The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: July 03 Parents # 533

Essential Baby > Parents' Groups > Join a parents' group here > 2000-2003
Bel
New Thread Time original.gif

http://members.essentialbaby.com.au/index....howtopic=507746
k~leigh
Gold!

Just about to strap on my depend and head over to Loretta's.

Have a great day everyone!
Demon Deeva
SILVER!

Have fun at Loretta's! Have a coffee for me.

Sharon i'll call you as soon as I get 5 minutes peace LOL - no I can't do that you wont hear from me 'til all the kids move out tongue.gif
sotetno
OK it's done. Click here to see piccies of before and after. It's still in boofy state after the hairdresser actually blowdryed and put gunk in it. So on most days it'll be less full than this because I certainly don't blow dry more than about once a year on special occasions.
Demon Deeva
Oh WOW Mel, that looks fabulous!!!!

My goodness but there'll be a couple of girlies complaining about cold necks this Winter won't there? ROFL
Tsikos
Who's got a good excuse for a bightly coloured scarf this winter! Looks fantastic.

Kristine - hope you find somewhere cool to hide today. I miss the low 20's we were getting, we're touching 30 and I'm in mummy-melt-down mode (literally like a melting ice-block).

We were told at school that dobbing is not on but 'telling a teacher something has happened is okay". The definition of dobbing was that "you're telling a grown-up about something that probably shouldn't have happened but didn't cause anything bad and you can deal with yourselves" The examples given were "I had a fight with c today at lunch, she called me x, y and z but we're friends now" = dobbing as you're friends again and telling tales. "x was throwing stones and wouldn't stop when the peers told them too" = telling teacher something more serious. I guess at pre-school level it's a bit more hazy but I see it as teaching them to deal with problems themselves at a peer level first. I imagine with 30 kids at yr 2 and above a teacher gets pretty tired of hearing 30 tales rather than the 4 or 5 serious incidents that really needed to be dealt with by an adult. I guess it's like the 'share' debate for toddlers. I always made sure Max adn Megan share toys at playroup but just sometimes I think "he's just got on that, why can' t he enjoy it for a little bit by himself?"
brazen
mel, looks fantastic!

my hair keeps getting shorter and shorter too lol not to mention more coloured (though i'll have to perform sexual favours for g to keep spending that $$ PMSL!!)
^^Tash^^
Mel, looks great!!

Brazen - lol on the sexual favours. Raz keeps calling me youngen.

Kimmee have a coffee for me too.

I picked up Nates wheelchair today soooo cute and brand spankin new!
Our TV is on the fritz AGAIN!! I rang Samsung in tears and spoke to a lovely lady who is taking a personal interest in our plight and the service blokes are coming to pick it up tomorrow to verify that it's stuffed and then Samsung are going to replace it...fingers crossed. I will have a kid stuck in a wheelchair not able to jump on the tramp or go for a swim, if they take my tv off me I'm gonna be a lil bit frazzled! The bloody thing will be out of warranty in 10 days hmmmph
k~leigh
Tash, we had issues with a Samsung rear projection TV a coulple of years ago. Stick to your guns. Ours blew up a week out of warranty, they repaired it for us, which I was very happy about. It then blew up again 8 months later, they replaced the part free of charge but I had to pay for labour, which ended up being $500. I found their customer service to be excellent, but the product was CRAP! We have rules for major appliances now, never to be Samsung and get as much extended warranty as possible, lol. I hope that it isn't a major problem and can be fixed in a hurry. biggrin.gif Can you jazz up the wheelchair with some stickers or something, I hope Nate finds it a novelty rather than a hinderance.

Mel, love the new cut. How much hair was on the floor when it was finished!

Thanks Loretta for the coffee (well tea actually, lol) and for the p*ssa of a story. Thanks for the heads up on the depend Fi, I seriously needed it. Tracee, you would love the story too, but you could make your own soaker, just in case! PMSL, literally. tongue.gif

Braz, lol at the sexual favours for hair colour. I seriously need a new cut and the greys are migrating to the back of my head now. I am thinking about going short as well. Maybe on the holidays.

