|
Navigation |
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
![]() ![]() |
|
06/04/2012, 08:39 PM
|
|
![]() ![]() ![]()
|
|
| Advanced Member | |
|
One of our very loved dogs passed away last year and we are coming around now to thinking about getting another. We have a 7.5yo Rhodesian Ridgeback who grew up with our pooch who died and we'd like to give him a companion and give ourselves another dog too
I've always loved Staffies although I've read that they're very much a one-dog house type of dog - is this the case with your Staffie? Our 7.5yo is a lovely natured boy and I'd hate for him to be roughed up by the next dog we get Any advice on Staffies would be welcome - TIA |
|
|
|
|
06/04/2012, 09:24 PM
|
|
![]() ![]() ![]()
|
|
| Advanced Member | |
|
We have a staffy cross. She gets along ok with my sisters dog but we don't really socialise much with many other dogs. I love my girl. She is so patient with the kids and has a great personality.
Other than that I really can't offer much more advice |
|
|
|
|
06/04/2012, 09:36 PM
|
|
![]() ![]() ![]()
|
|
| Advanced Member | |
|
We have two staffy x's and got the second boy for the same reasons you are thinking of getting your second dog for. They get along very well for the most part, but they have vastly different personalities which can sometimes cause a bit of tension between them. The older is very submissive, he is a smoochy, sooky, lap dog. We thought we were doing the righty by getting him a puppy as a new mate, so he had a chance at being "top dog" and asserting himself. Well, I think we picked the wrong puppy! Bruno is the bossiest little thing you have ever met. I think for us, this really highlighted the fact that you can choose the breed, but personality is a whole different kettle of fish!
I love our boys though, they are full of character and bring so much joy and laughter into our lives. |
|
|
|
|
06/04/2012, 11:42 PM
|
|
![]() ![]() ![]()
|
|
| Advanced Member | |
|
I used to have a staffy. Unfortunately she died 3.5 years ago and I still miss her. She was 5 days short of her 14th birthday.
I got her when I was a teenager and still living at home with Mum and Dad. We had another dog at the time who was getting a bit old and grumpy because he had some arthritis but he adored my staffy pup. The older dog was a cattle dog. They played together heaps, and chased each other, and play-wrestled. They had about 1 year together before the older cattle dog had to be put down because he was in too much pain. My little staffy had no problem with sharing the attention because she knew no different, and missed the cattle dog once he was gone. However once she got used to being the only dog she loved it and no longer seemed to realised that she was a dog! She actively shunned other dogs and refused to eat dog food. The grumpy ginger cat in the house was a different matter though! That cat was boss of my staffy until he too had to be put down. My staffy was generally a sook, and was far more likely to be scared of something than to try to fight something. She had to be medicated for things like fireworks, smoke alarms and thunderstorms. The poor thing would just shake and tremble and be terrified. She loved to be the centre of attention, and she definitely was once I left home to go to uni and she stayed at home with Mum and Dad. In the end she was Mum's dog more than mine because they were together almost constantly. Mum was devastated when my staffy died. Overall I think that staffies are the most wonderful dogs, and I would have another in a heartbeat if I could (but I rent so I can't). In fact, I loved mine so much that my daughter's middle name is my late staffy's name. If you get a staffy be prepared to fall head over heels in love! |
|
|
|
|
07/04/2012, 12:03 AM
|
|
![]() ![]() ![]()
|
|
| Advanced Member | |
|
We have a american staffy x rhodesian ridgeback and shes beautiful!!
