|
|
|
09/02/2012, 09:02 PM
|

|
|
|
QUOTE (Brie9 @ 09/02/2012, 06:36 PM)  I'm guessing AF is your period?What is DPO?CD? I'm not too sure about OPKs, sorry. There are others using them though, so hopefully someone knows but what szj said above is my understanding of them too  AF = aunty flow = period DPO = days past ovulation CD = cycle day hope that helps
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
10/02/2012, 06:56 PM
|

|
|
|
Welcome Brie9!!!! Feel free to ask any time you're not sure what something means - I spent ages trying to work heaps of them out!!! OPK is Ovulation Predictor Kit (I'm sure you knew that one, but just making sure!). It will be positive when there is an LH Surge and that surge normally occurs 24-48 hours before you ovulate. So, that's why it's called a predictor. You'll probably have to stop before the LH surge happens, but you may want to continue testing anyway so you know when you did ovulate for future reference, if it doesn't happen this time round. That's what I'm doing this month - I got a very faint line this morning (which is still a negative test) and then did one just then and there wasn't even a hint of a line. I'm going to stop 4 days before I should be ovulating so that means tonight is the last night and I should get a positive OPK in a couple of days. So, I'll have one last BD (Baby Dancing) tonight and then will keep doing OPKs until I get a positive one just so I know when I actually ovulated (my cycle is annoyingly irregular). Alluneedislove CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!  Sounds like it's definitely positive, any line is still a line, it may just be very early. Agghhhhhh so exciting for you mate, I'm hoping it's your little man who's making himself nice and comfy in there!!!! Looking forward to hearing it confirmed!!!! WOOHOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!  Thanks for the link too. Yeah szj I'm with you - not a big fan of the OPKs but I'm worried that my CM is affected by, um, remnants of BDing... Cuz we use some lubricant (sorry if TMI - Too Much Information!). Do you reckon that affects CM (cervical mucous) at all??? It sounds on track at the moment as today was the first day it changed and I had planned for this day to be the last day BDing so hopefully it all goes according to plan!!! Wish I had ovulation pains, sounds like yours are a very helpful indicator! Awww clm we will miss you in here but hope you get your BFP (Big Fat Positive Brie) very soon, and who knows??? It may be your little guy coming when he's ready. Aqua when are you testing??? PS - I hope people are okay with me shortening their names when I reply - I find it a bit easier to remember people, but just let me know if there's any probs with that.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
10/02/2012, 07:44 PM
|

|
|
|
Hi Aurora!!! sounds like you have it all sorted.....and YEP! I have heard it is harder to tell with CM after unprotected sex as it's mixed with 'other' things  I hope I am aware enough of where I am in my cycle to piece it all together! Sounds like you certainly are ME----AF has started today, so here we go!!!! I am so very nervous! I have just beeen researching a new private midwife who has started in our town, I'd love to go through the pregnancy with her, BUT it's so FREAKING expensive!! We have no private health so the hospital will charge $400 a night to stay!!
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
11/02/2012, 12:52 AM
|

|
|
|
Oh gosh szj, we will see!!!! Aggghhhh don't feel like it's all sorted. My mentality is that I am trying for a girl and if, after all that, I have a boy, he was meant to be here.  And yeah, unprotected sex has thrown me a bit so I'm really relying a bit on the OPKs. But I've used them for a few months so I know how my CM normally goes, and it actually matches with the OPKs pretty well. I'm a bit busy this weekend fyi, going to see the musical Oliver! tomorrow and then my Mum's group is having a night out tomorrow night. Might pop in on Sunday to see how everyone is going. Yikes szj, yep that's a bit exxy for the hospital stay - but at least you know way ahead - if you feel it's worth it, go for it, I say. A good friend of mine is a midwife who's employed by an OB and I'll probably go with him again (had him for DS, he works in a team and someone else delivered DS but he was awesome as well). Have a great weekend!
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
12/02/2012, 07:15 PM
|