Kristina, I hope you have somewhere cool to escape the heatwave. I thought I heard it was a record for days over 30 in Adelaide?

I have put one of Troy's cars on ebay, dev (6).gif hopefully it will sell and then he can go looking for a new one. I am looking forward to getting a little car actually. The amount of k's I am doing for work and the price of petrol in the Commodore is taking up a huge chunk of my wage.

See ya!
TreeHugger
Loretta, thanks for the call original.gif

Kimmee, I was rotcpimp (you'll work it out wink.gif ) laughing2.gif

Mel, Well done!

Karen, PML, so it's worth it for the new do then?? tongue.gif

Our new mattress arrived today, mmmmmmm. Bought new pillows too as i figured it will take a while to get used to the new bed may as well combine the new pillows in now so it all happens at once.

Love Trace
Demon Deeva
Sharon, thanks for the phone call today. I really was a disgraceful blabbermouth! I swear it's the tablets, Loretta and I spoke for about 80 minutes the other day on the phone and about 85 minutes to you today! I know I was full of complete and utter crap to you i'm quite embarassed LOL I feel like I had literal verbal diarrhoea, could have been worse though as Kimmee and now you have found out.

I managed to get an hour of sleep in after we got off the phone - I only have Eme home and she put herself to bed while we were chatting blush.gif . I'm thankful for that hour, I didn't sleep much last night, I was convinced the bed was eating me (don't laugh it really wasn't funny, I was terrified, it's the tablets).

Tash, can we see a pic of the chair when you get a chance? Sounds cute! What a complete bugger on the tv, can't believe it's done it again. I hope it is stuffed and you just got a bodgy one and the next one goes like a dream.

Gotta go Eme is into "stuff"!
Kristina13
Kim -a record has been set for temparatures over 35C-I wish it was 30C!

See this-
http://www.news.com.au/story/0,23599,23368...from=public_rss
I'm nice and cool now as I'm in my air-conditioned office but wait till I get into my ovenI mean car look out ohmy.gif
Mel -your new cut looks great! original.gif

Tash -hope your TV probs are sorted out swiftly -what a pain!
Shaznco
Rofl @ Karens hair do's for sexual favours. Jon regularly trades with me, LOL!

Tash - Bugger on the TV, glad they are fixing the problem though. I'd love to see a pic of Nate and his wheels, sounds cute.

Fiona - No you didn't make a goose of yourself, I enjoyed our chat. I couldn't believe it when I hung up and the phone said call duration 1hr, 24mins. It didn't feel that long at all. I didn't get much housework done today but I was worth it! A good laugh and chat is just what I needed. Ta!
JennyH
Howdy

Mel, love the haircut. Your hair looks so light now, I recall it being so dark. Hope you enjoy once the "boof" is gone, LOL.

Tash, unbelievable, especially with the warrenty up in 10days, it's like they design stuff to fall apart as close to the warrenty period as possible (alhtough you've already had problems I know).

Fiona, I reckon the dream sounds scary. I had wierd dreams too, not that I can recall them atm, I think I am stressed over the rennos and move etc. Not that it pushes me to get organised, sigh.

I get a night out tongiht (with MIchael, but not the older 2!). Bookclub and then scrapbooking at a friends place. Should be nice, she's icing a bottle of bubbles (ie. putting it on ice, I realised it sounded like she was decorating it, LOL). Wonder what the layouts will look like after a few champers, ROFL.

Jenny
k~leigh
Jenny love the new sig! wub.gif
LorettaG
I got some of my results back.

A HIGH distinction for my Oral exam for Communication (but you guys already knew I was good at communicating hey) LOL

and a distinction for my Infection control exam which I'm wrapt about. Really WRAPT.

