|
Navigation |
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
![]() ![]() |
|
02/04/2012, 10:19 AM
|
|
![]()
|
|
| Member | |
|
on bibs
I didn't need bibs for newborn...but did always have a regurgitated milk deposit rag handy (anything from cloth nappy and muslins to a facecloth or hand towel). For drooly days from 1-6 months we used cloth bibs. The plastic backed bibs I only started using at 6 months when solids started. NAPPYING Diaper changing pads : why multiple ones?? a little towel would do? Diaper rash ointment : we use paw paw ointment. A layer of this after each change the first few days is super great for enabling those 1st sticky poos to easily wipe off. 4 waterproof pads for changing table: ?? no idea, again a little towel, flat cloth nappy would do fine Rattles and small toys : wait to see what is gifted...no need for toys for the first few weeks anyway Dirty diaper receptacle : I did get two buckets with lids in bunnings (as we modern cloth nappy) Wipes or cotton cloths : This I do use, we have about 30 resuable cloth wipes (haven't bought a single pack of disposable wipes and DS is coming up on a year) Small thermos to hold warm water (for cleaning babies younger than 6 weeks) Is this for when out and about? I do take a water bottle (one I had pre-baby) out with me to wet cloth wipes for nappy changing if I'm nowhere near a tap...bub has never objected to room temp water however. Plastic wipes holder (for the diaper bag) Don't use. wipes go in bag dry. used wipes and cloth nappies go into wet bags that i got free with my bambooty cloth nappies 2 packages newborn diapers: Had 12 prefolds and 6 small covers for newborn's arrival, plus 8 one-size-fits- most baby behinds nappies and 6 small bambooty all in one nappies. Have since added larger sized covers and bambooties to that stash. CLOTHING 1 pack T-shirts 4 tops would do, the ones with under-bum snaps. Long-sleeved or short sleeve depending on season 6 one-piece outfits that snap at the crotch (long- and shortsleeved) 4 of long sleeved and 4 short sleeved would do 6 pairs socks 3 pairs would do fine 2 pairs soft booties only if winter 2 pairs stretch cotton pants yes 3 bibs and yes Cotton sweater and Zip-up sweatshirt or wool matinee coat or two if winter. Front closing make life easier Knit cap yes Sun hat yes if summer 15 baby hangers Why not just use the hangers that the clothes come on? FEEDING Nursing pillow I did use a milkbar pillow, but did not buy until baby was 7 weeks. Before that I needed to hold him high while sitting upright to get attachment right, and a pillow would have been counter-productive and towards the end of a feed I'd just let him lay on the sofa cushions on my lap. 6 burp cloths or cloth nappies or muslins Nursing bras I just continued to use my maternity bras (stayed the same size), for the few days of engorgement a bonds maternity singlet was also handy. Nursing pads for bras 4 -6 sets of reusable ones would have you sorted. CLEANING 3 hooded towels 1 or 2 would do fine 2 packs of washcloths only need a few, or perhaps a sea sponge Infant bathing tub not essential, sink will do. I did use a tummy tub for 4 months and then the house bath with 2 inches of water worked fine. Baby nail clipper not essential, could just bite then soft nails, but I found a small chippers handy Soft brush and comb not nescessary, although DS liked getting his head tickled with a gifted soft brush Rubbing alcohol wdf is this for????? burning the baby skin??? Petroleum jelly again don't know what for Digital thermometer we had one of these already, was useful for testing my own temp with a bout of mastitis...don't think i've ever used on bub actually, but certainly handy to have in the house. Bulb nasal aspirator I've heard these are handy...don't have one as DS hasn't had a stuffed nose yet Mild soap for laundry yes, but then you may already use a mild/ eco detergent anyway LINENS/NURSERY 4 receiving blankets 2 cotton blankets about 6 baby blankets sounds right, breathable materials (wool cotton bamboo etc) are nicer imo Cradle or bassinet or cot are all not essential and depend on your preference. We used a cot side-cared to our bed, my folks gifted us a bassinet...didn't really use it much to be honest, it was handy at times but could have