Like all dogs you want the history, parents back ground etc They do have issues with skin allergys (rashs and dry skin plus allergic reactions) that is easily managed with medication and removing what ever it is causing problems. Same with fly bites if outside. They are escape artists and HATE being alone, they are a very smart dog therefor training is a must and more is better. Our girl is very friendly and accepting of other dog and people but she is very well socialised. Most dogs tend to have a favourite owner and will cry/sook if left out of family day to day living. They can be a stubborn dog so again LOTS of training should be done. Most can take longer to mature so can be a long puppy stage and they LOVE to chew. Know all of the above I would still have five of these dogs with out a second thought, they are a very rewarding and family friendly dog and are a extra person in your home before you know it. :-) Again I LOVE all stafford shire terriers <3 |
|
|
|
|
07/04/2012, 08:52 AM
|
|
![]()
|
|
| Member | |
|
I have had 2 staffy crosses and would go for a staffy any day the people i know with pure breeds have the most beautiful disposition.
they are bossy but hey who isn't!!! |
|
|
|
|
07/04/2012, 09:42 AM
|
|
![]() ![]() ![]()
|
|
| Advanced Member | |
|
Great, thanks for all the input!! They sound like awesome dogs
|
|
|
|
|
07/04/2012, 09:50 AM
|
|
|
|
| New Member | |
|
We have a staffy and a Maltese cross terrier - they are best of mates and cuddle of a lot together. Before we had them desexed we started having issues with aggression with the staffy, however we had him desexed which was the best thing we did. I should say that he is so bloody needy but gives great cuddles - loves to tell you what is on his mind! They are wonderful dogs but be warned they are needy and need company - mostly yours!!!
This post has been edited by salti: 07/04/2012, 09:51 AM |
|
|
|
|
07/04/2012, 09:54 AM
|
|
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
|
|
| Cobwebs are the new black! | |
|
I have a Staffy X rescue and she is the loveliest dog. She gets along really well with my chihuahua and is just the sweetest dog you'll ever meet. Loves people and gets along well with other dogs. Love her
The RSPCA often has staffies and staffy X's and you can take your dog there and walk them with other dogs to see how well they get along. That's what we did with our two. |
|
|
|
|
07/04/2012, 09:57 AM
|
|
![]() ![]() ![]()
|
|
| Advanced Member | |
|
We have a 3 year old staffy and he is the most beautiful dog we've ever owned. He gets on well with our older dog (german shepherd cross who's on his last legs) and is amazing with our kids. Where ever the kids are in the yard Bullet (our staffy) is right beside them. He's a massive sook, sits on the kids laps (despite him weighing over 20kgs), cuddles them every time they walk out in the morning. Even though he's 3 years old he still thinks he's a baby. I would never buy any other breed. Love him to bits.
|
|
|
|
|
![]() ![]() |
"Attachment parenting has set me up for ... well, I'm not going to say failure, but for a very difficult time," says one mum.
Amidst all the arguing over which paid parental leave scheme is best for parents, is anyone talking about what's best for babies?
Find out the benefits and risks involved with protecting your child from harmful diseases.
Send your mum a personalised eCard this Mother?s Day to show her you are thankful and to help us remember the women who face motherhood in situations of great adversity.
Check out our new interactive ebook, part of the brand new SMH Shortbooks series, for free!
A mother sparked conversations around the world when she declared, in a national newspaper, that she wished she'd never had her two children. But her story can teach us a valuable lesson on parenthood.
My child is resisting the toilet training process. We got off to a good start, but now she?s refusing to use the toilet. What can we do now?
We've learned a lot since we launched our first JOHNSON'S� baby powder way back in 1894, so we've put together this collection of 'how to' videos to get you started on your exciting journey.
While most women wouldn?t associate being a new parent with feeling more attractive, it seems men see it differently: they think they?re better looking than before they were dads.
Skip to:
You could win one of 20 Call the Midwife Series 2 DVD prize packs.
Win the UE Boombox to listen to music wherever you go, or a TV Cam HD to Skype loved ones right from your TV!
You could win a gorgeous innovative Mamas & Papas Baby Bud!
You could win a MiniMonkey prize pack including one of the new 4-in-1 MiniMonkey Baby Carrier, Baby Sling & Nursing Cover.
Colouring sheets, educational activities and more.
|
Lo-Fi Version Skin by IPB Customize |
Time is now: 21/05/2013 |