WOO HOO, I'm so relieved.
Demon Deeva
Yeah Loretta, we knew you were good at communicating, but more than that we knew you were EXCELLENT at oral ROFL!
Brilliant effort babe, you deserve those results you've worked so hard for them. Congratulations cclap.gif eexcite.gif
~mouse~
Well done Loretta! That's awesome!! biggrin.gif ddance.gif cclap.gif eexcite.gif tthumbs.gif
k~leigh
Well done Loretta. biggrin.gif

Fi, you had me PIMP. grin.gif

We have got some of that Adelaide weather, it's very HOT and it's only 6.30 am!
brazen
congrats loretta!

and congrats mouse on your post count original.gif and i love your new userpic on facebook!
joeyn
Well done Loretta!! wub.gif your a star.

I'm taking the girls to Omeo today, back tomorrow night so we are here when Jock gets home.
blink.gif 3 hour drive with kids chooks and chicks.. planning Maccas for lunch on the way, wonder if they give me some scraps for the chooks laughing2.gif
TreeHugger
Yay Loretta, awesome results babe! And yeah the whole being good and oral (exams) is why Chris had nits!!

Jo, have fun in Omeo tho I worry about Omeo in this weather, the last 4yrs they've had fires yeah?

Oh so hot, it's 26C inside my house already! Sucks that the sewing room is at the opposite end to the AC. Will have the pedestal fan on high while I get some sewing done tho and then sit in the lounge later this arvo.

Love Trace
LorettaG
Tracee and Fiona, you both need your bottoms smacked, Naughty naughty girls.

It's 40 degrees today. Thats just too hot, I just want summer to be over now, Please someone tell mother nature autumn started 2 weeks ago please.

I have a test tomorrow that after some revision last night I'm quietly crapping my pants over. It's law and ethics and remembering Acts and Torts (which I had always JUST though was a dessert) ANYWAY, I suppose I'll get there, but there's alot of Information to remember.

Jo- Gosh good luck in the car with 2 kids and chickens in this heat. I know you would have but take LOTS of water.

Tracee put some ice cubes in your bra and put your feet in cold water that will cool you down quickly. I've done that before at my sewing machine.

Kristina- I knowing you are the sharing caring type and we do love you for it but please keep your weather, or send it elsewhere, LOL.

Love you all MWAH.
TreeHugger
Loretta, I can just see me electricuting myself by tipping the bucket of water on the sewing machine pedal laughing2.gif
Kristina13
Why can't I share the joy of our glorious weather???!! tongue.gif

Loretta -well done on your excellent results and all the best with your torts and acts!!!

Jen -love the new siggy too!

Hottest night on record for March last night -someone said at 9.30pm their car said it was 37C still! Ross was home when I got home so we went to Glenelg for a swim then had tea on the balcony at the Hogs Breath Cafe. Very nice apart from the long wait for our dinner -Joel fortunately got served quickly! Tonight we were planning to go into town as Ross hasn't done any Festival Fringe stuff -we like to visit the Garden of Unearthly Delights in the evening with all the pretty lights and ride the Ferris Wheel they have there!
Also I want to see the lights they are projecting onto various old buildings along North Terrace at night for the Festival. A friend showed me some pics her DH took -they look amazing. The library building had a pictures of books all over it!
^^Tash^^
Oh Kristina, you made me jealous, I've been swimming at Glenelg and eaten twice at the Hogs Breath there oh they were fond fond memories. Oh and girls in the heat original.gif it is a pleasant 27 degrees here, with a nice on shore breeze blowing in. Trying to debate whether I go have a sleep when Josh goes down or jump in the pool kid free for a while original.gif
There, have I made you jealous yet?

