The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: Multiples Aged 2 plus ~ # 20

Essential Baby > Babies > Twins, Triplets, Quads and More
Nee
New thread time. original.gif

Link to last thread.
BusyB
SILVER!
*CalamityJane*
laughing2.gif BRONZE!
TopEndCrew
Bummer i got the (.Y.) prize..
*CalamityJane*
PMSL Jen. I'm not here either. I am determined to get at least ONE room in this house clean before we head off to gym. I've just got EB open so I can lurk for TheMuriels' baby news wink.gif.
BusyB
Thought I would pop in & share the invite I made for the girls. Seems everyone is having birthday's at the moment!

Belinda
*CalamityJane*
Gorgeous BB! Will send that Donna Hay stuff tonight for you.
TopEndCrew
Belinda - That invite is gorgeous! How gorgeous are your girls! I love their hair! wink.gif

Well we are all sick sad.gif sad.gif So i am sick of being at home and sick and tired of whingeing children. I am counting down til DH gets home from work!! *so over it*

Anyhow better go and try to entertain them cause they are wanting to go through the tupperware drawer and i'm not in the mood to have to pick it all up again..

Rach wink.gif
*CalamityJane*
Oh Rach, sorry you are all sick. Hope you feel better soon!

I sent my DH an email to his work on Monday asking if he could bring home some chesse...because we had plenty ofwhine to go with it wink.gif. He replied with "Please try not to kill my daughters." blush.gif

I've spent the better part of today trying to pick up all the crap we have lying around the place...only to turn around and find it all dragged out again - aaarrrgh!

5 mins 'til Playschool, 5 mins 'til Playschool...
Crazymum2Crazykids
Belinda I love the invites! they are great!

Nicole I hate those days of never ending of picking up things only to find out it has all been pulled out agian. Did your DH get the cheese.

Rach I hope you are all better soon,not good when everyone is sick.

We have had a good day today only cause the girls were at preschool! laughing2.gif

Hope everyone is well.
BusyB
Thought I would pop in & say how nice it is to see this thread active again.

Gosh I feel tired. All three kids were up before 5am today oomg.gif & I went to bed late. DH started work before 8am & he just drove in. I've been waiting up for him. Tonight I felt like handing him the kids & running, but I couldn't LOL.

Jen~ I hope you have made good progress on the assignment! I'm sure you will do fine though.

Rach~ I hope that your household feels better. Are you fluey? 3 cranky kids are not fun! Thanks for saying my girls are cute LOL. ATM cute isn't the word that comes to mind!

Kim~ I love daycare days.

Nicolie~ I hear you on the cleaning up front. It drives me nuts!! No the fighting driving me more nuts though.

Ok I need to go to BED!

Night

Belinda
nakigirl
Wow! This must be our busiest thread for a while. I'm just having a sneaky look while I should be getting ready for work. I've imposed a ban on myself looking at EB at work so getting a fix this morning!

No time for personals, sorry - I think that time would be better used slapping on some makeup to disguise my old and tired and stressed self! Work is mad at the moment and I'm having huge trouble with a project team who think they're my only client. Yesterday they suggested I should come into work tomorrow (I've never worked Fridays in 4 years) for a meeting. I gave a straight "no". "But we'll pay for childcare" - hello? Who will provide this mythical childcare on a Friday?! I refused to give excuses about why I couldn't do it (apart from the fact I don't have any childcare available) - I don't work on a Friday - if I give in on this one, I'll be fair game every Friday. It annoys me that working for the "family friendly" government, my day with my children is seen as less important than a meeting rant.gif rant.gif . And I'm unreasonable/unhelpful for not bowing to their request. Sorry for the rant - I was awake for 2 hours from 4am stewing about all of this!!

Will be back later. Keep the thread going!!
*CalamityJane*
roll2.gif Maree, do they think you can just click your fingers and find an extra day of child care?? Good on you for sticking to your guns! A member of my team resigned recently and the first words out of my new boss' mouth were "So, you think you'll be increasing your hours then?". Um, NO! Recruit someone! Oh yeah, that's right, you don't pay us enough therefore no one wants the position. Not my problem mate mad.gif.
TopEndCrew
Just bumping up ladies..

