The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: Multiples aged 1 - 2 # 10

Essential Baby > Babies > Twins, Triplets, Quads and More
Nee
New thread time.

Link to last thread
Butterscotch
I KNEW there was a good reason for me waking between 4 and 5am every day because I feel sick! It means I get first place biggrin.gif laughing2.gif

Shannon - Have been thinking of you lots, I hope DH is well and truly on the mend now? Please update us when you're up to it.

Marcia - I am not travelling so well TBH sad.gif SICK. Morning sickness SUCKS SUCKS SUCKS!! I've been pretty miserable about it actually. I honestly thought that with a singleton I'd get away with fairly normal morning sickness. I also thought that perhaps it would end after the 1st trimester. But I am 12 weeks on Tuesday and it's actually gotten WORSE the last couple of weeks, so I can't see it suddenly getting better now cry1.gif sad.gif I'm taking zofran, which is a hard core treatment for severe morning sickness (or hyperemesis gravidum) and I'm still throwing up at least once, but usually 2 or 3 times a day. And just to add insult to injury the meds make me REALLY constipated! huh.gif Then. I've had a head cold the last few days. Am a lot better with that now, but Wed night, Thurs and Friday were hideous. Also. DH has been really sick again (Dr thought he had glandular fever ohmy.gif it's taken a week but he's just starting to improve now). And then DH's grandmother died on Thursday. It's all fun.... NOT! However. Emily and Kaitlyn are just fine, not sick at all, thankfully! They're just being very typically busy 22mth olds.
And. Olivia, Joshua and Jasmine are going to be TWO in a few weeks ohmy.gif Oh my Lordy! TWO?? WOWWWW!! The trikes look awesome. We've got some eurotrikes, and are trying to decide if we should give them to them for their birthday or Christmas.

I hope everyone else is well laugh.gif
ChampersGal
Thanks for everyones kind thoughts and support. I really appreciate it.

So an update from me. Ok Duncan came out of his coma last Sunday which was great and was moved out of ICU and onto the nuro ward. He has been getting a little better everyday. There is still a significant bruise on his brain and there is still swelling. He knows us and all the information is in there, he is just confused. He still doesn't realise the extent of his injury or that he has been in hospital for nearly two weeks. The Dr's say its all looking really positive and he is recovering much faster than they expected. We are waiting for a bed in the Brisbane Brain Specialist Rehab Centre and once he is in there will undergo intenstive therapy. They think he will make a full recovery but it will take time, possible up to 6 months in total.
The kids and I are staying with my parents as its easier for me to be able to come and go to the hospital when I need to.
Once again thanks for your support
Shannon
lilymurray
Shannon, that is fantastic news to hear that you DH will make a full recovery. I bet you are releived. Fingers crossed for you that things continue to improve quickly & make sure you take care of yourself.

I am glad you used those photos to get a sig made. Those photos are gorgeous & that sig also is gorgeous.

Heather, Sorry to hear that your MS is the same as with your previous pg. I have really had my fingers crossed for you that it would be easier on you this time around.

FWIW, I had terrible MS, vomiting at least twice a day up until 14 weeks with my 3. My friend also had the same as me & ended up being hospitalised from dehydration due to her severe MS......She too was lucky enough for the MS to mysteriously dissappear right on 14 weeks so fingers crossed that the same thing happens for you because honestly I think if there is a magic week for it to dissappear I think its 14 & not 12.

Heather, love your new sig too.

Hmmmmm, I wonder if it is time for me to update my sig too. ffear.gif

Hi to everyone else.
Butterscotch
Shannon - That really is great news about your DH. Though I'm sure still a lot of hard work, physically and emotionally on your part till he is home and fully functional again. Thank goodness you've got your parents for support, must make things a lot easier. I pray he continues to recover at the "better than expected" speed that he's going so he's home and 100% really soon.

