The Essential Baby forums cover all areas of parenting and stages development for babies, toddlers and kids as well as parenting lifestyle areas including Family Travel, Finances, Nutrition & Wellbeing, Recipes and more! If you'd like to post and interact with EB's parenting forums read more articles about conception, pregnancy, babies, toddlers, kids or more please visit Essential Baby for the full site experience.
Full Version: May 03 Parents # 94

Essential Baby > Parents' Groups > Join a parents' group here > 2000-2003
New thread time ladies, link to old thread:

http://members.essentialbaby.com.au/index....pic=308159&st=0
charmbears
Me first! laughing2.gif

We are having Anzacs party this weekend too! My brother is having his 21st on saturday night at a theme restaurant on the Gold Coast and since everyone was going to be around we decided to have Anzacs the next day (hope I am not too hung over! ph34r.gif )

We decided to have a picnic party this year original.gif She doesnt know about inviting kids to parties yet ...and knowing its our last year that lucky we decided to take it outdoors!!! laughing2.gif
There will still be 21 ppl there but only 3 kids.

We have just brought her lots of bits and pieces - her only request was a globe! Mum has got her a boombox so I got her a couple of cds...watch out neighbours!

This week we got accepted to the school we picked for next year...hard to believe she will be at school unsure.gif it will be such a bit jump from 2 days a week at kindy.(for both of us lol)

Well thats it from us.......lots of baking to do this week...they joys of an allergy child!
suits
Evening all,

I said a few days ago I would return later that night and got side tracked blush.gif - oh well atleast I have made it in here tonight. I will just generally update on us and attempt to keep up from now on ph34r.gif.

Lachlan turned 4 last saturday ohmy.gif (where have the past 4yrs gone?????), we just had a small party for him at home with a racing track cake (which one of the kids drove the cars around before we cut it mad.gif ). He is into spiderman so we got him the 2 movies, some spiderman undies and shrek pj's - he got so spoilt from everyone else he didn't even realise we skimped on him a little cool.gif , the boys did get him a Lightning McQueen car each ( Dinoco blue and Radiator Springs) so he was chuffed with that.

He is at pre school this year 3 days a week and will be doing the same next year - we have decided to hold him back from starting school next year and will send him the following January (please tell me it will come round really quick laugh.gif ).

Tobey is Tobey, the dev (6).gif in disguise I feel. He was 2 in January and growing up so much faster than Lachlan has, his speech is amazing for a 2yr old (drives me batty some days though biggrin.gif ). He was in daycare but I pulled him out purely because of fee going up so he is home with me this year. I am thinking at this stage that he will go into Family Daycare next year for 2 days, as we have decided we will be holding him back for school and he too will start the January he turns 6 (am I mad wacko.gif ). He will venture off to preschool the year he turns 4 which will be here before I know it I'm sure.

Now onto my baby - who really isn't a baby for much longer sad.gif . Jesse will be 1 in about 6wks time and is such a delight to have around. He finally decided at the ripe old age of 9mths that he does like solids afterall, he has started to show his determination and stubbornness with the boys in attempting to take their toy's off them or going off his brain if they take something from him. He is cruising all around the place which often means that I find the bin and dining room chairs in some odd spot's..... He has cut 3 of his top teeth on top of one another so has been a little grumpy but otherwise just growing up waaaay to fast.

Other than all that things have been pretty boring really, I will endeavour to pop in on a more regular basis now.

Glad to hear that everyone has been well and busy planning the major event that a 4yr old birthday party turns into.

Monique
cin
Hi

Monique: its so good to hear from you, and get an update on the boys. Sounds like they are all going really really well.

Charmaine: hope the big party goes really well and Anzac hasa great day.

I must remember to sign Victoria's application for five year old preprimary (five full days) tomorrow. She will start year 1 the following year. I can't wait for her to go fulltime in one way, but in another, can she start tomorrow dev (6).gif

Victoria is still not coping fully with four full days of activity. She has kindy on Tuesday and Friday, Wednesday and Thursday she is at daycare. I thought by now, she would be used to it but she is always so tired and grumpy. I think I am going to have to bite the bullet and get her sleeping assessed again. I don't wanna, I don't wanna have to deal with a sleep study. Might try her on a multi vitamin first, see, thats a good idea isn't it.