Hope all is ok with everyone.. All is good here.. just starting to seriously get organised for our move. We move out on Monday and then into our new house on Thursday - so we have 3 nights in motels (2 nights here in Canberra, one n ight in Maitland), so will be interesting to see how the kids cope!

So after Sunday i won't be back online til Thursday or Friday, don't know how i am going to cope without EB for 4 days! laughing2.gif
*CalamityJane*
Good luck with your move Rach original.gif.

Well girls, I have finally had it with my work. I nearly did the dramatic storm out on Friday complete with "you know where you can shove your job!" rant.gif blush.gif. After de-briefing with DH on the way home in the car, I gave myself a swift kick up the backside and have decided I am now officially on the job market. Can't imagine who is going to hire me part time, but at least looking for something else keeps me distracted LOL. I've called a couple of places already - of course they want full timers, but one bloke took my details and if they don't have a suitable full time applicant, he is going to call me back. At least I know that he was semi-interested in me, so that makes me feel better! Just have to work on the CV - it's been a looong time since I looked for work. Bit scary actually, felt a bit sick reading selection criteria and wondering how the hell I would pull off an interview these days huh.gif.

We've had a jam packed couple of weeks (well the girls have anyway). They had 3 kids parties on the weekend. Paige got some kind of strange virus and collapsed at one of the parties. Rushed her straight off to the dr's and left Hannah at the party with her friends. She is fine - it's just some weird virus that caused stomach pains and temp spikes, where she would just need to lie down and sleep it off. They lasted about an hour or so, and then she was back to normal again. She's decided she hates medicine, so I tried to let her ride it out. I had to pin her down and shove some Dymadon down her throat on Sunday night though as her temp had been too high for too long sad.gif.

On Monday she was completely back to normal so we headed off for the Perth Royal Show (with the rest of the Perth population wacko.gif). It was a great day! Stupid me decided they were old enough for the Ghost Train - what was I thinking??? Hannah was keen to go on, so we got in the car together. Paige started screaming like a banshee because she was afraid for us. Poor DH was left outside holding an hysterical child who was screaming for Mummy and Hannah. I'm sure he must have looked like he was kidnapping her or something! Hannah was really excited to go on, but about 20 seconds in she said she wanted to go back because it was too scary and cried with her head in my lap for the rest of the ride. So, a complete disaster - and all because I used to love the Ghost Train!! I'm an idiot!

This weekend they only have 1 party on Sunday (yay!) and DH's aunt and her DP want to take them on a Teddy Bear's Picnic on Saturday for their birthday present so I may even get a child free afternoon original.gif.

They are driving me bonkers with the fighting ATM. I'm at a bit of a loss as to what to do about it TBH. On the one hand, I think they need to work it out for themselves (as long as they are not physically hurting one another). On the other hand, I can't stand the noise! I find myself screaming at them to "STOP IT!" once too often I'm afraid. Of course, if I do step in and try and seperate them (ie "you go and play over there and you go and play over there"), they gang up on ME!!

I need help from you girls with older kids! What do you do about fighting?? Seriously? I really do think they need to learn how to sort out their own arguments, especially being twins, but OMG it's soooo annoying!

Gosh, that turned into a vent - sorry blush.gif. Better head off to bed. Early start for playgroup tomorrow LOL. Oh yeah, I declared October "Spring Cleaning Month". So far, I have been to the Royal Show, to work and shopping. Haven't even picked up a duster grin.gif.

...she of the too many exclamation marks signing off..
BusyB
Hi Girls

We had a huge weekend with the girls birthday. They woke very early, 4:30am! Although today wasn't much better 4:45am. They got their ears peirced & we had a small party on Sunday.