Marcia - I was sick the whole way through my pregnancy with E and K. I have a really bad feeling it'll be the same this time sad.gif
And I think you DO need a new sig! A fun birthday signature perhaps? Best pick out some photos and head on over to the Signature Tips & Qs forum for someone to make you one wink.gif
lilymurray
Heather - I have been on a quest for a decent photo for over a year now & no such luck so you don't hold your breath for a new sig tongue.gif I think its almost impossible to get 1 photo with all 3 looking the same way wacko.gif
Butterscotch
Well Marcia, I know how impossible it is with 2, so 3 is beyond my comprehension!! Perhaps someone could do something tricky with 3 separate photos, or if you happen to have a photo where 2 look OK, and the 3rd looks good in another photo taken at the same time, maybe someone could do some good photoshoping to sort it out? Could be a good challenge for someone!
ThreeBananas

I just wanted to come in and say BYE!! cry1.gif

Ben and Max turned 2 yesterday- I can't believe it- my little babies are growing up- they even have learnt how to blow out candles! ohmy.gif We just had two little family 'parties' which were really nice and not too stressful and it was great this year as the boys had more of an idea of what was going on- absolutely loved us singing happy birthday and the cakes/candles thing (we had to sing it 4 times wacko.gif ) And now every so often Max breaks into a rendition of "Ha bir-day TO YOU... Ha bir-day TO YOU" so cute wub.gif

Anyone looking for present ideas for 2 year olds, I HAVE to reccommend: Play Kitchen! We gave the boys one and some plastic food and pots and pans and stuff and they LOVE it! They are so cute, all day long we have had "egg toast... READY!!...pancake...READY!!" The kitchen also came with an ironing board and iron which they looked at with no recognition (never seen one in this house before blush.gif ) and it has had no interest shown to it thus far! (much like mine wink.gif )

On the other end of the scale can I just NOT reccommend what my lovely sisters gave them- a full band set! ohmy.gif ie keyboard, guitar, MICROPHONE and wait for it.....DRUMS with CYMBALS!!! blink.gif ohmy.gif Just wait until they both have children is all I can say!

Shannon- I am soooo glad to hear your DH will make a full recovery- that is absolutely fantastic. You still must be having such a stressful time with it all- I am thinking of you and hoping his recovery is really speedy.

Heather- I was really hoping for you not to get the dreaded crazy morning sickness again this time! How on earth do you manage to change the particularly pungent nappies? sick.gif I really hope 14 weeks is the magic number for you this time as Marcia says.

Marcia- Sorry about the weaning of the SJW not going too well- I think you are doing fantasticly and if you need it, take it! Gosh these terrible twos are bloody hard and I honestly don't envy you with a third 2 year old little devil darling to deal with! You have my utmost admiration.

Hi to Levity, Lotta, Mel and all you other wonderful mums and thankyou to all of you in this group for your wisdom, sanity-saving and laughs biggrin.gif Look forward to catching up with you all in the 2+ group.

Em
lilymurray
Hi All

Just me again.

Just thought I'd give you an update on Josh's latest achievements..............He can open doors cry1.gif damn it! I though I had lost him & then he turned in the study sitting at his daddy's desk doing "Work". It was pretty funny at the time but now we are rushing around the house putting locks on the laundry cupboards & medicine cabinets to keep them out. As for the girls they are still too short to reach the knob so I am safe for a while, but I doubt for long.

Another delightful thing that I have been teaching them is to clean up after themselves. THey have learned to put things in the bin & the keep cleaning up till its all in the bin. Its all very cute. I'll have to try & get a video on the camera phone of their cleaning up habits laughing2.gif wub.gif

Having shared all the delightful moments, they have also been trying. I can barely leave them for 1 minute & they start belting each other up. Its driving me nuts & I ended up locking them in the rumpus yesterday just so I could hang the washing on the line & by the time I got back they were covered in bruises & scratches. Does anyone else find their multiples so incredibly demanding that they can't be left for a minute even.

Em - Happy birthday to your boys. Did you have photos of the parties. I know this sounds really bad but I am not sure I can be bothered this year. I might do a small GTG but nothing like last yr. I might save the big one for next yr as they will be old enough to get excited about 3.
ChampersGal
Just dropping in with a quick update. I needed to bump this up back to the first page. You girls need to chat more!!!!!