Today was her third dancing lesson, she is loving it. Today she was like everyone else, wearing her leotard, very groovy, lol.

Other than that, nothing happening here, busy with dd and work. I would kill for a holiday!!!!

hugs to all and Happy Birthday wishes to all the May bubbas
suits
Wow 2 post's in 2 days I am on a roll here roll2.gif .

Charmaine, I noticed Anzac wants a globe for her birthday - is that a globe as in a world globe???? If so I noticed in the Target Pre-school sale catalogue they have a talking globe on sale for $100 (1/2 price). You put the pointer on a country and it tells you all about it - pretty groovy would stop parents having to rack their brains for the answers I thought. The sale starts today.

Best be off we are having a garage sale this weekend and I am madly gettting everything ready - didn't realise just how much crap we have accumulated with 3 boys ohmy.gif.

Monique
cin
Hiya

We are fairly good, Victoria is fighting off a cold, what's new? My mum had cataract surgery today, so far so good. It was a bit dangerous but at the moment, apparently it went well. See how the next couple of weeks go first before celebrating.

I went to the movies on Tuesday night to see "Because I Said So", I enjoyed, quite funny.

I head to Perth this weekend for CleftPALS Agm, oh what, fun that will be. I shouldn't be like that, but its forecast to rain on Sunday and I had travelling on wet days.

Better go, tea is cooking

hugs to all
Blish

Just letting you all know we're still alive.

Will do a post next week after James' birthday. I'm supposed to be working right now...
Just wanted to say HI

and HAPPY BIRTHDAY to all the May03 bubs who are no longer bubs! cry1.gif
charmbears
original.gif here we are!

Well the official day was yesterday and ANzac and I had a lovely day...I let her choose what we would do..so we spent most of the day painting, gluing and making things! We had a picnic lunch on the lounge floor and watched 'March of the Penguins' with a bowl of popcorn for the afternoon (actually I might have snoozed ph34r.gif through some of the movie lol)

She opened her presents when her Daddy got home from work and was lucky enough to have got 2 in the post during the day! The favourites were - the globe, a spider man doll and a plastic snake! (the most unrealistic one I could find LOL)

What were the favourite presents at your house??
suits
Hope you are all well and have survived Birthday month.

huge Happy 4th Birthday to James - hope you had an awesome day.

Fav presents were definately the 2 spiderman movies and his birthday money which he spent on Mack, Rusty old Mater and Lizzie (from Cars.)

DH is in Mooloolaba till Monday afternoon - so its mummy daycare here till then. Off to bed to get enough sleep banked up to cope ROFL.

Can you believe my baby is 11mths old tomorrow cry1.gif - where has the past year gone?????

Night.

Monique
Blish
Thanks Monique. Yes, James had a great birthday.

I'll write more later - elora has just woken up
charmbears
ohmy.gif cccoooooooooooooooooooooooooooeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

What are we doing over here on page 2 ????????????????

where is everyone??????? ph34r.gif
cin

Hope all the May bubbas had a great Birthday!!!

We are ok, madam has a cough, whats new???

We are not up to much, work for me and kindy for dd. She is going really well
Blish
Oh Cin I can so relate to the cough. Our house has had the plague for a month now. First it was Josh, then James, then Elora, then James again and then Elora again. She's had a cough/cold for 18 days now.

Here's two snaps of James with his birthday cake

And one of Elora:

And one of hubby and I

We got James some Lego (4+) and Hungry Hungry Hippos and Percy (Thomas train set). He also got from other people a cash register toy (he loves role playing) and a fishing game and an Imaginext dinosaur and some Thomas slippers and some colouring stuff and so on.

He had a lovely party on the actual day with his Mums' group friends and then on the weekend the family got together and we all went on the miniature railway (3 times!)

