of the question... they are so out of sync that I get one to sleep then spend his entire nap time getting the other one down, only to have the first wake just as the second gets to sleep. They have also started waking again at mignight and again at around 5-6am... gone are those wonderful 10-12 hour sleeps :smurf:

It also makes it hard to go anywhere because while I can deal with one upset little boy, two on my own while out and about is just too hard for me unless I have someone else with me, and unfortunately, my best mate who has been my godsend has just had her own baby and is dealing with a 5 day old herself.

ETA: I forgot to say, Jack rolled onto his tummy from his back this evening during bath time.. i think it was a complete acciedent, but he rolled onto his side as usual and got over the hump of rolled up towel and ended up on his tummy.. i heard a weird gurgle while i was washing Sam, and there jack was! So cute!
-MissNiss-
ladyhawk - wow! Rolling! Awesome! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Sorry I've been ph34r.gif but not posting; feeling very "me, me, me" lately. Quite down, really. I don't think its pnd, just sheer exhaustion. Probably a bit self inflicted. You see they feed 4 hourly and I still express after every feed, 6 times a day. For various reasons. I'm really considering giving up breast feeding and ebm and moving to formula to lighten my load. These are the reasons I'm doing what I'm doing

1 - Jacob doesn't attach so we need a top up (full feed amount) to ensure he gets fed. Sometimes he feeds well but other times it feels like a normal feed to me but his tongue sticks against the end of the shield and I feel suction but he gets no milk. And forget dropping the shield... I've tried but he doesn't hold the big-mouth-grip-thing.

2 - Ruby does better (lasts 4 hours) with a small top up (30ml) each feed (altyhough she gets pure ebm at night)

3 - EBM is quicker. Easier. 1/2 hr to feed both instead of 1 hr. Ruby has 30min breast time, Jacob 15 min plus ebm. If bottled, Ruby takes 10 min, Jacob 20min.

4 - no chance here of dropping a night feed. Jacob still wakes hungry. So I still express at night too (have been to;d that if I drop it, my supply will diminish as night is when there's more prolactin) On this subject, we tried feeding Jacob 3 hourly during the day to fill him up. No success. And it didn't work with Ruby 4 hourly. They were so out of sync I had no time to eat or shower! And they were unsettled with the other baby out of the cot while one was sleeping etc etc

If I try to move to more b/f, less ebm, my workload increases. That, and demand feeding will mean I can't know for sure how long vetween each feed, and there'll be less expressing so possibly a supply issue. I can see its temporary but I don't think I can handle any more work right now! And besides, Jacob's attachment issues imply to me that he needs to be bottle fed for his own sake so he grows... but he loves his breast time... can you see where I am mentally at the moment? Soooooooo confused. And sooooooo tired....

To top it off, Ruby attaches well but 1 nipple hurts a bit more than the other, so today at the 11am feed, it hurt as usual but at the end Ruby posited heaps as usual but with blood clots everywhere. She acted normal but I couldn't see any scar tissue on my nipple so we didn't really know for sure it was my blood so off to the doctors... She was fine. Even smiled at the doctor. (I've only received 2 smiles so far so that doctor was very priveiged!)

All this and DH is around all the time and very very helpful; I'm really lucky. But it has its price too. It is hard being in each other's pockets all the time, both trying to learn at the same time whats best for the babies. We seemed to have figured out a lot though - the badly settled afternoons are slowly becoming more bearable.

Oh we still can't fit them into the twin techno, so off to the shop to have them fitted because they say its ok from newborn - sure doesn't look right to me with Ruby, the bigger of the 2!

Haven't been outside the house with babes yet.

Nerissa x
Ladyhawk
bbighug.gif

Niss, you're doing a fabulous job. Don't feel gui;ty, you've got to look after you first otherwise who will look after Ruby and Jacob. Do what you need to do.
-MissNiss-
Sorry, was going to delete that former post... but Jen, you got on before I had the chance! blush.gif blush.gif

I should add I love them to bits and I wouldn't have it any other way....