easily lived without. Cotton sheets for bassinet and cot We had two sets of each Hamper hamper of choccies would be nice alright, ha ha! Changing table I do find this useful and have storage underneath mine, but floor and towel will do fine ON THE GO Rear-facing infant car seat with head support padding YES Stroller yes but not essential Sun shields for car windows yes but not essential Portable playpen no for me Diaper bag yes but not essential, you probably already have a bag that would suffice fine Sling or soft front carrier YES an essential for me and DS anyway, used a hugabub PLAY Bouncy seat mum gave me the one she'd used for me. It was quite handy to be honest although I probably wouldn't have bought one Baby books yes! if these are the ones of nursery rhymes or rhyming stories to read to baby. Digital camera or camcorder Yes Baby music CDs or audiotapes i do have one tape of singing nursery rhymes, useful at times. Playmat with toys attached can make this by chucking a baby blanket on floor and just hanging toys off coffee table, stool or whatever. Squishy baby ball no idea why this is specified, some simple toys are nice from a few weeks old, wait to see what you are gifted before buying. |
|
|
|
|
02/04/2012, 04:54 PM
|
|
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
|
|
| + | |
|
I was thinking about this some more last night. Some other things I love are singlets with press-studs a the bottom so they don't ride up baby's back, my cold-water sterilising system, and the cheap dummies and ribbon with a clip to save them from hitting the floor when spat out
If you bottle feed, my favourite thing is my thermos which I fill with boiling water and can sit a bottle in the lid and then fill it with the water to gently warm it. I use a plastic lined beach bag from Kmart, I think it was about $10, as a nappy bag- it's very light and practical, with a soft fabric strap, and slings across my shoulders comfortably. |
|
|
|
|
04/04/2012, 01:14 PM
|
|
![]()
|
|
| Member | |
|
One thing that soooo many people told me NOT to get and now I tell people to DEFINITELY get! is a change table. 'Oh you can just change baby anywhere, just get a plastic changemat, you don't need a change table'....well after a caesarian and I imagine even after a natural birth, you have non-existent stomach muscles or any core strength and a change table is heaven sent for not giving you a sore back having to lean too far down. Its also great for storing everything you need (nappies, wipes etc) underneath so all changing stuff is in one place.
So get a change table |
|
|
|
|
04/04/2012, 01:22 PM
|
|
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
|
|
| + | |
|
I used the top of the chest of drawers in my baby's room as a change table. Got a curved change mat to fit the top exactly from a baby store and stand sideways, it's great. I didn't have room for a change table in the bedroom
Once she's no longer in nappies, she can use the top of the drawers for books and toys and stuff. I just repainted an old one we had and changed the ugly old 60's plastic handles to new brass ones. Looks great. |
|
|
|
|
05/04/2012, 04:26 PM
|
|
![]()
|
|
| Member | |
|
If you are looking for a list of things you NEED:Nappies and wipesOnesies and jumpsuits - you can get target terry jumpsuits for $5 each during their baby sale, add a bulk pack of long and or short sleeved body suits.A warm hatFlannelette or muslin wrapsCarseatBaby carrier - like hugabub, sling, manduca/ergo
I think thats everything we actually needed for our baby. The cradle and cot were worse than useless as we ended up cosleeping from day one. Pram has been used about a dozen times, usually as a shopping trolley while DS was in the carrier. Used a breast pump at hospital while trying to get him feeding, but not since. Oh, the other thing I would highly reccommend - an ABA breast feeding class. Sorry about format, iPad changed after posting, twice This post has been edited by paradox: 05/04/2012, 04:30 PM |
|
|
|
|
25/04/2012, 04:06 PM
|
|
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
|
|
| ++ | |
|
I had a change table for my twins and we never used it - even straight after having them (i had a c/section). I didn't bother getting one for DD. So personally I wouldn't get a change table.