Hope all the other May03 kids had great birthdays!
Blish
Hey - is this the last time we can claim the baby bonus? Because our kids will be 5 next tax time.
Yay, I love the baby bonus. Another $2,000. Sure beats the maternity payment of $4,000 I got with Elora.
Blish
OK now I'm feeling lonely!
charmbears
I'm still here! biggrin.gif Not sure where everyone else is tho! laughing2.gif

I think you are right about the baby bonus. sad.gif Although I havent had a full payment after the first one its nice to get something.

Love the photos Blish! Elora is going so fast and is such a cutie. Great cake photos too. James looks very pleased with himself! Nice to see a pic of you and DH too...we forget to put pics of us up too.

Nothing much happening here....we took Anzac to the museum on the weekend becuase she has a 'thing' about dinosaurs at the moment. Saw lots of dinosaur bones and a whole lot of other interesting things!

We are going to see Disney on Ice at the end of the month. They are doing Nemo so that should be good. Never been to a Disney on Ice before. How about you?

Planning a quiet couple of months now....we are heading to Fiji in 8 weeks time for a much awaited holiday!... We have been slowly saving for this one since we got married/pregnant. Its our 5th anniversary in July and Dh is having a 'big' birthday in Sept so our tirp is a big celebration. Our parents are coming with us and we are all staying at the Naviti (all inclusive drinks and food!). We are staying a few days longer then moving to Sonasali Island Resort for a couple of nights. This is the resort we got married in. Cant wait! grin.gif

Getting lots of tricky questions lately.......'how do babies get into mummies tummies?' 'what do lions look like when they die?' 'whats the moon made out of?' laughing2.gif 4 year olds!

Have a good one~!
Blish
Hi Charmaine,

Fiji sounds divine. We went there when I was pregnant with James for 16 nights. It was my sanity break after 6 years at an extremely stressful job. I did nothing but laze by the pool/ocean and sleep. MMMMMM sounds like heaven. We're off to Hamilton Island in October. Can't wait.

James' kinder theme this term is dinosaurs. Our niece has one of those Roboraptors and everytime she gets it out James almost has a heartattack so not sure he'd enjoy the museum!

I'd LOVE to go to that Disney on Ice thing. James is obsessed wtih nemo, but it's too expensive for us to justify it. Got to work out how to pay for this Hamilton island trip first.

I've just found my dream house and can't afford it. Now all I can think about is "I WANT THAT HOUSE!". Sigh.

How's everyone else going?
Blish
just bumping us up.
charmbears
unsure.gif Cin where are you girl? we miss you! sad.gif

Blish - the trip to Hamilton Island sounds nice original.gif we are on the major countdown now...25 sleeps to go! My only concern is the whole allergy food thing. I will be taking a few staples in our bags but the rest is just a whole lot of being careful! hands.gif

Hows everyone coping with winter? Its pretty cold in Brisbane right now. We even had a frost this morning! Anzac's winter eczema is back but we are keeping it under control. No mjor illnesses so far original.gif

Thats an update from us....come on girls.......
suits

Can you here me sneaking back in ever so quietly LOL.

Things have been as normal around here but that doesn't leave me with alot of time to sit on Eb like it use to (I wonder why???).

We spent 5 days on the Gold Coast at the beg of the month, DH ran the Half Marathon in a team rasing money and awareness for Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease (basically the human equivalent of Mad Cows disease). A mum of one of our friends died from it in March 05. While we were away Jesse turnt 1 (July 1) and our house was broken into (little bastards rant.gif ) - so that is us in a nut shell

Very jealous of your trip to Fiji Charmaine and Hamilton Island for you Blish - I luuuurrrrrvvvvveeeeeee Hamilton Island I am soo desperate to get back there. That is my aim for when Jesse is about 3-4yrs, as kids club will be alot easier and going out for dinner will be enjoyable (or as enjoyable as it can be with 3 kids in tow tongue.gif ).

Best run have to find some accommodation for the GC in Nov, SIL and I are running away for 4 days leaving behind out DH's and 3 kids each ROFL.

Monique
Blish
Hi Charmaine and Monique and anyone else...

Cin - are you OK?

No major news from us. DH got a new job and starts on Monday. It means a bit more money which is always nice, but more importantly he was really starting to hate the old job so a change was on the cards.