Here are some photos

[img]http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f103/AshNBB/DSC_8884copy.jpg[/img]

[img]http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f103/AshNBB/DSC_8652copy.jpg[/img]

[img]http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f103/AshNBB/DSC_8655copy.jpg[/img]

Nicolie~ I don't really have any suggestions in regards to the fighting, but I FEEL your frustration on a daily basis!

Belinda
*CalamityJane*
HAPPY BIRTHDAY KATELEIGH AND DANIKA!! wub.gif

BB, the photos are gorgeous. I'm glad they had a good day. I am SO sorry I forgot to PM you and tell you my scanner decided to go on the fritz so I couldn't send you that stuff!

cry1.gif You were supposed to tell me you had a magic solution for the fighting. I just had to interrupt posting this to go and separate them! Right, will have to BBL, they are climbing all over me bugging me to play "Bindeez".

Hope everyone is well original.gif
nakigirl
Having a sneaky look at EB at work so will have to be quick - but Nicolie, I feel your pain on the fighting. Arrggggh - it's one of the worst things about twins. People are always asking "do they play well together". The answer is yes - and no. When other siblings fight, I've noticed the parent can ask the older one to be more responsible, and the younger one usually develops a self-protection mechanism and avoids being in a physical confrontation that they'll likely lose. But with two the same age/size/maturity, none of that works! I'm sick of separating them and while I want to let them work things out themselves, I also want them to avoid losing a limb or an eye. Any magic tips?? Anyone???? wink.gif
cromie2
Hi all, I haven't posted in a while, too busy with stuff and none of it very interesting.

I looks like Kateleigh and Danika had a wonderful birthday, they looked very happy in their photos.

On the fighting aspect, I have been telling my eldest DD who is 5, that her brother and sister will stop biting and hitting and snatching her stuff when they are 3. I know this isn't true but I have been hoping it would settle down by then, its only a month away now and they are just getting stronger and more capabable of doing damage.

We have now got a zero tolerance policy, doesn't matter who starts it, if there is fighting they go to time out. Hasn't worked yet.

I have sometimes thought the best option would be to divide the house so they can't get in each other's way.

We have taken the big step into big beds in our house. And they actually are big beds, Charlotte is in a queen bed and Sam is in a double bed. We already had the beds and the rooms are big enough (just) so we thought we might as well use them. A work colleague commented that I was setting them up to never leave home!

Charls looks very cute all set up in bed with her 2 dolls and other cuddly toys tucked up beside her in a great big bed. I'd take a photo but the camera broke, grrr.

I'd better get back to work....
Crazymum2Crazykids
Love the photo's Belinda the girls look so cute.

Fighting between my girls grrrr so over it! dev (6).gif I told the girls to go look for you real mother she is looking for you, this was the other day when they had worn me thin and Kasie pipes up and says but you are our mum! laughing2.gif cheecky butt!

I have some photos but I will have to download them yet, we just got back from Tamworth so we are all tired and I have all 5 kids here. happy.gif

Anyway I have to go and I will be back later.
Crazymum2Crazykids
where are we all cry1.gif
BusyB
I'm still around biggrin.gif. Just too lazy to post really.

We are good here, although we are back to the dreaded early starts again. Anything from 4:30am each day. Today was 5:45am. The girls have gotten heaps better at entertaing themselves but if they are up so is Solomon & he needs an adult.

Both girls are now VERY rough & quiet mean to him too rant.gif. He messes up their games & annoys them. They have no patience with him & not much tolerance & they hurt him rant.gif rant.gif

They were given 2 games for their birthday, Giggle Wiggle & Elefun. Both are really good games. The elefun game would suit 3yr olds, but Giggle Wiggle is a lot harder! DH & I have played & we found it a challenge.

We have been trying to focus on counting & alphabet with the girls. Up until now they haven't shown ANY interest & now I'm pushing it a little more. They are 5 & should be starting to be able to count! The other night we drew "food". They coloured it in & and then cut it out & we played shops. We let them use REAL money (5cents coins). They LOVED it!! It was a real hit.

Ok, I have a boy to feed. Sorry for lack of personals.

Belinda
*CalamityJane*
I'm here too waves.gif, just nothing interesting to say (not that it normally stops me LOL).