|
|
|
QUOTE (aurora sleeping @ 10/02/2012, 07:56 PM)  Aqua when are you testing??? welllll, in theory, I'd be waiting until the 24th of Feb, but in reality???? I'm not sure?!?! Probable the 22nd or so?? Eeeek! What about you?? szj - woo hoo!!! here we go! I went private with my last 2, but next time I'm going public. We cancelled our private health insurance and can't really afford it plus the out of pocket expenses. I'm hoping I get some lovely midwives. I think I'll hire a doula too for extra support. Was thinking that maybe we need a little list to see where everyone is up to in their cycle?? Not heaps of info, but maybe just user name, TTC#1,2,3 etc, CD, testing day, gender swinging for?? eg aqua. TTC#3. CD18. testing Feb 24th. swinging for a girl what do you think?? I've been going back in the thread to see what everyone is up to, but it's hard to keep track!
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
12/02/2012, 07:17 PM
|

|
|
|
|
hmmm, maybe without the CD on the list?? Otherwise it'll have to be updated all the time and we might get off track???
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
12/02/2012, 07:32 PM
|

|
|
|
Well aqua AF is due on 28th Feb but I might test earlier than that - the only thing that would stop me is the knowledge that we may not get a BFP this month as we BD'd quite far away from O (in trying to sway for a girl) so yeah, I don't want to get my hopes up... But maybe that's the very reason I should test early!!! Arrrgghhhhh who am I kidding???? I'll probably test early!!!! What's the earliest I can test??? 6 days before??? I think First Response does 6 days before, so maybe will do that... And a list would be GREAT!!! Maybe something like: aurora sleepingDS1 Swaying for a GIRL Testing: 22nd Feb So we can see what other kids people have? Woo!
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
12/02/2012, 08:14 PM
|

|
|
|
Add me ladies!!!!! SZJ Mumma to DD, DS, DS (born sleeping), DS Swaying for a GIRL Testing: 10th March
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
12/02/2012, 10:10 PM
|
|
|
|
Great to see we all getting busy ... My GP's appointment is on Thursday. I only tested once the other day and am deliberately waiting until Thursday, knowing better each day that it is becoming a reality  . Yeah!!!!!! Been finding hard to keep a secret though ... Please tell me when should we (DH and I) start to tell our DD (she's 8, I know it's been a while!) ??? Guess I'd have to move to the "Due October 2012" mansion soon. Happy swaying ladies ...
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
12/02/2012, 10:24 PM
|
|
|
|
Oh szj and aurora sleeping, thanks for the support. We are definitely finding out the sex.. I hope that will be very easy anyway  ... Will keep you updated my dears ...
This post has been edited by Alluneedislove: 12/02/2012, 10:24 PM
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
  |
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:
|
|
"Attachment parenting has set me up for ... well, I'm not going to say failure, but for a very difficult time," says one mum.
Amidst all the arguing over which paid parental leave scheme is best for parents, is anyone talking about what's best for babies?
Find out the benefits and risks involved with protecting your child from harmful diseases.
Send your mum a personalised eCard this Mother?s Day to show her you are thankful and to help us remember the women who face motherhood in situations of great adversity.
Check out our new interactive ebook, part of the brand new SMH Shortbooks series, for free!
A mother sparked conversations around the world when she declared, in a national newspaper, that she wished she'd never had her two children. But her story can teach us a valuable lesson on parenthood.
My child is resisting the toilet training process. We got off to a good start, but now she?s refusing to use the toilet. What can we do now?
We've learned a lot since we launched our first JOHNSON'S� baby powder way back in 1894, so we've put together this collection of 'how to' videos to get you started on your exciting journey.
While most women wouldn?t associate being a new parent with feeling more attractive, it seems men see it differently: they think they?re better looking than before they were dads.
You could win a copy of Parental Guidance on Blu-ray and DVD and tickets to Madame Tussauds Sydney.
You could win one of 20 Call the Midwife Series 2 DVD prize packs.
Win the UE Boombox to listen to music wherever you go, or a TV Cam HD to Skype loved ones right from your TV!
You could win a gorgeous innovative Mamas & Papas Baby Bud!
Preschool activities
Colouring sheets, educational activities and more.
Featured Promotions
|