Elora is nearing 8 months old now. Sigh. Time really does fly.
James hasn't had his 4 year old immunisations yet - has anyone gone and had these done yet? I'm dreading it. I've just enrolled him in school for 2009 - well, I've applied for him to go to a school - I guess we get confirmation next year. It's a private school that is still being built and is only opening in 2009. It means no more holidays for us (and we'll probably have to cut back on things like Foxtel, daily newspaper - the only luxuries in my life), but I'm not to rapt in the public schools around where I live which have a very bad reputation.
He is enjoying 3 year old kinder and is going through another
obsessed with the computer phase.

Josh is in Year 8 and is currently on a Sydney/Gold Coast holiday with his Dad. He has a better social life than us!

Anyway, hope everyone is well.
I won't type much else as I'm not sure anyone will read it?!

HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY TO JESSE!

And how awful, that your house got broken into, Monique! Did they take anything valuable? (even if they didn't, the invasion of privacy is bad enough).

Here's 2 recent pics of James

and one of Elora

and what the heck, one of Josh too

Woops, just realised I've already posted that pic of Elora. Oh well. Can't be bothered re-logging into photobucket.

Hey - has anyone lodged their baby bonus yet? I did it today and am getting over $2,000! YAY
charmbears
original.gif Blish we did the needles a few weeks ago. Fine no dramas at all! I told her she had an appt with our doctor before hand and only on the way did I mention what for. I simply told her he had to give her some medicine and it would be in an injection. It would hurt a little bit but only like a cat scratch! She didnt even flinch original.gif I think the lollypop on the bench she couldnt take her eyes off helped LOL! Its one needle each arm BTW (just a pre warning ) Good luck original.gif

I can relate to the private school issue. Anzac has been accepted to our local one - starts next year. I just didnt want her to be lost in a crowd. Her food allergies make me nervous enough let alone at school! At least in a smaller school ppl will know who she is etc. Our school has a seperate fenced in area for the prep and grade one kids original.gif

Monique - welcome back original.gif Sorry to hear about your house - it must so annoying. Did they take much?
Where abouts on the coast are you looking to stay? Maybe I can suggest some places if you give me an idea original.gif The Broadbeach area is always nice - and close to Pacific Fair!

Well kindy is back after the holidays and I am child free...better go make the most of the day!
cin

Sorry, I have been MIA, June was a horrid month.

Monique, I know how you feel about your breakin, my place was done too. I had taken Victoria to Perth to see a specialist, came home to a mess and stuff missing. The 'lovely persons' took my digitial camera, video camera, some loose change, mobile phones and jewellery. The cameras have been replaced, I was given a voucher for Zamels to replace the jewellery but I can never really replace my grandmothers ring. I am now heavily insured for my contents and most of my jewellery is not specified especially the new stuff.

Four days prior to the breakin, I had a car accident. Nothing major, just got rear ended. Thankfully dd wasn't in the car. So my poor car now has a shiny new bumper, and I had a sore neck and back for a couple of days.

DD is still coming to terms with the fact that the naughty people came into our house. They had ransacked her bedroom, which completely freaked her out on the day. Thankfully the police officer who attended has small kids and was fantastic with her.

So thats my last month in a nutshell, dealing with police, insurance companies, repair men and stores to replace stuff.

DD has had her needles, she also had a flu needle so now she doesn't like doctors at all. She was fine for the first needle, but by the third she was over it thanks. Screamed, and kicked so the third one ended up sratching her arm.

She comes home today from a week with nanny and pa, comign home sick of course. Thats my girl, lol, sounds like she has an ear infection, so will take her to the drs. She is on the waiting list for another set of grommets, yay.

Other than that, I have have been busy with work, I am now working three and half days a week. I try to spend Mondays home with dd, quietly because she has kindy and daycare the rest of the week. She is still struglling with four full days of activities but I can't help it. Saturdays are horrid, she is overtired and grumpy.

Better go, she will be here soon.

hugs to all
princess222003
hello ladies

Been a while for me in here...again!