N x
*Pink*Licorice*
waves.gif Ladies!

Niss68 - I say do whats best for your sanity. You need your rest and if that means FF or EBM fulltime go with it grin.gif

Havent had a chance to read back yet so I leave personals for now....

Its 5:15am and Ive been up for nearly an hour. Anna fed and went straight back to sleep (without her dummy! grin.gif ) but Zach has decided he wants to be up. He is just happily playing with his toys at the moment so I thought I would just jump on here and see what everyone else is up to.

Not much going on here. No crawling yet (secretly happy) but they can get around very well. Anna lays on her back and gets up on her heels and the tips of her head with an arched back IYKWIM. It looks so funny! Anyone elses bubs do this? She pushes herself around on her back too.

Anyone else have a bub that refuses to eat? Zach is terible with eating. Anna will down her food in 10 minutes but it can take up to an hour to Zach to eat. Unless for course its apples or yogurt, he seems to have aquired a sweet tooth and just refuses to eat his vegies or meat. Any suggestions?

Mitchell has been away since last sunday Im missing HEAPS but trying to enjoy the break. He will be home on Tuesday. I cant wait!

Ok, thats all from me for now. I better go and get the day started before the rest of the kids are up.
-MissNiss-
STOP PRESS!!!!

Jacob smiled today!

I cried and cried and cried!

I hadn't realised I'd been secretly longing for this day since they came home!

I haven't felt ANY connection to little Jake until now, today... he's just been a crying boy who hates eating. (I felt a connection with Ruby because she loves her food I guess).

OK sorry for all the drama of that earlier post this morning.

Naomi, thank you so much for the slings - they're fantastic! Sorry to hear you're having sleep issues too.

Jen, Hi! waves.gif Thank you for your kind words. Sorry to hear its been a bit tough for you too...

I love this forum because it puts my head right back into perspective... there are others out there who have it just as tough or tougher than me and who really understand the difficulties, unlike some singleton parents I know who think its all in my head how difficult it is.

OK off to wash the blood off Ruby's bibs and clothes, and wash and sterilise bottles (same old same old!!!!) laughing2.gif laughing2.gif laughing2.gif

N x
telli
STOP PRESS!!!!

Jacob smiled today!

I cried and cried and cried!

I hadn't realised I'd been secretly longing for this day since they came home!

YAY!!! That's so great, made me feel like crying when I read that.

I was just coming on to agree with the other girls and let you know your doing a great job and to do whatever works for you and your family.

Ladyhawk I would have no idea what to pack for the creche - I guess milk and nappies and a change of clothes but other then that I have no idea. Hope your boys settle for you, my girls are just starting to sleep really well at night but days are another story - it's an hour sleep and that's it and their often out of sync so I'm not getting much time to myself (as I post on EB while they both sleep original.gif ).

I've heard that around 4 months they often become unsettled and have a big growth spurt so maybe that's it??
Marnie
Me again biggrin.gif

Niss - great news about Jacob smiling biggrin.gif

Jen - I would say pack some spare clothes, milk, chuck rags and a few bibs. I am sure the creche people would call on you if you were needed so try to relax and enjoy your course, I'm sure they'll be fine original.gif

everyone else - Hi! biggrin.gif Sorry, I'm not great at personals - especially at the moment.