DH is still in hospital but he is doing really well. We are still waiting for a bed at the Brain Rehab until but he is at the highest priority so it hopefully won't be too much longer. He is much like himself but has some deficits in his cognitive thinking, problem solving etc and this is what they will work on in rehab.

We are still staying with my parents just as its easier with the kids as i have gone back to work three days a week and really need their help getting kids to daycare etc as well as needed someone to watch the kids when I go into the hospital at night. Its extremely tiring but we are coping. original.gif

Hope everyone else is well.
Shannon
~melinda~
WOW that is wonderful news that your hubby is doing better Shannon... I love you sig btw very pretty biggrin.gif
Butterscotch
That's GREAT news Shannon! Be sure to take care of yourself also. Thinking of you heaps.
~melinda~
Just a quick hi everyone? How r we all doing? I guess you are all as busy as me lol biggrin.gif
punkyno9
Hello Ladies

Wow I didnt realise its been so long since I posted. We have been struck down for two months now with colds/flu ear infections ,toncil litius(spl?), conjunctivitus and to top it all off teething blink.gif with molers coming through. It seems I also have had one cold after another this week Ive had three days off work and the doctor wants me to take the rest off.
Well the boys have settled in really well to there new carer we are now doing family day care instead of a centre. Its fantastic they are so excited to see the lady and dont want to leave when I pick them up unsure.gif Sad for me a little but great that they are so happy.
They are staring to say words like hello dog ball. Its really cute . What is not so cute is the laughing when I tell them off. And the total ignoring me. Its wearing thin I can tell you.
I really need to update my sig I may look into the sig part to see if someone will do one for me. Anyway must go to bed now head is pounding.
Shannon - so glad to read about your DH on the improve.

Paula
Butterscotch
Oh Melinda. Look at all your gorgeous children biggrin.gif I didn't realise you have a Kaitlyn (albeit different spelling) and Emily too!

punkyno9 - Sick. Yes. I can totally relate to that! That's the trouble when kids start going to care....

Marcia - How's the birthday planning going? Forgive me, I can't remember the exact date in August that your trio turn 2!

Us - Emily is having grommets in and adenoids removed Monday week (20th Aug). CAN. NOT. WAIT. But also can wait... not keen on an op at all, but am very keen to be rid of constant ear infections, and am very keen for poor Emily to be able to breath through her nose, and for her to be able to sleep without working so hard to breath!
I'm still sick. Over it. Not fair. Feeling quite ripped off sad.gif
Other than that. We're all pretty good! Just marching along...
lilymurray
Hi All

Just thought I'd pop in here & say our goodbye's given my 3 turn two on Sunday.

We aren't having a big party this year, but I am still making two cakes (one for daycare & the other for Playgroup) so it should be fun.

Not much else to tell really. The kids & myself were a bit sick a few weeks back but now they are all well again & eating me out of house & home to make up for it. wacko.gif

Heather - How are you feeling. I see from your ticker that you are 15 weeks already! Where has the time gone! I hope you are feeling better already.

Paula - I hope your little guys are feeling much better. It sounds like you've had a rough few months.

Hello to everyone else & goodbye, I will see alot of you soon in the next group.
ChampersGal
Just popping in. DH is at the brain rehab centre and is coming home this weekend for weekend leave. They think he will probbaly only need another two weeks of rehab and then be home for good. He probably still won't be able to work for awhile but at least we can get some sort of normality back into our lives.
the kids are all doing well. The girls are alot more clingy atm. I think its because they see less of me so when I am there there they both cling like mad. They have discovered the word "mine", rolleyes.gif , so now they fight over everything from dummies to toys. All you hear is them screeching "MINE, MINE,MINE!!! at eachother. laugh.gif

Seems everyone been sick lately. I hope everyone's starting to feel a little better.

Bye Lilymurray. Thank you for all you wonderful suppport. It will be a little while before I see you in the next group but will hopefully still see you around this forum. biggrin.gif
Butters I hope it all goes well for Emily on the 20th and hope you feel better soon.
Paula Im sorry you have been so unwell. Hopefully you are feeling better. "Hello dog ball" laugh.gif Thats cute.
Hi Melinda, good to see you. You are right about everyone being so busy, we all really need to make more time to chat laugh.gif Thanks about the sig. I like it too.

