The
Essential Baby forums cover all areas of
parenting and stages development for
babies,
toddlers and
kids as well as
parenting lifestyle areas including
Family Travel,
Finances,
Nutrition & Wellbeing,
Recipes and more!
If you'd like to post and interact with EB's
parenting forums read more articles about
conception,
pregnancy,
babies,
toddlers,
kids or more please visit
Essential Baby for the full site experience.
living~in~the~now
16/05/2007, 01:55 PM
Mine is coming up in a few months and I would just like to know what you got and if it was successful. I was thinking a dolls house but am not sure that this may be a little old for her?
Heidi
faerymama
16/05/2007, 02:44 PM
DD will be 2 next month and we are getting her one of those play gym things...like the little tikes ones (but not so expensive). With the slide/ladder etc.
I had thought about a dolls house, but i know my DD wouldn't really be totally interested in it yet.
legally blonde
16/05/2007, 04:05 PM
We got DD a trampoline, which has been a huge hit.
It was from Big W, around $249, (you can spend heaps more than that if you want to). It's enclosed with a net.
We have a small yard too. It's great exercise for her and it will keep her happy for years to come.
She has an absolute ball on it. It also holds an adult as well, which is lots of fun for her and us.
It's helped alot with her confidence, plus some doctors even recommend them for speech development as it helps with muscle tone. (This is what my friend was told for her son who has speech delay, to get a trampoline).
Good luck in deciding. She will surely love whatever you give her.
Ellbee.
doolz
16/05/2007, 04:06 PM
Hi
My little girl turned 2 in Feb and she got a new bike. I guess it is a trike of sorts - but she had outgrown her little plastic dune buggy thingy.
She kept stealing others bikes at the park - so we ended up getting her one & she loves it and pedals everywhere ...
*~Jomelia~*
16/05/2007, 04:09 PM
We got a jumping castle - dd loves it and so do her cousins!
She also got some books...
lovemyprincess
16/05/2007, 08:17 PM
I think your DD would be fine with a dolls house my DD was 2 in March and we actually got her a dolls house for christmas and she plays with it every day.
For her birthday we got her a wooden kitchen which was a huge hit and a tricycle with parent handle.
Hope you find the right pressie!
Storm71
16/05/2007, 11:50 PM
My DD is 2 in a month and we'll be buying her a trike. She rides the boys old trikes but they are a bit big for her. We tried a trike in Toys R Us a couple of months ago and she could just about keep her feet on the pedals all the way around, so by next month it will be perfect for her.
Trampolines are great. My boys got one for their birthday in March (a round one with the enclosure) and my DD loves it. I doubt I'd let her on a normal trampoline with no safety enclosure, but this one is great. She goes on it on her own and I zip it up and stand next to the opening.
I think a dolls house would be good. We have a Fisher Price Little People Town Centre or something like that, it's got little shops and the revolving road and plays music and sounds, and we've got a lot of other Little People and the cars etc. It belonged to my boys when they were younger but my DD loves it. Even if your DD doesn't play with the dolls house much now, she will in a few months anyway so it wouldn't be a waste of money.
wittle*star*
17/05/2007, 12:38 PM
We bought her a pretend play kitchen with all the accessories she loves it!
Other things she received, dolls houses, babies w/pram, cabbage patch dolls, lots of clothes, trampoline, cubby house, jumping castle, inflatable swimming pool, colouring books, playdoh, swingset w/slide, piano.
TeamBlue
17/05/2007, 12:48 PM
me and dp got ds1 dvds and clothes and a fisherprice dr kit

and some books
he also got clothes,dvs and books from other people
ds1 loves drs so the medical kit has helped him learn to let people check his ears

now he thinks he is a little dr and tries to check my tempreture
kylbee
17/05/2007, 01:54 PM
It's our 2 yr old's party this weekend and I have bought her some new shoes, Little People dolly, pretend cash register, sleep suit. Her Aunty is buying her some musical instruments like tambourine etc as she loves music and anything to do with it.
foofie
17/05/2007, 08:30 PM
DD got a chalk board and loves that to bits. Not a day goes by that she doesn't use the chalk board
silne
18/05/2007, 09:32 AM
A Pocoyo DVD and four Pocoyo board books
Gosh some of your kids get expensive birthday presents! That's not a jab or anything, but I don't think we'd ever spend that much money on a present that they wno't even remember receiving.
The inlaws bought her some Wiggles clothing (which she's sharing with her sister as they bought some sizes too small