Nate went to school in his Wheelchair today as a practice run for Tuesday. We needed to make sure we wouldn't encounter any problems. His teacher had rearranged the classroom last night to get the chair around but we had to move some mats. All the kids were so excited that Nate had his chair and they were all lining up to push him around. He felt very special and all the kids want to decorate his chair and can't wait for his plasters so they can draw pictures on them. I didn't think to take pics of him but will be taking pics of the whole plastering event for his foot photo diary that I've been doing since this all began. The principal wants a copy so he can talk to the kids about it at assembly on Wednesday.
brazen
ah tash, that sounds wonderful for nate!! wub.gif
^^Tash^^
A boy and his Chair
theoni2k
Gee Nate is gorgeous!!! Goodluck with it all little man!
Congrats on the results Loretta!
Love the hair Mel!
Theoni
Tsikos
Yeah for the results Loretta.

He looks like he's enjoying the chair Tash. I hope it lasts. So, for the plastering he's awake? and they are simply straightning and plastering them in the 'correct' placement? Pete has been getting his previously dislocated but stuffed little finger plastered every week for the last 6 weeks. It's gone from an angle of 40 degrees to 20 now. They're trying to get it to 10 degrees and then will work on mobility but it's amazing to see what a bit of fibreglass plaster can do!

DH is applying for a big job next week. Complete hospital and job change. Good because he's 'at the end of th eline' where he is and it's one of only 3 places in the Southern Hemisphere he can work wheras if he suceeds in the interview he'll be able to move to any hospital in the world. Not much of a pay rise (only about $500 a year) but much more responsibilty and for someone that never gets excited, was late to his sons induction and left his daughter in SCN to watch TV he's got a bounce adn seems so happy and excited. hands.gif he's successful. The boss has asked him to come out next week and inspect the site and applications don't close for another fortnight so we're quietly hoping it's a good sign and a 'prelim'. Only 'bad' things are it'll be much longer hours (i.e he;'ll actually have to work his supposed hours blush.gif ) and he'll be starting the same time as bub is due and Mg will no longer be eligable for her DC as he won't be working onsite anymore. Have pre-empted it and been phoning around LDC's, am satisfied I'll be able to get her in 1-2 days a week at the local occassional care but everywhere else just laughed at the request, bit stressed as she really needs to go somewhere with a special needs teacher. Hoping a phonecall tomorrow to a centre where I know the director personally and she's had the sh*ts before when our LDC kicked a child out because parent no longer worked there and juggled to let the child in is positive. Have also arranged Mx to go to bf and aft school care for the 3 weeks post CS since if he gets the job he won't be able to do drop-off as planned. Just hope all this planning is worth it.

Other news is that council has put us 'on hold' as they want us to do a 100 yr flood study for our block. As the building company said "WTF??!" They've never ever in 30 years had this request. I'm also sh*tty because Dad did this for a job and a.he's dead so can't help but b. whenever I helped him it was going through council records to find the information to create the model so council are basically asking for us to pay someone to do a council job mad.gif and finally c. the house is over 100 yrs and shows no evidence of any water damage under the house, therefore whatever the 1:100 yr flood on our hillside block produced was neglible wacko.gif methinks it's just a delaying stragey due to workload.

Have worked out how to get photos to photobucket but not MSN so if you want to see Mx and Mg here they are - and Mx's shirt get tucked in for school.
http://i257.photobucket.com/albums/hh232/T..._2008/Megan.jpg
http://i257.photobucket.com/albums/hh232/T...oolstarting.jpg

Blue in the background of Megan's photo is what we're painting the feature wall of the new dining room (when it's built!)

Hope everyone has a good weekend
Demon Deeva
Boo!

Mum and Dad had their auction today, there were no bidders - not that we really expected the house to sell, so they're off to try and figure out how much they want for it.

Rach, best of luck for the new job! If he gets it is there a chance in the future that you will end up moving O/S so he can continue his work?

Loretta hope your test went well, I remember hanging out with a few Torts up in Qld here a few months back, we had a great time! Can't wait to see them again. laughing2.gif

Tash, chair looks great, Nate has the most delicious smile!