Well not much to report, Im now a single mum of 3 kids sad.gif oh well life goes on...I have been having some issues with the X and so on about the kids, thats my life story atm....This is the first weekend EVER that X has had the kids, even us been together he has never had the kids on his own for a weekend, oh I lied when I had Noah he had Mackala on his own for the weekend...but he had help when I had Chase...So Im a little nervous been feeling a little ill all day and for some of the week. I really wanna trust him with the kids, I know he's a good dad but he reckons I have no paitence he should have a look in the mirror, but as he always say when Im not around the kids are perfect glare.gif so he's here any minute actually. Mackala is looking really forward to been with her dad all weekend, just hope he sticks to it as I dont wanna see her little heart broken...

Mackala is now in swimming lessons for 5 weeks so that will be good for her and then I will put Noah in for 5 weeks after she is finished...

Im way behind on personals girls, sorry will try and keep up from now on...

I hope everyone is well and all the 4yr old are been good...
Blish
Charmaine - way to go on Anzac getting her needles without flinching. Can I be rude and ask how much her private school fees are? BEcause of Victoria's rules, James cannot start school until 2009 because he was born after April 30. But I think the states all differ on the first years of school anyway. Like here we have 3 year old kinder (4.5 hours per week), then 4 year old kinder (10-11 hours per week), then Prep (9am until 3.30pm 5 days a week) then Grades 1-12.
I think in other states they call it school, but it's the equivalent of kinder in Vic. Anyway, my son JOsh's school costs $10K per year (roughly) - he's in high school. The school I've chosen for James and ELora will only be around $4500 per year which is much better.

Cin - OH my God! You've had the crappiest month, you poor darling. And poor Victoria, having that happen to her bedroom. And your car too! SEnding you happy positive vibes. Hope her grommets appointment isn't too far around the corner.

Princess - sorry to hear about your marriage breakdown. I have been married twice. My first husband just wasn't the man for me. If I can give you any advice at all, it would be to swallow your pride and try and be friends with your ex, for the kids sake. IT hasn't been an easy ride for me, but my ex husband and I are really good friends now. He pops into our house about 4 times a week. He has dinner here sometimes. He spends Christmas day with us too sometimes. I have a son from my marriage with him and I have two children from my current marriage. My ex husband loves all my kids, even those that aren't his. He has James sleep over at his house sometimes and he has told me that if he and Josh were to die (god forbid) he's left everything in his will to my other two children. We have a great relationship. Anyway, just wanted to show that it can happen, but as I said it isn't easy, especially in the early days.

Nothing much to report. Just saying hi to all.
Blish
James had his first piano lesson today. It's a program called Piano Preps for 3-5 year olds. Today they learned their left and right hands, the white keys, the black keys, high notes and low notes. They sang lots of songs too. IT was great fun!

HOw is everyone else?
charmbears
original.gif Sorry!

Blish our fees will be about $5200.00 a year for the first few anyway. We can get a small rebate for her first year which was an unexpected bonus! We have been saving weekly since Xmas to prove to ourselves we can afford to do this and now can pay fees upfront for the year. That way is something happens (ie job loss) we dont need to panic for quite some time. Schooling is such a big decision!
Blish
Charmaine - yes, it's so hard trying to choose whether it's value or a waste of money isn't it? And don't bother asking around on EB as you'll get people telling you you're utterly crazy spending all that money and hear people's private school horror stories. All I can say is that in my children's cases I've chosen schools that I think are the best choices I can afford and I'll just play it by ear. My older son Josh's school is a long drive away (he has to leave home at 7am and doesn't get home until 5pm) but he only has around 8 kids in his class so I chose that school because he has always struggled with learning and he needs the small class size environment. We too have saved ahead a year or so. People think we earn a fortune to send our kids to schools like that but the truth is we only earn average wage and we just put every spare cent towards schooling. It had better be worth it!
charmbears
I agree with you! And the thing I say to my Dh is - if its not what we expected it to be then we will just take her out and send her somewhere else. Its not like they are locked in for life!
Blish
Where is everyone?

James is really sick. So is Elora. Sigh. I'm having a horrible week.