Have a great day girls
XX
Shannon
~melinda~
Paula, Sorry to hear that about the sickness its everyone atm not good at all...

Thank you Heather yes when you named your girls Kaitlyn and Emily i smiled.. My friend just had her baby today and she named her Jordyn Emily Kate original.gif i have another friend who resently had a son and she named him Dominic Jayme i think thats how you spell his middle name.. MY Dominic is Dominic Jamie lol...

Hi Marcia, Wow your bubs are already so big wow where has the time gone.. See you in the 2 plus in OMG 4mth...

Shannon My prob not only being busy with two very active toddlers but i have another forum i go to that is a local one and have been on it way too much naughty me... But has been great to meet lovely ladies in my area... original.gif
~melinda~
Hey Naomi, welcome to this thread... It's a very quiet one... Gee i wonder why lol toddler twins and all... So sorry i didn't get to catch up with you while i was in bris... It was very overwhelming and a very busy time... I should have taken more time before going back....
~melinda~
Just really on to say happy fathers day to all the dads biggrin.gif and a even bigger one to the Multiple dads biggrin.gif

punkyno9
hello all
we seem finally over most of the colds here yhank god!!! Kayden may have to have gromits but we will just wait and see. I have been working heaps of hours - very short staffed at work. Its hard but I keep telling myself it will be worth it. We are trying to save for a holiday in November. My goodness I need that.
I have been really clucky latley. I think we better defrost some embryos soon and give them a go!

Just got my tax checque VERY happy about that!!! Now I can get the leaky roof fixed. I dont quite understand the family allowance thing but I greatfully accept all funds given too me.

Just wondering does anyone know about how old the kids drop to one sleep a day? Mine are still happily having two but only about an hour each at the moment. I was wondering if I drag them out to one sleep would that be better. I would love some advice.

Better go and shower before they wake up. Happy friday everybody!!!!!!
~melinda~
Punky, i think all kids are different but normally by this age they are starting to... My two have been only having one sleep at day for ages they even go some days with non...

OMG Marcia your babies are no longer babies where on earth has the time gone. I can't believe they are already 2.... I hope they had a wonderful bday congrats on making the first 2 years sanely biggrin.gif
ChampersGal
Just wanted to let you know I'll hopefully be around abit more now. DH is getting back to himself and is currently doing some outpatients therapy at our local hospital. Its so great having him home biggrin.gif , although secretly having him home all day can drive me a little nuts. laughing2.gif
Thanks so much for everyones support and kind thoughts.
Looking forward to catching up.
Shannon
KLT
Hi Everyone,

Well it certainly has been quiet in here. I haven't been in here for such a long time also.

We are doing well. Zara and Lia are about to turn 2 so we will be moving up soon. We are going down to the Gold Coast in a couple of weeks and will take the girls to Dreamworld for their 2nd birthday. Have finally got them into Daycare for 1 day a week which will be great for them and not to mention for mummy laughing2.gif .

Anyway just wanted to bump us back to first page and if I don't get to visit in here again before we go away I will certainly see most of you up in the next age group. It has been lovely chatting with you all. And Happy 2nd Birthday to all our growing babies.

Take care all, Kylie
ChampersGal
Has everyone moved up to the next age group. laugh.gif
Its really quiet in here.
My girls are doing really well. I can't believe how much they talk. They have so many more words than my son had at their age. They have just moved up from the nursery room to the Junior room on their one day of daycare and they love it. biggrin.gif We have had one incident where Ava got bitten by one of the older kids. Apparently there was no way she was giving up the toy she had, regardless how far this kid sunk the teeth in so it was quite deep. sad.gif Dh was extremely p*ssed off but Ive explained to him that its normal development and its worse for the poor biters parents.
For those who remember my story, DH is home and recovering really well. He's not back at work yet and is getting frustrated but at least he's recovering. They will be looking to a graded return to work soon.
I hope everyones kids are well.
Shannon
original.gif
~melinda~
Yes it sure has gotten quiet on here... Why i don't come on very much anymore... My two will be in the next group next month... WOw hard to believe that in a month i have two two year olds OMG where has the year gone... That is wonderful news Shannon your hubby is doing better....
Well not much to report here my two talk sentences now Dominic is a little slower with his speech but doing really well still.. WEll i had better get these two some lunch now keeps safe everyone MEL biggrin.gif
Que Sera Sera
Hi!! I guess I qualify to be in here!! My two seem to have been born during the Great EB Twin draught!! There's a big group following behind us though!!