Well instead of sitting here slacking I really ought to go and get the rake out and spread the top soil that was delivered yesterday sad.gif I can't be stuffed LOL. Maybe i've lost my hat, I can't go out without my hat can I?
JennyH
Fiona, we have been gardening/demolishing today - using muscles that haven't been touched in ages blush.gif . but we made progress, all the trees are out, the railway sleeper garden beds dug out (some sleepers were crumbly rotten, others intact and VERY heavy). We were trying to get the street record for amount of crap for a hard rubbish collection, but the neighbour across the road has beaten us... across her entire verge is a pile of vegetation cutoff taller than me ohmy.gif - and I didn't think she had much garden, LOL. Certainly doesn't now (she's also about to rennovate, we joke that builders will be turning up at the wrong site, we are #34 and she is #33).

Rachel, gorgeous pics, can't believe how much bigger Megan is... and max too for that matter. as for the flood thing, it is crap. There is NO WAY a resident can do their own flood study, most would struggle to even work out what a 1:100yr flood is (not you, just joe bloe average). And to do a flood model you need all the levels of the entire neighbourhood and their structures, what downstream conditions are (because that affects how quickly the water drains away) etc etc. Unless they have a flood map and they just want documentation to show that you are above the line??? But then Council has that map, so again they have the resources to check it themselves. CRAZY. Fingers crossed our approval goes through OK on March 25th, the back area is a bombsite with our partial demolition of non-structures. We said today that even if our approval doesn't go through we are past the point of no return.

Loretta, good that your test were good, hope todays went well too. LOL at Fi's tort humour.

Nothing new to add, have a good weekend all

JennyH
TreeHugger
I'm writing this down so I can be accountable for my actions.

The past few months (pretty much since CLaire stopped feeding) I've been slowly gaining weight back again but haven't been game enough to get on the scales. My clothes were telling me I had put kgs on and I kept trying to ignore it by getting the baggier things out to wear. I stood on the scales last night and was shocked enough to get my butt into gear to get these much unwanted kgs off again!

So my time line is to lose 5kgs by the time we get to Tassie, so in 9 weeks. That will get me back to where I was when I lost the last big chunk of weight.

My plan is to cut down on my carb intake (was normal for me to have toast, sandwich and something carb with dinner), eat a proper lunch, drink loads of water (adding lemon as I can't drink plain water easily), snack on fruit, yoghurt and nuts while still allowing a SMALL occasional treat or I go insane! I'm waiting for this heat to end so we can get walking too.

I will do this, I've done it before so I know I can do it again. I just needed to shock to get me into action and I well and truely got it last night original.gif

Love Trace
~mouse~
You can do it Tracee original.gif

I know one of you ladies can help me... I need to find that No-Egg stuff... E's best friend at school is allergic to peanuts and eggs... I can do no nuts easily, but no eggs is a little harder. Can someone point me in the right direction? I want to make sure she can eat birthday cake LOL
joeyn
Happy Birthday Noah!
JennyH
Donna, the easy way is to look in the health bit of the supermarket for a product called "no egg". It comes in a box similar looking to cornflour, and you add one teaspoon of powder and two tablespoons water for each egg substituted. Also you can try buttermilk as a substitute, but I'm not sure how much and a friend that did this last week found her cake was really dense. Also golden syrup can be a substitute in muffin mix, I've done that easily. I have 2 friends kids that are allergic to egg, so can answer that one! Also FWIW you need to be careful with biscuits, some are no egg (eg light jatz) whereas similar ones aren't (eg, normal jatz).

Tracee, I am soooo there with you. Blerk, those kilos creep on soooo quickly and don't budge half as easily. Even as I eat the crap I know I am undermining any weight loss, but somehow my brain doesn't correlate the eating to the weight.

John did a big bike race today and then we had a friends boy's first birthday part this avo.... so everyone is the house is a bit tired, LOL. Bet John will be pushing the kids to bed so he can sleep too!