OMG BB, I could not cope with 4.30am starts ohmy.gif . I am so not a morning person, and thankfully neither are my girls. DH often gives us a hard time in the morning, because all 3 of us are grumpy when get up LOL. (You know the saying - "Sometimes I wake up grumpy. Sometimes I let her sleep"? I get that a lot blush.gif ).

Drawing food sounds like a great idea. P & H love playing shops. I find it really boring, lucky they have each other hehe. They drew "self portraits" at day care today. They had to look at themselves in a mirror and then draw themselves, very cool.

Gosh, poor Solomon sad.gif . Don't worry, he'll get his revenge later when he can be a total PITA little brother to them. I don't know if you have a little brother, but mine was like that! He's cool now though (lucky for him wink.gif)

Jen...GO STUDY

Not much to report here. Still job hunting, although things have improved slightly at work. Still don't pay me enough though!

The girls are good. Slightly deranged though I think wacko.gif . I picked them up from day care at 5.45pm and without a word of a lie they both talked continuously (and simultaneously) until 8pm when they finally dropped off to sleep. I thought my ears were going to explode!

Hm, was going to do some ironing tonight...probably go and surf the rest of EB instead...night!
BusyB
Jen~ How's the study going?? Don't worry about missing the girl's birthday, their own Aunty forgot. She happened to ring in the morning, but didn't say a word about their birthday so I know she forgot.

Nicolie~ I know what you mean about your ears exploding LOL. Mine compete to tell me stuff & try & talk over one another all the time. They also tell the other to be quiet n/c it's THEIR turn. I do have a younger brother LOL & I use to be mean to him & then when he was big enough he was meaner back to me original.gif

We have started the day in a crappy way. Both Kateleigh & Danika woke at 5am despite being really tried, so now I have 2 feral's. I've escaped to EB for a few min's. They WILL be having a sleep today!

Kim~ How are you?

Ok I had better go & put some washing on hohum.
Crazymum2Crazykids
Belinda I am doing much better, I have a g.f here at the moment from Tamworth, I totally forgot she was coming LOL ph34r.gif But I am glad she is here.
I dont feel so down and depressed as much these days, I have had the coil taken out and feel so much better for it. The girls are doing well and not driving me mad as much. I know what you mean about early mornings, my girls get up anywhere from 5.30 am to 6 am, they slept in the other day till 6.40 am! Courtney isnt an early riser she gets up at 8 am or later!

It was DH's birthday yesterday and I took him out for a suprise lunch to meet his family he knew something was going on but wasnt quite sure, so it was great, our neighbour looked after the kids while we had lunch, DH went out the back and when he came back in there were no kids here,! laughing2.gif He was like where are the kids, I said gone, he said gone where, I said dont worry they are safe time to go! It was a total suprise for him but he totally enjoyed it! The kids went to the inlaws for the first time ever over night by themselves while DH and I went out for his work dinner, they stayed all night and totally enjoyed it, Granny and Poppy seemed to enjoy them too.

It is getting warm here, I will have to get DH to clean the pool so we can use it!
nakigirl
I'm here - just too slack to post.

Kim - glad to hear you're doing better. The lunch out sounds good.

We had a lovely day today - sunny and warm. Had our first barbecue. We ate with the girls (which I confess we don't often do due to work etc). They tried food they wouldn't normally try (although I sit with them while they eat it's not the same as Mum and Dad eating with them) - even a bite of asparagus! We agreed we need to make more of an effort in the weekend for us to eat early with them.

Hope everyone else is doing well. Sorry for the short post and lack of personals.
*CalamityJane*
Hi all!

Kim, you sound so much more cheerful - that's great original.gif original.gif .

Maree, we are finally having a bit of warm weather here too. I'm seriously considering a BBQ for tea (but then I'd have to clean the BBQ, so perhaps not...).