I'm Nicole, I have Lachlan 2.5years and the twins Ethan and Caleb who turned 1 last month. No sentences here tongue.gif but they are both crawling!! Caleb will probably be the first to walk if he can only get the courage to let go!! Ethan will be a long way behind, he's been in early intervention physio since 5 months but is getting there.

Look forward to getting to know you all and hopefull you can prepare/scare me with what's about to come!!

Take care,
Deetwinmum

I'm Deanne mum to identical boys Matthew and Ashton who will be 21 months on Monday so only a few more months before I move on to the next group. I don't get on much between work and looking after the boys but when I do I tend to lurk rather than post.

Daisy Goat congrats on making it through the first 12 months! Hope the boys had a wonderful birthday.

Deanne original.gif
phezzit
G'day girlies,

I'm another one who slots into this group. My boy/girl twins were born on the 2nd of November last year.... so we had birthday #1 last month.

My name's Jo and I live in Tassie where there's bugger-all allowances made for twins i.e. twin shopping trolleys. I live in a country town and when we walk along the main street it's like the circus has come to town and everyone wants to stop and look at us!

Look forward to helping to keep this thread closer to the first page, eh?

Jo
Kerris

We are here too. My boys Kai & Noah have just turned One (9 months corrected) on 27th November. I also have a almost 5 year old girl Briana who is getting ready to head off to school next year cry1.gif cry1.gif

Kai is the master of crawling and pulling himself up on anything and cruising along, only problem he cant get back down again. Poor Noah is soooo desperate to crawl and lets the whole street hear about it, hopefully this week he will work it out. Not sure what will be worse, him crawling under my feet or the frustrating cries that he cant crawl.

We have just survived 3 weeks of the In Laws visiting, whilst it was lovely having the extra help around the place, I was going insane. Thankfully they have headed back to Adelaide and we have a few weeks of peace before we head over there for 2 weeks

Daisy Goat - hope your boys had a great birthday and party, Ours had a great day but was very exhausting, I think we could open up a toy library with the amount of toys (mostly trucks and cars) that they received (and we still have xmas to get through yet) Will post some pici's when I get a spare moment to downlaod them all

Look forward to getting to know you all

Kerri
ChampersGal
WOOHOO we have some posters. laugh.gif

Im Shannon I live in Brisbane and have Thomas who is 4 and ID Twins Ava and Lily who are now 18 months old.
Here is a pic of my girls. I really need to update my sig. tongue.gif
I hope we can keep this group going, its been extremely quiet lately.
Miss Ava

Miss Lily

Sorry about the blur, its a mixture of a crappy camera and Lily not keeping still!!!
~melinda~
Wow cute pics

Well sadly this is good bye my babies are 2 tomorrow sad.gif i honestly don't know how. I'm sure it was only yesterday they were tiny little babies in my belly. Merry Christmas everyone i hope you all have a good one....
ChampersGal
Awwww Simone your boys are gorgeous wub.gif I love their namesd too. Looks like Jasper loves his cake!!! laughing2.gif

Sorry to see you go Melinda. I'll see you again when we graduate to the 2 year old group. original.gif
punkyno9
Hello Ladies
its been ages since I posted last. I cant belive how time flies. Well the boys are 20 months on the 18th. They really look like little boys now. Kayden refers to himself as bubba blush.gif I guess there is only me to blame for that one. When they look in the mirror they never get there name right, Jai says Kayden, Kayden says Jai or bubba!!! Its funny but Im trying to teach them the difference.

We just got back from our holiday to Thailand. Wow what a experience. Ladies if you think you are a bit of a freak show at the local shops you should try taking to fair haired, blue eye little boys to thailand.!!!! It was amazing. People would run out of shops to see "da twin". The most beautiful part was how happy they were for us and how we were constantly told how lucky we were. Not once did we get that negative - double trouble, or you have your handful, or any of those other stupid comments we get here at home. Flying was a challenge but worth the fun we had.

