3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic

> April DIG weekly chat commencing 28 Feb

V
sammi87
post 28/02/2012, 02:11 PM
Post #1

So another week gone and we are almost in March which means our turn next month!

Its been very quiet in here lately.

I don't have much to report except I have had pretty bad swelling in my feet and ankles - started to get worried that it could be pre-eclampsia so I went to the doctors yesterday and its all fine just usual pregnancy swelling - it wouldn't bother me except for the fact that the only shoes that fit me are my thongs!

My baby shower is this Sunday - I am getting excited but feel a little guilty as I really cant wait to see what I get for presents just so that I can work out what I still need to get - I have been holding off buying anything until then just so that I dont end up with heaps of stuff I dont need.

My belly has really popped this week, all of the clothes that I was wearing aren't fitting anymore and I feel massive! Doesn't help that my MIL reminds me how big I am each time I see her! I have put on 10kg so far and hope its not much more with 50 days to go.

I dont have any questions I can think of this week, I am feeling quite relaxed about the birth and labour its more what happens afterwards when we come home and have this massive responsibility that scares me!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
C.Lever
post 28/02/2012, 02:26 PM
Post #2
Hi Girls

I think we are interacting more. On Fb maybe this is why it's so quiet on hear? Although I'm on my phone as lap top
Is down so a little more difficult to regularly post in hear!!

I'm with you sammi on the birth and labour im feeling very relaxed about it all, I think my pre natal classes helped alot!

I have my baby shower this Saturday and can't wait, esspecially now that we have out nursery together!!

I can't believe that it's our turn for babies next month, although sometimes it feels like the weeks are dragging!!

Xx

+Quote Post
teemoodesign
post 28/02/2012, 04:26 PM
Post #3
Adding number 2!
I know what you mean, I try to log in here each day so I dont miss out on anything but have noticed the facebook group is going strong. I have my c/section booked for 30/03 which means that Ill be with a babyboy.gif in 31 sleeps !!

Question - for those with children already, whats the best way to introduce the new baby to your current child.

DS1 turned 3 in January and knows all about his brother Hunter who is going to come just before Easter Time. I am having a c/section so we asked MIL/FIL to come down to watch DS1 that weekend as DH will be in the room with me. I was hoping to let them know all was good once I was back in my room AFTER recovery. Then they could bring down DS1 and we could bring him into the room on his own so he could meet his little brother. However MIL will be down on her own and FIL is coming down later that day, so does this make things weird? Asking her to wait whilst taking in DS1? Also DH will need to go home, pick them up and bring them to the hospital as we have manual cars and MIL can only drive auto.

Im sure it will be fine and she will respect our wishes but part of me cannot help wonder.... why do we always double think things with our PILS????

+Quote Post
TherapyAddict
post 28/02/2012, 04:42 PM
Post #4
Hi Ladies original.gif

First of all, I hope you are all well!

Sammi87 - sorry to hear about your swelling, it's such an uncomfortable feeling - I am just lucky that I don't have it this PG, but signs of PE in my first PG put me in hospital. Elevate your feet/legs as much as you can original.gif

I'm thinking of not having a baby shower, I feel a tad greedy as already having a child - I don't know if it's 'kosher' so to speak? Let me know what you all think!

I am not a part of this Facebook group? Missing out by the sounds of things! How does one join?

Had my 32wk sizing scan last Thursday, our little girl took my breath away wub.gif DD1 was fascinated seeing her little sister on the monitor and asked 'Mummy, why is your baby orange?!' - needless to say the sonographer, mum & I were in stitches laughing2.gif

DF comes home on Monday! eexcite.gif It's been a long 4 weeks & DD1 is starting to fret - little cherub!

