|
Navigation |
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
![]() ![]() |
|
12/07/2012, 10:35 AM
|
|
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
|
|
| Moderator | |
|
|
|
13/07/2012, 12:28 PM
|
|
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
|
|
|
|
|
GOLD! The thread has been here for over 24hrs and I get gold!
|
|
|
|
|
13/07/2012, 06:35 PM
|
|
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
|
|
| Soft kitty, warm kitty, little ball of fur. | |
|
LOL! It has been a bit quiet lately.
|
|
|
|
|
15/07/2012, 06:52 AM
|
|
![]() ![]()
|
|
| Regular Member | |
|
Hi All!!!!
Thought I'd pop in with an update on my no-sugar journey!! I am just gone 30 weeks pregnant with my second baby- so far I've put on 5kgs and all belly only When pregnant with my now 2yo DS I put on 17 kg, was horribly fluidy, and I suffered HELLP syndrome which was very dangerous for he and I This time in pregnancy the only thing I've done differently is eliminate sugar from my diet and I feel the benefits to my health this pregnancy are remarkable- have not had any colds or illness- still managed to work full time etc and energy levels are great! Plus no sign of any HELLP like symptoms which I was very fearful of!! I don't struggle with the sugar cravings anymore- occasionally I will indulge if it is a special occasion, however I always feel a bit 'off' afterwards I still occasionally miss fruit- or having a flavored fruity drink- but I substitute with sparkling water, and I add half a banana to my plain muesli and some nuts too if I feel like a sweeter brekky Hope you are all traveling well on your sugar journey!! |
|
|
|
|
15/07/2012, 07:15 AM
|
|
|
|
| New Member | |
|
Hi!
I'm new on here, and I was immediately caught by your post - I love it! I am definitely into food for nutrition and think that sugar is responsible for a lot of out health issues now and later in life. I've only become aware of this in the last 5-6 months or so, eating and choosing nutritious food is becoming easier, though I still havekmfbts of weakness What I've discovered in the last 2 weeks is that being well prepared is key!! Thanks in advance!! quote name='millej13' date='15/07/2012, 06:52 AM' post='14744807'] Hi All!!!! Thought I'd pop in with an update on my no-sugar journey!! I am just gone 30 weeks pregnant with my second baby- so far I've put on 5kgs and all belly only When pregnant with my now 2yo DS I put on 17 kg, was horribly fluidy, and I suffered HELLP syndrome which was very dangerous for he and I This time in pregnancy the only thing I've done differently is eliminate sugar from my diet and I feel the benefits to my health this pregnancy are remarkable- have not had any colds or illness- still managed to work full time etc and energy levels are great! Plus no sign of any HELLP like symptoms which I was very fearful of!! I don't struggle with the sugar cravings anymore- occasionally I will indulge if it is a special occasion, however I always feel a bit 'off' afterwards I still occasionally miss fruit- or having a flavored fruity drink- but I substitute with sparkling water, and I add half a banana to my plain muesli and some nuts too if I feel like a sweeter brekky Hope you are all traveling well on your sugar journey!! [/quote] |
|
|
|
|
10/08/2012, 09:03 PM
|
|
![]()
|
|
| Member | |
|
Hello! I'd love to join you all.
I had vaguely heard of Sweet Poison for several months, but dismissed it as yet another fad with likely little real science behind it. But I finally looked into it and am impressed by the evidence & underlying science to support it (I have a science background), and I'm nearly sold! The evidence isn't 100% solid, but I can't think what harm it could do to cut out fructose anyway even if it is wrong! So my husband, kids & I are starting fructose free on Monday. I'm currently making a list of fructose free breakfasts, lunches & snacks we can make. Dinners will be easy I reckon. Tomorrow I'll go shopping & restock the pantry. I had a baby a few weeks ago and have 10kg more weight to lose to get back to my pre-pregnancy weight, and I'd like to lose about 5kg on top of that. But weight loss isn't my primary goal. I'm just hoping I'm one of the lucky ones who doesn't find withdrawal too hard!! |
|
|
|
|
13/08/2012, 09:21 PM
|
|
![]()
|
|
| Member | |
|
Hello? Anyone still around? Or maybe I'm just talking to myself
Day 1 fructose free & the family survived. I had barely any cravings or symptoms. How long did it take others to feel the withdrawals? |
|
|
|
|
14/08/2012, 06:20 PM
|
|
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
|
|
| Soft kitty, warm kitty, little ball of fur. | |
|
Hi tara! It has definitely been a little quiet in here.
I was alright for the first 2 days? And then I started getting rotten headaches. Brain fog lifted about week 2, addiction broken by week 4. |
|
|
|
|
15/08/2012, 12:07 PM
|
|
![]() ![]() ![]()
|
|
| Advanced Member | |
|
Can I please get a brief run down on what it means to go sugar free and how people go about achieving that?
|
|
|
|
|
15/08/2012, 12:51 PM
|
|
![]()
|
|
| Member | |
|
I was alright for the first 2 days? And then I started getting rotten headaches. Brain fog lifted about week 2, addiction broken by week 4. Today is day 3. No headaches or anything yet, but I'm bracing myself!! I haven't really struggled at all yet, although I'm not sure how I'd go if I were in a room full of people eating yummy cakes!!! Can I please get a brief run down on what it means to go sugar free and how people go about achieving that? http://sweetpoison.com.au/ I assume most people are following this type of thing. It's avoiding most sugars - fructose, sucrose are the main ones. So limited fruit (2 pieces/day for adults), no biscuits/cakes. No tomato sauce, other sauces/condiments with sugar. No breads with sugar. But all other carbs are allowed. Once you've gone through withdrawal you can have small amounts of dextrose/glucose (because they contain no fructose). The idea is that fructose is metabolised by the liver to be converted to fat, and is converted to a type of fat that very easily causes cholesterol deposits in arteries & raises triglycerides. Fructose also bypasses our normal appetite control system, so you can eat heaps of it without your body telling you it's had enough. It messes with the whole appetite system so you actually end up eating too much of everything. |
|
|
|
|
![]() ![]() |
"Attachment parenting has set me up for ... well, I'm not going to say failure, but for a very difficult time," says one mum.
Amidst all the arguing over which paid parental leave scheme is best for parents, is anyone talking about what's best for babies?
Find out the benefits and risks involved with protecting your child from harmful diseases.
Send your mum a personalised eCard this Mother?s Day to show her you are thankful and to help us remember the women who face motherhood in situations of great adversity.
Check out our new interactive ebook, part of the brand new SMH Shortbooks series, for free!
A mother sparked conversations around the world when she declared, in a national newspaper, that she wished she'd never had her two children. But her story can teach us a valuable lesson on parenthood.
My child is resisting the toilet training process. We got off to a good start, but now she?s refusing to use the toilet. What can we do now?
We've learned a lot since we launched our first JOHNSON'S� baby powder way back in 1894, so we've put together this collection of 'how to' videos to get you started on your exciting journey.
While most women wouldn?t associate being a new parent with feeling more attractive, it seems men see it differently: they think they?re better looking than before they were dads.
Skip to:
You could win one of 20 Call the Midwife Series 2 DVD prize packs.
Win the UE Boombox to listen to music wherever you go, or a TV Cam HD to Skype loved ones right from your TV!
You could win a gorgeous innovative Mamas & Papas Baby Bud!
You could win a MiniMonkey prize pack including one of the new 4-in-1 MiniMonkey Baby Carrier, Baby Sling & Nursing Cover.
Colouring sheets, educational activities and more.
|
Lo-Fi Version Skin by IPB Customize |
Time is now: 20/05/2013 |