So they are growing to fast Jai is weighing 14kg and Kayden 13.

Its great to see some fresh posters it has been way to quite in here. I hope to get to know all your stories soon.
Happy christamas shopping all
Paula
phezzit

Here's some pikkies of my little ratties from last weekend...

Wren and Finn:

Finn's first hair cut:

Daisy goat - looks like your two had a wonderful time. My poor little poppets had gastro on their 1st birthday, so no birthday cake for them.... mummy had some though!!:secret:

Champersgal - your girls are gorgeous wub.gif

Jo
Kerris
Here are some photo's of my boys enjoying their birthday treat - a milk arrowroot bici with a tiny bit of chocolate icing, I figured there birthday was not the day to introduce some new foods

Noah went absolutely feral everytime he dropped his and he did pretty well to get nearly all in his mouth, Kai has a wonderful time playing with it rather than eating it

Kerris
Well it has been a really busy week in our house this week. Both boys have had tonsilitis and they also had their one year old injections add to that they both have teeth cutting - needless to not much sleep until last night.

On the plus side, Noah has finally worked out how to crawl, although it is a bit like groundhog day as each morning he has forgotten that he can crawl and takes him a few hours to remember. Kai now has turbo on his crawling, as soon as he sees you coming to get him he takes off even faster...

But even better than Noah crawling is finally they can both now hold their own bottles - makes life so much easier.

Not sure if anyone else uses the Trading Room, but next week they are closing it down... And I have only just started using it

Hope every one is having heaps of fun getting ready for xmas

Kerri
jojo4
Hi All, Was wondering if i could join your group.I have 13 month old boy/girl twins.I also have 2 girls 3 an 5,as we live out of town i dont get to meet many other mums with bubs.I have seperated from my partner since the babies were 5 weeks.I have been reading the previous posts and you all seem like a lovely bunch.I hope this has been done right as only joined last week.Bye for now Jo
Kerris
Hi Jo and welcome

You are certainly in the right place

I have twin boys, Kai and Noah who have just turned one and an almost 5 year old daughter Briana - we are from outer south east of Melbourne

Hope to hear lots more about your family

Kerri
Que Sera Sera
Hi Jo and welcome!! My name is Nicole and I have a 2.5year old and twin 14month olds - all boys ohmy.gif !!

Very quick post just to let you know I'm alive, albeit covered in vomit!! sick.gif I have just experienced my first twin projectile vomitting moment!! I guess when you feed them together, you have to expect it come up together!! If they had of done it to music it could have been a symphony!!

Ethan had his respiratory check up today - CLD is still causing probs so we are now going down the asthma track as well. He is actually taking ventolin from the spacer really well though so I'm so proud of him!!

Neither of the little blighters are walking yet, so I'm still lugging them around!!

Hope everyone else is well!! Kerris - I only found out about the trading room closing last night ohmy.gif So I'm off to create the biggest sale thread known to man!! I had planned to off load my entire life here!!
Kerris
Jo - I think everyone is going to be doing the same - such a shame that it is closing down - thankfully I got on a few weeks ago and started selling a heap of things, but this afternoon I have been adding more

My Kai has Asthma as well - and loves to use the spacer, thinks its very funny - hope it all works out for Ethan

Kerri
Que Sera Sera
Hi Kerri, is Kai using a Size 2 silicone mask?? The newborn size is too narrow for Ethan, but the size 2 goes across his eyes when we place the bottom part on his chin?? Ethan just likes to hear the valve working!! BTW - My SIL has twins as well and her little boy is Noah, makes me smile when I see yours!!
Kerris
I am not sure of the size (have thrown out the box) but he has a very small head so I think it would be the newborn size, if it was for Noah then I think it would probably be too small. He is currently only on Flixotide Jnr except when he starts getting wheezy - then he has ventolin and Atrovent. Has not had to use a nebuliser yet but almost

Noah was my favorite boys name - although I think my husband could have named them anything and I would have agreed as I was that drugged up on morphine and grateful that they were OK considering their dramatic arrival
Que Sera Sera
LOL - Kerry, SIL's twins were also a dramatic micro-prem arrival and it was because of that, that her DH "let" her name him Noah!! Apparently morphine helps SIL with her courage!!