Definitley get the baby seat the clips in and out of the car and clips straight into the pram. THey are a life saver! |
|
|
|
|
25/04/2012, 04:23 PM
|
|
![]() ![]() ![]()
|
|
| Advanced Member | |
|
I am just popping back into this thread after a bit of an absence and wanted to say THANK YOU ! I still haven't made any significant purchases but so much great info here to work with. |
|
|
|
|
04/05/2012, 02:56 PM
|
|
![]() ![]()
|
|
| Regular Member | |
|
I'm going to add my 2 cents here
We bought for first child (big stuff) Pram/Stroller Capsule - hiring one is probably more cost effective, later we bought a Premier Safe n Sound Cot & Mattress - If you buy BOORI make sure the linen is marked to fit a BOORI cot. They can be bigger than average so not all linen brands fit Change Table - non essential but I found it saved my back and was really useful for storage of nappy stuff. Chest of drawers/Shelves - for clothes/toys etc Column heater for Baby Room Small CD player - DS1 and 2 both love their Norah Jones at nap time Linen 12 cloth nappies 3 cot sheets - no need for whole sets fitted sheets are fine 2 x mattress protectors 2 x cot blankets 1 x pram blanket 2 x change mat covers Lambskin for Stroller 2-4 Muslin Wraps Clothes (000) 6-8 Onsies - Bonds or Target I think with feet are best I HATE putting socks on newborns too fiddly! 6 Singlets or the ones that that do up under the nappy Beanie 4 Swaddle Me Baby Wraps - expensive but worth it becasue we couldn't wrap to save out lives They grow really fast I had heaps of hand me downs (beautiful stuff with tags on in some cases) that were never worn because my boys grew out of the NB/000 in less than 6 weeks. Go simple have enough to keep you going for a day or two tops (you'll wash everyday trust me) Nappies 2 boxs of NB size nappies Sudocream Nappy Bags & Wipes Cotton Balls & Buds Feedings (I never BF so this is a list of bottlefeeding stuff) 2 x tins of Formula - we used NAN HA Gold with both kids 6-8 bottles with NB Teats - I've always used AVENT Bottles they really last Microwave or Electric Steriliser Bottle Brush Other Stuff I swear by my $40 bouncy chair my kids never liked their swing Keep a supply of infant panadol and nurofen + digital thermometer We bought a baby bath and stand the first time, its a hassle to fill so this time we kept the baby bath in the big bath tub and bathed DS2 there in the smaller bath. He is now 8 weeks and sitting in a bath chair - so big expense for about 4 months used combined with both kids. Pram - I had a Mountain Buggy Swift with the Carry Cot which I loved with DS1. If you plan on walking a lot which I did in the early weeks it really was fantastic. Once they are out of the pram attachment it collapses down easily for in and out of the car. - Capsule (get one that can attach from the car straight onto your pram frame if you can. Massive inconvenience to move a sleeping child from car to pram |
|
|
|
|
![]() ![]() |
"Attachment parenting has set me up for ... well, I'm not going to say failure, but for a very difficult time," says one mum.
Amidst all the arguing over which paid parental leave scheme is best for parents, is anyone talking about what's best for babies?
Find out the benefits and risks involved with protecting your child from harmful diseases.
Check out our new interactive ebook, part of the brand new SMH Shortbooks series, for free!
A mother sparked conversations around the world when she declared, in a national newspaper, that she wished she'd never had her two children. But her story can teach us a valuable lesson on parenthood.
My child is resisting the toilet training process. We got off to a good start, but now she?s refusing to use the toilet. What can we do now?
We've learned a lot since we launched our first JOHNSON'S� baby powder way back in 1894, so we've put together this collection of 'how to' videos to get you started on your exciting journey.
While most women wouldn?t associate being a new parent with feeling more attractive, it seems men see it differently: they think they?re better looking than before they were dads.
Skip to:
Lighten the load when you win a Little Rascals Nappy Service!
You could win a copy of Parental Guidance on Blu-ray and DVD and tickets to Madame Tussauds Sydney.
You could win one of 20 Call the Midwife Series 2 DVD prize packs.
Win the UE Boombox to listen to music wherever you go, or a TV Cam HD to Skype loved ones right from your TV!
You could win a gorgeous innovative Mamas & Papas Baby Bud!
Colouring sheets, educational activities and more.
|
Lo-Fi Version Skin by IPB Customize |
Time is now: 24/05/2013 |