Take care & stay well

Xx

+Quote Post
fischa72
post 28/02/2012, 09:14 PM
Post #5
I am with you teemoodesign, nothing will stop my mother being here this time (her words) as we didn't want anyone at the hospital with our first, my father has been diagnosed with a brain tumor in Dec and so now the fight is on whether dad will be well enough or whether FIL and partner will come for the birth, I am so selfish and don't really want either sets to be there on the day of the c-section, I want my little girl to meet her sister all by herself and have our own family time before anyone else is to come in. Once again I know it is me being selfish but I don't want anyone at home when I get home from the hospital either, but I have the feeling that they are 'settling in' for awhile to 'help out'. Miss 3.5 has everything under control, she can bath herself, get food herself, dress herself, wipe her own bum and lets her father know straight away if he is not doing it right like mum does!! She is so excited about her little sister I don't want too much upheaval for her having a heap of people around fussing over the New baby and then them all leaving and it being a big shock to her when it is not the same as having everyone there!

+Quote Post
readyandraring
post 28/02/2012, 11:15 PM
Post #6
Hi Girls, thought I would check in and see how we are all going.

Sammi I hear you on the feet, luckily my shoes fit but they look red all the time to me these days and sooo hot! You poor thing getting around in thongs!

I am not too stressed about the labour either, this is my first and I guess I just figure it has to be done, I know it will hurt but it means I am so so close to meeting my son or daughter! You know I only just said those words for the first time yesterday and I nearly cried, I have referred to it as the baby, bub, girl or boy but never son or daughter, I am amazed that I am going to have my own!!!

Milli have you joined the Facebook group now? If not PM me your details and I will add you.

Also I think it is up to you whether you have a baby shower or not, plenty of people have them when it is not their first, has anyone offered to organize one for you?

fischa - oh I would be the same as you about wanting to introduce your daughter by yourselves but also come home to an empty house. It is nice that they want to help out but they need to understand that this is your family time. Are they from far away, can they just come over at set times to give you a hand?
What does your DH/DP think?

AFM - I have been in so much pain with my back lately, I am off to see my osteo tomorrow, I think I let the appointment slip by a week. I have also been getting quite a bit of pain around the groin like sharp pains, anyone else? I read that it can be the baby moving down?

I guess like everyone else I am just generally uncomfortable, I hate that I am complaining about it at all after taking two years to get here but I could cry at times with the discomfort! and then bub seems to be kicking and moving around so much it makes me feel nauseous. I am happy really but I am looking forward to getting my body back.

+Quote Post
fischa72
post 29/02/2012, 06:20 AM
Post #7
Thanks Readyandraring, I was beginning to think I shouldn't be so selfish, my mum and dad live 2 hours away and FIL lives about 7 hours away. Hubby is finding it hard as he would feel kind of uncomfortable having my parents here where as his father he can just still do his own thing pretty much and not feel he has to 'look after' him as such, but it is still an extra pressure having people in the house to think about for meals and getting ready to go anywhere. Neither of the parents have much to do with young children and don't realise the things they let her do come back and bit you in the bum in ten minutes time, she definately has our independent streak and they seem to 'baby' her which annoys me as we have taught her certain things and without thinking they go and do the things we have taught her not to, I know they don't mean it but the last thing I need is to be worring about what she is getting up to!

I am hearing everyone about the swollen feet and ankles, I have 1 pair of shoes that I wear everywhere and they are getting tight as well. Hubby has had Pneumonia and I am now getting a cold so my poor belly is tight from nose blowing and starting to cough. I am definately with the uncomfortable thing that is for sure.

Thanks for letting me vent original.gif

+Quote Post
athnessa
post 29/02/2012, 07:08 AM
Post #8

Fischa, I don't think you are being selfish at all. It is totally up to you who is at the birth and who visits later/stays at your house. Don't feel guilty if you don't want people there, even if they are close relatives. It is a private time for you and your immediate family and other people have no right to deny you that or make you feel bad if you want that private time.

Also got swollen feet and aching legs which makes the choice of shoes important. Apart from flip flops I have one pair of shoes I wear. Every time she sees me my mother says "you've got those terrible shoes on again". I cannot believe the rudeness of such a statement, I know they are daggy but they are comfortable.