Cheerio
JennyH
Tsikos
Donna - this is my dairy free, egg free adn nut free cake that is light and doesn't taste 'different' at all. Also only uses a bowl and wooden spoon to make so the kids love to help!.

1 1/2 C plain flour
2 TB cocoa (check nut free contamination)
1 tsp cinnamon and ginger
1 tsp baking sode
1 tsp salt
1 C sugar
1/2 C plain oil
3/4 C water
2 TB white vinager (or apple cider etc)
1 tsp vanilla

pre-heat over to 190 normal or 180 fanforced with rack just below middle. Line and spray 20cm square pan

Put all the dry ingrediants in a bowl and stir leaving a well in teh centre. Add all the wet ingrediants without stirring to it and then stir lightly until smooth.

Pour into pan and bake for 30 -- 40 minutes. Leave in pan for 5 minutes and then turn.

Just make a basic icing from cocoa, pure icing sugar and boiling water.

Hope that helps?

Jenny - thanks. I know! Mum sent me a long technical e-mail telling me who to speack to at a council and what to ask for so I'll send this to our building company contact and hopefully he can use some of it to ask "Why we need it and how come they don't have it already?" One of my main gripes is we're only adding 15 sqm of roof and putting in a 5500lt slimline watertank plumbed back to my laundry. I do 2 laods a day at 200 lt per load so you'd think that we wouldn't be adding anything to the overall stormwater sytem wacko.gif

Good luck Tracee, 9 weeks adn 5 kg is entirely and realistically acheivable adn I know you'll make it a priority. I REALLY want to lose 40 kg and after sitting with someone last week who'd just lost 30 I got completely motivated. Hardly the best time rolleyes.gif

Over Megan's ST already - but only because we're not seeing progress. 1/2 hour of getting my daughter to try and say p-p-p-p, b-b-b-b, m-m-m-m, o-o-o-o, a-a-a-a and u-u-u-u when she doesn't want a bar of it no matter the game, sticker, stamp 'fun' bit offered....this is going to be a long journey. Didn't help that bub has shifted into a low streching position and I want to scream. Have 'jiggled' him to try and raise him but he's being a stubborn male! Went to a 10-pin bowling party with Max today sick.gif At least I now know to not have one for several years. 20 lanes of childrens birthday parties, loud disco music and 200 + loud unruly kids on sugar and junk food. Max liked the bowling (even got 1 strike grin.gif ) but didn't really care for the party. When I suggested going as a family he was really kean - but how to avoid the birthday partys unsure.gif

Happy Easter Week for everyone. Hope the chololate bunny drops what is wanted where it is wanted in amounts desired by Mums and Dads.

Good luck Tash for tomorrow(?) for Nate - it was the 17th??
^^Tash^^
Thanks Rach, yup its tomorrow 11.30am we go in (QLD time) the weather was so cold this weekend we weren't even able to swim. Gave them a huge deep bath tonight and really scrubbed him down just was a buffer for 3 weeks of pommy baths original.gif
We'll get thru it. The school have been so amazing I will probably stay most of tuesday to see what he will be capable of and what he will need in the way of help. The teachers and assistants are not allowed to help him in the toilet but thankfully his assistant was a nurse for 16 years, she has volunteered to help him stand from his chair and help him down and up with his shorts and undies. BUT I have to write a letter stating 'specifically' how much she can help him like OMG. If I don't then I have to come to the school any time he needs to go to the loo or he has to stay home. Thankfully there are only 8 school days and all the rest are Easter or school hols. I've bought size 8 shorts that will be easier to get up and down and over the plaster and will see whether going commando will be beneficial wink.gif although he didn't like the idea of free-balling lol
Will post pics tomorrow of the process original.gif

LOL anyway only came on to see what was on tv tonight since I have Mount Washmore taking over the couch.
Love to all
Tash -xx-
Tsikos
Oh Tash - good luck with it all. Glad to hear you had a cool weekend even if it meant they couldn't swim.