) and one of her aunties bought her a Pocoyo flip book

Another aunty bought her a tea set which pretty much gets ignored except in the bath
Mrs_B
18/05/2007, 01:44 PM
i bought my best friends daughter an outside tent/castle/cubby thing. i havent seen it in person, but i know that my daughter would love it if our yard was big enough, so b/f's daughter should adore it..i hope!
and i am getting my DD a table and chair set - coz she is a big-girl now she tells me. lol. and i want to get her a wading pool and a trike. then just the usual...toys...clothes...dvds.
i think, if you have an arty tyke, go looking for a kids art set, with washable mediums if you can get them.
xenabonjovi
22/05/2007, 11:43 AM
My DD was two on the w/e and we along with the help of grandparents bought of ebay a set that included cubby, slide, picnic table and rocker. Her much older step sister bought her a sandpit. She loves it thinks it's the best thing ever and spends a lot of time out there now, we have a hard time getting her to come inside for anything now.
mum2snj
22/05/2007, 03:02 PM
Hi my DD was 2 in April we got her a dolls house which she thought was fantastic we also got her a bike which was also a hit. Plus just a few clothes and books. (She loves new clothes

lol)
Heffalump
22/05/2007, 03:08 PM
Em's 2 today

and we've gotten her:
A little trampoline with enclosure.
A bubba computer (I want mine back

)
Cabbage patch doll
A Max doll and a Milly doll
a bubba electric guitar
a little xylaphone
And a bubble machine (put the bubbles in and it blows them all over the place

).
Reckon these will take care of her living dangerously and geek needs, and my need for her to be a little bit more of a little girl than an accident waiting to happen
Everyone told me the trampoline will be a huge hit. Took DP 3 hours to get it set up!!
*blossom*
22/05/2007, 03:10 PM
must say this is a great thread to read as I've only recently been thinking the same thing as DD's bday is coming up very soon so I'm in the process of organising presents!!

i highly recommend the fisher price 'my first dollshouse' i think its called - we got it for Lydia for christmas last year and she absolutely LOVES it!! plays with it constantly!
birthday present wise - i've already organised to get her a dora the explorer kitchen and my little pony castle (both of which are on layby at Kmart & Target

)
smaller present wise - she'll get some books / dvds etc and also a gold charm to add to her bracelet which I bought for her 1st bday (and am keeping until she's 18 - going to add a charm every year for her bday until then)
charlise
22/05/2007, 03:11 PM
Hi, I think a doll's house would be perfect! DD got one for Christmas just before she turned two, and has really enjoyed it.
For her 2nd birthday, we bought her a little dolls pram and one of those large Strawberry Shortcake dolls that sings 'Ring O'Rosies' to go in it. She was pushing the doll around all day lol!!
We got her a tricyle for her 3rd birthday, though in hindsight I probably would have waited another year to do that.
A trampoline is another great idea! She loves going on the one at kindy!!!
Good luck & have fun!
Princess.cranky.pants
22/05/2007, 03:40 PM
We got dd a doll which cost $15 and she just loves it. Will not sleep without it. And a Tomas train set which she loves too.
She also got a lawnmower.
Little people Train.
Little people School set
Giggle Doll
Pram
Love all these things.
I don't think your dd will be too young for a dolls house. DD has one and loves it. She also has the Little people 'Sweet sounds home' and dose play with that more. But just loves anything that's LP.
My dd is really into pretend play. I also recommend a kitchen, kids table, vacuum cleaner, broom set, shopping trolley, musical instruments, blackboard, kids table, sand pit, ride-on.
pitterpat
23/05/2007, 08:48 PM
Gee, I feel really slack now after reading these posts
DD is nearly 2 and we haven't really bought her anything. I have ordered some furniture from Freedom and heaps of other stuff for her room over the last few weeks but we haven't actually bought anyhting for her like toys or clothes (as she has heaps already and will probably get given heaps, too) This year I focused on more practical stuff that she needs for her upcoming "big girls room" with bed rather than toys as she doesn't really understand the whole birthday thing.
We are planning to get her a trampoline or a swing set for Christmas.