DS is 4 so he really knows about the baby and asks lots of questions "does the baby like Lollies? Is the baby laughing? Where does the baby do poo?" I am trying to involve him in things, helping decorate the nursery, asking him what he thinks of names, and telling him how he's going to be my big boy helper. I am keeping him in daycare 4 days a week until after the baby is born so he will have someone to look after him if I am in hospital during the week. Otherwise there are grandparents who can help out. DH will continue to go to work and only take leave when I come home from the hospital. I will have to remember to buy some Easter eggs in case I am in hospital over Easter so that I can make sure the Easter Bunny still comes for DS as DH won't organize it.

Ready I find it hard to think of the baby as anything other than "baby". Even though I know it is a girl I still refer to it as "it". I think I am still really paranoid and won't believe it until I have given birth and am holding a healthy alive baby in my arms. Am not nervous about the birth or labour as such, just for the baby to survive it and be ok.

+Quote Post
TherapyAddict
post 29/02/2012, 07:33 AM
Post #9
QUOTE (readyandraring @ 28/02/2012, 11:15 PM) *
Milli have you joined the Facebook group now? If not PM me your details and I will add you.

Also I think it is up to you whether you have a baby shower or not, plenty of people have them when it is not their first, has anyone offered to organize one for you?

Thank you, yes I joined yesterday - I've just no idea what to write as a first post laughing2.gif any suggestions?!

My mum has offered to throw me a shower, I am just in two minds whether it's completely necessary - but I would love to catch up with some of my friends over lunch or something very informal original.gif

+Quote Post
C.Lever
post 29/02/2012, 07:40 AM
Post #10
Hi Milli

We talk about anything, but an introduction could be a nice idea! X

+Quote Post

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

The accidental attachment parent

"Attachment parenting has set me up for ... well, I'm not going to say failure, but for a very difficult time," says one mum.

Baby love is worth the expense

Amidst all the arguing over which paid parental leave scheme is best for parents, is anyone talking about what's best for babies?

Immunisation, fever and pain relief

Find out the benefits and risks involved with protecting your child from harmful diseases.

Thank You Mum

Send your mum a personalised eCard this Mother?s Day to show her you are thankful and to help us remember the women who face motherhood in situations of great adversity.

Free: 'The First Year' ebook

Check out our new interactive ebook, part of the brand new SMH Shortbooks series, for free!

One mum's 'biggest mistake' offers lesson for all

A mother sparked conversations around the world when she declared, in a national newspaper, that she wished she'd never had her two children. But her story can teach us a valuable lesson on parenthood.

Ask an expert: My child is suddenly resisting toilet training

My child is resisting the toilet training process. We got off to a good start, but now she?s refusing to use the toilet. What can we do now?

Johnson's Baby 'how to' videos

We've learned a lot since we launched our first JOHNSON'S� baby powder way back in 1894, so we've put together this collection of 'how to' videos to get you started on your exciting journey.

New dads are sexy and they know it

While most women wouldn?t associate being a new parent with feeling more attractive, it seems men see it differently: they think they?re better looking than before they were dads.

Competitions

Win a Call the Midwife Series 2 DVD Prize Pack!

You could win one of 20 Call the Midwife Series 2 DVD prize packs.

Win Logitech gadgets for your home

Win the UE Boombox to listen to music wherever you go, or a TV Cam HD to Skype loved ones right from your TV!

Win a Mamas & Papas Baby Bud

You could win a gorgeous innovative Mamas & Papas Baby Bud!

Win a MiniMonkey prize pack

You could win a MiniMonkey prize pack including one of the new 4-in-1 MiniMonkey Baby Carrier, Baby Sling & Nursing Cover.

Preschool activities

Free downloadable printables

Colouring sheets, educational activities and more.

Featured Promotions

RSS Lo-Fi Version
Skin by IPB Customize
Time is now: 21/05/2013

Essential Baby and Essential Kids is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, kids entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums or the Essential Kids forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. Essential Kids features a range of free printable worksheets for kids from preschool years through to primary school years. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby and Essential Kids.