I am still so thankful to the Teachers Aid that fully washed Max down and re-dressed him when he had his diarrohea accident at school that first week. I cannot fathom leaving a kid in need of the bathroom or in their own filth, especailly a Kinder - I mean everyone at school has to do a "working with kids" background check and at least at our school every staff member is a mum with 2+ kids of their own. Okay, I'm probably way to naive and trusting but I just think that maybe some trust needs to re-enter life in general. Rant over blush.gif
brazen
trace, since i (re)joined ww last year i have put on about, i don't know as i haven't weighed myself lately, maybe 5kg? or more? mind you, i'm still paying the bloody monthly fees by direct debit aagh so maybe we can inspire each other?

though not jut at this moment as i'm really sick with tonsilitis. i had my tonsils out at 5yo! but apparently they've grown back LOL apart from the influenza last year i haven't been this sick in ages/ i feel rotten. and bloody g decided to shop while i was at the dr yestserday but didn't buy a single thing for me to eat / drink MEN rolleyes.gif
TreeHugger
Sure Karen, sounds good original.gif Bugger you feel so sick and blink.gif to your tonsils growing back!!!

tash, all my love for today to Master Nate and you wub.gif

Mouse, any luck finding the no egg?? I am in love with that stuff. I make Claire her own version of zucchini slice with it and it looks the same as ours!!

I had a shocker of a headache yesterday, a combo of the heat and lack of sugar/fat I think. Detoxing is no fun wacko.gif . Still I was a good girl and didn't cave original.gif

Loretta or Kim are you heading to the Good Friday Appeal at the Telstra Dome?? We're planning to again this year as long as the weather isn't too hot. The kids always have a ball there and it's nice to be helping in our own little way too original.gif

Love Trace
Shaznco
Tash/Nate - All the best for today.

Kimmie and Karen - did you get my PM last week re. accommodation?

Karen - I hope you're feeling better soon.
brazen
thanks shaz, i did, htough i didn't notice it til after i was feeling sick so that's why i haven't replied, sorry. i have this feeling that dh is going to pull the pin on the trip as we honestly can't afford a holiday and the weekend in melbourne is going to cost us a bomb (but that ones's harder to cancel as it involves the kids etc). anyway i will get back to you asap.
Tsikos
Happy St Patricks Day Everyone

Had Ob appointment this morning. Everything is good. Wish my BP wuld actually climb just a little so I had an excuse to rest rather than just feel guilty about it. Also had a long chat with her about getting my tubes tied and have decided not to ph34r.gif Pete's going to be so angry at me but I just don't want to (insert 2 year-old tanty)/ Thankfully Ob gave me some reasons why not to have it done at the same time as the CS (she slices and ties rather than just clips so you've extra inflammation/healing and potential infection sites and there's a slighty higher failure rate). She also said the dangerous statement of "Well I know I said only one more but we'll have a look and decide when we've got you open for this one." and while the thought of being pregnant again ATM makes me want to vomit I'm only 31 and who know what in 5 years??? Do you think he'll forgive me? (It's not that he doesn't want 4 kids, he just doesn't want 4 of the ones we breed!). I dunno, it's just feels the 'wrong' time to make a permanent decision. really hoping he can understand that?
mdjd
Surprisingly Rachel I wish I had not had the tubal ligation during my cesear now too. I was so adamant I didn't want another, and I still feel quite similar (as we seem to have kids with "issues" LOL), but I do think I was hasty in my decision, and at this stage would agree with your OB and say don't do it. You can always change your mind in a couple of years and if pete won't get ther snip then (John wouldn't) then you can go ahead. Sorry to hear megan's ST isn't really progressing. How old is she now? 2 1/3?

tas trip girls - Yep, I can't access MSN. I jjst tried again from work and got all excited that it actually let me log in, but for some reason it is just not recongising me as a member of the group. Its a bit strange??? I fly in with Sharon, and I think we arrive around 5ish which is not long after the Melb girls so maybe we can go together to the accom? I am happy to take this offline to PM but please not to MSN.