There have been some major things going on with me lately (hence I haven't been around here much sad.gif) I am ever so slowly coming to terms with it but we have some news.... I am expecting a surprise baby! We are due in December so I will have a 7 year old, 5 year old, 3 year old and twin 18 month olds on top of a newborn blink.gif unsure.gif wacko.gif

I have decided on a new motto/mantra and I repeat to myself several times a day 'that which doesn't kill us, makes us stronger' or my other favorite 'this too shall pass!' It's going to be one hell of a crazy ride but hey... after twins how hard can one more be, right? unsure.gif

I am off tomorrow for my first scan and just between us I am VERY nervous. I am firstly hoping like crazy that there is a healthy happy bean in there, and secondly... I am praying to the gods that there is JUST ONE! hands.gif Since the boys are ID there is a pretty good chance of that, but I still can't help but be a little nervous laughing2.gif

So - on top of dealing with my crew here I have been feeling pretty sick 24/7 and it's not too fun sad.gif I am still reading a lot but not really contributing much to the threads... sorry! I'll come back tomorrow afternoon and let you know how many we have on board (Joke!! laughing2.gif )

Marnie
-MissNiss-
CONGRATULATIONS MARNIE!!!!!

N x
lawshas3girls
Hi Everyone

WOW Marnie, congrats!! Good luck with your scan tomorrow and hope all is well!

Nerissa - I know exactly where you're at with the whole b/f/bottle feeding thing. Your story sounds very similar to mine. I too came home doing a mixture of breastfeeding/expressing/formula top-ups, etc, etc. I managed to keep it all up for 15 weeks, but then it just all became too hard for me. I spent lot's of time with a lactation consultant and I had heaps of milk, but my girls just never became good efficient feeders and I painfully decided to wean them. I still have moments where I feel guilty, especially when I read about all the other successful breastfeeding twin mum's, but in the end, my decision made ME happier and in turn the babies and everyone else around me. It was all just so much work having to do a combination of three different things all the time, giving them a b/f, then a top-up bottle, then expressing, washing the bottles up, washing the expressing equipment up. It was a really crazy time!! Just do whatever makes you comfortable and happy. I know how guilty you feel though about b/f, especially if you have it in your heart that it's what you wanted to do. I felt like a failure and guilty for a long time. You have done really, really well to give them what you have so far and if you can continue, that's wonderful, but if you can't know you've done you're best!! Good luck with your decision. Oh and what wonderful knews about Jacob smiling. How beautiful!!

Jen - sorry to hear that the boys have been so unsettled. Unfortunately they can't tell you what's wrong, so you're only ever grasping at straws!! I hope things get back on track for you soon and it's just a little hiccup!!

2plustwins - my girls are 7.5 months and really slow on the uptake of solids too!! Taya seems to have a sweet tooth too and has starting spitting out vegies! I don't know what to do either!! Halle is a slow eater and then doesn't eat much either. Yes, I feel your pain!! Have no answer's for you though just have to persist with it I guess!! Someone suggested to me today that I mix in some fruit with the vegies to start with, and then gradually lessen the fruit so they get used to the taste of the vegies. If I don't have success with Taya soon, then I might give this method a try. Good luck!

Telli, mybabyboy and Gumby - HI!!

Us, well apart from the slow start with solids, we are going great. Girls are not sitting unaided yet nor remotely interested in crawling, but I'm sure they'll get there. Both have 2 little teeth now, which is sooooo cute. They are fabulous little girls who are mostly quite placid and settled, so I am lucky! For now, LOL!! I will enjoy it while I can cos no doubt things may change!

Take care everyone

Laus
dozenkids
LOL. ive only read the 1st page, dont have th energy to read the rest. its the 1st time ive been on the net since mine were born.

anyway my names amanda, ive recently turned 40 and ive got single birth kids, a set of twins and ive recently had triplets(my IVF miracles-i only wanted 1 more...)theyll be 2 months later this month. Its 2 boys, Memphis and Pheonix and a beautiful little girl, Destiny.

anyway just thought i'd drop in and make myself known, im actually about to head off to bed...im tired out of my mind, but ive got lots of help.
*Pink*Licorice*
Just reading but I had to say...

CONGRATULATIONS MARNIE!!!!
SOOOOOOOOOOO Jealous!!!

Ok, better run.
mybabyboy
OMG Marnie!!!!!! That is so exciting, and scary.... I am shocked to say that I found myself a little envious!
Congratulations.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.