Anyway, noone's here to read this so I'll go back to surfing EB.

HOpe everyone else is OK.
cin
I am the sick one here, fighting a cold all week, plus had to try to work all week. All thats left of it now, is a horrid cough, driving me batty. DD is ok, slight cough but her usual chatty self. She fell off a kitchen chair on Wednesday, so spent couple of hours in casulty getting her head checked. So now amongst all her hair is a beautiful black and blue bruise now that the lump has gone.

Sorry outta here, no energy at the moment, hugs to all and hope everyone else doesn't have or get this darn cough.
Blish
Still sick here. Elora has a terrible cough, constant runny nose and James has had a high temperature since THursday. Both are on antibiotics and now I'm sick too

Sending sympathy to Cin - hope you and Victoria are better soon.

Not much else to report...
Blish
bumpity bump

we're all better now. yay. how's everyone else going?
charmbears
original.gif biggrin.gif original.gif We are back! Did you miss us????? ph34r.gif hands.gif original.gif unsure.gif tongue.gif smile1.gif

We had a FANTASTIC time original.gif The weather was sensational, the resort (Naviti) was stunning and great value for money, everyone was happy and had a great time. If you are thinking about a holiday in Fiji - go the all inclusive package at the Naviti original.gif

Highlights for Anzac were (in her order..LOL) ice cream, cocoa pops for breakfast, fish feeding, donkey rides, looking at blue starfish, holding an Iguana, dancing the night away at the disco, making new friends, swimming and so it goes on!

cry1.gif its back to work tonight for me - must be time to plan our next holiday laughing2.gif

original.gif biggrin.gif original.gif We are back! Did you miss us????? ph34r.gif hands.gif original.gif unsure.gif tongue.gif smile1.gif

We had a FANTASTIC time original.gif The weather was sensational, the resort (Naviti) was stunning and great value for money, everyone was happy and had a great time. If you are thinking about a holiday in Fiji - go the all inclusive package at the Naviti original.gif

Highlights for Anzac were (in her order..LOL) ice cream, cocoa pops for breakfast, fish feeding, donkey rides, looking at blue starfish, holding an Iguana, dancing the night away at the disco, making new friends, swimming and so it goes on!

cry1.gif its back to work tonight for me - must be time to plan our next holiday laughing2.gif

Glad to hear everyones back to good health in your house Blish...hows things with you Cin??
charmbears
ohmy.gif coooooooooooooooooooeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee?
Blish
Sorry Charmaine. I was MIA from the May03 group for a while there - just got busy with the usual stuff.

Glad to hear your holiday was fantastic. We went to Fiji a few years back (when I was pregnant with James) for 16 nights. It was lovely.

Well, we're having James immunised tomorrow (the 4 year old immunisations). I kept putting it off but it's being done tomorrow so hopefully there won't be any major disasters.

I'm pleased to say we're over the illnesses that plagued our house for the last month.

James started swimming lessons on Monday and he has been having piano lessons this term. I don't want to sound like one of those psycho mums, but he is really gifted musically I think. He can hear a tune and then play it on the piano - we're all completely freaked out. He has a very good musical ear.

Where is everyone else??
Blish
Just updating that James didn't even cry at all during his immunisations. He was completely fine!

I won't type any more in here - not sure if anyone will ever read it.
charmbears
I read it !

Well done James original.gif I think we are more worried than them!

I have the post holiday blues *sigh* Nothing much happening here - this weekend we are going out with friends and family for DH's birthday - indian - yummy! I ate it a lot when I was pg with Anzac right up until she was born (that wives tale doesnt work either LOL) but since she was born I cant eat 'medium' anymore only mild - funny really!

Anzac is happy and well - just chugging along really. She still loves drawing and 'sticking' and loves to sit beside me and scrapbook. The is very interested in the alphabet and writing at present and is quite good at capital letters but hasnt got the concept of lower case yet.

She tells me (and anyone who asks) that when she grows up she is going to live in Africa and be a mermaid like Aerial! laughing2.gif

Nice to hear from you Blish

Where are the rest of you hiding?? Cin?
charmbears
girls girls girls...where are you all???????????? ph34r.gif
charmbears
girls????????????????? hands.gif where are you all??????????
Blish
I'm here Charmaine.