Just got a call from the language study the girls are involved in and they have their speech assessment booked for November. Unfortunately I don't get the full results of the assessment, but they have promised me feedback and to let me know if there is anything to be concerned about. The assessment goes for 6 HOURS ohmy.gif (2 x 3 hour sessions each). And I can't observe cry1.gif. They've said I can leave them there and go shopping if I like, but I think I'll just take a good book and wait. They'll also be having a zygosity test, so we will finally know for sure whether they are ID or fraternal original.gif.

Anyone else have nudist children??? My 2 have set up a "beach" in the lounge room with towels and umbrellas and stripped off - AGAIN!! Nearly every day for the last 2 weeks they have spent a good part of the day naked wacko.gif. I let them go for it, but they have to be dressed in time for dinner LOL.

Just a quickie today. I have chocolate cupcakes to bake for playgroup (that's if they make it to playgroup...mmmm).

How is everyone? Updates please!
~Catherine~
Hi all I am around too, but like Jen have study to do. I have 30 more days of Uni left for this semester yay. I have 1 more assignment to do and 2 exams.

We are all good here and enjoying the warmer weather here in WA. I am off to Rottnest this weekend for a girly weekend, can wait.

Ok better go, my assignment is waiting.
*CalamityJane*
Hm, yes I remember studying...glad it's you and not me girls. Don't think I could do it these days! Good luck with the rest of the assignments and exams girls original.gif. Oh, and Catherine wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif the new sig! What a great photo!

I just came in to say...aaaaaarrrrrrrggggggh! That's the sound of exasperation BTW. I love my kids to bits, really I do and I know that they are great kids. Compared to some of the stories I have heard from others they are little angels really. But...O.M.G 4 years old is haaaaard. I need earplugs and wine on permanent standby. wacko.gif wacko.gif And today was their day care day so I only saw them for a couple of hours! I really feel like a terrible Mummy tonight sad.gif.

Oh well, tomorrow is another day!
Crazymum2Crazykids
Hey everyone,

I know what everyone means about arrrggg with the kids! sometimes I just want them to go away, but other times I am so glad to have them, The girls turn 4 in January and Kasie is getting and attitude I tell ya! dev (6).gif That girl thinks she knows it all and it has to be here way! Grrrr glare.gif

But anyway nothing much to report here really, I have had a chance to meet Rach seeing she is living down this end of the world.

I hope everyone is well.
Crazymum2Crazykids
I know I am talking to myself.... everyone seems to have a life but me grin.gif

DH has won NSW Champion Brewer! Totally cool! biggrin.gif
*CalamityJane*
Congrats to your DH Kim! Mmmm...beer...

Hannah has had a big sleep in this morning. Not quite used to the time changeover yet. She was annoyed because she missed The Upside Down Show LOL.

Feeling a bit less terrible today. Had a very slack day yesterday (hungover from a girls' night the night before blush.gif) and DH did everything. Mind you, I think the girls watched Dora about 5 times ph34r.gif.
Crazymum2Crazykids
Nicole Your DH sounds like mine, puts Dora or Hi 5 on to keep them happy, or sherk 1,2 or 3.

Hang overs.... I havent had one in years! I seem to drink and then know when to stop!
~Catherine~
Nicolie I agree with 4yr olds. I have always said that my oldest at 4yrs old is far worst then having 2 at terrible twos age. Its more the attitude I think.
nakigirl

We slipped off the first page so a very quick post from me as I'm frantically trying to pack to fly to Brisbane tomorrow for our week on the Sunshine Coast. Very excited now - except for the 4.00am start to catch our flight at 6.25am!!! Yuck.

Belinda - I remember you posting that you were a couple of hours from the Sunshine Coast and I meant to PM you but have been so slack at posting etc...forgive me?! Please?

Hope everyone else is going well. I see from the "General" boards that there's been a bit of drama here in the last few days - very different from the Twins, Triplets etc board, isn't it?

Take care and I'll be back to report on our holiday soon.