We haven't done nebulisers before neither, we usually end up in hospital on O2 pretty quick, Ethan seems to drop to 74% very quickly.
ChampersGal
Hi Jo and welcome. biggrin.gif My name is Shannon and I have Thomas who is four and Twin girls Ava and Lily who are 18 months old.

Kerri, it sounds like you've had a tough week. Im glad the boys are starting to feel better and you are getting some sleep. Yay for Noah's crawling efforts and isn't it fabulous once they hold their own bottles. wub.gif

LOL Nicole, twin projectile vomitting. Thank God, I haven't expereinced that yet. I hope the ventolin works for Ethan. My girls were about 15 months when they first walked, I think. Its hard to remember even a few months ago. I thought it would be so much easier once they were walking and in a lot of ways it is. Except for the part when they run off in opposite directions at playgroup or at the park. I spend all my time chasing after them when I should be chatting. laugh.gif

Shannon
phezzit

Hi Jo, another Jo here!

Kerri - congrats on Noah crawling.... now the two of them can/will get into anything not clamped down or locked up!! My two have "helped" mummy do a lot of spring cleaning lately rolleyes.gif

Oh Gawd Nicole, twin vomiting is not fun is it? My two haven't managed to do it simultaneously yet, but they has gastro for their 1st birthday and that was enough for me... carpet's never been the same since!

Well, I'm both excited and frightened.... Finn took 3 steps all by himself tonight! It's all very exciting to see, but terrifying in that he'll be one step behind me before I know it and I'll have a devil of a time trying to get out the front door without him! Silly bugger realised that he was walking unaided and promptly sat down.

On the positive side, once they can both walk it'll mean one trip out to the damn car instead of three whenever we go somewhere!! tongue.gif

Jo
Kerris

Hope everyone has a great Christmas. We are driving to Adelaide on Friday - will be interesting to see how the boys go with a 10 hour drive.... hopefully everyone will be over there coughs and colds before we go.

Kai's asthma has again been playing up again which almost saw him hospitalised but seems to be under control again. The poor thing is so rattly in the chest - hopefully we wont have too many problems when we are away, really dont want to be sitting in hospital waiting rooms...

Noah has certainly got the hang of crawling, especially if he can see a cord, he heads straight for it and pull on them...

Nicole - hope the boys are over the vomiting. How did you go with selling stuff in the Trading room. I got some clothes sold but was really hoping to sell a heap of the baby stuff like rockers but did not get a chance to list them. Am hoping that the trading room will come back in a usable way next year

Go Finn - hope he is walking more. I think walking is much easier than walking (well it was with DD). Cant wait until we can walk into kinda/school without having to get the pram out - although knowing my two they will be getting into mischief so they will be strapped into the pram for as long as possible

Hope everyone enjoys their Christmas

Kerri
Kerris

Have been thinking about trying to post on here but have been so busy lately, thankfully all 3 are asleep. I am sure that wont last long...

Hope everyone had a great christmas, we really enjoyed our holiday to Adelaide - will have to post some photo's soon

Kai's asthma has been pretty bad over Christmas, twice they almost hospitalised him, but as he was still drinking and eating more than half his food, Dr did not want to. He is now up to 3 puffs of ventolin, 2 of atrovent and 2 flixitide. They tried him on some other steroid when he was really bad (redipred I think) but it had no affect. I think at the moment the key is going to be trying to keep him from getting a cold/flu, that is his trigger. The big bonus at the moment is that he loves to take his puffer, how long this will last though... Noah gets so grumpy that he does not get a turn. Am really hoping that Noah does not develop it as well, as he has been really wheezy with his last cold and his GP is getting concerned that he may be. It costs so much already getting everyone's antibiotics all the time when they are sick. However I have learnt something from my Accountant brother, to keep all the receipts for medications for tax time as these can be included in out of pocket medical expenses - I really wish he had told me that a couple of years ago when Briana was born, the amount that we have spent at chemists over the years is staggering.