We just got back from a week on Hamilton Island. It was lovely. James (who was the world's most frightened child in a swimming pool before the holiday) gained heaps of confidence in the water as we spent the whole holiday swimming. His swimming teacher really noticed the difference when we got back. Unfortunately I picked up a case of Hives whilst away. Not sure if it was the heat or all the OJ I was drinking (couldn't touch the tap water there), or the sunscreen, but I was covered in hives all over my legs and arms. It was soooooo itchy!

James pedalled his tricycle for the first time yesterday. I know this is very slow developmentally but prior to now he just hasn't got the concept of how to pedal. So that's a relief.

Elora started crawling whilst we were on holidays too - that's pretty late also. She turned 11 months old today.

James has gotten more aggressive lately. Not sure if he's getting this from kinder but lately if he doesn't get his way he starts hitting me. It's really irritating. Don't you just wish you could wrap them in cotton wool and not let any other outside influences get to them?

Anyway, hope everyone and their kidlets are well.

Keep us informed of what's going on in your life...

Take care,
Blish
cin
Hi

I am a bit of a ph34r.gif now.

Blish, sounds like a great holiday. Oh no, hives, you poor thing. Yay for the swimming confidence. DD can only pedal a bike for about two minutes then loses the idea of what she is supposed to do. But then her bike is a bit small now which probably doesn't help much. Big WTG Elora for crawling, what a little star.

Charmaine, it sounds like Anzac is going really well. Don't you hate the post holiday blues, yucko they are.

Yesterday was the first day of fourth term which is going to keep me busy until almost Christmas. Plus I am sick at the moment again. My poor boy is over me I think.

DD is going ok, still got fluid in both ears and needs grommets. She is on the waiting list and I am getting impatient. I am finding that I am now starting to repeat stuff to her, poor bugger.

Other than work, nothing has been happening here lately.

Anyhoo, until next time big hugs to you guys.
Mrs Squiggle
hey there peoples

long time no write

thought i would pop in and wave hi! to you all, must admit my web time is taken up a lot in one of my hobbies (beading)

sammie has been a real learning experience for me
he is behind in speech and language development and i finally got someone to listen to me

i have a fantastic nigerian pead who is thinking my son is ASD and having taught the kids at school... yep i agree...

he has some interesting and challenging behaviours and at 4 and a half has FINALLY graduated from baby class

teaching is going well and i have moved house yet again (perils of being a renter) but i am happy in the new place.

i hope to see you guys come and visit! cause its fun!
Blish

Robyn - it must be so hard when your child has developmental delays and difficulties. My best friend's son is 3 and has never spoken. She spends all her time researching autism and rides that daily roller coaster of emotions. Glad to hear you like your new house.

Cin - You must be so frustrated still waiting for Victoria's grommets. How long have you been waiting now? - seems like ages. Poor thing.

I've got to go. I haven't eaten lunch yet and I'm starting to feel faint.
Blish
Just bumping us up.

How is everyone?

We're counting down the days until Elora's first birthday. We're also looking into building a new house. We hate our hoon neighbours and are really over their yappy dog too. I swear, if we go to all the trouble of moving and the new neighbours move in with a dog I'm going to go insane. This dog never stops yapping. Ever. I used to have a dog and it only barked if people walked past the fence. This dog barks incessantly.

Anyway, James is going along OK. We had orientation day last week for 4 year old kinder. I just found out the school I'd enrolled him in for 2009 isn't opening until 2010 now (it's brand new). Damn it. So I'm on the lookout for an alternative.

I've decided to home school Josh next year for 6 months. He'll be in Year 9 of high school. He is just way behind in Maths and Literacy and needs some intense remedial help and I think I'm the best one to give it.
charmbears
Gee Blish you have some busy times ahead of you then - new house, home schooling etc!