BusyB
Sorry I have been MIA. I am just so busy & find it hard to keep up with everything. Solomon has been very sick this last week. We have had 2 trips to the hospital & 2 to the DR. He's had a very bad case of tonsillitis. Kateleigh has it too, so she's home today too. Our DR is referring us to see an ENT. She thinks both Solomon & Kateleigh need tonsils out! Danika had it done in Jan & was the BEST thing we did. She is hardly ever sick.

My niece was born Monday almost 2 weeks ago at 27 weeks. As yet I have not seen her sad.gif. They live 3hrs from here & with the kids being sick it hasn't been possible to visit. She is doing amazing well. She weighs 858 grams & seeing her photos has bought back a lot of memories for me. The girls are fascinated & have watched their own baby movies. Danika even drew herself LOL & did a pretty good job.

Both girls are doing my head in! Another reason I haven't posted is that I don't have a lot of nice things to say about them blush.gif. Between the fighting & whinging there isn't a lot to tell. They fight NON-STOP some days over every conceivable thing! They hit & yell & hurt each other & they can be so rude to me.

Half the problem is that need stimulation. They are more than ready for prep next year. I think they have outgrown childcare too. I am at a loss with what to do with at times. I have started encouraging them to learn how to write their names etc, but most of the time they are not interested in that. I'm sure if it were someone else, they would be in like flynn.

Their drawings have become really detailed though & I love that. They are also good at tell stories. Both still ask a million questions a day & most of them I can't answer, which really annoys them.

DH has been working mega hours again. He has been renovating our shop. So starting well before 7am. Comes home for dinner, then heads back to work till 10-11pm. Add in that 2 kids have been pretty sick.

I sound like such a whinger! Sorry girls. Really the girls are GREAT, but 2 just 5 yrs olds get full on. It seems they are ready for more challenges than on offer atm. Ready for school, outgrown playgroup & childcare. I can't spend half my day providing things for them to do. I have another child & a house to keep organised etc.

Are any of you having the same issues?

Ok I had better wind it up there! Maree I am north of the Sunshine coast.

Belinda
*CalamityJane*
Hey girls

I am home sick from work today and bored senseless, but not capable of doing anything cry1.gif . I rarely go to the dr, but I ended up there yesterday and got a telling off for (a) not getting there sooner and (b) being out of bed at all blush.gif.

Wow BB, 27 weeks, that's early. Glad she is doing well and hope you get to see her soon. I know what you need about your girls needing stimulation, mine certainly are ready for kindy.

Hope you have a great holiday Maree original.gif.

Not much happening here apart from my feeling sorry for myself. Poor DH is doing everything ATM and I hate it sad.gif. The Red Bull Air Race is in town this weekend and the girls are really excited about going. I can't believe they actually remember going last year! Looks like I won't be able to go, but DH reckons he will brave it (fool dev (6).gif ).
TopEndCrew

We well and truly slipped down the page so thought i'd better bump it up a bit!

Not much going on here.. DH is home at the moment and goes back to Canberra on Sunday for yet another week away. Oh joy.

APart from that just preparing for Christmas. I have a few laybys to get out (including our new chrsitmas tree) but that is about it! wink.gif I am getting excited cause i love Christmas.

Better go and try to get these kids into their PJ's.
*CalamityJane*
Glad you bumped us up Rach! I was going to, but I had nothing to say LOL.

Not much going on here. We have had a shocking run with illness in this house - mostly me glare.gif, then DH with a cold and Paige with conjunctivitis. Even the DOG ended up with conjunctivitis! Add to that the dishwasher, pool pump and air conditioner all packing it in with 2 weeks of each other and it's been a pretty miserable time around here!

I was supposed to take the girls to their speech assessment for the study they are involved in this morning and I FORGOT blush.gif . Luckily the speechie was very understanding when she called to ask where I was. Helped that I coughed and spluttered the whole way through the conversation LOL. Either she felt sorry for me, or she was glad I didn't make it so she didn't catch anything!

OMG what a depressing post - sorry! Trying very hard to pull myself out of this funk and get excited about Christmas original.gif .
Crazymum2Crazykids
I am here, just getting over a week with 4 sick kids. Thank god they are all better now.

