|
|
18/04/2012, 08:41 AM
|

|
|
Advanced Member
|
hello ladies DH and I got back from our babymoon on Monday. Was so lovely - we went to Tassie for a week and did a driving holiday. Then spent two nights in Melbourne before driving home. Loved spending the time with hubby Bumped Up - Why hello there, chicken! Yep, I'm nearly 22 weeks now (tomorrow - whoop whoop!). And have realised that I don't actually have as much gas as what I've thought, and that those bubbles popping in my tum must actually be bubs  I've felt bubbles for a little over a week now. The first time that I realised what it actually was we were still in Tassie - yay! Still can't wait until they're stronger and I'm being bashed and bruised! I was really impatient for it to start, too. But had it in my head that I would be 20 weeks or more before I felt it which in a way kind of helped. Any movement news for you? How exciting for your scan tomorrow! Are you going to find out the sex? Scout - Georgia is just soooooooo darn cute!! What a lil' cutie!! So so happy for you Cacti - Yay on the shopping trip! Sounds like you bought a lot of big ticket stuff (the kind that's such a relief to be taken off the list!). That's beautiful that your dad bought the pram and your grandma bought the car seat. And such important gifts, too. Are you going to be having a baby shower? And I'm sorry - I can't really help on the carry cot problem! Satay -  Think of you often, sweet xx Sending  to GGM, Ards, Mickey, Minnie, Mav (miss you xxx), Purple and all the other yummy mummies xxxx AFM - Slight movement here (YAY!!). And have my (delayed) 20 week scan on Friday. Can't wait! Just want to see that everything is hunky dory and that our little Wonder Baby is growing as it should be.  you all xx
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
18/04/2012, 06:14 PM
|

|
|
Advanced Member
|
|
BumpedUp - we're having a surprise. So still a while before we find out!
Fairey - yay for movement! What a clever Wonder Baby.
I'm not sure if I'll be having a baby shower or not. A friend has offered to organise one for me but she lives across the state and would have to spend $$ on flights to get here, so I'd feel bad.
Yes, I'm very relieved to have some of the big ticket items crossed off! I just need a cot mattress, change table, baby bath, and to decide what to do for the bassinet.
I also went out a few days ago and got a few little outfits in green and yellow, and some singlets, and thought, "Now I'm all prepared if bubs arrives unexpectedly!" then immediately thought, "Except these clothes would be far too big... hmmm." I'm trying to be prepared anyway!
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
19/04/2012, 11:45 AM
|

|
|
|
Cacti, regarding your bassinet delema, I personally wouldn't use the carrycot. I think it depends on how big your house is and how big your bedroom is. If you have a reasonably small house and you have a big enough bedroom to have the cot in, then maybe you could do that. I have a bassinet that is beside our bed during the night then I move it to the lounge during the day. Its good to get your baby used to sleeping with lots of noise around, I can vacume under it and Georgia won't wake up  and I like to have her close to me to keep an eye on her  but I know a lot of people who put their babies straight into a cot and that works well too. But first and foremost, go with what you feel comfortable with, I have learnt that what is ok for one set of parents isn't ok for another and to go with what you feel is right. You'll get heaps of advice over the next few months but if you always go with what you feel is right then you can't go wrong.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
19/04/2012, 06:10 PM
|

|
|
Advanced Member
|
|
Thanks for answering, Scout - I do have a small house, all on one level, and a largish bedroom that could fit a cot with some rearranging.
I'm only not wanting to get the bassinet because I've had people tell me that they're in them for such a short amount of time that it's not worth the money. But we can afford it, so it makes me conflicted! I'm also not sure where I want bub to sleep during the day (in terms of if I'd move a bassinet around). Hmmm.
I should probably laugh at myself, this bassinet is the thing I've most wavered over! Do I get one, do I use the cot, does it need to have wheels, etc, etc. I think my inner voice is broken on this one!
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
22/04/2012, 10:09 PM
|

|
|
|
|
Cacti I can understand not being able to make decisions. I'm yet to go buy anything yet but can't decide whether bub will go straight into a cot or into a bassinet first. also can't even decide whether to get brown or white furniture for our room. Heading to the shops in the next few weeks to start looking and try make a few decisions. Can't wait.
Fairy - your holiday sounds fantastic. MIL only just returned from Tasmania last week. Yay for bub showing you some movement whilst on your babymoon.
AFM - now almost 16 weeks and just waiting. Going to start cleaning out what will become the nursery now that hubby is heading back to work tomorrow and I'll have way too much spare time on my hands
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
24/04/2012, 05:33 PM
|

|
|
Advanced Member
|
|
Fairey - yep, that's good. I think your maternal age risk would be around 1:1200, so Wonder Baby must have good results to push it out so far.
Cams - I wavered over colours as well, took months, finally decided (green, white, green, white, no, BROWN) and picked out the furniture I wanted to buy, then got a call from a friend the next day asked if we'd like the white cot his daughter had out grown that he'd only had for a year. So white it is! Now... what colour walls?
How long is your husband away this time? Back soon?
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
25/04/2012, 07:37 PM
|

|
|
|
Ended up dropping into Baby Bunting after dropping hubby at the airport. Decision has been made, going for brown furniture  Now to decide exactly what I want but thinking Boori Classic and a 4 chest of drawers for change table. Also tried out the glider chairs and they were very comfy  Are most people getting a chair for the nursery? Cacti - that's great you're getting given a cot, good thing you hadn't made your purchases yet. I've decided that we're not going to paint the walls. They're a slight off white colour which I quite like and we have throughout the house so instead will use those sticky things you can put on the walls and hang up pictures etc. Don't want to darken the room either. Hubby won't be home now for 5 weeks so I'll be 21 weeks by then!! Had a massive day today of cooking and then tackling the room that will be the nursery. Managed to clean out half of the stuff and now to find a home for the rest of the stuff and get someone to remove all the furniture, very exciting
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
27/04/2012, 02:43 PM
|

|
|
Advanced Member
|
|
Sounds very nice, Cams, good shopping! I really like the brown furniture that they have, it looks nice and I thought isn't too babyish? If that makes sense.
I'm going to borrow a chair for the nursery, I think, because I don't have anywhere else to put a chair afterwards. Otherwise I'd go for a glider/recliner, they're lovely, and I'd really like one now that I'm getting towards the bigger end of pregnancy. My mum still has the rocking chair she used with us, so I just need to work out if I can get it to my house.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
30/04/2012, 08:08 AM
|

|
|
|
Cacti - that sounds like a lovely idea getting your mum's old rocking chair, hope you're able to get it home. I sent an email with all the things I was looking at getting to hubby and he said why do I need a chair in there when we have recliners in the loungeroom. He just doesn't get it, will need a seat in there so I can at least do night time feeds to minimise disturbance to bubs. Have since been told of an option from IKEA which is only $99 so I might even consider getting that instead. What is everyone thinking for prams? I'm currently considering the new Baby Jogger City Mini GT but waiting for the single version to come into store so I can have a look and make a final decision. Hope everyone has a good week
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
  |
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:
|
|
"Attachment parenting has set me up for ... well, I'm not going to say failure, but for a very difficult time," says one mum.
Amidst all the arguing over which paid parental leave scheme is best for parents, is anyone talking about what's best for babies?
Find out the benefits and risks involved with protecting your child from harmful diseases.
Check out our new interactive ebook, part of the brand new SMH Shortbooks series, for free!
A mother sparked conversations around the world when she declared, in a national newspaper, that she wished she'd never had her two children. But her story can teach us a valuable lesson on parenthood.
My child is resisting the toilet training process. We got off to a good start, but now she?s refusing to use the toilet. What can we do now?
We've learned a lot since we launched our first JOHNSON'S� baby powder way back in 1894, so we've put together this collection of 'how to' videos to get you started on your exciting journey.
While most women wouldn?t associate being a new parent with feeling more attractive, it seems men see it differently: they think they?re better looking than before they were dads.
Lighten the load when you win a Little Rascals Nappy Service!
You could win a copy of Parental Guidance on Blu-ray and DVD and tickets to Madame Tussauds Sydney.
You could win one of 20 Call the Midwife Series 2 DVD prize packs.
Win the UE Boombox to listen to music wherever you go, or a TV Cam HD to Skype loved ones right from your TV!
You could win a gorgeous innovative Mamas & Papas Baby Bud!
Preschool activities
Colouring sheets, educational activities and more.
Featured Promotions
|