Mel - Re above, I was hoping to see your photos, but alas no luck. I am sure it is gorgeous,l but can't wait to see it IRL. We should have another coffee get together with all the syd girls? John is on afternoon for the next couple of weeks so my place is available or else after that I can go to any location.

Rach/Theoni/Verity - see above comment. What do you think??

Tash - Good luck today and loved that pic of Nate and his chair. I am so impressed with the school. How fantastic that they have been so wonderful, but do tend to agree with rach, I just think its a shame that we can't have any trust in people these days. Sad really isn't it. Hoping all has gone well this morning

Better go, much too long on here today..

M
Tsikos
Michelle - I was thinking similar. WOndering about school holidays daytime? or is this too far away? Nighttime I tend to eagerly arrange but never in teh mood when night-time comes IYKWIM? Maybe your place and we can get you on to MSN from home?

xxx Just had a nana nap and feel heaps better. Got up and in 15 minutes had sorted and re-housed all the bath toys from a string bag into a bunningsbasket that was sitting in the garage and at least ties in colourwise with the bathroom and gone through all the plastic drink-bottles and got rid of all poppers with cracked tops/bulgy bottoms/no lids and created room for the lunchboxes blink.gif I need to nana nap far more often!!
JennyH
there was me thinking teachers couldn't help with toilet because of the "yuk" factor, not the "perving" factor. I can't imagine teachers being that excited about helping with toileting, but then with kids that age, accidents happen. Glad to hear the school is being accomodating Tash, otherwise Nate wouldn't be able to go.

Rachel, want to come clean my plastics cupboard too? tongue.gif

Met some other kindy mums today at a coffee morning. Seem nice, one even lives on our street, LOL.

Cheerio
JennyH
^^Tash^^
Hey Girls,

He was all smiles during the morning but about 20 minutes ago hit the wall, says he is in pain but the panic in his voice tells me it is more a claustrophobia than pain, his toes are pink and not purple and the casts are still a bit flexible. I remember when I was in a cast my first night was the worst. I gave him some panadol just in case it was pain and he is now fast asleep on the recliner. In the Flikr pics you can see the walker they have lent us as well which will help him at school get around the room as well. Can't wait for this to be over. The good thing is it is easy peasy to remove, you just unravel it like a bandage so we get to take it off early next Tuesday morning, give him a bath and then come in for more plasters. He liked his New Blue Leg Armour as he put it but when he wakes up I'm sure he won't like it much.

Love to all
Demon Deeva
Belated birthday wishes Noah! Hope you had a lovely day.

Tash, awww the poor babe. I hope the claustrophobic feeling subsides by tomorrow. Is he back to school then? Great pics on Flickr too.

Wrote out a potential guest list for my birthday party this morning. 52 guests later (not including kids) I have a feeling this might turn out to be bigger than I expected and i'm seriously considering getting someone to plan it for me. I really don't need the pressure. Besides if the party is to live up to its theme of "Decadence" it really should be planned properly!

Well, I need to cook some muffins for school lunches and it's finally cooled down enough for me to do it. Catch you later!
Tsikos
The colour looks funky Tash. Did he get much of a choice? Glad to see he was even smiling in the wrapping shot. Well done on getting through today and settling him tonight.

Kids are finally down after several warnings and a couple of smacks (Megan is trying to sleep in Max's bed and Max wants her to be quiet and leave him alone) . Really want to seperate them but given that as soon as we do we're likely to get our DA through and combine them again it just doesn't seem worth it in the long run.

Port-a-loo got delivered to the house behind today so I guess building of the paved mansion will start soon. Bit anxious as we access our houses through the rear laneway and streets are at an entirely different level to the houses at the fronts and I can see the next year being a case of "can you more your ute?" every time we want to leave or enter - sigh
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.