Nicolie Sounds like a horrid few weeks! My god even the poor dog was sick. I hope you are all better soon!

BusyB Sounds like you are having a horrid time! My Cousin in law has had a baby 3 months early 7 weeks ago, he is so tiny, I got to see him on Sunday as I only found out on Saturday at my Aunty in laws 60th, nice to kept in the loop hole! I hope your niece is improving.

Anyway I am off. Hope everyone is well.
*CalamityJane*

Thought I should drag us off page 2 tongue.gif!

Plus, I wanted to have a little brag...My girls were on the telly tonight!! wub.gif It was for all of about 2 secs, but they were there LOL. It was the P&DMBA Christmas Picnic today and the news crews showed up. The girls had just been given their presents from Santa, and the cameraman asked if he could film them ripping them open. The girls were so excited - they've watched it about 20 times already laughing2.gif.

Hope everyone is well! Nighty night!
nakigirl
How exciting for your girls, Nicolie - my two would have been over the moon!! Not much news here and I'm sneaking a quick peek at work so best hurry off but will post again soon (I promise!!).
cromie2
Hi everyone, I haven't posted for ages, but we have just passed another milestone, my angel/terrors are now 3!!
We have had a steady influx of visitors and the toy situation has really gotten out of control, I am absolutely dreading Christmas!
I can't pack toys away as they still play with everything, even my 5yold still likes playing with the baby activity stuff.
I do pack some things up but I really do need to be more ruthless. The birthday has just added a car garage, two guitars, two bikes, 20 little cars, two animal beanbags, safari bob and Jane, their cars and their animals, more Thomas, more fisherprice, more palydoh, more books. I can start my own daycare at this rate.
The biggest problem is that there are two aunts without any little kids and they just can't help themselves, as well as the grandparents, not to mention the great grandparents, once those grandparents become great they certainly can't help themselves.
DH and I are so jealous of our kids, they have so many things that we would have loved to have when we were little and they don't have any sense of the fortunate position they are in.
Oh well, I will cull the toys, I will cull the toys, I will cull the toy, I will cull the toys.
(but it will have to be when no one is around to complain, that's my favourite, I love that teddy)
mumofterrortwins
Hi guys, I'm Corinda( mumofterrortwins)

Hope you don't mind me joining in this thread. For some reason I've never been up here before tonight. Spend most of my time in Misc. Venting, WDYT and Hot specials(always out for a bargain when buying for 2 at the same time)

I have identical twin girls Skye and Alyssa, they are 4 years old and Soooooooo ready for kinder next year. They are driving me bonkers at the moment.

Will check back in again a bit later.
*CalamityJane*
Welcome Corinda original.gif . My DDs are 4 as well and definitely ready for kindy too! We get a bit slack with the posting around here sometimes, so please excuse any long breaks in conversation LOL.

Good to see you back Beth! I hear you on the toys. I spent ages tidying up the play room today and it's nearly as bad as when I started! The kids have agreed to donate some of the toys they no longer play with to kids with no toys, but that means sorting through them all and I'm not up to that just yet LOL.

The girls are off for a speech assessment tomorrow as part of the language study they are involved in. They are veeery nervous about it as they will be assessed seperately and I'm not allowed to be in the room sad.gif . DOn't know how they'll go TBH - they can be really shy and clam up around new people.

They'll also be getting their zygosity test, so we'll finally be able to answer the old "are they ID?" chestnut with absolute certainty. Could be a few months until the results are in apparently - I'm sure the suspense will kill me! Not that it really matters in the scheme of things, but I'm very curious to see if they got it right when I was pregnant. My opinion on whether or not they are ID changes from day to day too, so I'd like to know the answer. I REALLY hope they are ID, because if they are frat that will definitely kill all future baby plans for DH for good laughing2.gif.

Hope everyone is well! I take it you are studying hard Jen - haven't seen you around anywhere for aaaages.
~melinda~
Hello everyone well sadly we belong here now not cause we don't think you are all lovely ladies but my babies are no longer babies they are turning two tomorrow sad.gif Where oh where are those little babies that i could easily hold in my arms. I will pop on in a couple of days with pics from their bday party take care everyone and looking forward to getting to know you all.