What are you planning for Elora's birthday? I cant believe how quick that time has gone! Love the new photo of her on your sig- she is soooooooooooo cute original.gif

We have just got back from a week at the beach (yes I know it only feels like a few weeks ago we were in Fiji!) however it rained and was cold and windy the whole time sad.gif a bit sad really. We went almost this time last year and it was pretty windy so we took our kites with us this time and they got a good work out. Took Anzac 10 pin bowling for the first time and I got whipped by DH AND Anzac! ph34r.gif

We had orientation for the school yesterday (it must be that time of the year!) and still have a good feeling about our decision. The kids got to spend time in the classrooms with teachers while we got all the info about the school. She had such a ball - she cant wait for the school year to start! I suspect I will have a bit of a cry ph34r.gif

Any ideas for a plan B for James' school yet? What a shame about your school. Maybe you could transfer at the end of next year?? Here in QLD our schooling for next year (Prep) is not yet compulsory - is it the same where you are? I know Qld has brought in Prep to bring us into line with the other states as far as ages etc go. Our cut off is June 30 so Anzac will be one of the youngest in her class - lots of kids at her kindy are already 5 or turning 5 soon. Mind you she is more than ready for school original.gif

Cin - where are you hiding and how is Miss Victoria??

Whats everyone getting for Xmas? and their May kids?? A big girls bike is the only thing I have got sorted so far original.gif

Take care everyone...and.....come on lurkers...we wont growl if you have been MIA ph34r.gif come out come out where ever you are laughing2.gif
Blish
Hi Charmaine,

Thanks for your lovely comments. I'm starting to think that we should PM each other - come on people, where are you?!!!

The good news is that the school we had our heart set on for James in 2009 (that isn't opening now until 2010) has a Prep to 6 campus a few kms up the road and this other school is brand new too and opening in 2009. Also that the block of land we've almost decided on building on is 4 streets away from this school. So we've put his name down and will have an interview early next year. The cut off date in Melbourne is April 30 so James can't start until 2009. He wouldn't be ready next year anyway in my opinion. Everything would be OK, except that he has a behavioural issue with doing poo and he puts it off and off and off until he starts pooing in his pants in tiny bits for a day or so and then he finally goes. It's so frustrating and I don't know what to do about it. He's already been on Parachoc for a year now.

Elora had her first birthday last weekend. I can't believe my baby is one!!! We sold her baby cradle on ebay too which was really sad. No more for me. cry1.gif

Well done to Anzac on the great bowling! James likes bowling too.

For Christmas we have bought him an Lmax system (leapster) with a cartridge. We got it for 1/2 price. We also got him that Fisher Price clock toy - it teaches the time in digital and analogue. We're going to get a bike too.

Off to bed....
FionaM
hi all

i know i have been MIA but i still pop in every now and again and read.

Rachel has had her school orientation (NSW) and she loves it. I don;t know how she will be on the first day or for that matter how i will be !! but am sure all will be fine. I think she will be one of the youngest but you wouldn;t have known it at the orientation. This school thing is a whole new ball game. She is going to the local public school and they have 3 classes for next year. there is another school in our area that there is 5 clasees for kindergarten for next year !!
also Kade is starting preschool next year, 2 days a week so it looks like January will be an interesting month for us and the kids.

i think i have nearly finished the kids christmas shopping, there main present is a 3 wheel schooter (which i happened to pick for a bargain of $20 each).

glad to hear all is going well with everyone.

I promise to try and post more often
Blish
Fiona - how scary that Rachael is starting school next year.

Time really does fly doesn't it?

How is everyone else going?
charmbears
All good here original.gif Only 4 more kindy sessions left for the year now...lots to try and squeeze in on my remaining child free days! One of those things is to stock take the Xmas presents LOL I am having trouble closing my wardrobe!

We havent got our tree up yet...this weekend hopefully we will fit it in. We have been to Christmas Carols and also my work kids party so we are in the festive spirit (sometimes LOL).

Whats everyone doing for Xmas day? I am working Xmas Eve but should be home about midnight. My parents are coming over in the morning to watch Anzac open her pressies and then we are having a brunch at their house. Our main Xmas meal will be on Boxing Day as my MIL has to work this year. It should be nice to have them spreadout a bit.
Essential Baby is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby.