|
|
09/04/2012, 03:40 PM
|

|
|
|
|
Just quickly as we are just back from our Easter break and there is masses of washing and uppacking.
Hope everyone had a great easter, Mel you poor thing hopefully you are not in too much pain, poor Nixon hope all is ok now.
I love a bikeride, DH and the big boys did a lot of that over the break, I spent the time mostly chilling with Archie, the others went to the beach a lot but Archie still too little I think which is fine with me. He was so good away, seeing we were in a house with 16 people in it of various ages, such a great baby, although I think we are all glad to be back to our own home and routine.
Archie did a great job especially as he had his needles last week, so far no ill effect, he is so good and I am so lucky, he might be a bit whingy now but that could also be the holiday. he is feeding heaps though so I think he is really thirsty, it has been pretty warm in Perth, 35C tomorrow so am expecting another big feeding day.
SO excited it is the holidays, have no plans now but to chill out and relax, hopefully the big boys let me!
Take care everyone, be back later to update more.
Karen
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
12/04/2012, 10:15 AM
|

|
|
|
Hi Everyone, Thanks for the welcomes  It sounds like everyone had a nice easter break..we stayed home and caught up with family and had some family time. I've been meaning to get on here for a couple of days, but Felicity has been a little restless, so that has been a bit of a challenge. Mel that sounds horrible - how are you feeling now? I'll bet you are keen to avoid surgery. Amy thanks for the tips on getting Felicity to sleep in her basinette during the day - we have had success! Last week she slept in it for at least one of her day time sleeps every day which was fantastic. I was wary about pushing it because I didn't want her to get a negative feeling about it and risk stuffing up her night times, but it's been pretty good. She has been sleeping pretty well at night too, and last night she slept from 10pm to 7am. WOW! I doubt that will be a regular thing, and it may have been becuase she was sooooo tired after grizzling most of the day, but we will see. I am still lucky, as since she was about 6 weeks old (she's now 9.5 weeks) I have only had to get up once most nights. I'm not under any illusion about how good that is, so anything more is an extra bonus. Now to get the dogs to stop waking me during the night...yeah right! I had a Felicity free outing on Monday, I went to breakfast & the movies to see the hunger games with 4 girlfriends while our DH's watched the kids. It went well, but little miss decided she didn't want to take the bottle, so she was pretty hungry by the time I got home! I said DH should have called me and I would have come home, but he managed to get her back to sleep and had some couch cuddles while they waited for the movie to end. So that was nice of him, and I was impressed he managed to get her back to sleep while she was hungry! In the end she went 5 hours without a feed rather than 4, so it wasn't too bad. Okay well I hope you are all well, I am going to try and get some things done around the house while little miss is having a snooze
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
14/04/2012, 09:15 PM
|

|
|
Advanced Member
|
Hi everyone, I was in the Feb 16-29 group so hoping to join in here with you all. Mia was born on the 16th via elective c-section due to my respiratory issues. She was born 3.570kg & 49cm long. We had a high risk for down syndrome from the 12wk scan & no amnio so were very relieved to find out she didn't. She ended up with jaundice (just on the border to not need the lights) and feeding issues & dropped to 3.19kg in hospital. She is 2 months old on Monday & weighs about 4kg now, so still on the smaller side, but we have persisted with the bf'ing. DP and I only have one friend each with kids Mel I hope you are feeling much better now and the pain is settling. Westfield Garden City is not too pleasant in their feeding rooms - I had the cleaner open the curtain and gawk in at me, and the same curtain had blood stains on it :/ The new one at Carindale is lovely, although very busy and I was lucky to get an armchair to sit in to feed. Hope DH had a lovely birthday Flutters - Sounds like you have a lovely time. You are lucky to have a great partner to watch the kids so you can have some me time. DP has just gotten home from work so I better go, Hope everyone is enjoying the weekend
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
15/04/2012, 07:39 AM
|

|
|
Advanced Member
|
|
Hi girls, How are you all? Welcome broncosbabe!!! Hope little Mia continues to feed well and grow. My DD1 was smallish and BF so I know how you feel. This time I have a chubby bubba, 6kg already and into 00 suits, it's crazy. She didn't even get to wear some of her 000 clothes.
We had a birthday party for DD2 here yesterday, so was chaos. But good to reconnect with people again. It is quite isolating having a baby, isn't it? Or maybe it's because most of my socializing was at work?
Sage has now started the big smiles which are delightful, and making some cute "aargh" noises. She sleeps 9 hours most nights, so a 5am wake-up is common here. Last night though I heard her choking / coughing at 3am so got her up.... Poor little thing. It was probably just some milk regurgitating but it worried me at the time.
Hope you are feeling better Mel.
How did you all go with the needles? We had a few extra tears and mild fever but that's about it.
2months already, sometimes it feels difficult to imagine life without baby but at the same time they are so new!
hugs to you all, xx
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
16/04/2012, 04:10 PM
|

|
|
|
Hi everyone, I can't believe that Lucy is 9 weeks old today. We had a very unsettled week last week (week 8 is a wonder week) her night time sleeps were still pretty good just very grizzly during the day. So hopefully her day time activities improve but I'm definitely noticing some development changes - it's great to see them grow and progress mentally also. Needles went fine - if anything I reckon it made her drowsy! I didn't like hearing the squawk though, DF held her as I tried my best to distract her. So no other reaction that I could tell. I hope all the other bubbas coped well too. As Lucy is growing so quick we have made the transition from the bassinet to the cot. The bassinet is quite small.. a family heirloom (white wicker rocking style) she could possibly stay in it for a few weeks yet but we are driving to Melbourne in a couple of weeks (we are from Adelaide) and she'll have to use a portacot, so we wanted to get her familiar with a bigger space. Lucy has slept in her own room since she came home which is right next to ours and luckily she has transitioned very well to the cot. She settles much better in it. We actually put her down, say good night and walk out - I can't believe it! Last night she slept for 9.5 hrs woke at 4am for a half an hour feed the slept til 8:45.. I would love that to continue but things can be so different from day to day. Anyway, enough of me.. doctorseuss - Sage sounds like she's doing very well and a good sleeper too. I love hearing the new noises that they make. Lucy is 6kgs too but is still fitting into most 000 clothes at the moment. I don't know how you manage having 2 others to look after! Flutters I'm glad to hear Felicity has had some success with day naps. Your DH deserves a high five  . Mel hope you're recovering well and Nixon is good. Welcome broncosbabe and Mia! Karen it sounds like Archie is a little trooper and just likes to go with the flow Hello to everyone else, duty calls!
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
17/04/2012, 01:52 PM
|

|
|
|
Hi all! Welcome broncosbabe & little Mia. Wow, Mia really a little one isn't she, Nixon was almost 4 kilos born & I thought he was tiny then. Good on you for sticking with the bfeeding too. Looking forward to hearing more from you as the months go by! Hope all you ladies with school aged little ones enjoyed the Easter holidays. Karen, it sounds like Archie is such a little champ! Ooh, a baby free outing flutters!! I can't wait for that day although it looks like my first baby free day will be the day that I have to have the surgery on my gall bladder  How scary was the bassinet to cot transition FTM. Nixon still sleeps in his bassinet through the night but for his day sleeps I put him in his cot. His bassinet is huge & he will still fit in it for a while yet but I do want to get him used to his cot for when the time comes. How sweet are these big smiles doctorseuss! Nixon is smiling all the time & it just melts my heart! I can't help but beam back at him, even when it's 5:30am & I'm trying to get him back to sleep lol! Also when I'm feeding him & he pulls off, gives me a big smile then latches back on.... So sweet! Needles went ok, I only had a little tear but Nixon did get a mild temp & I had to give him panadol to help bring his temp down that night but he was fine the next day. AFM- I'm feeling much better at the moment thanks girls! I have an appointment with the specialist next week to discuss surgery. I must say, I'm pretty keen to have the gall bladder out as the pain was excruciating & I don't want to go through that again but I do want to discuss the pros & cons with surgery and bfeeding. What did they say to you about it doctorseuss when you had to have a general anesthetic the other week? How did it effect you feeding Sage? Hey Lizzie & Molokai, hope your both really well & a big hello to anyone else I have missed. Have a great week! Mel xx
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
17/04/2012, 03:52 PM
|

|
|
It's hard to say no to Yoo-Hoo. The name literally beckons.
|
Hi ladies. Hope all is well. I'm rarely on my laptop lately so its hard to do a long reply. There's no room on my lap with a little man laying there most of the day! I think I'll go to the clinic tomorrow, I wasn't to ask them about Archer's feeding. He rarely spends more than 5 minutes on the breast and usually won't take the second one at all. At night he falls straight back to sleep after the 5 minute snack but only for a few hours then wakes up hungry - maximum of three hours straight. I'm so jealous of you girls with bubs sleeping 9 hours! During the day he sleeps lightly for an hour or so them wakes up. I'm wondering if he doesn't like the milk, or what. I'm close to trying formula to see if that makes a difference. The clinic lactation consultants will no doubt say its normal and put up with it, but its starting to get to me. I thought things are supposed to get better by 12 Weeks but I can't see him changing in 2 Weeks. He had also decided that 3am is scream time, after a feed he screams while I'm changing him and won't stop, won't take the second side and won't go to sleep unless I actively pat his back and rock him for half hour. Plus you can set your clock by him when arsenic hour comes, 5 pm daily he screams himself into a tizzy and only stops when we bath him. But then he had his long sleep after the bath, so from 7 ish until 10.30 or 11. Gah sorry about the whinge. I don't have anyone to talk to about this, no friends with babies here. Is he normal? At least the rest of the day and night he is good, cute and happy and gives gorgeous smiles and giggles and I love him to bits. Just looking forward to longer sleeps from him if it ever happens! Hope everything goes well at the specialist Mel. Hi to broncos, Karen, flutters, FTM, doc Seuss, Lizzie, Nat and everyone else.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
17/04/2012, 06:55 PM
|

|
|
|
|
Hi Molokai,
If you are concerned with Archer's feeding then make an appointment with your clinic for sure - if anything it will give you peace of mind that he doing well.
Be assured that the 9 hour stretch is not a regular sleep pattern for Lucy, however we are are luckily enough to get 5 hours of unbroken sleep regularly.
Lucy is also very ratty in the afternoons and sometimes screams and screams but since I have been trying to establish a routine and really understand her tired cues things have improved greatly. And you're not whinging - it must be hard if you don't have friends around you have babies. I also try to do internet surfing with any queries/concerns.
I hope the 12 week mark is that miracle turning point we are all told of too!
Anyway bath time for Lucy.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
18/04/2012, 09:25 AM
|

|
|
|
|
Hey Everyone & welcome Broncosbabe!
Molokai I feel your pain - the last 5 days the wheels have really fallen off with Felicity - back to not sleeping during the day unless she is in someones arms, and her feeding got really bad too. She was constantly pulling herself off and screaming and when I would lay her down to put her back on she would cry and cry, and get soooo worked up. Friday she slept for 3 lots of half an hour between 8am and 7pm, my god I was pulling my hair out. Then she got worse over the weekend...Sunday night she screamed for over 4 hours, and finally went to sleep. Her long night time sleeps have gone out the window too - she is back to sleeping for about 4 hours at a time, and last night she decided at 3.30 after a nice long feed that she wanted to check out the loungeroom, so she was looking all over the place..little miss nosy!
I was going to take her to the clinic yesterday, but Monday night she was getting back on track, so I think I can put it down to something I ate affecting my milk. Could that be it with Archer? Is there something you have every night that could be upsetting him? It's all such a guessing game! I hope you got some suggestions from the clinic..my local clinic has been a godsend, I think they are a good set up.
Felicity is also bad in the evening..from about 5pm to 10 pm she just snacks and naps and cries. DH and I now tag team dinner, or make sure we have something that can be eaten one handed. I am like you though - I keep hanging out for this magical 12 weeks, but she is 10 weeks now, and I just can't see big changes happening in the next 2 weeks. Which then freaks me out, as the MACH nurse said I should be trying to get her into a routine by 12 - 16 weeks, so that I'm not forming back habits. I just don't see the light at the end of the tunnel, especially when it comes to her evenings.
Anyhow enough on me..
I agree with you doctorseuss - it's so hard not to interact with them when you are getting big smiles at all hours of the morning...I feel nasty for not chatting to her, but I do give her big smiles and a little cuddle and kiss as we are on our way out to the loungeroom to feed.
Mel I hope you are continuing to feel better.
Hi to everyone else - my mum has just turned up to watch Fliss while I take the dogs down to get groomed, and Fliss has just woken up right on cue!
xxxx
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
  |
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:
|
|
We know you're busy. That's why we've made it easier to connect with us online.
It?s a simple premise: a dad re-enacts the conversations he has with his two year old daughter ? but the daughter is played by a grown man. And the results are very, very funny.
At last, a new Standards Australia revision now allows for ISOFIX child restraints.
NSW Health has warned of a current outbreak of mumps across the state, urging members of the public to check their vaccination status.
The tragic case of two young boys who died while their mother was only metres away has highlighted the need for ongoing awareness of postnatal depression.
Whether your child is on a special seat on your bike, is sitting in an attached trailer, or is 'helping to pedal' on a half bike, there are lots of options to keep everyone comfortable and safe while cycling as a family.
For many, the Mirena IUD is a brilliant contraceptive option. For me, however, it was a dreadful mistake ? and I've since learnt I'm not alone.
In 1938, the Finnish government began giving parents-to-be packages to help them care for their babies, supplying them with clothes, nappies, and a box that could be used as the child?s bed. Today, the tradition is still going strong.
In parents? ever-increasing search for the perfect memento of their pregnancy comes an ultrasound you can touch.
Somewhere along the journey, someone removed my ?me? identity and replaced it with ?mum?. Here's what I've learnt about finding my 'me' again.
Gossip sites went into meltdown over news of Kate Winslet's pregnancy to her third husband. Amy Gray looks at why people judged her so harshly while so many others go unscathed.
Why do the ordinary people who go to extraordinary lengths to help give children a better life often end up out of pocket?
Lisa Curry may be 51 years old, but she?s not letting that get in the way of trying for a baby.
Check out our new interactive ebook, part of the brand new SMH Shortbooks series, for free!
You can win a Safety 1st car seat featuring Air Protect side-impact technology and a travel pack, valued at $290.
You could win the stylish 4WD Cosmopolitan pram from Mountain Buggy, valued at $799.
You could win one of 10 copies of the album Ten in the Bed by Jay Laga'aia.
You could win 1 of 4 $50 vouchers to spend at babyography.net.au.
It's party time!
Find everything you need to plan your next kids party. Essential Kids has ideas for kids party themes, free printable invites, cake ideas and tips for party games.
Featured Promotions
|