Thought i would share this with you lovely ladies biggrin.gif
~melinda~
I promised pics but ooops that was days ago even over a week ago naughty me. Time just goes too fast. Anyway here are some pics i hope you enjoy.

[img]http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d40/melly73/100_4338.jpg[/img]

[img]http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d40/melly73/100_4336.jpg[/img]

[img]http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d40/melly73/100_4296.jpg[/img]

[img]http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d40/melly73/100_4232.jpg[/img]

[img]http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d40/melly73/100_4223.jpg[/img]

[img]http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d40/melly73/100_4212.jpg[/img]

Hope you enjoy
nakigirl
Bump!

Unless I missed a new thread, I think we were on page 5 - we've obviously all been busy with Christmas. I imagine we've all been holidaying in the sun, sleeping in, reading lots of books, drinking lots of wine....oh, silly me, for a minute there I forgot we all have multiples!!

We've had a great Christmas. Spent 2 weeks with my sister and her family and assorted other relatives. 4 year olds are SOOOOO into Christmas, it was our best one yet. Haven't downloaded any photos yet. What I learned from this Christmas:

1. If you spend $ on a train set, duplo etc, your children will tell everyone that their favourite present was post it notes and sellotape - note to self, next year only stationery for Christmas for my two.

2. Two 4 year olds can dance like lunatics and then forget the words to "Away in a Manger" but if they're cute, they'll steal the show at the family Christmas concert.

3. If one child sleeps in until 11am (11AM!!!!) after being up until 10.30, the other will still wake at 7 and want to watch Dora.

4. Following on from no 3, once you've bribed your children with stickers to stay in bed until the "7" is on the clock, you can change the clock so they think it's 7 when it's really 8!! Mean, but keeps them in bed a bit longer when they're up partying with the teenage cousins until 10pm.

5. Flying for one hour with twin 4 year olds while Daddy drives the "sleigh" beats driving 400km with "are we there yet?" x 1000 from the back seat. Second note to self - next year fly both ways.

6. Christmas is 100 times better when you have excited children to share it with!

Hope you've all had happy Christmas holidays and that the New Year has started well. I can't believe my two will start school this year (on 1 August)!!
*CalamityJane*
cclap.gif Goodonya for bumping us Maree! Maybe you should knock our heads together instead LOL. Love your list BTW.

A very belated welcome Melinda. As you can see, we are VERY slack ph34r.gif .

OK, update from us (I'll TRY to be brief - not my forte):

1. Very, very busy Christmas. VERY hot too. 44C on Boxing Day! We gave the girls a swing set - which they couldn't use for a week because it was TOO hot outside.

2. ILs stayed over Christmas for a week. The girls were devastated when they left.

3. I've applied for another job and have an interview next week (yay me!).

4. I've been on hols from work, go back next week. First part of the hols was great. DH and I renovated the girls' playroom (there's pics in the de-cluttering thread in The Motivation Station). We're very proud of our work!

5. This week has sucked quite a bit with one of my dogs being very sick in hospital (got home today but not out of the woods yet), and the other suffering severe seperation anxiety meaning I was pretty much chained to the house with bored children. The dog who was sick is not allowed outside unsupervised for a week, so looks like I will have the kids AND the dogs in day care when I go back to work next week.

6. DDs are wonderful, hilarious and frustrating all at the same time. wink.gif

7. The girls start kindy 2 days/week on 4 Feb and are nervously excited IYKWIM.

8. DH has to go to Sydney for work at the end of Feb, and I am going to try and swing some hols (from current or new job tongue.gif ) so we can take the whole family over for a week with the ILs.

That's us in a nutshell. Pretty boring really!

NEXT!
Crazymum2Crazykids
We have just revived the girls 4th birthday. They had a great day and a wonderful party. It is the first time they have had a party since they were 1. I will post some photo's later.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.