We have just started to change the boys milk over from formula to cows milk (today) so not sure if they are going to have a reaction. Kai has about 500mls over 3 bottles, Noah is lucky to drink 300mls over the day, probably why he is little and light, has not hit 10 kilo's yet.

I remember the night terrors with Briana only she did not wake when she was having them, but she would scream and scream, had to actually wake her up to get her to stop, and then she would go back to sleep peacefully

I am not sure on the biting front, our 2 have not started it yet, and being so young they dont really understand what they are doing, please pass on anything that works, as I am sure that we will go through it sooner rather than later.

Would have to agree with you that am more tired now that they are on the go, when they are up it is go go go. We have recently bought a big playpen so they can play in there when I am in the kitchen, otherwise they are continually under foot or escaping into areas of the house that they should not be in.

I'm another one that is not happy that the trading rooms have closed, I have heaps more stuff to sell, thankfully I was able to sell heaps of clothing, especially the premmie stuff before it closed down.

Well this might be TMI story but it has to be told.

Kai must of eaten something that his bottom did not agree with as all of a sudden he had a very pink bottom (too many realies sneaking him food!!!) anyway thought it might be nice idea to let them play outside in a playpen with no nappies on, worked alright the first time, there were a couple of wet patches but no big deal. Did it again the second night when we had our closest friends visiting and the boys were happily playing quietly when I looked a bit closer was wondering why Noah's hands were brown!!!! Jumped up very quickly to discover that they were both playing with someone's poo!!!! It gets even worse as had to get some out of mouths....and my FIL caught it all on video

Well 2 of my 3 are up now so had best go

Kerri
jojo4
Hi Everyone, I cant believe it has taken so long to get back to this, I first posted a month ago and have just got over christmas when both my twins have had tonsilitis and earinfections for pretty much the last 41/2 weeks, just as one is getting better they get it back from the other or passed on or from their sisters, the girls brought it home from preschool im guessing.I am hoping they are all going to get back into some decent sleeping patterns again as only running on about 3hrs a night and verry lucky if its straight thru.
Please bear with me while i get to know everyone and your family, Ashlee and Callum have just started cruising round the lounges,i think they would have been doing this a lot earlier if the girls could give them some space and carry them around,roll etc .My eldest daughter is starting kinder next year verry excited, where did the last 5 years go some days seem bout 6mths long lol
Have to go have got to be up at 5 as the kids are getting a little pony as a pet, she cant be ridden and was going to be put down but loves children saves me cutting the grass
I hope everyone is well and hope to be back soon
jo
me 35
dd jasmine kiara 2/10/02
dd samantha jade 4/08/04
ds callum 8/11/06
dd ashlee 8/11/06 original.gif
Kerris
Well I thought I would bump us onto the front page and see how everyone else is going - if it is anything like here - incredibly busy.

Jo - I hope Ashlee and Callum are feeling heaps better and over the merry go round of tonsils and ears. I am really hoping that we do not go through it again for a while, but with Briana starting school this week cry1.gif I am sure she will be bringing lots of new bugs...

Here we are all trying to get into the habit of being ready and out the door by 8.30, Briana starts school on Thursday and we have to leave by no later than 8.30 every morning - that is going to be a huge struggle and we cant walk as it is too far away, so in and out of the car for us a couple of times a day, and hopefully they wont fall asleep in the car on the way home otherwise there morning sleep will be shot.

Does anyone else have a big difference in development between their two - ours seems to be widening all the time, Noah seems to be at least a couple of months behind where Kai is, does not help that he is much bigger and stronger of the two and had a 'easier' start to life in hospital.

Kai seems to think he is pretty clever and can stand unassisted for a little while before plopping to the ground and clapping himself - hopefully a little while before he is walking as I am sure he will be able to get into more mischief then. Noah has worked out the art of turbo crawling and as soon as he sees you takes off a million miles and hour.

Well for the first time in a while all kids are into bed and asleep before 7.30 tonight so time to go and enjoy the peace before it all begins again tomorrow

Kerri
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.